(2014/08) August 2014

Rinko I have pain too but not soo much near the pelvis but slightly above it, probably just the uterus stretching.

bubblepearl - kindly add me into FB. thank you.

I tried having salted veg with duck soup - super love it cos its so salty and sourish(due to plum added into the soup)
I also ate flower crab with some kind of coconut sauce - I love flower crab pre preg so I just ate it...I think maybe bb doesn't really like coconut cos I feel super bloated after that.
(Some older folks will ask us not to eat crab as bb will have "lots of hands" aka touch here and there but I just eat it cos got protein. And I will have my crab when I am in my 2nd trimester. hohohoho)

Someone was talking about renovating her house and husband was "pan tan"? Actually I am quite "pan tan" oso and will prefer things to be done before I go and see. (meaning: if reno is in progress I will not bother to go and see but will inspect once workers is gone) The noise may affect the bb esp first trimester according to my mom.
"Pantan" 2: Ppl says that you should not sew on your bed, other wise bb will have cleft lip
"Pantan" 3: Cannot move your bed, as it will affect bb "qi". (My own experience is our bed collapse when I was 5 months pregnant then; I was in the living room when it collapsed. When we bought the new bed, I stayed outside the house till the workers move and cleared everything. My bb came out with a permanent birth mark on her right leg. I am not sure if it is related to the bed collapsing (one leg gave way). Just for your thoughts.
"Pantan" 4: Carry a safety pin in your bag at all times to prevent any misfortunate from happening to you. I heard this somewhere prev and just carried one constantly these days.

Abt the pan tang.. I just feel play safe better than sorry when it comes to pregnancy. Never know de.. don't wait for things to happen then start blaming urself or say i should have listen.. its too late by then..

I have a friend who has a successful first pregnancy. When she found out she was preg in Aug, she still can go wild wild wet and go chalet stay. Thats the 1st day of ghost festival. I tell her anything just wait till after 12 weeks. Don't listen de.. in the end, she MC without symptoms cos she had an empty sac.

Just went to check out how private hospital packages are like.
Mount A single ward looks super impressive - very big! And Mount A has a new building coming up and I saw a big banner which says they will be ready by June 2014.

Anyone gave birth in Gleneagles before? Any comments?

Anyone choosing Mount E Novena?

agree on the pantan stuff, but i will not overdo it..

Pantan1: eat crab, i eat during my #1..hehe.."no itchy hands"
Pantan2: i did sewing on floor instead
Pantan3: i did shift bed cos changing bedsheet....cannot go without 10 mths not changing bedsheet right?
Pantan4: i dun believe cos it more meant for Malay as my SIL is indonesian and they tends to have things that dirty stuffs like Preg women.

I still do my housework till my full term during #1, but #2 time, i cannot do much during my last mth of pregnancy..think old liao.

For those who are not 1st time mummy, are you going to engage C.L ? if no, then who help you settle ur food and baby ?

I am also those play safe kind. Pantang a bit.

During my #1 I dunno y went to cut my toenails on the bed when I was 37+wks then next day waterbag broke.
I also don paint my nails cos some old ppl say bb will have birthmark if we paint our nails. But I actually don paint my nails because I heard my friend say her gynae told her tt the smell will slow down bb brain development...

Re the pantang stuffs ;

Pantang 1: eat crab, no I didn't. Better to be 'save' than sorry.
Pantang 2: Did not do any sewing nor cutting while sitting on bed.
Pantang 3: Did not shift bed, well, i did not shift the bed but i did change bed sheet. Think is the more of the aspect of not shifting your bed frame than the mattress itself.
Pantang 4: Not heard of it before.

For my bb, hubby was installing a toy cabinet and I was around then. There were hammering, but no drilling. End up, bb came out with a bald patch on his head (this part, hair won't grow there) and he had Mongolia birthmarks all over him. So, better avoid being in same room when reno, drilling, etc is going on.

I delivered in GlenE. Think overall I paid $1000+ (after all Medisave deductions) for a 2 bedded room, Natural Delivery without epi. Oh, as my gynae is based there, I was given discount. No free upgrade, though. Midwives were ok, nurses in the wards were ok. But I don't really like the nurses in the nursery. There seems to be lack of communication between them.

