(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

dear mummies,

My mother has been forever complaining abt my face complexion. She urge me (nagging rather ) to go fix all the the black spots on my face. She just told me yesterday that if her daughter is ugly, going out with her also no face. Actually she want me to settle this issue before its too late.

Anyone has any comments on adonis?

Sorry to bother you girls.

Sherlyn, huh? no face to go out with you because of those spots?!! Mayb she just want to use "ji chiang fa" on you!! Did I use my chinese here correctly? I think once you have pigments, you can only lighten it. There's no way to remove it unless you go for laser. Very much like moles and wrinkles!! And even if you go for IPL, you need to take good care of your skin thereafter because the pigments will come back again after laser. Avoid the sun as much as you can and apply sun block! Come to think of it, I think Moshi has good skin. Maybe she can offer some tips.

Ky, I just realised it's in Yishun. Too far for me.

Moo, I thought every pre-school has homework to bring home. I thought it was the norm??!! Can the rest of the mummies enlighten us? My girl brings homework back every Friday since N2.

CMA, think you posted in the wrong thread.

Hi Jan! Dialect is really hard to teach because there's no letter or pinyi that we can use. To make it worse, most people don't really speak dialect at home anymore. It is such a shame! I'm facing the same problem because my dialect is not that good either. I'm teochew. Just curious, what about you?

Kristinmom, any prob at customs? The US currency is so low now, I guess you must have a great time shopping!!

Hi Serena,

At least yr gal brings homework every friday. DS is daily without fail.

He is starting to reason out with me when i seek out the idea of him doing the homework on his own while i check out in evening. 8am - 12pm @ school. 12pm-3pm lunch & play with cousin. 3pm-6pm nap so he cant do it in afternoon. OMG, I suddenly feels he grows up pretty mature.

no homework for mel, but i don't mind them if they are fun stuff. we did some crafts as homework.
the K2 kids in her sch are asked to write a few sentences to form a story. every fri, i think.

what sort of homework do your kids get?

would u want your kids to be tested on spelling?

hi serena
hey u MIA for a while, thought u are holidaying again;)
so what's up for CNY goodies? pineapple tarts?;)

hi k's mom
welcome back!
so did u do the countdown at manhantan?
tell us, what't the one thing that we must do while in NY?;)

hi sherlyn
we all get some brown spots here n there cos' we are in tropical singapore. too much sun's bad for our aging skin

try serena's suggestion on sunblock, and for a quick fix. laser.
not sure abt those facial packages cos' u have to commit long term to see results.

i splash very cold water on the face every morning, helps to close up the pores. also, a mild cleanser helps. i swear by Cetaphil, been using it for over 10 years

hi mommies

I have some problem with my jpooh account, hope you ladies don't mind me using this for the time being till it is sorted out.

MIA for a while as I was too hooked up with Coffee Prince.. Mommies whom are into korean drama and movies. This is one of the best website to go.

http://www.mysoju.com/

moshi
Pangkor at Perak abt 10 hrs drive fr Sing. We stayed at Pangkor Island Resort. Nice place but don't stay at garden wing as they only have single beds.

All places are worth a 2nd visit but not so soon, will wait for a couple of years for new attractions.

Homework
R has no writing homework to do but will be required to cut pixs at home for school.

Hi serena, I speak cantonese but hubby doesn't so not much chance for kids to practise. Teochew is even more difficult to pick up! My mum is teochew but she can't speak at all. My ds asked before who "taught" me cantonese, like is there a teacher or class to go to. hahaa...maybe there should be such dialect classes in future! Chinese characters are the words for dialect right? at least for cantonese though some words are not the exact meaning as for Chinese.

Serena, Jan
We still speaks dialects at home. Me Khek, My HB Hokkien. My B can speaks (both dialects) little now, but his listening is better. He can understand what we tell him via dialects. Sometimes we have to had our conversation in dialects so as not to let him know .. hahahha

PCF homework
Yes, my B brought back some homework every Friday since N2, only need to complete some worksheets/colouring..

hi Jan, thx for info. Always good to know what's available out there, though we may not pursue it at this moment.

