SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2012 Mums * (2012/10) Oct 2012 * Archive * Archive through May 30, 2012 < Previous Next >

Quinny (greenteafrappe)
Username: greenteafrappe

Post Number: 68
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 12:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi mummies, do you know of any motherhood exhibition after the one this weekend? Like end of the year or early next year. Cos I'm thinking just stuff that the newborn needs this time round, the rest buy after baby is born... space constraint as I have yet to move to my own house...heehee

Quinny (greenteafrappe)

Post Number: 69
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 12:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Summer, welcome to the thread! What a timely post cos I am just getting started to look at baby cot! How much did you get it for, which OG did you go to?

summer (summerpiggy)
Username: summerpiggy

Post Number: 2
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 1:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Quinny, I got it at OG people's park. I saw it frm the OG magazine sent to my mum and found it quite gd & cheap.. I've been looking ard and they are all quite ex.. This one is made of oak wood. firm & steady. plus got freebies.. so i decided to just get it. its $299. free delivery & installation. ohh.. can have 2 positions.. i oso dunno hw to explain.. haha.. you will know when you go and take a look. http://www.og.com.sg/2012GSSinstore.php?link_v=4#kids

Baby (baby_jo)
Username: baby_jo

Post Number: 1320
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 1:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Sharon:
wanted to know the cost before deciding. Have u check with cordlife?

Same here! My #2 also same gender as #1. No plans to buy anything yet.
#1, I buy and buy.

sharonk (sharon_k)
Username: sharon_k

Post Number: 191
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 1:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

babyjo: haha i asked about the 21yrs plan is 5992$ after gst under this promotion till this week.
If not the 21yrs plan is 6.2k before gst.
Still thinking to sign up anot leh.. ..

haha! yeah lor. I wanted to shop but yet lazy to shop.

Now i have to think to use which brand of milk bottles shld i get for #2?

raspy (raspy)
Username: raspy

Post Number: 541
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 2:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Seems like alot of you had started shopping for bb already. We still haven't really buy much, cause seems like for #2, alot of stuff can be recycle/share. Only consumables need to be top up.

Re. Pacificers
New mum might want to hold on to the purchase of pacificer cause some babies don't take pacificer. I remember for my #1, we only bought 1 to standby cause we heard from alot of mummies that their babies refused pacificers and their pacificer were put to waste. But pros and con on pacificer, cause some mummies prefer bb not to take pacificers due to dental/speech development. For my #1, she prefers pacificers and we gave her. Now wondering how to get her to quit.. ummm..

yean (yean)
Username: yean

Post Number: 541
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 3:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ming8110, thanks for the info. Yeah, this info would be helpful. I m thinking to seek for other gynae advice too. My #1 case was she was 3.5kg based on W37 scan, so, he advised to have c sect as he believed bb might grow ard 4kg by my edd. But bb was delivered in 3.345kg....and he advised me to deliver in c-sect for #2 since my 1st time was c-sect to reduce to risk.

mummywong10 (mummywong10)
Username: mummywong10

Post Number: 1117
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 4:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yean> apparently if u hv previous c-sec, and would liek to try natural for subsequent delivery, u have to look for gynae who are pro-VBAC and like what Ming mentioned, there are some areas for the gynae to consider and advise whether you are suitable. Also, as you might know, there are risks involved, example u might end up with wound rupture/emergency c-sec and double the costs, thus u really have to discuss with a pro-VBAC gynae and consider about it.

Autumn A> oh u better go to a GP with the cream, since it's external application and small amount, it's unlikely that it will hurt the bb, dont worry and faster get some medication to sooth yr itichiness.

Baby> I also keep #1 cordblood with Cordlife and not doing for #2. I remember reading about something like this in the Oct FB page, some mummies mentioned they keeping #1 and #2 cordblood with different companies. But usually when u used back the same company, you get some "rebate".

Re: NB items
Like many other mummies, as already had a #1, I have been very slow in this..likely will just get some NB clothes (so at least the bb has a new set of full mth clothes), new pacifiers, teats/bottles, #2 bottles/teats (cos might need to change brand of bottles in order not to mix up which teats for which kid) towards T3 time..abit lazy and relaxed now...feel so guilty!

Re: Baby Items
1st time mums can consider to buy stuff such as breastpads, toiletries, feeding utensils (they can use when start to eat solid), wet wipes, diapers, bottles, teats etc during baby fair/promotions. Certain things remember not to overstock due to NB outgrown very fast from 0-3mths (clothes/diapers), baby food (take note of length of expiry too)

ming8110 (ming8110)
Username: ming8110

Post Number: 1181
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 5:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Raspy: We have the same problem with my no. 1 - she is super fond of her "du du" and seems to be increasingly reliant on it - not sure if that is due to Mei Mei's impending arrival. I took a friend's advice and cut a hole in her pacifier - she spat it out and asked for one which was "not spoiled". Sigh. So the new story I am selling her is that the old pacifier had a hole because she sucked on it so much. It is likely to have a hole if she only used it at bed time. I also pretend that I can't hear her if she talks with her pacifier in her mouth so that forces her to take out her pacifier sometimes.

Buying of clothes etc for no. 2: Things I have bought for no. 2 so far - (1) new mittens and booties (the elastic gets loose after a few washes I find), (2) some new baby clothes and sleep suits (taking advantage of the Carters' memorial day sale and the Isetan private sale), (3) a new steriliser (which comes with 2 milk bottles).

Will need to get: (1) more bottles, (2) diapers, (3) pacifier (undecided about this given no. 1's "addiction to it", (3) new burp cloths ( I recommend getting at least 2 dozen), (4) bottle brushes, (5) bottle detergent (may need less this time round 'cos hoping to latch but will see how things go), (6) new cot sheet, (7) more bath towels, (8) mattress protector, (9) new mattress for the play-yard.

