1st Time...

Nellu,
Have to take care coz if cold cough will take longer to heal. I ever cough for 3mths plus faint" See doctor till doctor tell me I got no medicine for you liao, can't you believe it! Then he suspect maybe is gastric gas which cause it and I look at him and humm... He gave me the gastric medicine instead, I thinking whether should I take coz I dnt have gastric pain leh. But in the end I took twice, surprising I recover wor. Also don't know is it really becoz of gastric also.

nellu
how's josh today?

kai yang still having running nose n seen pd on fri given nose drop better as he can sleep better at night. had been sleeping thru n wakes up at 6-7am. he always having cold sweat n MIL says no good want me to bring for tui na but i'm busy with work can't take leave.

jesmine
is EYS still having sales? wanting to go down tomolo to buy 1 hou ning to standby.

sgn,
Not sure they still having sales or not. Mine is brought when they have road show at Raffles Place. I will look out when they have the raod show again, will let you all know if there's one. If you have their memeber card they will have discount also but not as good as the price discount they have on road show.

Nellu,
did you see the link I put for you? Think its a good buy if you can get it.

wow, din come in for a few days n lost again.

Nellu, sorry to hear abt ur maid issue. I also had bad experience wif agency but luckier maid din come in yet. This stupid agency drag my time for 2 whole mths. I sign the contract during Nov, bought insurance n everything. They promise die die the maid will come in around dec period. I called them up in dec n they told me the guy handling my case quitted n that they'll get back to me but no one did. I called up 5 times n 5 times they told me the same thing, that they'll get back to me but no one did. Until i got pissed off n dun bother to call back.

So I was maidless come January when I had to go back to work. N my poor mum had to juggle 2 kids, my girl n another baby boy (20mths) that she has been taking care of since birth. Then suddenly, they called my around mid Jan n ask me top up the insurance coz govt raised the premium n I have to fork out more $ if i still want the maid. N i already paid earlier on in Nov, which if my maid come in Dec, I would not be affected by this price hike at all. So I'm paying for their delay n mistake.

I was super fed up n went down wif hubby to demand a refund. The person sounded very rude n proud some more. keep teling me that even i go other agency, hafta pay the same thing n that they do sales, not sell insurance, so no matter how i rant, still gotta pay up in the end, not even a word of sorry. So in the end, we got fed up n told them to give us a full refund, if not we go to CASE. They din want to at first but when I produce a printed email which the guy sent me b4 he quiited, promising that the maid can come before Jan, they bo bian n say will give a reply in 3 weeks time. I still waiting now. wat lousy service! N to think that it's an established agency! Now, I'm left wif no maid, but juz a lot of pent up frustration at wat i went thru the last 2 mths. Sianz...

Now that i saw wat happen to u, really scared of looking for another maid. will ask my mum aagin. If she can handle, then really try not to have a maid.

Jasmine,
Thanks for the link. I'll get in touch with the seller. $50 is a steal!

sgn,
josh has progressed to having a cough. We've been having v difficult days and nights cos I'm also sick.

Jan,
were u trying to get an indo maid? usually indo maids take longer time to get clearance due to the shortcomings of the system in their country. But having said that, dragging on for months like that is not that way the agency should have worked. They should have instead offer you some other options like other maids to pick from and all...not drag on till kingdom come! you did the right thing to ask for a full refund from them. They have no right to hold on to your money.
btw, which agency is this? can you got to this thread and 'publicise' the bad agency?
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/306115.html?1199346310
perhaps at the same time, you can ask the mummies there for advice. If your mum can handle then of course good to do without a maid, but i think she'll be really tried. Maybe get a maid just to do the hse chores?
my maid is an idiot lah! not all maids are like dat..but then it really is a gamble lor...

nellu
poor bb josh n mummy, got to take care drink more water n have u bought him to see pd?

my boy just recover from flu but still have slight running nose. his 2 little teeth are sprouting out but seems better after applying teething gel for him.

sgn,
i just checked the EYS members discount calendar. The Hou Ning powder is on 20% in Feb! Do you want to make use of that? I'm a member and I can get it for you.

