(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi kristins_mom,

Is Singapore education system still very particular over British English? At the moment, I'm not teaching him the differences between British and American English. To him, an aeroplane is also known as jet, airplane or plane. Likewise, policeman is also known as police or cop. Perhaps, when he's learning to spell words like colour/color, centre/center etc, then I might spend more time on explaining the differences. Any views, mommies?

On the issue of discipline, I'm a rather "strict" mommy. The cane has always been reserved for something "big". Fortunately, I rarely need to rely on it.

I used to tell them to share and take turns whenever Brandon and Cheryl fought over stuffs but it did not work. In a way, I could never be impartial using this method. So, nowadays, I'll just sit and watch them fight. (Bad mommy, right?) The loser will get mommy's kisses and hugs. So, nobody wins or loses. Somehow, this tactic works rather well for me. I'm seeing less fights nowadays.

kristins_mom & emily,

If you are looking for the English Logico set, you can check out http://www.mylittleones.com.sg/products_englishlogico.htm . They are selling it at a discounted price. Otherwise, you may consider getting it from http://caterpillarhouse.com/store/product_info.php?products_id=235 .

Hi Serenade,

It was pretty easy to get them sit togerther take the pic. Never expect they follow and sit on the sofa so quickly cos my son take a while later to sit there. I just love to see them play just now and am missing them now already. Aston is then asking over dinner when will I see them again. So I feel he love to have their company today. The time that I download the pics was where he is sleeping so that's why I am so fast in posting them for everyone's viewing.

Hi ky, MH & Sarah,
I read the thread right from the beginning again and realised we are all going to Baby Prom 2006.
Me and Aston are going on 2Dec Sat 12pm. We are being told to go earlier cos there are pre activities for kids to play. Any of you going same day and time as me ? Thinking of if we can meet on that day

apricot: wow! u fast! Can send me the pictures so that I can print them to show gal gal! We had great fun! And I definitely have no objection going to West Coast or Botanic Gardens..My gal was so suprisingly cooperative during the photo-taking..

apricot: I booked on 1st Dec 12nn leh..

ky, lena, sarah, blurblur_pooh:can send me the photographs if got my gals in it? Thanks!

Hi MH,
I have a little surprise for all mummies on the pics when we meet the next time. Ha ha.. this will hold your excitement and curiousity for us to meet faster. so "naughty of me" ha ha..

Hi Serenade,
I wonder if u can help provide the child expert forum. I need it badly for my kid's behaviour and development.

Hi apricot, still up at this hour? I must say the gathering sounds a great success. Wish I were there too. When I saw the photos, the first impression I have is these kids are good friends with each other. Who have guessed that they just met today. You must have been a very good hostess.

Hi Serenade,

Yah me and hubby still busy surfing the websites at this hour. We are night owls..ha
GOing to sleep soon !

Me going on 2nd Dec but 1030am leh ... maybe we should plan for the next meetup again soon ... I love the chitchat and think we could talk more *n more n more* ... heehee. Pris, now I know why u don't have a car, u've got so much materials. pls go have a 2nd one quickly. tx for being a good hostess n the children's day gift... ben was telling daddy how wonderful the party is. he doesn't even have appetite for dinner which was just a burger. on the child expert forum, is that the one where Ginny Phang's the only thread within? I guess we all love to learn more on how to better our child(s) behaviour / development.

Botanic sounds like a good idea coz dear sarah is from changi area, Lena from AMK and BlurBlur Pooh Macpherson area n me from CCK, which is like all over singapore ... though I'd love to suggest going to the farms in Lim Chu Kang, but then I'd be the only one going ...

.ky.

Hi Emily

Congrats on your 3rd pregnancy! I deeply admire parents who are willing to go through another round and I've seen many recently preggie with either 3rd or 4th. I'm definitely stopping at my 2 boys. A fren sends her 3 yr dd to Berry. She doesn't like chinese and it seems like she doesn't like Berry as well. My son doesn't like chinese too but with the exposure at cc, he's picking it up and I try to converse with him. Though his replies are in english, I know he understands. I think he's an auxiliary learner. I just recite a poem to him a few times and he could recite parts of it with me.... sometimes kid's learning ability is amazing. we have to be positive towards them and encourage them and not kept being negative.

