SingaporeMotherhood.com * Matters Of The Heart * AUTISM, ADHD, ADD, etc – SUPPORT GROUP! * Archive through May 05, 2012 < Previous Next >

newmummy08 (newmummy08)
Username: newmummy08

Post Number: 827
Posted on Monday, April 02, 2012 - 10:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

so sad...today my son hit 3 kids!Hit as in use his hand to act like scratch his fren face!goodness!how shall i teach my son!??
He seems don understand us!
Btw,for the early intervention program,will it able to teach kids more behave?but he doesnt understand!!!and just repeat the sentence i told him....
y my son like tat?y he cant be like other normal kids?he is 3 yo already...i really dunno knw wat to do now!I scare he kena kick out from school and he will got lesser chance to be learn how to sosialise..!
god..pls help me....:-(

ann (jazzieline)
Username: jazzieline

Post Number: 69
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 11:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi! Newmummy, your son is high functional like my son. Don't give up and be patient to him. I was very stress too whenever the CC called. Is always either he injured others or he failed his attempt and injure himself. Why u never think of go to autistic center for epic? I see great improvement in my son's behavior after we started epic 2 mths ago.

ann (jazzieline)
Username: jazzieline

Post Number: 70
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 11:22 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Change a childcare, if they can't handle your son. Try ICCP, and I know some place do take in special kids, just that not sure if is expensive. I will PM u the contact if u interested.

good try (coping)
Username: coping

Post Number: 209
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 11:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

newmummy i totally undertsand what u going thru.. my son hits only us but we wil discipline him.. n he will pull ours n sister's hair..it takesa lot of effort but maybe witht he epic sessions he will improve..dont give up.

scatterbrain (scatterbrain)
Username: scatterbrain

Post Number: 224
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 3:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just to check what are the signs in order to diagnose that the kid had austism? My son is 3.5 years and he had difficulty in expressing his needs. His speech also restricted to 2-words sentence. But he tends to ask what happen to this and what happen to that etc. Sometimes I really wonder do we need to stick to the milestone for each and every of the kids developments? If that kid fails to meet, does that means that thats the end of the kid's future?

Louise (louisa_03)
Username: louisa_03

Post Number: 159
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 4:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Star, I visited Dynamics, but decided not to enrol my son due to the location. If I remember correctly, the fees about 1K for thrice a week.
there will be weekly OT and ST which falls on certain days.
newmummy, this path is never going to be easy; things will surely work out well, we just stick on to the path- continue with the childcare until rainbow accept him.

good try (coping)

Post Number: 210
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2012 - 5:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

New mummy my nephew is aut istic but wi doth therapy he is much btr n in pathlight.my two neighbors also autistic n one went therapy n is now in st Andrew another is 5 n just revert to therapy m is much btr. So give therapy a try n let pray it will help ..dont give up

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 828
Posted on Wednesday, April 04, 2012 - 11:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Ann,which epic ctr ur son went?i did send the profile to CEl and now waiting list in rainbow..dunno need to wait until when!!
so in order not to sit and wait, i sent my boy to kits4kids!it also nearly $1k for 9-12noon,mon-fri.Still need pay transportation fees!I don knw how effective of the program but i hv to try...and yes!every time cc call, im so stress!!i scare he kena kick out by school!
well...i talk to the principal atleast she allow my son go halfday,but pay in fullday fees...allow the therapist go monitor him in cc if needed...i was so relief after heard frm her!!im so worried every nite i cant zz!!and zz with tear...:-(
So Ann,nw ur son at which child care?i did try to change cc,the thk is all convenience to my are all are fulled!even i try call one ICCP near my working place also full!
So for ICCP still hv to get dr write a letter to them then they only accept the application rite?
GoodTry,which epic ur son go?seems u soudn the intervention so effective,i also wish my son got improvement!!anyway,i already sent him to kits4kids,and today just a first day..he still cooping,but quite well...hope it continue and improve!
And i wish my son jsut hit or push me,if he want to but not attack otehr kids in cc,else he sure no cc to go!
i nvr gv up,but sometime just dunno how to do and help my son!other than intervention program to let those specialist help him,,as parent,wat i shall do??im quite lost,.,but atleast at this forum i can find some one to to share abt...atleast i know im not alone!!
really hope all our kid are NORMAL!:-(
Louise,is really true this path is not easy...i always thk vy far,wat will happen to my son when he grow up?haiz...:-(
when i know autism kids will nvr been recovered and cure 100%...only will improve...my heart broken...y!?y it will happen to me?:-(
i just really need all mummies here to hv mentally support..else..i sure collapes!!

good try (coping)

Post Number: 211
Posted on Thursday, April 05, 2012 - 11:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Newmummy my heart brokrn twice when nephew was autistic n we dunno what on earth it was 6 years ago then my only son told me he vrry lonely n need to take care of nephew alonr n I tried so hard n finally have another child but now dr suspect he might be n I devastated I was like I burdened my ekder son agsin

good try (coping)

Post Number: 212
Posted on Thursday, April 05, 2012 - 11:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

But it is alearning process for us n my son. I told him we don't know why such thing happen but we will try our best n seeif it helps. But my nephew used to screan a lot cant eat solidbut bb porridge till 5 n dun eat fruits unless smashed is so much btr. They can even bring him overseas n I read few testimonies of complete healingthru prayers n I am comforted

Debbie Heng (dabi)
Username: dabi

Post Number: 2
Posted on Thursday, April 05, 2012 - 3:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Trina,
He dun really pay attention well and got distrated easily. Cannot really complete a task. Sometimes he will like playing piano on the table w fingers or do druming. Also not sure if its due to his festive drum lesson for CCA he joined. Cannot queue up properly also and dun really follow instructions. Haiz : (

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 829
Posted on Thursday, April 05, 2012 - 11:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tats really a hard time for all of us!well...we have same hope...hope our kid will improve and indipendence when they grow up~!!
Going overses these days...mayb not so frequent in this thread...do enjoy u all holiday with ur family~!!

