SingaporeMotherhood.com * Matters Of The Heart * Any mummies earn extra by investing in Shares at home? < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
Archive through September 04, 2010Santorini100 9-04-10  1:35 pm
Archive through January 25, 2013Anna Ang (annaang)100 1-25-13  3:19 pm
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

Taitai (taitai)
Username: taitai

Post Number: 276
Posted on Friday, January 25, 2013 - 5:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Is there anyone here who care to share their experience in investing in stock/shares?

Like which are your hot favourites, and why?

Does anyone here buy gold bullion coin from UOB?

Let's "jump" into real-life experiences rather than talk about 口渴了,要喝水 issues. I believe all know that high risk, high return, low risk, low return.

But I always believe in an equilibrium in the long-term. Some can make quick bucks within a short-term period. It all boils down to personal experience.

JazzT (ccjt)
Username: ccjt

Post Number: 153
Posted on Friday, January 25, 2013 - 6:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Actually our opinions does not really diff... but i believe that is some pretty safe investment tools now. SG Bond for 1 is quite safe. You are "guranteed" principle after the period and given fixed return. Generally higher than bank interest rate. I park $$ there which i cannot lose but have no immediate use.

I was playing gold and FX sometimes in 2011 when there was big movement. Earn quite abit but i find that i have to spend too much time monitoring it.. so i took the $$ out and placed in blue chips. DBS at ard $12 , UOB at $15 .. :-) didnt really trade.. as i hate to see the prices going down by alot.. however, these are shares that are pretty safe in the long run, those up and down caused by news , i really dun bother nw.
So far the shares has rose by 20% in value.. and along the way, i have also collected dividend. And have no intention to sell as i believe there is still quite alot of upside with limited downside.. as long as you can hold until 2015. pretty sure it will double by then.

I have gold bullion.. they dun really appreciate that much since end 2011.. i just keep for keep sake lor..

Gold cant really earn you alot of $$, unless you buy a fair bit but it quite high risk given prices are "manipulated" by central banks. I rather put into sg bank share, sgx and sph also not bad..

some may not agree with this.. but when i buy stock i normally buy what i think is "safe". If the stock drop until very bad.. i just leave it alone. Once i buy quite a few lots SGX at 6 and it drop until 5+ for a period for more than 3 mths.. i just leave it there .. since i have faith in the stock..
Sure enough 4 mths later, it rebounce to 7.. :-) if you want to play stock , then you need to "trust" the stock that you buy.. then you ahve a better sleep at night.

Anna Ang (annaang)
Username: annaang

Post Number: 83
Posted on Friday, January 25, 2013 - 9:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

JazzT (ccjt), don't mean to be critical or mean, but how do you define 'safe'?

What criteria did you use?
How do you define the so called "limited downside"?

Do you use FA, TA and the BB factor for your entry and exit?

In fact, the so called blue chip doesn't always give you the "safe in the long run" price.

If I use the same eg, DBS was at about $24 back in 2000, and today, it is about $15 in 2013. So if you had this stock since 2000, even with the dividend given out, you may not have made any money at all.

so to define the downside for DBS currently, it can go as low as $7 back in 2009. So the upside potential using the high $24 in 2000 and 2007, it is $10. The downside risk is $7. The current price of $14 going down to $7 is 50%, the upside potential of $24 is $10 or 71%. So the risk reward may not be worth it.

Similarly for UOB.

For me, criteria eg for Financial and Real Estate stocks are its NAV compare to its current price, its Income and Cash Flow Statement, and its Balance Sheet.

Then you look at its quality of its Assets, Loan Loss Percentage, debt levels, Interest Cover, PE etc.

Next, you look at the investment clock cycle, you look at the overall market trends and conditions.

The criteria will help you decide how to take care of the downside, and the upside will take care of itself. So you always need to know when to exit.

@Taitai (taitai) :
As for quick bucks within a short-term period, this is based on punting or speculation, which is another totally different topic, not investing.

You use a different set of criteria for it.

At the end of the day, it is acquiring the right knowledge, and applying it that will define if you will or can make lots of money.

You can be lucky some of the time, but may not be all of the time.

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 277
Posted on Monday, January 28, 2013 - 9:26 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have to agree with both Anna and Jazz strategies and the former's analogy.

In general, hold ing stocks on a long term basis, is a better deal than people who go in and out. However, if you identified a company that you wanna invest in, one have to check the financial health of the company. When you enter to buy, ensure that you are buying below the intrisint value and not when the stock is trading at all time high for no special reasons. Review your portfolio every 6 months if you have a long-term view. TA is .... i must say not relevant for long-term holding of blue chips.

Bank shares in Singapore are relatively good investment in the long-term, they give out good dividends, and right now they are still under-valued, so there is still room for capital gains.

As for gold bullions -- as mentioned a good long-term investment. I delicate 20% of my overall investment fund for gold purchases. Yes, its all about capital gains, gold does not reap dividends or interest. Pick them up as there is a downward trend.

You must remember that gold's demand is high, not just for vanity purposes but for industrialised purposes. Also, as the exploitation, extractions and the labour cost goes up for gold mining, the real value of the precious metal will also go up. Slowly, steady is for gold. Keep it if you have young kids. Funds will be ready when they need them for tetiary education.

Anna Ang (annaang)

Post Number: 84
Posted on Monday, January 28, 2013 - 10:56 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

For investing long term, there is always a holding period called cyclical investing, that is why there is an investment clock, so TA is even more important than FA, and combine them with situation/trend (BB/IH).

FA tells you which good companies to invest in (buy) due to the undervalue nature of that copmanies, but more importantly, TA tells you when to invest (buy entry), and the more critical time of when to divest (sell exit).

It is always the exit that determines if you will make money and get richer, not the entry, as no matter how perfect the entry, the failure to exit at the right time, will result in a loss situation rather than a profit.

Once you understand these fundamental knowledge in investing, you will realize it is no longer that risky to invest, as you have taken care of the downside, while the upside will take care of itself.

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 279
Posted on Monday, January 28, 2013 - 3:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Instead of looking at TA, calculate the intrinsic value of the stock, to know its position now. If its overvalue, don't buy. If it's undervalue, buy.