Btw, i bought 2 boxes yday and gave to Josh last nite 1/2 dose. He did not cough at nite but still fussy. Seems better. Regretted giving him the cough syrup from GP, cos the cough got worse. I dun like the expectorant type of cough syrup. Always make cough worse.

you lemme know if you want me to help you buy the Hou Ning next month ya?

Nellu,
Wah! The seller must have check the price out and rise the price, coz when I send you the link she is selling at $30 only, did you buy from her in the end? So you tried the Hou Ning on Josh does it work on lessen his phlegm?

Jasmine,
$50 is still quite ok. I think the monitor is at least $150 and abv? if i'm not wrong.

The hou ning did work for him at nite. din hear him cough but he cough during the day. still got phlegm. i think must give him again lor. v exp :p

sgn,
one tube very small only. Josh already finish one by the end of today. I separated into 3 times. The dosage of children age 1-3yrs is 1/2 tube each time. So for our boys should be slightly less even tho the shop asst at EYS told me 1/2 tube is ok for 8mth bb.

I'll definitely be buying to stand by, not just for Josh but for my hubby as well. my hubby quite prone to coughs so good to stock up.

lemme know how many boxes you want ok?

nellu
i think EYS also can accumulate link points wahahah.... i think at least 2-3bottles for standby.

free to login now huh what's Josh doing?
mine having his evening nap.

My girl fell sick...flu & a bit of sore throat..she didn't sleep well last nite..toss & turn every 1/2 hr..husband & I also didn't get to sleep...*faint*

nellu
went EYS just now, bought 2 hou ning, n the sale gal says can take 4 times for 1 bottle, day n nite x 2.

next month if u r going during sales help me to get 2 pls. just now the sales gal says got i/c number of the member she will give me the 20% discount n i think i lost ur hp number when changed hp so did't get 20% discount.

graybeck
poor bb n mummy take care.

sgn, aiya..too bad...but normal days member discount is only 5%. 20% is special offer. For Hou Ning, it will be on offer in Feb.

you changed hp no? I'll PM u my no again.

shauna,
good question. I'm also starting to look around for a new car seat for Josh, but not sure too which brand is good.

btw, when do you gals let ur kiddos start finger feeding? I've been having some tug of war lately with Josh at feeding time cos he's VERY keen on playing with his food and feeding himself. End result is wasted food all over the place. I intend to let him try to feed himself a few things soon. Any suggestions wat kind of items would be good? The boy can hold and chew on his rusks very well now!..so much so that his daddy makes fun of him and say that he looks like some 'dai kor' holding onto his cigar...hahahaha

Hey Shauna & Nellu,
Britax not bad leh..
My friend recommended it to me..we just got ours last mth..for bb's christmas present..hehee..
Mothercare tat time got offer..not sure now still have or not..
Oh..try Mother's Works @ Great World City..tat time we went there got quite a lot of car seats..

graybecky- im planning to get a britax coz so many reports boast that its good. i'm gonna go look at hypermart. how much did u pay for urs?

nellu- i'm SO fearful sidney is gonna scream his way to the destination while i'm driving. but got no choice. didnt let sidney finger feed much. maybe just pop a few raisins and some cereal once in a while to practice pincer grip. other than that, nope. coz i'm too bothered abt the food being thrown everywhere n having to clear up after that.

sidney doesnt fancy rusks. his fav snacks are his raisins, and yoghurt. anyway its fantastic that josh is veyr invovled in self feeding. perhaps before u know it, u can just chuck him in a corner and he can finish his porridge by himself! such a load off your shoulders!

haha.

ok gals, one last thing. lets arrange for a trial together at julia gabriel. there is a free trial, u can get the e voucher(on a particular webby i'm not allowed to mention here but pm me for details) we set a date(say sometime on a weekend after cny) and send the little peeps here for a free trial together!

oopsie, correction. voucher only valid for weekday programs. so for those who can make it on the weekdays. and we'll head to forum instead of evans so its more centralised.

