1st Time...

hi kimmylian

i luv nepia! my gal who has sensitive buttocks took to nepia very well. besides it can hold urine thru the night. plus i think the quality can be comparable to pampers at a cheaper rate ;-)

morning mummies !!

kimmylian,

thanks for voting yah !!

i havent tried nepia yet, went ntuc that day, no more stock for nepia size L

i was reading in the other forum abt the nepias in ntuc sale. i used to order from the nepia company and the diapers never leaked. when i did buy from ntuc, i did have sidney's diapers leaked 2-3 times. now thinking abt the forum threads, it seemed true the quality may be different.
sidney had never had a problem with nepia until lately since he had been using it since birth. we only use it in the day tho.
wonder if other mommies have encountered this.

for me, its still pampers thumbs up. never a problem.

shauna
my boy had been using nepia since birth (bought from moetherhood fair) then tired many other brands eg petpet, NTUC brand, huggies, pampers and mamypoko. still mamypoko n nepia the best. this round bought nepia from NTUC haven started using yet. as for pampers i dun like cos it leaks 2 times n thinner compare to mamypoko.
i only likes newborn pampers.

wow sgn...indeed u try many diff brands...
for me initially buy mamypoko bcos of the cartoon char(find it v cute)but after hearing many gd comments of nepia..would like to buy 1 pack and try first...

kimmylian
i started off with pampers newborn n nepia then when meet my May07 MTB, we exchange diaper n came to know which brand is good. Oh my bb even tried drypers which i will never use cos always leak when bb poos.

kimmylian
u stay where? want me to pass u a few piece to try out? ur bb now wear what size?

I'm back..!! Went to HK for a short trip..hehee..but didn't get to buy much things..cos its winter wear now..

bunz
i'm staying at ang mo kio, u think can send by mail? 1 or 2 pieces should be ok ba.

graybecky
wow u went with bb?
10 yrs ago i went with friend also yr end never buy much things only enjoin eating. ha ha ha.

wow! this thread moving super fast! I'm free now coz' enjoying my dec hols till school starts next Jan again.

Really envious of u, graybecky, can go holiday. I won't be able to anywhere till Jarienne grows bigger. She's super sticky at nite. Definitely must fnd me to put her to sleep, if not, she'll cry the house down. That day me and hubby went out for break at cousin's place and me was happily playing mahjong. Think only played till south wind then my hp rang and my mum asked me to come home coz' my lil angel had morphed into a lil devil and was crying the house down.

I tried many times to go out at nite and when I juz step out of the lift, can hear her crying already. Think I better resign to fate and juz be with her every nite. But on a brighter note, my new maid's coming soon! Hope she'll be able to help me and I can catch a breather here and then. =)

Kimmylian & Bunz,
I agree with poppy pop Nepia is better than mami poko, before that my gal also use mami poko at night, but after trying Nepia I stay her with it for night use even when its full its still feel dry. You guys just buy and try. But think can only find M & L size for diapers coz everytime I buy notice that they don't have S size. For pull up they only got L size and big which is XL I think. Somtimes if you don't see stock at NTUC can ask the sales there coz somtimes they have stocks but never top up on the shelf.

Shauna,
I didn't notice leakage problem with Nepia so far, I brought from NTUC too.

Gracybecky & Sgn,
If going HK, best time is August its their sales period there I went there a few times and overload my bag when coming back shop till packet got big hole hehe.

Hi Jan,
Didn't see you for a well. Your girl is at the state where they will look for mummy at night. You say your maid coming soon. I think it will take a well for her to attach to your maid coz at her state now they tend to choose the person who is close to them not easy if you expect your new maid to handle her instantly.

hi jan- are u teaching? i'm always strugglinh with the idea of hiring a maid again. where is ur maid from?

jasmine- the ntuc nepia is indeed different from the ones u order direct from company. maybe nepia has altered its design. ive been using ntuc nepia for awhile so i only realised when i opened up my new box from the nepia company yesterday. the elastic band(not really elastic but the stretchy part) at the back is not quite the same.

graybecky- how nice to go on a holiday? its been such a long time that ive almost forgotten how it is to be away.. (actually thinking of it, i dun really wanna be away..)hmm..

bunz
PM me ur add, will send to u this wk.
u want nepia rite? L size? ( i only have L size).

Shauan,

You mean the one you order direct from Nepia is better? How much is it if order direct and is there a min. pkt to order? Is it cheaper by ordering from them directly?