This is only an example only. Assuming ABC company is trading at $1.00 now, after calculating the intrinsic value, which gives $0.50, you will know it will be a good buy, cause the real value of this company should be at $1.00. It will allow a captial gain of 100%.

Should the stock climb beyond $1.00, you know its time to let go. Lock in your profits.

The intrinsic value as defined loosely is the price that the company is worth, and what price the market is willing to pay.

It is more for people who would invest in a company in the long-term.

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 154
Posted on Monday, January 28, 2013 - 4:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

taitai.. you are more savry.. i just buy what i like.. ha ha ha ha...

so who say wify cannot invest ?!?!

Anna Ang (annaang)

Post Number: 91
Posted on Monday, January 28, 2013 - 4:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

What is the definition of intrinsic value of the stock?

It is an underlying perception of its true value including all aspects of the business.

But from a TA point of view, it is trending down, wouldn't it better to get it after it has turn the corner, rather than catch a falling knife?

So, the point is, combining TA, FA and more importantly, current situation/trend (BB), will give you the best outcome, and manage the downside effectively.

Similarly, for exit.

Sarah2012 (sarah2012)
Username: sarah2012

Post Number: 7
Posted on Monday, January 28, 2013 - 4:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm interested in buying some stocks on the SGX and am reading up all about it online. I am so overwhelmed by the amount of information that I do not know where to start. At the same time, I do not want to enter the market without having a thorough understanding of how it works. I want to invest and grow my money, not gamble.

So, I would love to hear advise from more experienced ladies out there on how to start...for eg, what is the fundamentals that I should bear in mind when purchasing stocks, how to choose what stocks to buy, etc...

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 155
Posted on Monday, January 28, 2013 - 4:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

if you are not so sure abt stock.. i recomm you buy bond lor.. pretty sure bet.. but maybe not so attractive return but decent 3-6% p.a.

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 280
Posted on Monday, January 28, 2013 - 5:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jazz,

No lah, I am not all savvy. I have been buying shares for 10 over years. Started with punting with the old aunties in my company. They buy, I buy. They lose, I lose. But those years, the market is very volatile. 3 days up, 3 days down. Can earn quick bucks by playing contra. Win a bit, lose a bit. So it's ok.

But slowly I gather information here and there from the expert. Prefer not to look at the screen everyday. I go for blue chips company, and don't time the market anymore. Of course, whenever there is a market downturn, I go in and whack blindly at the blues. Like in 2009, just take your pick on any of the STI 30 components companies, I believe anyone will be grinning ear to ear now. DBS, UOB, OCBC, all the property counters .... crazy lah.

But now, take cautious ... a lot of uncertainty, but I am unfazed since I know that even if the counters I have invested in fall, it may not fall to those levels again. But I would love to pick up more if they really do.

Common sense, if our 3 national banks, and local property counters fail -- in extreme sense go bankrupt, the whole of the Singapore economy can also say bye-bye.

But I still do punt, by looking at the TA charts on some counters. Just to horn my skills.

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 281
Posted on Monday, January 28, 2013 - 5:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anna here seems to be more of an expert. As she appear to know a lot about looking at the TAs and FAs.

Perhaps she will share with us on any of the counter she is monitoring now and give us her views.

san20sg (san20sg)
Username: san20sg

Post Number: 353
Posted on Monday, January 28, 2013 - 6:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sg mkt is too small lah very easily manipulated so the first thing to do here is self control n not get too overly excited over spike in volumes etc so TA sometimes does not work very well here.

I w advise to understand the business behind those stocks, n the economic sentiments. Sg mkt moves mainly by volumw n sentiments. First u get the nos roughly by FA but it is not always a gd gauge, otherwise all property counters are undervalued. Example sc global undervalued for so long but does not move until Simon cheong wanna offer to get it unlisted.

So understand the business n get to know the future earnings.I usually buy property stocks n in my research I often go show flats to look at their sales figures.

Another easier way is to go in when sti is below 2800 points n get out when approaching 3300-3400 points. Only keep those low beta stocks or those stocks u r very confident about.

Many times it's more abt judgement n a fair bit of luck rather than skills if not those fund mgrs w be making tons of money. Yet almost all can't even beat a std etf returns.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 354
Posted on Monday, January 28, 2013 - 6:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lastly it has alot to do with having deep pockets too. To be able to hold when things r not doing well or not moving.
And to have the money to buy more when mkt crash.

Hehe :-) hope I make sense

Anna Ang (annaang)

Post Number: 94
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 8:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

@Sarah2012: Get yourself the basic foundation by reading up on financial knowledge and then applying what you read. If you really want to invest and make money consistently, you can also attend a formal course that provides true value to your learning, and applying what you learn.

Sometimes, it is through losing some money through actual transaction that it helps in the learning journey. In return, the lesson learnt, and right application of correct knowledge will result in greater money made, and more returns.

@taitai: your statement seems more like a sarcasm. Hope, I'm reading it wrongly :-). I'm not an expert, simply sharing what I know, and hoping that people learn the proper knowledge, so that they don't lose money through tips, other people's knowledge, hearsay etc. With the right knowledge and application, you can make money consistently. e.g. Gold don't pay interest, that is why if you buy gold or silver from the bank, you have to pay them to safe keep it, unlike cash. Commodities like Gold and Silver is usually used as a form of hedging or insurance and some invest in it for Capital Gain as well.

Sharing any particular stocks may seems like giving tips, and it can be dangerous. This is becos of timeframe and risk profile. What is your timeframe for holding it, the price you are getting it may differ, and your tolerance in the event it drop below your buy price. When I exit, you may still be holding it, and it can change from profit to loss. Do you cut loss, or do you hold? What Criteria do you use for your entry and exit?

Normally, I go for good FA penny or mid-cap stocks, reason being the return is usually 30% or more. some are 100% or more.

I have some pretty good stocks, more like pillow stock. eg, FR was bought at an avg price of $0.58, and with the dividends given over the years, my avg price is $0.25. today, it is currently at $1.09, so my return is 436% or 336% minus cost. So what is my upside potential, and downside risk?

It is not wrong to go for Blue-chips, except that the return will never be able to compete with good FA mid-cap or penny stocks, as it has less room for multiple returns or multi-bagger. And not all Blue Chips have good FA, eg, G****** was a Blue Chip, but it has never give any dividends in the past and was always borrowing money, having rights issue etc. It was a Blue chip simply becos of its market capitalization. So at the end of the day, invest only in good FA companies, with the right entry point.

