Pregnant maid (Foreign Domestic Worker)

wintersg

Maids made up all sorts of excuses when they are obviously in the wrong. They have a lot of unreasonble demands and expect Employers to please them, especially the Filipinos. They are scary, hard to manage and quite vain. Just because their English is better, they felt very superior and feel they should receive more. Maybe MOM should stop Filipinos who has received more than 8 years education to be FDW. We need a pair of good helping hand - not a troublemaker, somebody to sabotage the employers or finding ways to bring miseries to us.

We do not need FDWs who can afford to attend school, which means their families are not that poor, thus, do not really need to work hard in a foreign country and earn a decent salary. I hope to find a FDW who is the sole source of income. Others may want to buy land, build a home, etc..... that's fine, as long as their motive to come to Spore is NOT to enjoy life or get a free holiday with live-in FDW's benefits. We do not need FDWs who focused on self and are reluctant to lighten employers' load. I am sure most are aware what kind of salary Spore is offering yet they come in and claimed underpaid. Don't pollute our country. Stop whining.

If FDW is not a job chosen by you, I can't believe it. You're a human, not slave, you can choose a job, you decide whether the salary is acceptable so all the while, working as FDW ie maid is YOUR choice! You know you can't get such good terms and salary in your own country.

For maid, to be separated from parents, children and/or husbands, to work in a strange place and be at the beck and call of strangers, could be quite a frightening experience. Worse, they often have to pay large sums to maid agencies to secure employment. Most of the time, the contract in source countries and Spore is different. When maids found out, they point their fingers to the employers. Are we suppose to give in to FDWs, feel sorry for them so do all we could to please them? Employers didn't set the policies or created the contract, they felt cheated, what can we do? We, employers also paid a lot to your agencies. Not our fault, if you have used your eyes to see and brains to think! By having a minimum age, 23 to work as FDW, such a simple logic, a matured person like you, don't know? Are you still a child?

Princess-maids claimed they are slaves but worked shorter hours than their employers. If you ask a Filipino maid to handwash her own clothes, she felt she should be given a washing machine. If you ask a Filipino to mop floor using a piece of cloth, she felt employer didn't treat her like a human being.

Maid claimed to be pregnant is part of human right. When maid chooses a job as FDW, you accept the terms and conditions. When an air stewardess is pregnant, she cannot fly but she works in a big organisation, thus, the company is able to give her an admin job. As a FDW, you don't belong to a big organisation, you only have one employer as per your work permit. No employer need a pregnant woman who cannot do this, cannot do that... get her to deliver full FDW services might endanger her health and unborn, who dare to employ you? Are you willing to be your Maid's maid? Do you gladly do your FDW's chores after you've slogged 8 to 10 hours in your full time job? This means FDW gets more rest than you, enjoy weekly off day, whereas you, have no rest and became a robot!

Read:
pregnant maid
When a prostitute is pregnant, she cannot have any customer. She chose the job so she has to accept the requirements to be a prostitute. No man would want to pay a pregnant prostitute and be accused of hurting the unborn. Some maids used their FDW status to be prostitutes. They sleep around, get into trouble and expect others to be kind to them. They did something not permitted by law yet expected leniency, using human rights as an excuse.

Not only that, FDW expects to be treated like human, enjoy motherhood by holding FDW work permit and be given benefits like a pregnant woman. FDW totally ignored the requirements of her job. She cheated but felt it is her rights. She does not care she has hurt somebody due to her actions. She refused to bear full responsibilities for being irresponsible, selfish and insensible.

Read: Facebook maid
Extracted from Facebook, posted by a ex-sin FDW, the owner of a Facebook page:
"prevent people from doing a God given human right - to have children. How can this law exist and people accept it as correct law? You may blame my sister maid, but the real devil cause all this, is we allow this type of law to exist. Who care about why the law exist? Is it exist for some people's convenience? well, how convenient also, it is illegal law if it goes against human right, to have child. we don't even need government to pay for child, but they say `no children'?"

Read: Demanding maid
What maids did?

Read: Mobile phone, 24/7 usage
Extracted from Facebook:
"DON'T MAKE YOUR MAID FEEL BAD ABOUT USING THE PHONE. It is really a human right to use the phone to be connected with the rest of the world. If you make your maid feel like a criminal when she uses the phone, she will ACT like a criminal by using the phone when you're not looking, like when walking the dog which really requires the exercise."

"what a shame u just let ur maid use only on weekend try not to be boastfull by saying u treat her good coz its goddamn bullshit what if u dont communicate with ur family for one whole day what do u feel ? It seems that ur not human madam ! and ur contract is a very big shit if i may add so where in a year that is not a stoneage so better wake up or ur helper will say bye bye to u and its ur job to provide her food and basic need and to treat her as a human too its a common knowledge and it is written in the contract too."