For myself, will be getting: (1) maternity pads (I find the ones from Mothercare are very good for the initial days when the flow is very heavy), (2) nursing pads, (3)nipple cream (Mrs Wong recommends the Avent one - that is not bad and I rotated that with the Medela one), (4) Chinese herbs for bathing (all medical halls have pre-packed ones), (5) more button front night gowns / pyamas (helps greatly with breastfeeding)

skinneybeenie (skinneybeenie)
Username: skinneybeenie

Post Number: 1264
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 5:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i also have not bought anything for #2. But been reading daily quite a few books to #1 and #2 sometimes responds with kicks while i read. read to 1 = read to 2 :p

rach (chocoball)
Username: chocoball

Post Number: 719
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 6:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi mummies, i have 2 strollers on hand now, 1 kept in the car and another in my in laws place as they take care of my baby most of the time.

now, i m expecting #2, i intend to sell 1 of them away and buy a double stroller.

i have a peg perego si in java for sale and also a capella S802.

peg perego si
bought at $500+ at taka baby fair 1 year ago. want to sell for $350.
http://us.pegperego.com/babyproducts-catalog/2012/S%26%23236%3B
http://www.babytown.com.sg/peg-perego-si-classico-p-1887.html?cPath=83_187

capella S802
bought for $399
want to sell for $220
pic from internet here: (mine is red)
http://www.daddyhobby.com/forum/showthread.php?43146-NON-RC-Selling-Baby-Stroller-Capella-S802

do let me know if you are keen ok?

can send pics...
thanks!!

rach (chocoball)
Username: chocoball

Post Number: 720
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 6:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i have also a 2nd hand cot (brown) to give away with purchase of the stroller =)

Quinny (greenteafrappe)

Post Number: 70
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 8:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks Summer for the info and link. I'm trying to get one with castors and 3 adj heights for the mattress, with teething bar and safe mechanisim for moving the rail up and down. Of cos as cheap as possible cos I have a feeling baby won't sleep in it beyond 2 years.

Any mummies have any intro where to get such a cot at cheap cheap price? :P And which type of mattress is the most commonly used? Air mattress?

kanelmo (kanelmo)
Username: kanelmo

Post Number: 255
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 9:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm so laidback this time since it's #2. I probably should start buying now that I'm in my 2nd trimester and have energy. Ming reminded to also buy my own stuff, e.g. nursing pads, maternity pads, nursing bras, etc. I keep thinking there's still plenty of time.

yean (yean)

Post Number: 542
Posted on Monday, May 28, 2012 - 11:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mummy wong, Tks for the advice. Yeah understood the risk, so would like to seek for 2nd opinion fr gynae who r pro VBAC.
I wish to stock up some nb cloth for my #2, but dun know the gender yet. Will only know next scan in jun. sighs...

raspy (raspy)

Post Number: 543
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 9:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Good Morning Mummies!

Ming8110, 'cut a hole in her pacificer'.. I don't dare to try, cause I cant find her a replacement if she still insist on it. My girl is quite troublesome, she only want that 2 pacificer which we bought for her during newborn. We bought pigeon ones and after we bought that, pigeon came out with a totally new range of pacificer. Her two pacificers had turned slightly yellow from all the washing and sterilizing. We got the new pigeon pacificer for her but she spat out and ask for the old one. Sigh.. Im thinking, maybe 1 day she will outgrown it.

And for whether to give #2 pacificer, I guess got to depend on #2 whether he/she want to suck. Cause some babies must suck something for comfort and I saw some parents who are very insistent on not giving pacificers, giving those empty bottle teats to the baby to suck. I think that is even worse, cause that baby is sucking all the air/gas into his stomach.

Yean, If you want to go for VBAC, you need to decide now. Cause if your present gynae is not supportive of VBAC, its better to change the gynae to one who are pro VBAC. And most gynae doesn't want to accept patients who are in the late trimster. So need to start looking and changing now, otherwise might not be able to get.

kanelmo, Yah.. I think I also need to get more of my own stuff. I had start to buy slowly now, since this is our 2nd time, we kinda of know what to buy. So far bought 2 tubes of drapolene, 3 pigeon milk storage bottles only. You might want to start now since GSS is on now.

Ming8110, Thanks for your shopping list, I think my shopping list is close to yours. Im looking at nipple cream/gel last Sun. Tried purelan previously and wondering whether to get the same back. Is avent cream good? Maybe I should try avent this time.

Shopping list for bb
(1) Clothes for #2, I think at the minimum, we will get a set of newborn clothes for #2 to wear during discharge. We got lots of hand-me-down from inlaws previously for #1 but we hand back to them as they got a newborn last yr. So now need to wait to see the condition of the clothes again.

(2) Diapers, think will get later, near to delivery
(3) Bottles, will be recycling #1 ones, infact my #1 still using 120ml and 150ml bottles, so upgrading her bottles to 240ml to give up the smaller ones to #1.
(4) NB teat and Pacificer, will get 1 to standby,
(5) Sterlizer, we are still steaming #1 bottles and teats. So no problem for us.
(6) Burp clothes, we are using those white diaper cloths as burp clothes previously cause we found loads of them in the sack of hand-me-downs. Very useful and really need lots of them cause bb burp milk very frequent and they dry easily after wash. Hopefully we still get loads of them back.
(7) Bottle brushes and detergent, we still using for #1 so no need to get.
(8) Mattress protector, just bought another 2 more king-size ones last month. Will probably get 2 more single-size.
(9) Mattress for play-yard, we got the LG-playmat during #1 time. Still in mint condition. So no need to get too.
(10) Baby toiletries (bath lotion, cream, diaper cream, bb wipes), will need to get slowly.
(11) Mitten & Booties, we got loads of them in the hand-me-down previously (think got at least 20 sets). But I agree that some of the elastics can be quite loose after frequent washing. So need to check the conditions again
(12) Hankies, my mum just bought 1 dozen last month (add-on to the present stack). Will get another dozen soon. Yah, we used alot of hankies.

For myself,
(1) Maternity pad, need to get 1 pack of the loops one and 1 pack adhensive one.
(2) Disposable underwears, need to get plenty cause I intend to wear disposable during my confinement like my last time.
(3) Breast Pad, still got a box leftover but need to get some more.
(4) Nipple cream, considering whether to get purelan or other brand
(5) Chinese herb for bathing, the chinese medical shops below my place sells them, so no need to stock first.
(6) More front-button pyjamas/gowns, I agree with you, it helps alot during bf-ing. But most of them are not cheap. Will keep a lookout for cheap ones.

