(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

I've fren who is bringing a new brand of shoes from the US. As the sizes that will be available in singapore will be limited, anyone who is interested, can piggybag the bulk order that is coming in (then you can take any size on the sizechart listed on the website). Apparently, Angelina Jolie's adopted son is spotted wearing the X10-TRex. Anyone interested can PM me. Website is www.dinosoles.com

hi mummies, my son is mar'03 baby. he can speak well but problem is that sometime he will repeat the 1st word in order to complete a sentence. eg "I I I very tired, i want to sleep already." or "Where where where r u going" etc...how ah? i'm afraid in future he will speak in this way.
i thot sending him to speech n drama course leh. do u r think it work? his 2 elder sisters dun speak like that leh.

Hi 2003 mummies,

I'm hoping to buy a 2nd-hand set of Glenn Doman Maths Flash Cards. If any of you plans to let go, pls PM me.

Many many thanks!
468787.gif

hi all..

i hv a feb 03 dd n a SAHM...may i join the list?

will be intereested to join outings if there are any...

me keen too... for the outings. I tink it 'll b gd 4 d kids to socialise

Serenade - =P my kids r Nov 03 n Dec 05. Pls amend ok? tks!

Hi gals, thanks for the info. I didn't know there's an animal resort. There are so many interesting places now. Think I have lost touch with Sg. So far, I can only think of zoo, night safari, and science centre. Must chat with you gals more on this...

ky, sometimes my son will use that phrase too. But I think it's just that he's just calling for attention & encouragement rather than low self esteem. Usually, I'll encourage him by saying things like, "oh really? let's try." or "I know you can." and start the ball rolling. Once he feels he can do it, he'll brush me off and take over...
. And a new addition will definitely affect them greatly. It's very common that some of their acquired skills will regress when there's a new addition in the family. When my gal was a few months old, my ds insisted on being fed like the sister. Not only that, he want to change diaper like her too, lie down on the bed and expect us to change him like a baby.
But they will outgrow it, so don't worry too much. Keep reassuring him that you still love him greatly.

Worrymum, have you tried giving him bigger bits of meat (not minced) and tell him to chew? Perhaps, do the chewing action together with him?

Lena, thanks. Guess I'll call and "book" a place if possible.

My son likes to "help" me a lot. When I'm hanging the clothes to dry, he'll insist on helping. In the end, I have to redo everything behind his back. Otherwise, he'll be upset and insist on helping again.

Emily, many FTWM's kids are also doing very well too. So, don't worry unduly.

Talk abt enrichment classes, think my kids are "badly deprived" hehe... so far, they have never attended any. Think I'll only know how they fare when we return to sg next year. But I think a lot of homeschooled kids are doing great without attending any enrichment classes. Maybe enrichment classes are more useful for learning things that we are unable to teach them? I agree with ky, I'm more inclined to enrol my kids in non-academic classes where they can have more fun.

jas3angels, could it be more of a habit than a problem? perhaps u can break the habit by asking him to repeat the sentence properly each time it happens?

Lena, think I can only join the outings next year...

Sunflower, no problem.

<table border=1><tr><td>1</TD><TD>aa</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>rammy</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>echo yang</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Ky</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Feb</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Jan'06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>reyan</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>chua family2003</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Mar</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Happiemom</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Mar</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>jas3angels</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Mar</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>May</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Mar</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Karen</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-May</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Serenade</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-May</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Jun'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>MH</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Jan'06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Emily</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Aug</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Ling</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Aug</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Aug'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>JKJt</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Sep</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>EDD Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Kris</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Sep</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Lena</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Worry Mum</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Alison</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Oct</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>gen</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Oct</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Sep'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>JM</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Oct</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>EDD July </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>pooh</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Oct</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>May'06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>cherylasu</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Duchess</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Nov</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>EDD Sep </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Oh Chiann Hwei</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>EDD Jan'07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Sunflower</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Nov</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Dec'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>34 mths</TD><TD></td></tr></table>

came upon this interesting thread. can i join in?

i'm a sahm with daughter (may 03). keen to join in any outings too.

serenade - pls include me in your list. tks.

hi serenade, i tried to ask my boi to repeat. initially ok but now he just keep quiet n walk away. haiz....

btw, any mummy here your girl girl or boy boy still wear pamper at nite? my son still need leh. 2+ yrs old liao leh. i remember my 2 gals stop at 18mths leh.