"think what u own her life without ur helper to clean ur shit u can survive? She is a human too and by taking away her personnal things and her only ways of communicating with her loveones is good ? thats stealing one half of her happiness no wonder she hide it from u and pls lor dont consider urself as a very good employer coz by doing this to her ur labeled as a stupid and bullshit one try to think before u hit the button!"

I'm in a fix now on what to do with my maid... her 2 year contract will only end next year march but we intend to terminate her services in January as we find that she treats our house like a hotel and we have been giving her a lot of chances.

2 weeks ago she requested to go home as she said her father is critically ill and wants her to go home to visit. Being the nice employers that we are, we agreed although she hasn't finish her contract and so not entitled to any home leave. But because her passport has less than 6 months expiry when she comes back, we have to renew her passport. So we went to all the trouble to apply home leave and renew passport for her. She agreed to pay herself, but require us to give her an advance on her pay to pay for the air ticket and processing of documents. But before she left for home, I brought her for a medical check up as her 6-monthly med exam is due.
Just 1 day after we sent her off, I received a letter from the clinic saying there's an abnormality in her result and they have been trying to contact me but couldn't. The report stated that she is pregnant and the number that she gave them was incorrect as well. I was so angry!
Now I don't know if I should just submit the report and have her wp cancelled and blacklist her so she cannot reenter singapore but forfeit my $$ OR let her come back as previous arrangement and try to get back my $$ before cancelling her wp and getting a 1-way ticket to send her home?
I am just so upset with myself for being too nice to the filipino maid.. feels like she keeps taking us for granted and lying about so many things.

Any advice?

I'm in a fix now on what to do with my maid... her 2 year contract will only end next year march but we intend to terminate her services in January as we find that she treats our house like a hotel and we have been giving her a lot of chances.

2 weeks ago she requested to go home as she said her father is critically ill and wants her to go home to visit. Being the nice employers that we are, we agreed although she hasn't finish her contract and so not entitled to any home leave. But because her passport has less than 6 months expiry when she comes back, we have to renew her passport. So we went to all the trouble to apply home leave and renew passport for her. She agreed to pay herself, but require us to give her an advance on her pay to pay for the air ticket and processing of documents. But before she left for home, I brought her for a medical check up as her 6-monthly med exam is due.
Just 1 day after we sent her off, I received a letter from the clinic saying there's an abnormality in her result and they have been trying to contact me but couldn't. The report stated that she is pregnant and the number that she gave them was incorrect as well. I was so angry!
Now I don't know if I should just submit the report and have her wp cancelled and blacklist her so she cannot reenter singapore but forfeit my $$ OR let her come back as previous arrangement and try to get back my $$ before cancelling her wp and getting a 1-way ticket to send her home?
I am just so upset with myself for being too nice to the filipino maid.. feels like she keeps taking us for granted and lying about so many things.

Any advice?
对不起哦...老师要插嘴了。

遇到这样的事,是雇主的不幸。You are a good employer!我明白她在占便宜。

讲因果的话,你前世欠她的,今世才会跟你讨。只要你好好善待处理,你和她的因果将会了结。不然的话,恶性会循环。大大方方的接受,不要有憎恨和不公平的心。

Suggestion:
第一. 她怀孕了,就好好照顾她。她虽是你的工人,不要欺负她。与她种善因,对你有好报的。
第二. 千万别劝/帮助她去堕胎。后果,要负责的。这罪100%会算在你头上的。
第三. 合约满了,送走好了。
第四. 依照法律的途径,来解决问题。
第五. 别致她于死地,她要养家糊口的。反正你已经是好人了,就继续好人做打到底。做你不违背良心的事。

你在抱怨也没有用,今世的果已经熟了,就坦然地面对。冥冥中有注定她要到你家,同时注定一个好雇主要遭这个考。:)

不要种恶因,熬过了就没事了。老师最怕就是因果了,现在没事并不到表以后没事。果报一来,就晚了。

That's the problem for having a pro-maid MOM.
If you don't mind finding a new FDW, terminate her and bear the losses.... don't forget to email MOM and Halimah what they have done to you by making you the ATM machine. Keeping a maid who was once pregnant but cheated you, may encourage her to do again.

My FDW is taking advance home leave. I told her to foot the costs and no cash advance nor loan. I don't want to be 冤大头, Play safe than be sorry. MOM will not help get my money back because maids are defined as poor thing. The title of employer carried too much weight!

Wonder how these maids get pass their half yearly urine test and then gave birth.
Did employer accompany her?
To play safe, I'll bring her to a nearby clinic but she may just use tap water .... nobody knows. I'm not keen to hold her urine bottle and ensure they are warm and 'fresh from oven'. Yucks!

