0-3 mths pregnant

Hi...so how to tell how many weeks pregnant? I read from some sites start from last mense date but I found that puzzling. Is that how we count? I just tested positive 2 days ago...first BB and very excited! Last mense was 1st week of March. Does that mean at least 4-5 weeks already? I had very regular menses.

GG Lee
if ur menses are v accurate and u tested +ve 2 days ago coz u missed ur menses, then yes, u r ard 4 wks+ now. congrats!

caln of EDD is always based on LMP (last menses period). And u enter the no. of days ur regular cycle is. u will get the date.
there r many sites to surf for info.

jRT
Thanks!! So looks like I should start looking around for a gynae soon. Read from forum best to go around 8 weeks

hello there! i am too. just see a tiny tiny sac during my 1st visit with the gynae. i am looking forward to seeing the heartbeat 2 weeks later! hope can see..,..

hello! Congrats! I just made appt w gynae! Was advised to go around 7 weeks at least. Very curious how first visit will be like

Just wondering, do you gals get the stomach 'like having menses' kind of feeling now and then? Not exactly pain but just feels something..Also also more white/yellow discharge. Is this normal??

hello! Congrats! I just made appt w gynae! Was advised to go around 7 weeks at least. Very curious how first visit will be like

Just wondering, do you gals get the stomach 'like having menses' kind of feeling now and then? Not exactly pain but just feels something..Also also more white/yellow discharge. Is this normal??

hello GG lee, how many weeks are u in now? i am in 4+ to 5weeks..
yap, experiencing cramp like those menses type here and there.
by the way, got 1 question hope fellow mmmies to be can answer... read that some of you all who got spottings get injections.. when we need injection? is it for serious case spotting or??? my gynae didnt mention about these. just give me duphaston only

Hi everyone, it seems that some of u do get e medicine for e MS..i know most MTBs will go for a check after missing a menses..me too oso experiencing MS..alas, no fixed timing on when it'll happen..juz hv a habit of nauseous & after a few of this, things go well (phew..like that oso "gan yan").
at times, saliva tastes funny n nid fruit juices..now at least 4-6mealtimes / day, tiny bit of food each..always diff cravings of food but love sour & spicy, kway teow fish ball soups (so much), vege & limited meats...really envy those w/o any MS..tend to feel sort-of 'indigestion'..haiz...esp after dinner..

HI GG, e sinseh that i go to said it's norm to hv discharge as i was worried so much initially. if it gets worse, juz seek e gynae's advise again esp when it contains colour. Take care

Hey yara! I am also in my 5th week!! Ya, sometimes got that light crampy feel, which got me a little worried cos heard about etopic pregnancy. Guess will feel more assured after 1st doc appt. As for the jab you mentioned, one of my friend had them taken cos she had bleeding. Understand it was a type of hormone jab which will help stabilise and protect bb.

BB...yup, you are spot on! I also get the funny taste in my saliva. I tend to feel very bloated but yet get hungry quite easily, then next moment after eating, very bloated again! And yes, keeping wanting to eat but small meals...Husband seems concerned that I am overeating. Keep reminding me many pregnant ladies eat more than they should. I also don't know how to describe how I feel to him. Been feeling emotional too, sometimes just feel vey sad and cry nonstop. There was once I was on the train and tears just keep rolling. Very different from my usual self lor. Heard of post-natal blues but now I wonder if I'm experiencing pre-natal blues (is there such a thing?)

Gg gal, being emotional easily is 1 of e symptoms..will weep easily than b4..haha..it's k to binge every 2hrs or so
so long as hopefully not craving on oily unhealthy food..yes, there is pre-natal blues..find something to balance yr emotions whenever u feel emotional..
for me, i k suddenly feel moody & feel like screaming! feel so 'bored' with lifestyle..haha..whenever planning to go window-shopping, e thot of crowd kills e thot..ended up staying at home or shop at neighbourhood (amk hub as i'm living there)..

Hi BB...thanks for the assurance..Yea, me too..sometimes feel very restless but yet dunno want to do wat. As for the munching, decided that a healthier way could be to munch fruits in between meal, like apples etc. But also bought a bit of sour titbit though not healthly. Sometimes I do crave for sinful stuff like fried stuff. Next minute I find fried stuff a turn off. And tummy always feel very funny, like bloated and quite uncomfortable. Breasts very sore too and bras are getting tight and always end up with red bra lines. Think need to start researching about maternity bras. I heard cannot wear underwired ones during pregnancy. Anyone knows where are the places to find maternity bras?

GG lee,

i think u shd eat less oily food, coz oily n fried food will mk u uncomfotable after that. n sometimes pregnant ladies eat apples, then will hv a lot gas, which mk their tummy bloated, thus causing more discomfort.

Hi GG,

Me too. Now crave for something, next turn-of by it :p I kind of find my MS diff fm many of u. Now then i hv severe MS - nauseous after dinner, esp
It's after 2mths. Strange..only accept Fruit juice, Kway Teow, Vege & v selective stuff..trying to take in warm water but...now even Milk also kind of reject too.

