Search Last 3 | 12 | 24 | 72 Search Search Tree View Tree View  

A Singapore Motherhood Portal for the Singapore Parents * Year 2007 Mums * Anyone 39yo and above with new babies???** < Previous Next >

baby40 (baby40)
Username: baby40

Post Number: 1
Posted on Saturday, January 12, 2008 - 12:35 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi ladies. I have been lurking here for several months now :-)

I am a FT mom and will start work in March (my boss agreed to give me 1 month NPL). I have 2 other kids (11yo and 8yo). I plan to send my baby to infant care when I return to work.

Anyone of you are 39/40+ years old mothers of babies born around November (say Oct, Nov, Dec 2007 or beyond - Jan08 and later - also can)? I hope we can share our experiences of looking after new baby at our "ripe old age" ;-)

My girl was born 4 Nov, and she had a bad bout of jaundice. Her birth weight of 3.7kg dropped to 3.4 and stayed 3.4 even at 1 month. This was due to dehydration (caused by the ultraviolet lamp), not feeding due to sleepiness (jaundice causes sleepiness) etc. After a tough 2 weeks of trying (I was basically waking her and BF her every 1.5 to 2 hrs. YES - soooo tiring but the power of mother's love...) Just when her weight increased to 4.7kg at 6 weeks, she contracted a nasty virus (despite the antibodies in BF) and was hospitalized for 3 days on 1st Jan (cough, phlegm and she refused to feed). Luckily she has now fully recovered. But boy! What a horrifying time it was for us...

Now, I'm battling with lack of sleep. :-( She wakes up 2-3x after her last feed which is typically 10pm. I sorely miss the straight 6-8 hrs of sleep I used to get! Now, I count myself lucky if I get 3 hrs continuous sleep ....

GIVE AWAY
=========
(1) Anyone interested in Fenugreek and Brewer's Yeast tablets ? I have one box each to give away. I tried them for 3 days or so and my milk supply came in. I stopped taking them. Now I'm drinking oatmilk everyday and it seems to help

(1) Anyone wants glass bottles including caps to store EBM? I have lots to give away. (I'm using plastic storage ones from Pigeon due to lack of space in my freezer!)

Please email me.

genny (genny)
Username: genny

Post Number: 21
Posted on Tuesday, February 05, 2008 - 11:37 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi My baby was born in Jan. I am also 40 + mother. Basically lack of sleep for a long long time. My baby also suffered from jaundice at around 1 week and had to be hospitalised for 2-3 days. I was engorged then and had so much problems. Took a family room in the hospital and stayed there and fed her every 3 hours. The nurse took pity on me and kept asking me if I wanted them to help me feed her formula and I said no as I wanted to clear the engorgement.
Anyway at home she fed every 2 hours and had reflux which means we got towels on all the beds and we had to keep changing her clothes and our clothes. The milk just flow out of her mouth after every feed. Even the maid was alarmed ! The paed said it was Ok as she is gaining weight.
Anyway she is one now and have stopped the reflux.She is still waking up at night to feed at least once sometimes twice.
The lack of sleep will be worse when you get back to work.

Germaine (mummy3m)
Username: mummy3m

Post Number: 2
Posted on Wednesday, February 27, 2008 - 10:14 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi..
I'm 38+ jus gave birth to a boy in Dec'07, I have 2 more boys. (13yrs & 11yrs)

Pavilion8612 (pavilion8612)
Username: pavilion8612

Post Number: 257
Posted on Friday, March 07, 2008 - 11:33 am:   Edit Post Print Post

I'm 38+ too. My baby is now 7mths+.

Really tiring to juggle as I'm also a FTWM. I've 2 other boys (3 and 6).

Contemplating if I should become SAHM once my kid enters primary but Finance is a big issue.

Sue CHong (jershejos)
Username: jershejos

Post Number: 2
Posted on Thursday, March 20, 2008 - 3:04 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I'm 38+ and baby 3mths+. 2 elder @ 9 and 5 this year. (BGB)
Just became SAHM last year so as to be able to coach the kids myself.
Finance will definitely suffer when one partner stop work, just have to be careful on the spending.

Post Number: 266
Posted on Tuesday, March 25, 2008 - 9:30 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Our finance are already tight despite me working. Now, thinking of trying out BASC first unless it really don't work out. Any recommendations for BASC around Tampines?

Hi Sue, Thanks for your advice. Really salute you for having the patience to coach your kids. Personally I felt the kids will benefit having their moms at home. At least, that's how I felt when I was growing up.