Thanks Ming8110!! Found that it really useful and kinda of keep me more organised typing out the above. Do cue me if you notice anything missing.

May (mayday80)
Username: mayday80

Post Number: 767
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 9:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Summer: Welcome!!!

ming8110 (ming8110)

Post Number: 1183
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 9:40 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

No problem Raspy. The list also helps me to keep track of what else I need to get. Remember to send your pump for servicing if you need to.

More things to add to list:
For baby -
(1) Bottles and bottle caps for storing breast milk (I collected a fair number of glass bottles from the hospital during no. 1's time but I think I prefer the Medela breastmilk bottles so will stock up on those).
(2) Baby lotion, yu yi oil and barrier cream (drapolene and desitin)
(3) Alcohol swabs andcord spirit (for baby's umbillical cord)
(4) gripe water (if you intend to give - I didn't for no. 1 and she had terrible colic. May give as a preventive measure for no. 2)
(4) Sterilising tablets (for sterilising the lock and lock box that I use to keep the sterilised bottles)
(5) New lock and lock box to keep the sterilised bottles

Bottles: I actually replace my daughter's bottles every 3 or 4 months (I think that is advised by the manufacturer so maybe you want to look into that?)

Steriliser: Got a new one so that no. 1 and no. 2 bottles are not mixed up.

For myself:
1). Disposable underwear (the pharmacy at TMC sells very good quality ones which can be washed and reused. Will get some during my next appointment)
2). More nursing bras
3). Herbs and alocohol for confinement (rice wine, DOM etc. No tang gui as that affects milk supply according to the nurses at TMC and Mrs Wong BB)

summer (summerpiggy)

Post Number: 3
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 9:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi May! Thks!! Nice meeting you here!
Hmm.. Seems like 1st time mummy have more things to buy.. So far only got the baby cot.. Will b gg for the fair this weekend. Hopefully can get some gd deals there..
Quinny: wow.. U got so many requirements for the baby cot..

SnU (snu)
Username: snu

Post Number: 95
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 9:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi ming,

rice wine,
do you order from those home made source, or just get from super market?

my mum has been bugging me to order early.

ccharis (ccharis)
Username: ccharis

Post Number: 295
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 10:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Morning MTBs!
Sorry for the late updates, suffering inflammation & excruitiating pain in the ear from the over use of cotton buds.

I'll just update & skip the chats for the time being...
Please check the excel, I cant seemed to concentrate so high chance I have missed out some information, I sdo apologise.

October 2012 Babies

No.
Nick
Hospital
Gynae
EDD
Ariadne
-
T.B.A
T.B.A
-
-
JustALamb
-
TMC
Dy Yvonne Soong
-
NE
ReineLuv
T.B.A
Dr. Chua Yang
Girl
NE
asphere
TMC
Dr Benjamin Tham
-
-
Wens
Gleneagles
Dr Choo Wan Ling
-
-
Kitty01
Mt A
Dr. HK. Ho
Girl
North
tiffany10
TMC
Dr. Benjamin Tham
Boy
-
mecy
TMC
Dr. Benjamin Tham
Girl
-
Keiko_Katko
TMC
Dr. Benjamin Tham
-
-
Wenty
-
Mt A
Dr Fong
-
-
oekmer
Mt A
Dr Woo
-
-
starrie_nite
TMC
Dr. LC Cheng
Girl
-
serinetay
Mt. A
Dr. Don Wong
Girl
-
Liang
TMC
Dr. LC Cheng
-
-
jaime_g83
TMC
Dr Lawrence Ang
-
-
Zen
-
Mt E
Dr Pritam Singh
-
-
pastillies
T.B.A
Dr Ang HY
Boy
West
kanelmo
-
TMC
Dr Benjamin Tham
Boy
North
Ms_Lala
-
Mt A
Dr Kenneth E Lee
Boy
North
eiggam
SGH
Dr Devendra
-
-
kikilala
Mt. A
Dr Chua Yang
-
East
needmoney
TMC
Dr Benjamin Tham
Girl
NE
berser
MAH
Dr Douglas Ong
-
-
JuneGoh
NUH
Dr Su Lin Lin
-
-
Donkey
Parkway East
Dr Heng Tung Lan
Girl
East
Chapa Chic
TMC
Dr Adrian Woodworth
-
-
serenelm
Mt. E
Dr. Kowa Nam Sing
Boy
North
baby_jo
-
TMC
Dr. C.H.Koh
Girl
-
Davier's_Mum
TMC
Dr. Koh Cheng Huat
-
-
Meiting
-
-
T.B.A
T.B.A
-
-
Btil
TMC
Dr LN Sim
Boy
-
ming8110
-
TMC
Dr Caroline Khi
Girl
-
novembaby
-
SGH
Dr Tan Wei Ching
-
-
Crystal_April
TMC
Dr LC Cheng
-
-
ccharis
TMC or Mt E
Dr Caroline Khi
Girl
Central
Raspy
Mt A
Dr. HK Ho
-
NE
McKay423
-
-
T.B.A
T.B.A
-
-
redyann
-
Gleneagles
Dr. LC Fong
-
-
Missy
TMC
Dr. Lawrence Ang
-
North
airex
TMC
Dr Joycelyn Wong
-
East
Tammyq
Gleneagles
Dr Lisa Chin
Boy
East
octpp
KKH
Dr. Tan HH
Boy
-
strawberry128
KKH
Dr Goh Shen Li
Boy
West
Dey
Gleneagles
Dr Chin YK
Boy
-
nyctora
TMC
Dr. Eunice Chua
Boy
-
mayday80
Mt A
Dr Chua Yang
Boy
West
Sharon_k
Mt A
Dr Douglas Ong
Girl
West
devilene
Gleneagles
Dr Chan KH
Girl
East
ynove
TMC or Mt E
Dr Adrian Tan
-
-
Eeyore
Gleneagles
Dr John Yam
-
-
Lil_D
TMC
Dr Benjamin Tham
-
-
Yam
-
-
T.B.A
T.B.A
-
-
greenteafrappe
-
T.B.A
Dr. Ann Tan
Boy
North
angelsky1885
TMC
Dr. LC Cheng
Boy
-
sha85
KKH
T.B.A
-
-
angie_mummy
TMC
Dr Yvonne Chan
-
-
zeezzen
-
Mt A
Dr Lim Teck Chye
Boy
-
SnU
TMC
Dr Benjamin Tham
-
-
Happy_ally
KKH
Dr Wee Horng Yen
-
-
Coco Pops
KKH
Dr Tan Thiam Chye
-
-
Twish
Raffles
Dr Cordelia Han
-
-
candizhu
TMC
Dr Adrian Woodworth
-
-
kiko_sale
TMC or Mt A
Dr Adrian Woodworth
-
-
Angie
(Auckland)
NIL
-
-
cac
TMC
Dr Benjamin Tham
-
West
tiggermummy
Mt A
Dr. Lawrence Ang
-
North
SillyJ
Gleneagles
Dr. Chan KH
-
East
Vankel
TMC
Dr. Adrian Tan
Boy
NE
azncutiegal
-
TMC
Dr. WK Tan
Boy
NE
constancet
-
Mt A
Dr PS Lui
C-22.10.12
Boy
NE
Marvliz
Gleneagles
Dr Prof SC Ng
Boy
NE
Rainbowpooh
TMC
Dr. Caroline Khi
-
NE
ohy
TMC
Dr. Jocelyn Wong
Boy
North
agaga
Mt. A
Dr. Phua Soo Mear
-
NE
slchua
KKH
Dr Han How Chuan
-
East
yean
-
Gleneagles
Dr. SC Ng
-
-
BBTM
Gleneagles
Dr Seng
-
-
Autumn_a
-
TMC
Dr Woo BH
-
-
47felicious
-
Parkway East
Dr Heng
-
-
Giantress
Gleneagles
Dr. Chew SY
-
-
Mini22
Mt A
Mr HK Ho
-
-
moaoyo
Parkway East
Mr. Heng Tuan Lan
Girl
-
Lavender1979
Gleneagles
Dr Mary Yang
-
-
zonkkie
TMC
Joycelyn Wong
-
-
Lisa
-
TMC
Dr. Geraldine Tan
-
-
jefferina
Mt. A
Mr CK Koh
-
-
Sksf
-
TMC
Dr Woo Bit Hwa
Boy
East
preciousgal
Mt A
Mr H K Ho
-
North
Meredith
TMC
Joycelyn Wong
Boy
NE
JulianaLee02
TMC
Dr Benjamin Tham
-
West
Stephy_Mum2b
-
-
KHH
T.B.A
-
-
Mummywong10
-
(HongKong)
NIL
01/06.11.12
Boy
-
pEI
Mt A
Dr Kang Wee
T.B.A
-
-
Icjpiggy
T.B.A
Dr Lim Teck Beng
T.B.A
-
-
nmx
-
Mt E
Dr Kowa
T.B.A
-
-
Shir Shir
-
-
Parkway East
-
T.B.A
-
-
Vanna
Mt A
Mr H K Ho
T.B.A
-
-

