1st Time...

Happy New Year All!

Sgn, aiyo! does ur hb know of his allergy?

we din go anywhere cos we are not supposed to be celebrating CNY. Hb's grandma passed away just before Josh was born last year. Poor kid! 1st CNY and so low key...but i think he cannot remember...hehehe

nellu
oh! poor josh, never mind next yr shall take back all ang baos. ha ha.

well my hb had allergy to abalone b4 we got married.
it was a bad one need to be admit hospital.
ever since that i always tell him dun take abalone.
sometime he is ok after taking. this time his mother cook n ask him to eat.

dear gals,

just rang julia gabriel at forum. for trial classes, no slots are confirmed. they will give priority to anyone who is registered with the centre. so even if we fix a day, they can call u back anytime to cancel it shld a customer wish to take ur slot.

anyways, ive booked for 21 feb 9am at forum. nellu, sgn and graybecky. u may try to call them and just ask them to reserve a slot for u. but we may not end up seeing each other since we can be taken off the list anytime. however, it will be real sweet to c all of u n the babies there. pls make arrangements and hope to catch u gals there.

anyway nellu, where are u staying? i'm thinking of taking sidney to a gymboree play gym at vivo soon. if u're staying near the west, we can take the kiddos together on a weekday afternoon.

ok u're pretty near me, i must say. ok, we'll have a look at when its good to hit vivo together. maybe sometime end of this month, after JG thingy, coz got quite abit of things on. have u rang JG already?

nellu/ shauna
in that case 9am is too early for me n my boy nap around 10am.
21 Feb i just go striaght for gymboree cos just get my boy's membership card n wanted to try out vivo outlet.

mine is 21 feb 9am. if u cant get ur slot let me know when u booked urs. i took 21 feb coz tot we could all meet up together. but i would prefer it to be end of month. but anyways, either is fine lah.

sgn- do u wan us to meet together at gymboree on 21st instead? then me n nellu can arrange to go to JG on another day together.

shauna,
I haven't call JG yet. which day of mth end would you prefer? I may not be travelling anymore. No pt flying all the way to Abu Dhabi and be told that I can't do anything cos everything freaking thing is in USD! Besides, SQ charges more than 40% of fare for infants. It's exhorbitant! I may have to rough it out for 1.5 weeks now on my own...but i'm intending to plan activities in for Josh since I'll have access to our car..wahahaha...

nellu/ shauna
for gymboree i plan to go in the afternoon (after 1pm) cos that's bb's most active time.
is it ok with u all?

haha...sgn, josh is active at most times, except 11-ish and 7pm-ish...but for this boy as long as got things to play, pple to see, very tired will also become like a dragon!!

nellu-lets do 28 feb (thur) 9am tentatively?i will call them up to change apptmt if u're ok with date n time.

sgn- after 1pm is good. i can be at vivo ard 2.30pm onwards. we need to coordinate babies' naptimes and feeding times. and how much did u pay for the gymboree membership?

nellu- i was in dubai for awhile, so i guess u arent missing out much on abu dhabi. anyway its a long plane ride for the baby. u shld pass n enjoy ur time with josh at home. and yes, tell me abt ur rides with josh in the car. i think i will be super distracted if the baby is yelling in the car.hmm.. btw have u bought ur car seat?

Shauna
i paid $50 for a yr.
r u a member? then how much u need to pay?
i only know if want to just use the gym with be $8 for member. they have different courses for the kids.
we are joining the class or just play ourselves?
the last time i joined the class there was singing n game from the instructor very fun.
oh, 1plus my boy naps again then we can meet 3pm. i can take a cab down once bb wakes up, or else i will take my time to travel in MRT while he can nap in the train.

i think without memebership its double the price. i'm going for the class soon so i think we just let the babies play in the gym. but i'm ok if u gals wanna let the babies take the class.

Shauna
what class r u signing up?
i dun want to commit myself as i'm working so i just sign up member n not for the classes.
joined member for 3 months but never bring bb to the gym yet as no time very wasted hor, member can't transfer too if not can lent the card to other mummies.

sgn, shauna,
i should be alright with the dates and times. decided not to go to abu dhabi aft all...waste of my time, money and effort. on top of that, the thought of having Josh eating commercial baby food for 1.5 weeks is enuff to 'kill' me!