Sue (jershejos)

Post Number: 7
Posted on Tuesday, March 25, 2008 - 9:52 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Pavilion,

No salute... when comes to own kids, patience always runs out, especially with my eldest son who is very much too laid back.
Definitely the kids benefit with mummy around. Just let it comes naturally, when the time is right, just quit.
It just happens that the property market was good last year, and hence we downgraded back to HDB having earn a little selling our private housing and that sum for my retirement!!! So cheap... mummy is like that, no value, even government not giving us more, hahaha, wife relief is only $2k or $1k? really no value, hahahah

Post Number: 267
Posted on Tuesday, March 25, 2008 - 10:00 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Sue,

Your eldest sounds like my ds. Mine is more of a dreamer. Really worried how he'll cope when he goes to P1.

I guess mummies will sacrifice anything for their kids. :-)

Row (row)
Username: row

Post Number: 250
Posted on Thursday, May 15, 2008 - 3:35 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I am 37+, had my #3 last sept. Took unpaid leave for 6mth and just decided to become a SAHM to take care of my precious ones. My eldest is going 9 and second going 6 this year.

Apple (apple2002)
Username: apple2002

Post Number: 9
Posted on Thursday, May 15, 2008 - 5:56 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I am 38+ and had my #3 last Nov. I am a FTWM just back to full time starting last month. My elder 2 gals are 9 and 6 this year. Also considering to quit my job next year when my no.2 goes to P1, but have to think and plan on our finances first....

Sue (jershejos)

Post Number: 39
Posted on Friday, May 16, 2008 - 4:25 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hey row and apple, we r similar... old... 3 kids... eldest 9 and youngest born last year... where do u stay? perhaps we can have mummy-of-3 gathering!!!

Toby (toby)
Username: toby

Post Number: 64
Posted on Friday, May 16, 2008 - 10:52 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

i am 36, just gave birth to my first baby this march. i am no where close to some of you gals who have 3 already. wow! i am not working so trying to enjoy motherhood. it is hard coz i am a new mum and everything is so new, baby crying all the time, no sleep, arms all sore from carrying baby...hopefully things will look up soon.

Apple (apple2002)
Username: apple2002

Post Number: 11
Posted on Saturday, May 17, 2008 - 12:06 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hello Sue,
I stay in Seng Kang, how abt u?

Sue (jershejos)

Post Number: 40
Posted on Saturday, May 17, 2008 - 11:36 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

boon keng...

PB (puffzpooh)
Username: puffzpooh

Post Number: 15
Posted on Sunday, May 25, 2008 - 2:35 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi baby 40, are u still giving away the tablets? i'm interested but u dun accept private msgs.

happyface (happyface1)
Username: happyface1

Post Number: 593
Posted on Sunday, August 17, 2008 - 11:29 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi, I am 38 this year and two children, 4yrs and the younger one is just 8 mths.
Both are premature birth. Very tough.

And at the moment, i am obesy and may get out of job soon. I am thinking to quit but can i affort to depend on one income if i had no job...thinking so hard..and also thinking to have third kid if possible this two years...yet the income, my job, bf....aiyo...so many to worry.

Sue (jershejos)

Post Number: 60
Posted on Wednesday, August 20, 2008 - 10:54 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi Happygace, money is always not enough... me too, thought a lot before I decided to quit last year. u will juz need to forgo a lot of luxury stuff, like facial, hair cut...
ur kids are still young, so u can teach them about saving, not everything asked shall be given...
b4 i reaisned, i did a very detail financial analysis with every single expeses recorded down and show to my hubby on the feasibility on single income. at the end of day, he has to feel comfortable and not pressurised.
being a SAHM after so many years of working is not ez, definitely, I suggest u join the other thread "2007 sahm n bf mum", many good stories and information there.
good luck

Rachel C (rachel18)
Username: rachel18

Post Number: 107
Posted on Friday, September 12, 2008 - 12:01 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I am 37+ this yr, FTWM and have a 10 months old bb boy and pregnant now with another one and will be due in Apr. Hope to continue to be FTWM.

Wonder did all mummies did amnio for yr pregnancies? I have done it for the 1st one and will be doing it for this one as well.

Fairyprincess (fairyprincess)
Username: fairyprincess

Post Number: 691
Posted on Friday, September 12, 2008 - 2:18 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I hope you are all still reading this thread...

Can i find out why most of you decided to space out your 3rd kid after the first 2 are older (>3YO)...any particular reason at all e.g. finances; easier to handle when they are older etc?

How do you cope with 3, i.e. the needs of the elder two are increasing due to school work/ pressure, and it is tiring looking after a newborn, so how to have energy to supervise the older kids?

Thanks much.

Sue (jershejos)

Post Number: 77
Posted on Friday, September 12, 2008 - 2:54 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

For me, my elder 2 are also 4 years apart. This last one came due to accident ;-P. I chose 4 yrs as the gap as I dun wanna stress my self out with 2 young toddler.

I do feel the stress of supervising my eldest while taking care of the baby. In fact my eldest's results are deteriorating but I'm stretch since the baby needs are equally important. It's worse as I'm still BF the baby, when I step away, my eldest will daydream. I still cannot find a better way to manage. Luckily my 2nd is better discipline and not schooling yet.