reineluv (reineluv)
Username: reineluv

Post Number: 167
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 10:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks for the list. It's getting longer!

Btw, where do I get maternity pads? How much do we need?

ming8110 (ming8110)

Post Number: 1184
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 11:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SNU: One of my mum's friends has a neighbour who makes the wine at home so I got three bottles from her for my confinement last time round. Will do the same this time. I think I went through 3 bottles of rice wine, 3 large bottles of sesame oil, half a bottle of dom (I don't like the taste) and 1 bottle of XO for 40 days of confinement food the last time round.

Reine: You can get maternity pads from stores like Guardian, Watsons etc. I personally like the Mothercare ones. Soft and very absorbent.

sharonk (sharon_k)

Post Number: 192
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 12:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ming: which brand of milk bottles are you using for nb? Im spoilt with too many choices. hhaha!

May (mayday80)

Post Number: 768
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 1:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Summer: Me getting a hand me dwn cot fm my sis.. So save $ on tt.. Haha.. But will be gg to the motherhood fair on Thur evening to see if can get some thgs to stock up..

summer (summerpiggy)

Post Number: 4
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 1:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

May: So gd!! I have to buy everything cos nobody gt bb things to give me.. hope we can get some gd deals from the deal..
seems like 1st time mummy gt so many things to buy... have to go for childbirth education.. and was thinking if i shld go for aqua exercise...
I'm quite scare of the pain during childbirth so I hope to find ways to minimise the pain.. lol...

May (mayday80)

Post Number: 769
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 1:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Summer: I am lucky as I got sisters to hand me thgs.. Like car seat, cot, bb carrier and some bb clothings.. But some thgs still need to get new ones la.. Just tt can save abit n spend on others.. If you feel like gg try out now lo.. Since tummy not v big.. If gd dan cont.. Heard is gd and will minimize the pain..

agaga (agaga)
Username: agaga

Post Number: 41
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 1:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ccharis, tks for updating. .
Ear inflammation? It's painful, I know cos I once kena, spent $200 on Dr. Dare not use cotton bud for quite some time. But once over, forget the pain already, 'dig like nobody business' I use a few a day as I had wet ears.
Pls update gender Girl for me when u feel alright. Tks

summer (summerpiggy)

Post Number: 5
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 2:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

May: hmm.. Think I will attend the parenting class 1st then decide if I shld go for yoga or aqua exercise.. :p
Gg for my FA scan tmr.. Can find out bb's gender then can start shopping for rompers too.. So excited!!

ming8110 (ming8110)

Post Number: 1185
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 2:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sharonk: I started out using Nuk bottles and teats for no. 1 but when she turned 3 months old she suddenly rejected Nuk. So I switches to Avent and she has been on that brand since. Am probably going to use Avent for no. 2 as well. They stock Avent bottles and teats at the NTUC near my place so I can always pop down for extras if necessary.

Baby (baby_jo)

Post Number: 1323
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 2:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Summer:
My #1 also no one to hand me down things. We bought everything BN.
It's good and very informative for 1st time mummy to attend such courses to prepare yourself for birth. I attend the course at TMC by Mrs Wong.
I never attend any aqua or yoga classes but I had a drug-free birth for #1. Pain still bearable and not as scary as what friends told me.

