Referrals for good IVF Clinics?

puipui80

Hi, looking for good IVF clinics or fertility specialists..appreciate if can relate your experiences and charges as well. Thanks!!

puipui: my gynae does IVF and success rates is rather high, but charges are of cos on the higher side. she has delivered triplets via IVF. And too delivered Ivy Lee's twins.

hi mayng, do u hav the doctor's details? Actually, i had attempted 1 ivf via kk hospital as well. the charges were very low, only $5.2k. I had triplets as well but at 23 weeks, i had complications and went into premature labour. all 3 didnt survive. so i wish to attempt again but i dun wana go back kk.. too many bad memories, if ur doc is good, i dun mind paying more. hope u can give more details. thks!

pui: i am so sorry to dig ur past.. i m very sorry to hear the lost of 3 little love ones. if u wan, i can pm u her contact, and few of us in this forum share the same gynae.
my Gynae from Raffles Hosp.

opss.. i cant pm u due to ur settings.. but u can pm me.

Hi pui

You can try my gynae Prof Ng Soon Chye, he's specialised in IVF, he used to be from NUH bt he has set up his own clinic at Glen.
My gf has just got a boy n gal bbs thru ivf done by him & her sis also got a gal thru him recently.
You can consider him or do a read up on him through internet

Hi..no apologies needed, sorry but wat does pm mean? anyway just like to share why i had such a bad experience and memories at kkh.

My hubby and I had tried so hard to conceive and we thought we were really blessed to finally have 3 sons at 1 go with just our 1st attempt at ivf in kkh. but last nov, i started to have pink spotting and was found that my cervix had dilated and 1 of the babies membranes were bulging. they claimed that i had incompetent cervix due to the weight of the 3 babies as at 5 mths, i was already the size of a full term singleton. so we had to make the painful decision of delivering 1 of them and try to sew my cervix in order to save the remaining 2. the 1st baby didnt hve any signs of life when i delivered him. everything was well until 1 week later, i started to go into labour due to an infection.

they said i have to deliver the babies no matter what cause the antibiotics werent working and my infection was getting worse. we then had to decide whether to put them in icu. but again the doctors said that they were too premature and would end up having paralysis and brain damage, etc. we had no choice but not to resuscitate them for icu.

Once informed of our decision, they immediately transferred me from the labour ward to a single room in a gyne ward. when my hubby asked why, they said that the labour ward was reserved for other women and i would have more privacy in a single room. But to our shock, once i was in the single room, the nurse rudely told my hubby, 'sir, im very busy with other paitients so i cant stay here with your wife, jus let her push and call me only when u see the baby head come out.' my hubby demanded that a doctor come and see us but the doctor was equally rude and cold. she simply said that she was the only doctor on duty in the ward that night and that there are other paitients to attend to so couldnt attend to me. she even said that my babies are for 'termination' so this was how they did things and if i wanted the doctors to attend to me then i have to put my babies in icu. My hubby was furious and said if thats the case, then have me transferred back to the labour ward. But she simply scolded my hubby and told him to think properly and not always change his mind. But the thing is how are we to know that we were to receive this kind of treatment.

In the end, I told my hubby I was in too much pain and dun think i can take another transfer of wards. So despite our complaints, we were really left in the room alone during the next 1 hour of labour and no doctors or nurses checked in on me. Only when my baby was comin out then the nurse came in to help with my delivery.

My hubby and I were so traumatised by the whole thing. I just strongly feel that whether or not a baby can be saved, his or her life is equally precious and shouldnt be treated as though not worth any effort or consideration. The worse part was when my hubby asked what would happen if my babies were still breathing after i delivered. The nurse simply said, 'oh, we will place them in a plastic container till they pass away'. At that point, i really felt my heart being cut by a knife. The sad thing was 1 of my babies had no signs of life when delivered and another took only 1 breath before he passed away as well.

This is why my hubby and I decided that if we were ever to get pregnant again, we will not deliver at kkh.. The memories of losing my remaining 2 sons like this was just too painful.
But we are confident that we can get through this and ahve another child. The doctor told us that if we had 1 child, this wouldnt have happened. So im hoping to seek another gyne opinion and try ivf at other clinics, thus any info is appreciated!

puipui: my deepest condolences to your lost babies. i understand how much u went through and very much sadden to hear such story. I once went to KKH for stomach pain, and they were real slow and waiting time was like a waiting game. I hated the experience and went to PTE hosp. instead. I was with Dr Thong @ RMH and when i called her at the Hotline telling her abt my bleeding at week 7, she was quick to call me back and asked me to admit A&E and she would be down in hosp. within 20mins after i reach RMH. When i reached the A&E, the nurses were quick to attend to me and laid me down on the bed and give another call to Dr Thong that i was already in hosp. and 15 mins later my gynae arrived, and tt was already 11.45pm. Calling gynae back will actually cost me extra of $200 but my gynae never charge me.

i heard from my gf who was preggy and admit to one A&E and left her sitting there for 2 hours when she was bleeding and eventually she suffered a miscarriage at the hosp.

