(2002) Any 2002 babies?

hi jolene
At least she checked her work. My gal like to be the 1st one to hand in her work. But alot of careless mistakes.

Hi Chicken Little
She knows what is nervous that good. i thk she
understand that she must do well in her exam.
My gal got no feeling.

Hi Maisy
my gal 1st day is eng tday, tmr math, then chinese. Still thinking shall i bring her for
tuition tonight or forgo n revise her math.

Hi star,
I always bring my kids for tuition classes if there is any as I don't want them to feel that tuition is not compulsory.

My son just got back his english paper1 yesterday and he fared badly. only 14.5/19, excluding composition. I scolded him badly as he is over confident that he thought he can do well and keep playing with computer games in the morning before going to school.

At least, now he understands that good results will mean need to put in a lot of effort. After the scolding, he quickly bring out all the assessment papers and books to do.

But I am not sure if he is over stressed or I overlook on his weakness. I actually started revising his work with him as early as end of august and till now, he has completed a number of assessment books.

I think I need to review on his weakness and work on it.

Am I over stressed and in the end adding stress on him?

Star,
Is your gal morning or afternoon class? Yesterday night, I revised with her some questions which she gets wrong in her previous mock exam papers. During mid year exam, there was a similar question set. Although I explained to her already, she got it wrong 2nd time. And it's not a difficult question. Sigh.... So this time, I go through her common mistakes and remind her to check check check. Hope she remembers. I don't want to stress her too much also if not, she gets too nervous forget the workings.

Hi Maisy,
Thanks for the information on the Discovery camp.
I am very interested to join, but I think I will give it a miss this time as I am not very confident my kids can attend the camp without company.

But I think if there is such camp next year,I will enrol as I can enrol both my kids under the P2-P3 category.

Do update us on the feedback of the camp.

maisy

Thanks! Camp seems interesting. Think will sign my dd up when she's at least P4. Don't think she's ready to go for full day camp yet

star

My younger one also like that! Rush her work so that she can be the first to hand in to teacher. Then makes careless mistakes everywhere. I told her no prize for being first to submit homework

hi maisy

my gal in the morning, bell ring at 7.45am.
how abt yours ? tdy is math last nt revised with her. Some questions i also don't know how to explain to her. What shall i do to let her understand.

hi yen ling

14.5/19 is very good already. Maybe u are over stressed. Your expectation is very high. But all parents r also the same. But we really don't know our child strength and weakness.So just go one step at a time. I think they might be nervous then made careless mistakes. I believe they r scare to get scolding when their results r bad. Also nowadays sch friends casused another problem. Sometime they don't tell us.
Don't stress them too much. Actually playing computer games is kind of relieve stress but must hv time limit.

My gal also likes playing computer when she came home. But as long as they do their work we hv to give them some space. He is very good completed most of the assessment books. You shd be happy with what yr son is doing now. BTW, which tuition sch u send & assesement u bot ?

Congrats to all mummies whose kids have completed exam! hurray and you may relax now.

sob sob mine starts tomorrow and ends 2 Nov. So one more weekend to go before I declare freedom.

Chua YL,
The score is very good leh. It is listening comprehension ?

For me I am still on revision using exam papers. So far all above 90 , but yday she gave me a heart attack of 60 over. So dunno the more practise the merrier or the least see no evil better. She blamed it on her stiff neck. Sigh

chicken little

I didn't print any exam papers for my dd. She said her hardworking teacher let them do 3 years of past year papers in class so I guess sufficient practice lor. If I ask her to do some more, I think she gonna scream at me liao

Yen Ling

Your boy's result very good already! Finally can relax Liao now is waiting for the result... Just pray hard all our kids will do well!

Hi Chicken Little,
yes, it is listening comprehension.
I think he made some careless mistake.
There is this section on note-taking and some words requires capital letters, but he overlook.

Hi star,
I send him to lewin for creative writing and science. For chinese, at Zhi Ying language school.

For mathematics, I don't send him for any tuition as he still can manage.

For mathematics, I bought him the step-by step by Simon Eio, New Mathematics(Topic by Topic) by FAN-Math and Mathematics Challenging Problems by Andrew Er.

For english, just bought him the A* in English by Sarah Joseph.

Hi Jolene,
Really envy you that you can now relax. I will still have to wait till next Monday. Sob Sob

All the best for our kids.

My gal is having her last paper (Maths) today.. finally can relax before the result is released.
Yesterday I revise with her..she gave me heart attack cos she answered all the fraction questions wrongly!! Hopefully she keeps her cool and does her paper carefully later..nothing much I can except to pray

Envy parents whose kids can score 80 and above..so far my gal can only score +/-65 for English and +/-75 for maths..I told her I will be very very happy if she can score 70 for English and 80 for Maths..but hubby told me not to push her too much. Aiyah..given a choice I also wanna sit back and relax. Next year P3 liao, she is still not independent..needs pushing to complete her assessment books..and sometimes even reminder to complete her homework. Nowadays, she does not maintain her daily school planner, there are several occasions that she forgot abt her homework and only remembered before bedtime.