Btil (btil)
Username: btil

Post Number: 225
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 2:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wah 2nd time mums r really experienced , d chklist of to buy stuffy is so comprehensive !!! I no time to type them into q spreadsheet for reference...

Still confused on the types and quantity of clothes to buy ... Romper is what? Some are button down , some tie string at d side ... Baby wears 1 shirt or double layer ? (mil insisted must wear 2 layersbegore wrapping in towel/ blanket , but she is living in Hk .. My mum forgot everything cos besides me she has not taken care of another baby)

summer (summerpiggy)

Post Number: 6
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 3:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby Jo: ya.. Cos I'm not engaging any confinement lady.. My mum is helping me out so tot I shld at least go for parenting class to know more.. I'm gg for mt alvernia one since I'm giving birth there.. I hope I can endure the pain.. Some told me pain.. Some say not.. Lol..

raspy (raspy)

Post Number: 544
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 3:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ming8110, My pump still lying there, think will have to on it to try before delivery. But I got 2 spare manual pump to standby, so not so scare. Previously, I only got the electric pump, always got the fear of it breaking down and cause me to engorge. heehee.. paranoid me.

My bottles still quite new, no scratches or yellow, so can still use. :-)

Dang gui, I also heard this during my #1 time. So I have been avoiding dang gui since then until now. Alot of mummies or old folks don't know, they will advise to take dang gui after delivery.

Reineluv, Whether the flow heavy anot is depending on individuals as well as the delivery mode. I had c-sec and after the c-sec, I found that my flow is very very light (only 1st 3 days at hospital is slightly more). Later when I check with gynae, he told me that he had helped me to clean up the inside before he does his stitches, that explains why the flow was light. But also depends on gynae, cause I heard some people after c-sec also heavy flow as their gynae didnt clean up.

May, Hand-me-downs are very good. Just take everything and then scan through them at home. Those old old ones just put aside. I found that after using the hand-me-downs, we will know what to note and form our own preference when we go and buy for our own. So hand-me-down are good for us to trial-run the products first. :-)

Btil, Romper are those 1 whole piece clothes which you need to lift bb head and put through and then the bottom opening is close-up at the diaper area using those tic-tac button. For Singapore, I think most newborn are wearing 1 layer (either 1 top+1 bottom or 1 romper, with mitten and booties), then wrap up with the towel/blanket/napkin cloth. Some also don't wrap up if the weather too warm.

Candy (junebug86)
Username: junebug86

Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 3:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi all mummies!

Im new here and im due with #1 on 18 Oct. I am seeing Dr Geraldine Tan and 95% having a baby boy :-)

Nice to meet everyone here ^^

serenelm (serenelm)
Username: serenelm

Post Number: 333
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 3:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby: Wow, u're amazing!! Totally drug free!! For me, I had epidural for #1 and then laughing gas as pain relief for#2 and #3. I grabbed onto the laughing gas like I was addicted to it. Midwife told me to only use it when contractions came. But hey, for both times, by the time I reached the hospital, my contractions were non-stop (9cm dilated), how to stop using??!! Luckily my gynae told her it's okie for me to keep using it :P

Btil: Rompers are those one piece suit wif buttons at the crotch area. Personally I preferred shirts wif buttons or rompers for infants cos it's not easy to tie the strings on the baby's shirt when he/she keeps wriggling abt.

For Singapore's weather, 1 layer and then wrapped wif blanket is sufficient cos it's so hot here. Usually for day, I would use short sleeved shirt + shorts and then for night, long sleeved shirt + long pants before swaddling wif receiving blanket.

serenelm (serenelm)

Post Number: 334
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 3:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Candy: Welcome!! :-)

summer (summerpiggy)

Post Number: 7
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 3:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi candy! Welcome!! I'm quite new here too.. :-)

ming8110 (ming8110)

Post Number: 1186
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 3:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Btil: No worries. Just sharing information. You still have plenty of time to prepare the items you need just that it might be a good time to stock up now during GSS.

Clothes wise - I find that it is better / easier to dress baby in the side-snap/ side-tying tops when the umbillical cord wound is still not completely healed. After it is healed (takes about 2 weeks), rompers (1 piece) will be fine. Even then I have learnt that it may be better for them to wear separates so that if the baby soils herself (say regurgitates milk or wets the bottom),you only have to change one piece of clothing as opposed to the entire outfit. This is especially the case at night. Fewer pieces of clothes to change means greater odds of baby going back to sleep quicker :-)

I had a CL who did at least 2 loads of washing of baby stuff every day but even then my original plan to have 10 sets of clothes were not enough. You have to factor in bad weather as well. I think 2 dozen is the minimum and 3 dozen is probably a more comfortable quantity. Try and get hand me downs if you can. The new born clothes are outgrown really quickly . Alternatively, buy 3 to 6 month sizes instead of NB sizes to get more mileage out of the clothes.

Blanket: Not advisable to use while baby is sleeping. Suggest you get a sleeping bag (Mothercare etc carries those) instead of a blanket. But those can be too warm unless baby is sleeping in an air-conditioned room I feel.

Baby (baby_jo)

Post Number: 1324
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 3:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Summer:
Me too. My mum helped me for my confinement.
Good to attend such class at least u know what to expect and do during and after birth.

For my case, I started experiencing contraction early in the morning but din't know as many told me it's very painful. But I feel the pain bearable and even went out for morning walk and breakfast with my husband. Came back still can take a nap. Hee!
It was till early afternoon then I started experiencing some bleeding then prompt me to give gynae a call. Then he asked me to joint down the timing of each contraction till I see a pattern then quickly go hospital. By the time I arrived at TMC, midwife checked and told me I was already close to 6-cm dilated. Ready for labour. Everything over in less than 3hrs. So I went for drug-free labour as it was too late for any injection.

Personally I feel that husband played a very important role during birth. And it will be very good for them to attend courses and it really helps alot during labour.
E.g. Husband can guide ur breathing and also "control" when to give u the "laughing gas". That's what my husband did.
Few of my gf breathe too much of the "laughing gas" till high and can't push the baby out. In the end, baby need to be vacuum out.

summer (summerpiggy)

Post Number: 8
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 3:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby Jo: think I will get really nervous when my due date is near... Kinda scared.. Jus hope I can get to the hospital in time.. Lol
My hubby gg to the course with me too so that he can help me during and after birth...
As for pump... Manual pump or electric pump is better? Which one less pain?

