(2004/02) February Babes

ruffy_happy,
yar, i missed Miu at Linda's place. cos she had to leave early & i was late :p we met during Avos' last bday celebration. since then Miu told me tat she finds me familiar, seen me b4

yar i believe it takes awhile for kids to re-adjust the timing after a long break from sch. hope Ryan will soon realised there's actually nothing for him to fuss

pink_tulip,
u ah... really waiting for my good news huh? yes, ideally can 'start production'
if 'successful' will need to make sure tat the bb's gestation will not affect my return (airline plus immigration) to sweden in Jan. so got to 'suan4 hao3 hao3'

mommies,
had a good 1hr+ chat with Avos tr juz now
Avos behaves the same in sch & home. he likes to explore (touch n feel) during their excursions n weekly forest tracking, is open to try new food. tr commented tat Avos is now much 'open' to the trs n friends as compare to the initial period. he now will sit down in the circle with his friends during morning story-telling - he used to stand up n walk off middle of the story. they can see tat now knows that he is part of the team. he is showing signs tat he likes his friends by hugging n kissing
he starts to trust his trs more, will go over to them ask for carry or hug when he wants attention - he used to stay in a corner n cry for mama. so now they r also very happy to see his progress, able to express his needs n emotions to his trs
all in all, everything sounds so positive tat i had to ask 'nothing negative?' :p she told me tat there is nothing negative abt kids at tis age now. they r still learning n changing 'patterns', so cant judge wats bad.

the only thing need to improve on is the language. its very impt for him to know n speak swedish in order for him to socialise with other kids / classes. but given that it was a total foreign language to Avos, they find his progress is good. so we discussed in wat way we, parents n trs, can help. we also agreed tat they will start to co-operate potty training aft the 4 weeks summer vacation. the next meet up will be in early Oct, juz b4 we return sg. they have such meet-ups twice a year
sorry for being so 'chiong hey' :p

Van,
I am very surprised dat the clinic doesnt make an exception too. Anyway dat would be my last visit there.

Gd to hear dat you are oso trying. Gd luck to us!! Anyone else trying? Pink? heehee..

You find my name familiar, haha..I find you familiar. Mayb our paths have crossed somewhere before.

Ruffy,
Congrats to you. I "heard" abt your gd news, another boy! jus what you wanted
Have you started thinking for his name?

Pink,
I am trying to switch to GP but somehow PD seems more effective. Last mth debbie had a cough. I quickly bring her to see GP cos whenever she has cough, she would vomit at nite. Very terrible. But after a week on the coughing medicine given by GP, she didnt recover. We switched her to PD & after 2 days medication, she recovered. My MIL said these kind of money cannot saved.

Debbie likes school. I am trying to reinforce some of the things dat was taught in her class at nite. She loses her concentration easily and I have to keep repeating and repeating to her. Sometimes I feel dat she is testing my patience.

Another headache is she tok in a mixture of mandarin & english. She would tell me, 'mama 'hui jia', go home, mama, 'kai' air-con.

Hi Miu,

I'm so surprised to see you here!

I also din post here for quite some time. This flu virus is really bad. Jordan caught it too and while looking after him, I also caught it. Haven't been this sick for a long time. I was scheduled to have lasik yday and had to re-schedule it as I am still coughing. Been thinking maybe "God" is telling me not to go for lasik...hahaha

ah...I miss Debbie, sweet girl

Hi Van,

Sounds like Avos is making good progress in school. I am also glad to report that Jordan is enjoying school now but these days he is really asserting his own thoughts at home (albeit tantrums).

Hi Linda
I've PM you. Are you confirming ON order?

Pink
Good idea to let both of them taking school bus. It will free you sometimes to do your stuff and I'm sure both Sarah & Dorcas will enjoy the bus rides with their frens

Van
You must be glad to see Avos doing well in school
He so 'dong shi' so no problem to have second one liao. Do you speak Swedish to Avos at home?
Your meet the teacher session is quite long hor..mine is only mere 15 mins. Anyway whatever the teachers told us is already written down on their daily coms book.

Jay is down with runny nose and bad cough again, 1.5 weeks after recovering from his previous illness. We've decided to keep him at home for 1 month. Otherwise think I'm going to breakdown soon. It's not easy to juggle between work and family ...

Hi Miu,

Jordan is attending daily playgrp near my MIL's place.

Hi Gisele,

So Jay will be missing school for a month?

This round really a lot of kids down with cough. 2 of my frens kids and Jordan had to use the nebulizer...

Miu,
same problem with Avos. he will say 'no, shui4 jiao4'. last week we 'caught' him counting 1 to 6 in English, 7 to 10 in swedish. cant blame him since we didnt specify which language to use. but whenever we hear 'rojak' from him, we will get him to speak in full with the languages he used. hope he'll learn the difference n combination from there.

oh yar we were talking abt bfg, u still bf Debbie?

bluebellas!!!
nice to 'see' u again
u also MIA quite awhile...

wow lasik! its something i still dont have the courage.

its common (& normal) tat kids will behave differently from home to school. usually more guai in school

Gisele,
hope Jay will get well soon. agree with u, shld take a break. when he recovers from the cough, can try to give him Vit C daily to boost his immunity.

i dont have any coms book from Avos' sch, anything 'major' happened during the day, they will tell me straight when i pick him up. the meet up is kind of a review on Avos' progress n the issues tat we have to focus on. not sure if i have mentioned b4, the sch actually started a new project on individual development. each n every child will have their own list of 'goals', trs n parents sign an agreement on how we going to help achieve tat goal.

seldom use swedish at home. if we use tat will be only words, ie when we pointing or referring to something. my swedish also limited, still struggling with putting words together as sentence.

bluebell
Yes Jay will not attend school for the whole month of July. I think nebulizer is not as bad as taking antibiotics. Is Jordan ok now?