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 830
Posted on Thursday, April 05, 2012 - 11:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Debbie...my son also same like ur son...i found all mummies here the kid also are boy,rite?

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 831
Posted on Monday, April 09, 2012 - 9:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi just wonder for psychological therapy is meant for those kids with difficult behavior?
any idea how effective of this therapy?

good try (coping)

Post Number: 213
Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 - 7:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yrs most boyd went for thr hpb talk for ca.regiver all parrnts who attended are boys.

Louise (louisa_03)

Post Number: 160
Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 - 2:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

newmummy, fully understand your feelings especially you look at kids who are younger and so well-behaved.

My son (2 1/2 year old) will run, or I should say spin off the minute he is free off his stroller in the public area. When we tried to hold him, he will scream at the top of his voice. My husband and myself have phobia bringing him to shopping center for meals, but life still goes on, we will try other places (open field, park, beach) which is more suitable for him.
These Austism kids are special and we, as mothers will just try our best, dont think about what is going to happen in future!! Keep praying and think postiviely at all times- they will be fine.

On Good Friday, I watched a short cliop about Nick Vujicic, a very successful man now, was born without arms and legs. Most amazingly, he got married to a very beautiful lady in Feb 2012.
Dont give up...

I am still waiting for EPIC (Tiong Bahru) which will only cater twice/thrice times per week.
I am thinking of applying for kindergarten to keep him socializing with other kids PROVIDED the principle accept and able to handle him.

Srumpee (scrumpee01)
Username: scrumpee01

Post Number: 1338
Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 - 3:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

For me, I am getting a private tutor who specialise in teaching special needs kids for my boy, teach him English and Maths. Not too sure if I am too kiasu since my boy is only 3 years old but I just want to give him as much as I can so that he can catch up with his peers when he reaches K1.

I am also thinking of enrolling him to Berries to learn Chinese.

Louise (louisa_03)

Post Number: 161
Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 - 5:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Scrumpee, just wondering how the private tutor can handle my boy if he has no speech yet and cannot be seated?
How much per hour?

Srumpee (scrumpee01)

Post Number: 1339
Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 - 5:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Louise
$100 for an hour. I am starting him with twice a mth and increase the hours when he gets older like K1 or K2.

Not sure if the tutor can teach non-verbal kids, maybe can because she did ask if my boy is verbal, so if not verbal, she may use other methods.

Louise (louisa_03)

Post Number: 162
Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 - 5:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

scrumpee, may I know what is her background and expertise and how you get to know her? Is she like speech therapist?
Can you share with me after the 1st session of the lesson?

Srumpee (scrumpee01)

Post Number: 1340
Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 - 6:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Louise
I got her contact from a friend who's boy has mild autism. She teaches in special school for more than 10 years and her students are from 2 to 18 years old.

Don't think she is a therapist cos I am getting her to teach academics like English and Maths, not ST or OT therapy.

Share more with you after the first lesson in May

Louise (louisa_03)

Post Number: 163
Posted on Wednesday, April 11, 2012 - 11:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks Scrumpee

good try (coping)

Post Number: 214
Posted on Wednesday, April 11, 2012 - 11:56 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

there are st that goes to home but they charges about 150 per trip..

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 832
Posted on Wednesday, April 11, 2012 - 11:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI mummies...i thk there will be sure hv those exp tutor or specialist to teach autisme kids...but the chargers are really ex!I'm not that rich but thk off my son may need more these therapy im so sad and worry...i need to save alot to spend on him for all these therapy!
Btw,anyone of u knw how effectiveness of psychologist therapy?
My first appointment will only at KKH on 31/5!it need 3 hours for it...wonder wat they will do to me boy...any idea?

good try (coping)

Post Number: 217
Posted on Thursday, April 12, 2012 - 9:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I was called by kkh on wed n o told them wait till three. I thimk to myself so what if he is labelled so young I m already going thrtspy already.. So I told them do nect time. I saw onemum in pte therapy she told psychologist to tell her strength of her child n weakness but no label

good try (coping)

Post Number: 218
Posted on Thursday, April 12, 2012 - 9:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

There are two sch of thought why not save money on pte therapy for their future instead n. Now young can change them..but maybe we try to strike a balance some mum will read n find out n do themselves but for me I really dunno so engage others but I wont go beyond my ability

Liz (lizziewine)
Username: lizziewine

Post Number: 1
Posted on Sunday, April 15, 2012 - 9:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi everyone - I am a mum with a boy 8 years with autism and a girl 10 years with Asperger's Syndrome ... it's been a long long road since i first diagnosed my kids when they were 3 years plus... every since then, we've done most of private therapies where we could and to date, it's been almost half a million bucks invested in just our two kids to have them be who they are today. I know not many can afford something like this and that I've been sooooo blessed with things falling into place along the way without even knowing how ... but my message to all mums is never give up - it's a lifetime of blessings with these special kids we have and there will be days where we cry and want to give up but know that you're not alone .... If anyone is wanting to hear more about my experiences, let me know cos I dun wanna take up the whole page :-p ... Hugs for all you wonderful mothers dealing with your kids !!

