Possibility of getting a new job in first trimester ?

riushiki

Do you all have this experience that your new employers are willing to employ you when they know you are in your first trimester ?

no likely.. cos they know after some time they are need to engage part-time to cover your duties when you go on leave...

if you cant find ... let me know.. cos i also think of changing jobs... heehee

u turn back the clock 8yrs back = yes plenty + ML still 8wks so employer still willing to consider u.

I was 8 wks preg n STILL got a job in an mnc. Nowadays u preg, ppl cant wait to make u leave yrself so save ML benefits!!

ya.. you are rite honey... now the bosses are so cruel... they just think of their own benefits and advantages... who cares whether preggy can survive without job or not ya... think government should emphaise that they should continue to engange even tho they may be pregnant rite.. pregnant or not still must eat what

hmm that must depends on how long is the contract lo.. if is short one maybe no problem.. if is long one they might still wanna consider someone really available in the office throughout till end of contract.. instead of on and off taking time-off to see gynae etc..

Ha ha .. I maybe offer 2 jobs next week and I have yet to reveal coz I only found out after the interview I am preggy :x

Anyway will update you mummies whether any 'kind' employers are willing to employ me after knowing the fact ! ha ha :p

ohoh.. so if you dun accept the offer then you are jobless?? you resigned from with current employer buay??

depends on your skills set and if the company is visionary enough to see your value.
I was offered a job and then I realised I was pregnant and they still want me to go over. now I am 5 months pregnant and I am changing job again next week.

wow.. your new boss knew you are preggie 5 mths and you will need to go on maternity leave soon... also invite you over?? is it angmo kind of company?

kind of sad that s'pore is trying to boost up their birth rate and employers are discriminating against pregnant women.

juz wan to save $$ on ML blah blah blah.

not likely bah, i guess.. i found that there r still some kind souls in sg lo.. mayb can try luck in those big companies.. some still willing to accept preggies in 1st or 2nd trimester if u r capable in what u actually need..coz i guess they r still able to cover u when u r in unpaid leave (coz mom rule is to work for the firm for at least 180days n is entitled for paid leave)

i myself manage to find one when i was abt 12weeks preggy. in my cv, i highlighted in RED that im in 12weeks old preggy. the GM was such a kind soul, n offered me the job 2 days after the 1st interview.

so i guess, sg may hav some kind souls bah..

Seems like some of u are really lucky in getting a job during pregnancy. I hav been jobless for 2 mths n still searching, nw am already 4 mths preggy n no 1 is willing to hire me, haa. Felt being discriminate and even experience employment agency hang up the phone on u once they heard u r preggy even thou u are well experience for the job.

An email I sent to a recruit agency because I felt discriminated against.

Sent: Monday, November 10, 2008 4:00 PM
To: [email protected]
Subject: Complaint against recruit consultant: Tania

Dear HR Manager,

A few hours ago, I contacted your agent Tania at 673xxxxx to discuss about a certain job position I saw at jobsdb.com. I'm not sure which branch or division she is from though judging from the number, I'm guessing it's probably the orchard branch.

Initially she was talking to me pretty fine and asked about my preferences for a job and whether I'd prefer a contract or perm position. I told her anything is fine and informed her that I was abt 3 mths pregnant as I knew it is very tough for a pregnant girl to get a job. She said it's abit tricky and her clients are rather picky and sensitive abt hiring pregnant women. I said that i understood the situation which was why I do not mind a temp or contract position or even perm position if the employer is comfortable with my circumstance. She replied a short "ok." and kept quiet. So i continued "So do u have anything else available?" she replied VERY CURTLY and singlish-ly "no leh." Being aware of the "mood change" in our conversation, I kept quiet and so did she. Thus, I gave her a very unhappy "ok bye" and hung up the phone.

Then I called another agent from the banking division, and did the same thing, except, this agent told me abt the complications of job searching while pregnant and told me very nicely and honestly that while she has many positions on hand, none are open to pregnant women and said to me "it's gonna be tough for u to find a job, since ur pregnant, u can take the opportunity to stay home and rest. I'll contact u if I have any positions available and suitable for u." Even though at the end of the conversation she did not ask for my number to be able to contact me again, I was satisfied and convinced that the first agent's attitude demands me to email a complain against her.

