(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Sherlyn,

Nice to have you here. I'm also a sahm with 2 kids. It's really tough handling 2 kids, especially yours are so close in age.

Try not worry too much. Previously, my niece played all day at home too. When she starts N2 at 3 yrs old (she's a dec child), she had some problems initially. But she's now catching up. Kids learn very fast.

Lena, just realised that The Complete Adventures of Curious George (a total of 7 stories) averages out to be ard S$6 per story.

Serenade, thanks for the reply tip, will do just that.

I'm not sure how much time they spend w each child but material time is abt 1.5hrs. The ratio is 1:8. Pretty big huh? Sometimes it worries me but having taught in a montessori school, I know this is beneficial to a child. When the child is 'normalised', she should b able to do her work (aft the tr has showed her how to use it) on her own. The control of error is by the materials.

Lena,
Yday dd just got a BIG time warning from me at the shopping mall. She ran around like a mad woman and i was pretty sure that all the sales there knew her name bcos i kept calling her! grgghhh!

hi... i'm a working mum to my 42mths ds. kind of worries me when i see the mummies' post here. my ds can only write "1" and "2", can't read and his speech is not clear...

would like to enrol him in preschool next year, hope it is not too late to get him started...

hope to make more friends through this forum...
cheers.

Hello sherlyn n jomum, nice to have u join us, drop by often ti cathc up yah.
Jomum,
Your ds is not doing Nursery i suppose?

Alison
i am the other mad woman when i go shopping with my dd, i m on full alert every moment, like combat trained u know, my dd is just like yours, like a jailbird released, so now we are smart, we strap her on the stroller and only let her roam when it's her turn to shop. the other problem now is that sometimes she gets too lazy and want the stroller all the time sigh...

Serenade, get the complete adventure then, i;ll prob ask for this as a bday gift for dd (sep), she'll be thrilled to receive it. DVD? haven;t seen them ard here, hope not to see them, else my pocket's hole will get bigger plus m trying to limit her TV watching.

My dd is on shower strike again (off and 0n), this time she doesn't want to wash her hair cos of the water irritating her eyes. every bath time is battle time, i;ll be soaked myself trying to stop her from running away and at the same time, handling the shower head. She cries, screams struggles. sometimes hubby will shower her cos he can hold her down better but now no way, when she hears that daddy is going to bathe her, she cries immediately and will not even go into the bathroom. HELP!

My dd had this shower problem too. I just let her scream the house down. Now she's much better. Doesnt cry as much when we wash her hair.

haha.. my son too.. so now we use cane, but not cane him lah.. we cane his favourite toys.. eg.. Barney & Friends. So immediately he sees his toys kenna cane, he will quickly go and bath without thinking.. u may try also..

Hi Lena,

Dun make ur gal fearful of washing her hair, make it fun for her. Kids like to have fun during bathtime so u can either bring some of her favorite toys in or give her any small container/plastic cup & spoon & let her play with the running water & bubbles falling into the container when she bends down to wash her hair. Or give her any other of her clothes items like hanky (that needs to be washed) & tell her to help mummy wash it clean with soap & water. Will keep her mind occupied this way & she shld be willing to wash her hair. Do give it a try..

Dun use force cos will make them more fearful.. always go for the 'soft approach'.. know what they like or what to do to 'attract' them & go with that. It usually works..

Unfortunately the soft approach doesnt work for my dd. But ignoring her screams did. Same goes for her leak pee problem. Rewards didnt work but confiscation of fav toys did. :-S

Well, at least u managed to work it out. But no gd to let her scream for too long will affect her voice cord in the long run. For me, if the soft doesn't work, the hard one will follow & she will have no choice but to be guai guai hehe... :p

my ds also has these shower problems too, every time we mention shower time, he will bargain and bargain , dun wash hair la, choose people to shower, at times i got so angry that if he still refuse to shower i am going to use cane lor. but one thing work is letting hime blow bubbles during shower , he enjoys alot , then he refuse to come out from the shower room.
one thing i really like montessori is like it gives individual kid some personal coaching time but expensive lor.
lena, serenade , you guys seem to like the this curious george ya, is it really good and where to get the dvd, my son loves animation alot.

