| Author |
Message |

junnie (junniezz)
Member Username: junniezz
Post Number: 691 Registered: 10-2006
| | Posted on Monday, November 12, 2007 - 5:44 pm: |
appreciate mummy undergone abv can shall more info? eg. r there any side effects to look out? will mensus b heavier & longer than b4? thks. |

Vivienne (bywjyx)
New member Username: bywjyx
Post Number: 20 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Monday, November 12, 2007 - 9:58 pm: |
Hi junnie, there are no side effects. As for menses i'm not sure cos i haven't get it yet. I am fully BF my baby that's y. |

junnie (junniezz)
Post Number: 694 Registered: 10-2006
| | Posted on Monday, November 12, 2007 - 10:26 pm: |
hi vivienne..thks. oic, so u TBF, tat's y no mensus yet, me not BF, TFM, still hving mensus after almost 7wks, pending for papsmear, (1st mth was v heavy, gradually subside, now come bk again, jus wonder izzit normal or bcos of ligation?) |

celia (hello88)
Member Username: hello88
Post Number: 929 Registered: 3-2005
| | Posted on Monday, November 12, 2007 - 11:06 pm: |
Hi junnie, according to my gynae, one of the side effect of ligation wld be heavy menses |

junnie (junniezz)
Post Number: 695 Registered: 10-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 13, 2007 - 7:59 pm: |
hi celia..thks... so tat means we'll hv heavy menses fm now on actually i v blur, i didnt ask any side effects or not & opted for ligation straight after delivery!!i heard my relative saying abt causing ectopic pregnancy??? now then wanna find out more like v stupid, so hope to hear more info fm mummies who knw abt it. |

Vivienne (bywjyx)
Post Number: 21 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 14, 2007 - 9:22 am: |
junnie - dun say stupid, u jus wants to know more like me. Abt menses, i'm not able to give u any inform . Sorry. If i'm not wrong abt ectopic pregnancy, it's only if u undo the sugery then there's a risk. Dun think too much everything will be alright! |

junnie (junniezz)
Post Number: 699 Registered: 10-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 14, 2007 - 10:20 am: |
morning vivienne... huh, u mean can remove meh? my gynae told me is permanent leh tat's y keep ensuring tat i hv really 'make up my mind' b4 the surgery.....mine is 'clipped', yours too? or 'cut' away the tube? i'm reluctant to chk w my gynae cos not sure when going bk to see her again & they dun 'entertain' queries via phone, anyone can help chk w your gynae & advice? |

Vivienne (bywjyx)
Post Number: 25 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 14, 2007 - 11:15 am: |
Good morning junnie, I dunno 'cos when i go 4 my last chk up, my gynae ask if i want another baby so i said how to already cut? She said she can undo 4 me if i want, so i guess mine is clipped. |

jas (jcc)
New member Username: jcc
Post Number: 4 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 14, 2007 - 11:25 am: |
just did it last month, my gynae told me can reverse but very high cost. My menses came last week and it's really heavy compare to last time....before tt it only last 3 days but now for 1 week and so much. |

tamarind (tamarind)
Intermediate Member Username: tamarind
Post Number: 4814 Registered: 4-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, November 14, 2007 - 11:26 am: |
I had tubal ligation last year. Yes I did have heavier menses, but it is still OK lah. One gynae told me to take painkillers like the pink color Panadol for menses pill which can help to lighten the menses. It works for me. Now more than 1 year later, my menses started to get lighter even without taking pain killers. |

junnie (junniezz)
Post Number: 706 Registered: 10-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, November 15, 2007 - 11:03 pm: |
hi, thks vivienne, jas & tamarind for sharing. so now i knw ligation will cause heavy flow than b4, at least get some info here. dun tink will reverse lah, if nt, wont ligate in the 1st place!! i did mine right after delivery cos still hv epidural on, if nt, gynae said will hv to wait 6wks later then can ligate via 'key-hole' - got to pain 2x, must well get it done & pain 1x, hehe ;) |

