15mth with Serious Eczema

itlc

My DD is suffering from very serious Eczema and it's heartpain to keep seeing her scratcing herself all over. Her whole body including both her hands and legs are red & patchy. Any mummies out there facing the same problem? How do you cope? Any good skin doctor to recommend?

I gave my boy antihistamine drops to relieve the itching, and as a preventive measure, used Cetaphil cleanser followed by moisturiser (pink/white tube). Some mummies use Sebamed. You may want to consider bringing your daughter to national skin centre. I consulted Dr Thiru, SGH dermatology. I understand he has a private clinic in the Orchard area.

I used a type of emulsion for her bath recommended by polyclinic and apply QV cream on her everyday but it doesn't seems to help and getting worst. I got an appt in KKH dermatology but it's in Dec, no earlier date. I cannot wait so long so looking for other alternative.

cactus_79, is Dr Thiru good? How serious is your buy eczema?

ITLC, it was quite bad. It happened twice. once when he was about 7 months, another time when he was about 9-10 months. each time, it took about 2 to 3 weeks to go away completely. never came back ever since. I'm now using normal cleanser and moisturizer for him.

I feel that Dr Thiru is good. actually I didn't bring my boy to see him. my husband knows him, so just asked him what to do with our boy's eczema. He suggested cetaphil. Oh, he also recommended Desowen (steriod cream). It was our PD who prescribed the antihistamines and another steriod cream but we stopped that cream when Dr Thiru suggested Desowen.

i didn't wan to use steriod cream coz it will thin the skin (that was what ppl says if keep using). My gal has eczema since she was 4mth but not that serious. It's only in the joints of her limbs but as she grows older, it spread to her whole body.

I'm not wondering if she is allergy to cow's milk? Thinking whether should i change her to Soy milk?

Seeing my DD like this, I'm at a loss dunno how to help her.

ITLC, actually, it's better to use steriod cream. I only had to use it for a few days,and it really cleared up! the thining the skin is only if you take it for a very long time. why don't you speak to a dermatologist? Dr Thiru recommdned Desowen, which was less strong than the one our PD prescribed.

Some kids are allergic to cow's milk but suspect it's not a very common allergy. you may want to check with a doctor to rule out allergy to cow's milk.

For starters, why don't you try sebamed or cetaphil? but do note these are only for prevention. if she already has ezcema, may need antihistamines or steriod cream or both.

cactus_79, I hv the steroid cream..Hydroderm 1% cream prescribe by the doctor. I guess I hv to use that on her 2nite to stop her fr scratching herself.

ITLC, steriod cream doesn't work as quickly as antihistamine drops. were you given antihistamine drops? I think the side effects are less. the steriod cream takes a bit longer to work. like a few days.the antihistamines will stop the itching almost immeidately.

ITLC, if I recall correctly, the cream given by our PD was 1% steriod. but the one recommended by Dr Thiru is 0.5% steriod. and it worked. you may want to check to see if desowen is truly 0.5% and if it is, you may want to buy it to use first.. since you are concerned about steriod side effects.

oh, for my boy, I realise that very dry skin is a sign that his eczema is about to come on. whenever this happens, I just apply more moisturizer.

Dear Mummies, maybe u can try this cream - Renew Intensive Skin Therapy. It does work but of course it take sometimes. But one thing is you must be a member to get a cheaper rate. You can refer to this website http://www.melaleuca.com/ for more information.

3102877.jpg

thk u catus_79 for your advise.

Any mummies know where I can do a allergy test or a good PD for skin? The KKH appt is way too far and I cannot wait and see my girl suffer.

ITLC, you may want to consider going to a private clinic cos the waiting time at govt hosp is very long. I would recommend Dr Thiru, he has a private clinic in orchard area. If you google his name, and the word dermatologist, you should be able to get the details. He's quite well known. He is the head of Derm department at SGH.

cactus_79, I google Dr Thiru and found lotsa of gd comments abt him but seems like he is a very ex dor to visit wor..

ITLC, I think most private doctors are expensive... maybe that's why the waiting times are short.. hmm.. if your girl is scratching alot, why not bring to a good PD and see what the PD can do? Probably PD cnanot do skin tests.. but my warning is skin tests really take time and may not yield any results. I believe SGH has a immunology department that does skin tests. It's under Rhuematology and Immunology department.

I suspect my girl is allergy to something that triggers her eczema so bringing her to do a allergy test nxt wk...but not at Dr Thiru.

Hopefully she'll be ok aft that.