Liz (lizziewine)

Post Number: 2
Posted on Sunday, April 15, 2012 - 9:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Also, if anyone needs recommendation to good interventions and therapies that my kids did and I've seen progress and improvements, let me know - happy to share ... My highest recommendation is the Early Intervention Programme for young kids at the Autism Resource Centre that is in the same place as Pathlight School in Ang Mo Kio - within 6 mths there, my boy started talking and communicating ... :-)

teenie (teenie)
Username: teenie

Post Number: 2232
Posted on Sunday, April 15, 2012 - 10:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi liz
thanks for sharing
can share who are the pt u engaging?

good try (coping)

Post Number: 219
Posted on Monday, April 16, 2012 - 8:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

liz i try to pm u but cant.. can u share..so where is your kids now..pathlight or main stream schools?thanks...u are a strong mummy

cloudz (cloudz)
Username: cloudz

Post Number: 499
Posted on Monday, April 16, 2012 - 9:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

can i know how to identify ADHD in children? Recently i noticed my boy pushes other kids in the playground, public, also in his class. And screams in the bathroom, refusing to take shower. I'm worried if it's ADHD.

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 833
Posted on Monday, April 16, 2012 - 12:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Clouds!I hv same concern as u!!!My boy also did tat to other kids!i also not sure is ADHD or ASD,but he doesnt hv those sysmton!Im vy worry the principal will kick him out!I also dunno y he so hate to tk shower!and also refuse change cloths!How old is ur son now?Which cc?
Hi Liz,u are really a strong woman!i would say support is vy important to every on of us!
Till now,i still dunno he is ASD or wat coz sometime he can act like "normal" kids!I thk he more on behaviour prob!i teally hv no idea how to teach him,only hope he can get improve in pte school...but only half a day program that i can affort at the moment...coz it really ex!

good try (coping)

Post Number: 220
Posted on Monday, April 16, 2012 - 10:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

http://www.sidroth.us/2012/04/11/sid-roth-welcomes-melanie-hemry-gina-lynnes/
Find this inspiring

Tam (ram)
Username: ram

Post Number: 164
Posted on Tuesday, April 17, 2012 - 12:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi liz

same here too! EIPIC at ARC truly benefitted him ALOT... n so is the prep class at pathlight.. ds now in p1 mainstream. adapting very well; much better than i expected. his current target is to be the next exemplary student for his class! n he loves his school so much tt he looking forward to mon during weekends.

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 835
Posted on Tuesday, April 17, 2012 - 12:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Tam,which EIPIC ctr u refer?ARC is?
wow...tats encourage!how old is ur kid now?

Louise (louisa_03)

Post Number: 164
Posted on Tuesday, April 17, 2012 - 4:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks for the inspiring article. Praise the Lord!
All mothers here will just do our best within our strength and limit and at the same time start praying...
Scrumpee, can you please email me (aaron.louisa@gmail.com) the contact number of the private tutor you will be engaging?
SPD (Tiong Bahru) just informed me that the new class for my boy will be 12pm-230pm twice a week.
My boy wakes up at 6-7am and his lunch and nap from 12pm onwards.
GOt to wait again for another class to start.
I had bad experience with my boy, not taking his routine nap time.

Srumpee (scrumpee01)

Post Number: 1345
Posted on Tuesday, April 17, 2012 - 6:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Louise
My boy is also in the same afternoon slot. Somehow, he managed to adjust his nap time to after 3pm on the two days he needs to go EIPIC. But there are two other kids in his class who always doze off at around 2pm. So be prepared for it if you can't change the timing.

Will email the contact to u separately.

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 836
Posted on Tuesday, April 17, 2012 - 11:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ya...lets pray together!
My boy recently having a tantrum quite often especially after child care at evening time..don knw wat happen to him...
Sent him to kits4kid, so far i cant see any improvement...:-(
shall i talk to the principal or shall wait end of the week see any update?
Im lost...depresss...tired...weak...i really need some support!

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 837
Posted on Tuesday, April 17, 2012 - 11:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Btw,my son will hv appointment next mth for psychologist therapy,it cost $330 for 3 hr accessment at HPB building refer frm KKH...
Any mummies went for this?shd i let my boy go?it quite ex...and i don knw how effective of it..as last friday he went for the ST,seems most of the time we just "see" him throw tantrum and not really hv ST at all...:-(

Adeline Nyo (adeline999)
Username: adeline999

Post Number: 109
Posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 7:09 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi newmummy08,

How long hv him been in kits4kid? Sometimes it takes a while to see chges. Also we need to do work with son too to make him progress faster. My boy showed improvements after joining pte intervention school after 6 mths esp on eye contacts n behavior.
For me, i defer the $ 330 assessment till he has a place in govern sped sch.

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 838
Posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 12:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Adeline,he only been there less than 1 mth, but atleast he can show me some changes,but seems nothg,other than he will speak more words,but not clear...
Ur boy how old now?which pte intervention he at now?so u saw the changes in behavior as in which part?
I don knw shall go for the accessment but if wai the place in gov,may tk awhile...basically wat the accessment will do to him?

odae (odae)
Username: odae

Post Number: 609
Posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 1:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi newmummy08

I supposed you are scheduled the same test which we sent our boy to, by KKH as it also cost us abt $330 for 3 hours assessment & thereafter, we had abt 30-45min feedback session with the psychologist. We paid the fee thru CDA which you might want to consider :-)

But we did it at St Andrew's Community Hospital instead as we did not want to further delay the appt date.

good try (coping)

Post Number: 221
Posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 1:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i delayed his assessment as i am still sending him for st n ot.. so unless i am waiting for the assessment to start ot n st..

