(2001) calling all 2001 babies

Hi Shirley,

I think 1st of all your son must get interest with chinese. Get him some story books with hanyu pinying since you said his hanyu pinying is not bad. Ensure the books have colourful pictures to attract his attention. Read together with him. Try to speak with him in Mandarin. Explain some of the words how it form. Eg. 日+月=明,冲why only 两点水instead of 三点水because you don't want to waste too much water, etc. Hope this will help you abit.

Hi Shirley,

I agree with Jessie, its impt to get your son interested in Chinese. If you are printing the papers for him to practise, do be selective, cos some papers are not easy. We do not want to demoralise our child with difficult papers, that will really kill their interest in the subject.

Reading together is fun, writing together is fun too. If you can spare the time, you can play writing games with your son. Choose some chinese characters that he has learnt before, omit some strokes and get him to complete the characters.

Reward him even for the slightest improvement. When we consistently tell a child he is good at something, he will be positive towards it. Encouragement is very important.

I am also having a difficult time guiding my son in English written expression / picture composition. Just received feedback from his teacher that my son can't paragraph his story. True, I haven't done much about his essay writing cos I didn't think primary one has much story to write. The only consolation now is he has been reading books so he has no problem imagining " dragon with armoured scales". I have bought a few composition reference books but only started just yesterday practicing " A Visit to the Zoo", with pictures and helping words, took the whole night to get 7 sentences. Die.

Thks!

i tried to borrow chinese story books fm the library but he wants me to translate it to english for him. he doesnt want me to read it out in mandarin.

any good and interesting chinese books to recommend?

Is ur kids hving tuition @ hm?? I'm looking for a gd tutor..as my son gg to P1 next yr...

Do u gals hve any 1 to recommend to me???

Tks

Hey Blessedmommy

I think I know who you are
Our younger boys in the same class in K1. Now you know who I am?

thanks fion. yes they are twins and always competing against each other for their test results!

LZmommy,
yes lah its me! good to see u here!

Hi Shirley,

You are welcome. I am also busy helping my boy with his exam. Tomorrow will be his last paper. After that can relieve liao. Jiayu Jiayu!

Wah, jessie, how come yr son's exam finish so fast? wat sch and standard is he in?

mine just started eng paper 1 tdy. ending only 24 oct. long way more.

Thanks Fion, I hope he can do well in all his subjects. He likes to give away marks due to his carelessness. That is my biggest worry. Don't worry, I'm sure your son can make it. At least you still have time to do revision with him compare to mine really rush like crazy.

Hi Shirley,

Due to their school holiday will start earlier, that's why their exams must also start earlier. He is now a P1 boy in Catholic High School. I feel their standard is a bit high. So more stress on me
How about yours? Which school is he in?

Like what I told Fion, you still have time to do revision with your son, so don't get too worry. Have confident in him, sure he can make it.

Jia You all mummies!!!

Hi Jessie

Thanks. I'm agree with you, being a SAHM is not an easy job.. but i'm very happy to being a SAHM becos i can bond with my son and everyday he told me everythings that happened in the school.

Hi Fion,

I hope my son can be like your son who can tell me everything or anything that happened in school. Mine never feedback to me what had happened in school. Whether being bullied or not I also don't know. Some info I still need to get from those mummies whose sons have told them what had happened in their class. Lucky every morning I send him to school and get to see some "happenings" and know who are those few naughty ones. Then also have chance to talk and share with some mummies our worries. Been encouraging him to talk to me on every little thing but he will only tell you for the first few days and later back to his original.

i was a working mum and i hardly spent time with my kids although i would love to. i got so stressed up when i had to coach them after i came home. now is much better for my boys and me. at least i can coach the elder one and he can finish his work early. he used to wait for me to come home after work and had to do his home work till mindnight. he was crying and telling me he was so stressed. poor thing.

now both of us are happy. i will spent time with my girl and younger son in the morning. afternoon, i will coach my elder son when my girl goes for her nap. after dinner, i will coach my younger son and my hubby will settle my girl.

dont hv this luxury when i was working.

Hi Jessie,
My son is a timid and quiet person and becos of this everyday I ask my son "How's today? Today anything special happen in the sch?
At first my son don't use to tell me everythings what's happened in the school. Is I am the one keep asking him perhaps becos of this, that become a habit and he tell me everythings now and then. Heehee.. luckly he never "Xian Wo Fan" ;)

Hi Shirley,
Wow.. Peifu leh.. you got 3 kids!!! Must be hard on you taking care one another. I think you don't have time for yourself too. Wow.. your son had to finish his homework till midnight, really pity on him and you too after work still hv to coach him... really feel happy for both of you.

Ya, is very difficult for working mum to coach their children becos after work so tired and have to coach them is not an easy task.. If for me, i'm sure I can't do it. Sometimes i really envy those mummies who are working and at the same time coach their children school work, really have to salute to them..

Hi Fion,

My son from Kindergarten his pattern already like that but the teachers will feedback to me what had happened during the day. When come to primary school the teacher where got so "eng" to tell you what happen to your son in school. So I have to keep reminding him to let me know if anyone bully him and do something bad to him. The best part is the teacher always like to put those naughty boys either sit beside him or around him. My friend always said I too "gan jong" but when come to boys school you will see the different. Those boys are really rough. Been worried for almost a year what will happen to him everyday. Lucky is almost school holiday.

Hi Jessie,

As a parent or a child, is very stressful becos knowing those naughty boys either sit beside or around him.. I can understand how its feel but hv no choice they hv to go thru this stage.. We also been thru before and i think children among themselves were know how to deal with it. Sometimes we hv to learn how to let go but if situation got worsen then we as a parent hv to step in.. don't worry too much, they still have long long way to go...

