1st Time...

Jan
so sorry to hear that Jarienne's still feverish. Is this the last jab for now? Could she be teething or something else other than the jab?

My boy has been taking his jabs really well. No fever no crying either. I thought that was very brave of him, particularly the crying. He just grunted a short protest when the needle when in....hehehe..the only times when he was sticky and whiny was when he got hit with chicken pox at 5mths and recently when his first tooth was pushing out...boy! cannot sleep at all...

Maybe before the next time Jarienne goes for her jabs you can try to give her some 'ling2 yang2' water. According to the older generation, this will help to 'cool' the baby down. Not sure how true. i had not tried it myself, but my mum said last time we were given that, and it helped...Ask your mum abt it.

sgn
my boi also slept at around 10pm last nite. was giving me trouble...he's in his "I die die must have my mummy" mood! My hubby helped to carry him also no use...screamed the hse down instead :S ...

This morning he seems ok..a bit 'stoned' tho....kekeke

btw, i forgot to ask you abt how the eye check up go. ok? worth going or not?

nellu
aiyo my boy cries at 2am+ last nite n 5am but lucky latch on n sleep again.

i think worth lor, cos it will screen for squinn eyes, lazy eyes n other disease, go before end of the yr still free. taks 5 mins only.

quibbering with my HR over childcare leave...

u gals out there who are working, do you get childcare leave? esp those of you who gave birth aft may/june this year?

My HR says they have to PRO-RATE my 2 days of childcare leave! got this kind of thing or not?!

nellu
no ley, for me entitle to 3 day family care leave n i taken 2 days for this yr loh.

aiya, sgn, in ur case, i think ur benefits are nicely covered.

In pte sector, esp if work for SME, very terok one leh...have to fight with HR and boss all the time...they can tell u it's in the discretion of the employer...

anyway, things have reached such a pt that it just confirms to me that my decision to leave is right lor...
kao_frustrated.gif

anyway told my HR...whatever lah...at most until cannot liao just take no pay leave until i officially finish.... one two days also want to quibber...somemore not like i take the day to go and play wat...

nellu, Jarienne did take 'ling yang' a day b4 she goes for her jab. The previous 2 she din have any fever at all but this time she kena. Now she's ok liao. She was stoned all the way from the afternoon after her jab till last nite. Today she's back to normal and very active again. Super glad that the next jab's at 15mths. 9mths away! Then hubby was super smirk abt it coz he was the one who insisted on the 6-in-1 jab. I told him to juz go polyclinic take normal jabs coz some pple say 6-in-1 not so gd, due to the fact that it's condensing so many jabs together. He said he dun want his darling to suffer so much n insisted on it. Luckily, if not I dun think I can take it if Jarienne's feverish very often. She was so sticky n fussy the whole time!

sgn, I heard abt the eye test. How do I go abt booking it? Any more slots till the end of the yr? where to take this test? The PD did mention it too but I forgot who he ask me to contact. Heard that no more free test for next yr and it cost $60+.

For govt sector, I think we entitle 5 days of childcare leave a yr. and out of these 5 days, 2 days are unconditionally leave whereas 3 are child's sick leave, must come with MC. I think the 2 days unconditional sick leave not easy to take. Though supposed to be 'unconditional' but sometimes, the heads will also ask for ur reason and subject to approval too. Some even discourage u from taking so most end up din take. I heard that some heads tried to make u feel guilty of taking such leaves and make it sound as if u dun deserve it and having kids shudn't interfere with work. Hey, PM Lee already say it's unconditional so it's a benefit, part of our welfare n NOT a privilege. Dunno why they must make it so difficult?!

Nellu,
Your boy also gana chicken pox ah. My gal too, have it when I only bring her out once to shopping center near my place. She have it when she is 9mths. So scare she go and scatch her face. Her's was a full one, all over her body, head and feet. The doctor gave her medicine in pill form coz she is not under 6mths cannot give her in liquid form. So I have to crash the pill & add some fei zai shu, which is a bit sweet in taste, no choice if not how to get her to take it like that so poor thing lor. But come to think of it, its good that they have it when they're young.
As for child care leave why pro-rated you havn't work for them for 1 yr yet meh?