@san20sg: yes, sg mkt is small, but TA always works for entry and exit. When you combine TA, with FA and BB, and use the current trend/situation, it can never go wrong. You mentioned correctly that most Property stocks are under-value, but not all have a healthy books.

Using the same eg, SC Global,
its Price was about $1.205 (b4 the delisting offer), NAV was about 1.48, Price/NAV = 0.81.
But it has a high Debt to Asset of 0.73 & High Debt to Equity of 3.4, which signify that the debt burden is high, therefore may raises doubt on its ability to repay the debt obligation.

SC Global Financial ratios based on half year 2012 results:
Net Profit margin = -31%
Debt to Asset = 0.73
Debt to Equity = 3.36

So it is undervalue from its NAV point of value, but it doesn't have the same solid Financial ratios as another property stock.

Why then does Simon Cheong wants to delist it? why did Wheelock pay $6 back in 2007 for a significant stake in it, and willingly let go at $1.80?

So having the right knowledge and understanding how to apply it, will give you an edge on what to invest, and how to invest, and make money consistently.

What are the constraints of fund mgrs, they can't buy penny stocks below $100M in mkt cap, and there are some other constraints as well. So you are right in saying buying STI ETF will easily outperform most fund mgr out there.

However, it is not so much abt luck or gut feel that will make you money consistently. It is the right knowledge and applying it that will bring you multiple returns.

You don't need deep pockets, if you buy the right penny, or mid cap, with good FA, and going in at the right TA, with BB accumulating it as well.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 355
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 9:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sc global's plight comes from its own strategy of price differentiation. it is not a typical developer. whether the company makes money that quarter, it depends on whether they sold a unit that quarter or not. the debt burden is high bc it is a property company, which is highly leveraged as the norm in the industry. simon cheong wants to delist it obviously he is not getting the benefits of getting it listed (mkt is not giving it the right value it deserves) & he is plain tired of issuing administrative requirements so ley chay. Why continue to have it listed when it's such a pain.

u cannot compare $6 then & $1.80 now because they went through rights issue, or share split etc.

Obviously, deep pockets play a part. You are kidding yourself if you sincerely think it's not a factor.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 356
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 10:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

why do i say luck then? bc of the time factor.

obviously if you start investing from 2003, you will make money on any blue chip that you bought but if you have start investing during the 1997-1998 or before that, the silicon valley fiasco techno stocks, then you are down on your luck.

TA doesn't really always work. there are alot of fake signs usually. I usually work from what I understand best (meaning its business) and then follows according to sentiments or at my whims. And I don't usually sell after I bought it, unless I'm punting. Strange to say, it works far better than any trading strategies.

Anna Ang (annaang)

Post Number: 95
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 10:40 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

All property stocks are using the same accounting practices, no it is no different from their report point of view.

The difference is in the numbers, and that don't lie.

SC Global has MINUS 31% Net Profit margin.

Using another property stock for comparison, HB.
HB is last traded at 1.955, NAV is 2.42

Price/NAV is 0.81

low gearing: 0.27 times

POSITIVE net profit

Full-year revenue and net profit came in at $341.5m and $202.5m respectively last year.

All property stocks need not be overly leverage, and there is a guide and ratio on how much leverage is ok, and how much is bad.

It is due to over leverage that bankrupt quite a lot of listed companies during the GFC of 08.

Which will you buy, if both are available, and which has more potential for growth and gain?
You decide :-)

My point is once you learn how to analyse stocks yourself, you don't have to blindly listen to what Stock Analysts, or Others say or give tips.

As for the last point about 2003, or 1997-1998, this is known as Investment clock or cycle. Investing is also about cycle, and knowing what time period you are currently in. This will help you manage your portfolio and re-balance it according to the time period.

If you want a less active role in managing it, then maybe use the Permanent Portfolio method, which can and has a way to re-balance the various instruments and diversification.

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 156
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 10:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

@anna : :-) hee hee.. you look like you are training in stock trading. Most of us are not and dont really have the time for it since we have kiddos to take care. ha ha ha .. buy stock is just a way to "save" and beat inflation for most mummies here.. hahaha..

Although , i understand that there is some use for graphs and formula analysis. Seriously, it will take some time to be good it at.. and even so there are factors outside the grph that may affect the stock. :-) Look at Olam.

As a busy mummies, with little patience and time to learn new skill.. I do think that bank stock,sgx, sph are probably best to start, so that you will be able to sleep at night.. hahaha..

They wont give you the high yields as other stock but at least you dun need to spend too much time to study them. Over a long run, they will yield. To me graphs and formulas are only for short term speculation. For long term investment, you have to know the business and believe that the business has potential.

Sarah2012 (sarah2012)
Username: sarah2012

Post Number: 8
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 10:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wow...all these financial talk with the terms and jargons are making me confused....

On a separate note, I do see some FREE seminars listed on the newspaper for beginners who want to learn the basics of trading in stocks. However, I am apprehensive about attending such talks as the organizers may have hidden agenda... No free lunch in this world.

Has anyone attended such seminars/talks and did you learn anything from it? Any hardsell like asking you to sign up courses with them etc?

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 157
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 10:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i dun know abt those on the newspapers..
i am using uob-kh, they organised seminars on stock trading.. i think those are quite "safe" to attend.. :P

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 282
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 11:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anna, I am definitely not being sarcastic. In fact, being encouraging so that you could share more of your personal experience when comes to personal investment.

Cheer on!

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 357
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 11:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Oh ya numbers can & do lie. Look at olam & noble today.

Anyway, sc global delisting is not a bad thing, not because sc global is not making money. Simon Cheong does not need money, it is not because his units cannot sell, it's because he doesn't want to sell. If he lowers the price down 10%, you think nobody will buy the Marq meh??

The benefits of delisting is so that there is no need to be answerable to public shareholders and less disclosure requirement. So can left pocket sell to right pocket, achieve high PSF and keep value artificially high while units remain unsold. Can be less transparent - that is the value of delisting. Somemore he has to pay extension charges for some of his projects currently not moving.

