My gynae used the device tt counts in 2-3 digits.
Last visit after eating fish slice beehoon was 122(beyond his acceptable range) so hv to go bk two weeks later.
What do you all eat normally?
You r all better than me. My glucose test was 13, immediately doctor admitted me into hospital liao, stayed in ward almost two weeks then discharged me. Now I have to watch out every meal, and inject insulin three times per day.![]()
My gynae used the device tt counts in 2-3 digits.
Last visit after eating fish slice beehoon was 122(beyond his acceptable range) so hv to go bk two weeks later.
What do you all eat normally?
My test result after 2 hours Glucose challenge test is 11+. However, i am controlling my sugar through diet and sugar monitoring only.
May i know why your gynae dont even give you an option to try to change diet to see if it's under control? Perhaps you dont have to be under insulin injection if you can control via diet.
Private gynae. His cut off is 120 two hours after meal~Fatmama, you are with with hospital? At KKH, the cut over point is 7.0 two hours after meal. Occasionally exceeded 7.0 still acceptable to my gynae.
I also need to control my diet as I was tested +ve for GD at 30 weeks. I usually don't crave for cakes, durians or bread. But once need to control, somehow I crave for them. I have to prick myself 6 times a day to check my blood sugar levels. Occasionally, I will experiment with some food for 1 meal and the reading will shot up. My readings range from 5.0 to 8.6 2hrs after food. My last checkup, baby at 29 weeks weigh about 1.4kg.
@isenggirl What type of beehoon you eat? Fried or soup?
If Yong Tau Foo beehoon soup with veggie, beancurd, seaweed etc and not the fried stuff and eat half portion of beehoon, it should be okay.
Cos my reading after 2 hrs is 5.7. But if I eat fried beehoon, reading shot up to 9.5 and this is the one time that it shot up so high.
After I admitted to hospital, dietician came and told me to have diabetic meals and below 1800cal daily. They monitored for 3 days, still very high 2hrs after meal, 10+. Therefore, on the fourth day, doc prescribe insulin (18units), then after another 4 days, still high ( KKH's standard is below 7), so doc increased the insulin dosage to 40units per day.
Now with insulin, my sugar level is 5-6.
Private gynae. His cut off is 120 two hours after meal~
I am a bit worried cos smtimes i cannot control will eat choco secretly. Like a small pc la.
I dun used to crave for durians now crave like mad but they say cannot eat cos durian very high in sugar.
I ate soup beehoon!! i dunno where the glucose came from coz everything was healthy to me. so now i ate more yong tau fu without beehoon.
apart from reading of 2hrs after meal, it's good to compare your reading before meal to see the incremental, from there you know which food give you the problem, sometimes is the portion, sometimes is becoz u r too hungry, that was my experience after some testing on my own, I also cracked my head where the hell all the sugar level come from since I don't like dessert, ice-cream, soft drinks at all even in normal days. Different people have different reaction on carbo. Don't skip carbo entirely, but just eat a bit a bit of low GI food thru out the day.
@isenggirl apart from bee hoon, the soup can cause some trouble as nobody knows if they put any sugar inside for seasoning.
@4gals your bb weight looks good. Durian really a no no.... Haha. Some fruits like mango... Also not so ideal.
@angelbell they serve white rice?... I thought last time they gave 1/2 brown 1/2 white mixed.... Cut cost liao.... I remember they got guo tiao soup for breakfast..... I was like huh?..?. Can help to reduce meh...... Lol
I ate soup beehoon!! i dunno where the glucose came from coz everything was healthy to me. so now i ate more yong tau fu without beehoon.
Mummies, do you count the 2 hour post meal from the time you start or end of the meal?
From the time you first bite. I asked KK's diabetic nurse already. She said if u 1:10pm start to have your lunch, then by 3:10pm u have to test your blood sugar liao.
Normally I set alarm (2 hours) in my phone. After meal 2 hours is the peak of the sugar level curve. More accurate. If I forgot and late more than 30mins, I just skip and don't test liao. Don't waste the test strip, because the reading is not accurate no point to test lah.I don't follow so strictly leh. Sometime late by 30 mins then take reading.
I don't think the readings will fluctuate a lot, right?
now that seems to be another "reason" for me to not have another bb. but yeah I am aware that there is a high chance that it will recur in a subsequent pregnancy and honestly ... i don't rly like pricking my fingers tho I am ok with diet modification. and thanks to that I gained only 5 kg during pregnancy and now at 7 plus wks post partum I am weighing less than pre pregnancy wtHi mummies
Speaking from experience cos i got this for my two kids. Once u got this, high chance next pregnancy will get it. So please watch diet as soon as u know u are pregnant.
Pls do not skip the glucose test after you hav given birth to make sure you dont turn diabetic. My friend was stubborn on the result, she was tested and result was her sugar was high. Doctor wanted to test her again and she did not go back, next pregnanacy high blood and sugar and gives birth prematurely. Now is permanent diabetic. Not to mentioned harder for cesar wound to heal if you are diabetic. She was advised no more kids cos will worsen her diabetic.
Different time of the days, you can digest sugar better. Monitor and can sneak some small snack then cos pregnancy is about craving too.
Pls watch your diet and walk a lot after meal to burn sugar cos your babies will be tested for sugar level once they are out. If theirs are high, will not be able to discharge with mother. I seen cases like this and the especially first time mother, crying home without their babies.
Do take care of yourself!!!
