1st Time...

shauna, the thing is, he dont like stroller leh, will cry in it lor.. that why we have to carry while eating

i understand..my boy is now goin 10 months and if we do have meals outside, we also ahve to take turns in carrying him coz cant expect him to sit in his pram until we complete our meals. he would probably have screamed the restaurant down.

btw when i was pregnant, and i tot of if i have a gal, i might call her enqi too! its a lovely name..haha. how cute!

peck
my gal also din't like to be in stroller. what we did was as she cry we'll continue to push the stroller like in a moving motion.. after a while, usually she'll fall asleep...

of course, we do that when we are sure, she's not hungry, hot, cold, diapers dirty. cos most of the time, she only wana be carried.. and this helps us to eat peacefully cos i or hb will push her using our leg or one hand while we eat using the other hand...

name: enqi
ya we luv this name too! to me i like the combined meaning to it - its a miraculous grace that she's born! heehee

hoho... seems like we all like the name, En Qi! That was our choice initially then we changed to Kai Qi.

BTW, anyone can share how to train bb's neck muscles? I put my girl on her tummy but she ended up eating the bedsheet. OMG!

stepford
what my mil did was put some toys at the side of bb to attact them n help bb to turn by pushing their buttock, like that they turn very fast.

hee.. my boy just started crawling. very cute, like tummy very heavy and he can oni propel himself forward using his limbs slowly. just the day before, i was watching him do a sitting position move. he would sit down and use his hands to push against the floor adn slide his backside ard.

thanks graybecky and sgn! I tried again today but she was really angry with me! face turned lobster red and screamed... while still eating bedsheet. :p

shauna : how nice that your boy started to crawl! wonder when will mine started crawling too.

Think we need to have a table somewhere... cannot rem the age of everyone's baby.

My girl started to crawl better today..can reach her "target" liao..but takes a long time..& some time she '1/2 way' complain (cry)

Agree with Stepford, can't remember all the bb's age..

my ger is at my in-law's hse since last nite. my MIL wanted me to tak a few days off.miss her so much. juz went to see her, feel like bringing her back.

I'm trying to get my girl to crawl..she's super lazy..just want to lie on her back..*faint*

Jolene,
Hmmm..take it as a time of rest lor..recharge urself..

jolene
can understands ur feeling cos i also put bb with nanny when i work 3 nites in a row.

hi peck and stepford,

my boy makes me laugh when he crawls. more like creeping, commando style.

graybecky, how old is ur baby? they will crawl in their own time. ..

Hi everyone, I sign up on Feb this year but never got time to get
to know anyone here yet. My girl was born in Nov 7 '06.
Just turn 1 yr old last week.

Hi graybecky my gal also so lazy, she only push her shelf backward. And she already turn 1. But many ppl say girl start to walk later will be better.

sgn
Sometimes baby will not poo for few days is normal just try to give water or fruit juice.

hi jasmine, i think ur gal is the jiejie ard here. i have heard the thing abt gals walking later better. i'm sure she will walk when she's ready, and u must share the moment with us!

Hi Shauna Low,

haha she is d big jie jie who is slow, but its ok I will be very patient with her, now she just want to hold hands and walk. But at least she know how to say pa pa, ma ma, jie jie etc... Will share with you guys when she free her hands to walk by hershelf.

Good news! just when I'm about to resign to the fact that my girl is not going to lift her head up, she did it and she has also flipped to her side!!! Woohoo!!! babies are amazing. everyday, they seem to be capable of something new.

But I had a bad weekend with her. Very colicky. Cried non-stop. Nothing worked. At one point, I just wanted to hug her and cry together!

Shauna
my bb is 6 months old n he still on TBM but started solid 2 weeks ago.

Jesmine
i tried giving apple puree n juice but still never poo today, my Dr friend says 4 days ok if 1 week never poo then need to use med. hopefully he poo tomolo.

stepford
dun cry sayang sayang, when bb sick mummy then to be emontional. u got to be strong n clam to look after ur bb!

Hello sgn,
The other time my girl 2 days never poo..PD suggest we get prune juice..so we bought the Heinz apple + prune juice..it works leh..maybe u want to try..

Hey Stepford,
*Congrats*..bb can flip liao..exciting hor..hehee..(can imagine u smiling)

**Hugs** I know its tough when bb not well..we'll feel sad too..but be strong..it'll be over soon..My girl also had colic when she was younger..can give gripe water..apply ru yi yu..try try..

This morning 6am++..dun know why my girl started to cry..so super loud..we tried everything..make milk..rub oil..carry..all no use..then slowly she settle down..till now we still dun know wat happened..sigh..