And this is why Far East is not listed. They do not need the money. Aiyo!!

If I'm holding SC Global's shares, I will not sell my shares but force Simon Cheong to sell his units cheaper.

Look at his balance sheet & his property portfolio. The higher the property market goes up, so do all those unsold property leh. SO MUCH MONEY UNREALISED. Net profit is not the usual performance measure for this company lor

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 283
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 11:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hmmm ... this thread is coming alive! Hurrah!

Good views from all parties. Personally, I have studied the TAs and FAs, the what have you not technicality of trading. But seriously, after decades of purchasing shares from the old days of calling your friendly broker to trading online, its about the feel.

May I suggest we share our personal experience on one particular stock we are faithfully following, and keep the technical jargons to the minimum?

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 158
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 11:25 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

@taitai.. anna is trying to get ppl to join her in some biz venture thingy.. so she got to look good in this thread... :P

ha ha ha.. so far i bought DBS , UOB , SGX and SPH..

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 358
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 11:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

another company to illustrate my point.

hongfok & concourse skyline. Have you went to see that project? I will love to buy it but not at that price loh. But they rather hold on & sell slowly. The longer they drag, the more they will earn.

But what's the point? The stock is not moving. Management not doing their job. No PR no advertising. Hold this stock & eat grass.
You can hold on for another 10 years before maybe they will decide to delist? is that guaranteed? No.

That's where the luck factor comes in.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 359
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 12:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Trading is not so simple n straightforward one loh
If it is about textbook regurgitation n skills honing, everyone w make big bucks.

I have a friend who works on the statistical trading program in bnp paribas. There is a whole team on this loh He is a first class honours phd graduate from an Ivy League university. Do u see BNP Paribas getting all their bets correct. The bank w be lucky if they got most of them correctly.

Aiyah not everyone can be like Peter lim lah. I'm pretty sure he doesn't make judgement calls on TA loh. It is more of him knowing the right pp, having the right connections n access to the right information (not the numbers in the accts sent out to common pp like us)

I w be happy to not lose money, get a healthy percentage on stocks higher than the fixed deposit rates n putting them in property. But now abit hard loh to buy property.
But cash has to flow somewhere hor

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 360
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 12:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jazz the stocks u holding all give good dividends. Not bad I especially like Uob n sph.

Uob very aggressive leh like anything goes, in their mortgage business. Sph also doing not too bad in their property investments.

Not vested in these stocks though. Need to vest w deep pockets man which I dun have :-)

luv (luvagape)
Username: luvagape

Post Number: 410
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 12:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

interesting thread indeed. Didn't know so many mummies here do invest in shares.

oh dear even Gold Guarantee is in trouble. the same boss who may have bought over some of Genneva's customers is now uncontactable. but still, i'm interested in gold. But would probably buy straight from UOB since they have a platform for buying gold.

i believe in the buy-and-hold strategy and zero in to dividend stocks. yes it may seem like outdated but as a FTWM, i really have no time to monitor the stock market and would perform a quickie DD with FA & TA and select the counter. anyone considering REITs?

Anna Ang (annaang)

Post Number: 96
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 1:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

@Sarah2012: Go attend those free seminars on investing, not trading. You need not sign up, attend, take notes, learn, and readup through books.
If you want a quick start, then go for those courses that give real value to your education, but most importantly, you need to apply them.

@san20sg: Thanks for the clarification. :D

As for olam & noble, they don't fall into the good FA stocks.
In the case of Olam, it has High leverage. From Sep 30 balance sheet, Debt to Equity ratio is extremely high at 2.45x while Net Debt to Equity ratio is also extremely high at 2.04x. It has been running on negative free cash flow (FCF) for the past 3 years. This is definitely a big red flag.

It also uses Aggressive accounting on biological gains, where gains from biological assets are 110,874 in FY2012 which seems to be a small amount compared to revenue (more than 17M) but makes up 27% of the profits.

Although, noble don't have the same issue as Olam, but its balance sheet and books don't look that good either, which eliminates them as good FA stock to invest.

So this 2 examples, show that, investing is about knowledge, and knowledge can be gain from reading, analyzing and applying it.

As for hongfok, it did move if you bought it at around 0.45 last apr, as it is currently at 0.615, giving you a return of 36.7% in the span of 8-9 months. This doesn't includes the dividend given last year, which would have given you a return of about 40%. not sure which bank or safe investment gives that sort of return.

Not sure about skyline though, which you can analyse in the same way.

You can always join some investing forums, or groups, to better understand which are the better FA stocks to invest in. But you do need to do your own home work to decide if that is a good stock to invest.

@JazzT: every mother is busy with kids and family. What is important is to make time, and manage time. If you spend 30 minutes every week day, reading, analysing and applying what you read, and say, 1 hour every weekend, ie, 4 1/2 worth of value to yourself, and this is compounded, as your knowledge increases, and your experience is gained.

As they say, picture paints a thousand words, so viewing a chart for 5 min, say once a week, gives you all the answers needed whether it is time for entry or exit. No active monitoring is needed at all. Always look at the big picture.

The figures can be easily puck from those share investing portals, and sgx, w/o spending too much effort, as it is the knowledge gain over the years, and analyzing and translating it into whether it is a buy, sell or hold.

And JazzT, I don't need to look good in this thread or any other thread, as I'm not selling or promoting.

I don't even list any stocks here becos someone may simply use it as a tip, and it can be disastrous, w/o the right fundamental and understanding, and simply buy it.

All I am saying is, if you want a consistent passive income, you need to make an effort and some changes. Commit some time to your own development, no matter how short or small it is, as it is accumulated over a long time period, and you will gain in the future.

Learn, apply, gain the knowledge, and experience, and at the end of the day, you are the one benefitting, not me.

And if it is not appreciated, with assumption that I'm trying to get people to join me, then I will not post or comment further here.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 361
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 1:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aiyah it is easier to say past history lah my hubby was holding on hongfok for years before it went up. But over the many years could have held something else n reap better returns like Aspial or fragrance which does not have as gd numbers as hongfok. Or even oxley.

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 159
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 1:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

And JazzT, I don't need to look good in this thread or any other thread, as I'm not selling or promoting.