Hello Shauna,
think I'll have to give Julia Gabriel a miss..*sigh*..my girl till now still cry cry when ppl too near her..*faint*..my relatives & friends try to carry her..she'll cry..my In-Laws try to carry her..she'll turn away..see tis type..how to go play group..??
let me know how it is after u all go leh..

naomi got seperation anxiety. hee. mine is like carebear, almost anyone can carry him. even the ah soh outside wanna carry him also ok.

scared of strangers better. its like a baby alarm. when someone they dunno touch them, they will scream and alert u.

does the 20% discount apply for hampers at EYS? if so, who is a member. gonna need the ic no if its ok..

shauna,
britax sounds good. i was thinking of that too. Once you checked out, can you lemme know too? I still have some time.

graybecky, how much did you pay?

Count me in for the Julia Gabriel trial pls. been wanting to try out but just haven't gotten down to checking it out.

graybecky,
i think all the more you should try to take Naomi out to socialise. The more you keep her away from others for fear of her crying, the worse it will get. And my friends told me that separation anxiety only get worse when they are older. Surely you hope that when it's time for sch she'll adjust nicely and not cling onto you (even at age 7?!?!) right?

Josh cries sometimes as well even with his grandparents. But after a while, he warms up and forgets me...hehehehe...just have to bite the bullet and try. It'll be good for her and for you as well.

think abt it..come along lah for julia gabriel. It'll be fun! besides, i want to get to know more SAHM too.

how to on PM? sorry, technie-hopeless. nellu, will oni be goin down to hypermart end this month or maybe even next month, very far for me.

anyways, how's the SAHM thing going for u so far?

Nellu,
Finger feeding with biscuit is fine. Like for cereal or porridge sometimes I do put a bit in another bowl for my gal to try to feed herself, at the same time we also feed her well she is playing and feeding herself.

Shauna,
For Julia Gabriel think weekdays is a bit hard for me coz have to take leave to go. Do let me know if its good. Which branch are you guys going to?

Graybecky,
Nellu is right you have to let go sometimes, the more you don't let her go out, the more she will cling to you. My girl too when she is like Naomi age she also like that, every time I bring her to my mum's place she sure cry till the roof drop. Now slowly she loves to go out when she see us going out.

Shauna,
You go to the Edit profile on the top left corner. Key in your password. When enter go to deselect the " Do not send me "Private Message" e-mails from other board users" Which mean you should not tick it so that people can send PM to you. Just try see if works.

shauna,
i got ur PM and have done the deed! now wait for the email.

as you know i got a real bad start to my SAHM days. 1st the maid incident, aft that Josh and I both got sick. He's still not too well but has recovered quite a bit. Some days are good and some days are bad. It's really like 1 day good den 1day bad...just like yday was real good. Today is terrible! my energiser battery refuse to sleep! he's like no need to recharge type...other than that, we do have a loose routine in place. hoping to hold out on the routine so that it becomes 2nd nature for him. Now I'm concentrating on switching his sleep patterns and sleep associations. He's too parent-assisted!

Jasmine,
thanks for the heads up on the car seat. I do have my concerns abt getting a 2nd hand esp if buy off the net. cos dunno whether the seat had been subjected to any trauma. As far as car seats are concerned i'm v particular. in fact, i'm v strict with Josh in the car; no feeding, no coming out of the seat. The moment we get into the car, he'll get belt up till we reach the destination. he'll cry sometimes but we just let him because i think it is impt to instil good habits right from the beginning.

nellu, have u already been puttin josh in the car seat? so far, (ashamed to say), we've been carrying him in our laps.

jasmine, thanks for the links. will tell u abt the trial. too bad the voucher is oni for weekday.

Shauna,
What's Julia Gabriel about? read about classes for bb in last month's mother n babe mag talking about the class, sounds interesting.
count me in i usu have wk day off so can join u all.

nellu, one more thing. with the routine, u MUST persevere. when they get older, it becomes more flexible. but for a start, its rigid and terribly hard to keep to. all sorts of pple will come to u n tell u, 'aiyah, so small, how to know routine?' and do all sorts of things to ruin what u're set up painstakingly. DO NOT give in.

i put sidney on the gina ford routine since he was 6 weeks old and things did not fall into place until he was 4/5 months old. but once they are on it, they are as precise as alarm clocks can get u.

come to think of it, josh isn't that bad at 8 mths. his nap/feeding times are more or less there..diff of 0.5hrs thereabouts..

abt belting the kid up in the car, Shauna. The reason why I'm particular abt it is cos i see lots of v reckless and terrible drivers on the road! We ourselves can be very careful with the way we drive but you never know how some idiot may just whack you from wherever. I fear for such situations, esp if you get whacked from behind. A baby that is not belted up can easily fly out of our arms. A small force can displace a kid! adults are harder to displace because we are heavier and hence got greater inertia. Therefore it is actually dangerous to carry your kid in the car.