Tam (ram)

Post Number: 165
Posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 2:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi newmummy08, arc is autism resource centre as what liz strongly recommended too.. the one located at pathlight school at ang mo kio.

Tam (ram)

Post Number: 166
Posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 2:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ds is 7yo tis year.

Liz (lizziewine)

Post Number: 3
Posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 3:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi - my email direct is lisa@mavencomms.com .. sorry if you couldnt reach me earlier - I do better with direct emails... :-)

Cheers and love
Lisa

Liz (lizziewine)

Post Number: 4
Posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 3:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi - yes ARC is the Autism Resource Centre where they have the wonderful Early Intervention Programme ... some of you already have your child in this programme- by far, it's the best intervention I have come across with the biggest impact in a group setting. The teachers there are wonderful people who have since become my friends :-)

As for my children, now, -- my son started EIP at ARC at age 4 plus and we managed to push him into the system to get into Pathlight. He's in Primary One now (yes he had to do the foundation year as well) ... he's soooo amazing with his disposition and being such a happy child by nature, we've seen him from a non-talking boy to one that talks non-stop today! All that interventions and therapies we sent him to for so long have paid off... but we're not resting on our laurels ... still much work on a daily basis to explain, talk to him and teach him basic life skills so he can function well in life and in the world properly. Please email me on lisa@mavencomms.com if you want some contacts for some interventions I put my kids through. These help I got my kids are not cheap so be prepared to pay if you are keen to do these...

As for my girl, she's a 98% percentile high-functioning child so I was advised to put her into mainstream from the start so her high-functioning abilities can be honed and developed and kept. If I put her into special school like pathlight, then she would be quite 'wasted' there... So far, it's usually the social aspects that she struggles with, with the first year in primary one being the worst (she came home crying every other day cos she felt different and didnt know how to make herself fit in) - so that year was very traumatic for all of us and very emotionally draining. She's now in Primary 4 and has since been voted the Pupil of the Year for Pr 3 cohort across the levels. Very very proud of her and how far she has come.All the teachers love her and her altruistic tendencies to help and support her clasmates and teachers always - guess it's the family upbringing we insist at home too so it's become part of her personality now... It's not been easy and even for me, still finding my way around many things, helping her understand and manage herself in the real world, esp with bullies in school who try to get away hurting her emotionally. Every year, I have to write long letters to her form teachers to help them understand what Asperger is all about and how they can continue to support her within the classroom and school environment...

Lots more stories in between but this is the quick sumary of how it's been so far ... my biggest lesson with my two gifts from God is love them no matter what and accept them in spite of whatever else is going on in life! :-)

Liz (lizziewine)

Post Number: 5
Posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 6:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

By the way, those who has kids who lash out at other kids, or cannot seem to manage their emotions or behaviour without getting into hitting out at others need to be looking at interventions that help the child manage himself emotionally and increase awareness about others around him. There are many methods out there, so the key is to find out that works and has your child responding to the help given. There is nothing wrong with the child - just that consciousness of their behaviour isn't there and it needs professional help to bring that out. These kids are sorely misunderstood as there are very often further root issues that contribute to them behaving this way - so don't give up on them - keep looking for the right help to help your child manage him/herself and the behaviour - very often, if seen from the child's perspective, they cannot help it - cannot help behaving in that way because maybe that's the only way they know how to express themselves.

good try (coping)

Post Number: 222
Posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 9:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Think I cant change the centre can only pray that awwa will be just as good

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 839
Posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2012 - 10:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI odae,So after u brg ur kid to the accessment,is that help?wat they going to do with him?with tat 3 hr,they can finalise is the kid ASD?the feedback session for me was schedule on the other day,not on the same day...i jus need to know is it help to let him hv this accessment.
My son was in kits4kid,the principal said no need yet as my boy still not prepare for it.mayb 3 mths later,else,they will dignose my son as ASD.
My hubby was wonder,means during these period,they will so call "correct" him, so that when next s=appointment,my son will more behave and perform better,so to avoid him to be dignose as ASD?
I dunno the intention..is my son too early for the accessment?
Tam,Liz..ARC is for kids abv 6 yr?for Primary kids?My son only 3yo and i found among all private,this is the only nearer to my hse and cheaper as well.
So far he went there,the teacher always feedback he doing vy gd in school and nvr throw tantrum at all and follow instruction too.But wen he back to home,he like to cry and shouted for somethg he want to and insist want it!else he cried and throw tantrum...some how i was wonder he bully us as he knw we wil get thgs for him once he cried?but we already no longer doing that,if he cry,we just let him cry till he stop after awhile..i also dunno is this the correct way..
feel vy tired with all this ans depress too...:-(

Srumpee (scrumpee01)

Post Number: 1349
Posted on Thursday, April 19, 2012 - 10:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

newmummy
My son's KKH doc said, even if the kid improves, it will not change the diagnosis as to them, the kid improves because of intervention, hence the underlying conditions still remain. But i guess delaying it helps so that he is better behave for the doc to have a more accurate diagnosis and probably can concentrate better to do IQ test. IQ test is impt cos if the child can't attend mainstream, he needs to score at least 70 to get into Pathlight.

Also, u need to assess the need for diagnosis. If he is already getting intervention and going to school, then why need the diagnosis now? cos it is going to affect his future insurance etc. My doc advises me to diagnose my boy when he reaches K2 since he may need it to assess what school he can go to. For me, I will try to delay and just do IQ test only if he can cope in mainstream.