Peck,
Thanks for the advice. Think I find a better way of using the flick in yahoo to create a photo album for my gal.

peck,
Haha haven't, I don't know how yet
have to slowly explore, flick is new to me.
Thats why you see the photo is not in order lor. Peisay...

hihi...wow..some of u did meet up yday hor..
i was at taka,in fact passing by coffee club around 1plus... still wondering whether u gals inside anot..haha

hws the meet up?

omg...cant believe i`m starting work on mon....after a long long maternity leave! shucks!
really cant bear to leave my gal.... i thk i`ll miss her so much....! arrgh...hate tis feeling!

Jan,
How's bb now?

Nellu,
My previous co also like tat..some more its co's policy tat we take maternity leave 2 wks before est due date..my girl's edd was 21/04/07..so my maternity leave started on 09/04/07..then my girl overdue leh..she came out on 24/04/07..so its 2 1/2 wks "wasted"..I asked my HR department can extend 1 wk of maternity leave or not..I'm willing to take as unpaid leave..she say co dun have such thing one..*faint*..SME is like tat one lah..

Kimmy,
I totally understand the feeling..I was so sad the 1st day back @ work..I keep thinking of bb..but there's something to look forward to everyday lor..look forward to 5pm..go home see bb..hehee..

Jasmine & Nellu,
Ur kids have chickpox liao..wow..must have been a tough time ya..(tell u all..I dun even know if I got chickenpox yet *faint*)

These 2-3 days dun know wat happen to my girl..super sticky..but is stick to my mum..if my mum not within her sight she'll make noise..scream till my mum appear..*terrible*

kimmylian
i hate the feeling of going back to work after ML cos missed bb badly, i even cried while working!

garybecky
ur company so bad, as for mine, we work till bomb!
i agreed now everyday after work would wish to fly to nanny's hse to pick bb.

graybecky, bb recover oredi. Thanks goodness! But she going thru this phase of refusing to drink milk and eat cereals. My mum said it's common after bb take jabs. Anyone bb also like that? She missed like 2 feeds yesterday. So only drank like 4 bottles. So worried. Hope this phase will go away soon.

sgn, still need to find out abt the eye test u mentioned. How do I go abt booking it? Any more slots till the end of the yr? where to take this test? The PD did mention it too but I forgot who he ask me to contact. Heard that no more free test for next yr and it cost $60+.

I now getting more n more panicky when I realise I hafta go bk to work soon. I think it's seperation anxiety. =(

Jan
it's call optic point i will go back and find out the contact, u just call and book app. but i think it's for 6 months to 1yr old bb ley.
never mind just try cos after 1st check up u only pay $30 for yearly check up.

hi jan, have heard some babies do get a little off the weather after a jab. we did get some paracetemol from the PD after sidney took his 1st jab but never had to use it coz the boy was all good. hope the little one is better now.

sgn, why baby must do eye test?

i'm returning to work next year in june but i already think i'm gonna miss baby like crazy. now worrying abt childcare options. we dun think we could hire a maid coz we just really cant stand to have one. and we dun like nannies, and we're afraid when we send sidney to cc, he will be unhappy. motherhood can be so tough!!

or i'm just being a pain! urghs.

shauna
to check for vision prob, such lazy eyes crossed eyes n unusually high eye degree.

Jan
can call pediaoptix at 6258 8905 for enquiries
for appointments 9698 8188

shauna
motherhood is not tough it's just that s'pore living standard too high. if u have a choice stay as a SAHM lah.
a mummy i knew in this forum as took 1yr unpaid leave to take care of her 1st child. ended up she can't bear to leave the child to work then she stay as a SAHM, this May she just had her 2nd child same age as mine.

just to share with u i also can't bear to leave bb to nanny, cried when go back to work, but now think of it lucky bb still yound can adapt to changes very fast so not a prob. but for u when bb turns 1 yr old maybe got prob.

as much as i would love to, i need to work for awhile to keep the honours "alive" and useful at least for a short period before i take leave again or even leave the workforce.

