(2002) Any 2002 babies?

bebe75

Your child is learning guitar? Is it a classical or acoustic guitar?

Thot of buying one acoustic guitar for my son but people will saying its better to buy a classical guitar because of the nylon strings.

juz me
My kid is taking classical guitar. In fact, she wanted acoustic guitar cos most of the pop songs are played using acoustic guitar. But according to the recep, it is easier for child to pick up classical guitar as the strings are easier to manage. Further more, classical guitars are cheaper. I do not know if my child will sustain her interest for long or not..so classical guitar is a safer bet.

For holiday programmes, I am signing up a week of Discovery Camp together with the rest of my dd's classmates.

Am also looking at the community centre's plethora of programmes - a lot of half day activities and courses for the kids, and not expensive!

Wondering how else to let her make full use of her holidays at home! She seems to be stoning half the day at home.

Bebe75 - Thanks for your reply.

Hubby is playing acoustic guitar. I know classical guitar involve plucking (don't know is this the right term used) whereas acoustic involve strumming. I am thinking my kiddo maybe interested in strumming than plucking...

Classical - strings easier to "manage" but my hubby said the neck is wider - abit more difficult...???

Hence, don't know what to get loh?

chicken little

Heard it from a friend who worked in hospital.
They are like teenage. So pls don't compare
they will become very stress.

Where to go really can't think of you suggest.
11Dec or 12Dec ?

BP, Jolene

So good! Your kid's school conducting Malay language lessons

My dd picked up a few Malay words when we went Malaysia. She's interested to learn more but her school doesn't have Malay language lessons leh. Those at CCs seem not targeted at children

CL

you can speak Japanese?

Hi Maisy Daisy,

Sorry for the late reply.

I like the Mindstretcher's curriculum and finds it quite effective. My DS has improved in his English after attending the lessons.

The lessons are broken into the various components of English:
1. Language Development
2. Grammar Cloze
3. Vocabulary Cloze
4. Comprehension
5. Composition
6. Vocabulary
7. Synthesis and Transformation
8. Text Type Writing

Mock Exam and Revision Papers as well as Oral Examination are provided to prepare the child for examination.

This year, my DS was also given the Little Red Dot supplementary at the end of each lesson. This also encourages him to read widely.

mommies

have your kids received report card?

My dd's class ranking same as last year, school ranking dropped 1 position

yawnyawn
today received report book.
my son doesn't have school ranking last year. but he has school ranking this year. he doesn't have class ranking this year, but has class ranking last year. so cannot comment.
but drop in overall percentage mainly due to CL compre.

yawn yawn,
considering that you let your girl manage her own studying, you must be very happy with her results.

mummytiffany,
my son got his results English 76.5/90 for English cos he not yet received his compo result. Chinese 63/70 - not yet received his chinese compo and oral. Math so far 44/50.

Yes, last nite we talked to him and he decided to sign up for the malay class.
Your DS signing up for the class?

I am getting my gal's report next Tuesday ...the teacher did not tell them the result for paper 1 but I email her teacher to ask for her compo result to my surprise she scored 10/10.

Hi Chicken Little

I would like to but even myself don't get to see the paper as the sch do not return the compo paper to the kids! My gal loves to read those phrases and model compo guide guess it helps in her writing

Jolene
that is so good. I also din get to see my gal's compo, only saw her score in the paper 2 that was returned to us.

She has maintained Band 1 for all 3 subjects. I missed the PTM, but her teachers are scheduling to give me a call. Dunno what they will say

fz

Ok lah, considering the amount of effort she put in, already 赚到

Her school ranking was affected because she underperformed during SA1. Hehe, I think dd & I are both too complacent. Told her no more karaoke during exam period.

And I've to buck up too. Going to dig out her Sakamoto worksheets to study and 'catch up' what I've missed. Already withdrawn her from Sakamoto so next year cannot be so handsoff liao

With the addition of another subject next year, my plate is full !

Have you decided whether to outsource English?

yawnyawn,
despite chinese enrichment, my boy's CL results is still the weakest among the 3 subjects. in fact, he did worse if compared to P1 due to P2's tougher Compre section and higher expectations of the teachers. so we intend to keep CL enrichment. no budget for EL enrichment as of now. no money for additional enrichment!! (cos thinking of enrolling younger son for swimming and abacus too! money no enough!)

fz

Ah, common woes of SAHMs

I shortlisted a number of holiday programme at CC for both my kids. Seem like not much $35 here, $60 there, yet add up to be $500+ for both of them! Now back to drawing board, see which to stream down

By the way, you might want to consider a less expensive CL enrichment? then can stretch $ for other enrichments. Mine attending CL at nearby CC, only $10 for 2 hours lesson! Now sniffing around for Science at RC or CC. Hopefully can find one

fz

No leh.

So far tried the 2 to 3 hours programmes by Summerville, Ikids, thinq & iclever. Quality about the same lah.
I asked my dd she everything also said fun

yawnyawn,
i just browsed through PA's website. ya...add a bit here and there can cost a lot. i probably settled on ikids robotics, since my boy said that he wants to try out building lego robots to see if it is interesting first before buying one for himself (i told him that he need to save up for it cos lego robots Mindstorm is not cheap).

Juzme

Yes, classical guitar does the plucking, not the strumming. I told my gal, she has to learn plucking first before strumming. She is inspired by Taylor Swift...kept saying wanna play her songs.

Mummytiffany

Little Red Dot - did your son read the articles after he received LRD? I like that it contains current affair reading catered to lower pri and upper pri. My gal simply chucked them aside, she is not interested in those current affair stuff. I wonder why was she being selected as social studies monitor in the first place??

The SA2 was finally over, now is the time to wait for the report book, feeling like cant wait to see it! Her schl still has class streamimg for P3, so nervous....

I should be receiving today but no excitment as she won't know her class allocation till end of Dec when teachers will start calling the parents

My kids had collected their report books yesterday. Today returning back to school.
I am glad that my son got into one of the 2 good classes in school. And the classmates that he always mixed with went into the same class with him.

For my daughter, she will remain in the same class (from P1 toP2, no change of class).

It's been very tiring for the past 2 months and finally it is time to relax.

Mine too collected yesterday and returning today.

Unfortunately we will not know which class she is going till end of Dec as the school are still busy allocating the classes.

So it will come as a Xmas gift for my girl

Got report book y'day, my gal will go to one of the two best class in P3. Really happy for her from my deep deep heart, good job, sweetie! But , this is just the beginning of long study journey, the following yrs will be more competitive and tough.... Jia You !!!

My gal is receiving her report book and class allocation today. Just wondering how do mummies tell if the kid has been allocated the best, average or requires improvement class? The classes are given names instead of going by a, b, c etc....

Cookiepie
Different school different way of allocation. My fren at south view best 2 are from the back 3.9 follow by 3.8 and follows.

In nanyang , it will not be a or b or at l or m they will select just 2 alpha but you will guess if you know who are the usual top in class n they go into same class. The rest I not sure

My son has gotten his report book back yesterday. There is no change in his total score but a drop in his ranking. He is quite disappointed with his results. He lost 9 careless marks in his maths exam for being too complacent.

Hopefully he really learns a lesson!

my boy's school have streaming based on math and eng results this yr. supposed to have last yr (cos their seniors (ie this yr's P3) have streaming at end of P1.