Vivienne (bywjyx)
Post Number: 49 Registered: 11-2007
| | Posted on Friday, November 16, 2007 - 9:48 am: |
junnie - no problem! |

rubber_ducky (rubber_ducky)
Junior Member Username: rubber_ducky
Post Number: 112 Registered: 8-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, November 22, 2007 - 7:40 pm: |
hello gals. I'm having my second kid, my first kid's only 10 months old now. plan to ligate after the second one pops. may i know how much is the procedure? what is the diff betwn 'clipping' and 'cutting away the tube'? |

tamarind (tamarind)
Intermediate Member Username: tamarind
Post Number: 4866 Registered: 4-2005
| | Posted on Friday, November 23, 2007 - 9:45 am: |
rubber_ducky, I went to SGH to for the surgery. Costs about $600. Cutting away is permanent, clipping may be reversible. |

junnie (junniezz)
Post Number: 718 Registered: 10-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 27, 2007 - 12:00 pm: |
hi rubber_ducky, mine done straight after giving birth @ME two mths ago, cos gynae only practice there, v X, almost 1K+ for ligation alone. i jus went for chk-up last week & gynae said nowsaday only clipped no cut away, to reverse v X & no side effect to ligate. i told her i got heavy mensus aftertat & she said ligate got nothing to do with hormone. if dun ligate after birth, will hv to wait at least 6wks & do key-hole day surgery for ligation & my gynae only do ligtation for patient abv 35 onwards. |

rubber_ducky (rubber_ducky)
Junior Member Username: rubber_ducky
Post Number: 119 Registered: 8-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, November 27, 2007 - 5:58 pm: |
thanks tamarind and junnie for the info :-) i'm not yet 35, but i really want to be ligated. My gynae's from TMc, i shall ask her for more advice..thx |

Aoi Yuu (aoi)
New member Username: aoi
Post Number: 28 Registered: 12-2006
| | Posted on Saturday, February 23, 2008 - 10:46 pm: |
3 Different Methods of Tubal Ligation:
http://health.yahoo.com/birthcontrol-overview/tubal-ligation-and-tubal-implants/healthwise--hw7305.html |

magoo (magoo)
Member Username: magoo
Post Number: 1722 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, February 28, 2008 - 12:27 pm: |
Hi all, I also intended to go for ligation in this coming June.. After ligation , the menses really will be heavier huh? i now experiencing bad cramp n heavy flow during menses after i gave birth to my boy in Sept 07.. My gynae told me this process is irreversible. although is clipped.. |

Tan Leng Leng (tanlengleng)
Senior Member Username: tanlengleng
Post Number: 10692 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, February 28, 2008 - 5:43 pm: |
Hi all, I just visited KKH on Tue, the MO told me they will only do clipping at KKH, & I have to consider it as non-reversal... Also they will do it on 2nd day after we give birth, thru a little "U" cut below our belly button, anyone done it at KKH? Thanks.  |

baobeixuan (jyeo48)
New member Username: jyeo48
Post Number: 52 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 10:59 am: |
Hi ladies can share w me the bill for ligation? If banded can it be reversible? |

Post Number: 13394 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 11:19 am: |
jyeo48, KKH MO told me to consider it as non-reversal... |

baobeixuan (jyeo48)
New member Username: jyeo48
Post Number: 55 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, October 30, 2008 - 1:42 pm: |
is there any age limit for ligation? |

Post Number: 13431 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, October 30, 2008 - 2:31 pm: |
jyeo48, if you are too young, doc may advise you not to do ligation.  |

Dymples (acthia)
Intermediate Member Username: acthia
Post Number: 2924 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, November 06, 2008 - 12:12 am: |
Hi Ladies, I'm currently due to deliver no.3 soon and am considering tubal ligation. However, I'm afraid there will be side effects cos from internet got such thing as Post Tubal Ligation Syndrome. Can refer to the website below for details. http://www.tubal.org/VGHPTS.htm I checked with my gynae and she said from her years of experience... most patients dun experience much side effects. Dunno how true leh. I really dun want to be preggie with no.4 liaoz. 3 kids is more then enough for me. Any ladies who can share their post tubal ligation experience? Appreciate all feedback. Many many thks. |

Post Number: 13497 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, November 06, 2008 - 11:40 am: |
Dymples (acthia). my mum told me about the "loss of sex drive" part...  |

maybemummy (maybemummy)
Junior Member Username: maybemummy
Post Number: 106 Registered: 9-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, November 06, 2008 - 12:22 pm: |
What are the criteria for ligation? No. of kids you have so far? Your age? |