For gymboree, how does it work? I'm intending to use the trial coupon in the NLB baby journal for that. Would that be for class or just free play??

nellu
trial coupon i think it's for the class.
btw my boy is down with fever 38.1 deg today.
very heartache to see him sick.
will up date u when he is better.

yup gymboree trial coupon is for trial class. sgn, hope KY is gettin better. sidney just did his pneumoccocal today. he gave one cry and stopped, as per all his jabbies. very proud of him! hee..

nellu, can u call n book for 28 feb 9am and then confirm with me so i can go change my time slot? i have another jab coming up for sidney again. how i wish there is a jab for HFMD too.

sgn,
is KY better? what was the cause of the fever?

Shauna,
sad news! JG is all booked up! Was told if we want to we can do it on 18 Feb if not wait till next term which starts on 17 March...how??

Josh takes his jabs well too, with just a grunt and then go on to play with the PD's tie!

the routine seems to be coming along quite fine. We started on the 8am-8pm..now finetuning it back to 730am-8pm..seems ok today..so far so good lah...hopefully it continues..

Shauna, u still breastfeeding? Or you weaning sidney soon? I'm thinking of weaning Josh soon and in any case, my supply can't really keep up with his appetite since he was 5mths. But i think we do have some problems here. Recently he is rejecting the bottle. Me not the one feeding, it's his daddy . Even that also cannot...sigh..dunno how...anyone has any ideas??

Shauna
ya i'm also very proud of my boy he only eh eh n a cry then he ok ler.
my boy's fever went up to 38.6 deg in the evening got to sponge him n give him panadol.
now he is sleeping will wait for him to wake up n check the temp again.

nellu
some says due to teething but teething would be that high temp.
now i apprecite BF when ky sick i find better to BF him to give him comfort. i also telling myself must carry on bf.

sgn,
yes yes agree with you...BF is the best thing in the world! Is KY better now?

the reason i'm thinking of weaning Josh is cos we are thinking of having a 2nd kid. So the plan (rt from the beginning) is to BF Josh for 1 yr. Take 6mths break for my hormones to get back to normal. then try for 2nd kid...but i see now Josh is very attached to BF leh...refuse to be bottle fed liao...he used to be ok one...when i was working...sigh...

nellu
dun worry u still can try for 2nd one while BF josh. now u 2 is siang yi wei ming mah so he glued to u liao.
for me no choice, got to express and give bottle so KY used to EBM.

went n see PD just now is URTI n asked PD about milk intake she says KY is under fed. cos he only takes 3 4-5oz in the day n 1 nite feed.
she says should be 5-6 times a day.
then i say KY dun really like milk, PD suggest to give more porridge.

sgn,
KY got URTI again ah? better be careful. Are you or hubby prone to URTI too? I am because I got rhinitis so i'm very careful and particular abt this ref to Josh.

KY also dun like milk now? Same leh..Josh recently dunno why dun really want to take milk. Also don't latch on long enough. I also worry that Josh is underfed. Been giving him more solids as well but dunno whether when i do that I make him keep off milk more....

erm..i dun think I can take BF with Josh and trying for no.2. Already got some problems with my hormones, resulting in some growth. Thankfully nothing serious as the gynae says. My hubby also says that my system is a bit wonky...hahaha...And because we go by natural family planning methods so getting the system back on track is impt in order to attain success in conception...btw, we only tried for 4mths and i got preggie with Josh the last time. so I think natural methods do work very well.

hello everybody,

me just chanced upon this thread.
Hope u dun mind me posting here.

nellu
saw ur post on bf and nfp. Me also nfp for first one and second one, altho i did "cheat" a bit sometimes.
My second one was conceived when i was still bf so should be ok

hi isabelle,

i dunno how it'll be for nfp, cos now my hormones are all whacked even tho i used to be super clockwork, so much so dat my hubby can very accurately predict my period! haha.. but hey, i'll see how it goes.