I have to say, I completely understand how difficult it is to get a job at this point of time for me. I know that some agents adopt a typical sales person mindset, ie: if this person can't bring me sales, why bother to talk somemore. But I certainly feel that I do not need to be spoken to with that kind of attitude. She made me feel as if I should be outcasted by the work society because of my situation.

I'm very upset with her and hope that you will take appropriate action with her. Maybe you can teach her some basic manners or basic empathy since she, being a woman, will one day get pregnant too. Whether or not she is working, she will finally understand that anyone, though armed with a degree and good work experience will meet setbacks when looking for a new job as long as you are pregnant.

Do feel free to contact me at 9xxxxxxx if you need further clarification with the above issue.

Jamie Sim

RE: Complaint against recruit consultant: Tania
Tuesday, November 11, 2008 12:25 PM
From: "Mabel Wong" <[email protected]>Add sender to Contacts To: jamie_nov

Dear Jamie,

Thank you for your kind feedback on this matter. We have looked into it and understood that her tone and choice of words were a little too harsh. I do empathize with you and about your concern.

I agree that it was our negligence and lack of professionalism and proper training thus resulting in such an unhappy situation.

Your feedback has been most valuable as we have highlighted to her on the importance of all candidates/ applicants and she is aware of her tactless behavior.

As she is currently a new staff under training, we hope that you'll pardon her mistake as it was unintentional.

I hope you'll accept our apology as this situation was uncalled for, and we do think that each and everyone of our applicants are equally important, regardless of whether they are pregnant/ or not.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you need any further assistance.

Warmest regards,
Mabel Wong
SRN/ Team Leader,

blanked out the emails and the co name to protect them. dunno y i wld even bother! then again, in case there are any legal implications la..

Hoping to revive this thread.

Found myself in this kind of unhappy situation. Resigned from my current job already, received 2 offers from 2 other companies which are very promising. But just found out that i m pregnant with my 2nd kid.

Told the 2 prospective employers about my pregnancy, and both said they will get back to me next week.

So upset! its a bad time to have a baby. Wanna die! Finally got such good opportunities and this had to happen.

Then again at the end of the day i firmly believe that my baby is more important than any job. But still VERY UPSET that i may lose these 2 very good opportunities....

haiz... me too just discovered that im 1mth pregnant. also in the mid of changing job. worry will back to the same situation as i've experienced last yr. Thinking of havin abortion for the sake of job.

lets face reality, without $ cant survive nt mentioning gg for mthly check up

A piece of good news.

One of the companies that offered me a place b4 i knew i was pregnant has agreed to keep their offer, provided that i work with them for at least 2 years after i come back from maternity leave.

They dont mind paying for the maternity leave.

snowie28, i urge u to rethink. I, too was unprepared for this baby. And i already have an older one who is turning 1 yr old next month. But I was very sure that i had to keep my baby. No job is more impt than my baby. if yr hubby is able to cope, why not consider keeping the baby and adjust yr lifestyle for the 1 year or so it takes to birth the baby?

Or perhaps u may get lucky. There are kind employers out there! Wish you luck in yr job search. And all the best to u and yr baby!

hi guan, lucky you, this is something i could only say. but the chances of meeting such kind employers are low. really low.

to be frank i've make an appt for abortion which is 3 weeks later from now. Meaning i stil have 3 weeks time to consider. will try to see if i manage to find job within 3 weeks provided they accept the fact that im pregnant. if employers do not mind and offer me a kinda offer which i have to be with them for certain period, i dun mind.

another piece of good news. my fren offered me a job whereby i declare to him im pregnant. I also advise him to reflect to his manager, who i wil be under, in regards to this issue whether he is acceptable. Luckily he dun mind. He even mentioned he dun bother whether i reach office early, on dot or even late, as long as i produced results. and guess what? im starting work next tues!

Guess this is the luck brought to me by my unborn child. Think she/he is destined to be born.

congrats!!!! Feel so happy for you. That is great!!!

I on the other hand got a different kind of prob.
The other co who previously offered me a place also called today! just when i was about to sign with the other company who offered first.

Actually i m more keen on this second co (higher pay by $500! and no bond. only 3 month probabtion) But I afraid they might back out so i went ahead to meet the boss of the first co 2day. Got the employment letter, but haven sign. Say i need to read.