Thanks ladies....oh oh...must control then...Lately discovered that I love the taste of fresh big plums...sweet with a tinge of sourness..they are in season now. Now and then still craved for fried stuff though...had BK yesterday and found it so heavenly!!..absolutely crave for melted cheese!

BB & yaya..guess we must try to eat healthy soupy stuff then..Bot some healthy nuts for snacks yesterday..

think MS differs among ladies lor..but some say got MS is a good sign that baby is doing well...For me, no real MS yet though at times I feel like its coming...

janjan
thanks for advise! No wonder I kept feeling gasy yesterday after a big cup of green apple juice!

Hi there, Got one question for experiences breastfeeding mummies. I planning for 3th one still early oni 3weeks so can't test. I was bathing so i massage my breast then found out theres some milky liquid coming out. Does it mean im pregnant? or is just left over residue from last pregnant? which is 1.3yrs ago.

Hi gg,

i'm mainly taking soup-based - kway teow mainly..wanton, fishballs..plain :p love sour n chillies..haha..e weird feel in mouth still lingers..fruits r only lemon, oranges, apples, once a while papaya..now gotta monitoring closely on e need to take in enough water as it seems i took lesser for e past few days...

e other thread on low amniotic fluid worries me..btw, when's yr edd? did u visit any thread on e mth u gonna deliver? i see that it's a popular chatting ground too

Yaya....hahaha..you same as me! Must control but once in a while I still pinch some fried stuff!

BB,
Good for you! For me I tried soup based stuff also...sometimes I love them..like I tried kway teow soup and end up finished up even the soup...but yesterday eat seafood bee hoon soup after a few bites already find it a turn off...then craved for more tasty stuff...

My EDD is Dec, which day dunno yet cos havent see gynae. Yup, the thread on the month you gonna deliver is very active. I'm there too. Go check it out

GG, i just wish that the MS will go away soon..hopefully immediately :p

I think my gynae's visit will be able to know the EDD.

But now, I would like to know the type of tests to do in 1st trimester. Heard that we need to do it in this tri. Have you done yrs?

Hi BB,
I think 1st visit gynae will let us know what tests we need to do. Read from forum usually will have blood test around 12th week, to check blood count and also for thalamassia. Seems like husbands need to test too. Then there is a Oscar test which will be done later to check foetal abnormalities..

Ic, somehow i find that the forums here isn't as 'active' as s'pore brides..here i find that only selective topics r active..i have not come thru a thread on e test to be conducted.

GG, where did u find them? paiseh

BB,
I found some info when reading through threads like in Year 2009 mums to be...now and then some mummies will share what tests they did. Also, under the postings on each gynae doctor usually will also mention what happens when they visit..

My mood swing strike last night again...late at night told my husband I am thungry..wanted to eat potato chips...he refused to let me eat say not healthy...next minute find me crying so pathetically under the blanket...I just suddenly feel so miserable....I think husband got a shock too....In the end he made me sandwiches and I happy liao. Gosh, I think I going haywire...emotions like roller coaster!

GG,
what a night for you last nite!! :> sounds emotional :p r u still at early stage? u r active in Dec MTBs thread?

I do browse thru Yr 2009 mums..browsing thru e dates..seems that only a selective ones r recent postings. when free will then go thru to find out more info ..keke..

Hi GG,

Has yr gynae mention tests optional to do in 1st & 2nd trimester?

OSCAR (scanning & blood testing to measuring neck thickness) to be done by wk13, if i remember correctly. another blood test by wk16 & Amniotics (for down syndromes)...

GG, u power le.. myhubby is observing me more oftern. he worries that i have late night craving now.. but i do have certain craving at different point of time but when i was having it, i start to lose interest on it..feel funny feeling..

i am a newcomer to this thread. I am now in my 9th week. My gynae tells me that i got to avoid food that contails Vit C(oranges, tomatoes), milk, cheese, yogurt.

I read up in books that preggie mum needs alot of calcium & iron, but i cannot take milk & cheese due to gastrics pain.
Any one can advise and help me on what to take to supplement?

Hahahahah...Yaya, I can fully understand that feeling! This morning my husband prepared ciabatta bread with cheese for my breakfast but I no longer seem to like it so much! And he said huh? Taste change again uh? Actually they also very poor thing sometimes...cos we sometimes also dunno what we want/don't want until we see it!

Geraldine
Congrats! Am surprised about cannot take vit C, thot it is good. Guess I better ask my gynae too cos I have been drinking a bit of fresh orange juice now and then, find it very appealing cos slightly sour. Did you ask ur gyna what supplements to take, usually they will prescribe or recommend (e.g iron/calcium tabs). Best to check w gynae cos each persons needs may differ.

i just went for checkup last week. can only see the bubble but not the sac.. anyone experiencing this before? gynae said i should be 6 to 7 weeks but the U/S machine measured the bubbel to be 5W5D and no sac inside..
p/s: from the LMP to now, i should be 9 weeks liao...is there any case i am ovulating v late and hence machine show 5W+? is the machine accurate or not?

Hi yaya
What is bubble and what is sac? I had my US done at 7 weeks, doc never use these terms..