My experience with RMH was good even from the A&E and the nurses are prompt too. When i delivered my girl, my gynae suppose to come in at 3am to deliver her, and came 15mins when she was recalled at 2am. my gynae actually almost gng to sleep in the hosp. to wait for my delivery, and she constantly came to look at me at 6,8 and 10 pm.

puipui, so sorry to hear of this horrid experience you had. i went to KK once for an infection, and already had a bad experience with rude nurses and stuff, that was bad enuf, let alone your case! anyway, i am seeing Dr LC Cheng from TMC, and i think he is good. he is the head of fertility at TMC, his charges will be higher than KK, but his time and patience to us is worth it. he takes the time to explain things to my hubby and i never having the feeling that we would be chased out of his room. i am now doing IUI with him and last nite i had UTI and had to take medicine and i called him late nite to see if the meds were suitable, and he was more than helpful to me. i did IVF with him in 2004, it was successful but my womb was not strong so i lost it at 8 weeks. my point is that he is very patient and good. i tried many gyneas and i still go back to him. if need anymore info, let me know.
meanwhile, all the best to you! babydust to all!

Hi everyone, thanks for your well wishes.
I have just made an appoitment with Dr LC Foong at Gleneagles this weekend. Heard that he is quite good too so will be checking out his charges. I just went to see Dr Ann Tan at Mount E and her charges are about 10k for IVF. Will probably take a look at your gynes at Raffles and TMC as well before my hubby and I make a decision as we still have time coz we can only do our IVF in April.

Mooch-So sorry to hear abt your m/c. Dun give up coz i believe one day we will be able to carry a baby if we really want it bad enough. I saw a program whereby a lady had 5 m/c before she finally manage to give birth to a healthy baby, that gave me alot of inspiration! So same to u, babydust to all!

hi puipui, its a good choice to do a bit of 'research shopping' on doctors first, as gyneas are not like general doctors, i myself did that. cos i need a gyne that i can be comfortable with as well. i have seen 3 gyneas in GlenE and 2 at TMC. and that was enuf for me to make my choice to settle for LC Cheng, he was very patient.

so good luck on finding the right gynea for you! let me know if you need more info on IVF
i am like you, looking on the brighter side of things... these 2 weeks i am jus taking it easy as i have jus gone thru IUI last friday. did you do one the last time? how was it like? any tips?

babydust to all!

Hi mooch, I didnt do any iui as my hubby had alot of abnormal shaped sperm. His SA showed less than 10% good ones so we had to do icsi instead. Our doc said that must have at least 30% of good sperm to either conceive naturally or to do iui. I wish you all the best and dun stress urself out.

By the way, my sis gyne (Prof Chris Chen from gleneagles) mentioned something about not eating chicken and abstaining from soya, including soya sauce. I also read that u should avoid eating all kinds of beans as well as it makes our eggs hard and therefore more difficult for the sperm to penetrate and fertilize. I followed the same diet program so it doesnt hurt to try.

Hope to hear some good news from u!

hi puipui80, thanks for your tips
i heard about soya, but i didn't go to the extend of chicken and soya sauce
well, i hope all goes thru ok.. so worried, got 1 more week to wait, and yesterday i feeling my normal PMS symptoms of wanting to eat spicy and breasts sore already. hope that is not a bad sign.

thanks for your support!

Hi mooch,

I understand wat u going thru..i was also very stress n nervous while waiting for my pregnancy results the last time as well, 17 days altogether.

Dun worry, i too had sore breasts and even spotting as well, so much so i went into depression cause i tot i was going to have my menses but it turned out positive that time. so just relax and keep ur faith up.. I went to see dr foong today and felt very comfortable with him, im doing my ivf next mth as well so im also keeping my fingers crossed.

Baby dust to u and hope to hear your good news!
Take care

hi puipui80,

thanks for the advice and support. really needed it

good luck to your ivf! its next month right? sometimes i feel like to me, there is no 'right or best' gynea, its who you are comfortable with. your sis went to Prof Chen right? i went to him actually for 1 time, jus to have an opinion from him, and i didn't like his clinic, cos he wasn't very one on one with us, immediately suggested us going for $6000 per person ops and all, and left everything else to his nurses to follow up. but he suits of of the rest of the gals on this forum!

anyways, let me know if you need tips on IVF or anything cos i went thru mine in Aug 04.

good luck and baby dust to you too!