Hi Jas3angels,

I guess its never too early to stop wear diapers in the nite. But 18 mths seems a bit too fast.. How did u manage to train that? My son is also 2+ yrs old (Nov 03) and he only wear pull-ups in the night. Whenever I take it out in the morning, it is always very heavy. At this age I guess its still ok to be wearing diapers in the night. I've a friend whose daughter, coming to 5 yrs old this year, is still wearin diapers in the nite as a precaution.

hi cherylasu,

my gals did not wear diaper in day time when they were 12mths old coz they would tell us when they want to pass urine. completely stop wearing at nite till they were 18mths. they were trained by my pil, i think. :p my pil dun feel tired repeating cleaning their urine and trained them again. my gals oso very sensitive in wet.
my boi dun like to wear diaper but problem is that he still wet bed leh. might not be heavy but still no choice.

Serenade, would be happy to meet u when u return, maybe u can start a French class for the kiddos!
And yes, chk out how u can reserve a place in your preferred school.

Outings-Weekdays mornings
1. Lena
2. Sunflower
3. Sarah
4. aa??
5. anymore?

ladies, where shall we start off with? zoo? beach? park? this is so exciting, next week???

Hi Worry Mum, my son is a good eater now so I can't advise much. A fren's dd of same age does have digestion issue. She'll need to eat literally very small pieces. If eat more or faster, she'll puke everything out. Maybe he's too hungry during meal times or have no patience? Try to feed him with smaller spoonful of food and keeps reminding him to chew his food with each.

Lena, it has to depend on where we go before I can decide if can join ... my 3 yr-old goes to cc in the morning and so it'd be just baby and me. there's a homeschooling talk which I'm hoping to attend (just to understand how other folks do it). See that you r keen ... anyone else?

Serenade, u in france? how much longer?
ya, I tried to encourage my ds too the same way but somehow he can be impatient at times

My son's still wearing diapers at night too ... heard folks say that it's easier for girls to be toilet-trained ...

.ky.

ky, when and where is the talk about homeschooling ??
lena , i would like very much to join u guys but sigh..working leh...............
serenade, if you are conducting french class for kids ,i am interested ya.......
serenade, i was not so worry before till all my colleagues whose kids even younger than mine are preparing to shift house to good school and start various enrichment class , probably i am not worried but also became k s as influence by colleagues....maybe because i am in education profession, i see it as very crucial and important for a kid to have strong foundation lor.
my son too are still wearing diaper at night, we tried waking him in the middle of the night to wee wee he will start crying due to disturbance and take a long while to go back sleep the next morning i will be a panda ........

ya, i oso heard girls r more easy to be toilet-trained.
wake my son up in the middle of the night ah...hmm...quite difficult lah, coz mi n my hb will sleep thru' night. keke...n like u oso, take a long while to get back to sleep if i will to wake up. by e time i can sleep ah, time to wake up for work liao...

i'm not sure abt girls easier to toilet-trained...at least not in my case. she'll run away when she sees the potty or hold on to her urine if she goes diaperless. help! how to train? showing &amp; telling her what i'm doing doesn't work.

btw, anyone heard of 'learning vision'? was told it's curriculum is good esp the one at kk hospital cos of the mix of children...parents are either docs or nurses.

Lena, emily, sorry to disappoint you gals. I can hardly speak french. Think my ds will be better than me after he attends the french school... Ever thought of picking up french, even engaged a french lady to tutor me. But stopped shortly due to pregnancy.

worrymum, I'm not sure if this is a good suggestion - how abt those chewing sweets? Perhaps those can get your son into the chewing action? Just a suggestion.

emily, I do agree strongly that a strong foundation is very important. And a good school will also play a part in shaping the child's mindset and character. I'm thinking of joining the parent volunteering thingy when the time comes.

ky, I'm still in France. Will be returning only next Apr/May. Don't give up easily. Your son is just having a rough time adjusting to the baby and needs more attention &amp; patience.

jas3angels, your pil are really patient to toilet train your gals that young. Not an easy job.

