SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2008 Mums * (2008/08) Aug 2008 < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
ArchiveM2B (mavys_m2bagain)65549 657 2-10-12  5:04 pm
Archive through March 01, 2012YLN (doll_puppet)100 3-01-12  9:40 am
Archive through March 26, 2012celynlee (celynlee)100 3-26-12  4:20 pm
Archive through May 03, 2012snowhamster (snowham100 5-03-12  12:21 pm
Archive through August 06, 2012Snow74 (snow74)100 8-06-12  8:45 am
Archive through September 04, 2012celynlee (celynlee)100 9-04-12  11:08 am
Archive through October 29, 2012Snow74 (snow74)100 10-29-12  1:02 pm
Archive through November 27, 2012Mummy2LovelyKids (mu100 11-27-12  2:36 am
Archive through January 08, 2013celynlee (celynlee)100 1-08-13  3:57 pm
Archive through March 13, 2013celynlee (celynlee)100 3-13-13  2:19 pm
Archive through April 23, 2013celynlee (celynlee)100 4-23-13  10:30 am
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

krex78 (krex78)
Username: krex78

Post Number: 3569
Posted on Tuesday, April 23, 2013 - 11:07 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

celyn,

i had a slot for berries this yr on sun but hb says don't want to send. J is my social experiment now. when he struggles in p1, i'm sure hb will agree that both can go for berries, haha. by then, both #1 and #2 shld be able to go for same timing at the centre, provided no queue.

for the time being, we're getting J to choose 1 eng and 1 chinese book for bedtime story. he speaks a bit more mandarin now (most likely due to sch influence) but prob not enough to survive p1 :-)

celynlee (celynlee)
Username: celynlee

Post Number: 14290
Posted on Tuesday, April 23, 2013 - 11:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

krex78,
i'm not sure if by p1, sending to berries is good or not. i heard they are only good for pre-schooler. come primary level, not as strong.

my friend is changing his son to other school comes p1 and drop berries. as i mention, most feedback is not so good for primary level.

for me, i will drop all enrichment class except for music when they goes to primary school. unless they struggle with their work (i don't need them to get As), then i will look for enrichment class.

Ratatouille (gan_chiong_spider)
Advanced Member
Username: gan_chiong_spider

Post Number: 5497
Posted on Tuesday, April 23, 2013 - 11:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

celyn, i dun ve the courage to drive liao lei. yes lor u know b4 Jarrel turn 18mths my sun schedule is horrible when hubby ve to work or out of town n i cant manage alone need my parents to help. Dat time Jac phonics lesson was the same 11-1230 so morning I will bring Jarrel over to my brother hse so dat he can take his morning nap as his lesson was in the noon while I send Jac for class come back take lunch, pump n is time to bring Jarrel for gym class (2.15-3.30) at diff location as Jac phonics sch and leave Jac with my parents coz Jarrel lesson parents ve to go accompany then by late noon i return n bring both hm.... can u imagine...... once he turn 18mths can start phonics I swap him over n phew such a relieve now.

For Jac Tien Hsia class actually her command of chinese is ok juz dat she need to learn to recognize, read n write so i send her for class coz i lazy to teach n i cant teach.

As for swimming main reason coz is a life saving skill which i think is good to achieve and also good for strengthening her lungs as she easily down with cough.

celynlee (celynlee)

Post Number: 14291
Posted on Tuesday, April 23, 2013 - 2:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rata,
you can make it one. you just need to try out a few times with help. then you will be fine. my instructor tell me once you know how to drive, you will be able to drive just rusty only. after a few times, you will be fine like riding bicycle.

krex78 (krex78)

Post Number: 3570
Posted on Tuesday, April 23, 2013 - 2:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

celyn,

which sch is gd for P1 chinese then? the sch i'm planning to send him to seems to offer higher chinese...not sure if that will help or demoralise him, haha.

for now, he seems to be doing ok. every sat, he spends the afternoon doing hw and he is able to keep up for both eng and chinese. chinese teacher only commented he doesn't speak enough mandarin in class.

rata,

with practice, i'm sure u can drive. i'm not very gd either but becoz sometimes my hb comes back late, i also have to drive my kids back. during sch holidays if i want to bring J out, i also try to drive and use the GPS, so i can practise more. if it's short distance and familar route, shldn't be too bad. unless your hb has a very big car and u find it very hard to manouvre...