Hi Mooch,

Can you share your experience on the IVF with Dr LC Cheng? I am seeing him and is considering to do a IVF. In fact, have been thinking abt it for quite a while already. But, kinda worried abt the procedures and of course, whether it will be successful....

Have been reading the threads and I think many in this forum see other doctors.

btw, does anyone know whether sperm quality affects the success rate? logically, it think it does. Anyone care to share their experience?

Thank u.

Hi Babieslover
sorry for the late reply, didn't notice you have question for me

Yup my gf and sis succeeded on first try.
You wanna find out anything from my friend?

Teenie
That's great. Can I speak to them and get their experiences? My contact detail is [email protected]. I can call them at a convenient time or leave them my no to call.
Did they have their IVF done at NUH or Glen? Are they very young?

Hi babieslover

I check with my gf if she can email you to tell you more
as she's not a forum user
They did it at Glen, they are more than 30 years old.

I have some fertility issue previously but I didn't go through IVF, I am now pregnant & currently still seeing Prof Ng

Hi babieslover

Yup, nw I got pregnant naturally, at first there's some unstability & I was on injections, now I am 35 wks preggie
Don't feel bad if you can or cannot get preggie naturally, most impt is to be able to have our own babies, like my gf she's so happy & feel so blessed w two kids from IVF

Teenie, we got the same gynae :D
Prof Ng is a VERY GOOD doc. My aunt 3 times prenancy were all under him. 1st(at age 36) and 2nd(at age 40)time was thru IVF. She got a girl during the 1st IVF and triplets during the 2nd :D Her 3rd(at age 43) pregnancy was NATURAL and it was a BOY!

I got no problem with fertility but still go for Prof Ng cos my aunt highly recommanded him
He's very fatherly and caring :D

Eileen
Your aunt is really blessed! 5 kids after 35s. That's remarkable!

Did your aunt strike first time with her two IVFs?I am thinking of going through IVFs but not sure if I have the courage to go through more than one attempt and hence I am a bit careful in selecting the right doctor.

Hi eileen
Your auntie superb, got triplets already still try for another one, I believe she really like kids alot

are you currently preggie, how many wks already?

Hi babieslover

Prof Ng will give you advise, maybe you need not go thru IVF maybe he will recommend IUI (dunno correct word or nt) first
so don't worry too much

You never know wht will happen unless you try right?

Teenie, my aunt's 3rd pregnancy was totally unexpected! Not IVF, was natural :D

No.. I'm not preggie now

I got a 19mth son :D

Teenie / Eileen
I read from the other thread that someone mentioned Prof Ng is retiring soon. Is that true? When? Anyway to find out. I don't want to start a programme and then have to change half way through.

Oh... u can call up and check with them
I'm sure they will be able to give u an answer. As for myself, I did not hear anything fr Prof Ng during my visit last mth :D

Hi babieslover
Don't worry, last sat I checked with Prof Ng is he retiring.

He seems shock, he said not yet

Next week he's flying to Jakarta to give talks again

I did my IVF at NUH. It failed. Shall I change to Dr. Ng for the 2nd attempt? Dr. Wong is nice but he doen't seem to care. Please help

Hi Desperate - would you like to PM me. Have similar experience with you but am now pregnant after 2nd ivf attempt.

hi girls, was reading your posts on the doctors. i would recommend LC Cheng from TMC. he is so understanding and patient. my hubby adores him, cos he takes time to explain to my hubby in 'guy' terms if you know what i mean.

babydust to all!

Hi desperate
Me too support you to go for Prof Ng, as he's specialise in this area
do a research on him over internet you will realise how expertise he's.

Hi Mooch

Can I hv the contact for Dr LC Cheng...how is his consultation style like...proactive or reactive...patient or rush...does he always ask his TTC patients to keep tryin for another 3 or 6 mths before doin any tests...how does he diagnose male infertility...thru SA oni or other means as well...

Thx for yr help...

hi Fizz, LC Cheng clinic at TMC, his contact is 62536174. he is quite proactive. and he also explains things to you, like what he is thinking of doing for you and all, not jus ask you to do this or that. then he waits for you to ask your questions, no matter how silly, and still explains to you. you would never feel like he is going to kick you out of the office asap. he normally advises his patients based on thier history and stuff, and what you have tried or haven't tried. for male inferitily, not so detailed, only thru SA. and he dun do much for the guy as well, jus for the wife mostly. for me, i did SO-IUI with him last cycle, then it failed, he said to take at least a month off before trying again. but with my failed IVF 2 years back, he told me to try to see the sinseh as well, and 6 months later can try again. but i didn't try again yet.

need more help or info, jus let me know

Hi Mooch...