Van
Avos so cute leh can count in Swedish

I like the idea of working with parent to set goal for individual development. What is Avos goals for this term?

Miu

I agree with u that sometimes PD's medicine is more effective.

If debbie's attention span is short when you go thru with her at night, you might want to keep the session short and sweet. They learn even if they 'look' as though they are not paying attention. So dun worry!

mixture of lang - i am guilty of that. Will be more mindful from now on! :p

Gisele

i have not figured out how to arrange my timing next year. will see how the situation is as we go along. i am in a dilemma cos i also enjoy the "freedom" of getting out of the house and driving around (as i send and fetch my gals). If they take the sch bus, i will be at home all day and will also miss my frens at ying's sch (a few of us have known one another since Jan 2005). If I send and fetch both, i think i will be very busy etc. Anyway, half a year more for us to work things out. But won't rule out sch bus option. Thanks for your concern!

sorry to hear that Jay is sick again. It is good to keep him at home for a while to let him fully recover. After he is well, try to boost him with fruits, vit C supp and cod liver oil. Last year, when ying first started sch, she fell ill every 3-4 weeks. VERY sian. Second part of the year was better. The bouts were more "spread out". you take care too!! Cheer up! We all go through this.

Pink
Thanks for making me feel better

So Jay is not alone but i think he's weaker than the rest. Caught viral almost every other week. Really damn sian....and from May till now, I've almost spent $700 on his medicine alone. Arrghhh...

Bluebell,
OIC..did he like it? Adapting well? I still can rem his smile

Van,
I stopped bfg when she turned 2yo. Sometimes she will pretend pretend ask me for "milk milk". I oso pretend pretend want to feed her, she will smile at me cheekily.

Are you still bfg?

I hate it when she replies me in "rojak". She oso likes to cut her sentences. Instead of saying, 'mama, let's go home", she would say 'mama, go home'. I guess the only way to help her is to speak more and correct her as she speaks.

Wow! Avos can counts in swedish. In such an environment where his classmates only speak swedish, I think he'll pick up the language fast

I seconded Gisele, it is good to work with parent to set goal for individual development for the kid. Afterall, dat the only way to find out how he progress.

Pink,
I started less than 5 mins and her attention wans off oredi. haiz...really must think of more "creative" ideas to teach her.

As for her "rojak" speech. I think there is no way I can change dat cos my MIL speaks to her in Mandarin (she doesnt know english). If debbie speaks solely in english, I think her granny oso "charm"...chicken and duck tok leow. haha.

We, parents, always contradict ourselves. On one hand, letting them taking sch bus is a good way for them to be independent but on another hand, more worries. ha..you have half a yr more to sort out your dilemma

Gisele,
I hate it when my gal has cough cos she wld have difficulties sleeping at nite and would surely vomit at nite.

When kid falls sick, it is really "siong" on our wallet and health. Take care.

Miu,
since Debbie speaks Mandarin to your MIL, probably u can leave Mandarin as between granny n Debbie, u speak only engilsh to Debbie? i think thru tis Debbie will learn to use 1 particular language with a particular person. full sentence, dun worry, believe they will learn along the way

i also stopped bfg abt the same time - when Avos going to 25mths old. he juz woke up for few mornings without asking for 'miak'

Gisele,
i was surprised when the 1st time i heard Avos counting. i was doing my homework, mumbling some numbers in swedish n Avos came counting 1 to 10
tis term his only goal is language. trs hope tat he can speak to other trs n schoolmates rather than juz those who understands English. i've told the tr, i would only help to teach him to name things n simple words. actually in the 1st place we didnt want to 'bring' swedish home, feel its good enuff to remain within school. at home already have headache with Mandarin.

mommies,
Avos also down with phelgmy cough
not very serious, i think.

Morning Mummies,
Ryan got back his art work file from school yesterday. Have yet to take photos and upload to his blog. He also got the newsletter which informed parents that they will be focusing on animals as the next theme. The next field trip would be to the Zoo. There were also 2 picture readers included for parents to go through with them at home (part of the materials that we pay for as their monthly fees) . There was also a survey type of form for parents to fill in for teachers to find out if the kid can do certain things - Drink will minmal spilling/ follow instructions etc.. for them to get the parents perceptive of how the kid is performing at home. Also the teacher will give their comments on the same issues before passing the forms back to me. Ryan can do all those (and some better ) than those stated in the forms - Ie: he can drink without spilling and is talking in more then 2-3word sentances. So requested that the teachers give him more challenging activities and focus on speaking well to him. (Coz have heard some of the teachers there babytalk / talk in broken english to him). Also ask them to focus on toilet training him. Hope that they take my suggestions seriously. Meanwhile I do try to teach him extra on my own.

Yesterday he was very active in school as he was very interested in the baking of cookies. They baked rainbow cookies. He insisted on going over to the oven to see how the cookies were being baked. We also went to West Coast Park in the afternoon to meet up with some of his friends for a mini playgroup date. He enjoyed himself playing in the sand/ climbing up and down the playground/ going down the fireman pole/ climbing up the spider web etc. Played until don't want to go home. Had to force him to leave the place.