If you are posting in so many threads with url to your investment biz/course. i dun see how that can be not promoting... ha ha ha :P

I don't even list any stocks here becos someone may simply use it as a tip, and it can be disastrous, w/o the right fundamental and understanding, and simply buy it.

i think by insisting that taking some courses and you turn to be very good in stock trading, is more disastrous. As you will are advocating ppl to invest in high volatile stocks that has plenty of movement to "read".... ha ha ha :P

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 284
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 1:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

True to an extent to know the basic foundations of selecting a stock before jumping in.

For me, not saying I am expert or earning big bucks from the stock market. But I have to say, all my TA knowledge has been shoved aside.

I totally agree that timing is the essence. It's a no-brainer, whoever bought the bank stocks, keppel land, capital land, CDL, SPH etc in 2009 ... you must be smiling. What TAs? It's panic selling by people who are scared and cannot hold, and were chasing the high and wanting more highs. But the true investors and not the least waivered by such panic selling, they continue to hold or load, average down. Now, they will see capital gains, with sound dividend payouts.

I also believed in gut-feeling. Of course, you must pick a sound/reasonable stock to begin with.

Many years ago, when the trend to pick-up reits was in play. Many have neglected K-reit, I have asked many experienced investors, and even my broker but none gave very positive feedback. I did some homework, and felt that this reit has good fundamentals. It's owned my Keppel Group, its office space are almost 100% take-up its gearing was the lowest amongst all reits with just over 20% only. So, I jump in. I whacked lah. Now its my best earning stock in terms of yield, and dividend payouts. But now its trading too high and the gearing is moving north. Time to re-assess this.

Another favourite reit is starhill global. Which retailer does not want a piece of Wisma Atria and Takashimaya!

Any comments on Wilmar? I went in at $3.50, and its trading up. But I feel that come Feb, this will fall below $3.50 again. Wilmar is a cash-rich company.

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 160
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 1:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

@taitai.. i still have my reservation on reit cos' i dun like other ppl to mgmt my $$. Feel that it opens up for creative accounting.

Yup.. it's timing that is the essence. And holding power. Why will sell DBS at $7 if they have $$ ? Its those that play margin that are forced to cover.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 362
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 1:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I believe in working with what u perform best or feel more comfortable with.

For me, it's property. I study real estate in school, work in property developers n even came out 2 yrs as a property agent. So naturally I feel more comfortable in property stocks.

TA n FA are useful yes but only to a certain extent. There are many many other factors out there. Inefficient mkt n access to mkt information is one, deep pockets, judgement sense n tge guts to leverage n activate these judgement calls and a certain amt of luck to pull it off.

It is ok to lay back abit n not get so stressed, if u get too worked up over ur lack of returns from the mkt, it then will not be passive income anymore. It becomes active income which u have to work hard on. We are not full time investors what.

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 161
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 1:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

@san20sg... my dream of becoming a landlord is dashed by the CM7. My hubby refused to put any more $$ into pty. :P now i have to look in other revenue to make better return. ha ha ha.

Actually rental income is the best..quite a few of my retired relatives have >2 fully-paid pty. Every mth just collect thousands from rental and go for holiday mthly.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 363
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 2:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wah taitai share with us next time oh ur gut feel leh.

I like!! Can pm me privately next time :-)

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 364
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 2:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jazz yah loh in the end I went to iskandar to buy a unit in puteri harbour leh haha but abit regret. Psf rm800+ too ex leh

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 162
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 2:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

okay lah.. puteri harbour is good.. alot of service apt and hotels building up.. big names are there..i am sure .. there is potential..
Now, i waiting for the GE to happen then decide if MY is go.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 365
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 2:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I like wilmar's mgmt under that kuok guy but I'm not too familiar with it.

W appreciate if others here w share more on this sector as I'm keen to go into this sector in 2013 but not at these px levels.

TIA!!

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 163
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 2:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

san20sg.. ha ha ha.. if you have guts.. then take olam lor..;P
i still holding on to it since last yr and still dun see a reason to let go without getting a decent profit yet.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 367
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 3:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

the catfight is really amazing - i mountain tortoise never seen such a big corporate fight before.

it's even more amazing that temasek is putting our taxpayer's money at risk like that. I hope they know what they are doing, really too impertient, where are the checks?

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 285
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 4:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My take is on Wilmar now. It's important to understand the business of the company you are investing in.

Olam, too diversify ... I am a bit confused where they derive their income from.

I still buying physical gold bullion coins from UOB. Though some experts say that gold is losing its lustre.

I like property counters, like Keppel Land and Capital Land and CMA. These counters are still under-valued.

But right now, STI is trading a bit on the high side (3200 to 3300) range. May take a step back for a little while. I am holding on till Feb where the second round of Fiscal Cliff discussion ensue. US and Europe are still deep deep deep in the woods.

I like reading Sunday Times - Invest section. Good and easy to read articles.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 368
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 4:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Can read the edge magazine too - they have a property section. Quite inexpensive n has an update of all the caveats created each month

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 369
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 4:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yup concerned abt that too sold off some stocks too early.

Yet after the new ppty measures, it is also certain that money has to flow somewhere. Just waiting for the direction signs too.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 370
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 4:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

And ermm concourse skyline is a condo project that hongfok is building. I'm talking abt the mgmt style. They r more keen on paying themselves hefty director fees n salaries than in deriving n realising value for the shareholders.

U have to take a longer perspective/ disappointed w them. Cut n ran.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 371
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 4:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Taitai can share how u value or evaluate Wilmar? Difficult leh since dont have apple to apple comparison unlike property stocks can use show flat sales figures n mkt comparison .

Not familiar w CPO prices.

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 286
Posted on Tuesday, January 29, 2013 - 5:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

San, once I have the time I will do a more thorough review on Wilmar. Need to calculate the intrinsic value, which is a very tedious process.

Wilmar is the World's largest processor and merchandiser of palm and lauric oils, as well as largest in edible oils refining and fractionation, oleochemicals, specialty fats and palm biodiesel.

This firm is not just about planting palm oil trees or into pure agriculture. It's more than that.

It studies the most advance way of extracting oil from the oil palm. It's heading towards technology rather than the focusing on agriculture/plantations.

That's why I am very interested in this firm.