My ds has been wearing underpants to bed since last Wednesday. So far, no accidents. Hopefully, he'll soon learn to wake me up and alert me if he needs to go toilet in the middle of the night.

sarah, I started "toilet training" my son only when he was near 3 yrs old. Took less than 2 weeks. What I did was let him don underpants. And I rewarded him with some chocolate on the first day to help him understand what's expected of him. After that, it was really easy.

<table border=1><tr><td>1</TD><TD>aa</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>rammy</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>echo yang</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Ky</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Feb</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Jan'06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>reyan</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Feb</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>chua family2003</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Mar</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Happiemom</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Mar</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>jas3angels</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Mar</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>May</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Mar</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Karen</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-May</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>sarah</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-May</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Serenade</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-May</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Jun'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>MH</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Jan'06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Emily</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Aug</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Ling</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Aug</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Aug'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>JKJt</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Sep</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>EDD Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Kris</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Sep</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Lena</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Worry Mum</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Sep</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Alison</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Oct</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>gen</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Oct</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Sep'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>JM</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Oct</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>EDD July </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>pooh</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Oct</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>May'06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>cherylasu</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Duchess</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>3-Nov</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>EDD Sep </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Oh Chiann Hwei</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>EDD Jan'07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Sunflower</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>3-Nov</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Dec'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>34 mths</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

sarah..i've been to a trial at LV havelock..not impressed at all...curriculum quite weak for N1 classes(3 yrs)..i did not continue...but not sure abt others though...

i toilet trained my dd oso at alm 29m+..was quite easy (tried before at 18m but she resisted strongly..so i let go)..but she stil wears diaper when napping/sleeping at night..(i noticed alw very heavy)..i guess she's stil not ready to go diaperless..so i dropped the idea..

ky..where's the talk for homeschooling?

emily..my fren also talking abt doing PV for their children to prepare for pri sch..also felt very stressed...

sarah,

Been to the one at authur rd. the ratio of the teacher vs student is quite high. I don't believe in 1 teacher can take care of soooo many student especially when the kids are still very young.

Lena,

As for outing in the morning. I don't think I can make it as my girl is attending the morning class.

Ladies, the following is interesting, let's hear your comments, any mummies in the states?

Singapore's students do brilliantly in math and science tests.
American kids test much worse but do better in the real
world. Why? (Jan 6, 2006 Newsweek)

Traveling around Asia for most of the past month, I have
been struck by the relentless focus on education.

It makes sense. Many of these countries have no natural resources, other than their people; making them smarter is the only path for development. China, as always, appears to be moving fastest.

When officials there talk about their plans for future growth, they point out that they have increased spending on colleges
and universities almost ten fold in the past 10 years.

Yale's president, Richard Levin, notes that Peking University's two state-of-the-art semiconductor fabrication lines - each employing a different technologyoutshine anything in the
United States.

East Asian countries top virtually every global ranking of students in science and mathematics.

But one thing puzzles me about these oft-made comparisons. I talked to Tharman Shanmugaratnam to understand it
better. He's the minister of Education of Singapore, the country that is No. 1 in the global science and math rankings for school children.

I asked the minister how to explain the fact that even though Singapore's students do so brilliantly on these tests, when you look at these same students 10 or 20 years later, few of
them are world beaters anymore.

Singapore has few truly top-ranked scientists, entrepreneurs, inventors, business executives or academics.

American kids, by contrast, test much worse in the fourth and eighth grades but seem to do better later in life and in the real world. Why?

"We both have meritocracies," Shanmugaratnam said. "Yours is a talent meritocracy, ours is an exam meritocracy. There are some parts of the intellect that we are not able to test
well - like creativity, curiosity, a sense of adventure, ambition.

Most of all, America has a culture of learning that challenges conventional wisdom, even if it means challenging authority. These are the areas where Singapore must learn from America."

Shanmugaratnam also pointed out that American universities are unrivaled globallyand are getting better.

"You have created a public-private partnership in tertiary education that is amazingly successful. The government provides massive funding, and private and public colleges compete, raising everyone's standards."