Do try your best to get Sidney seated in the car seat ASAP. It is very important because you never know when accidents will occur.

nellu
we bought kai yang car seat, had not been letting him to seat cos hb find it taking up too much space in the car.
i worry bb might not want to get strap up in the car seat.

nellu- got ur msg from facebook but not gonna reply there coz i can oni access facebook from my lappie, which is donkey years old and takes about 10 years to start up. anyways, yes i'm from NJC. i wasnt physically there most of the time tho. haha. we were at the new campus and i would spend most mornings rolling under the gate to sneak off to some fast food joint to waste my life away. which sec are u from? we may just be super related alumni..*wink

hahahaha shauna, that's exactly how i spent my JC years as well. my 1st yr was in the old campus and the 2nd in the new..

me am from NYGH. Think i'm quite you3 yuan2 with St Nick's pple...a lot of my good frens are st nicks pple ;P

sgn,
why ur hubby like dat? (dun mean any offence)..you hv to tell him that space shld be the least of concerns when u hv a child. it's impt to have a small child strapped in. if he's so concerned abt space, when will he intend to have a safe space for kai yang in the car??!

it will be more difficult to control the kids when they get more mobile. it is a myth that a kid will guai guai sit in the car, esp boys..u ever see those kids in sch bus? they never sit down!!

sorry...but i feel v strongly abt this cos i think it will be v irresponsible of adults to neglect the safety of kids during travel.

anyway, on and off u can get kai yang accustomed to the seat by having him strapped in at home for a while.. slowly he'll get used to it.

josh has no probs, even tho recently wants to 'help' with the straps, cos he was strapped in the moment he was discharged..hehehe...my hubby was v insistent on that even tho all th old folks were protesting like mad abt it.

so u must have squished a fair amount of millipedes, babe!haha. one year they were so dumb, they made this millipede mascot for sports day or whatever..

ive never been back to NJ since. i dun think i had any loyalty for the sch since the bulk of the time was spent away from the school.thank god i passed my A's, i tell u. i was keeping my fingers crossed while gettin my results coz i kept thinking i'm so gonna screw up.

anyway which year were u in? reveal the age... HAHA.

nellu
i think by this wk end going to put up the seat if not white elephant in the store rm.
hb tents to speed too hai.....n my boys likes to stand n move 'up n down' on my thighs.

my boy now still can sit in the high chair during meals ( with toys to catch his attention) but after a while he will scream n wants to be carry.

sgn,
precisely lor...now Josh also v active...so all the more must make sure they travel safely. do try to tell your hubby that. cos if anything happen (touch wood!), den how?!?!

must persevere with some of the things you want to instill, eg. sitting in high chair to eat. if he cries you mustn't give in too soon. Josh also will cry sometimes but we just ignore him.

just 2 nites ago, he was crying for attention in the high chair while we were having our dinner. we just let him cry for a while. den suddenly he was quiet. we turned around to see what happened and found that he fell asleep on the high chair, head slumped on the table...it was really hilarious..then we just leave him there until we are done eating...heheheh

shauna,
i'm OLD hahahaa...was in NJ 94-95.

speaking of milipedes, the old campus field is damn muddy. I too had not been back there. but I have been back to my sec sch which is now next door to NJ. Nice to see my old sch progress and get a new bldg aft nearly 3/4 century into existence!

Hi Shauna,
yes..she's really like an alarm..we always joke she'll not get kidnapped..(positive thinking)

Nellu,
Hmmm..think mine was $300++ (Mothercare offer)..

*sigh*..we bring her downstairs everyday leh..to plaza..she still like tat..when ppl touch her or try to carry her..the "alarm will ring"..actually dun really think she's separation anxiety leh..in church she's okie..i brought her out to breakfast with one of my friends..she also okie..went my relative's place..she cry so badly like we bully her..*faint*..she's okie with the going out part..in fact..she seems to like it..she just dun like to "socialise"..