<font color="0000ff">Hi ITLC,

my girl who is 24mths also very very bad ezcma. She can scratch &amp; it just bleed. Her back knees &amp; thighs are all infected already.
I brought her to Poly &amp; get referal letter to skin centre.
Currently using steroid &amp; it clearing up already. But i can tell you Poly steroid shld be very strong. My cousin whos bb baby also has rash seen Pte dr &amp; they prescriped her with Desowen Lotion &amp; she gave it to me. Its quite mild &amp; its more suitable for baby.

When the wound is healing i put alot of moiturising oil otherwise when its dry, its very itchy &amp; she will start scratching again.
For their bath, they need to use those special soap. Im using Dermavive shower &amp; bath oil with oatmeal Australia made. U can get it from Pte dr.

Hi ITLC,

you can try using Eucerin shower oil for bathing ,after which apply eucerin pH5 lotion F.
They products are very effective for eczema skin.

these are avaliable at all guardian / watson / hospital retail pharmacies.

take care

Thk u MumMy kian and ital23. I have brght my girl to do a allergy test and she is allergy to peanuts but Dr says her ezcema is not fully due to this allergy. She belongs to dry skin and tends to have occasionally flare-up.

I'm using Emulsifying Ointment for her bath and will apply QV cream on her everyday.

MumMy Kian, has ur DD seen the DR at skin centre? Wat did the Dr says?

Btw....can I get Desowen at the pharmacy?

<font color="0000ff">ITLC,
i havent seen the skin centre dr yet. made appt under poly cos its much cheaper like that. My appt is on 30 nov. gt to wait like 1 mth +..

Desowen is steriod. so i dont think pharmacy can get. u need dr prescription.

MumMy Kian, I oso got a referral letter from Poly to see a Derm at KKH but waiting list till Dec 09...so long :-(

y dont u try skin centre? Think they are not bad too.
I saw another thread talkin abt eczema too. some mummies using physiogel. I heard of this physiogel from a dr too. &amp; he says super good avail at skin centre too. But based on mummies, its expensive.so i guess i get referral letter it will be alot cheaper also.

My girl eczema is good enuough to burn a big hole in my pocket. Buy lucas papaw, california, Aloe vera..even go to the extend to Aus to buy their own brands.

So far i would comment that medihoney eczema cream (aus prod) &amp; Aloe vera (BP by cadbury) can help to control my girls condition. Maybe you can give these 2 a try.</font>

MumMyKian, I used CB but doesn't work for my girl. Used QV cream oso nope. Now using Cetaphill...it works on her!! I now used Cetaphill cream for her daily moisturizer and the Dr Liliy aloe gel wen I sense there's gonna be a flare up.

Between, Cetaphill does not contain Steriod right??

<font color="0000ff">ITLC> Nope cetaphill does not contain steriod.
Anything that contains steriod will not be avail on shelf. Must have dr prescription then can buy de.

I use cetaphill for my girl shower. not really helpful. i guess its the cetaphill lotion thats good?</font>

The Cetaphill Cream calms down my girl's eczema so I tot it contains steriod coz I used many creams on her which did not work.

I didn't use the cleanser on her. I used CB body and shampoo wash...

i guess we have to see what they are sensitive to.
Going to change to goats milk to see if my girl condition gets better. Cos she keeps having ezcema break out. Heal with steriod already abt 1 week later come back again.
Very 苦脑. keep tryin to figure out what is not right for her. just doesnt seem to catch it.</font>

Can try this Moisturizer - PhysioGel AI Cream. It is very good and calms my son's ezcema when he has break out only that this is only avilable at the hospital pharmacy.

went to National skin centre. Dr says theres nothing they can do abt ezcema just have to constantly keep moisturising my girl. If it gets inflammed, jus gt to put steriod &amp; moisturise.
Ive tried physiogel. Its really very very gd &amp; works very well on my girl.
So maybe u can give it a try.
I bought physiogel lotion. Got 1 is physiogel cream. If you wan to apply it on the whole body, legs &amp; hand, its recommended to get lotion by the pharmacist as you can easily spread the lotion.
Bought the lotion for only $31.83. So its really cheap &amp; its like 200ml (If i didnt rem wrongly)? quite a big bottle</font>

MumMyKian, tt y I'm holding back to bring my gal to NSC coz i will get the same ans - moisture. I guess wat we can help our baby is to keep them clean &amp; moisture them all the time. My girl eczema flare up again. the 1% steriod cream did not work on her now..sob sob...still applying the Cetaphil cream on her. Maybe will try Physiogel. Praying hard our child will outgrow it.