u r terribly right. when sidney gets older, he's so aware of things, it will certainly make it harder to leave him in the hands of anyone else. i'm sure no mother would wanna leave baby in anyone else's care. i can imagine myself weeping every other min if i'm at work. so i really admire the FTWMs who have to juggle work and family.

motherhood was very tough for me. i didnt have to lift a finger before. and it never crossed my mind i would be scrubbing toilet floors or changing a mean diaper coz we always thought we are well able to hire a maid to do this.every night from the day sidney was born, i have not slept thru, and i wake up to a big house of chores and a baby to attend to. i duno how i did it, but i did it.

mango has a sale, n i cant even walk in. becoz i dun always carry a pram with me when i go out with bb. sidney likes to tug at things and sometimes scream if we stop walking. i only walk past shops and view the window displays with him in my arms.i do not have anyone to help me at all. only on the weekends, daddy and mommy can take sidney out and rush thru shopping.

it is worse becoz i'm so "yim cheem" adn cannot trust a maid or nanny.

complaints and complaints. haha

thks a lot sgn! Will call up to book an appt.

Can understand how a FTWM feels. I took 2 mths no-pay leave after maternity anf the 1st day I went back to work, really keep thinking of bb. Even wanna cry. Then from next yr, I'll be teaching in the afternoon session. Meaning when I come home, only have 2 to 3 hrs before she sleeps. The thought really saddens me. That'll mean I have to miss her first crawl, her first steps and all the firsts she'll discover. But really no choice. If I have to be a SAHM, means hubby will be very 'xiong' and I can't compromise on spending time with bb over basic bread and butter issue. Want to give her a comfortable life too.

Shauna
i understand its hard for u esp u dun even need to touch hse work b4. looking after kid alone not easy dun talk about going out.

i wounld't know about maid but my bb is look after by nanny, she's ok lah at least she has some experience, as long as bb come back can eat n sleep i'm greatful cos i know not easy to look after my boy alone.

Jan
we got to wt which one is more important, i would says it's my boy but we also need bread so i will work for money loh. if really got no choice may chose to do part time.
i withnessed my boy's 1st flip so not so bad. now everyday will a surprise from him hee hee.

Shauna
this is the place for us to share and venlitate mah. my hb also dun like me to waste my time on the forum but i told him this is a good place for me to share and ventilate as being a 1st time mother cos he knew nothing n only give minimal support.

sgn- indeed! it takes mothers to know mothers. my hubby is very supportive tho. and sometimes my gfs would ask me if i miss the high life. to say that i dun, would be lying. but i thank god everyday for the perfect husband and baby i have that i would never exchange the world for them.
i have a more stable job now (coincidentally the one that allows me to take unpaid leave n is more understanding towards mothers n families).

life really changes when u have a baby.

Shauna & sgn,
I agree with you before having baby our life is like work go home and sleep. Now with baby all the time we have will be with baby when we reach home. To see her laugh and happy when we reach home is a gift and even tired after work everything will be ok ok. Life is like that lor, I also can't afford to stop work, base on my hubby paid, it will be hard for me to stop work and be a SAHM. Yeah you stil can't view my gal photo? You have to copy and paste the whole line http://www.flickr.com/photos/21849010@N04/ including @N04/ at the end of my link, hope you will be able to view it.

Jan Lim,
My gal phase of cutting down her milk intake when she was coming to 6mths, then I start her on cereal. Its normal like what your mum says, after jab they will tend to be fussy on their food, but slowly it will be back to normal don't worry. But once they start cereal their milk intake will sure cut down by 1-2 feed.

hi mummies!!!
Today i went back to work after 3 months 2 weeks maternity leave!
OMG! The feeling is so terrible....! i miss my little girl so much...keep thinkin wat is she doing nw?
recently she try to flip...try so hard..sometimes dunno wan to laugh or cry... but really scare will missed her first flip...

sgn, u so lucky..can witness baby first flip...i so scare i missed it...

arrgh....torturing!

Hi Jan,
glad to know ur bb okie liao..hmmm..the refusing to drink phase is common (i think)..cos my girl always like tat..*faint*

I agree with SGN, standard of living here is quite high..seems to be getting worse..(with the increase of taxi fare)..