Maybe good to get 2nd opinion if you are worried about the machine by this gynae not accurate?

Geradine
My gynae told me vit C and juices are good, unless having gastric pains. She also din prescribe supplements for 1st trim, folic acid is good enough and just eat healthy balanced diet. Calcium and iron tablets start from tri 2.

hi Gera

welcome here
thot it shld b Vit A for us to avoid as too much will affect e fetus development (*-*)>

during 1st trimester, norm we take foclic acid..when u visit gynae during end of 1st trimester, will switch to Multi-Vit and / or Iron..if u still hv folic, k finish it (this is what my gynae said i do still hv some stocks). confirm with yr gynae again

hi Yaya,

i've not heard of bubbl but sac. what's "U/S machine measured the bubbel to be 5W5D"?

i've not heard of this too..also, did e gynae add on n share more info?

else, k consider getting a 2nd opinion..take care

Gera,

if u k take e aroma of goatmilk, check this out. else u hv to obtain other sources of calcium / iron food...greeny vege..if u dare take those pigs organs, it's also for iron generation..
did e gynae hv other suggestion?

I tested positive 5 days before my menses due, found it unbelieveable as it seems too early to be tested positive. I also bought a clear blue test kit to reconfirm 2 days back and..yes it is positive.

Today I should be in my 4th week if I'm really pregnant, should I be visitng my gynae soon as I had a miscarriage last Dec or should I wait till 6th week since it is too early to scan anything.

hi Josey

due to past history, can book for an apptmt, prob to go in 1-2wks' time

if e kits results were v obvious, then wk 4-6 shld b able to see e sacs in e scan altho still early to see more..

gd luck

Hi GG Lee,

Can I check wif u who advised u to go gynae to check around 7 weeks?

Btw, u've mentioned abt more white/yellow discharge. Do u mean that after u've missed ur last period & after that, u got more white/yellow discharge? Just curious as i aso hv the same thing as u here.

BB, i did some read up..so the bubble is the sac..heee...sorry for wrong info..and the utrasound scanning machine measured the sac to be 5W+.. thats y i am puzzling whether the machine is accurate or not cos it doesnt match the gynae prediction of 7week.

am informed by the gynae that there should be fetus inside the sac..but she cant find it via virginal scan. make me worry lor

thanks for the advice. currently i am taking folic acid every morning and zantec to stop the gastrics pain...cos i am having gastrics pain almost every night...*sigh*

BB=>i dont like those organs..Yucks* esp liver..i will vomit :p
My gynae didnt really tell me what i should eat. Think i gotto ask him on my next visit.

Then i have this problem of waking up in the middle of the night to go toilet..is it common?

Btw any idea if i can take sushi, those which is cooked?

hi Yaya

i know that there r 2 forms of 'predicitng e age' of e fetus - either based on LMP or measurement on e length of e fetus (for 1st trimester as a gauge)..as far as i know, some ppl may not be able to see much during e 1st mth or so..dun fret..am sure u b gg to e next visit. when will that be??

hi Gera,

just ask e gynae for any info u need..else search e web..can try Dumex sg web..

yes common to go..i do.. take cooked food thru'out e term for safety

hi Kingking,

i did hv discharge initially..heard it's an auto dismissal by e body at early stage..just monitor..unsure, check w gynae..

gal,

u were asking abt e yellow/white discharge that usu occurs during fertile period..i act experience a little at the beginning..was quite worried as afraid of too 'liang' in orential term so had checked with Sinseh / Gynae..

I just went for 1st check up, doctor said he can't see anything thru the scan, it this because the baby is too small? I guess I'm only 3 to 4 weeks pregnancy and I'm so worried about it... Can someone assist me?

BB,

I dun hv the white/yellow discharge which usually occurs during fertile period.

I was meaning that after the due date of the menses which got the white discharge which i dun usually hv it. Anybody got the same systoms like me aso?

I've confirm my pregnancy with my gynae yesterday. He has managed to scan a very tiny sac and he just called me to confirm my blood test results - 4weeks+ pregnant. But because of my pervious case, he wants me to go back for review every week.

hi Jasmine,

yr case seems too early..fm what i know, cant see much during 1st 4wks..dun worry
i understand e eaginess n anxiety..

hi gal,

yr case seems to be e opposite..

hi jose,

congrats!! indeed to go for a regular visit
u b filled b anxiety n excitement but relax ok :p gonna be anxious n hope e bb k grow faster :p take care..

Gal,
Gynae clinic advised see gynae around 6,7 weeks so that by then can see heartbeat. If you go earlier, is ok too but they may do a vaginal scan (insert in), if sac is too small to show in pelvic ultrascan. But if u got any abnormal symptoms or want to be sure it is not ectopic pregnancy, then can go as early as 4 weeks. But usually they will still ask u to go again for another check around 7 weeks as the doctor will need to confirm got heartbeat.

As for discharge, gynae say is normal as long as white/light yellow. This is because when pregnant, your body got HCG hormones and they will be more discharge as your uterus expands to prepare for growing bb.