Keira, dun use J&amp;J on your gal. Try using any cleanser that is soap-free eg. CB, Cetaphil or QV. I guess u hv to try it out on your girl see which product suits her. So far, those doc I brght my gal for ezema recommend either Cetaphil or QV. I personally use QV &amp; I find it's good.

my 2nd boy had severe eczema when he was a baby. We went to poly and also KKH and even to some clinics and was prescribed with so many types of cleanser till i lost count. None works but lucky was recommended a PD at Gleneagles and the PD asked us to try pinetarsol solution for his shower and even for washing his hairs. Can get from guardian, unity, etc. It works on my boy and his skin improved alot. We only used the solution and need not apply creams on him. We even lung back an entire carton when we visited Perth as I found it cheaper there. Also got my nephew to get it for us when he visited Perth. Now my boy is already in primary and he seldom need to use it.

<font color="0000ff">Keira,
im not sure if physiogel is avail at guardian but i think it shld b avail.
My bottle is finishing &amp; need to buy more to stock up. If applied daily 2 times on whole body, 1 bottle only last max 1.5mth
Yes dnt use J&amp;J. Try to go for PH 5.5 or soap free prod.
Physiogel lotion is my life saver &amp; i cant live wo it!!! lol.. just 2 days without applying, my girl ezcema brks out, then scratch till bleed again... *sigh*</font>

My girlfriend's daughter also have ezcema. However, ever since she started to use California baby Calendula Cream (natural and organic), her daughter red patches have improved and getting better. Her daughter used to have to wear long sleeve and long pants when she go for those playgroups as some moms were scared that it would spread etc. Poor baby then. Now,at least the condition is stablised. so maybe the organic cream does have its wonder.

my son turns 4 in June tis yr.

Has inherited ezcema since 8mths old from me .... as my asthma attacks durg my preggie days.

He's seeing NUH Clinic A - Dr Lynette Shek for both ezcema &amp; asthma (onli late last yr as KKH Dr Bhavani proposed us to c Dr Shek). Here's her profile:
http://www.nuh.com.sg/nuhwebdirectorysearch/resume3.aspx?recID=-2147481605

I travel by train from Simei to B/Vista (now change to) Dover since he's 8mths old till now. I pay pte rate to c Dr Shek coz' i found out his ezcema veri bad as early as 6mths old then no choice managed to pull strings from a nurse whose handlg Dr Shek's conference whereby I supposed to attend.

Last November, I join Melaleuca as member ...bought the RENEW but my son's eczema FLARES badly till I gotten scoldings from Dr Shek. Show her the bottle then realised tt the contains only for normal skin ........... The cream has gone for testg ! i rtn the cream and terminated my m/ship, gotten scoldgs from hb, Dr Shek, Chinese Tuina Sinseh &amp; ended my son SUFFERED !!!

He seeing Chinese tuina sinseh in Yu Guo since 2mths old.......Dr Shek oso 1 my son go for tuina regularly as she feels tt gg 2 NUH veri far for us compare gg to Yu Guo @ kembangan .

now, he's back on QV cream / aqueois cream + oral mixture (atarax) + sebamed bath + Zaditen .....

My son dun flare when we were in Tokyo for winter.........he FLARES when our weather sudden changes !

He's having food allergy too ! He's on home testg from Dr Shek whereby told to give him seafood for testg then i monitor everyday...take pics &amp; write simple reports ..... then submit 2 her every 2-3mths visits.

Ya! i went to unity to buy physiogel lotion @ $29 only!!!! Y NSC sell $31.83. but if you do check out the rest of the pharmacy, u will realised that unity is still the cheapest.

MummyKian,

Glad u got the lotion at a cheaper price.

My girl ezcema is not getting any better but worst. The itch is stopping her fr hving a gd nite slp. She will wake up &amp; start scratching all over her body esp e folds of her limbs &amp; throw tantrum (tink she beri pek chiat). Me &amp; my HB now like panda liao. Beside looking ard for gd cream for DD, I need to start scouting for gd eye cream too for myself &amp; Hb. Eyes so dark &amp; puffy :-(

Hi Asley, I jus went to Unity and ask the staff there if Pinetarsol Solution is suitable for my 19mth old ger but they say mite be too strong for her. So I dun dare to buy.

At wat age can we start using the Pinetarsol Solution on our kid? She now got inflammed and scaly skin, can use the Pinetarsol Solution on her??

Hi ITLC,

u may try eucerin ph5 shower oil for bathing and appy eucerin ph5 lotion F .it is avaliable at all watsons / guardians/ unity and hospita retail pharmacies.this is a dermotologies skincare brand and NSC doctors also recommand to their patients.you may try.

My 1.5yo had v bad eczema, all over her body. For 6 months I bundled her up in leggings, mittens, TubeFast (cotton bandage like gloves) to prevent her from scratching, and she wore that day and night. I tried everything mentioned above, and bought many natural and organic cream/cleanser from Australia, Korea and Japan, no improvement. She was even on Chinese bitter herbal medicine for 3 months.