Hi Stepford, how many months is your bb? When my girl is 2 months, I let her sleep on her tummy, she can flap her head from left to right without any help. I even let her sleep face down at night coz I pretty sure she knows how to turn her head, she sleep longer that way. 1st few months my girl also colicky, after every feed she sure will puke her milk out. At 1st we gave her Similac and found that when mixing there alot of bubbles in her milk and we switch to Enfalac after 1st month.

graybecky,
yeah you're right gripe water works on my girl too. I gave her a mag mag training cup with a spoon of it and add warm water to her everyday since she is 7-8mths plus. She finish 1 cup a day.

shauna,
Do you put your boy on high chair when he have his meal? I train my girl to sit in it when she have her meal, so when I put her in stroller when going out she got no problem in staying in it. Of coz they will tend to refuse to sit in it from start, but have to bare with the crying for a well. We also try putting her to sit in her car seat when going out, at 1st she cry alot but have to bare with it for few times then she is ok now.

sgn,
Can try giving her apple, I gave my girl apple by using a metal spoon and remove the juice and some fresh from a rose apple she loves it. Your girl is 6mths so just give her the juice from an apple if she dnt know how to take solid yet.

sgn- cooked apple puree can cause constipation in some babies. pear is less likely to result in constipation. u may wanna try that. when they commence solids, their bodies have to readjust to the new food type, so poor baby may be a little constipated. hang in there, with fibre and water, n perhaps a bit of prune juice, we shld get the machine going again!

graybecky- yes time flies. just yesterday, i was watching the video of my boy flipping and hes already 10 months old now. he was sooooooooo tiny then and could barely coordinate his movements, but now he reaches for his things with such precision, and aggression, of course! haha.

jasmine- my boy sits in his high chair for all meals,( including ours )since 5 months old. he's generally happy in a stroller but i dun feed him outside coz we dun take him out on long trips, coz we try to accomodate to his nap and meal times which are set at specific timings.

stepford- flipping is one of the greatest milestones of a baby. i was so excited when my bb flipped! and he would flip non stop after that! i'm sure u must think this baby is such a grown up! haha.. there are many more amazing things they will soon learn to do. and everyday there is something they will show u to make u the happiest mommy in the world.

helo! mummies! I`m back from my taiwan trip...went to taipei for 4 days..jus came back yesterday! sooooooooo tire!

when i`m at taipei i also miss my gal so much..kept wondering wat is she doing now.. but my gal didnt give me time to rest... she was quite cranky in the midnight...keep waking up and dun wan to zzz unless i carry her..once put down her eyes will open big big and cry...den no chioce..yday put her on my chest and zzz together!

Hi Jasmine, my girl is 2mths plus. I'm still at the cow's job, hope to continue til she's a year since I read that drinking BM will help to reduce wind in her stomach. But again, like I said, hopefully can continue cow's job for a year... anything can happen to cut off supply so fingers crossed!

Hi Shauna, it's fun to see but scary to leave her alone now. Used to let her lie on the sofa but now I will put her back in her cot while I'm out in the living room.

Hi kimmylian, Taipei! Woohooo!!! So fun! The street food there is soooo yum. And don't we all hate cranky babies at night just when we needed our rest???

Yo Graybecky, I'm very happie that my girl has succeeded. Been smiling and took pics to mark the occasion - I always have camera on standby in case she managed to do smthng! Heehee...

Hi sgn, you gotta share how you started your bb on semi-solids. Full vegetarian?

stepford, what u do is very good. put bb in cot whenever u have to leave the room to do something for even awhile. they get very adept at things quickly and i have read many stories of mothers feeling bad when bb has fallen off. nor worth the risk even if its just a small bump.

and i'm giving TBM till now too. i'm proud to say my boy has been very healthy and has never fallen ill since birth. keep breastfeeding! it is indeed the best gift u can give as a mother. try ur best!

anyway, just to keep track of how old the babies are and who is who, pls copy and paste the below and add ur particulars.

Parent: Shauna Low (SAHM)
Baby: Sidney
DOB: 29 Jan 2007

Hi Kimmy,
U went taiwan with or without ur bb?
Husband & I going HK end of the mth (5 days 4 nites)..going without bb..feeling a bit guilty liao

Hi Kimmy,
Taiwan is nice i went there few years back. Nov is nice weather to go there cooling. My girl too didn't let us sleep last night, she down with running nose. Just got well from her fever last week only. I not feeling well too took my medicine last night thought can get a good rest but she been crying from 12.30 mid-night for 2hrs I was like carrying her out of her bed and back to her bed. Sooo tired too.