School holiday prog
I have signed the kids up for holiday swimming classes..finally managed to coax her to learn swimming. It will be twice a week on weekdays.
Apart from attending P3 English and Maths Mindstretcher, #1 will start her guitar lessons this weekend. It is very rare that #1 opened her mouth to request for music/art lessons..and this time she was very keen as she kept reminding me whenever we walked past those music sch offering guitar courses. Next year P3, she will have to decide on CCA...and she is totally clueless on what kinda cca she wants. I hope she can find one that she is keen and able to help her to gain extra points on DSA enrolment.

Higher Chinese
Check with you mummies whose kids are taking higher chinese..how is the standard for Higher Chinese compare to the normal Chinese? My gals' sch does not have higher chinese at lower primary, but I heard that teachers will identify students who are strong in Chinese to take up Higher Chinese at P2 and P3 level. I hope #1 can go for Higher Chinese at P3 as she seems to like Chinese..so far she has been getting >85 for her Chinese papers. But then, her sch Chinese standard is not difficult (and that is why my #2 can survive), I have seen the Chinese paper from those SAP school, it can be quite challenging..I do not want to see that she takes up Higher Chinese and later struggle it at PSLE..

bebe

P2 got fraction? Is it the shading boxes kind of questions? I don't think I come across the numeric kind yet

Mine taking higher chinese. I compared the assessment books between normal and higher chinese before. Seem to me no major difference, just slightly more 生字 for higher chinese. I actually bought some normal chinese assessment books for her at the beginning when I started coaching her because normal chinese assessment books selection is much wider than higher chinese

bebe
I totally understand how you feel. Yday I was going thru comprehension with her before her english paper today. Ha ha she give me all sort of funny answer I am damn super shocked but what can be done ? time is 9 pm, she should be in the midst or finishing the exam liao. IT is all left to her own fate.

Yes actually not much of a diff, topic in text is similar too. You may want to get some of the school papers with higher chinese to test her out to gauge her strength ? Or just ask her teacher for advice

Yawn Yawn
Got fraction lah. It can be in the problem sum too like bought a cake, cut slices etc, then left what fraction

chicken little

got fraction in problem sums?!!
oh gosh, I think I must have been too slacked, not following her maths syllabus as closely as last year.

yawn yawn...
rest of the week off only? lolz...i told my son that he can have his off and read his books or do his craft until school ends.
he is really looking forward to it. actually had bought him a small lego set for children's day but he have not open it yet. think he is waiting for today....me too!

Re: fractions.
P2 have fractions la...you already holiday mood ah? heehee... arrange the fractions in order from smallest to biggest. problem sums regarding sharing of pie etc. no worries la since your girl is quite good in math.

ha ha all of you only make me envy.

Ha ha I still have this weekend to be burnt.

but my girl has 2 halloween parties to go to so she also half holiday mood liao

fz

Knowing my dd, I dare not over commit because she will hold me to it. Better extend bit by bit

hehe, I holiday mood long long ago, been checking vacation spot, planning holiday programme since early Oct

hi yen ling
where is lewin located ? Ok will go and check out
the books.

Chicken Little
my gal also hv hawlloeen party this weekend.
did u prepare costume for her ?

Star
My gal has belle, aurora princess costume n barbie island princess n mariposa fairy so she can choose what she wants to wear

Yawn,
P2 last 2 topics were Fractions and Geometry. During mid year, I didn't revise much with my dd and she got low band 2 for maths. She's v complacent and always thinks she knows everything. So I must make her do topic by topic until she's sure about that topic.

My kids commented the exams were very easy. But cannot trust them. I told my hubby easy could mean they don't understand then do wrongly. Today maybe will get back English paper result. Keep fingers cross!

Are there any halloween parties for the public somewhere? I remember last year, they have it in museums.

Hi Star,
You can check at the following website
http://www.lewin.com.sg/

for the address.

Hi bebe75,
Till now, I don't find any differences between higher chinese and the normal chinese. It will be good to take up higher chinese, but please bear in mind that it will mean have to take 2 papers for PSLE.

Hi Maisy,
Sometimes, it might be true that the paper is easy. I remember my son told me that too for SA1. At first, I am like you, don't believe at all, in the end when the paper was given back, it turned out to be the truth. But I am not sure is it because my son is lucky that he knows how to do the paper.

Star,
My kids took Higher chinese. I don't find it particularly difficult. Before exam, we just go through a lot of Zao Ju with them. And normal days, I will select and read chinese classic stories like 孙悟空 , 八仙过海 to them. Otherwise, they will never touch chinese books. Perhaps you can take up Higher Chinese first. If can't cope then drop it in P5. Take it as extra tuition.

Yen Ling,
I hope so. My gal say she should do roughly the same for English and Chinese (mid year was around 90) and Maths improve to band 1 (I hope!). I spent a lot of time revising with her. If she still can't do well, then I must outsource maths tuition already.