Jan,
I also have to get help from my maid. Coz somtimes when reach home after work is like so dam tired out, I did spend time with my girl but sometimes when I need to do something she just can get out of my hand, so I have to ask my maid to take care of her for a well. This maid is my 2nd maid, coz the 1st 1 started working for me before I went for delivery, during my confinement she don't seems to like looking after baby from what I observe. But we thought she will get use to taking care of my gal, but she didn't change and got bad attitude on everything. I so tired in changing maid coz have to train from start again. But at the end I still have to change just 1 week before I started work again and I have to take extra 1 more week leave to train the 2nd maid. Now at least my 2nd got a child of her own so know how to take care of baby very well.

jasmine, if you order direct from nepia min 4 packet they will send right at your door and $15 per packet, is cheaper then ntuc if they dont have discount.you may call 6226 2650 to order

there u go. yah thats the number to call for nepia as peck has given. there are also nepia seals on the packaging. cut that out, collect 10 of them and mail back to nepia company. they will mail u a $10 ntuc voucher. works out to be abt the same coz u dun have to rush to ntuc to squeeze with the crowds. hee

sidney is learning to pull himself up from the cot! he is quite heavy now. mothers can be so obsessed with babies' weight.haha

hi peck,
sorrie for the super late reply. I recall you asked me earlier for bb's name and all?
Here it is:
Name: Joshua
DOB: 21 May 07

Anything else?

btw, I'm a FTWM morphing into a SAHM!..*can't wait!*

mommies,
i got a major scare last nite! Not sure how many of you are weaning your babes, but this is the story.

Josh is 6mths+ so we have started to wean him on rice cereal, carrots, papaya and some apples. Yday i think we could try some rice congee. the cereal had been causing him some very slight constipation.

guess wat happened? My MiL fed Josh x2 full bowls of congee, added mashed carrots and chopped SPINACH (which were not blanched at all!) When i returned home in the evening from work yday, I found that Josh had some redness and swelling around his mouth!! Suspect could be the food.
but this morning, the swelling and the redness is gone...
...still it is such a scare, esp when my MiL doesn't want to listen to me when I told her not to give so much at one go!
how??

Peck & Shauna,
Thanks for the infro. Oh no. I didnt know the Nepia seal can change for vouchers, SHIT! I already throw few away already wasted.

Nellu,
Wah! Your MIL so greedy ah, gave your BB so much at 1 go. It will be better to slowly introduce new food to them. As for constipation you can give him some apple puree from the apple itself will help. My gal only accept congee after 7mths plus. Its good he can accept it. But try not to give fish till he is 9mths coz some ppl say some baby will be allergy from certain fish.

hey Jasmine,
i know all of that. the problem is my MiL! She doesn't want to listen to what I say. Totally ignore my feeding schedule. The scary thing is that, like yday, she just cut out his milk intake all together!! Poor boy! we all know that at this age, their main meal is still Milk wat!
*want to cry liao*

Nellu,
Seems like you got no choice, get your hubby to talk to her. Tell her in a nice way that milk is still the main source for now until they're like 9-10mths than replace certain meal by congee. Since I got my maid I read a meal table for her to follow on a white board for her to follow. At your state, my girl have cereal in the morning than milk than cereal alternate coz at 6mths she still can't accept porridge I tried a lot of times, but she just refused to take the porridge. So I leave it until 7 mths plus than introduce porridge to her. Then the time table is like cereal from morning, than milk follow by porridge around 2 plus than milk in the evening like 5 plus after that will be dinner porridge at about 8pm. And before we sleep at about 11 plus I gave her milk. Now my girl slowly don't like taking cereal in the morning so I gave her milk and after 2 hrs I ask my maid to give bread and after that will be porridge around 11plus to 12noon.

nellu
my MIL also likes to give all sort of food to my bb. cos she says jsut give what we eat and cut into small bits then can feed.
bb sitter also give spinach but cut into small small bits so when bb poo can see lots of blackish bits in the shit, as i told her bb got difficult in passing motion since started soild.

Jasmine
nepia seal is a small little baby at the side of the packing.
acc to the book (first food) fish is safe to give unless parents or family got history of allergy of fish. for my bb his 1st porridge was fish porridge ha ha, MIL made so bor bian had to give. infact fish is more nutrious than chicken n pork cos they are more oily n fish have omega 3 n 6 helps which helps in brain development.

sgn, Jasmine
so how do you manage all these issues? I do have the schedules just like you have, Jasmine, but my MiL just simply refuses to follow! My maid also bo bian cos she kena scolding from my MiL as well. I'm really stressed by it.

E.g. I can tell my boy doesn't need to have milk to fall asleep, but my MiL insists that he does and always make him drink milk and let him fall asleep with the bottle! Aiyo! Sometimes, it gets so bad that I feel like telling her "who's the mother here? You or me?"

But then cannot say...all bottled up! Hb also dun really support me.

sigh...if not because my mum's eyes are not good, I would have asked my mum to help take care of my boy.
(

Hi mummies here. Din realise there's a thread here. "1st time .. " means 1st time mummy?