Hi Fion,

I fully agreed with you. We parents are there to guide them. When come to problem solving they have to find their way out as we can't be with them all the time. That's why when the teacher recently put an extremely naughty boy sit beside him although I am worried but I still did not want to take any action. Some parents advised me to talk to the teacher to ask for seat change but I prefer to just wait and see. If anything happen to my boy then I will step in and take necessary action. Now everyday I have to do extra work by checking on him whether he got any bruise or cut of whatever on him or to his belongings. But so far, touch wood, this boy never disturb much to my boy. It could be my boy's character is those "bo chap" type that's why he feel no fun to disturb him.

Hi Jessie,

Hahah.. at least you can rest assured since the naughty boy do not disturb him much.. I think the teacher's intention is to boost your boy confident level up and learn to be more aggressive, that's why arrange a naughty boy sitting beside or around him. Does your son sign up any course like Karate or taekwondo? This may helps your boy to become more aggressive in a way that deal with naughty boys and self-defence. I know my son character is timid and quiet type person. when he was 5yo I enrolled him to Karate course, just in-case in P1 he get bully by someone at least he knows how to self-defence himself.

Hi Fion,

I don't think that's the teacher intention as I ever asked the teacher and she agreed with me that because of my boy's character that's why she prefer to put those naughty ones beside or around him. It needs 2 hands to clap. If my boy ignore them then they will not feel the fun and rather go and disturb others with "response". I will just continue to observe, check on him and keep reminding him to report to the teacher of any incident happen to him. Yes, he has learnt taekwando when he was in Kindergarten. It is part of the "CCA" the childcare centre provided.

Sorry to interrupt . My gal going P1 next year . So want to ask mummies for recommendation for English Course that is good for P1 . Any comments .

Any mummies send their kids to British Council ? Is this good ?

Hi fooci,

It depends on the child learning ability, my cousin's son attend British Council but still flunk his English and it's not cheap.

My son's written English is alright (i.e. grammer, vocabulary etc) but when it comes to spoken English, it can be a pain to hear him speak. He does not really express himself well and uses all the wrong grammer & sentence structure when he is speaking. It always puzzles me as to why his scores for all his English assessment can be above average and yet he speaks the way he does right now. I have to keep correcting & reminding him each time he 'opens' his mouth to speak. Is there anyway I can help him improve on his oral speech?

Re. Eng.
My friend her gal to Morris Ellen (or Allen?), she said their lessons are quite all rounded, includes gramma, vocab, reading, creative writing. Unlike some programs which only concentrate on either grammar or reading or writing.

But not cheap ><"

Hi, how are our P1 children spending their PSLE marking holidays? My boy does only one exam paper practice and play the rest of the day. I am on leave coming Monday and Tuesday, hope to do last minute exam revision.

Hi Lim

Besides attending her usual enrichment classes, she would be at home doing past years papers.. Hopefully she will be more prepared for the exams.

Hi, mine has finished his exam last week so now he is very relax. Everyday play and watch TV. These few days I still bring him to his student care centre to let him attend their tuition and play with his friends.

How nice, "my" last paper is on 30 Oct, 2 more suffering weeks. As usual, I worry more than the real person sitting for the exams. While I am at work worrying, my little boy is at home planning on how to play.

I agreed with you. When he is having his exam, I am worrying at work wondering how he did his exam. Did he check his paper? Did he leave any question blank? Did he answer the question correctly? Stress....

About checking after answering, I seriously doubt my son does it. I remember as a young kid I hated to check, what was over was over, finished, completed. How can I get him to check?

For me I will keep reminding him until I also find myself very naggy. In the end, the result came back he did not miss out any question but he copied some of the words wrongly. Also, alphabet written not clear (big and small letters). Therefore, all wrong. Haiz....so heart pain to see those marks given away for free.

<font size="+1"><font color="aa00aa">Hi mummies,

My friend is looking to compile test and exam papers from any school/level.

If you have, do PM me. All you need to do is photocopy the test/exam papers and mail it to her.
She'll send you a SAE and give you a token in return.

For mummies who contribute, she will also give a copy of the compiled sets to you via mail if you want
(you will need to pay for postage).

Do let me know if you have any! It does not matter what school or level, as long as it is a test/exam paper!
<font color="0000ff">
Please PM with the following details:
School:
Level(s):
Subject(s):
Test/Exam Paper that you have: (eg. CA1, SA1, CA2, SA2)
Your mailing address: (so she can send SAE)

THANKS!!</font></font>

Anybody has P1 texts to give away? I need
1) In Step Eng (1A &amp; 1B)
2) My Pals are Here Maths 2nd Edition (1A &amp; 1B)
3) Interacting with our World Social Studies
4) Perfect Match Music

Caroline

Hi Caroline3sg and mummies..

Me too.. am looking for P1 Textbooks to get myself prepared
... hahaha.. cos never studied for donkey years already!

Any kind soul giving away theirs?

Million Thanks.

hi.
with the support fm family members, still manageable.

just that needs to spend abit more time with the eldest in coaching her work.

Hi mummy Js,

How's your elder one at P1? Doing well in exam?? Finally their exam over and we can have a little time of R&amp;R ;)

i was quite disappt with her results,.. lost all her marks to careless mistakes....
is there any remedy to cure carelessness?? hahaa..

told her she can only R&amp;R until end of this wk, after tat.. will need to start pumping her liao... as this is her punishment .. heheee ;p

how abt yrs?

Hi mummy Js,

I'm quite satisfied with his results. Children can't avoid careless mistakes, my son also makes mistakes during his exam but can't help it. No matter how i reminded him not to, but still can't avoid it. Wow.. really hard on her as R&amp;R till end of this week. How's ur 2nd &amp; the younger one? Must be very cute at this stage ;p