Fairyprincess (fairyprincess)
Username: fairyprincess

Post Number: 693
Posted on Friday, September 12, 2008 - 4:19 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Thank Sue,

Mine are currently 3 and 5, and next year, I will be 36, so if I want another, cannot wait much longer...sigh...

happyface (happyface1)

Post Number: 812
Posted on Saturday, September 20, 2008 - 3:18 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi, midnite leh, no time to read...I am coming 39 next year....thinking of 3rd child...but many..worry...as my experience is 3 mths premature for 1st one and almost the same the second one but message to wait till 35 weeks birth , that is about 1 month eariler...:-)

Cant Sleep...nothing to do, search net...very crazy on this and got hook up liao...no business also ...

hassy (hassy)
Username: hassy

Post Number: 1
Posted on Tuesday, December 02, 2008 - 11:54 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi ladies :-)

I'm 36 and a mother of 3 - 13, 11 and 20 month old. It's a different experience altogether having another child much later and when the gap between the kids are huge :-).Interested to meet other mommies.

happyface (happyface1)

Post Number: 1188
Posted on Tuesday, January 20, 2009 - 9:53 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi to all mummies between 38yrs to 42yrs.

Do you face any low pacental during your pregnancy? IS there any mummies with this age conceiving for another child?

anakNIN (isn)
Username: isn

Post Number: 58
Posted on Saturday, March 07, 2009 - 11:52 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

So sorry for jumping in to this thread. Im 34 this year & my boy is coming to 2YO this Sept. Both hubby & myself planned to have another baby say in 3-5 years from now.
What worries me is that Ive always heard people saying that being pregnant after 35 could be dangerous to both baby & mummy.
Pls advise, especially those mummies whom had already went thru this sort of situations.

Many2 thnx

happyface (happyface1)

Post Number: 1266
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 8:22 am:   Edit Post Print Post

AnakNIN,

Try not to . If cant have it earily will be best . I am suffering at the age of 39 with pregnancy. very tiring and risky in life for both. Need to have Down Sysdrome Check .

Priviledged (priviledged)
Username: priviledged

Post Number: 3181
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 9:45 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Interesting thread :-). I'm 41, have 3 kids, oldest will be 5 in June, youngest 6 weeks old. #2 has just turned 2.
I'm a SAHM. I look after my 3 by myself. No maid. Tiring but fulfilling.
Never did any Down Syndrome checks with any of my kids cos we had no intention of taking any action.
My pregnancies were all very smooth and thank God, my babies are all really wonderful blessings.

anakNIN,
My first pregnancy was at 35, birth at 36.
After my #2 at 39, my gynae happily declared that I should have more. So we did :-).

Sue (jershejos)

Post Number: 171
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 2:24 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I guess it's all depending on one's health.
I had my 1st at 30, 2nd at 34 and 3rd at 38 and the last pregnancy was horribly bad!!! My 1st was brilliant, probably I'm still young then, I can even chase after buses...
My last pregnancy was bad, even though I'm already stay home then, I had threaten mis-carriage, high blood pressure, infection etc etc.

AnakNIN, just curious why u wanna wait so long to have another one.

anakNIN (isn)

Post Number: 61
Posted on Saturday, March 21, 2009 - 1:56 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

My 3rd son is only 18 mths old.
I dun know, but everytime i look at my boy, i always feel so "kesian". If i were to have another baby, im afraid that the love & attention i'll have for him will be lesser. He is the PAMPERED type. Guess maybe becoz he's the smallest in the family. Anyway, all my children's age gap is very2 far. My girl is already 16, my second one is 10 & my last one is only 18 mth. Thats y i'd rather wait for a few more years before having another one.
Just wanna spend more time with them while they're still young.
hehehehe
But im still looking forward for at least another 1 or 2 more babies. (Only if i can manage of coz)

Sue (jershejos)

Post Number: 172
Posted on Saturday, March 21, 2009 - 10:02 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

wow wow wow, anakNIN, u really start young huh? welldone man...

Priviledged (priviledged)
Username: priviledged

Post Number: 3194
Posted on Saturday, March 21, 2009 - 10:20 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

anakNIN,
Wow, your kids are really far apart in age! But it's easier for you, cos the older ones are independent already. Not like me, running after the 2YO whilst the newborn is crying away, changing diapers for 2 kids, feeding all three kids simultaneously etc.

I think if I had gotten married earlier, we'd also probably have 4 or 5 kids. We love kids, though they sometimes make us very angry and frustrated.

anakNIN (isn)

Post Number: 64
Posted on Tuesday, March 31, 2009 - 2:40 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

yeah,
thats y i waited that long to have another one. Im thinking of having another one, who knows maybe its a girl(m hoping for one), but guess i'll have to wait for at least 2-3 years later.

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Last 72 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use