Homework? what kind of homework do your kids bring home? B doesn't bring back any homework, except once in a blue moon when a preparation for an upcoming event. I do work with him on other desk-bound activities or crafts almost each day ... not too much to ask as he also expect to spend some time with mummy on "lesson time", right?

Sherlyn, abt JA's behaviour in school. It sounds familiar. B's teacher also share with me certain actions/words he said to his friends, eg, "your writing not nice". B in his eagerness to follow instructions will also pull K's hands to get him into position. I do tell him that it's not correct to do/say though his intend is right (or sometimes even his thinking is not correct). I think u should not be upset abt how the teacher has treated him, but if the teacher has right perception of good behaviour or done good corrective action. Have you asked if the teacher knows if JA understands what he did wrong (coz it seems like he does not)? And before timeout is given, what various corrective actions did she do?

Serena, no prob. Just sharing, no obligations. I'm always bombarded by news of homeschooling mums going over Singapore with not just 1 but 2 young kids (with no car n no hired help) ... wish I'll be like that, one day... soon.

.ky.

Hi moo! Didn't know PCF is so stressful! Homework everyday!! That's killing man! What kind of homework do Z brings back? Belle's homework is usually tracing of letters, matching, sometimes alittle math. Never craftwork though!! Envy Mel!!

Mel, me missing because my home computer was down. I was getting exasperated which explains why I m posting now from my office!! Not baking anything for CNY because I'm going to spend the new year in Japan.

Hi Serena!

Thanks for asking about the immigration. Nothing wrong there.
We didn't lose our passports in Prague either.
It was a huge misunderstanding that involved many countries' authorities... Thank goodness we know the right people and had the whole of our govt backing us up! Anyway, will let you know more about the whole story on my blog, hopefully soon.

As for the American immigration, everything was a breeze. That was why we didn't understand the "gravity" of the matter in Prague... It was totally uncalled for.

O yes... talking about the weak USD. We had a great time shopping with Euros!

And you are one lucky lady, travelling again in three weeks' time. Enjoy yourself in Japan!

Hi moshi2!

The one thing to do in NYC? The absolutely ONE thing?

Catch the Broadway's Lion King!

But we didn't bring B there. And most definitely not K. Coz she's too young. We didn't want to risk 150 USD multiplied by 3 in case B decided to walk out. He might have or he might not. We thought it would be safer if he had been at least 5 and had been more exposed to loud theatrical moods in the cinema first.

The other thing I absolutely love was the American Museum of Natural History. The kids had a blast. Forget about the Met, although I must say B and I had fun, while Daddy and K not so much. So if you aren't a great fan of the arts, forget it.

The Liberty Island was fun too. And visiting the Green Lady is iconic. It definitely is a must. The children had great fun posing there. After the visit, even K would cry out, O look, That's the Green Lady!

I really have to thank my uncle for our stay there... imagine 18 days of board. 18 nights of stay would have saved us at least USD 5K for two hotel rooms!

And still 18 days were far too short to explore NYC. Like I said before I wish we lived there. And a mommy friend I know here who's lived there for 3 years told me one month would have been far too short!

Still gotta thank my uncle and his family for the luxury of 18days in NYC. There was not a single day of rest at all!

Btw, it didn't snow at all. It was even warmer than in Frankfurt. It was snowing 10 cm upstate, New York, not in NYC. That's one disappointment again this winter! Sigh!

One last remark... not to travel during the holiday season. NYC is over crowded.
Not to go in summer too... too hot! I think the best time would be in autumn coz spring is still a little dull in colour, unless it's late spring. I'm really glad we flew from Frankfurt. Can't imagine flying from Sg. The kids needed 3-4 days to get over the jet lag.

Hi Serena,

Ds PCF homework consists of small and big cap letter tracing (daily) and chinese character letter tracing (alternate).. So we have a conversation like this daily when we settled down after dinner..