Van,
Hope that Avos gets better soon.

Van,
hope it works well this way then...

Ruffy,
Which schoold is Ryan attending? Nowadays schools are very proactive. It is good dat they are letting the parents know how the kid is progressing in details as well as having a "listening ear" to the parents' suggestion/feedback. Hope Ryan is toilet trained soon. I like the activites the school are planning for the kids. Alot of hands-on and field trips. Interesting!

Toking abt toilet training, debbie is oredi "diaper-free". heehee...she attained "enlightenment"
herself. Out of the blue, jus like dat. She doesnt wear diaper anymore. Infact it was her who doesnt want to wear diaper.

The weather is SO hot!! Aiyoh, feel like going soak in my bathtub.... We went to see monkeys this morning and tory is so excited with her frens... Then a pair of monkeys so horridly making out in front of us (while eating too!!!) and tory asked "what's the monkey doing?"
We told her monkey playing... HAHAHA

Hi miu,
Welcome 'back'.
Post some photos of sweet debbie yah, I miss her smile.
Wow!! Debbie is diaper free liao! Night time too? *clever girl*
Children all do not concentrate well... Takes me lots of nagging and repeating to get something into tory's mind... esp when its on behaviour probs. She is into saying "yah" to replace yes. I do not like tt and told her I will box her if she says yah again (cos I know she knows the diff and tt she shouldnt use yah)... She goes "yah... I box you, yes"... This kind of things she learn fast.

Hi Van
Hehehe...so production starting soon huh?
So happy.. So you are intending to deliver in Sweden huh? Maybe a Feb baby again?

Glad tt the teachers reported nothing strange abt avos' koala behaviour... Avos must be really trying to teh you two only... But at least u felt better knowing he is happy in school. Yeah, like what the sweden teacher said, children at this age are all learning so no need to feel so stressed over 'performance'.

Hi ruffy
ryan's school does sound very interesting!! Bake cookies? Field trips.
And that the school is so involved in helping the children to progress. Very good!

Hi Pink
We are thinking to bring tory to Pasir ris park tomorrow!! That is provided if hubby can wake after tonight's soccer.... hehehe...but I already 'informed' him and he tried to skip "boring playground" with flying kite...guess what he asked tory?
HB:"Playground fun meh?"
Tory:"Playground...Zoom...Yeah!!"
HB:" We might as well go fly kite, fly kite is fun. You want go fly kite or go playground?"
Tory:"Fly kite playground, which one?"
HB:"Fly kite fun leh"
Tory:"Fly kite no, tory like zoom! playground, yeah yeah hooray!"

So it is playground at the end of the day.
Hope I can find it though... Just drive to pasir ris park?

Hi gisele
Yeah, must really try to build up his immunity thru more vitamins... or have you tried asking your doc if there is any health/ immunity building supplements he can try?

Linda,
Pasir Ris park..seperated into 3 sections..the one where the playground is where the seafood is. I don't bring him there now..we go to West coast park as there are more playground equipment there as compared to Pasir Ris park. Will it be Tory's 1st time there?
You will have to drive pass some terrace/semi-d houses to get to the park. Quite a fair bit inside.

Linda,
a big *wave* to you & tory.

You are in luck to see dat "pair of monkeys"..hahah..The monkeys are from Upper Pierce reservior?

I'll try posting some photos of debbie on Monday

Did you say "yah" alot infront of Tory? Somehow I find dat kids like to pick up things dat we dun wan them to learn but when comes to things dat we wan them to learn, they'll slow. Ever feel dat?

Yes, debbie is diaper-free even at nite. She'll wake me up if she needs to shee-shee. However she is the type of cannot "lun" one. If she needs to go toilet, she NEEDS to go. So sometimes it is very frustating esp when there is not toilet nearby. We ask her to pee on diaper, she oso dun wan and would make a BIG FUSS. Urgh...

Have fun tmr

Linda,
missed the boat for a Feb babe last mth liao hehehe... was planning earliest EDD in April, otherwise quite mah fan to travel in 3rd trimester, also airline + immigration may have restrictions when we leave sg in end Jan. say until as tho i want will have like tat :p

mommies,
we have great weather today. went to the beach n now our skin finally has some colours
we went to the lake last weekend n Avos likes it very much. tis morning he woke up nagging 'go lake'. the way he says sounds very much like 'garlic'. at 1st we tot y he suddenly crave for garlic hahahahah...

only quickly browse thru the postings, very tired now, woke early plus journey to the beach kinda long. will write more tmr

Hi ruffy
Thanks for the advise.
This will be tory's first time there and honestly, I only remember the big red tower of red rope (dunno whether it is still there anot) but I dun remember the exact location of that liao.
West Coast Park? Hmm... lagi worst, where is that? We not familar with the west/east side at all...

Hi Miu
hehehehe... The part that amuse me best was that the female was munching on food at the same time!

I cannot remember Upper or Lower liao...Cos we went to both...

I do not say yah to answer a yes and no question leh... I normally use lah leh more... So maybe from TV?? Must ask my MIL what TV is tory seeing now. HAHAHA.. MIL is nice, she will help me to educate tory to my request.