Baby (baby_jo)

Post Number: 1325
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 4:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Serene:
The pain was bearable till the final pushing. But it's over fast too.

My husband control my usage of "laughing gas". He will look at the monitor and gave me at peak then remove when drop. He scared I high. Hee!
Hope he still remember all these for #2.

Baby (baby_jo)

Post Number: 1326
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 4:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Summer:
First time will be nervous.
Like me, don't even know what is labour pain.

At First I only get manual pump, but my milk supply came in quite alot and I pump till hands aching. Even got my husband to help. Hee!
By 2nd week, gave up and got electric pump.

Post Number: 1265
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 4:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

any mummies here didn't use much nappy cream?

we only religiously applied ro #1 during the 1st month or so untill all the free samples ran out and he din have any problems with all kinds of diapers... wondering if its a fluke or it's true that diaper cream sometimes causes rashes instead...

he did have some diaper cream applied now and then when we spot redness after the initial weeks but quite rare, like once in a few weeks kind of frequency

babyjo, serene, i couldnt push out baby n needed vacuum too. din know how to use laughing gas properly. to me, like no use. din use epi during #1..

elizabeth pan (azncutiegal)
Username: azncutiegal

Post Number: 37
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 4:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hihi..
I was told to do more exercises like walking around, taking the stairs.. they said will help to ease the labour...

As for pump, i got a manual pump as I am planning to do breastfeeding on a regular basis until i go back to work.. the pump will be for times where i really have to get them out of my system:-) hehe

Post Number: 1266
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 4:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

elizabeth, i did some brisk walking onc or twice a week with #1, but problem is when i was in week 36-37, gynae said #1's position is not ideal - facing up instead of down. i was so worried i was gonna kenna c sec.. luckily he was miraculously deliverd face down.

now #2 week 20 scan in breech position :-( sigh.

Post Number: 1267
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 5:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

but something a bit strange is i started having feelings like the baby is hiccuping very low in my pelvis the last few days.. can only hope that means the baby is now head down...

Post Number: 38
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 5:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

skinney: we still have 20 weeks to go:-) hehehe.. don't worry too much at this point.. the more you worry, the more you won't be able to enjoy this pregnancy:-)

summer (summerpiggy)

Post Number: 9
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 5:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Too many things to buy.. Diff types.. Diff brands.. Confused.. Think will go to the fair and get wateva necessary.. Keke..

Quinny (greenteafrappe)

Post Number: 71
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 5:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

on breast pump, does anyone know what's the difference between the Medela Mini Electric plus and the Medela Freestyle? I only know Freestyle can hands-free and a lil faster but any other difference? cos the price difference is like $500.

May (mayday80)

Post Number: 770
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 5:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Summer: I gg for my FA on Fri.. Haha.. So are hving close EDD..

raspy: Ya.. Hand me dwn are gd.. But I do not wana collect too many till my place is so messy.. My sis passed me some lao.. Already messy lao.. There are more to come.. Can imagine it will be more messy.. Haha..

Post Number: 39
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 5:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

May: But look at it this way.. you can save a lot!!!! I'm the first to have bb in both mine and hubby's family.. so everything new:-( which means more $$:-(

serenelm (serenelm)

Post Number: 335
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 5:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby: Yah I oso agree that the pains are bearable till abt 8-9cm dilation. Cos I was still deliberating at home before then wondering if it was the real thing or just my usual pains and aches again. End up for both #2 and #3, I oni reached the hospital when I was alrdy 9cm dilated and delivered within 30 mins to 1 hr of arriving at Mt E. All the way driving from Sembawang, we were afraid that we wouldn't make it :P

As for the laughing gas, I wasn't exactly high, more like feeling detached from the pain and can't feel it. When someone spoke to me, it was as though they were talking to me from afar.

Skinney: For the laughing gas, u really hv to breathe it in very very hard in order to feel the effects of pain relief. Now it's still too early for baby to stay head down all the way, baby still has room for movement so no worries yet :-)

Baby (baby_jo)

Post Number: 1327
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 6:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just to share my experience with all mummies,
For #1, I was very kiasu, even stock up and prepare few pkts of newborn diapers. Scared OSS or no time to buy.
In the end, #1 was allergy to Pampers diapers and can't used it at all. Once used, her bum will have bad bad diaper rash to the extend of skin tear and bled. Pain!!!
In the end, I have to give away. Waste of money!!

Same for diaper cream.
Baby will come back from hospital with a pkt of diapers and diaper cream. Try it first then buy and stock up.

And no need to get too many newborn size clothings. Some babies are born big size or grows fast and outgrown very fast. Like my #1, she was born small size but she experience growth spur just a couple of days old and outgrown newborn size in a mth.
Then normally first few mths seldom will bring baby out, so no need to get alot of expensive or fanciful clothings. Quite wasteful!!

Baby (baby_jo)

Post Number: 1328
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 6:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Oh!!! And nursing bra too.
Best to get it after birth. U won't know the actual size after the milk flow comes in.

sha85 (sha85)
Username: sha85

Post Number: 39
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 7:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Skinney: my #1 was in breech position even at 34 wks. He flipped and got into head down position by 36 wks so don't worry too much coz u hv plenty of time :-)

summer (summerpiggy)

Post Number: 10
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 9:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

May: my edd is 7th oct.. Urs? Keke.. :-)

Post Number: 1268
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 9:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sha85: thanks for the encouragement! did u hav to do anything special or try the exercises some of the online links recommend?

Constance (constancet)
Username: constancet

Post Number: 3578
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 10:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

cCharis
Come. We exchange. hehe

sha85 (sha85)

Post Number: 40
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 10:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Skinney: no probs ;) I contemplated trying a traditional massage but my hubby didn't allow it. So I basically did nothing except to talk to bb and ask him to flip around. Hehe.

Btw any mummies been told that they have lower posterior placenta? Gynae told me to not carry heavy things and my #1 coz it may cause bleeding. How to avoid carrying when I'm a SAHM leh :-(

Constance (constancet)
Username: constancet

Post Number: 3579
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 10:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

raspy
you can get those nipple puncher to punch bigger holes in the teats when baby is bigger.
But best to stick to the original holes at least until one year old...

ming8110
Usually hospital will provide Alcohol swabs andcord spirit (for baby's umbillical cord).
We always have left over each time.