I brought her to see Dr Giam at National Skin Centre. She was given the oral medicine and steriod to apply, use QV and physiogel cream (we also tried that previously). This time with the right medication, her skin cleared completely within 2 DAYS. My baby is now in shorts, skirts, short sleeves, running around happy as a bird! In my experience, I think getting the right doctor is the key. I brought my baby to see more than 20 specialists both in Sg and overseas for the past 6 months, nothing worked, until I saw the doctor at NSC. Of course, most important of all - pray.

Hi ITLC
I can understand your concern on your child. I have 2 children and the older one which is a girl has eczema since a baby... frankly speaking, this eczema has been with her till she is 10 years old... No joke... scary right... I have tried so many creams and bath gel. It works initially and then it comes back again. I have tried eucerin when she was a baby and those bath oats and then progress to cetepil for almost to 7 years old and then to dermaveen. After using dermaveen for 1 year, I can see it has improved... infact, i should say gone... only once in a whie it will appear... she uses the cream and the bath...She has seen many 2 specialist too... they all prescribe steriod cream... You need that to stop that itch and redness... After it almost heal, put on those lotion... it really help... Each time she comes out from the shower, she puts lots of the lotion.

Hello mum, I've been reading your stories and I can understand your situation and concern. That's why I feel I may need to share what I learn frm experience with this condition. Its back to micronutrition and the high incidence of inflammation may be due to the lack of omega 3 in our diet and the excessive omega 6 in our diet. Its all abt the imbalance. I know children who respond very well to a good dose of multivit with antioxidants and omega 3 supplements, but saying this, nopt all supplements may give the same results, you must understand that supplements being supplements are not drugs and since they are not regulated, their qulity is at stake. My experience is frm use pf pharmanex supplements. It helps solve eczema before in children I know as young as 6 mths even. You have to do your own research on why pharmanex supplements work, and why it's safe enough to be used on children that young...go and take a look at their 6S quality process and you can know the difference. For further details you can email [email protected] for more info. That's my fair share, but after finding more abt this pharmanex company, I belief there's no harm using it on our children and give them a better life!

Hi all, physiogel cream 75ml is available in Guardian aat $23, I bought it last week. The same cream I bought from National Skin Centre is $21+.

I also bought a lot of QV and other creams from Australia, check out Chemist Direct website (Australia website), I find that most of the creams/lotions are 12-20% cheaper than other sites, but shipment to Sg is expensive, so the most economical way is buy online and getting someone to bring to Sg.

Hi ITLC, a skin specialist in Mt E recommended 2 measures that helped my kid with the itch.

1) Wear a bandage like-cotton stockings or a long sleeve body-hugging shirt, the brand is TUBIFAST. It prevents the skin from bring broken when scratched hence aid healing. It is to be worn inside the shirt/pants - it can either be worn wet/damp so it relieves the itch, or dry when you have applied the cream. I only found in MtE hospital Pharmacy

2) regular intake of probiotic - the specialist recommended 'Lacto GG'. likewise, I only found this in MtE hospital Pharmacy.

I happen to come across this thread on eczema.

I'm a sufferer of eczema and hoping that my DD don't get it.

Just to share a little: Most people don't realise that it's essential to wash all clothing, bedsheets, pillow case and even stuff toys with a NON-BIO wash. I learnt this only when i was studying in England cos the supermarkets there sell bio and non-bio detergents.

In Singapore, you mainly get bio (biological ones) which are very harsh detergents. Also, don't use softerners cos these softerners leave enzymes on the fabric and upon contact, eczema sufferers can get skin irritation. In turn, this skin irritation can be a trigger point for an eczema outbreak.

Lastly, use the LIQUID non-bio detergents. NOt the powder forms.

here's some info from Wikipedia:-

A biological detergent is a laundry detergent that contains enzymes. The description is commonly used in the United Kingdom, where other washing detergents are described as "non-biological". The terms are sometimes abbreviated to bio and "non-bio".

The purposes of the enzymes is to break down protein, starches and fat that may be found in dirt and stains upon clothing to be laundered, for example food stains, sweat or mud.

Some people may be allergic to the enzymes as the enzymes can be transferred to the skin when wet clothes that have just been cleaned with biological detergents are touched. The enzymes then restart the breakdown reaction on the skin- particularly protease. The selling point of non-biological detergents is that they are gentler, causing less irritation to skin ("kinder on the skin") and less damage to the fabric. Some studies refute the claim that non-biological detergents are gentler.

hope the above info helps.

My DD had serious Eczema when she was only a few months old, brought her to the Doc who prescribed Fucicort and it was completely healed. The Doc dod mention that they will usually outgrow it and so far my DD has not had the Eczema return. And I also do my part by washing her clothes, linen with a non-bio detergent as mention by Santorini cause normal detergents are harsh on kids skin.