Hi Van
The older folks says 2nd one will be normally early. So EDD in April might be better than Feb.
Did making avos take long? I think easier for you and hubby to conceive now since less stress there and more family time? I worried abt my second one. It took me 6 mths to conceive and then miscarriage. But tory was made 2nd mth after the M/C. CHOY TOUCH WOOD, I cannot be expecting the same to happen so tt I can conceive easier yah? So that's y I am reluctant only to try early next year. But committments determine otherwise.

BTW like to check with you if the hotels/car rentals in Scandinavian would be expensive? Would it be easier to tour around ourselves and would there be any major possible trouble?

And very sadly... England lost the penalty to Portugal...
So sad, I thought they got chance to win the World Cup.

Now the France vs Brazil is playing... hoping for a draw game...

Good Day, mOmmies!!!!!!!

Have been going out almost everyday during my HB's absence. hahaha!!! Brought her to library yesterday to return all the books and borrowed some more to last till we return next week. I think Kyla enjoyed the most by going shopping everyday! It was also good that she missed her afternoon naps these days and will fall asleep at 10pm at night.

HB returned home last night. Will be expecting my in-laws to arrive tomorrow. They will be putting up in our house during our hols. So sian, have to pack up the guest room later. Intend to pack our luggages only tomorrow. Just done with all the washing of the winter clothings. Ready to pack them in tomorrow.

Kyla still look at the pictures on the books whenever i read her a story. She will not follow my finger which points out to every word i read. I am quite concerned that she is still not interested in words or letters at all! How?

Hi mui & debbie sweetie!

Wow!
Debbie is so good! Can even go diaperless during the nights! I am really impressed she will wake up in the middle of the nights to go shee-shee! Well-done!
How many times does she wake up to go toilet?

Care to share some recent photos of sweet Debbie?

Van
GOod news! Hope to hear good news for your #2 soon! Well, I am not ready yet, mentally not prepared yet for going thru another episode of terrible 1st trimester experience!!

Linda
Yes, even though i am not a big soccer fan, its really a pity England did not make it last night! Looks like both Tory & Kyla will go wild at the playground!!!

Gisele

hi. how is jay today?

miu

yes, if you ask a few mummies, some will tell you it is good to let the child take the sch bus, others will differ, saying not so good, with some other reasons, one of which is child's safety. so at the end of the day, we have to find out for ourselves, plus factor in all the considerations and constraints.

good to hear that debbie is off diapers!

mmm... you are quite particular about language right? *guilty* it is good! me guilty leh... I do say "ya" and my hb "yep" and my gals also say "ya" and "yep"... :p

van

is avos feeling better?

all the best re your "production"... so exciting.. i await the good news from you, linda, miu,
(anyone else?)

linda

agree with you... it is so hot today!

i hope you've found pasir ris park playground!
hope tory have had great fun too!

sorry i just logged on so could not help you with directions to pasir ris park. not hard to find. drive past some bungalows and semi detached. where the playgrd is is also where the seafood restaurants are. dun think it is hard to locate.

i really dislike having to take my gals with me to public toilets nowadays. when my hb sees my facial expression after i emerge from the washroom with one gal on each side, he also shakes his head in sympathy...

ruffy

i also dunno where west coast park is... wow, you are in the east and you go to the west?!

mrs shim

did not hear from you over the past 2 days? wow, went 'gai gai' ya?

when are you leaving? for how long?
Have fun!

I would say having kyla interested in books is already a good sign! Keep it up!

Pink
Thanks for your concern. Jay is alot better today,at least it does not interrupt his sleep anymore. He was taking vit c & cod liver oil daily but it didnt help much. Now PD asked to give him probiotic to boost his immunity. Very determine to bring him to TMC when he recovered this time.

How is Ying and Dorcas

Hi Shim
Dun worry about Kyla not interested in letter. She's willing to sit down and listen to your reading, that's good enough. Jay asked me to read him solar system books every nite and I'm getting bored. He's so fascinted of the planets lately and can name the nine planets in sequent. Boy is boy afterall

Jay does not recognise the words either. He's more on memorised reading.

hi mommies
West Coast park is a nice place for kids to climb and round around. Its opposite blue horizon condo along west coast highway. Am i right ruffy? I seldom bring Jay there tho, scared to clean off his sandy shoes...heh

We went to animal resort on Sat and hoping to see some chicks but was disappointed. He has been asking to see 'egg hatched'. He went to the fridge to took out some eggs and hoping to see little chicks hatched from the eggs. Told him only fertilised eggs will hatch and he starts whinning...**headache**

West Coast park is a great place for kids. It's clean and fun. My son loves that place. However, try to go there early before 10am or after 5pm so that it won't be so hot.

hi mommies!
seems like our thread more active on weekends liao

thanks for everyone's concern. Avos is ok, phelgm starts to clear tho i still continue to give him chix :p nose a little runny yest. anyway he is behaving as usual, only tat he didnt eat much whole of yest. but today he 'bu' back, ate a big bowl of porridge for lunch

Linda,
i gave up watching the France vs Brazil game aft France goal hahaha... actually i dozed off :p actually tis WC quite a number of potential winner shi shui zun hor?

u planning to tour the Scandi? hotel n car rental, yes, can be expensive. most ex is Norway. also where ever u rent the car, got to ensure the rental co allows u to drive the car thru the Scandi or countries u intend to go. otherwise if *touchwood* any accident, the insurance is very impt. but then again, if free n easy u can see more things at ur own pace. not difficult to collect maps or locate tourism office along the way. best if u have GPS which we r using now.

