Urgent Divorce Advice Needed! - Husband tries to delay to sell flat

superdepress

I have stopped living together with my husband for almost 4 years. Basically we have serious communication problems and issues because after married, i realised he changed and like to do everything without discuss with me. he also financially unable to support the family.

I earn salary 2000 a month and have a daughter 5 years old living with me throughout the 4 years.

My divorce case been dragging for more than 1 year and supposed to reach the final stage.

My husband is trying to convince me sell the 4 years old HDB but because it didn't meet the 5 years minimum occupation period, he is doing everything he can by hiring a lawyer to help him fight the divorce case and delay the divorce process.

Now we left 1 year to reach 5 years minimum occupation period, i am getting worried because if he really sell the flat, me and my daughter will be homeless and need to stay with relatives.

He proposed after sell the HDB, he just take 50% of the profit.

I cannot agree with him on selling because he take the money he won't give his daughter a single cent on education or living.

i am feeling lost now because my legal aid lawyer don't seem to care much about the welfare of my daughter and me.

i need some advice from kind soul who knows about divorce please.....

all i hope for is to have the hdb so me and my kid have a place to stay. if he delay till he sell.. we be homeless

firstly if you didnt reach 5yrs MOP, you cannot sell the HDB on open market. However you can sell back to HDB at cost (i think)
secondly if you pay the HDB loan too, if you refuse to sell, there is nothing your husband can do about
thirdly, even you sell HDB, he still have to pay child maintenance fee to you so your daughter definitely have some money. But for your alimony you have to ask your lawyer
forth, if you want to retain HDB now or later part, you must have money to buy his shares over
lastly, even he hire a good lawyer to fight the case, you disagree, both of you still need to go to courts and fight it out... and both of you will need to spend alot of money..

my advise is both of you discuss what you want, agree in what you want, hire one lawyer to settle everything. you will save alot of money and able to divorce within 6 months...

Hi Superdepress...understand ur predicament.. Is not easy ... But don't settle for out of court cos my sis who works at Comcare, say a lot of women go there to seek help when the hubby don't pay up n they can't do anything cos it's out of court agreement... In court, b sure to tell ur stupid lawyer you want enforcement for the alimony n Maintainence, once he miss payment he can be charge b put in jail. Also,get ur lawyer to calculate your kid's education until he's 21yrs old so that amount can be dispense to you monthly n u dun need to worry if he wl pay next mth. Last, pls gather all your receipts, like purchasers at NTUC,sheng siong, school books and all including trips to hair saloon... These are to proof your up keep that he have to maintains, it's women's charter hor, husband hv to maintain his wife ..Google n check it out..keep me posted... I hv a ex DPP fren....b peace gal... God bless

i am in great grief and despair. I do not understand why the case been dragging. And the most amazing thing is my legal aid lawyer keep asking me to settle with him. keep asking me to sell the hdb flat and split profit 50-50. i am now feeling the whole world is against me. because he engaged a lawyer to fight the divorce case. now im not sure if his lawyer have on the side spoken to my legal aid lawyer? tying to cut a deal? i have seen all this kind of lawyer side talk on tv and movies. is it happening in real?

all i want is a divorce and custody of my kid and a home where we can live in. so simple. but he is not giving us!

i do not understand how else should i proceed. because my terms are so simple. i am willing to pay and buy over his cpf shares for the flat.

if he refused, then i want to surrender the flat to HDB. So simple!

I just want to start a new life with my kid!!! why he can't let us!!!!! why!!!!!!

i never ask him for money or what. even if he don't want give the kid is ok!

why have man like him?

how else can i get help??

can i trust the singapore legal system? can i trust legal aid lawyers???

can anyone advise me??? if we surrender our flat to HDB.... is it purely just take back cpf? or???

i do not wish him to make money out of our flat because he will not give a single cent to his kid. i rather not earn anything.

you can call or email your estate manager. you can find his/her contact details at your HDB page.

legal aid lawyer will ask you to neg with your ex because it is cheaper and less time consuming if behind doors settle, rather than in court case...
i guess legal aid lawyer does not get pay or not as much as normal lawyer, so they dun want to waste too much energy?? it's just my wild guess.

Try to appeal and see if you are able to sell off before MOP, they will review case by case basis.

i am in great grief and despair. I do not understand why the case been dragging. And the most amazing thing is my legal aid lawyer keep asking me to settle with him. keep asking me to sell the hdb flat and split profit 50-50. i am now feeling the whole world is against me. because he engaged a lawyer to fight the divorce case. now im not sure if his lawyer have on the side spoken to my legal aid lawyer? tying to cut a deal? i have seen all this kind of lawyer side talk on tv and movies. is it happening in real?

all i want is a divorce and custody of my kid and a home where we can live in. so simple. but he is not giving us!

i do not understand how else should i proceed. because my terms are so simple. i am willing to pay and buy over his cpf shares for the flat.

if he refused, then i want to surrender the flat to HDB. So simple!

I just want to start a new life with my kid!!! why he can't let us!!!!! why!!!!!!

i never ask him for money or what. even if he don't want give the kid is ok!

why have man like him?

how else can i get help??

can i trust the singapore legal system? can i trust legal aid lawyers???

Be firm and tell your legal aid lawyer about your stand and insisted on your rights since you are very clear about your directions.

If your flat is not within the MOP period. The HDB will need you to surrender your flat. Meaning you will get back your HDB minus 5% -10% of the original cost price that you have purchase.

If you are above 35 yrs old and has a kid, you can purchase a new flat from HDB under the single with child scheme.

Yes, divorce is a very lengthy process if either one party is "draggy" about it. If your husband is draggy, your cost can easily top to 7- 9 k minimum.
The best is to sit down and discuss before going to lawyer. The filing of the affidavit and lawyer representing you on court can "kill" you with the charges.

I have stopped living together with my husband for almost 4 years. Basically we have serious communication problems and issues because after married, i realised he changed and like to do everything without discuss with me. he also financially unable to support the family.

I earn salary 2000 a month and have a daughter 5 years old living with me throughout the 4 years.

My divorce case been dragging for more than 1 year and supposed to reach the final stage.

My husband is trying to convince me sell the 4 years old HDB but because it didn't meet the 5 years minimum occupation period, he is doing everything he can by hiring a lawyer to help him fight the divorce case and delay the divorce process.

Now we left 1 year to reach 5 years minimum occupation period, i am getting worried because if he really sell the flat, me and my daughter will be homeless and need to stay with relatives.

He proposed after sell the HDB, he just take 50% of the profit.

I cannot agree with him on selling because he take the money he won't give his daughter a single cent on education or living.

i am feeling lost now because my legal aid lawyer don't seem to care much about the welfare of my daughter and me.

i need some advice from kind soul who knows about divorce please.....

all i hope for is to have the hdb so me and my kid have a place to stay. if he delay till he sell.. we be homeless
May I know so how's ur status now? I'm undergoing similar case. Anyone know how to surrender the hdb? My ex doesn't bother and he sublet the house without my knowing. He is earning rental!!!!!!