HI mummies for a well didnt come in to chat. Humm.. so you gals facing baby not taking milk hah. Is normal I guess once they started cereal they tend to cut down the intake of milk. My gal start reducing intake when she is 6-7mths. When she is around 6-7mths, I started her cereal in the morning and alternately we gave milk and cereal at 1st than introduce porridge when she is 7 months plus coz she refuse when I started her on porridge when she is 6 months plus. She also don't like brown rice cereal which I tried on her. Faint** And her intake of milk so far the most she can take is 5 oz the most and now she already 15mths each time she only take 4-5oz of milk if she drink. So dn't worry as long they're not too under weight its ok I guess.

I got a table to share, below is a average weight & height for babies.

NB-3 months Weight 3-5.5kg Height 50-56cm
3-6 months Weight 5.5-7.5kg Height 56-68cm
6-12 months Weight 7.5-9kg Height 68-74cm
12-18 months Weight 9-11kg Height 74-80cm
18-24 months Weight 11-13kg Height 80-86cm

nellu- yes i'm still bf-g sidney fully. i duno if its due to bf-g but he has only fallen ill once up till the age of 1. as for weaning, i really duno man.its too much of a headache to find a formula and research into one now while everything is smooth sailing. so... err... c how lah. do u wanna wait till march? i think i will do march.

everyone else- sidney drinks for a shorter period now. as for intake, cant really c.. haha, coz he's on TBF since infant. anyways, as long as they are puttin on enough kilos, it shld be ok. sidney just went to c the PD. for a 12 month old, he's 10kg and 81cm. so i guess that fits very nicely into the chart jasmine has provided. keke..

sgn- sidney has been on 3 feeds a day since he was 6-7 months, if i rmbr correctly. but i guess coz he eats alot of porridge (tho half the time its more like i force him to eat...) and giving snacks frequently may help.URTI sounds painful. i hope the medicine is easing the pain for the little one..

shauna,
let's do march lah..less headache.. would you get your car by then? I dun have car also will rough it out one...hhahah..

btw, we still going to gymboree on 21 Feb? how much will it cost if it's just free play?

Jasmine,
thanks for the info. Josh's wt is as per his age but he is slightly taller than 74cm..so that makes him look a bit thin

Sgn,
Shauna is right can give snacks in between meals too. I do give my gal bread or teething biscuits she loves it, but must make sure they intake water so as not to have hard stools. Or can give fruits like apple in between meals. Now I cook the porridge using soft bones(Must be careful on bits and pieces of bones wash it clean and rise in the hot water then put it to cook with pumpkin, potato, carrot and also red seedless dates and gou qi zhi which will make the porridge sweet and tasty. So far she loves it. Cook in slow cooker so don't need to watch for fire.

gals, dun u think nowadays babies are huge? we are bigger than our parents n our kids will probably be bigger than us too. gosh.

nellu- yep, im gettin my wheels in 2 weeks. ok, then we will do march. i will ring for a date in march n then let u know.
actually i cant do gymboree on 21st anymore. i'm taking sidney to do chickenpox vaccination on that day coz the PD advised against doing pneumoccocal n chickenpox on the same day.

btw i got my menses back 5-6 months after delivery. but of course when it 1st started out it wasnt very regular, but it is back to good old days. if u're not in that much of a hurry, u may wanna wait till josh is 1 to stop bf-g. anyway, i dun even wanna think how i'm gonna cope with a toddler n a newborn ALL ALONE!

nellu
this was a painful one cos the pass 2 occ he only had running nose. this time the fever really strike him badly. thought he is getting better today suddenly he started vomiting after taking the panadol (fever came back this afternoon).
me n MIL was so heartache to see him vomitied (1st time see my boy sick until like that).
usu he can still play around in his walker but yesterday totaly can't let go from my hands.

Shauna
it's ok we can arrange another time cos if KY just get well gymboree also wouldn't let him in. afriad that he may pass the virus to other kids.