Shanmugaratnam highlighted in particular the role that American foundations play.

"Someone in society has to be focused on the long
term, on maintaining excellence, on raising quality. You have this array of foundationsin fact, a whole tradition of civic-minded volunteerismthat fulfills this role.

For example, you could not imagine American advances in biomedical sciences without the Howard Hughes Foundation."

Singapore is now emphasizing factors other than raw testing skills when selecting its top students. But cultures are hard to change.

A Singaporean friend recently brought his children back from America and put them in his country's much-heralded schools. He described the difference.

"In the American school, when my son would speak up, he was applauded and encouraged. In Singapore, he's seen as pushy and weird. The culture of making learning something to
love and engage in with gusto is totally absent. Here it is a chore. Work hard, memorize and test well." He took his child out of the Singapore state school and put him into a private,
Western-style one.

Despite all the praise Shanmugaratnam showered on the States, he said that the US educational system "as a whole has failed."

"Unless you are comfortably middle class or richer," he explained, "you get an education that is truly second-rate by any standards.

Apart from issues of fairness, what this means is that you never really access the talent of poor, bright kids.

"They don't go to good schools and, because of teaching methods that focus on bringing everyone along, the bright ones are never pushed.

In Singapore we get the poor kid who is very bright and very hungry, and that's crucial to our success.

"From where I sit, it's not a flat world," Shanmugaratnam concluded.

"It's one of peaks and valleys. The good news for America is that the peaks are getting higher. But the valleys are getting deeper, and many of them are also in the United States."

The above article certainly provokes thoughts about the quality of the education system in Singapore. Do share it with your friends, colleagues, your child's teachers and principal by simply forwarding this e-mail to them.

For those who are keen,

Homeschooling Talks

Date: 30th July, Sunday,
Time: 3.30pm
Venue: Lounge, Pandan Valley Condominium (next to the function room)

Do invite friends who are interested in homeschooling or considering homeschooling as well.

Kindly register with Kay Hoon at [email protected] if you are interested to attend.

Program

1) Homeschooling: Reconstructing Your Education Paradigm
by Jeremy Yeo

Jeremy will share aspects that were highlighted in a
recent homeschooling conference which he attended in
Canada. These include issues that many of you may
grapple with at some point during the homeschooling
process: How to write better;
motivation/encouragement; testing and
assessment; "true confessions".

A former international squash player and investment
banker, Jeremy currently homeschools his two boys
full-time at the elementary/primary level - and may
well do so up to the pre-university level.

2) Homeschooling: A Personal Account
by Dr Kevin Tan

Homeschooling is, for most parents, a frightening
prospect. For so many years, especially in Singapore,
schooling has been primarily something done at an
institutional level. In this talk, Kevin will be
sharing his perspectives on homeschooling, the
motivations that led him and his wife to homeschool
their two daughters (now aged 15 and 12) and the pros
and cons of
their decision.

Kevin Tan taught for 14 years at the Faculty of
Law at the National University of Singapore. He
currently runs a small consultancy specialising in law
and heritage, and is the President of the Singapore
Heritage Society.

There will be time for questions at the end of each talk.

How to get there

Pandan Valley condo is off Ulu Pandan Road, and
sandwiched between Pandan Valley Road and Holland
Road. Bus numbers: 7, 61, 165, 156, 75.

ky, i can't make it on sunday for the talk. how about u?

reyan, my friend volunteered in st nichs and was 1km from sch, but no place for her kid, balloting. Another friend also volunteered in another sch but was placed way behind in the queue.

Lena - how long is the session? And I'm still keen in outings. I'm staying in the east.

Gen, Reyan - Tks for info.

I tried Kinderland. I was ok with it untill dd ended up in hospital. Suspected of kawasaki disease (children's heart attack according to doc). If yes, they have to perform blood transfusion. I freaked out, and that's it. Then saw one of the teachers with similar rashes on hand. So glad she's out.

Recently I was 'shopping' for schools again, and one cc's teacher exclaimed '3yrs old already and still wear diapers!'. I wasn't too happy upon hearing this. Thot it's pretty common?