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 840
Posted on Thursday, April 19, 2012 - 11:22 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI Srumpee,u mean just delay for the diagnosis first for psycho therapy?but it come with the IQ test...i still dunno shall let him hv the accessment first or delay first...

Srumpee (scrumpee01)

Post Number: 1350
Posted on Thursday, April 19, 2012 - 12:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

newmummy
for sessions with the psychologist, you don't need to have the full 3 hour assessment. The psychologist only spent an hour each time with my boy to observe him and give us advise on how to manage him. That's all, not a formal diagnosis.

I don't know what your psycho therapy entails but at least for my boy's case, that's all.

odae (odae)
Username: odae

Post Number: 610
Posted on Thursday, April 19, 2012 - 1:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi newmummy08

Ours was also 3hrs assessment and we returned for the feedback session separately tho the psychologist did ask if we wanted to finish up the whole session on that same day.
My son was almost 5yrs old before he was assessed as all those while he was the in between kind and no one can definitely said he has ASD. Thus, wait & see till we really pushed for it.

After the assessment, the psychologist shared with us the assessment findings such as what kind of spectrum he's in (mild or severe), high functioning, etc. & also provided the recommendations on the next progress my boy could take.

We are currently looking to register my boy in mainstream P1 next wk & we spoke to the KKH medical doctor abt it as we are concerned if we need to send any report to the school once he got a placement and in fact, she mentioned that they will send a copy of the assessment report to the school on our behalf once we signed the consent form.

Also, my understanding on Pathlight is to get into it, the child has to be diagnosed as having ASD and they require the submission of the report. Perhaps, Tam or the rest of the mummies whose kids are/had been with Pathlight can share more info on this? :-)

Liz (lizziewine)

Post Number: 7
Posted on Thursday, April 19, 2012 - 4:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yes - to get into Pathlight, it has to be a definite autism spectrum disorder diagnosis otherwise cannot be considered for entry ....

There is the EIP programme at Autism Resource Centre which is located in that same venue as Pathlight school ... this programme is for kids below primary school age ... website for more info on their programme and entry requirements is: http://www.autism.org.sg/earlyintervention/

@Odae - I would ask the assessment psychologist to clarify if your child will be fine in mainstream .. it depends on many factors. Like for my son, it was clear a special school is good for him but for my daughter whose IQ was in the 98% percentile, she would have been 'wasted' in a special school with the mental abilities she has. For some children, the mainstream environment would prove too much for their sensory load capacity or emotional levels .. so check and confirm and trust your instincts if your child is 'appropriate' in mainsteam environment. There are pros and cons but I think as a parent, you would know your child best and not put him/her in a school just because it's mainsteam if it turns out a special school would serve your child better in the long-run. :-) It's good to have a clear assessment with a clear diagnosis - not because we want to label the child but it would be useful with a clear-cut diagnosis for application into the academic institutions/schools that we want our child to be in which would help him/her the most. I would also keep copies of reports and assessments and pass it to whichever school your child is in DIRECT. Although the doctors or hospitals say they would, always better to go direct and make sure the school gets it for sure.

For complete assessments/diagnosis, it's a full 4 hours on average and may need to return to finish it up if not complete within the 4 hours on first session. With this diagnosis, it would be a full report stating the clear diagnosis and recommendations for the child. For me, because I wanted my son to enter the pathlight system, I asked my psychologist to add in the recommendation of suggesting my child enter a school like pathlight which will serve him best.

I did two assessments - one at age 3 plus and another at age 5-5plus years - this ensures I have a track record with clear diagnosis right from the start - may seem a little kiasu but with the schooling system here, everything needs black and white and tracked from day 1. Some of you may think otherwise - so go with whatever you deem best for you and your child ... everyone's different in handling the kids' journey with special needs I believe.

:-) Hugs!

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 841
Posted on Thursday, April 19, 2012 - 10:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

so i thk i shall hv an accessment for him?he is now 3yo plus...37mths old...
acording to the teacher in kits4kids,he may not ready for the accessment yet as he might not be ready for the diagnostic test as his compliance is not 100% yet...and they always ad parent if kids below 3.5yo,will wait till then as in terms of development growth...there might be changes during that period..
so...i still cant decide yet shall hv or not...

btw,get an update frm the cc teacher said now aday he like to scratch his classmates face again!oh my!and wat happen is every evening back to home,he like to cry for nothing and so loud!just throw tantrum!wat i surpose to do with him!!

Tam (ram)

Post Number: 167
Posted on Friday, April 20, 2012 - 8:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi mine did the 3 hr assessments at 3+ yo for formal medical diagnosis in order to get into EPIC programme. and another at 5 yo for IQ assessment by education psychologist as required by pathlight.

Liz (lizziewine)

Post Number: 8
Posted on Saturday, April 21, 2012 - 1:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi - mine did the same assessments and timing of age as Tam ...

As for how to handle tantrums, it's a physical reaction of the autism trait with the intent to communicate but does not know how to control and express appropriately. Some ways to help cope with these meltdowns will take time and lots of patience. One way I found useful is to be able to hug the child until the meltdown is de-escalated and the fuse has run out on the emotional rise. The key is not to feed more energy to the meltdown moment - hugging tightly is one way to help to de-escalate - you may end up hugging for a long time while the kid is still screaming and kicking - the help as parent we give is to defuse the situation instead of giving more rise to it.

Another way for older kids is to 'arrest the situation' by having them talk it out and communicate fully without any interrupting them on what the problem is for them which gives rise to the escalation of emotions. Usually the kids get annoyed when we keep interrupting them and so all that pent up energy in them gets choked up and leads to frequent meltdowns...