I've took out a cane on Sat. one of those bamboo sticks for lantern. Only gives empty threads (like what lena says) but that works for ben.

Serenade, realized I owe u one ans ... We were in Allentown 2 yrs ago. It was a small town near NYC. Yap, we were in NYC for a day trip but too bad it was raining and we couldn't view Statue of Liberty (which I love) ... we did visit the 911 site.

Meilan, don't be discouraged.... I have no parental support and I can be quite short-tempered esp when the child can't follow a plan. Hence, when I was 5 months preggie, we decided to get a domestic helper. I'm still sending my 3.5 yrs to a 1/2 day cc though as I feel it's beneficial for him. Actually I'm not a true SAHM ... But if you truly can't afford help, then perhaps u can consider part-time help for housework, and get your kids involved in cooking, for eg? Learning can be thru' daily routine. Sparing just 15 mins specifically for each kid to 'teach' something would help for a start. Many mothers I know who are taking care of their kids single-handedly try to have a routine but not hold tight to it. If they r tired, they just cook something very simple or buy-in.

.ky.

Wow...Apricot.. u r real fast.. heehee
A pity... dont see the mummies faces on the photos.. hehe

Hopefully we can attend...the next gathering.

Emily..nope am a "pure" Singaporeaan..

Hey Apricot, you are making me 'pai seh' with the pix, should have deleted my photo, so so pai seh. haha guess the kids were good for the shoot cos they were aleady tired, it's melt down time after lunch.

Serenade, Kristin's mom, Worry mum, Emily
you must visit Apricot's home, Aston is blessed with heaps of books, toys n gadgets! U name it, he has it!

I like the botanic garden idea, picnic in the morning would be nice, early Nov?

Serenade n Kristin;s mom
we r choking in haze here, really really bad.

Hi Lena,

So sorry too that I did not rem and trust me I did not deliberately not to rem that you did mention to me to delete your pic. But also cannot del your pic only mah cos there are Hannah, Ben and Mel inside.

Talk about the haze, did we have haze yesterday ? The pics looks very hazy too or I must brush up my photo taking skills.

Lena, MH and Ky, let's plan early nov for our 2nd gathering , a picnic at botanical gdn. But which weekend shall we plan ?

Hi apricot!

Happy Belated Children's Day, Kids!

It looks like you moms, boys and girls had a great time? What happened to the daddies??? At the food table??!!!

We'll join you the next time, I promise!
With chocolates too!

Yeah, West Coast Park is a good idea. I love it there... coz mommy and daddy can play too!

Hi Serenade!

I don't know if the English teachers in schools are particular with Brit. Eng or Amer. Eng. It doesn't bother me what he learns now too. It's just that sometimes when he and his classmates have to bring something to show and tell for the letter of the week, the teachers always tell me that have lots of fun - his British teacher vs his Canadian teacher.

Hopefully the Singaporean teachers will not be quick to say he's wrong if he were to spell "color" instead of "colour" in future. At least they can point out the variations.

We got quite a lot of snow here in Frankfurt last year, which was not very normal. Frankfurt is pretty low-lying and we are next to a river. Usually, we get pretty mild weather.

Nonetheless, Bryan enjoyed the unusual amount of snow and imagined himself as Spot, going down the slope on a sledge. We did buy him a sledge in the end. It will be exciting this year too since Kristin should be walking/running quite well by then. We can really have snowball fights!

Hey,maybe I shall try your "sit-and-look" method and give the loser hugs and kisses. But these days they fight less too. In fact, Bryan is always anxious to introduce his little sister to anyone he meets.

Hi Meilan!

Welcome to the thread!

Actually, my mom's been around to help me since I moved over to Germany. But it's quite tough too. Coz on top of running my household, looking after my kids, I also have to look after her as she can't get around much without any knowledge of German.

I often feel pretty overwhelmed when I'm out with her and my kids, e.g. when my kids are wailing and she's confronted by a language problem... I wish I could split myself to help. Plus, Germany is way too cold for her.