Hello Kimmy,
how's work?? tell u hor..i also super "kiasu"..scared i miss her 1st flip..but thankfully..she flipped on national day..hahaa..& i was the 1st one to see it..cos early in the morning i carried her to sleep beside me..then she "struggled"..& finally managed to flip over..hahaa..then tots flew pass my mind..will i miss her crawling stage..walking stage..miss seeing her try out new food..these tots "drive me nuts" leh..so in the end..i stop work lor..i intend to stay home for abt 6mths..to see her..but honestly..$$ a bit tight lor..can't go sale..especially now is near christmas..*sigh*

graybecky,
work=headache...got 1300 emails to clear today..haven finish...gotta contiune 2molo...

haha... ur bb neo how to choose date le..flip on national day ar!so memorable!aiyo...so cute hor..can witness it! I think thats a very impt phrase that every mummy dun wan to miss!

Really envy all the sahm... can witness all the stages in ur babies life...as for ftwm, we must be really lucky to witness....

hai...okok..gg to feed baby b4 bedtime feed and zzz liao..tok 2molo!

tata!

sgn, very true. I also weigh the pros n cons. True that I can spend time wif bb but then my relationship wif hubby might be strained coz of financial issues n I dun want to let such a thing happen at all. Glad that bb will be in the gd hands of my mum. Maid is juz to help us make our lives easier wif hsework n such.

Shauna, sometimes I also miss all the things I used to do. Last time every wkend will go enjoy n chill out at frens' hse till the wee hrs. Now? must stay home every nite to tuck bb into bed coz she will have no one else to do it. I'm like cinderella, except that I must be home b4 10 every nite so Jarienne wun be looking n crying for me. The freedom and spontaneity of my old lifestyle I miss but nothing can make me give up my bb. Though sometimes like very mundane to be doing the same things day in n day out, but seeing her learn new things n doing something new each time is like the best moments in my life. =)

jasmine, I saw ur bb's photo! So cute! She has so much hair. I can only hope that my Jarienne will have as much hair when she turns 1 or not she'll look funny in a dress. Hehe...

Anyway, I think bb still learning to eat cereal. She's like only able to eat a teeny little bit each time. N she's totally rejecting cereal in her milk. She only wants purely milk in her bottle. Shan't complain so much coz she's at least eating a bit of cereal thru spoonfeeding. Think she likes frisocream better than neslac so will continue to let her try it.

kimmylian
he filpped on my birthday so it's the best birthday present bb give me this yr.

jesmine
ur gal so cute so she like boy when she was baby.

if i be a SAHM i will be crazy cos bb very attention seeking now wants to be carried. very tired look after bb each day during 1 wk leave but enjoins the carefree n bb's company. hai...
went to see him just now at nanny's place he wants me n not hb ha ha ha.

Jan
same like u, i'm the one always put bb to sleep if not nanny or MIL sometimes help out if i'm not free.

Jan,
Take it easy with giving solid like cereal, When my gal start cereal she also take it slow start from small amount and not too thick so she can swallow better. She will like it sooner or later. I gave my gal Nestle cereal I started with rice cereal with BM added and then slowly I brought the honey cereal, but I mix with rice cereal. My gal loves it. She can finish 1 big bowl in the morning. But now she like bread in the morning, sometimes I will still ask my maid to give her small portions of cereal before she have her porridge in the afternoon. Her porridge I try to start when she is 6 & half months but she refuse till she is about 7 months plus.

Sgn,
Haha my gal look like boys hor. Coz those baby romper is pass down from my colleague and she have 2 boys, so most of the rompers are for boys, but wear at home so I don't care lor. She got a lot of hair from birth but about 3-4mths she start dropping her hair and my MIL and my hubby insist to cut her hair so heart-ache to see her hair gone and she cried the whole shop down when they bring her to cut her hair. Now her hair is loose after cutting since she is 5mths plus till now sigh... She follow my hubby face shape but her skin like me very fair. Now she so use to follow me when I wanted to go out to work in the morning but got bread to eat she forgot about the separation, guess that is the best way that she will not cry out loud when I leave home to work.