Thx so much for the detailed explanation...Dr Cheng sounds gd...

I wish u all the best in yr TTC efforts...n tat u wil b a happie mummy soon...

hi Fizz

no worries, always glad to help! afterall, we are after the same thing right? good luck and keep us posted!

glad to see tis thread so active..jus to update, now doing my ivf wif dr foong..ai, he happens to be prof ng partner at same clinic..overall, i find the clinic and staff very friendly and waiting time best, always no need to wait so long..mooch, u still seeing dr cheng? how have u been? any update? hope u have good news soon..take care of urself okie?

have been feeling rather low coz not very confident with my tis ivf..i guess im very scared i will be disappointed if i dun strike tis time. but i can only try my best n tell myself not to have any expectation.

by the way, i gave my feedback abt how i was treated at kkh..they actually took my complaint seriously and called to investigate n probe further, after that sent me a hamper..it wasnt much but was quite glad tat they took action and i guess it was a thoughtful gesture..anyway as long they took action to rectify and prevent is always a good step, leaves me a much better impression.

take care gals, will always have u all in my prayers and baby dust to all

hi puipui80, thanks so much for your concern!

yes, i am still seeing Dr Cheng, have been on 2 natural cycles including this one, so if no success, then will do SO-IUI again on my next cycle. was thinking of changing gynea also, tho i like my current one..

been busy at work and trying not to think much of this baby making, other wise, its depressing me too much too..

thats good about the feedbacking! they realy should look into the matter seriously too..

take care!

Can share what are the charges like to do IVF. My gynae is Dr Fong. He told me will cost abt 10-12K... Can i have the contact for prof Ng. Sorry for asking so many questions cos doc said that mu hubby and i not possible to conceive naturally or even IUI. The only way is IVF.
Thank.

hi rachel,

my ivf at kkh was ard 5k plus so didnt have to fork out any cash in the end since u can redeem up to 6k for 1st attempt..but i was ard 25 yrs old when i did it, so my medications were very little..u may need to take tat into consideration.

hi mooch,

its great tat u r keeping urself bz..sigh, me currently on my 2ww now after transferring 3 embryos..will knw result on 7th april, so 5 more days to go..not very optimistic though coz my lining was rather thin at time of transfer..been rather stress lately as well so maybe will affect implantation..anyway will know soon!

HI puipui80, sorry have not written sooner. alot of things going on work and personal life. so wat was your result? all good? hope to hear good news from you!

i jus started another cycle of IUI treatment, and i am on my Day10 now, yesterday had a scan and doc said my eggs growth not as big as he hoped it would be on a day9. he wanted at least 12mm but mine was 8mm. so he boosted my dosage of GonalF and i have to see him again tomorrow to be sure the boost in dose worked.

babydust to you and all! keep me informed ok?

hi mooch,

sorry for not updating..any good news from u? i had a singleton after the transfer but baby was abnormal..didnt grow normally and heartbeat very weak..i saw 3 opinions from diff gynes and all concluded tat the baby had a defect so i stopped my hormone meds and let it pass away..i check again in a few days and baby had no heartbeat so i asked for a d&c..baby was 7 weeks liao.

i still have 5 more embryos but im not sure if i should switch docs leh..my tis gyne said tat my lining was quite thin at time of transfer..so im wondering if i should seek 2nd opinion..funny thing is tat im still ovulating and mensurating as normal 2 weeks after d&c..is ur gyne, dr cheng still highly recommended?

do take care and hope u have some good news

Hi puipui,

sorry for not updating sooner. things have been rather crazy ard me. anyways, my 2nd SO-IUI failed also
was really upset about it. sorry to hear about your case too. must be tough since you actually did get pregnant and lost it.

i hope things get better for you soon! keep me posted ok?

for myself, since the last failed one, doc cheng said best option now was IVF (again) so started me on birth control pills to regulate my mense. so i started on it day 3 of my mense, then during this period my DH and i talked alot, and decided to get a second opinion, and after reading a lot on this forum site, saw that alot of gals here also go to Dr FOng Yang, so we thot to get him for second opinion. which we did jus last week.

we like him too
so patient, humble and nice
he's like doc cheng, willing to listen to you, answer your questions without chasing you out..
one thing good about Fong Yang is that he specialise in both male and female. so he adviced us a bit here and there, and got my DH on pills, and me on jabs for my endo then told us to try IVF in about 2 months..

so thats me now..
going for my first endometriosis jab tmr.. wish me luck..

keep me posted k?