Gisele,
hehe Jay so cute, waiting for the egg from fridge to be hatched

pink_tulip,
thanks for your reminder on folic acid
will check it out at the pharmacy.

shimmrs,
have a good trip!

Mrsshims,
have a good trip to melbourne. NEed to bring along cream/lip balm. Aunt says it is one of the coldest winter so far this year.
PT
West Coast park- yeah..off West Coast Highway/ opp blue horizon. Most recognisable by the McDonalds 24hr Drive thru there.
Much more stuff for Ryan to play with then Pasir Ris Park. Also more open so less chance of mosquito bites. You should bring the gals there one they they will sure enjoy the place

Gisele,
Ryan will take off his shoes before he goes onto the sand..so just need to wash his feet at the taps at Mcdonalds before bringing him back home. Good to hear that Jay is better. Ryan is down with slight cough/cold. He goes there like once a week/once in 2 weeks. Granny stays at Clementi so very convenient to go there from her place.

Good luck to all the mummies trying for #2- I took multivatimins (Centrium) before starting to conceive to build up health..also is has the highest concentration of folic acid 500mcg that is needed.

Miu,
Tried Ryan on the school bus but he cannot sit still also they don't have seatbelts so gave up after 1 day. Also not cheap. but if Debbie can sit on the bus by herself then maybe it can be considered with her. Will you follow her in the bus for the 1st few days?

MIL here liao.. but also good.. dun need to do cooking. She cooked dinner for us tonight. Her cooking tastes better then FIL cooking.

ruffy_happy,
good tat ur MIL is helping u with the cooking for tis 2 weeks
can relax a little.

i took Obimin multi-vitamins when i was pregnant with Avos, then continue to take (not daily tho) until i stop bfg. it's stated as 1mg Folic Acid. is 1mg = 1000mcg? any idea? if tis is the case can save my trouble to the pharmacy cos i still have at least 4 bottles of Obimin in the cupboard.

Pasir ris park was okay only today. Because we went late hence the sun was horrible and ALL the children (we had 4 families and 5 kids) were bored and hot and grumpy. Tory like the playground but just too hot and she enjoys the swing too. The men had more fun than us, chit chatting in the shade while we women bake in the sun with the kids.

Hi Pink,
Yeah, think positively. Anyway, half a year down the road isn't too long a time to wait for huh? And with World Cup over and done with, more time to hit the bed?? HAHAHAHA... Honestly, crossing my fingers that I will conceive easier than previous round and if God willing, then no more disappointment after happiness. Will start building my folic supply when I am ready to try... or maybe 3 mths prior?

Hi van
Glad avos is ok. Brazil and France was exciting in the second half. Mr Handsome Zidane was fantastic!!
Glad they won... yes, the normal teams tt usually made it previously were all out yeah? I got a feeling it would be the germans bringing home the cup this year, afterall it is home ground advantage.

Actually hubby suggested. But I keep telling him it is TOO ex. Air fares would cost us a bomb liao.
But he asked me to ask.. I will search the net when free. Or scotland only? I like scotland... but wonder if DIY we will do well?

GPS - u have to subcribe yah? We have tt in Singapore (just dun ask me why
) but can the software be 'converted' somehow in Scandi?

Hi shimmrs
Wow, gai gai everyday hor?
Now tt kyla is bigger liao, easier to bring out?
Personally I think at age 2 diff to get them to really look at each word of the page.. more imptly get them into the habit of reading and help to build that love for reading. Armed with that, the rest would be easier. I remember a teacher once told me it doesn't matter what I read but how much i read and how much i LOVE to read. Even if there is a word I dun understand, let it go and continue with the book, somehow, we will get the meaning of the word when we complete the sentence and help us to enjoy the book better. This is better than memorising the word. tory can read out whole books as she flips the page, she can memorise each page is "saying" which lines... I am sure she doesn't read but pure memorising. That's enough for me and her for the time being. And most of all, we both enjoy this nightly pre-sleep routine.

Hi ruffy
yummy food! Good for you and baby huh?
Will try out this Centrium multivits when trying. Thanks.

Linda,
so aft WC 'hao hao zou ren' ah ;)

hmm i'm kinda biased again germany since their last match. too 'kay long' leh...

Scotland i'm not too sure... only visited Edinburgh when hb studied there 6 years ago. wanted to visit the highlands but not enuff time. my trip was only 10 days n we went Paris n London. too rush for me to explore Scotland
but its a place i would love to go again! check with hb, he said free n easy in Scotland no problem so long u have a car
so can KIV liao yar?

oh yes, also if u choose to travel Scandi, probably u can try to take trains when comes to crossing the borders. like wat we did in Spain n Portugal, we travel alot by train. tho more time wasted but we get to see more on the ground. cost wise, i feel abt the same leh... petrol + hotel cost = train tix / cabin price + comfort

which type of GPS u using now? the stand alone unit or the one on HP? cos for my hb's, he's using the program on his hp, so each time he juz have to download the map of the country from a website when he needs it. his software covers most of europe. better to check on the program u using, since u have it, go Malaysia use also good mah!