Nellu
The best best way is to have ur HB tell his mum. It's always difficult to have DIL tell MIL off. And if you dun & bottle them up, it's worst coz may end up with Xin Bin. For me, I always explain to my HB I want him to tell his mama coz I want to maintain the good relation with MIL :p

Second way I had tried, especially when HB sometimes too bz to pass msg is to use examples to scare them. Cud be real or made up by me. I will juz say like, u know hor, INTERNET says got 1 bb died due to virus infection from eating wrongly etc etc. Juz make it seems like it's not YOU who is telling them off. it's sharing info.

End of the day, i think it's kinda impt to let them know WE are the mama & we shld decide the style. But also, always rmbr that Grandparents meant well too. So .. strike a balance.

I know it's difficult la, so gd luck ;)

SGN,
nope..only husband & me go..(bad bad hor)

Jan,
I'm quite lucky cos my girl likes my mum too..hehee..so I can "escape"..

Jasmine,
*sigh*..many ppl told me tat..but we can't make it in aug..cos still breastfeeding..& bb was too young (can't bear to go)..we just use tis few days to "re-charge"..no waking up @ nite..

Nellu,
wa..scary leh..have to get ur husband to tell ur MIL..for my girl we introduce a different food 3days in a row to see if she got any reaction to it..like carrot..we gave from mon - wed..if okie..then we move on to banana..thur - sat..something like tat..(if all @ the same time got problem also dun know which one cause)

thanks all of you.
V upset yday and today cos HB is outstationed and is 14hrs behind. Tried to tell him in our limited conversation and all i get is "...."

I know exactly what i want for my own child and I know how to do it. The problem is when I am not there, the person helping me just decides to simply do it her way! So upset!

When my mum helped me for a week or so, there was no problems at all. I'm so happy my mum understands what I want to do with bb and is happy to follow even though she does say that if it is her she would not do it the way i want it. Still she respects my wishes.

I really just dun understand why my MiL just can't do that!

...sigh....feel very alone on this....

Nellu

Cannot compare ur mum with ur MIL. You are used to yr mum's style coz u r brot up dat way. Likewise, your HB will be used to yr MIL style & dat is probably why sometimes, he dun see what u do.

cool_daughter,
i understand and know completely what you mean.

I'm only asking for some basic understanding and respect.

:'(

hi nellu,

u seem really upset with ur MIL. actually taking care of the baby is not an easy feat. no doubt she has the aid of ur maid, but the fact that she is willing to take care of ur bb is actually very kind of her.

the older generation have preconceived ideas on how to take care of bbs, as they themselves brought up their children, aka ur hubby, this way and naturally are resistant to what a new mom tells them. i go nuts trying to explain to my mil n mom how a schedule can benefit mother and child and they know nothing abt why must go to sleep at this time, eat at this time, sit here n eat, or dah dah dah..

i had a maid for 2 months and everybody giving me their 2 cents for a good 2 months (i dun even know y i waited that long till now..) and i quit my job, sacked my maid and took full charge of taking care of my bb alone. i guess thats the best way to keeping to ur own way of bringing ur child up. (btw, they still do drop abit of "advices" here n there.)

unless u can come clean with ur mil that u would like this n that to be done, or not to be done, then really, this tension will be just strain the relationship between husband and wife.

take it easy. if u need her help, u have to compromise abit.

anyone put bb in infantcare? i'm returning to work next july. by then, sidney shld be 16 months. thinking pat's sch house. but will burn a big hole in pocket.

nellu

just have to close both eyes and ears and let go.. cos mils are mils. like what cool_daughter commented its a different 'tribe' practise altogether.

if we were to let other people take care, there will bound to be times when they can't follow exactly what we say unless we are the ones doing it cos we know what we want...

so take it easy.. no point angry loh

shauna why not wait another 2more mths then send your bb to childcare instead of infant care? cos there's a big diff in price.

i'm also looking to send my bb to infant care if possible.... or nanny? hahah

Nellu,

Actually my boi is taken care by my IL too. So really at times, juz hv to 'see no evil, hear no evil'. It's happier this way. You know, whenever I hv abit more time to chit chat with them, I am always given surprises .. such as, oh, bb actually knock his head a few times on e ground & cried (happen quite some x le) or MIL giving bb rocher choc. Wat to do, dun give oso give le. I can oni reply & say, oh, bb cannot eat choc la. Than cook up some horror stories of bb got bad allergy from nuts, choc etc etc.

Tho' my examples may not be as 'unbearable' as yours .. but really, tink of the bright side lor. At least with grandparents, you know bb is safe wif some families member. Infant care & all, they are strangers afterall. I was thinking abt infant care for awhile, than decided against it. Maybe when bb is older & can speak & express, than childcare will be an option.

thanks all.

Shauna, I've quit my job already, now serving notice. Unfortunately it's two months!

I really did think things were settling down for a while, but now this happens again, which just confirms that my decision to give up my career is right.