Advanced Member

Post Number: 5498
Posted on Tuesday, April 23, 2013 - 3:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Celyn, Krex, thanks for encouragement but I still cant move the reluctant legs. I tried once n i was so rusty till my hubby got to move my sterling wheel for me not to talk abt parking sia....

Celyn, same like bicycle i used to know but so long no ride dat I dun dare too.

Anyway hubby job he need the car so when he work late I ve to go hm on my own too onli dat if he is out of town n I dare to drive then it will helps quite abit

krex78 (krex78)

Post Number: 3571
Posted on Tuesday, April 23, 2013 - 4:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rata,

i thought u were cycling last time when preggie with #1? i was also quite scared to pillon #2 on my recent cycling trips but with practice, it gets much easier. it's a scary feeling when the life of your little one is dependent on how well you can balance the bike and your personal road safety :P

Sylvia (yumeumi)
Advanced Member
Username: yumeumi

Post Number: 6172
Posted on Wednesday, April 24, 2013 - 12:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wah..... very rare this thread is so active!

celynlee (celynlee)

Post Number: 14292
Posted on Wednesday, April 24, 2013 - 8:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

morning mommies

krex78,
i'm not sure what is good from p1 onwards. i didn't survey the school and check for feedback.

they have homework to do? basically, yu ze is idling around at home. only berries has a 1 page, 4 - 5 question homework.

rata,
go try, its easier when he is not in town and you can take the car. basically, now i don't have to care whether hubby needs to work late or work on weekends cos i have the car, i can just do all the picking and sending. the kids don't have to stay at home whole day just cos papa is not in and no car to bring them out.

btw, do you pay bus fare for j? i want to bring them to take bus but don't know how to go about paying for the bus fare. both of them can go without paying but with only 1 paying adult fare, can they go for free? end up, i never bring them take bus on my own. its always cab.

Advanced Member

Post Number: 5499
Posted on Wednesday, April 24, 2013 - 10:09 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Krex, When did u see me cycling? no la I last cycle in sec sch days.

Celyn, Jarrel is still not 90cm so officially no need to pay. For Jac I never pay lei. Think the bus driver see my so poor thing carrying Jarrel and so much things n hold on to Jac they also dun bare to ask me to pay then i will start digging for money. hahahaha

celynlee (celynlee)

Post Number: 14293
Posted on Wednesday, April 24, 2013 - 10:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rata,
for me, both will be walking and going up bus themselves, i don't carry them. that's why i wonder how i should pay for the bus fare loh. yu xi is below 90cm, yu ze might be there but he still looks below 90cm. so most of the time, i can pass him through most places free even though they say need to pay at 90cm.

krex78 (krex78)

Post Number: 3572
Posted on Wednesday, April 24, 2013 - 10:22 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

celyn,

kids below 1.2m no need to pay. for train, height limit is 0.9m. so J pays for train but not for bus. i bought concecession card for J. btw, u got your licence recently or many yrs back?

rata,

i rem reading somewhere u fell while cycling when preggie. not u? maybe my memory is failing me, tsk tsk.

celynlee (celynlee)

Post Number: 14294
Posted on Wednesday, April 24, 2013 - 10:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

krex78,
is it? i thought its 0.9m. i got my licence last year, still a triangle plate driver. so old then start learning. :P

krex78 (krex78)

Post Number: 3579
Posted on Wednesday, April 24, 2013 - 10:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

celyn,

yes, 1.2m for bus.

never too old. classic example of why rata should start driving as well, heehee.

celynlee (celynlee)

Post Number: 14295
Posted on Wednesday, April 24, 2013 - 11:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

krex78,
hahaha..... good.

Advanced Member

Post Number: 5500
Posted on Wednesday, April 24, 2013 - 11:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

krex, hahahaha call me scary cat. I juz got no guts to do it. I thot bus also 90cm? I dun pay for mrt too. hahahaha

krex78 (krex78)

Post Number: 3580
Posted on Wednesday, April 24, 2013 - 5:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rata,

how u escape mrt gantry? u carry jac? i bot J a concession pass partly to make him excited abt tapping lah. so donate a few cents to transport operator lor. when i bring him out on 1 on 1 outing, i will make him wear the pass around his neck...gives him a sense of responsibility, haha.