Hi Gisele,

Jordan's still coughing but I have stopped giving him the med. I shd think it will go off. This is our first time using the nebulizer and I always heard it is very traumatic for the kids (from other parents). Personally I think it was ok but then again, I'm not a kid so it may not be that scary for me.
Jordan was ok with it. Sometimes he will refuse to use it but after a lecture from his Daddy, he will even tell me to put closer to his nose :p

This morning, my colleague called to say not coming to work cos his kid is having fever. Really a lot of kids falling sick...sigh...his kid had fever for more than 1 week liao.

Jay's so cute re the hatching of the eggs...hahaha...btw, are you referring to the Jalan Kayu Animal Resort? Jordan was bugging me to bring him to the farm so we went there for roti prata on Sun morning before procedding to the farm. Sekali he vomitted 3x during breakfast so we left after gobbling down our roti prata. After that he kept asking me for the farm...so sad to disappoint him.

Hi Miu,

Yes, Jordan is enjoying his school very much?

Is Debbie still in the same school? The one where she got bitten?

I understand what you say abt the "chores"of being diaper-free. Yday, we were on the rd and Jordan wanted to pee. I gave him a bottle but he refused...hehee..so stop the car at the rdside but he insisted must go to the toilet in the bldg nearby...geez...
Hi Ruffy,

Ryan's a very active and daring boy. Jordan's always scared of tis and tat. Brought him to Pasir Ris Park on Sat and he din want to slide down. I think he's scared. And a boy wanted to play with him so kept patting his shoulder but he just stand there, stoned. Later he told me he din wan to talk to the "gor gor". Really dunno how to train his guts leh...

Hi Janet,

Thot West Coast Park is under reno? No?

Hi all mommies ....

just wanted to share something about children's prolonged coughing. ....

my son is always prone to cough .... & it'll always last for a period of 1 month plus .... cough stops for 2 weeks ... and the cough will come back again .... in which subsequently, he had to use a nebuliser ....he is okie with the nebuliser but what i dun like is that even after the one week nebuliser, he is still having little coughs esp at night ..... finally i have no choice but to turn to chines physician .... i know this is not easy ... cos the powder medicine looks yaky to my son .... but after 2 weeks of chinese medicine .... there isn't a single trace of coughing for my son .... so maybe you may want to consider trying chinese physician

Hi Happiemom,

I actually thot it is normal for toddlers to have prolonged cough since it happens to most toddlers I know. In fact, I myself am still coughing after one week.

Which Chinese physician did you see or can we just buy the med over the counter?

For toddlers who have prolonged cough with phelgm, may get pneumonia

this chinese physician is at bukit batok west ave 6 .... near Mac Donald that stretch ...
If you want, i can get details for you.

2 months ago, i also tried a cough tablet prescribed by doctor to me .... i think it's called Codeine Phosphate ... you may want to try

wow...so many postings...I hardly catch up again..

Pink,
I have started on the folic acid, 5mg every day. Enuff?

Why you dislike taking your gals to public toilets? Too dirty har? Frankly speaking ladies toilets are really dirty. I have to resort to carry debbie for her to shee shee instead of letting her sit on it. Worse if she needs to poo poo, my hands can break.

Linda,
Yah..mayb she picks up from TV. Good dat your MIL is will to "teach" her

Ruffy,
you are mistaken. Debbie's school is jus across the road from my blk so no need to take school bus. I wld feel insecure if she needs to take school bus cos she is oso the type who cant sit still.

Bluebell,
yes, debbie is still at "dat" school.

haha..you share the same sentiment as me. At least, you can give Jordan a bottle. Mine cant. hahah...

Shimmrs,
So far, it is once every night. If I don't bring her to toilet, she will really shee shee on the bed. Kena once before

Debbie cant recognize the words when I read to her. She very "gungho", after I finished reading. She wan me to pass her the book so dat she can "read" to me. She would read in her bb language

Okie, as requested. Here are 2 of my fave photos of debbie.
454397.jpg
454398.jpg

Have anyone given or gg to let your darling taking the Pneumococcal jab?

I am kinda worried after seeing the tv adv for it.

Hi happiemom
Thanks for sharing, I'm now more determined to bring him to TMC. Jay's runny nose and cough only started when he started school otherwise he's quite alright, doesnt fall sick often.

Hi Miu
Nice pic of Debs

Jay had Pneumococcal jab in April. Ped highly recommended so we give him the jab before he started 5 days school. The only side effect is mild fever and lost appetite the next day.

Miu,
Debbie looks very different from the last time i saw her! still as fair but more bah bah already hor?

i remember i took 5mg of folic acid on top of Obimin when i was preggy with Avos. so i would think 5mg of folic acid itself will be enuff for TTC

Gisele,
I oso a believer of TMC. Hope your son recovers soon.

I read in the papers abt a boy who took the jab subsequently developed high fever and rashes after the jab..Wow! very scary leh. Ended up becos he was allergic to the jab

Van,
Yah..abit more bah now.
Her appetite quite good leh but dunno why still abit on the skinny side.

i have been confused... kept thinking why are you all talking about Thomson Medical Centre (TMC)?

Then I realised that you are all talking about TCM = Traditional Chinese Medicine? Heee

Hi Miu,
gd that Debbie's school is so near. Ryan's CC is about 3 bus stops away so need to drive him there. If I don't have the use of the car next year will have to switch him to a walkable distance one. Nice pictures of Debbie. She is so mature now

Haven't decided whether to let Ryan take that jab that you mentioned. Coz firstly it is not that cheap and secondly whether there will be any side effects on him.