Jan,
Did you cut your gal hair? My mum told me if bring her to cut hair, after shower her put olive oil will help her hair grow better, but my hubby don't allow me to do that lor. So my gal hair also so loose also, and her fore head like her daddy very high, I have to buy hair band for her so she don't look more like boy boy when she dress up in her dress.

sgn, at least ur baby wants ur MIL or nanny. At nite, she morphs into a 'kor yok' n only wants me n no one else. Went to a wedding dinner n had to leave early coz my mum said she's crying the hse down looking for me. Think it's natural instinct to want to look for familiar smell (me) when she's sleepy. =P

jasmine, I shall try to be more patient and less kan cheong. She's still drinking very little milk n today totally refusing to eat a single mouth of the cereal. Haiz... Hope this phase will go away soon.

My daughter also look like boy. She can wear totally pink, from head to toe n there'll still be pple asking me 'Boy or girl huh?' -_-
I did cut her hair in the 1st mth but not totally shave all off coz she had not much hair to begin wif. Now still very slow in growing back. Gotta buy hairband to wear out so pple will stop asking if she's a boy!

jasmine/jan,
my ger also look like boy leh. mayb becos she got not much hair. when she wear dress/skirt, she like tomboy.

sgn/kimmylian,
i miss my ger first filp. *so sad* never expect her to filp so soon. but mamage to capture her filp continuous for 3 times on video.

kimmylian,
going back to work on x'mas eve, so sian. now's ur job hunting??

Jolene
i got no channce to video it down but now he filp so offen so not surprise anymore.

sgn, its really the best present ever!haha
Jolene,ur bb is one month younger than mine le..
Mine is 26th Aug while urs is 26th sept and she can flip ar??
Wow...so amzaing.... so fast le!!
i vert gan cheong...call a few times home ask my MIL whether bb got flip anot...i super scare i cannot see it!hahahaha

sgn,
now my ger at in-law hse, never got to see her often so will snap some pics when we bring her back.

kimmylian,
my MIL also wonder why she can flip liao. juz call MIL last night. she told me she will flip now and then. she even roll under the bed and now got a light bruise on her forehead liao. also gan cheong, later going my in-law hse to see her.

kimmylian
ur bb is a boy? usu boy motor skills a bit slow.
my mil keep training my boy to filp that's why he could do it when he's 3 months old.
after he started to filp OMG every min also can't leave him, can't do things when he is awake. even he's sleeping u also need to check every 5-10mins.

Jolene
i also like to snap pic for my boy ha ha. want to capture every moment of his growing process. lucky now got disc if not photo album many many dun where to keep.
btw next wk going to bring bb for photo shoot hee hee manage to get cheap package $100 for family photo shot.

Kimmy,
1300 mails..??!! wa..how to clear..?!

Jan,
I know how it feels..miss going out late late with my gf(s) too..agree with u..sometimes feel like i'm cinderella (but uglier version)..but i quite thankful..cos if i really got something on @ nite my mum can help put her sleep..

SGN,
Ur bb so cute..flip on ur b'day..think its really ur best present tis year..

I agree with SGN, once the bb start flipping..can't "leave bb alone" liao..for my girl..starting only can flip once in one direction..so not tat bad..then later she can do "multiple" flips in one direction..so she move from one end of mattress to the other in few sec..she find it fun..but we so scared she knock the floor..so someone have to "monitor" her..now she's starting to crawl (more like drag herself)..she see things only want to grab..really have to "keep an eye"..*faint*

yeap, i agree with graybecky & SGN too... since my bb start to flip, he has plenty of incidents knocking his head, lots of pinkish red mark on the head... so heart pain!

graybecky, poppy,
Have to be careful, once they know how to flip. My gal ever fell down from our bed, she scream so loud and I was so shock, OMG when I enter the room she is not on the bed. I quickly check her head see got any blue-black found, luckily she cry out of shock only, no blue-black. Later I realized she knows how to go down by leg and not her head 1st lor. Now when she is naughty when she wants to go down the bed, I will tell her remember your head pain pain where and she will point her head and pat, she dare not go down the bed without any help from us.