Newborn baby girl found abandoned near Sixth Ave housing estate, AsiaOne/OMY 23 Nov
The police arrested a 30-year-old Indonesian maid in connection with an abandoned newborn baby that she had apparently found outside her employer's home.

The home owner said that the baby girl, who still had her umbilical cord attached, was left outside a terraced house near Sixth Avenue last Friday (Nov 22) night. The Sunday Times reported that the middle-aged woman said that her maid had found the baby when she was taking out the garbage.
The maid then took the baby into the house and notified the employer's husband, who called the police. "I don't know why the baby was abandoned there," the woman said. The maid has been working there for two years. The baby has been taken to KK Women's and Children's Hospital for observation, and reportedly had no injuries.

According to OMY, this Indonesian maid frequents Facebook and is a well-known figure to flirt around. She always dress-up for her off days and has a lot of boyfriends. She was seen hugging and kissing a Bangla for about one hour.

maid%20gave%20birth.jpg

Another case of sacrificing life so that the mother (FDW) can continue enjoy sex and employment in Spore. Can't find these maids' name in English. I suppose they are welcomed to work in Spore because I doubt MOM will blacklist them.

Baby found buried in Serangoon Gardens home, AsiaOne, 9 Nov
Police made a grisly find yesterday at a home in Serangoon Gardens, at Brighton Road.
According to the Shin Min Daily News, police dug up the body of a newborn baby in the garden of the two-storey private residence. The home owner's Indonesian maid is believed to be the baby's mother. She has since been arrested. According to a police spokesperson, the baby was pronounced dead. An Indonesian maid in her 30s was arrested at the scene.

Neighbours whom the evening daily spoke to described the woman as being on the plump side, and "quiet". She had been working for the Chinese employers for less than six months, they revealed.

See what netizens and I mean, give maids official off day to flirt and give rise to pregnancy cases. Then discard their problem or kill it before their employers or husbands find out. Now is November, 11 months after mandatory off day was implemented .... good job Ministry of Manpower and Halimah. You have created more evil and heartless creatives who sought fun and did not want to bear responsibility.

Don't you feel sinful? 造孽 无罪?
Read Winter's site - unfair Ministry of Manpower policies

that is why i hate to let my maid go for off days. but no choice for human rights must let her go. after every off day, come back to me for more questions. sibeh sianzzzz....
and all these pinoys are good at pulling a looooooong black face when they don get what they want..

if my hubby earns big bucks $$$$, i will just stay home and 相夫教子loh... no need for my maid to yell at my kids when she only looks after them for less that 4hrs a day....
and i hate having a stranger in the house! arghhhhh

it's all about luck la. selecting based on profile oso no use. i can never never expect a Pinoy maid whom DONT speak and understand English when the profile said she can! i almost burst my blood vessels talking to her initially. Even until now being more than 1 year with me, she still cannot differentiate "I" and "You"! I give up liao. as long as she does a good job on housechores can already. having no expectation is the best! i ever had an Indo maid whom add urine in hot flask and the hot water are meant to make milk for the kids! see how evil this person is. just because i scolded her over repeated mistakes. and she also kept her cut fingernails for god know what reasons! glad we found out early and terminated her. Else very soon she may murder my kids!

then previous pinoy maids were great in telling lies. Old contract didnt have off days so she bullshit me that her auntie going home, cousin bday etc just to go out. Somemore ask me why i didnt ask for her permission to get pregnant for my 2nd kid! Ridiculous! Never heard that employer must ask maid for permission to get pregnant. if not happy looking after 2nd kid, she may jolly well quit!

i everyday popi popi my kids grow up quick so i can stop employing maids. taking them overseas on my own expenses also wont gain me any kind acts from them. Eating together on same table same dishes oso wont let them feel we are family. heartless creatures. of course i'm not saying all are bad. just that i'm not that lucky. thought i finally found good one but she had to leave cos her family wanted her back home. so she completed 2 years and left. i gave her a month bonus and she was crying when leaving us. i was so upset. she was the best one i had. i really missed her... :(

I'm appalled by many of the comments here, and appalled by the way Singaporeans as well as the Singaporean government treats foreign domestic workers. Maids are underpaid and overworked; some of them are verbally and physically abused by their employers. They should be able to get pregnant in Singapore. They should have days off. That may make life less convenient for you, but surely you didn't need your employers' blessings before getting pregnant, going to a party, enjoying your weekend, or meeting up with friends? Would you like to sleep in a windowless "bomb shelter?" If you wouldn't like being treated that way yourself, it's a good indication that something is wrong.

Many western expats see domestic workers in Singapore as a form of modern day slavery. I am one of them. Bravo to those women who speak up, and I hope they find better employment than you are able to give them.