Hope this helps somewhat? :-)

good try (coping)

Post Number: 223
Posted on Sunday, April 22, 2012 - 9:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I recently bought straws ftom therapy resource and they are very nice. U csn goggle their website n get the straws horns n stuff..leapfrog uses that n kkh st also si that the child will know how to blow

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 843
Posted on Monday, April 23, 2012 - 11:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yesterday my son dunno wathappen make a big fuss!keep on crying and my hubby loss contro and beat him!then he stop seems he knw we are angry...his eye itchy and body itchy, he will throw tantrum and make noise...i don knw how to comfort him!i thk his temper is quite hot!But i know beat him is not the correct way...:-(

good try (coping)

Post Number: 224
Posted on Monday, April 23, 2012 - 12:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

same for my hb tooo ..hugging is the better way..i usually will bring him to a room n let him cry..but my mil will scream a t me....

eNemum (bluerose)
Username: bluerose

Post Number: 2694
Posted on Monday, April 23, 2012 - 4:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi i have darifree milk for sales
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/6950355.html?1335169789

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 844
Posted on Monday, April 23, 2012 - 5:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

good try...normally y ur son will cry?coz of he cant express his feeling or?

good try (coping)

Post Number: 225
Posted on Monday, April 23, 2012 - 6:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I dunno..the dr will say I change his routine n he cried but he like things his way like alphabet n no n u dun give him he cries but gives him he stopped

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 845
Posted on Monday, April 23, 2012 - 11:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ya..my son also same..sometimes wen u abit good mood,when he want somethg,u tell him will gv him later or tmr..then he can tolerate with it and will also repeat himself by saying wait till tmr...
if mood bad..then even is itchness on his body or mosquito bite,he will keep on scratch his body and make noise and cry!vy diff to please!

Btw,any mummies go for RDI?

hoshi (hoshi5)
Username: hoshi5

Post Number: 3801
Posted on Tuesday, April 24, 2012 - 12:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I suspect my daughter may have ADHD...

Does anyone have good recommendation on a doctor for proper diagnosis?

Louise (louisa_03)

Post Number: 165
Posted on Tuesday, April 24, 2012 - 4:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Hoshi, when my boy was 2, doc said too early to conduct observation. I am now putting him under OT and ST.
Anybody has heard of the below private therapy centers:
1) Hand in Hand Occupational Therapy Centre
2) Kaleidoscope Therapy Centre for Children
3) Kidz Pediatric Occupational Therapy Consultants Pte Ltd
4) Ovspring Developmental Clinic
please share if you have any reviews or information

good try (coping)

Post Number: 226
Posted on Wednesday, April 25, 2012 - 10:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ov spring
Good but exp my neighbour used that

good try (coping)

Post Number: 227
Posted on Wednesday, April 25, 2012 - 11:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Kaleidoscope has a gd ot.my church mate used

Liz (lizziewine)

Post Number: 9
Posted on Wednesday, April 25, 2012 - 10:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I had my son do OT and Sensory Therapy with Hand in Hand - very experienced therapist there... apparently, the success rates of their therapy there seems to be higher than elsewhere due to how they intervene and do the therapies... most parents who have gone there before would agree also ...

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 846
Posted on Thursday, April 26, 2012 - 12:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Liz,any idea how much?
jus got a plan sharing by the teacher in k4k,suggest that my son may go for the psychologist therapy abt 3.5 yo...by then is sept...do u all feels it too late?coz she said don want him to be "labe;" as ASD as he may just need more time to improve himself,seems now he at k4k4,alot progress will do it on himm...wat so u all thk?

Louise (louisa_03)

Post Number: 166
Posted on Thursday, April 26, 2012 - 10:25 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks ladies, helping to confirm that the shortlisted centres do have good reviews.
Will go down with my son to get a feel of it.
newmummy, what do you mean by Psychologist Therapy? is it different from OT and ST?

Louise (louisa_03)

Post Number: 167
Posted on Thursday, April 26, 2012 - 2:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks to all; these are the confirmations I need before going there with my son to get a feel of the center since I dont know when the EPIC can give my son a place after I rejected the timing (12-230pm).
Newmummy, what exactly is Psychologist therapy? Different from OT / ST?

Louise (louisa_03)

Post Number: 168
Posted on Thursday, April 26, 2012 - 2:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sorry I repeated myself as I cant see my posting just now.

Srumpee (scrumpee01)

Post Number: 1357
Posted on Thursday, April 26, 2012 - 3:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am deciding between Kidz POTC and Hand in Hand.
Called both to find out the charges. Both require initial assessment sessions but the price differs greatly. For Hand in Hand, the initial assessment is $400 and Kidz POTC only $192. I have heard good reviews from both

Now don't know which one to go

good try (coping)

Post Number: 228
Posted on Thursday, April 26, 2012 - 9:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

How about planet ..one mum rec me n it cheaper n that mum say it good

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 847
Posted on Thursday, April 26, 2012 - 11:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Louise,psychological therapy is diff fem
OT/ST as it more on behavior monitoring...
So mummies,u all talk abt d assessment is wat purpose?

Louise (louisa_03)

Post Number: 169
Posted on Friday, April 27, 2012 - 10:56 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Scrumpee - how about monthly charges which is long-term?
which center you and your son are more comfortable with in terms of the space, the IN-Charge and the therapist?
Any reviews on that particular therapist?
well, these will be my considerations when I visit the centers next month.
Newmummy, what method will given your son during the PT session?
we are quite clear on OT / ST.