But kids are smart leh.. if u use the always use the hard approach, they will know & after some time, it will not work anymore. So I always try to go for the soft first.. unless no choice then I use the hard one. My gal oso has a v. bad temper & stubborn character.. not easy to coax also esp. when she bad mood. so cannot always use same method on her..

hi , just want to ask anyone here or your friends are hokkein huey kwan member, i need recommendation to be a member to hokkein hwey kwan as i intend when it is time for my son to enrol primary one i would like to enrol him into tao nan primary school. i sound very k s right, well i need to be a member for two year then they will recognise me lor so now got to plan lor...........
pls help ya.........

Lena, what I did was letting dd washes my hair too. She used to scream and cry saying I was too rough etc. Much better now after we take turns to shower each other. Don't forget toys too. Hope this helps.

Hey Emily, so glad you wrote. Thought I was the only one being ks(hubby complained..). Men just don't understand...Anyway, I have been looking into possible schools too. Joining the clan next year, hopefully Phase 2A has better chance. Getting hubby's uncle to recommend. Let me know if you're keen. Friend tried to do volunteering work and was told to submit proposal instead, and will contact her if they are keen with her contributions.

Sarah, that's under Phase 2B...

Phase 2B *
For a child whose parent has joined the school as a parent volunteer not later than 1 July 2005 and has given at least 40 hours of voluntary service to the school by 30 June 2006; or whose parent is a member of the church/clan directly connected with the school; or whose parent is endorsed as an active community leader.

Lena, I have just placed for The Complete Adventures of Curious George at US$22. This set comes with audio CDs for the stories. Available only in sep.

Emily, there are good reviews on Curious George on Amazon.com. I wanted to get it earlier but worried ds not ready for the "mischiefs". There are a number of Curious George DVDs from Amazon.com. http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_nr_i_8/104-0993651-3975963?ie=UTF8&keywords=curious%20george&rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3Acurious%20george%2Ci%3Advd&page=1

Ds got no issue with bathing so far. My dd does dislike washing hair but not bathing.

Btw, when should we stop bathing together with dd or ds? Does your hubby bath your dd? Any guidelines on when daddy shld stop bathing dd?

Thanks Serenade and Lena ... I cant be here as often since I only online after 11 plus. Unless there are night owls like me here ;-) cos i m sure to drop by reading the spree forum ...he he he

lamby
i have scoops, toys everything... but the moment i wet her hair, the struggles the screams begin, but i like the washing hanky idea, will try out later. My dd is also turning 3, i hope terrible 2 will not spill over!!!

Sarah
does she wash your hair 1st then her turn next?

emily
Abt letterland, i got ABC letterland and the first activity books (home use series), i plan to get some more activity books. Spent about $50. have u decided on anything?
Abt P1 reg, i hv a friend who completed the volunteer wk for her 1st choice sch but was placed way behind, so she applied for ano sch under the church affliated scg scheme (2B) and got a place. Ano friend was 1 km away from sch and did vol wk but still had to go thru balloting.
So they all advise me not to do any vol work!
The association thing u are going for is probably a good move.

Serenade
u brought up a good question about hub bathing daughters, i am not too sure myself, probably stop before P1??? what say the rest?

Hey
9 Sep is teddy bears day, there;s a baking workshop conducted to decorate teddy bears, i m keen, anyone?

http://www.kookyart.com.sg/calendar.asp

dear sarah,
yes i am very interested to join the clan, let me know how i can get the recommendation. in fact i got one already just lack of one more, this one i got is thru a friend friend uncle, not very helpful in the beginning but finally agreed as i did my friend some favour so she is returning the favor.
keep me informed ya. thanks

Lena,

I guess she has already developed fear of washing hair cos of previous experiences with soap getting into her eyes tt's y the moment u wet her hair she'll knows already. It's like once bitten twice shy u know, esp. for kids..