Bluebell,
I guess Jordan is not as outgoing as Ryan but dont have to worry I don't think he will have problem socialising later on.

Tomorrow have to go to work liao.. sianz!!..
today we went Orchard shopping with both my mum and MIL..Ryan was so happy looking and touching everything while we were getting him to follow us around and not touch so many things while window shopping. Nowdays have to boycott places like Forum/Paragon/Suntec as they have the ELC shop there and he knows that there is Thomas the train set there to play so it is a big magnet on his radar..same as the Toy'rus sign.. immediately when he sees it he will "Demand" to go there. Have to really distract him.

ruffy

i agree with you! while shopping, must plan "route" in advance to avoid "possible danger zones"... hahahahahah

are you showing already? Do you get tired legs or aching back after walking or standing for a while?

miu

i was puzzled - why are you all talking about thomson medical centre... thot there is a good PD there! hahahaha no worries, i hope no hard feelings that i "corrected" the abbrev...

Debbie has grown! 'big girl' look now. does she have long hair? She, as usual, looks very sensible and guai.
Thanks for the pics! More please?!

I am not sure about your 5mg is how much. must check the packaging of your folic acid for concentration. folic acid can be obtained by eating eh... green veggies, honeydew, etc.. taking the tablets is to ensure we have enough of it while TTCing. i did check with GNC staff when buying but I have forgotten. sorry!

I used to carry Ying when she was younger. Now I can't. She is 19 kg, my back will crack. i dislike taking them to the toilets cos they are diry, not just the floor, but the walls and doors :p and three of us cramped in the cubicle... i just don't feel good.. and then one by one i have to help them... then one by one wash hands, aiyo.. by the time we are out of the toilet, i look so flustered :p

Linda

So the day at the park was so-so... sorry, i hope i did not recommend a booorrrrring place to you! :p

Jordan

dorcas is also not "gungho"... when she sees strangers, she will run to me, hands near her mouth,...when pple say hi to her, she freezes... mmm... i also dunno how.

Linda

i heard that can start taking folic acid supp 6 months before... think my SIL's gynae told her.

Miu
Nice to see Debbie's pics ! She indeed has grown but still so sweet looking. Dont worry if she's skinny, i think most probably because you & your hubby are slim too? As long as she is eating healthily, that should be more important.

& good luck to your TCC!

Linda
Pasir Ris park has more & taller trees but dont know why it is still very hot there. I have been to Pasir Ris park & both West Coast Park, i find West Coast Park better. A plus point is they have Macdonalds located there too , very convenient to settle food/drinks/loo.

Gisele
Hope you are able to find some suitable remedy for Jay's cough soon. Really painful to see our young children ill for prolonged period. Do keep us updated of Jay's health!

pink_tulip
Ying is 19 kg already! How do you get Ying to use the toilet then if she cant sit on the toilet bowl & she is too heavy to carry too?

Ruffybear
Ryan sure is a clever boy, remembers all his favourite stores!

mOmmies...

Finally got the chance to use the computer liao! Both my in-laws arrived this afternoon. As usual, have to entertain them. Really cannot tahan my MIL! She kept telling me that Kyla is so naughty! Told me to better discipline her properly! I know in my heart that she does not like Kyla very much since she always prefer a grandson. Kept rushing us to have another baby (boy)!

Anyway, just done with packing liao. Finished watching my favourite recorded "tuo-chiang-shi-jie part 4". Will miss this serial very much when i am in Melbourne.

Mui
Sweet photos of Debbie! She looks different. More grown-up and mature-looking now! She is pretty!!

Happiemom
Thanks for sharing. Yes, i am also very concerned when my ger is down with persistent cough. Is the Chinese physician located near Bt Batok Ave 8 where all the shops are lined up together in a long circle along with a few coffee shops and a market? Can you share the name of the medical hall or clinic? I live near Bt Batok.

Pink
We are departing on wednesday, JUL5. Returning next monday, JUL10.

Linda
Actually not really easy to bring Kyla out shopping. It depends on my lucky day! She can behaved very well on one day but behaved like a "street-hooligan" on the next day! Well, never fail to bring "mr cane" out whenever i am alone with her. kekeke... only mr cane can discipline her outdoors. Recently bought a child harness to remind her to behave in public. So far, she refused to let me strap her on yet.

meiii
Kyla is 16kg now! Lagi heavier right? When are you posting Hilda's photos huh?

mrs shim

i have two gals and i don't feel "deprived" at all cos have no son. I also cannot stand old folks who favour boys more. in this day and age, boys and girls enjoy equal privileges and opportunities. I was very put off one CNY when I was pregnant with Dorcas and old folks were "surprised" it was a girl (conceive boy or gal, not the mummy's egg that determines.. got to ask the daddy :p) Anyway, hb and i feel that if we were to have another child, it would be because we WANT another CHILD, and not because we want a son. Children are a gift from God.
Accept whichever gender with thanksgiving! If i have son, i will rejoice not because we have an "heir" liao but because i get to "experience" being a mom to a boy! I think it would be a different experience.

Sorry. I lor soh so much. :p

Happy Holidays!
Take many pics to share with us!

Happiemom

Forgot to thank you for sharing your experience with TCM.

meiii

be selective of cubicles, when possible. If too dirty, dun use it cos children can be very clumsy and who knows they may just trip, or sit on the floor (eeeeeekkkss)...