Mommies - you may like making a small volcano experiment with your kid(s). This is what you need:

- a bottle
- baking soda
- red food colouring
- liquid dishwashing detergent
- vinegar
- dirt, sticks and leaves
- a tray or plate
- clay, playdough to create volcano

step 1 - create a magma chamber by pouring the dishwashing liquid, baking soda and red food colouring into the bottle (experiment with proportions to gain the best effect)

step 2 - place the bottle (with lid removed) on a suitable plate or tray and construct around it a cone-shaped mountain using clay, playdough or another suitable material. To make it more realistic create a dirt base and use sticks and leaves to simulate trees and vegetation.

step 3 - carefully pour in the vinegar and watch your volcano erupt!

Have fun!

hi all ... the homeschooling session is from 3.30 - 5.30pm (4.40 - 5.30 is Q&amp;A). Have to register beforehand. I've put my name down and can bring one fren along ... session is free but space is pretty constraint, might have to stand or sit on floor. I think can walk in but better like organizer know the number to expect.

There's a concert in the park - 10th bday bash on the same day at Botanic Gardens ... check out at www.nac.gov.sg.... sounds fun, I'm thinking which one to go to.

.ky.

ky
do share your findings if u attend the talk ;)

sarah, the volcano thing sure is fun, i did that with my students b4. Recently, i bought a small volcano from toy r us which can hold the solution, so that's no need to make the volcano every time. Haven't tried it out though.

About the outing, any suggestions?

Hi all mommies,

new to this forum and came upon this interesting one by all you, i am amummy with a boy born in Jul 03, oso very interested in any outing by you guys but weekdays ??? sigh.....

if next time got a weekend outing, let me know....

Serenade, can include me in your list ? Thanks !

Any1 interested to join me in a 'Physical Play Trial' in their newest outlet at Sin Ming Plaza. The 45mins lesson is for 2-3yrs old 29 Jul Sat 5.15pm at $23/-

The Programme
Each 45-minutes session is designed to develop children's physical skills of agility, balance, co-ordination and climbing through the use of brightly coloured Tumble Tots equipment. This programme also incorporates music and language skills through use of action songs and rhymes.

The Key Objectives
General Motor skills
Self confidence
Self discipline
Social Awareness

Its Importance
Child psychologists and educators agree that a structured program in movement should be a part of every child's education.

Programme Structures
This programme is progressive in its methods. Recognizing emotional changes and stages of development in a childs life, each class is structured to cater to different physical skill levels, behavior and emotions of the age groups.

Hi, I am new here. My son was born in April 2003, nowing attending half day childcare. He knows A-Z, can count > 50(I lost track), knows colours and some vocabulary words. But he is weak in talking in sentences, pronouncing words/sounds(like bye-bye becomes gai-gai, no 'b' sound). I am a SAHM with no help, and I always wonder if I have understood his development well, whether what is expected at which stage(age?). On one hand, he is so good at numbers(count lift floor when inside lift, count bus number, car park lot number, hawker centre table number, MRT station number,etc). But yet he doesn't like to speak properly despite my efforts. Sometimes he only likes to point instead of asking verbally when want something.

Social wise,he is very friendly even with strangers, greeting them inside the lifts and biding bye-bye when parting.

Thanks for this place where I can join in.

Blessedone, My boy was born in Jul 2003 and is EXACTLY the same situation as your son, very good at numbers &amp; knows quite a lot of vocabs, can read but cannot or just do not want to communicate in sentences.

for e.g., want to ask for biscuit, he would juz says " biscuit, pls " the most and if you ask him to say longer senteces like " Can I have the biscuit, pls " he will just ignore...........

tot of bringing him to speech therapist, but anyone has good recommendation or advice for the two worried mommies ??

tks, lena. going to check out the toy. i'm one lazy mommy.

as for outing, somewhere central? where r u near? or should we meet on weekends so more mommies can join? definitely child friendly place. globetrotters?

Hi blessedone &amp; PoohFanatic,

There's a childhood expert in another forum who might be able to help. If you are interested, I can PM you the details and you can ask her freely abt your kids' speech development.