Anyway, do try out the hanky idea. Or try to think of any other possible ways u can to let her know there's nothing to be afraid of & she'll get over it slowly, just give her more time. She'll not be like tt always. My gal used to be afraid of washing her hair too last time but she's ok now cos she knows it will be alrite & it's fun too. When she was just a baby, she used to cry every day during bathtime for the 1st 3 mths, then ok oredi after tt. Now she loved the water so much. Kids will always grow & change.

So we really need lotsa patience with kids nowadays, it's not easy. For me, I still foresee terrible 3, 4 & 5 coming... seems neverending, haha.

actually it is true that doing parents volunteer not as good chance as been clan or association member or illumni, like i read from another thread saying now Parents have been treated as stakeholders lor.
so sorry i appear so k s just that having a good primary school is giving them good foundation lor.

Hi gals, thanks for letting me know associations & clans have preferential treatments. Looks like I must try other means. Emily, don't think it's ks, just doing our best to give our kids a good headstart. But then, be prepared to put in more work if you enrol your ds in "top" schools. Often, these schools expect the kids to be well prepared before starting school.

Serenade, thanks for highlighting. Kaypoh abit...have you consider staying put in France? The education should be less stressful, I guess. More fun too?

Emily, I too have only one recommendation who is the uncle, but because he's one of the council member, so getting him to recommend the 2nd one. Let me know when you want to join and I'll ask him how to proceed.

As for bathing issues, I think daddy should stop bathing dd at 6yrs old. By then, they are more aware of the body etc...Hey, does the 'no more tears' shampoo really work?

Lena, I washes dd's hair first. U may also want to try 'waterfall' game...Count me in for the teddy bears' workshop. It should be fun.

Mommies, can share your disciplie methods? I used the time-out method. Cos she's 3yrs old, so she will stay in a corner for 3mins.

sarah, actually your uncle can help, i am apply anytime now so next time i can help someone who need help from me.thanks so much, emily

as for me regarding discipline, i felt i cannot adopt the same discipline all the time, i will reward for good behavior by giving a star each time, depends on how many stars he recieve to exchange for something more lor.sometimes if my son makes me crazy, i make him in the corner for half hour then i felt then have more impact lor. in adverse situation i might even used cane lor.hope i am too violent but mine child is a boy more playful and at times stubborn lor

hi i'm not fm this thread but since i saw u discussin abt curious george (which is 1 of my fav set of bks when i was young), i cldn't help kpo-ing.

went borders on mon n saw 'curious george story book collection' borad bks selling at S$34.95. u gals may b interested.

Hi welcome, jomum!

Channel, no sweat. Will add in your gal. Just noticed our kids are rather close in age. Tough to handle?

Sherlyn, the beauty of forum is that you can leave a message anything. So, do join in anytime.

Sarah, actually I'm feeling rather "shy" to bathe with my ds. He's been bugging me to do it. Currently, my hubby is bathing them (bonding). So, really curious to know when to stop...

jh, thanks for the info.

On discipline, it depends on the "crime" committed. Usually, I only punish him when he commits serious crimes. Punishment includes "a few light strokes of cane", facing the wall to reflect his mistake and finally with a discussion on what happened.

Sarah, I'm here cos of hubby's posting. We are scheduled to return next Apr. It will be lovely to stay here but can be quite boring. Btw, uni education is free as govt pays for the bills. can save a lot of $$$...

hi sarah, can email me at [email protected], if your uncle are willing to put his support for my application as how we arrange to let him sign the application form.
thanks again, it is not easy to get a supporter for the application, i was really praying very hard for it.

Hi Lena,

I rem last time u mentioned some phonic books from Letterhand ? is letterhand a school ? or a book ? apologised for my ignorance. 8 _ *

wanted to buy some kind og phonic book to teach my boy @ home. save some $$ to send him to those enrichment classes. he he...