For my gals, i clean the seat with paper. then line the seat (the part where there is skin contact) with paper. Then seat them on it, holding on to their armpits. No choice. THere will be a stage where the kids become very heavy and mummy won't have the strength to carry to let them pee. Agree?

Hi Miu
Great smiley pics of debbie. She is so sweet!! Very "pinch-able". Yah, I agree with the others, more bah. It is good.

So now when you go out have to keep in mind to ask her to go toilet? Me still toying with the idea of letting her go diaperless for outings.. but thinking if in public places where there is no toilet how? Also toying with buying a portable potty for her to put in the car. Hmm...

Hi ruffy
yeah!! Have to keep in mind all the time when shopping to avoid those areas tt might cause misbehaviour. For tory at Causeway point, it would be those "coin eating machines".
but it is SO diff to cos they have at least 1 located on EVERY floor of the escalators. Aiyoh. But nowadays we seldom do window shopping with tory liao, prefer something which all of us can enjoy.

Hi Shimmrs
Aiyah, old folks all like this one. Everyone who ask me to have another baby soon ALL goes, "try for another one lah, another BOY then can stop liao" So I always answer, I prefer girls...which is true.
But older folks won't understand lor... even my mum says i better have a boy if not people talk behind my back. AHAHHA... My MIL is ok lah, she doesn't mention anything like this in front of me. Behind me i dunno.. HAHAHA.

Hi Pink
Precisely!! TT's why I am still so reluctant to get tory go diaperless when out. Aiyoh, cannot imagine always trying to find toilets for them then worry abt them wetting their pants and the floor if cannot find in time. I wonder if I worry too much though... I still dun think tory is capable of telling me she needs to go out of the house... I feel tt she might get distracted outside and tell me when it is too late? Will she?

No worries abt recommending! In fact, i would thank you! It is just that we went there too late in the morning so it was like the mid day sun shinning on us. Otherwise, tory would enjoy the playground with higher slides.

Hi meii
We might try west coast park next time. But I honestly have no idea where it is.

Pink & Linda
My MIL told me the very day I came back from hospital to have another BOY! How's does that sound to you both? That's how I get post-natal depression man!

Linda
Me too, I prefer girls
YOu are fortunate to have an understanding MIL who does not wish to have a grandson so desperately! My parents are fine with just one grand-daughter. They adored Kyla so much even though she is so cheeky all the time! They even advised me to stop at one since my MIL is so unreasonable!

Pink
My view is to wish to have a boy at least able to take care his jie-jie/family in future when both of us are gone... Better to have a man in the family. However, I am putting my #2 plan on hold till Kyla is much older to make my life easier. I wouldn't listen to my MIL to conceive so early just to please her. She already complained so much about Kyla being so naughty, can you imagine what will happen to Kyla when her baby brother is born? I rather spend quality time with her & shower her with all my love before #2 comes along.

Aha... Dirty Public Toilets! Eeeks! I will quickly don on pull-up pants for kyla and ask her to shee-shee in the diapers, hahahaha.... what to do, mommy is a clean freak! I, myself, will not even use the toilet if its too dirty! I will go and look for a clean one or rather tahan till we get to another place or heading home.

Mrs shims,
Have a nice family holiday in Melbourne

Linda,
that is one of the reason why I boycott Tampines Mall also..they have 2 kid ride on each level very strategically placed near the escalator. Even though he doesn't need me to put in the $1 but will still waste like 10-15 min if he does get to go on the machine.

PT,
No leg ache or backache..just overall tiredness coz have to literally run after Ryan while shopping outside.

Toilet usage outside.
At present leh.. Ryan prefer going to the male toilet then female so diaper change etc is left to hubby when we are out together. Also gd..train him to go to the correct toilet.

Linda,
West Coast park is off West Coast highway/ Keppel Road. If you know how to go to World Trade Centre is it straight all the way up till you see the drive thru macdonalds. not that difficult to find.
Portable Potty can be a problem coz you may not make it to the car in time also. They do have disposable toilet covers but I think PT's method is the best and most convenient.

Linda

I have a spare set of clothes for dorcas in the car. so far, she is able to tell me when she needs to go to the toilet. It is a house RULE that all the little girls must go to the toilet before we step out of the house too!

When you think it is about time Tory passes urine, ask her if she needs to pee. Dun wait till the last min. Should be ok. From my experience, even when dorcas says she is urgent, there is still time for me to RUN...hahahha...

mrs shim and linda

When I conceived dorcas but yet to know the gender, my hb and I preferred to have another gal. He likes a brood of the same gender actually. Now that we have two gals, occasionally, we just think that having a boy will be a different experience but like i said, won't have #3 just because we want a boy.

mrs shim

I dun think di di will take care of jie jie. Most of the time, it is the jie jies who take care of di di and mei mei. It is only when there is a gor gor (firstborn is a boy) then the gor gor will take care of the younger ones. IMHO lah.

so your MIL really "zhong nan qing nu". Shd you have a boy next, the favouritism will be obvious and kyla might feel it. However, don't worry ahead lah.

You changed your mind about no. 2? I thought you had wanted to have another one soon?

if the toilet is dirty, I won't use it too. Will look for cleaner one on other floors.

I cannot use your "pull ups" method cos we are finally not spending much $$ on diapers! Yeah!

Yep, don't have a second baby jus to please MIL. Only when you are prepared and ready.