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 164
Posted on Wednesday, January 30, 2013 - 9:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wah.. with the latest white paper on population..
Properties is going to chiong again.. :|

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 287
Posted on Wednesday, January 30, 2013 - 10:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yah .... by then I hope I am either dead or do not live in Singapore.

Anyway, PRs are not stupid. They know the constraints they will face. And seriously, I do not think that Singapore will be an attractive place for people to come work and live.

Our government should solve the imminent problems, they simply think way too far now.

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 289
Posted on Wednesday, January 30, 2013 - 10:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Walau .... look at the way Starhill Reit is climbing. Bang heart man.

It's getting higher and higher.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 372
Posted on Wednesday, January 30, 2013 - 11:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ya loh i sold a no of shares too early man.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 376
Posted on Wednesday, February 06, 2013 - 12:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wilmar is dropping. may be dropping more if the credit fears are coming back.

how's ur analysis taitai??

Momresource (momresource)
Advanced Member
Username: momresource

Post Number: 5259
Posted on Wednesday, February 06, 2013 - 2:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Need your advice here. I dont know stock but inherit CKGoh, SBS, Singtel shares for years and seem that vlaue is going down. Except that I will receive some dividend every day? How do I pump in a little more to make it into a passive income?

Momresource (momresource)
Advanced Member
Username: momresource

Post Number: 5260
Posted on Wednesday, February 06, 2013 - 2:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sorry, I mean receive dividend once every year.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 377
Posted on Wednesday, February 06, 2013 - 3:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

average down when sti is lower at below 3000 points, preferably around 2700-2800 points.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 378
Posted on Wednesday, February 06, 2013 - 3:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i don't know about ckgoh, sbs but singtel is ok.

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 291
Posted on Wednesday, February 06, 2013 - 5:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sigh ... very sorry. Too busy with office shifting and CNY preparations, no time to look at Wilmar's report.

Last year, one of my colleagues did it. And told me that their intrinsic value was around $6 plus. I am unsure about that myself, as I did not see it.

Go to investopedia, they have a calculator on this. I use that. But the thing is you need to look through the past years reports of Wilmar.

I have faith in Wilmar. Will load once it falls below the resistance of $3.64.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 379
Posted on Wednesday, February 06, 2013 - 5:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

im abit hesitant to load anything when sti breach almost 3400 points. rumours of credit problems coming back - banks not doing well.

will load around $3.2+ or $3.3+

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 292
Posted on Wednesday, February 06, 2013 - 5:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

San, you got a point there. And yes, the STI benchmark is an important indicator for me too.

dreamer (mybabydream)
Username: mybabydream

Post Number: 664
Posted on Saturday, February 23, 2013 - 11:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i have never played stks b4...n i wonder how do i start?

how much should we start wif if we are 1st starting to buy stks and wan to start small?

luv (luvagape)
Username: luvagape

Post Number: 415
Posted on Monday, February 25, 2013 - 12:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

dreamer, 1st you need to open a stock account with CDP and brokerage firm (ie DBS Vickers or UOB Kayhian). i think DBS or UOB can help you liaise with CDP, can't remember that part.

the min stock to buy/sell is 1 lot or 1,000 shares. penny stock can go as low as $0.08 (that means $80 for 1k lots excluding transaction & admin fees per sale/purchase transaction). the admin fees shouldn't be more than $50 if you don't buy alot. the more you buy/sell, the cheaper the admin fees.

good to start small. don't expect too much gains from penny stocks (value <$1/share). once you got the hang of it, can go buy more popular counters like blue chips and dividend stocks where the gains are more. HTHs :-)

mr_elmo (mr_elmo)
Username: mr_elmo

Post Number: 21
Posted on Monday, February 25, 2013 - 1:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

dreamer,

advice is to first, decide how much money you should be putting into the market. This should be after you set aside your emergency fund.

Your investment fund, therefore, are funds that you are able to risk without losing sleep over.

Stocks are considered high risk instruments. Among stocks, there are different classes - ordinary shares, preferred shares. Retail bonds are also traded on SGX. Warrants as well. So there are many different types of instruments. Investor education is important for any investor.

Investing can be a very emotionally charged exercise. Cannot get too emotional when dealing with investment as well, can cloud judgment.

Many people do lose money in the stock market. Many people do make money in the stock market as well. On a buyer/seller basis, it is a zero sum game unless the company you are investing in generates real value. Before you start, you got to ask yourself, if you are prepared to lose the money.

cheers.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 385
Posted on Monday, February 25, 2013 - 1:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Dreamer,

any brokerage firm can help you open a cdp account but you need to go down in person at the firm.

Never buy penny stocks if you are unfamiliar with the stock market. Look for some names you are aware of the business. Such as singtel etc. Or ask your broker to recommend some dividend plays like starhub, singtel, reits etc.

But now is not a good time to go in when the market is hot. STI 3300 is very hot.

Note that there is a minumum of $25+ or $30+ per buy or sell transaction. So if you are only buying $1000 then $60 (fees for buying & selling) already take up 6% of the $1000 capital, which your profits may not even cover that. I will think $5k at least, for me i purchase about $15-20k on a stock each time.

Otherwise, unit trust will be better for you.

blueswimmercrab (blueswimmercrab)
Username: blueswimmercrab

Post Number: 192
Posted on Saturday, March 02, 2013 - 4:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wow, thanks for this!!! read through all your posts and everyone sounds so experience.

i was interested in wilmar and commodities. but my broker advised noble insetead coz at that time wilmar went up to 3.8 already. any thoughts on noble? save for yahoo finance and other stock blogs and reading the company financial statements, any where else?

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 322
Posted on Monday, March 04, 2013 - 2:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

look at wilmar now .... dropped! You may wish to monitor the chart for the next few days to establish the resistance price or slowly average down.

I think well of wilmar, and will be loading.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 388
Posted on Monday, March 04, 2013 - 3:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wasted i didn't sell my oxley & lian beng. was thinking to average down too.

watching wilmar. u thinking of loading at what price? Im looking at $3.10-+

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 325
Posted on Monday, March 04, 2013 - 4:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I watching .... I am unsure why is Wilmar dropping.

My next price of entry is around $3.33

jkids (jkids)
Username: jkids

Post Number: 1302
Posted on Tuesday, March 05, 2013 - 9:55 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

juz wondering any of you's income juz depend on buy/sell shares and can comfortable surivive...?