M: Z, let's start on yr PCF homework
Z: Mummy, I am sooooo tired
M: Z, mummy is tired too
Z: Let's sleep early..
M: No, we cant because Teacher will go through your homework tomorrow
Z: Oh, let's not go to school tomorrow.

On the other hand, I am glad to know that DS can pronounce the chinese character cos I did not go through them at all.

moo87 ... purely my speculation. I hear PCF starts phonics at K1. So, they got an aggressive schedule as there's quite a lot to cover for Kindy, so they can't finish some of these in school and hence they become homework... how much tracing per letter btw? wouldn't it take the kid a 15-mins (or less) per day?

.ky.

Not much homework from my kids' school nowadays. There was more during nursery which are mostly activities to do with parents eg relating to alphabets. However, as they are in fullday childcare, the academic work is completed in school. They will bring completed work back for signature then I'll just run through them with kids.

Hi moshi, kids' school has no spelling which I was abit concerned initially. PCF has alot of spelling during my nephew's time - is it still the same? As ds likes to ask and spell words aloud, think he should be ok. For dd, don't know how to start her, just hope that with reading she will catchup on spelling.

*sigh* Serena, like you say, she likely to be using "ji jiang fa", but she has been nagging me for years liao.

I am not sure mine are all pigments, but according to the beauty consultant, it is rather serious case. Cant complain much since i dun go facial in salons at all.

I found theresa in clementi central, so went enquire. This lady say the treatment she advise is call someting like photo rejuvenation, more advance then IPL (ya all the advertising!). After 10 sessions can lighten 80%. pigments coming bak after laser? oh no. I am already trying my very best in avoiding the sun and is using sunblock 15+ (used to be 30+). Was it min 15 or 30 to be effective?

anyway, likely to take up a treatment to lighten them and to remove some bumps also. Just not sure to try theresa (walking distance) or adonis (jurong east). Cant imagine taking a bus home, subjecting the face to smokes and all, and to face the public with a red face thou.

Thanks moshi for the beauty tips. cold water .. from the tap? Cetaphil .. got whitening range? got to check it out. Thanks again.

Hi Ladies, wow, do the kids really have homework? Becks (my girl) has not brought home anything yet....... not sure if I should be concern. Pls adv, is it necc for enrichment classes? I am afraid of over doing it and stressing her....... My hb and I were talking if we shld try for another kid (I am going to be 37 this yr), becks o'heard and exclaimed that she did not want a sibling....... when asked why - she replied she will get jealous and did not wnat share us. Is this normal? also, not too sure if it is too late to try or too risky to start with.
sigh

I think for the kids to learn dialect, they must be expose to it. Like worrymum, me and dh and my mother sometimes converse in cantonese when we want things not to be known to the kids. Sometimes my boy (my girl cant be bother so far) will ask what are we talking abt. Sometimes we question him if he understands, then tell him what the sentences in cantonese mean. After sometime, he can understand some of the cantonese phrase we use. However, he cant speak cantonese yet.

ky, not too sure what is going on. Teacher only tell me that she has given JA many chances by telling him but still see him beating classmates, so give him time out. I am not upset with the teacher for the punishment that she issue to him, he shd be punish if he is in the wrong.

Like you say, JA doesnt seems to know he is in the wrong. He even told me enthusiatically that he helped the principal carry books from the principal's office after we discuss abt his mischief. So sometimes i think, he may not even feel tat the deed he done is wrong, so he never put inside his heart (if u know wat i mean).

And like you also mention, eagerness plays a part.

I told the teacher at the door that JA has no idea y is he "punished", then at the door, teacher and me both bombard him with the explaination again lor... I hope he really understands. However, i think some of the naughty stuff that JA did, are really intention-less (got such word?) .. he is basically playful and sometimes got carried away and did not know the seriousness of consequences of the actions ..

aiya not good at words .. not sure i convey the correct message to you or not ..