Confinement ladies, I read somewhere the rates is somewhere between $2.6K - $2.8k and this is excluding $$ for confinement food. You also need to provide them food, lodging and transport (in some cases). Probably, my mom will be doing my confinement for me..

lol.. the rates are worst when it eats into CNY period. E.g. if you confinement falls near CNY, it can costs u up to $3.8K and not all are willing to 'work' during CNY period. I heard of ppl actually paying $5k for a confinement lady, but how true, I don't know.

Re the pantang stuffs ;

Pantang 1: eat crab, no I didn't. Better to be 'save' than sorry.
Pantang 2: Did not do any sewing nor cutting while sitting on bed.
Pantang 3: Did not shift bed, well, i did not shift the bed but i did change bed sheet. Think is the more of the aspect of not shifting your bed frame than the mattress itself.
Pantang 4: Not heard of it before.

For my bb, hubby was installing a toy cabinet and I was around then. There were hammering, but no drilling. End up, bb came out with a bald patch on his head (this part, hair won't grow there) and he had Mongolia birthmarks all over him. So, better avoid being in same room when reno, drilling, etc is going on.

I delivered in GlenE. Think overall I paid $1000+ (after all Medisave deductions) for a 2 bedded room, Natural Delivery without epi. Oh, as my gynae is based there, I was given discount. No free upgrade, though. Midwives were ok, nurses in the wards were ok. But I don't really like the nurses in the nursery. There seems to be lack of communication between them.
Moonchip, without epi!!?? salute to you sia!!!
epi was my saviour haha!
i delivered in Mount A, cos it s a catholic hospital and me and hubby are catholic. stayed in a single bedder. this time also would be mount a

I just called my CL who did for me the last round to book her first. Her rate is $2.4k. I used her again cos she is very gd with baby and cook very well. She got 19yrs experience. And she is very clean. On top of the confinement food she cooked. Every night she will double boiled tonic soup for me also.. I realized not many CL do that. And I going do 6wk confinement this round.

If anyone want CL, can let me know. I can ask her to check if her "CL sisters" are avail anot.

hehe..i also went w/o epi. actually its because my pain tolerance is high..

i have a Q for Mt A, if i want opt for birth control operation is it cannot be done in Mt A? My 1st 2 is at Mt A, i love the nurses and food there..

fifteenmay, thats what i am thinking but my mum doesnt want me to get mum so early..i tot of getting 1 mth before i deliver and at least i got 3 mths to train her at home personally.

epi was my saviour haha!
i delivered in Mount A, cos it s a catholic hospital and me and hubby are catholic. stayed in a single bedder. this time also would be mount a

Hee~ I delivered in Mount A before, thumbs up for everything.. But this round, probably in GlenE.

bubblepearl, my opinion is, if you get a maid early, you can train her and she can settle down in her job. when bb comes, is additional work load.. if get too late, scare maid can't cope… perhaps u can talk to ur mom and understand why she doesn't want the maid to come earlier? Well, cost might be a factor..

fifteenmay, thats what i am thinking but my mum doesnt want me to get mum so early..i tot of getting 1 mth before i deliver and at least i got 3 mths to train her at home personally.

My mil doesn't like the idea of having a stranger at home.. So during my first time, she insist she will do all the confinement for me.
Totally shag out. So this round I told my Hubby, I will get confinement food So she don't need to cook for me. Then she can look after my kids with ease.
The previous round is really tiring.. she got to run both locations to look after me and her family too. Not going to 'torture ' her this round even if she insist she can cook for me.

starrynine, you shortlisted your confinement lady already? or you asked around for rates?

Will probably ask my Frd to intro her confinement lady to me.. Since she had two different confinement lady..

However, my mom said she doesn't mind taking absence from work to help me up.. Will see how it goes in awhile time..

How about the rest?