Advanced Member

Post Number: 5501
Posted on Thursday, April 25, 2013 - 8:17 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Krex, I juz let her walk thru. avoid the gantry near to control station hahahaha carrying a 22kg load is no joke. Wait till they tell me to buy then i buy. Anyway I take bus more freq than mrt when I am alone. coz all her classes are within Jurong area so bus will do.

celynlee (celynlee)

Post Number: 14296
Posted on Thursday, April 25, 2013 - 8:25 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

morning mommies

rata,
must encourage you to take up driving again. my colleague who is 50 just passed her driving last year too. now with auto car, its easier.

Advanced Member

Post Number: 5502
Posted on Thursday, April 25, 2013 - 8:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Celyn, mine also auto car. The problem is when i think of my kids life in my hand n wat if i bang the car i will call off the driving.

celynlee (celynlee)

Post Number: 14297
Posted on Thursday, April 25, 2013 - 9:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rata,
don't think that way. within a year from getting my license, i bang twice. both good thing is kids not in the car. once i'm in between a cyclist and a bus. i try to avoid the cyclist, and bang into bus which i didn't see it coming. it happen so fast that i don't even know its my fault and i bang into the bus or the bus bang into me. another one is i'm turning and didn't see the car at the corner cos being block and we bang.

when accident happens, it can be your fault or it can be other driver's fault as well. we just have to be extra careful about it.

krex78 (krex78)

Post Number: 3582
Posted on Thursday, April 25, 2013 - 9:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rata,

who is 22kg? jac? that's heavy!!! err...does it help if i tell u i drive a manual? heehee.

celyn,

the 2 times my car met with a minor accident (bang car in front), i had a child inside. first time was me banging taxi driver when i was preggie and J was inside. second time was hb banging car in front and both kids inside. but thankfully all minor accidents. the kids were unfazed...still happily playing their games in the car :-)

Advanced Member

Post Number: 5503
Posted on Thursday, April 25, 2013 - 11:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Celyn, but my fear is there. also thinking apart fr the injuries fr accident also the amt i ve to pay for.

Krex, Recent MOH check in sch shows dats her weight (over weight)!!! but i am not doing anything abt it coz she dun look over weight to me lei. mayb coz her bb tummy still there dats y.

We had one accident with the whole family on board dat was juz a few mths after we bought the car (though is 2nd hand still heart pain). It was rainning and there was a jam so our car was stationary just as the traffic starts moving and hubby getting ready to move off we heard brake sound n fllow by a bang! A lady bang into us. lucky no one injured best part is Jarrel was in my arm n not car seat as I was feeding milk then. The impact not huge but our boot got dented in once open cannot close back liao.

Apart fr this hubby also scrap the side of the car twice at car park dat we dun bother to get it rework.

I took 3 attemp b4 i gotten my license so u all can imagine how bad I am.

celynlee (celynlee)

Post Number: 14298
Posted on Thursday, April 25, 2013 - 12:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rata,
i see. last time is different lah cos its manual mah. if you ask me to take manual, i think i will take a few time to pass to. even with auto, i took 2 to pass.

krex78 (krex78)

Post Number: 3583
Posted on Thursday, April 25, 2013 - 2:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rata,

wow, J is only 16kg (i think). has been at this weight for the longest time. i think he stopped growing temporarily already, haha. even his shoe size didn't really increase. he's been wearing the same shoe size for more than a yr already :P

Advanced Member

Post Number: 5504
Posted on Thursday, April 25, 2013 - 3:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

krex, Jac weight still grow but slow down, her height is wrose onli 5cm per yr.... Jarrel is weighing 16kg liao. anyway most impt is healthy :-)

krex78 (krex78)

Post Number: 3584
Posted on Thursday, April 25, 2013 - 4:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

OMG, your #2 is same weight as my #1! *faint* how tall is jac now?

Advanced Member

Post Number: 5505
Posted on Friday, April 26, 2013 - 11:17 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jac is ave height onli 108cm.

celynlee (celynlee)

Post Number: 14299
Posted on Monday, April 29, 2013 - 9:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

morning mommies

Advanced Member

Post Number: 5506
Posted on Tuesday, April 30, 2013 - 8:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Morning

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use