Then the second co now send me confirmation email on their offer.

I also dunno what to do now. They r all so nice still offer me a place ....

I feel so bad now.

wow! thats incredible! lady luck is sure smiling at u.

if i were u i wil accept the 2nd job offer rather then the 1st due to the t&amp;c offered and most importantly is the PAY!!!

so wat r u waitin for? lets face reality! haa even thou its seems abit bad for rejecting their gd offer but u r only 1 person which can only accept 1 offer. make ur choice!

Snowie, thanks for yr advice.

Though I am still in two minds. The lst co's lady boss was so nice and encouraging. On the other hand the second co is quite male dominated.

Was thinking maybe the 1st co might be better (as in more pro-family) cos the lady boss has 2 young kids herself.

I am so frustrated ....

make ur choice lor. if u think 1st co is better and higher chance to keep ur job for long den go for it. As u mentioned 2nd co is quite male dominated, my worries is they may think dat after u started work and not up to their standard due to pregnancy, they may tel u dat u r nt suitable.

but dun take my words serious, juz a negative thought of mine. my point who doesnt want a stable job?

tis thread has been stopped for sometime..
but i am now in the situation whereby i'm just got retrenched last week and i'm in my 12th week only tis wk...and i need to find a new job...
do u all tell the new company that u r preggy when u go for the interview?

haizz..talking abt looking for job during pregnancy. I give up already liao.
After talking to so many employers..all back out after they find out I am pregnant.
So now..just waiting to due and decided not to work till my baby is 4-6 mths old. This society is really cruel to pregnant women.

Ever took some freelance job before..when the client know i am pregnant..they really treat me so differently and tell my employer how bad I am, etc. And this is only freelance job. and all this time during my 13 years of working full time..I am always best performer..never though could be discrimated so much by just being pregnant.

I went for a job interview when I was 7 weeks pregnant and decided to tell them only if they asked me about it/starting family but they didn't. I did get paid maternity leave as I just qualified - have to work for 6 months before you qualify for paid maternity leave. Job was with the govt so they didn't try to lay me off.

3 days after i served my final day with my previous company, i tested positive. Now i dunno if i shd be truthful and tell the employer/recruiter that i'm 2-3 yrs pregnant if they call?

I faced this same situation when I was pregnant with my 1st child 4yrs whereby i got pregnant after quitting my job. During tat period of 9mths, i was truthful and told the employers/recruiters that i'm pregnant and i never managed to find a job. I just kept trying and sending resume daily till i found a 2mths temp job when i'm 6mths preggie. Now history is repeating itself. But it's a different situation now as, now, i have to pay the maid's salary, my son's education and insurance and part household expenses. When i'm pregnant with my 1st child, I only have to suppport myself.

I'm so happy when i know that i'm pregnant coz i've been trying to conceive for more than a year. But the desperate intention of wanting to get a job now is just so strong that i intend to take up any offer even with a paycut and work till i'm confirmed before telling employer that i'm pregnant.

I just got offered for a job in a govt agency. I'm supposed to sign the offer letter on friday. But I just realised that I'm pregnant! Do I have to tell my prospective company that I'm pregnant? I'm supposed to go for a medical check-up next week. What should I do? I have yet to quit my current job.. just in case.

Hi Jane, you are required to inform your prospective employer that you are expecting they will then go ahead to decide if want to go ahead with the offer. If you keep it from them they have a right to withold your maternity benefits as you were not upfront with them when you sign the contract.

I was in this situation recently, started discussion with a potential new employer and was very open about them about my intention to start a family.

I found out about my pregnancy 1 day after I signed the employment papers and decided to be upfront with them about the situation. If they were not comfortable with a pregnant woman starting a job with them, then let it end now while I'm still gainfully employed at my old company.

Thankfully my new company is very family-oriented and they reassured me time and again that they are more than happy to have me and will make adjustments according to my needs during my pregnancy.

Unfortunately, I lost my bb at 9 wks, just as I was serving my notice period. But once again, my new employers stepped up to the plate and allowed me to delay my start date so that I could have more recovery time.

I'm now 1 month into my new job and hoping that a new life will come into our family soon. I know I won't have to worry about discrimination here and I feel really lucky