Reineluv
Hospital will provide maternity pads too. Usually I bring back the balance and once finished, i will use back my own pads. Mayb cos my 4 deliveries in the past all c-sections, so gynae did a clean job? So flow was not so heavy everytime.

Post Number: 1269
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 10:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sha85, I have anterior placenta both in #1 and this pregnancy. how old is your #1? Maybe carry but sitting down? i know what its like when u r sahm how to avoid carrying your kid even when pregnant? the placenta will move up usually as pregnancy progresses? i think being pregnant with #2 and subsequent harder than with #1...

i think harder to carry #1 cuz the weight entirely on our arms. last time can still rest #1's wt on our tummies to support.. now cannot..

Post Number: 1270
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 10:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

dunno is it i'm busy with #1 from morning till night that i only feel #2 kick and move ard at nite? or is #2 a nite person!? i rmbr #1 was more active in day.. even now he quite cheerfully says good nite to me and i leave him to sleep in his room.

sha85 (sha85)

Post Number: 41
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 10:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Skinney: my boy is 15mths only so he is still v dependent on me. Ur sooo right abt subsequent pregnancies being tougher. Sorry, another qn which might b a bit personal but did ur gynae advise to refrain from intercourse with hubby? Mine did so I'm wondering if the condition is that serious or gynae is just playing safe.

Post Number: 1271
Posted on Tuesday, May 29, 2012 - 10:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sha85 - oh mine is 30 months old and since he started sch this yr, he din want to be carried anymore. he even gets upset when i call him little boy or baby..

gynae din advise against intercourse, but i am guessing your case is cuz the placenta is lower? hope it will move up for u soon.. and hope my baby will flip upseide and stay way too..

yean (yean)

Post Number: 543
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 12:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Raspy, yeah, I've booked appt with Paul tseng to seek his advice on VBAC.

Quinny, I heard fr my #1 forum that mini electric Medela is very noisy n power is not so gd, Medela freestyle is gd as it's handfree, so u can do other things wo holding the pumps. But of course it's much more costly.

Tks ccharis for the summary table update for all mummies.

Idealistic (ideal)
Username: ideal

Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 12:17 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks all mummies for such exhaustive list of items to buy;)
Very informative for first timers.

Beside the coming motherhood fair, will there be any other fairs for this year? Is taka baby fair held only once a year? Have missed the one in march as it was way too early

Coco_Pops (coco_pops)
Username: coco_pops

Post Number: 72
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 7:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ccharis,

Can update my bb gender to Boy and im staying in the North.Thanks!

ming8110 (ming8110)

Post Number: 1187
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 9:09 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sha85, Skinny: I have low-lying placenta for this pregnancy and also for my no. 1. For no. 1 the placenta didn't move out of the way till 37 plus weeks which was lucky 'cos I was scheduled for a c-sect at 38 weeks. This time round the placenta is even lower, sigh. Am hoping I can talk baby into moving it again. Wish me luck :-)

Quinny:I think the suction for the freestyle is better than the mini electric. The freestyle is Medela's newest pump although I personally prefer the pump in style advanced as I feel that has the best suction for me.

sha85 (sha85)

Post Number: 42
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 9:54 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Skinney: I guess the gynae was very concerned abt the placenta bleeding for my case hence the advice. Let's keep talking to our babies and hope all goes well this time! ;)

Ming: seems like low lying placenta is quite common eh? And I'm amazed that your placenta cld still move at 37 wks! I'm already talking to baby hoping that it will move up soon. Really hope I can avoid a c sec. Hehe

sha85 (sha85)

Post Number: 43
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 9:55 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Btw ccharis, can help to update my bb gender as girl and my location as central. Thanks!

Baby (baby_jo)

Post Number: 1330
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 10:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Any mummies taking concentrated bottle bird nest?
I took Lo Hang Ka for #1. Now thinking if shld continue and buy Lo Hang Ka or Eu Yan Sang?

Lisa (sugarsweet)
Username: sugarsweet

Post Number: 144
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 10:56 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Baby_Jo,

Im taking ZTP concentrated bottled bird nest. How frequent u took and amount?

serenelm (serenelm)

Post Number: 336
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 11:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Idealistic: There'll be another Taka Baby Fair ard Aug period. I'm waiting for that fair to buy baby stuff too :-)

Baby: Perhaps can buy at least 1 nursing bra first cos need to wear when staying in hospital. Easier to bf baby when wearing nursing bra rather than normal bra :-)

Ming: My fren oso told me Pump in Style is the best. But it's quite costly, right? Is it easy to assemble for use? Cos I've ready from forums that Medela pumps are quite confusing to assemble.

yifee (yifee)
Username: yifee

Post Number: 26
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 11:23 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Mums,

I have 6 packs of Pampers M size for sale as my boy has outgrown this size. Willing to let go at $32 for 2 packs (U.P $37 for 2). Kindly email woonie_woonie@yahoo.com.tw if interested.

Baby (baby_jo)

Post Number: 1332
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 11:26 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lisa: I took 1 tbsp every morning for #1.

reineluv (reineluv)

Post Number: 168
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 11:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks all for the info on maternity pads. I didn't realise Guardian and Watsons sell these!

I'm looking forward to Motherhood fair this week, most likely going down on Sat morning. There's a breastfeeding talk by TMC on Sun though, I'm interested but will likely give it a miss.

Baby_jo: I take the ZTP one too. 1 tbsp every morning. But My mum got me those pieces of birds nests, so I double boil them once every week.

May (mayday80)

Post Number: 771
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 11:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

elizabeth: Ya.. can save alot.. So I nvr complain.. haha..

summer: My EDD is on 15th Oct..

agaga (agaga)

Post Number: 42
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 11:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Have any mummies went for the 20 weeks detail scan yet? How long does it takes?
Can share which hospital and price?

val (angelsky1885)
Username: angelsky1885

Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 12:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hello everyone!

I'm back from my babymooning... and just in time for all the sales! Hearing that you all have purchased so many things, makes me very excited indeed. I'm so prepped up, the hubby is very afraid.