But I must say it's great to have an extra pair of eyes to help you watch the kids. I do all the rest, from cooking to cleaning, shopping and laundry... and I still find I can't do enough... so in the end, I got a cleaning lady to come in once a week.

Have greater faith in yourself.
I'm sure you can do it. You might need a part-time help, you can send your older one to a nursery/cc, you can work to teach your children on some days, or like Lena says, just relax for some days.

My mom's going back this Nov. I think I'm gonna be fine. In fact, sometimes it's better to have no grandparents around coz children will always play up any situation to get their grandparents' attention.
e.g. my mom has problem giving Kristin the bottle in the morning. But when I give Kristin the bottle, she'll finish it.
e.g. Bryan will refuse to get out of his bath when my mom bathes him. So when I do it, he'll just come out when mommy tells him to.
e.g. my mom brings Bryan to bed, he'll tell her he can't sleep. And she'll spend 2 hours in his bedroom until he falls asleep. I'll just read him a story, sing a song. Still he says he can't sleep. I will just turn on some music for him and say good-night and leave him in his bedroom. He always falls asleep.

I've been bringing both kids out on my own and I find that the kids are much easier to handle when I'm alone with them. And if you are the only one, they know better than "messing" around with you.

Now my dad is also visiting... I have even more things to do... more people in the household, more cooking, more cleaning, more laundry etc.

But they love their grandchildren and they love to be with them. They want to help me and I can't tell them "no". You see, they even followed me here!

So if you have parents who want to help, let them do it like once/twice a week thing, and you can still have time for yourself.

Hi Worry Mum,

Thanks for telling me..thanks to all mommies who vote for Aston. Hurray !!! Wow, now I stand a chance to win family trip to HK disneyland !!!!

HiHi Apricot, ky, MH, Lena & Sarah,

u girls are really fast chatting away here oredi.

ya, must really thx Apricot for hosting and her family played such a wonderful host! Lawrence even helped to entertain my son while i was busying feeding my girl and the daddy was taking a breath (* v *) ! thx

so sori that i din really help in cleaning or clearnig up the mess and hope u did not spend too much time doing it.

yeh.... pls let me know the next outing. botanica garden is good, never been there in ages. hope that it is on a Sun, coz Sat i am working.

hope to see you all real soon....

wow seem like you all are enjoying yourself on childrens' day celebration. next time i try to make it a point to join u guys. this pregnancy is my worst experience, i never experience morning sickness for the last two but this time make me so sick and tired.
JG is julia gabriel and MRC is a centre that they claim to promote whole brain intelligent. basically just want to expose my jayden to speaking mandarine and probably i will continue as jayden seem to enjoy the class each time i pick him up after the lesson. children learns best if they enjoys.
worry mum, sorry to ask whether are u from malaysian.
anyone been to hongkong disney, was thinking to bring my boys there this dec. i got some friends been there giving me negative feedback so like to ask more opinions.

hi emily
can understand how u feel abt morning sickness, i had to puke once b4 entering the office when i had melody. u take care and eat whatever that claims to help ;)
Never been to HKdisney but give me other Disneys anytime, never had good impression of HK. Try Tokyo? dearer though.

Blur blur
Your boy is so handsome, keeping the tail is a great idea!

Kristin;s mom
You're right abt kids behaving better when only 1 parent is around. Whenever my hub is around, mel would ask to be carried to the carpark. With me, i just say i don;t have the strength, she will at most sulk a bit but follow behind in the end haha

Mommies
Next outing on 5 Nov, sunday?
K's mom, would u be back then?

Oh yes, i want to get those huge styrofoam balls to make snowman, where to get huh?

My son's school has just given me a book list which I can buy at a lesser price. There are some good books which I'm getting. Anyone keen let me know and I'll email u the book list. You'll have to get from me at CCK though after the books are in; 4 weeks before books are in. And I need to put in the orders by next monday ...