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 391
Posted on Tuesday, March 05, 2013 - 10:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

market correction spark off by china's cooling measures.

wilmar is a high beta stock mah

jkids, of course not lah, those are very rich retirees type lah. cannot be dreaming of that, unless you have a market capitalisation of over $5M & above lah.

jkids (jkids)

Post Number: 1304
Posted on Wednesday, March 06, 2013 - 10:03 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

u all machiam very expert...

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 406
Posted on Wednesday, March 06, 2013 - 10:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

very hard to beat the mkt lah,

experienced maybe, but even tons of experts in bank also lose money. But easier for them since they are using other people's money mah so not emotionally involved like us.

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 331
Posted on Wednesday, March 06, 2013 - 11:23 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Or you all may consider this fund called Singapore Dividend Equity Fund. Distributed by DBS and POSB.

Taps into the blue chip companies largely in Singapore, and pay dividend 4 times a year.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 407
Posted on Wednesday, March 06, 2013 - 11:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

buy from bank very ex.

usu buy from fundsupermart.

jkids (jkids)

Post Number: 1306
Posted on Thursday, March 07, 2013 - 8:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi..wonder whether do u all study financial or econ during sch days ....? Or u hv jun Shi to guide u wen u lst started..? Does reading books all by yrself help....? I think wifoutr advice..it's like looking for nail in sea..or m I wrong to assume tis.?

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 408
Posted on Thursday, March 07, 2013 - 9:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

no lah, just experience gained along the way, reading analyst reports, check with broker on this & that.

for a start, just focus on one business you are familiar with and keep reading about that industry loh

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 409
Posted on Thursday, March 07, 2013 - 9:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

actually if you are not familiar or have no time to monitor just buy unit trusts or a sti etf trust fund lah

Joanne (mummy_darling)
Username: mummy_darling

Post Number: 21
Posted on Sunday, March 10, 2013 - 8:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wow.. looks like so many things to learn in order to start, isnt it?

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 338
Posted on Monday, March 11, 2013 - 6:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joanne, it's looks complex. But not so.

I started doing this .... sign-up with any of the local broking firm. Get an access passcode to log onto their platform.

Pick a few stocks, good way to start is to pick the blue chip companies. Track their daily movements, read their annual reports which you can download for free. It's always good to buy on dip. But difficult to time the market.

You do not have to read the entire spectrum of information on the net, just stick to the annual reports, the chart history of the particular stock you are interested in.

When you track the movement of the stock, you will be curious to know y the dip and ups. Read the daily news and you will know.

Once you are used to the momentum, you will have the confident to start investing.

Alternatively, I buy unit trust. There is one, see my earlier post, called the Singapore Dividend Equity Funds. It buys into a group of companies, mostly registered in Singapore/listed in SGX, and pays a quarterly dividend to they investor. Not bad for a start.

ukas2012 (ukas2012)
Username: ukas2012

Post Number: 14
Posted on Tuesday, March 12, 2013 - 9:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Watching Wilmar too! It is at 3.390-3.400. Time to load??

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 410
Posted on Tuesday, March 12, 2013 - 10:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

im looking at $3.1+

ukas2012 (ukas2012)

Post Number: 15
Posted on Tuesday, March 12, 2013 - 10:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, san20sg (san20sg)

What other shares in your watchlist?
Am watching capitaland too

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 411
Posted on Tuesday, March 12, 2013 - 11:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

so ex leh at $3.6

im trying to learn a new sector. previously all in property stocks.

ukas2012 (ukas2012)

Post Number: 16
Posted on Tuesday, March 12, 2013 - 12:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yes, it is quite ex now at $3.6. Will need to monitor for a while.

u r quite experience in stock market...:-)

jkids (jkids)

Post Number: 1311
Posted on Saturday, March 16, 2013 - 3:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

actually at wat price is considered cheap and wat price expensive? or do we needto
monitor tat stk price for sometime(rise and fall) before we can conclude?> and if so, wat woudl b a suitable to monitor until?

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 412
Posted on Saturday, March 16, 2013 - 11:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

nobody will be able to tell u that.

price/value is subjective. one deems it ex one feels value due to potential. different stock at various industries at different cyclical stage.

You are better off asking your broker for specific stocks u are looking at.

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 339
Posted on Monday, March 18, 2013 - 10:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

never time the market.

ukas2012 (ukas2012)

Post Number: 24
Posted on Monday, March 18, 2013 - 5:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

capitaland 3.46... today

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 413
Posted on Tuesday, March 19, 2013 - 12:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

still ex. mkt looks like it is coming down.

ukas2012 (ukas2012)

Post Number: 25
Posted on Tuesday, March 19, 2013 - 9:40 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

What do you think about this share : Sheng Siong 0.635? Any potential?

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 344
Posted on Tuesday, March 19, 2013 - 10:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sheng Siong : too high liao!

Capital Land vs. Keppel Land

The latter pays more dividend. :-)

ukas2012 (ukas2012)

Post Number: 29
Posted on Monday, March 25, 2013 - 9:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks TaiTai.

Wow! Wilmar is at 3.46 now. Looks like too high to load now.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 414
Posted on Friday, April 12, 2013 - 9:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wilmar now at 3.34. another 10-20cts more

ukas2012 (ukas2012)

Post Number: 38
Posted on Sunday, April 14, 2013 - 10:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

It is in my watchlist too.

ukas2012 (ukas2012)

Post Number: 42
Posted on Wednesday, April 17, 2013 - 11:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi san20sg (san20sg)

Wilmar is as low at 3.25 this week. when is the best time ?

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 415
Posted on Wednesday, April 17, 2013 - 12:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Quite low

But may is traditionally a weak month

ukas2012 (ukas2012)

Post Number: 43
Posted on Wednesday, April 17, 2013 - 2:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi san20sg (san20sg),

is up again at 3.32 , what is the price you are thinking to load ?

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 165
Posted on Wednesday, April 17, 2013 - 6:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

dun think it's a good time to enter...

The mkt is quite crazy at the moment.
Property transactions continue to be high.
Gold just drop big time.
UK looks like it may be out of EU.
SG Econ contracted 1st qtr.
H7N9 reports.
Boston Bombing.