Hi blurblur
u caught me just in time, was about to log out, did a last check and saw your post ;)
Letterland phonics is widely used in the UK and many preschools here. You can contact [email protected] (Francis) for a catalogue. They have many resources like books, CDs, flashcards etc. I got some home series activity books which my dd enjoyed, planning to get more ;) How old is your son? Already schooling? Mine is going to Nursery next year.

Hi Lena,

Thx Thx ! ver bzzz last few weeks so did not actually "talk" here.

My boy is 3+, prenursery now. : )

so roughly how much is the series that you got for you d ?

lena, i have not decided what to get, seem most them are very interesting lei. ah yo pocket burning holes again.
Serenade, ya i understand the load and stress to put my son in top school, just hope he will do his best , i will give whatever i can for him. innitiatly relative tell me to put me in ACS, but i think that is greater stress there i think.
allof us just want the best for our son i guess.

Emily, I'm thinking more on the stress we will be having.
I used to wonder why mummies with pri-school kids so stressful. But I know I can understand why... Btw, I'm hoping to place my kids in Pei Hwa. Initially, I thought of doing voluntary work. But reading what was mentioned, I'll probably join the Church. Hehe, anybody from with Glory Presbyterian Church?

Blurblur
The activity books are affordable at abt $13 each. Other items are above $20

Emily
Is your son's sch using letterland?

Serenade
My girlfriend got in a place in Pei Hwa through the church, forgot the name of church but it's the one at Adam's road. Her son will start P1 next year. She did volunteer work and didn't get in for her 1st choice, pei hwa is 2nd choice cos' of the distance from woodlands where home is. She tells me not to bother with vol work, i am too lazy to volunteer anyway haha

Lena,

Actually, I was thinking of "volunteering" my hubby to the school
Hmm, you mean there's more than one church that is associated with Pei Hwa? Looks like I need to do more thorough "investigations"...

hi mOmmies,
Sorry to intrude... hope you all dun mind!

Read about Serenade's post here on the BP on those readers. Am interested to get these books from Amazon since only worked out to be abt S$26 per set.

Any mommies here interested to share to get 5 sets?

If interested, I will start a BP here amongst the mommies here.

Let me know if you all mind me being here to discuss about this topic. I apologise in advance if I am intruding.

shimmrs (from Feb babes 2004)

Hi shimmrs,

It's even cheaper if you can get more interested buyers to share out the base charge.

The total cost will be calculated as follows:

US$60.45 + US$6.99 + US$4.99 + US$1.60 = S$74.03 * 1.75 (Exchg rate) = S$129.5525

One person will pay S$129.5525/5 = 25.9105

Oh serenade, that's a gd set of readers for building their confidence on reading. DD has finished her set not too long ago. I got it from Wonderbox at 36.95.

Serenade
Thanks for your input. I appreciate it very much. So does it mean min. 5 sets and above to enjoy cheaper price?

Sorry, how did you derive US$60.45 huh? I am very blur and poor in Math. *so embarassing*

Hi Alison, that's nice. I wanted to get this long ago but not sure how good it is. At least my gal gets to enjoy the books now.

shimmrs,

I'm referring to the classroom set http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0439511836/ref=ord_cart_shr/104-0993651-3975963?%5Fencoding=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&v=glance&n=283155 . It comes with 5 copies of the 25 books and a teacher's guide.

If you prefer the parent set, http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0439577039/ref=pd_rvi_gw_2/104-0993651-3975963?ie=UTF8 , it will cost more and it does not come with Teacher's guide.

The total cost for the parent set will be as follows:

US$14.29*No.of sets + US$6.99(base charge) + US$4.99*No.of sets

E.g for 5 buyers, the total cost per person will be :

Total cost = US$14.29*5 + US$6.99(base charge) + US$4.99*5 = US$103.19*1.75 = S$180.58

which averages to abt S$36.12 per person.

Hope I have clarified well...

Serenade
Do you mean the classroom set comes with 5 parent sets? The 5 sets are all the same?

thanks very much!

shimmrs