I've just borrowed a book called "The Gift of Good Manners"... anyone has read this already. Browsed through and it looked quite useful :>

.ky.

lena,
5nov sounds good. botanic gdn?

ky,
email me the list too. thanks.

serenade,
you very brave! btw, what's your power? anyone around to mind the house while you are 'down'? your hb? have a good rest, and get well soon.

can pm me those who I did not have email of so that I can get your email ID (no intention other than sending u the list)? I only have emails of those ladies I met on sunday ... help me lah, then I'll send out to all tomorrow morning... have been sitting in front of PC too much today already ... thx!

.ky.

Hi Lena!

Think we'll have to give Nov 5 a miss. We'll be back after Dec 13 coz my brother's wedding is on the 16th. So anything after that... hmmm, we can organise a Christmas party for the kids then, what do you think?

Yeah... kids just like to bully other adults, right?
Because mommy always knows when they are putting up an act.

Hi ky!

Can you PM me the list too? Am interested to look at the titles.

Hi Serenade!

You found people to help around for a couple of days? Do take care! And get a good rest!

Hi Emily!

Pregnancy has never been good for me... both times I had morning sickness. For the 1st one, it was throwing up till my water bag broke. 2nd one, the nausea went away by the 6th month.

Have you tried the SEA-bands? The ones people use when they are out on the boat. They work pretty well esp if you don't want any drugs to curb the nausea.

Yeah... and glucose tablets... you should be able to get them from pharmacy. They are pretty good.

And I remembered I had lots of honey when I didn't have any appetite and was throwing up whatever that went in. It helped me a little.

Are your two older boys good eaters now? I have this funny theory that it's because my children are both fussy eaters that I had such a tough bout of morning sickness.

thanks kristin mum for the suggestion , taking honey and glucose tablet sound good idea. My best pregnancy is my eldest son however he is the most fussy eater, no meat , no veg, only like some fruits and loves milk, he is tall and big due to drinking alot of milk, second pregnancy no morning sickness just no appetite, he loves food however he developed cow's milk formula allergy and he is small build. my two sons totally very different.
Dun think novemeber is a good month for me, my teaching schedule is very pack. looks like got to give a miss then.

Hi Emily!

So your older one is also a fussy eater.

Anyway, I always thought the diet during pregnancy was somewhat related to what the babies preferred. It's still quite true for me. E.g. I could only hold rice and preferrably without gravy when I was expecting Bryan. And he likes his rice dry without gravy.
I had lots of soupy stuffs when I was expecting Kristin and I could tell she's into soup as soon as she's 7 months old.

You just hang in there and rest well! And try not to let the stress at school get you.

Serenade...Take Care.

KY.. Recd the list with thanks.. but the list are very unclear.. any mummies encountered same problem as me? KY, wonder u could tell us further? BTW, which CC is Benedict attending?

hi Worry Mum

Have resend them as attachment ... Ben goes to a cc near CCK - The Learning Ladder.

Kristin's mom, I also have the same theory ... Ben loves to eat esp bread and rice. I was eating a lot of those when I was preggie with him. I remembered once I was in a seminar in a hotel, I was eating non-stop even in the function room ... everyone was letting me eat coz I was very preggie then :> ... People would comment good to have good eater but then he's really eating a lot ... he can have lunch in cc and then come home looking for more food. Yesterday, he took like 1/4 of my lunch, after having 2 bowls of porridge in school... now baby seems like a big eater too, coz I was also eating alot when I was preggie ... but that fellow is not putting on much weight

.ky.

Hi Ky,

Have pm you my email address, pls send me the book list. Thx

Lena,

Thx for the compliment, \(* _ * )/ . i got him to keep the tail since 1 year old till now. never cut but trimmed oni just for fun and tot now not yet into formal school then can keep mah... don't know whether kindergarten that time got restriction or not.

Yes, 5 Nov is a Sun !! just nice to come out n mit again before I send them back to Penang for a long holiday. mummy nid a break too. :p

Hi Serenade,

is it more ex to do it there ni France ? right ? (if I got your country correct) he he...
I did lasik 9 years ago, at that time don't know whether it was called lasik surgery or not, can't rem. at that time, still very new in singapore, technology not as good, so 9 years now, i am back to square one, wearing lens/glasses again.

u take care, girl.