Jasmine
i do let my boy snack like polar cakes without cream, bb biscuilt (or maybe the bisculit too heaty) and bread lor today he hardly eat n drink his milk hai.... today at pd clinic he is 9.3kg and 72cm.

Sgn,
Hope KY get well soon. Its like that when they're sick they can't take much. Did the doctor gave medicine for his vomiting? Think your boy still within his range of weight and height. My gal is a small eater also, she is around 9.8kg and 82-84cm, she is 15mths so consider on the light weight side.

sgn- dun worry, when KY gets well then we will take him out. actually i can take sidney for the jab in the morning on 27 then bring him to gymboree after that. but didnt wanna promise coz i may be too tired to go thru the changing n packing to go out two times in a day.
anyway, KY's weight is good. i think he's easily in the 75th percentile for his weight. so dun worry, take it tat he is building up his immunity.

watched some nursery kids playing at the playgroud downstairs. there is this teeny weeny boy who is so small, but all the bigger gals tried to take care of him, hold his hand, help him climb up the stairs. very sweet sight.wish i was a childcare teacher at times.

Jasmine
he was better during the day but last nite fever went up to 38.5 again got to give bufen. thinking to start antibotics but MIL not keen. very heart to see bb suffer.
girls are usu small in size n wt as long as she can eat n growing should be ok.

Jasmine
i still shower him twice a day. it helps but fever still comes back esp nite time.

Sgn,
Yeah especially at night their fever is super high lor, have to observe them every hour no choice. Did the doctor gave you the bullet for insert into his butt to bring down his fever? The other time my gal also have fever as high as 39, but the doctor adviced not to put if its not too high fever, he gave me 3 of the insert, each time can only use half of it and throw half away coz once open can't be use have to dis-cut it away. We use 2 of it and the 3rd day her heat rush came out and her fever was gone after that. So do bare with it for this few days I know its not easy when they have fever.

Jasmine
ky's fever came up again 38.4deg this afternoon, PD never give bullet just 2 fever med n antibotic which she gave me a choice not to give till 4th day of fever.

nellu
remember u told me Josh had chickenpox when he was 5 months rite?
i think KY having chickenpox ley, found some red spot in on the body n arm, tomolo going to bring to PD for confirmation.

sgn,
if the red spot is like got water kind is confirm is chickenpox if its just red spot without water inside maybe is heat rush which I have told you if after 4days of fever the heat rush come the fever will not be coming back anymore. My gal have her chickenpox when she is 9mths. But to be safe just bring him to let the PD confirm if its heat rush or chickenpox.

Jasmine
saw pd yesterday, it's fake measles.
fever subsided but rashes alot over whole body n face.

oh no. ive heard abt fake measles. the last time sidney came down with a fever, we tot it was that but its like what jasmine said, fever for a few days n then a rash. PD said its viral infection. hope theres someone at home to help u with bb. take care.

haven't been in here for quite awhile..

Hi Isabelle,
welcome..

wow..Nellu..so fast planning for #2 liao..anyone else planning?

SGN,
is ur bb better? got fake measles..? never heard of leh..

Shauna/ graybecky
i think it's german measles. hokkien says gei pia, can't bath, cos can't come into contact with wind.

Shauna
everyone had to take turns to carry ky n hoax him, think he's feeling very uncomfortable.

sgn- hang in there loh. what to do? tat time sidney was being carried whole day by me. i shld really say day and nite for 4 days. even when i need to hand over to go toilet also cry like duno what. mommy has to be strong for bb for awhile more. hope he gets well soon. *hugz.

Sgn,
What I know is have to bath him still, coz if not he is very uncomfortable, PD advise to bath him and keep clean and cool so the rushes will go away fast. Can put calamin lotion to cool down his rushes. Don't worry too much it will clear very fast just bath him and keep clean.

sgn,
who's taking care of Kai Yang? You took leave? Can't go to baby sitter's right? Hang in there...very soon he'll be well again.

shauna,
have you ringed JG? The new term starts on march 17 and mar 21 is good friday. Actually that week might not be that good for me cos it's good friday week and got to go church and all...we are catholics so that week got quite a bit of things going on...i should be fine the following week. u lemme know ya?