<table border=1><tr><td>1</TD><TD>aa</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Jan-03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>16</TD><TD>Emily</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Aug-03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>rammy</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Jan-03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>17</TD><TD>Ling</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Aug-03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Aug'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>echo yang</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Feb-03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>18</TD><TD>JKJt</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Sep-03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>EDD Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Ky</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Feb-03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Jan'06</TD><TD></TD><TD>19</TD><TD>Kris</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Sep-03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>reyan</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Feb-03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>20</TD><TD>Lena</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Sep-03</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>chua family2003</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar-03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>21</TD><TD>Worry Mum</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Sep-03</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Happiemom</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar-03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>22</TD><TD>Alison</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct-03</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>jas3angels</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar-03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>23</TD><TD>gen</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct-03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Sep'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>May</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar-03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar'05</TD><TD></TD><TD>24</TD><TD>JM</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Oct-03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>EDD July </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>blessedone </TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Apr-03</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD>25</TD><TD>pooh</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct-03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>May'06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Karen</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>May-03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>26</TD><TD>cherylasu</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Nov-03</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>sarah</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>May-03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>27</TD><TD>Duchess</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Nov-03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>EDD Sep </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Serenade</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>May-03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Jun'05</TD><TD></TD><TD>28</TD><TD>Oh Chiann Hwei</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Nov-03</TD><TD></TD><TD>EDD Jan'07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>MH</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Jun-03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Jan'06</TD><TD></TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Sunflower</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Nov-03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Dec'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>PoohFanatic </TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Jul-03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>34 mths</TD><TD></TD><TD></td></tr></table>

I'm thinking of enrolling my son in 1. Julia Gabriel 2. Lorna Whiston 3. Montessori. Can anybody help me with the comparisons?

Hi Lena, that's an interesting topics. But actually, I'm not very clear on the last part. Was our Education Minister trying to put down the American System and singing our own praises? :p

serenade,

what areas are u looking at? as a whole... meaning, math to be taught as well? if so, I'll go for montessori.

Sarah,
Globetrotters is fine. Weekdays are better for me cos' i work during the weekends. Let's fix a date to check response? Next thurs or fri is ok for me.

Hey, weekends mummies can also organise something, i will join as and when i can.

Serenade,
Dunno much about those u mentioned but my 2 cents worth would be that franchised schools like montessori will have differing standards even though methods n materials used are the same. Teacher quality affects the quality of the school.

For me, i am price sensitive so school for my dd will be a church sch charging only $450 for 3 mths ;)
When are u returning to Sin?

Hi Blurblur Pooh,

I have emailed you the details. Don't worry too much, your son could be those who are on the quieter side. My friend's son didn't speak in sentences until he was > 3 years old. As for me, though my son loves talking, he likes to talk very fast. At times, I have to ask him to slow down. I think his tongue is not flexible enough for him to speak so fast yet. Not sure if this is common among boys.

Hi Alison,

How abt the other non academic aspects such as character building &amp; social interaction? Does the Montessori school that your girl is attending nurture the kids to be expressive and spontaneous? Encourage them to speak up their views?

Hi Lena,
I agree with you that there are differing standards among Montessori schools. Therefore, must seek the various mommies' advices again if I choose to enrol ds for montessori teachings.

I'm price sensitive too. But the baby bonus helps to offset some of the financial burden
I'll be returning next April. Hope to meet up with you mommies then.

hi serenade, my son is in montessori, olden montessori, not the modern montessori. olden montessori is more chareacter building, and they still emphasied on learning together with different age gp where some modern montessori is gping the same age together. as for lorna whiston, it is more for enrichment course such as speech and drama , to help them to verbalise expressively and spontaneous.
montessori pricing is about 700 per month for 3 hr daily programme.
my son speaking has improved tremedously as this school emphasied proper pronouication and also montessori teach him maths and chinese too.

east coast children house. the school look old but the teachers and principle are good and strict with discipline.

emily,
Is it a CC or a kindergarden? &amp; how long is each session? They provide any meals? Sorry for so much question, for just in case my girl's present Preschool don't turn out right. By the way, she is with MMI (Kee Sun).