Hi Emily,

u going HK disneyland ? but u tummy big big lei? try to avoid peak season. i went last year on a weekday and not so bad, no nid to really q for the rides but it's quite small tough. one day is more than sufficient unless now they ahve more park opened up.

i went without my kids, he he.... and it's my first visit to a disneyland. overall experience not bad unless u been to other disneyland then u won't find it fun. my frez been to tokyo and LA and said HK one ver lousy. for me no expectation then no disappointment oso lor..

HTH.

Blur blur
How nice to pack your kids off and have some 'me' time. i haven't travelled after Melody, so so so deprived.... you lucky gal.

Sarah
When is Hannah starting sch? I think u mentioned Oct?

Mommies
We probably need a wet-weather/hazy-day plan for 5 Nov also.

hi serenade, do take care. i have been wanted to lasik but cornea too thin cannot do it.
blur blur pooh, i have been to LA and japan disney, i enjoy japan disney very much one day in there do not seem enough for me to be in there. i actually wanted to bring my boys to japan but weather very cold there as compared to HK. i love travelling , this yr i only manage to bring my older son to adelaide for a week.

Anyone bring kids to BKK ? Wanted to bring Aston but daddy says air very polluted.

Hi Emily,
Been to LA disneyland for my honeymoon 6 yrs ago. It's a very big park and surely need one day to cover all the places. I miss the place badly since and wonder when one day can go back there and of course with my son and we think for sure he will love the rides.

pooh,
how long did your lasik surgery 'last' before you back to wearing lenses? a fren wanted to do about same time as you, and changed his mind coz surgeon said dunno what will happen 10yrs later! gd thing he decided not to...

hi lena,
tdy is hannah's 2nd day at sch. well, i think she's doing quite well, and should fit in pretty soon. she was clinging onto me for abt an hr, and only let go when outdoor play starts. Gd ice breaker! let's see after a week.
hey, you should start your travelling again...i find it gets difficult to travel as they grow older.

emily,
how long are your kids? given your pregnancy, and you being so stressed, you may want to consider somewhere relaxing....sil & family recently went to club med cherating, and surprisingly, it was family pro unlike previously, targeting at singles and couples. there are baby sitters and you & hb can have time together. just a suggestion.

apricot,
like lena said, 'we are choking in haze'. tell that to lawrence. no difference whether in spore or bkk. anyway, we were in bkk recently, and it was the humidity and uneven ground that i cannot take it...so hard to move around with the stroller esp when hannah having her beauty rest. i had to give up shopping at the markets...what a waste...shopping malls, everywhere the same. other than that, it's ok.

ky,
does ben suffer from constipation? hannah always constipate, and pd said that could be a result of too much rice. oh, she loves rice! previously, it was due to formula milk and so we dropped it totally. she eats fruits (only selected few) and veggies, and hates prune juice. what else can i do?

mommies,
any advice on constipation?

Sarah

perhaps u can try tuina? I heard it works for helping with digestion.

Emily
HK has a lot of exciting places to see, besides Disneyland ... I've not been there ... have only been to LA 2 times and 6 flags (thrill rides) and a couple of other amusement parks in US ... I'm just waiting for my kids to grow up before we can go and scream it out together ... and the disneyworld I would like to go is the one in florida ....

but for HK, I feel it's worth it to go to the outlying islands, hiking and fresh air ... or just take the tram and look at the happenings in the street or the star ferry and the peak, and pop concerts are so cheap there ... I can go on and on about HK... was working there for abt 1yr+ ... love to visit that place but not love to stay there ...

I've send the booklist to whoever who've pm me ... serenade, I need your email ID cos I'm sending the book list as attachment...

.ky.

hi sarah, thanks for your suggestion. i will check around more on club med. as for constipation , as ky suggest suggest tuina is good, another one is my friend taught me adding barley green powder into the milk powder help her solving her kids constipation. i am going to try that, i think barley green powder can be found in nature farm. i think usually constipation probably caused by insufficient fruits intake and water , for my in laws they always think it is heatiness.
Ky, is hong kong children friendly since you are there for a yr plus. my sons are 38 mths and 19th mths. hope december will come soon. really need a good break.
serenade, how are you getting on.
botanic garden indeed a good place for the kids to run about and learn about flower, some weekend evening got performance too.
Ky , can send me the book list too. my email is [email protected]

Hi mommies!