Dymples (acthia)
Post Number: 2927 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, November 06, 2008 - 2:42 pm: |
Leng Leng Oh really yah... thats not good leh. I'm also afraid that my breastmilk SS will decrease or will get heavy menses. Haiz.. really dilemma whether to go for ligation or not. maybemummy, I tink one of the main criteria is that you must be above 35-yrs. Other then that, the gynae will also want to make sure that you will not want to have anymore BB's cos this procedure is irreversible. Maybe you'll also wanna discuss this wz your hub before coming to a decision. |

Post Number: 13503 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, November 06, 2008 - 2:46 pm: |
Dymples, how old are you, there's other contraceptives methods mah... BFing is a good one...  |

Dymples (acthia)
Post Number: 2931 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, November 06, 2008 - 3:10 pm: |
Leng Leng I'm already 35-yrs liaoz. I've tried all sorts of contrceptives... but majority dun work for me leh. The Pill --> not suitable cos I'm those tat can never remember to take pills. Also I really hate popping medicine into my mouth unless totally and really boh pianz. I dun even take multi-vitamins lor. Injection --> Continuous bleeding for almost 5-mths. Cos I have Thalassemia, this caused me to become severly anaemic. Patch --> Extreme hormonal mood swings. It got so bad... almost slipped into depression. IUD --> not yet try. Thinking of this as alternative. |

Post Number: 13505 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, November 06, 2008 - 3:22 pm: |
Dymples, I'm also thinking of IUD, but polyclinic & KKH can't do it till my menses comes. My mom says after ligation, her virginal is dryer & she doesn't enjoy intercourse as much as before. She specifically told me & my MIL NOT TO ligate... Another method... Ask hubby to ligate... hehehe... My hubby rather take chance to have #4 BB than go for ligation...hahaha... |

Dymples (acthia)
Post Number: 2936 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, November 06, 2008 - 4:06 pm: |
Leng Leng, hahahah... that's a good idea. Get DH to ligate instead. Yah lor... why must we women bear the rbunt of everything hor. Pregnancy hormones, pain of child birth, then now ligation. *hmmp* Aiyoh... but my hub definately won't want lor. He also rather have no.4 then go ligate. *faintz* |

Post Number: 13527 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, November 06, 2008 - 4:52 pm: |
Dymples, <hi-5> |

JustMe (highvolt)
Member Username: highvolt
Post Number: 1407 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Sunday, December 28, 2008 - 1:14 pm: |
hi mummies, i think for guys, they call it Vasectomy =) |

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member Username: mashybrainz
Post Number: 8634 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, December 28, 2008 - 5:28 pm: |
Since the guys don't mind having #4, then why are you ligating? I think it's better not to ligate so early esp if u dunno if u might wanna give birth again. There's been cases of parents giving birth again to save their sibling who has some illness. If u cut it off, there's no turning back. |

Melissa Sedore (melno1mom)
New member Username: melno1mom
Post Number: 1 Registered: 1-2009
| | Posted on Thursday, January 15, 2009 - 1:26 am: |
I'm 26 with 3 kids ages 5,3,1. I have been haveing a hard time with doctors not willing to give me a tubal ligation because of my age. last monday I have found a doctor willing and i have a appoment feb 20th and i have ppl telling me that i will lose weight after and im hopeing thats not right. im already under weight and have been trying to gain 30lbs my goul is to be 120lbs.. Have you lost or gained after your tubal ligation? |

Post Number: 14325 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, January 15, 2009 - 9:17 am: |
My mum says will gain weight after ligation leh...  |

Chris (cschris73)
Junior Member Username: cschris73
Post Number: 345 Registered: 8-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 20, 2009 - 3:30 pm: |
Hi, I read from KKH that there is another type of permanent contraceptive called "Coil insert" which no need for day surgery coz no cut is required. Side-effect is not as much as clip/cut ligation. But the cost will be more expensive. Anybody done this method before ? Can share ? |

Jane (libra78)
New member Username: libra78
Post Number: 1 Registered: 12-2009
| | Posted on Tuesday, December 22, 2009 - 5:08 am: |
Hello Moms, Good morning! Need ur advice please. I am considering a reverse tubal ligation, my OBGYNE has given her OK...my uterus is very fine, there should be no problem to conceive again. My concern is, I need to know where particularly in Singapore and how much? My OBGYNE is currently out of the country right now and any info from you would be highly appreciated. |