Hello all mummies-to-be~

Tested a faint line on sunday (using watson's one step pregnancy kit) and went on to a nearby clinic for confirmation haha. What I saw was a faint line initially when he congratulated us. However, the Dr said a faint line is still a line :p

Have booked an appt with the gynae tomorrow but am afraid will be too early for first visit? any advice? :)

Hello all mummies-to-be~

Tested a faint line on sunday (using watson's one step pregnancy kit) and went on to a nearby clinic for confirmation haha. What I saw was a faint line initially when he congratulated us. However, the Dr said a faint line is still a line :p

Have booked an appt with the gynae tomorrow but am afraid will be too early for first visit? any advice? :)

Hi gunner,
Congrats.

For me, I tested fainted line too. And after 1 wk, I tested again, dark line. Then another wk then I visit my Gynae... I was only 6wks. Can't see much also..

didnt get confinement nanny during my #1, basically just me and my mum. my mum was busy cooking my 3 meals and my maid was supposed to arrive 1 month earlier but got delayed. maid ended up arriving 2 weeks into my confinement. i almost went crazy from lack of sleep, super cranky and emotional cried almost everyday. no milk as well cause i think too tired was looking after bb in the night as well.

so this time round i am definitely getting a CL!!!! and ya so expensive but i dont care haha

didnt get confinement nanny during my #1, basically just me and my mum. my mum was busy cooking my 3 meals and my maid was supposed to arrive 1 month earlier but got delayed. maid ended up arriving 2 weeks into my confinement. i almost went crazy from lack of sleep, super cranky and emotional cried almost everyday. no milk as well cause i think too tired was looking after bb in the night as well.

so this time round i am definitely getting a CL!!!! and ya so expensive but i dont care haha

Yes. You are right. For my #01, I almost didn't get a CL. My colleague warned to get one. If not ,I will regret. I was lucky to get a gd one recommend by my friend. If not, I think I would had gone crazy...

Hi Gunner

I feel u should wait for another 3 weeks to see gynae. Faint line meaning u may bw in 2-3 weeks..

If u go see gynae now and it shows faint line, they will ask u do blood test for HCG. And u have to continuous go down dor 3 times to determine the valid of pregnancy. This will cost alot as well.

so my suggestion to you is go online buy pregnancy test strip and test urself till u got dark line.

I found out I was preg on 24 Nov and fix gynae appt only on 19 Dec. Cos I don't wanna go down so many time and knowing that less than 6 weeks, gynae cannot see anything besides the sac.

So be patient.. unless u have complication. . If not, don't have to go so early.;)

congrats gunner, it depends.. I tested faint line too. Went gynae the following day and Was told I am already 7 weeks..

Hi all! :)

New to the group! Went to GP to confirm pregnancy and seeing gynae in early Jan! So far not much symptoms except on and off crampings and backaches.

Do add me in the FB group too! my email is [email protected]

Thanks! Take care everyone!

imogenheap & prisann - Similarly to both of you, I will be getting a confinement nanny. I think some money got to "let go".

I had a confinement nanny for no. 1 and a newly arrived maid. In the end, the confinement nanny trained the maid for me as well. This time round, no different, I will be getting a confinement nanny but I just wonder what is their rates now...it used to be $2.2K Msia confinement nanny in 2011.

epi was my saviour haha!

Seems like the Mount A single bedder is very big (in picture). Is it true.
It will be more convenient for me to stay at Gleneagles as my gynae is there but my backside itchy and want to try Mount A.

imogenheap & prisann - Similarly to both of you, I will be getting a confinement nanny. I think some money got to "let go".

I had a confinement nanny for no. 1 and a newly arrived maid. In the end, the confinement nanny trained the maid for me as well. This time round, no different, I will be getting a confinement nanny but I just wonder what is their rates now...it used to be $2.2K Msia confinement nanny in 2011.

i agree that some money needs to be spent. hubby was complaining that it's so expensive and said that he and his mum will help me out. i LOL right at his face and ask "Are you joking?!" and told him he isnt being realistic lor! he will be at work and his mum is so tied up with my nephew and niece! so i don't care i'm getting one this time

not sure what's the market rate now... the hike started from dragon year and didn't subside hahaha
i spoke to one msian lady and she quoted $2400 excl angpows. PEM agent quoted $2150. Both gotta add $150 for work permit levy too