@zxcvbnm : this is because singaporeans still have the slave mentality and think that a couple of hundred dollars could control one's life and denies their worker of basic respect. They then pass the same attitude to their offspring whom we see verbally abusing their maids. The cycles goes on and on and this is pretty common in the entire Asia region. Fair skin assume that they are more educated than their dark skin and shorter servants.

Of coz not all singaporeans are like these women who complain about their maids, they just happen to be louder which in turns bring them bad luck in their hiring. There are many i know who treats their maids with respect, day off on sundays and public holidays and in return their maids are loyal and work for a long time (like the aunty who took care of me when i was a toddler until i was 13yo), my cousins' maids who look after them for almost 20+ years and even families who have maids who are mother and daughter.

"They should be able to get pregnant in Singapore"....hello, have you been living under a rock? Since when can FDWs get pregnant while working here? They are here to do a job, not here to have a family or start a family with any random guy. After their 2 year contract, its either they continue working here or they go home. Whenever they stop working here, they are supposed to return home. This place is not their home. If they want to get pregnant, they can go home and get pregnant.

Hi Pisces78, I'm not Singaporean, and there are many aspects of Singaporean mentality that I find offensive, weird, or backwards. I'm sure if you were in my country you'd feel the same. But how would you feel if you were a pregnant maid in Singapore? Hey, it happens. Humans love people, and then get pregnant. That isn't shameful

Being pregnant is nothing shameful but being pregnant when you have a husband back home or when you are unwed says a lot about your morals...moreover they are here solely for the purpose of working and earning money to provide for their family back home. Imagine you are the guy and you are back home waiting faithfully for your wife and she comes back pregnant with someone else's child. How do you feel? Or worse, she becomes pregnant and the only way out is to abort the baby? Honestly speaking, do you think her BF here is really serious about being responsible to her? I guess maybe because you are not Singaporean so you have not seen or heard of countless cases where after the FDW gets pregnant, their BF just dumps them and find a new GF.

Why are Singaporeans so strict with their maids? That's because many have encountered rogue maids that caused them a lot of headaches. I, myself too, have encountered quite a few. So its probably the case of once bitten, twice shy. We are just afraid of history repeating itself after being exposed to a few bad maids. We are not savages or slave masters. We are also humans. Why would anyone want to ill treat a fellow human being? We try to be as nice as possible but some of them just take our leniency for granted and take advantage of us.

Maybe u r lucky, u have not met some of these bad maids.

I have no doubt that people have all kinds of experiences with their maids, good and bad, and I'm sure there are some maids with less than honorable intentions out there. It's a big jump to say that pregnant maids are categorically immoral or lazy. If I were a young woman in a foreign country spending most of my time with one family looking after kids, I'd probably feel lonely and seek out someone who understood me. What the women do with whatever they earn here is really their choice, isn't it? I don't have much judgement on unwed mothers, but being unmarried with children does create hardship. The question of what to do with pregnant maids in Singapore seems to be more of a immigration question than anything else. If you're curious about what people in nyc think when their nannies get pregnant, visit urbanbaby.com and search for "pregnant nanny." You'll find all kinds of views.

Yes the issue re pregnant maids is an immigration issue. And while it's harsh what I can say is that it's the "rules of the game". If one isn't prepared to abide by the rules, then don't "play the game".

just treat them fairly and they will treat u back fairly as well..to be fair to the maids not all are bad i meet those who are treated really bad in my place alone 80% of them is treated badly, no food to eat, no proper place to sleep. and worst get molested by her male boss:(( what a cruel..when me and my maid went to eat in jollibee in lucky plaza just about 4 mos. ago we meet a woman crying looking for help no one stop to talk to her, it happens my maid passing by and asked her what i wrong with her? she replied i am looking for HOME office but i dont know where.my maid told her go to the embassy, she said i went to to embassy already but they refer me to HOME..and my maid asked her what is the problem. and she cried more.. and said..my sir molested me i cannot bear it anymore so i ran away. and my maid told her to wait, i will talk to my mam she maybe can help you...so after out lunch we went and help her look for HOME office. and she keep crying and saying thank you for the help...HOME is king enough to help those in need...she is new in Singapore just 2 weeks..and she experience horror. :((( i have a maid myself we treat her fairly just like a family because she is looking after my son we believe it we treat her good she will return the favor..sometimes she will give long face is ok..she maybe misses her son...and yes there are really bad maids around..

to be honest most of the feedback i heard from the maids and my maid also told me most difficult employers are Singaporeans:(( no offense just a feed back. when i bring down my son to the playground i talk to the maids also. and they are very open to their problem..its so pitiful sometimes i gave them food..i even gave one maid a sleep mat because she is sleeping in the card board box:( and no food...when ever she has time i told her if u want to eat rice drop by to my house if we have rice you can eat at least w/egg.. when ever she come her tears running while eating i can feel her pain...she decided to go home and never return.