Ha ha mummies we are paranoid bunch. When they say difficult we panic, easy we say sure or not.

My gal juz told me easy so I also keeping finger cross. So one down for me 2 to go. But with the parties the cut off learning time probably is 4 on weekend

My dd receives all her results! Wow, her teachers can mark at lightning speed

Chinese result same as SA1. English and Maths slight improvement compared to SA1.

I'm particularly pleased with her oral. At least her drama class has some positive influence, she's more willing to speak up

Maths less careless this time but she lost mark in a fraction question. Really got fraction in problem sum!

Hi Maisy,
I'm keen to sign up for the holiday camp for my son. Still possible?

I'm looking at week 3 cos will be working for week 1 and 2.

Yawn Yawn : Marking is usually done centrally. :) So most prob teacher can go through the day after. But most often, teachers need to complete their revision for other subjects. :)

ssmummy, my son same as yours tomorrow taking english. Me too praying and hoping that he do not make careless mistakes and check his work.

Next week this day I would be free!

My kids also receive their results today. Overall, they score band 1 for all subjects so I'm very satisfied. Luckily I went through oral, so my gal scored much better in oral. My son still waiting for his Eng oral and compo results. It really makes a difference when I prepare them for exam properly. Ds said Maths was easy and 5 persons in his class including himself score 100/100. I am glad that he does well because the teachers has recently complained that he doesn't pay attention in class. Not sure if the school has lower the standard for the P1 exam. The school has scrapped SA1 so for the P1 kids, this was their first exam. Hopefully doing well this time will motivate them to work hard and do as well next year.

mommies

Thanks for your kind words
My dd's Maths is not the highest in class lah.
A boy consistently top in Maths in her class, really impressive!

maisy

Full marks!!! your ds is very bright!

maisy daisy!
100/100! congrats on the excellent performance!
easy also may not guarantee 100marks. also have to have the discipline to do the paper carefully.
my boy have not got back his papers, but his teacher told him that he has got one careless mistake for his english paper. i think they will be going through the paper tomorrow. my son said he was surprised when he heard it, cos he expected himself to get full marks cos he felt that the paper is not difficult and that he had checked through it thoroughly twice.
he keep mumbling "hen ke xi" today - and then at the end of the day, he console himself by saying that maybe he did not know how to do that question and the teacher thought that the error is his careless mistake. hahaha.

YawnYawn/Maisy Daisy
Congrats!! Yr kids are so bright..I will be very elated if mine can get band 2 for all subjects..

My gal said her chinese and Maths paper are easy..I did not probe much cos whatever is done...is done.
Chicken Little - I agree 101% with you..when they say difficult..we kancheong and get worried. IF they said easy..we also kan cheong scared that they are careless...ha ha..

Yen Ling
How come must take 2 chinese for PSLE if go for higher chinese? So when come to compute the PSLE score..they will take whichever that is higher?

Maisy Daisy
Your kids' chinese must be very good..I doubt my kids will be keen to read those classics like what you have mentioned 孙悟空 , 八仙过海..Esp my younger one..without HYPY to guide her..she will not be able to understand the books.

Hi mimmies,
I would like to recommend Chinese 动画片大耳朵图图 for your children to watch during the school holiday! It is very interesting and kids could learn Chinese words while they watch it again and again. My daughter had been watching the series during her break time. I found that she could speak quite well with good sentences structure.
Go explore! It is so much better than 腊笔小新.

I managed to find one episode from YouTube for your review...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-RwmMANMaE&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Hi bebe75,
If I am not wrong, they will take the normal chinese as the marks and if score merit and above for higher chinese, it will only add 1 to 2 marks if your kids are enrolling the sap school in secondary.

Horse, thanks for sharing the link. Looks interesting, will get DS to watch. So far he only watch Doremon chinese show.

SSmummy, let jia you together. Hhehe..

Thanks mummy for your encouragement.
Actually there’s another bright boy in my ds class who perpetually get full marks or near full marks in all subjects. Very impressive. I told ds to work hard on his maths since I feel he has potential to do well in that subject. For languages, I know he will never be able to do very well. So if he can get band 1, I will be satisfied.

Yawn yawn,
The boy you mention is he good in all subjects or just maths. I heard that from my friends that after P3, kids who are top 5 in maths will be taken out to do Olympiad Maths. Your gal could consider that path in future.

Hi Bebe,
Actually 孙悟空 has very simple version in library but must comb through the books. I manage to borrow a simple one with HYPY. I still have to read it to them because some of the terms are not commonly used.

Ohohjazz,
My kids also like Doraemon cartoons. They will sit at the TV every weekend at 9.30am to watch. Haha. I highly recommend 喜洋洋 cartoon. It’s my kids favourite too. I bought a set of the DVD when I went to China last time. You can google in youtube for sampler

Jia You for all mummies and kids taking exam next week.