Looks like something bad is looming, you may want to consider waiting after MY election is over.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 416
Posted on Thursday, April 18, 2013 - 9:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jazz, is uk ever in EU? I thought they are not. what's up with gold - never check on the market as busy with work recently?

think h7n9 no issue at the moment unless china announces it starts to transmit from pp to pp.

ukas, I think if you wanna go in now, you can but maybe at lower stakes? can average down or up when mkt's better. nobody can time the market lah

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 369
Posted on Thursday, April 18, 2013 - 10:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

UK is never a part of EU lah. They use sterling pound not euro.

I will continue to buy gold and average down as the prices go down. The prices are trading in paper losses, not the physical gold. Don't forget that gold need to be mined, extracted. The expenses of mining gold has gone up many folds, so ... not fret by the falling prices but happy to accumulate more.

Will continue to buy Wilmar and average down as it falls, when it rise, I will sell part of my holdings.

Will look into the fund which I talked about called the Singapore Dividend Equity Fund, which I can buy into a basket of Singapore Blue Chip companies, and reap their dividends.

Comments?

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 166
Posted on Thursday, April 18, 2013 - 12:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

http://europa.eu/about-eu/countries/index_en.htm

hmm... UK does not use EURO.. does not means that its not part of EU ... *ha ha ha *
EU is more than just single currency. there are trade pacts , financial policies and more...

Aniway, if UK leaves , other nations may follow. Already germans are upset abt paying other ppl debts..
aniway.. here's the news on uk leaving..
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-04-14/almost-one-in-five-u-k-companies-favor-leaving-eu.html

Gold just drop again today..Cyprus only talks abt selling their gold.. they havent sell yet..There will probably be a further plunge when it actually happens.

As for H7N9, do you still remember SARS ? Overnight asian mkt come to a standstill. If H7N9 can be pass from person to person, then food trading will be effected along side transports and other business..

I rather hoard when the stock plunge or when the air is clear , than to jump in now..

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 417
Posted on Thursday, April 18, 2013 - 1:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

There will be always these what-ifs & nots lah

I have just went HK & back. It's not as bad as we thought. The pp there are not as worried as compared to us. The no. of cases look bad but not as bad as the no. of cases of dengue fever in sg lah. u compare 459 cases of dengue fever in little small sg compared to 30+ of h7n9 in china?

Before this H7n9, there is this swine flu H1N1. And the real sars h5n1 is still making the rounds at cambodia & southeast asia. SARS is horrifying bc of its pathogenic quality & speed of spread & there is no cure & they cannot produce it in time. H7N9 is not that bad, a vaccine is expected to be out in 7 months.

My husband is still buying tho we are not touching margin for now.

Yes lots of worrying factors but I'm ok. I look at the probabilities.

But if really conservative, can consider entering at below 3000 points bah

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 167
Posted on Thursday, April 18, 2013 - 1:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i dun think you shld time the mkt..but at least need to know what is happening ard mkt. Of course, you need to have confident in the stock.

aniway, maybe a good time to pick up some AUD.. now treading at 1.27x down from 1.3 last wk. AUD FD is offering ard 2-3% p.a. Couple with the fx upside.. you may see 4-5% gain over a yr. Pretty decent for now.

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 168
Posted on Thursday, April 18, 2013 - 2:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

as for H7N9 , the point is not the how many ppl die or how many are affected.
Its how it affects the business activites. If there is outbreak, business will close.. and ships will leave port empty. Tourism is affected.. Air travel suspended. Hotel reservation cancelled. Do you what is the econmoic damage due to SARS the last round is estimated to be worse that AID/HIV.

Once there is bad news, you will not be able to cut loss easily.

Anyway... as long as you are aware on what is happening.. then that's good.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 418
Posted on Thursday, April 18, 2013 - 2:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yup i know im saying i think the effects not as bad as sars the last round. Think the last time swine flu, it rebounds back quite fast.

Thanks for the heads up on Aussie tho!

JazzT (ccjt)

Post Number: 169
Posted on Thursday, April 18, 2013 - 2:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

san20sg, in term of stock mkt .. the rebound was quite swift.. however, it hurts business margin..so you may see company financal reports affected afterwards.
Already many companies are very lean now.. any major lose in profit may have adverse effect on the company.

Wilmar is an agruicultural stock i.e. thus, so what it owns has a time to it.. it needs to sell within a given time. They may be affect by increase freight cost / examination cost when it cross borders if there is a outbreak.

I believe if there an outbreak.. the stock will be trading at a better entry point. For now i think i will skip this stock..

I know what you mean by what-ifs and nots. The most impt is to understand the issue involved and make a brave decision. If you are not clear.. then is as good as gambling..dun even know the odds.

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 431
Posted on Sunday, May 19, 2013 - 10:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pity didn't pickup wilmar at its low. too busy with work. but good thing is i didn't let go oxley too!

Taitai (taitai)

Post Number: 403
Posted on Monday, May 20, 2013 - 11:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

San, when did Wilmar hit its low and at how much?

Anyone here looking to buy gold?

san20sg (san20sg)

Post Number: 434
Posted on Monday, May 20, 2013 - 6:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

can't remember the exact px but think it hit $3.1+ something. just a few weeks ago.

not familiar with gold leh.

frogprincess (frog)
Username: frog

Post Number: 934
Posted on Tuesday, May 21, 2013 - 12:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

The recent low 16/04 was $3.25. In December it was doing around $3.10 before it went up to $3.90

Gold is purely speculative. I have some that is making money and some that is losing... Think I have had enough for the time being. AUD is something I am considering...

Tammy Lim (sundaymorning)
Username: sundaymorning

Post Number: 145
Posted on Wednesday, May 22, 2013 - 1:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i am considering AUD too ~ !

Wendy Su (wendysu)
Username: wendysu

Post Number: 11
Posted on Wednesday, May 22, 2013 - 2:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wow, can anyone guide me too? I am newbie, dunno where and how to start?

Catherine (thiasy)
Username: thiasy

Post Number: 340
Posted on Wednesday, May 22, 2013 - 2:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Any good stocks that is undervalued and can buy recently?

I just sold off my singtel shares & made 40% profit.. looking for something else to buy.

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use