Hi KY,

I had re-check his homework last nite. Apparently, they will do a letter tracing in school and another letter tracing as homework. I would say ds takes abt 20mins to finish up one page of English Alpha. And another 15mins for the chinese character.

Hi Serena, Japan for CNY is super good. U are making us green arent you..

Btw, my Jap client told me Canon is worth to get in Jpn. HB bought canon 860is ard $590 but Jpn is selling $450.

Hi moshi, me too use cold water but it's to wake myself up in the morning!

Hi sherlyn, a friend had a brownish patch removed from her face for $200+ and recommended me to do same for my freckles. Don't know if it's IPL or the photo thing but if you want, can ask her for the details.

Hi sherlyn,

One thought came to my mind when reading about JA. Do you mean JA feel it's right for others to pinch/hit him whenever he does something wrong? have you ever tried role-reversal with him? For instance, if he (accidentally) stands out of line as in the above scenario you described, is it alright for his friend to pinch him?

Another thing, do JA's teachers adminster physical punishments whenever JA or other kids do something wrong? I just feel that JA must have picked up this notion somewhere.

Hi kristin's mom,

Wow, what a wonderful trip!

18 days not enough? Oops, we are thinking if 2 weeks would be enough for Disney and shopping in US. Looks like we need to rethink...

Hi K's mom,
Welcome back! Yeah, your trip sure sounds interesting. My, what great savings on your accommodation! Lucky girl.

Wow, homework..so far no homework for H, and hopefully not.

Fees wise, a slight deduction. I guess its becoz more enrichment classes offered by school. There's English speech & drama, gymnastics, Chinese and Science & Technology. We were not given a choice for gymnastics as it will be held during curriculum hours, $50 per term. As for Chinese, my, its really intensive, 2hrs for twice a week. Opted out becoz the class will be held in the afternoon, and H attends the morning class. Much time will be wasted travelling to and fro.

Hb and I speak dialect whenever its not meant for H's ears. She can understand better than speaking it.

Hi Sherlyn,

Try the Guardian brand whitening mask. Its good and economical. 5pcs @ $8+ if I can recall correctly. Use intensive like 3x/week. U can see the result. Oh.. the mask for acne is also good for deep cleansing..

Hi mummies! No need to envy. We don't have many relatives so we decided to go for a short trip during CNY. I should be the one to envy you girls for those annual house visiting. Loads of fun and catching up with your love ones. Alittle like Christmas, don't you think?

Worrymum, going Tokyu this time. On the topic of dialect, that's a tough one! I m always having problem with that. Don't know how to teach Belle too. My mum and dad speak mandarin at home. When my grandma passed away, hardly can hear any teochew!! And my hubby? He can't even speak his own dialect which is hainanese. So, he speaks cantonese instead!!

Moo, Really!! I need to get a digital camera because my current one died on me. Would the warranty covers countries like Singapore? What about the operating manuals? Are they all in Japanese?

Kristin mom, wow! whole of Germany relevant authorities backing you up??!! Can't wait to hear your side of the story.

Jan, one girlfriend remove her (one) mole for $400 in a private clinic. Another one removes her mole for $10 at pasar malam store!! AND she says she gets a discount if she removes more than 5!!! On top of that, she gets a free consultation on face reading, which means they will tell her which moles are good to keep and which ones must go!! How queer?!! ha...

How you can go for long + frequent holidays huh. I literally need to point a gun at hubby to go anywhere. For this year, after plead, beg and threaten manage to get 3 working days from him! So miserable..

Sarah, yes Tokyo. Now, how did you guess??ha.. btw I really need to get a new camera!! I want something slim like yours! Any recomm?

Jan, it's a little different for me. My hubby does not hold a 9-5 job. So, it's easier for us to plan. But the down side is he doesn't have any CPF. Do you know what this means? I CAN'T stop working!! Aiyo!! Sad case!

omg serena, can remove at pasar malam? I wouldn't dare to! But it sounds so funny, got discount for more + face reading.