Stepford,
Your girl just 2mths plus, this is a good time to take lot of photos for her. Around this time you should have more milk, coz when I start work my milk flow is like 5-6oz each time I pump, every 4-5hrs.My twin sister gal just turn 3 1/2 month. Her also on FBM coz my sis milk supply is high she got like 200ml each time she pump. When my girl was around 3mths she start to refuse to suck direct that is just when I about to start work. So I pump my milk to store for her needs. Don't know why when she start her solid about 6 mths plus, her intake of BM start dropping. I start to slow down on pumping from 9mths. Now I left with too little so just clear when I take my shower every night.

Shauna,
Is good that your boy still want your milk. My gal slow down supply when she is 6mths plus. Guess what she got chicken pox when she is 9mths plus. And we seldom bring her out, only bring her out to shopping for once and there she got it liao.

Mum & baby particulars:
Parent: Jasmine (jasminenbc)
Baby: Nichole
DOB: 7 Nov 2006

jesmine/ shauna
i tried apple puree, water, sweet potato still can't poo, yesterday used the suppository to help him poo. ha ha bb's facial expression very funny, he push until face red red. in the end he did a BIG poo lor.

stepford
i started giving bb rice cereal from heinz (for 4-6months) n those jar puree (veg eg, apples n pear), now MIL gives chwee kuay which i dun like cos very oily.

Parent: sgn
Baby: Kai Yang
DOB: 13 May 07

re: Taiwan trip
i planning to bring bb there on april next year by then he shd around 9mth+.. cant bear to leave him here, any mummy experience to bring bb out? What to lookout huh?

Think we continue the list beta right?

Mum & baby particulars:

Parent: peck
Baby: Jovan
DOB: 29 June 07

finally hav time to post. too bz tis two days. after my ger come back from my in-law's hse, she become more cranky. can't handle/control her, cry n cry. tink whole block also can hear her crying.wanted to carry 24/7. my MIL told me might be my FIL cos she saw him carry her almost every hr. *sigz*

Mum & baby particulars:

Parent: jolene
Baby: Ashley
DOB: 26 Sep 07

hi jolene

maybe your gal also started to recognise people?

Mum & baby particulars:

Parent: pooppy
baby: matthias
DOB: 10 july 07

Hi Jolene,
it's like tat one..bb get used to being carried very fast..(2 - 3days & they're hooked to it)..never mind..u slowly "re-train" her lor..

Mum & baby particulars:

Parent: graybecky
Baby: Naomi
DOB: 24 April 07

hi pooppy,

ya maybe. cant imagine in future if i bringing her back during weekend cos MIL will be looking after during weekdays, wat will happen?? *faint*

jolene,
You mean you leave your baby at your in-law's place only bring her home during weekends ah, if that's the case it might be she not use to the environment? Baby only start to recognise faces when they're abt 5mths plus.

Hi everyone, I'm back! Sorry for the long absence. Went back to work 2 weeks ago and so busy! Every nite I reach home, no time to log on the com. Just feed milk, spend whatever little time I have with baby and then plop down on the bed to sleep. How I wish I can be SAHM too. Sigh...

Mum & baby particulars:

Parent: graybecky
Baby: Naomi
DOB: 24 April 07

Parent: Jan
Baby: Jarienne
D.O.B: 9th of June 2007

Peck, ur Jovan on solids already? I tried feeding my Jarienne cereals using spoon but she don't want to eat. I dilute it quite a bit but she got no patience. How??

Any mothers can help? Like that how to start her on porridge in the 6th month?

hi jan, i started sidney on cereal at 5 months old. he began porridge when he turned 6.5 months.

when he was 5 months old, we gave him cereal only for a few days, then progressed to vegetables and fruits, giving an interval of 3 days for each new thing we introduce, in case the bb has an allergy.
by the time he was 6 months old, he was eating abt 6-7 tsps of puree or cereal every meal.

at 6.5 months, i began porridge with one type of veggie and one meat. he was resistant to begin with, but i mixed half cereal and half porridge and gradually reduced the cereal until it was solely porridge.

u may try reading the book by gina ford. she has good tips for freezing pureed foods. i used to freeze all my pureed foods and seperate them into different containers adn then every morning just dump the appropriate amounts (or what i deem appropriate, haha) into the slow cooker.

Hi Jan,
I started bb with juices (apple / pear) when she was 5mths..when she's nearer to 6mths we tried with brown rice..she quite like it..slowly lor..the 1st 3 days we gave her 4 - 5 spoonful (just to test) then after tat we increase the amount..I move on to puree like banana & carrot..
we're intending to start porridge tomolo..

Wat cereal are u feeding her?