Thanks for your concern! The lasik surgery was cool though I was really nervous about it. At the moment, vision is clear in one eye but still a little blur in the other. The doc says it will take a few months before vision reach perfect status and stabilize. I'm wearing the sun shades as I'm writing. Gotta be more careful with the eyes now. :p

Sarah, my myopia is quite bad; Right eye 450 degrees & Left eye 700 degrees. Actually I read an article on how contact lens might cause droopy eyelids and that really worried me. Glasses is not really an option for me cos I always have headaches when wearing them.

Pooh,
The surgery that I just went through is termed as refractive lasik. Hmm, you are really brave to do it 9 years ago. One of the pioneer batch, right? Any reason why you need glasses/contact lens again? Is this common among those who went through the surgery? At the moment, I enjoy the (near) clear vision when I wake up in the morning. No need to search for glasses anymore. cheers! As for costs, I think it's cheaper here. I paid 1400 euros for both eyes which include surgery, consultation and follow-ups. But I heard that it's getting cheaper in Sg now, right? Any plans to go for the lasik surgery?

ky,
I have PM you for the list. Thanks.
Sounds like you travelled quite a lot, that's cool... I'm also thinking of US disney trip before Brandon starts primary schooling.

Emily,
When I had Cheryl, I had very bad MS and it lasted till the first half of my 2nd trimester. Not sure if there's any connection b/w MS and baby gender, hehe...

Do your kids take spicy things? I notice that Brandon hates spicy or minty food while Cheryl loves them. When I was having Cheryl, I often crave for curry and ate it on a weekly basis. Maybe that's where she got her training from?

sarah
great to hear that hannah is doing well in sch, i can imagine mel clinging on like a leech. hopefully she will surprise me.
Mel has constipation too. heard from a nurse friend that too much fibre causes it too. So gotta watch out for too much fruits/veg diet, and if u give yougurt, must give water also. Sometimes, i make her exercise, let her run about at reservoir or garden, or dance and bounce on bed haha Seems to work after the 'work-out'.

K's mom, the blue-tin glucose? How
much do u give? As and when needed or daily?

apricot
don't go BKK for family holiday. go with girlfriends. i had so much fun when i went with my girlfriend, shop like crazy buy buy buy, the both of us brought heaps back, sigh... those were the days when impulse buying is guilt-free ... haha I vote for Japan, at least hygiene standard is there and no bad air. Though known to be pricey, but u can plan ur own itinerary and do it ur way, take the subway and eat at local noddle shops. going to disneyland is a must! i am sure aston will be thrilled to bits. recently Disneysea was featured on papers, seems worth visiting too. or go to osaka for universal studio. also beautiful. when are u planning for trip?

Mommies
Me had been kneading playdoh n watching TV the whole week. How do u discipline yourself to coach your kids? do u have a timetable??? She still doesn't want to hold the pencil the correct way, should i let her be???

hi Emily

HK not quite child friendly ... that's what I feel. I hardly ever see kids running around, and people walking along the street are pretty rude ... but it's not a difficult to bring the kids along if u are not bringing a stroller. I was there actually 10 yrs ago, but I guess it prob didn't change as much

worry_mum, yes, got your list. no need to pay yet. I do the payment later. a fren came over to see the list n just tempted me to get more :< ... i'll just hunt u down if u 'disappear' lah ... no time to reply cos as usual, busy doing too many things. on the pelangi thread, I did consider before. then the set I'm keen on suddenly appear in the lib, so I kill off that idea...

Serenade, didn't get ur pm. u pm me again can? I toured US twice before, 1st time was a 30-days trip ... shiok. now with kids, I haven't been travelling in a while.

Lena
disciplining myself ... that's something which I always have problems with. I've recently came up with a schedule (again) but I think I'm following it like at best 70%

.ky.

Hi KY, thanks. Think is better for you to Email me instead. Dont worry.. i will only disappear during weekend.. haha...