Srumpee (scrumpee01)

Post Number: 1358
Posted on Friday, April 27, 2012 - 12:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Louise
I haven't visit the centres. I think cannot just visit, have to make appt for assessment and is chargable.

I will go to Kidz POTC for assessment, monthly wise also more affordable. And Kidz POTC accepts baby bonus, HIH does not accept baby bonus

Srumpee (scrumpee01)

Post Number: 1359
Posted on Friday, April 27, 2012 - 12:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Check this out
very inspiring

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OR36jrx_L44

Star (star89)
Username: star89

Post Number: 1428
Posted on Friday, April 27, 2012 - 2:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Scrumpee,

I read from other thread, you are saying that your son has improved verbally and communication skill. May I know why you still need to look for OT?

I ask you before in another thread for psychologist. I brought to see psychologist at TMC. They only assess but asked for full assessment which is quite costly.

Newmummy08
May I know which branch of k4k your kid attend? I call cck branch before but feel that the principal is not very helpful. I ask whether they have speech therapy and she said that she will check with the therapist but never call me again.

If the kid has not being labelled yet, will they provide IEP for that kid?

I am now looking for more advices and sources to improve my son. My son has not gone through detailed assessment. I am now thinking whether I can bring my son to attend any program to improve him first while waiting for NUH appointment.

My son 3 year 10 months only can mumble mono syllabic words. I brought him to see speech therapist, ST diagnosis him as verbal dyspraxia.

Srumpee (scrumpee01)

Post Number: 1360
Posted on Friday, April 27, 2012 - 6:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Star
Yes he has improved but still need to continue with OT to be better especially when he gets older, he needs to work on his hand writing etc which I forsee he will have problem. For our delayed kids, I believe the therapies will need to continue even though there are improvements as they still have so many other skills to acquire.

Yes, I think the full assessment is about $1800.

Srumpee (scrumpee01)

Post Number: 1361
Posted on Friday, April 27, 2012 - 6:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Star
did you see Tee Shan Shan at TMC? She also diagnose your boy as dyspraxia?

When is your NUH appointment? I do suggest u push for a nearer date cos if too late, your boy will miss the chance to go EIPIC

good try (coping)

Post Number: 229
Posted on Friday, April 27, 2012 - 9:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yes this is. Window period so my son see pte n govt ot

good try (coping)

Post Number: 230
Posted on Friday, April 27, 2012 - 9:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ot can go pte gym n playground n I bot a big bouncing ball.. Tarpaulin n swing are good too...to others like mil I but I just am funny. But no choice till older

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 848
Posted on Friday, April 27, 2012 - 11:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Loiuse,Im not too sure abt waht method,but i ask the k4k,she said mostlikely is monitor him while gv him task see wat is his reaction...can compliant or not..then will finalist and diagnose him...so for him i was thk is it "fair" for him to go this assessment and get "label"?so was thk to let him go mayb when he turn 3.5 yo...i dunno will it be too late, but while this period will carry on all the intervemtion program frm k4k..

Srumpee, wer is Kidz POTC?is private intervention ctr?Btw, TMX is chinese method?doeant it help for ASD kids?
Star,my son at TPY outlet,wats the principal name there?my principal is Nida,but the MD person in charge is Jessica Wong...she is nice...Y not u try call them again and req speck to her instead?

Star (star89)

Post Number: 1429
Posted on Friday, April 27, 2012 - 11:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Scrumpee
My boy was assessed by Frances Yeo. She didnt give any diagnosis to my boy. Only suggest my boy to go for autism and IQ test.

My boy takes very long to warm up with new environment. I am hesitating whether eipic will be suitable for him.

I will bring him to NUH this Monday.

Newmummy
I will call k4k again.

Btw, mummies, who bring your kids for intervention program while you are working?

Srumpee (scrumpee01)

Post Number: 1362
Posted on Saturday, April 28, 2012 - 2:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Star
Don't worry about your boy not warming to new environment. He will settle down after a few sessions. Very likely NUH will refer your boy to CEL to help him get an EIPIC centre. For me, my hubby brings my boy to all his EIPIC and invention programmes as he is self-employed so time is flexible. If he is busy, I will take leave to bring my boy to his lessons but rarely. However, I do have a very understanding boss and she allows me to take 2 hour lunches on the days that my boy has EIPIC classes so that I can be there to see how he perform in class.

newmummy
Kidz POTC is private OT centre.

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 849
Posted on Sunday, April 29, 2012 - 10:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Which EIPIC u send ur son to?it require caregiver to be around?but i thk rainbow ctr no need,tats y i choose it.Even now he is at k4k,im not even know how is he "perform" in d the daily program.Just get the feedback frm teacher he is doing good.all the mentioned is just good thg,but seldom mentioned abt the bad thgs...im wonder..

Liz (lizziewine)

Post Number: 10
Posted on Monday, April 30, 2012 - 10:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

For those interested in Hand in Hand, many of the teachers and therapists I have spoken to says that their sensory interventions at Hand Hand is by far the one that shows the most progress compared to other interventions... hope this helps.

Lisa

ec73 (ec73)
Username: ec73

Post Number: 61
Posted on Tuesday, May 01, 2012 - 11:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just saw this thread. I had a son who has autism diagnosed around 4 years old. He got minimum speech, poor social interaction and tantrum issues. He started with K4K in CCK and concurrently in childcare. After 6 months, we moved him to EIPIC at Yew Tee.

I really regretted for not detecting his autism traits until such a late stage. Early Intervention does help greatly.