It's really quite exciting to be able to feel the kid's movement. One night, I felt a hard kick on the lower abdomen and when my kid finally settled into his favourite curled position, I could feel his arm/leg protruding out!

You know how one week ago I was so commenting on how I was afraid that the pain I felt was something unwarranted. Appears that the kid just likes to snuggle and stretch near the lower abdomen. So it was his doing. Sometimes we expectant mothers worry so much. =P

@serenelm & baby jo: how does laughing gas work? is it more painful or less painful than epidural?

@agaga: mine took less than 30 minutes. It depends on whether your baby is compliant. My hubby's cousin did hers for 1.5 hours. Sometimes it's dependent on the mummy's age, if you're older the sonographer will want to spend more time to ensure that your baby is a-okay.

Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 12:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby_Jo: i'm taking from Eu Yan Sang:-)

Ming: I got the Avent Manual Pump..

Lisa (sugarsweet)
Username: sugarsweet

Post Number: 147
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 1:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Have you all engaged confinement lady? Wats the rate now? I cant find one so in the end ask one of my relative to help instead.

nana_ananas (nana_ananas)
Username: nana_ananas

Post Number: 13
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 1:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hello mummies! anyone has experience with Philips AVENT Twin Electronic Breast Pump? Heard it is quite a popular choice among BF-ing mummies too. I am deciding between that or the Medela Freestyle.

For those who are interested in breastpumps, can consider to get it from megababystore (http://megababystore.wordpress.com/), their prices are significantly lower than retail.

Oekmer (oekmer)
Username: oekmer

Post Number: 63
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 1:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ccharis: i have e same fate as u, wish for a baby boy but get a baby girl.. However I'm happy with princess also as long as she is healthy.. Was so worried for today detailed scan that didt sleep well yesterday. I stayed at central.

Agaga: I went to camden medical centre for my scan. Cost $380 and get back a cd with baby scan n video clip of his heart beat. Dr Anakumar is very friendly, very detailed as he explained to you n joke with you. The whole process take arnd 1hr n very enjoyable. First time to see my baby for so long n able to see her fingers n feet... ;D

Joanna (preciousgal)
Username: preciousgal

Post Number: 361
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 2:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

no one consider medela swing? single pump?

Joanna (preciousgal)

Post Number: 362
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 2:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

anyone going down to the fair tml afternoon?

kate (kate_boon78)
Username: kate_boon78

Post Number: 715
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 2:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sorry to interupt your thread.
As I had given birth in April, I had 1 box of unopened Obimin tablets and 1 box of DHA pills bought from my gynae. Willing to let go both at $30. Self-collect at Bt Batok/Bt Gombak, postage charge will be additional.
Pls refer to the following limk for more details, thanks

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/7099036.html?1338358471

nana_ananas (nana_ananas)
Username: nana_ananas

Post Number: 17
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 2:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Joanna, my friend advised me to get dual pump cos you do not want to be pumping one side and then the other side is leaking. :p also, she said its less time consuming..

sharonk (sharon_k)

Post Number: 193
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 2:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joanne: im considering swing and PISA. Unless u really wanna bf for long then can make PISA worthwhile cuz its cost 700+++$.

Elizabeth: i used manual avent pump for #1 for the first few days and gave up. Very tiring. End up getting medela swing to pump. kekeee..
im lazy mum.

agaga (agaga)

Post Number: 43
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 3:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Oekmer, your scan was so ex, is it only the FA scan or $380 includes other test?

Val, where did your scan is conducted and how much did you pay?

Any other mummy did their scan at Tmc, Mt.a , Mt.E or KKH ? Need to find out the price. Thanks

Quinny (greenteafrappe)

Post Number: 72
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 3:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

then i can forget about the mini E as I really don't want a noisy pump cos it'll be quite embarrassing when pumping in public/office.. heehee

Also, what is the diff between Freestyle and PISA other than the hands-free? I read that even with hands-free (which involve a few steps to strap onto bra) you have to be seated, not too much movement and no bending over (like pick up baby etc) otherwise milk will all spill out fr the container.

Other than that any other diff? Otherwise I think PISA worth getting cos cheaper than Freestyle. And 3 types of bags to choose from :-)

Joanna (preciousgal)

Post Number: 363
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 3:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

nana_ananas: hahaha is true lah the other side will leak.. but i am getting swing leh.. because the other side leak can use milk bags to save the milk whahaha..

sharonk: hahahah i am buying swing but i think i get it after my confinement because duno gt milk anot.. wait till when the time comes then buy then warranty also starts when u make purchase of the item.. now buy too early le..

Just curious why no one consider swing whahaha..

Joanna (preciousgal)

Post Number: 364
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 3:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Oh ya sharon u say u have swing before.. How issit?

Mini22 (mini22)
Username: mini22

Post Number: 58
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 3:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

May: I also 15 oct. Haven update ccharis

sharonk (sharon_k)

Post Number: 194
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 3:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joanna: haha. yes i find swing not bad leh, suction good also.
PISa is dual pump mah. faster and more exp.

Mini22 (mini22)
Username: mini22

Post Number: 59
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 4:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Elizabeth: my fren told mi go for swimming is gd too.but nt normal free style swimming maybe jus walk ard in the pool. Easier to giv birth.

reineluv (reineluv)

Post Number: 169
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 4:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

agaga

I did at Mt E, about 15 mins only. But my scan costs was included in my gynae's package, so not sure how much it costs.

reineluv (reineluv)

Post Number: 170
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 4:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Can anyone explain to me what's the difference between unpaid infant care leave and childcare leave other than the age difference of the kid?

For Paid Childcare leave, I notice that the govt subsidised the employer for the 1st 3 days.

So, for unpaid infant care leave, does it mean that it's not subsidised by govt or that if I utilise that leave, I'm not paid for that 6 days?

Sorry ah! Cos my HR not based in SG. Headache!

Joanna (preciousgal)

Post Number: 365
Posted on Wednesday, May 30, 2012 - 4:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sharonk: hahaha nvm bec the other alternative damm exp.. i dun wanna invest so much on breast pump though it takes another 15 mins but okay lah.. i think the company will understand.

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use