Hi serena, my hubby is considered self employed so also no CPF, no medical coverage. Don't start me on another sad story....sob!

Thanks Moo for the recommendation. I am one of the lazy pp, so the paper mask certainly comes in handy. How long will i c result if i use 3x/week?

Hi Serenade,

no no i dun mean JA think that it is alright for him to pinch pp .. what i mean is that, maybe he din pinch pp (maybe like a strong pull only), but the teacher see that particular action as pinching. When we question him, he say the classmate stand out of line so he want the classmate to stand back in line since teacher told them to stand in line. So in his sense, maybe he feel that he is helping the teacher, but he has executed it too forcefully which he did not realise.

We always do role reversal with him whenever we can, like ask him if it is alright if pp snatch his toys (when he snatch sister's) etc. His answer will be the model answer "no".

physical punishment, i think definitely not. That teacher looks very nice. I think he would hv pick it up from somewhere, since he watch TVs (luckily now not much chance to watch), mingle with his classmates who are as playful.

serena
what! tokyo! can i pack myself in ur luggage?
go to Harajuku on a sunday and catch anime characters on parade, their costumes will make good photo moments and delight adabel, it's like watching cartoon characters come alive;)

hi sher
no whitening range for cetaphil, it's just a very mild cleanser even babies can use;) avail for pharmacies at abt $15.

hi jan
oh yes, the wonders of cold water, it also helps puffy eyes look better.

hi k's mom
tips noted! u sure had a blast. Post on blog soon;)

hi sarah
Science enrichment, would they do lots experiments?
Gym is good, wish mel has that too.

moi's really excited this week, bro's wedding on sat. it's the last wedding in my family and we are out to enjoy to the fullest!

Serena,
I bought Nikon camera in HKG. Manual in Japanese, no warranty coverage in SG. I therefore believes the same for Canon. Personally, I like Canon, but Hb's the one paying, so cannot complain. But, Nikon is quite user friendly and has served me well.

How about Sony, Panasonic?

Hi Jpooh,
Pangkor is one place I've been thinking for the longest time, specifically Pangkor Laut. Can only dream on...

Btw, you took the ferry from Lumut to the resort? If drive, have to park car at Lumut? Do you think its safe to do so? TIA!

it's my turn to catch the flu bug
but "xiao bing shi fu", on mc & got to sleep the whole morning.

hi sherlyn,
when i see other kids misbehave, i often ask c to observe & tell me if it's right. sometimes they need to see it for themselves to realise it's wrong. try it.

hi jpooh/saranh,
yeah i've been drooling over pangkor laut resort for a long, long time too. they supposed to have the best sunsets

hi serena,
i must say you've lotsa travelling luck!

gee, i'm also thinking of getting a camera, can get cheaper if we buy together?? i'm eyeing on canon ixus 580, small & handy & the reaction time is quite fast. my friend got a camera from tokyo too, apparently it's cheaper there.

hi k's mom,
hey 18 days still not enough??? this shows you'r having a really great time!

hi moshi,
i can sense your excitement. let me know if the hairdresser does a good job

btw, do you ladies have any friends looking for maternity clothes? i'm got some nice ones size S, to sell real cheap or give away (if it's someone i know).

Hi chloe, I do that too. They often reply me that it is wrong after seeing .. so still not sure y they don't learn from these lessons.

*sigh* my boy really playful leh .. I got this leapfrog device that connects to TV to let him learn spelling. The program has a section where they load alphabets into the bumper car then the bumper cars bump together and drive off and after watching and using, he will start to do "bumper car" with his cars. Does it means i must bar him from all kinds of TV and books? He usually picks up the not so good things as well leh.

Hi Sherlyn,

think you can see the difference within 4weeks provided you use 3x per week.

Hi Serena,
I dont think the warranty covers SGP.

Hi Chole,
Get the canon 860is. Thumbs up.. but I prefer to use Nikon software to download the pics which I am so used to it. ;)