Ohh forget to tell you all that since my stubborn friend din get herself tested second time, her next pregnancy after three years, during her cesar ops, her cesar wound did not heal properly from her previous pregnancy, most probably from her sugar not control all this time. End up her cesar ops took five hours cos all her inside were badly stick together and theu even had to call in the senior doctors to 're arrange' her intestine. All were mess up becos of trying to get the bb out.
Pls do not skip the test, ok
@pinkylove ya my hubby also said I am super paranoid but what to do, I want the best for BB.@Skivewalker
Hi there, currently 29 weeks...same here, I was diagnosed with GDM 2 weeks back..... failed the OGTT at 8.2
equally devastated and for me, afraid of needles. So the thought of pricking really freaked me out.
Was told to do the 7 times check, for 2 consecutive days.
Since then, being really paranoid on what I can eat... and following the sample diet given out by my gynae. Anything not listed there (for those I can eat), I don't take.. and that leaves lots of doubts and very limited choice.
Was doing the 7 times pricking, my numbers are pretty good.. but until one snack time, I had totally lost my sense and took 2 piece of roti prata. Oh my, the number shot up to 9+
That really scares me ... me, being eating out very often... I do feel pretty lost and paranoid on certain food. Those food not listed, like fishball noodles (bee hoon)? white chicken rice? fried bee hoon? I don't know whether to eat or not..
@sunflower307 , I am also with NUH. Am seeing Prof Mahesh who has many a times mentioned to me due to my condition I high chance pre term and likely to be inducedI am also diagnose with GDM at 28 weeks. Was super upset about it coz I thought I control myself pretty well plus I din gain a lot of weight.
I am with NUH and was told to prick finger 7x a day for 2 days in a week. I am able to control my diet mostly, with a few out coz I anyhow eat to satisfy my craving. haha
I depend largely on western food to keep my reading low. If I have to eat rice, I give a few spoonful. I don't drink any fruit juice or sugar drinks at all. If I take soyamilk, it will be 0% sugar. My diet contains a lot of fruits (not so sweet ones like Kiwi is ok) and veggie and little rice and more protein.
My weight came into a stagnant from week 28 to 38 (was induce at 38wk), hehe I only put on a total of 7kg and my gal weight 2.815kg.
Not all bb will be big becoz of GDM, we had a higher risk of having big babies.
My gal all along was 50% in her weight till birth.
@Skivewalker as per my gynae, my BB weigh 1.04Kg at 27 weeks+ which he mentioned normal. not too big not too small. yes, he did mentioned to me about having bigger baby if mummy has GDM. But through out my pregnancy, I didn't exceed the weight gain limit..keeping to 1 kg ~ per month. That's why I thought since I managed my weight quite well, I shouldn't be prone to GDM. Well, since the reality strike... Have to accept it.@pinkylove ya my hubby also said I am super paranoid but what to do, I want the best for BB.
I am still on the low side. It's tough when it comes to eating out coz the food preparers tend to add losta of seasoning + msg. I think now my tongue is so accustom to bland food that any little msg made me feels sick. But on the bright side eating healthily brought about alot of benefits like I don't get that my much constipation.
The diet guide given by my dietician include some hawker food which is 3 exchange such as Longtong (I tried, but draining out all possible gravy while eating and did not finish the rice), slice fish noodles (I take about 2/3 of the thick beehoon and drink only few sips of soup but request additional vege). At times when I am lazy to took I will also tabao Yong Tao Foo soup (choosing mainly non fried stuff & vege and took only half portion of beehoon), mixed vegetable rice with non fried dishes and 1/3 rice if not brown rice. I guess we can't totally cut away carbs as BB needs it for growth. But when I snack at home, I eat lotsa nuts which is a good source of protein and drink low fat milk.
I used to drink Anmum everyday and then I realised it may be too sweet and totally stop. According to my dietician, u can actually drink a heap tablespoon of milo (with no sugar nor condensed milk) but in moderation which I did when I crave for it.
My BB is pretty small during my last scan as compared to others and I don't know why coz I read that GDM mum usually have bigger BB. I suspect coz I am more hypo.
How is ur BB weight?
Oh ya coz Iim turning 36 soon. Must be the age i guess. Good to hear u passed ur glucose test. Do take care still as we would have certain level of risk in following under Type 2 if we don't take care. I think this is really a turning point in my life where I would still watch my diet carefully even after birth.I see. you under high risk? take care.
I had GDM and sticky bloody, I basically have to inject myself daily on the tummy with Clexane from 18weeks onwards to thin my blood. haha thinking back I dunno how I go thru all these, haha
I am overweight to begin with. haha Yes when u start GDM diet u will notice a drop in weight. My weight drop at first then I gain alittle bit haha towards to end coz I really don't care and anyhow wack at the last wk. haha
My friend face the same prob of small baby n GDM, u can try avocado with like low fat milk or something? no sugary stuff.
Yesh! I pass my 6wk post partum with good results. hehe but doc tell me if I have 2nd child, mostly likely will have GDM. have to control from the start. haha can't imagine!!!
I see. you under high risk? take care.
I had GDM and sticky bloody, I basically have to inject myself daily on the tummy with Clexane from 18weeks onwards to thin my blood. haha thinking back I dunno how I go thru all these, haha
I am overweight to begin with. haha Yes when u start GDM diet u will notice a drop in weight. My weight drop at first then I gain alittle bit haha towards to end coz I really don't care and anyhow wack at the last wk. haha
My friend face the same prob of small baby n GDM, u can try avocado with like low fat milk or something? no sugary stuff.
Yesh! I pass my 6wk post partum with good results. hehe but doc tell me if I have 2nd child, mostly likely will have GDM. have to control from the start. haha can't imagine!!!