He progressed to Pathlight for preparatory class and now he is in P1 mainstream school. He coped so well in the mainstream that teachers are unable to tell that he is ASD. The only struggle he got is chinese as during his time in EIPIC and Pathlight, he did not attend any chinese lesson. I thought he can get exemption right from P1 but was told only able to get exemption in P3 or P4. We manage to convince him to attend Berries for his chinese. Hopefully he can catch up.

Newmummy

I would say its good to get the diagnosis, you can get them to keep it confidential and not required to inform the mainstream school if you do not want to.

Though I felt that the diagnosis of low functioning autism on my son is inaccurate but
with formal diagnosis, I'm able to send him for EIPIC with IEP in place. I felt that it really really helps.

Over at EIPIC, they are able to share strategies in handling tantrum. Sometimes, ASD kids may be sensory overload, the steam is building up in them, there must be ways for them to release it.

Don't care about the label, the strategies they used in EIPIC is very good infact it is useful for normal kids as well. It will help to improve their behavior.

Tantrum and complaince are not the only thing that will cause the pschylogist to diagnose the kids as ASD. They must fulfil criteria like no eye contact, no social interaction more keen on things rather than people, repetitive habits etc before they can diagnose the kids as ASD.

To me its good to do a IQ test at a around 5 years old, the report will be able to tell the strength and weakness on the child. So that we as parents do not over demand on the kids in the area that he is weak on. We can understand more on their limitation.

It's a long and tough road but continue to believe they will get better as each days goes by.:-)

Liz (lizziewine)

Post Number: 11
Posted on Wednesday, May 02, 2012 - 12:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My gal just had a full 'escalated meltdown' a few days back ... she has Asperger and it seems that she was 'knocked down' with sensory overload and with her own thoughts taking a life of its own and she feeling that she could not control the impending 'breakdown' ... took 2 hours to calm her down and before she was 'back to normal' with no visible signs of whatever just happened. That was totally emotionally and mentally draining ... my hubby and I were just flat out after that incident... I guess one of the many more moments similar to that which will happen from time to time. I realised wat it was reading this article which was precisely what was happening with my daughter: http://www.myaspergerschild.com/2010/06/aspergers-tantrums-rage-and-meltdowns.html ...any one else can relate to this?

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 853
Posted on Wednesday, May 02, 2012 - 3:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ec73...
thx for the info..
i will sure brg him for the dignose, but mayb 3.5 yo first?now i let him at k4k for the intervention, and OT,etc...to see how is the progress first...do u thk too late?coz i was thk if let him go for therapy first and c his progress then only go for the dignose..

ec73 (ec73)
Username: ec73

Post Number: 62
Posted on Wednesday, May 02, 2012 - 6:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Newmummy,

Yup, you can do the diagnosis later as long as there is early intervention in place. K4K does IEP for individual child and they do communicate through their communication book weekly. So you should have a good guage on how is your child progresing. They do set quarterly goals as well for the child.

The benefits of doing the diagnosis is enable you to access to early intervention from various charities bodies. The pschylogist will have review every half yearly, you can raise the issues that you are facing and probably they can give professional advise on where and who that you can go approach to tackle the problems.

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 854
Posted on Wednesday, May 02, 2012 - 10:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI ec73,K4K did hv their com book weekly,but seems all d comment was good and positive thgs...but i wan to knw any -ve thg if do happen to him.Coz all the activities she mentioned seems always claimed my son did compliance,but at home he didnt!i vy worry as spend money so much but he nvr gget improvement!
At this moment,i really don know my son is ASD or not,as eye contact,he has,when called his name,repeatative,he has,sometimes no.but one thg for sure,he will cry for somethg he want to get!if not then will throw tantrum and cry scream shout!K4K teach us ignore him,we did,it seems works but only after a "good" cry then calm down only will listen to us.
Now i thk i want to get more therapy on behavior for him,but not sure wer can i go to...is he need dignose first only can get therapy?

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 856
Posted on Thursday, May 03, 2012 - 9:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

do u all heard abt Autism recovery network?heard the therapist quite good...and that tat ex too?

Star (star89)

Post Number: 1430
Posted on Thursday, May 03, 2012 - 10:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Scrumpee
You are right. The doctor made appointment for me to meet social worker to arrange for eipic. The doctor days he does not look like an autism. He interacted well with the doctor. But very delay, because he only mumble one word. I got appointment with occupational and speech therapy too.

EC73
How long do you queue for Yew Tee Eipic? Do they mix asd and non asd? How many teacher student ratio? Are the teachers caring? Very likely I will queue at this centre because it is the nearest to my house.

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 857
Posted on Thursday, May 03, 2012 - 11:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

star,hope everythg get smooth for u..

just2lazy (lazygal21)
Username: lazygal21

Post Number: 18
Posted on Friday, May 04, 2012 - 1:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi,would like to hear some advice.i suspect my son might hv autism.he is 19 mths old & does not say a single word besides "ah".he does not respond much to people since he was a bb, maybe except to his dad & caregiver.his twin sister is ok, very vocal & expressive.we hv send him for the detailed hearing test & found nothing wrong.But his response to sound is below the normal level (it's like he choose to listen to things he want to listen).hv already schedule him to c a developement paed in CDU tis mth who will access him. but that is only referral from NHU for speech development, not for autism. i called a few private clinic & most is not willing to do autism test on so young as my boy.

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 858
Posted on Saturday, May 05, 2012 - 11:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi just2lazy,mayb u may get adv from CDU side first,s i thk ur son also quite young at this age...don worry too much..

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use