I know that there is NO way I can convince my MiL. I'm not that rigid either; that she die die must follow what i want. I just would like her to understand my choices, instead of rebutting me all the time. If my decisions were wrong, then I would accept it. But from day 1 till now, more often than not, i have unwittingly proven that HER mthds did more harm than good!

What makes me upset is that whenever such things happen, my MiL will keep disagreeing with me. After that, she'll put on this "why you keep blaming me" show! It irritates me cos I'm not even saying anything, just finding out from her what was done during the time when I am away.

The most upsetting thing is even HB doesn't want to help me when he himself also knows that MiL's actions were wrong. And it always seems like all these problems come up when he is outstationed!

...just v 'suay' lor

yea...cool_daughter. if u look at it in essence, it's really not what they do or dun do.
in my case, it's really the attitude.

anyway I'm just looking forward to my last day of work. So i can really do what I want to do. and hopefully by then things will be better.

nellu, i understand how u feel... but i agree,.. .when u need someone else to take care of your baby, u got to compromise. u have resigned? sahm? i always find sahm very courageous... salute all sahm.

me got another set of problem... my maid.... will often use my instructions to talk back at me... i used to tell her dun arry my boy too much, let him sleep on his own. but reecntly, at bedtime, he'd should and scream so much, but when i cuddle him, he'd sleep, thoughssometimes it takes as long as 1 hr. i think he not enough sleep in the day and is being cranky cos he is overstimulated or over tired. so i told m maid to carry him a bit make sure he gets some nap in the day.... and she gave me the look and tol dme ... u tol dme dun carry, now u say carry is it? feel like killing her......

mommies, can advise pl? is it really bad to carry baby to make him sleep? do our babies sleep on their own? mine if left alone will just stare and the mobile or fan above him, and laugh to himself, refuse to sleep.... but once i pick him up, he sleeps in less than 5 min.... i tried it last weekend... i know i should not have done it... but really heartpain the crying at nite leh... he rubs his eyes and face so much till his face got so much scratches....

1stxmom,
I also have this prob to deal with. My MiL 'helped' me to create the problem.

As for sleep, i tried to let my boy cry it out. It didn't work. It just got worse until he so poor thing shivering away. Aft 2 days i abandoned that sleep training plan.

Now my bb still wants to suck to sleep, either breast or bottle, but I am slowly teaching him to do without. On and off I succeed. I un-latch him before he really falls asleep and pat him a little. Sometimes he falls asleep really quickly. Sometimes he needs to be carried around for a while. But slowly the time has reduced to abt 5mins or so.

I think it will be a long process and still working towards it. But I think I am beginning to get more sleep at night myself.

If you are keen, do read this book "the No-Cry Sleep Solution" by Elizabeth Pantley. The suggestions are quite good, but it takes a while to train bb.

as for the maid, just tell her that she is to do what you tell her to do. No questions asked.

Nellu,
I think the choice you make will make you feel better, and you can handle your own child at your own way. As for me I ever thought of it when I should stop working and take care of my girl. Think it should be when she enter school. Now have to depend on my maid to look after my girl and I earn more money safe up and by the time she enter school I will be like shauna be a SAHM and become good lobang queen ah soh hehe...
Actually when I started having this maid my MIL also kept giving her different instruction when I have told her to do it my way. I was also pissed with what she did up to the point that I told my hubby to tell her not to give instruction coz it will make my maid confuse in following what I have told her. Also after so many incident she also xian with giving anymore instruction. Although sometimes when I told my maid to do certain things like giving my girl eat something she will stop my maid from doing it but I have to close 1 eye and let her be. Really no choice sometimes also. But as for taking her meal the time table my maid will follow and my MIL will follow too. Coz she is not fit (She is already 76 yr old and can't walk firmly) in looking after my girl thats why we have to get a maid to look my girl.

Shauna,
So you have decide to go back to work soon ah. Which line are you in?

1stxmom,
I got worse experience than you with 1st maid, me and my hubby choose her coz she is married thought that she will be delighting to look after baby but turn out she just got married not long and came here to work. She is a big and fussy eater which we thought if she can work let her be lor. But when I deliver my girl. She turn out not willingly to look after my girl coz when I ask her to take care I turn my back she just pass my girl to my MIL hands. sigh.... So end up before I change to my present maid who have a 5yrs old boy of her own, and she loves my girl which I can say.

every house got their own ' MIL' pattern & story..

my mil even tell me, dnt care abt Ian when he cry, close door and let him cry

and tell me, when ian wakes up for midnight feed, dnt give him, make him slp!!!

aiyo...

Jasmine,
thanks for the encouragement! Looks like I'll become the lobang queen ah soh sooner than you! :D
i also face the same issue that you have with your maid and MiL (*sounds like I got a lot of problems!*)

so you see that is why i quit my job. so that i not only can personally take care of my boy, i can also set things right with the maid.