A Singapore Motherhood Portal for the Singapore Parents * Matters Of The Heart * 10th day - New maid self-inflicted injury and accused MIL < Previous Next >

joycelyn (h20fantasy)
Username: h20fantasy

Post Number: 668
Posted on Monday, May 04, 2009 - 11:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

The new maid was introduced by the agent to be cheerful and smiley and should be a fast learner, despite being plump and short. She turned out to be slow, could not cook and smelly.

On the first day, she went out dinner with us, taking the same food and coconut juice, after cleaning up her room. On the second day,my MIL asked her to wash the bb clothes and saw that she was able to wash them, and left her alone to continue with the washing. I came by and saw that she sat around and the bb clothes were beside her in the pail. I asked her if she has finished washing the clothes and she said she did not know what to do with the dirty water. In the end, i found out that she only washed the clothes with water once. So, I had to tell her to pour the dirty water away, then use clean water and wash the bb clothes for 2 more times... On the third day, she woke up at 7am instead of 6am and mopped the floor. My toddler fell and hit his head after struggled off from my MIL...In the next few days, she was basically trying to understand how to do things and took a long time doing them. In the end, my MIL ended up have to look after my 20 month old toddler, my P2 girl and still need to do cooking all by herself... A couple of these days,we ended up eating out, together with her.

We thought that she was not used to these work as she worked in Indon. 10 years ago. So, we thought giving her more time before going back to the agent. All these days, she slept mostly around 9 plus with exception of a couple of days at 10 plus.

On the fateful Monday, my boy was having fever and my hubby and MIL sent him to see the doctor between 8.30am and 11am, while I went to work due to a meeting. Then my hubby left for work...By 1.30pm, after getting the boy to sleep, my MIL went to kitchen to cook her own food. She saw the maid sitting on the kitchen floor (though we asked her to sit on stool or chair) and asked if she had cooked her own meal....She said later and got up to transfer the dry cups/plates to cabinet. A plate was broken after being dropped by the maid. My MIL turned around and told the maid to be careful next time. The maid apologised. My MIL turned back to continue her cooking. A smashing sound was heard. The maid took the chopping board and started hitting her own face. My MIL, who had a bad fall from steps and injured her head in Feb09, is 70 years old, thin and frail, was taken aback. First thing that came into her mind was to stop the maid from hitting herself, and so, she tried to grab the wooden chopping board from her. In the process, my MIL was cut and bled, and she only got hold of the board when the maid let go, as the maid was stronger than my MIL. The maid then ran out of the house. My MIL tried to chase after her and stopped after remembering my boy was still sleeping in the room.

She called my hubby and was trembling. Just then, other maids escotted my maid back who pointed to my MIL from outside the house and accused her of hitting her. My hubby told my MIL not to let the maid into the house until he reached home.

In the meantime, he contacted the agent to go to our place, but the agent was busy. By the time we reached home, the police has arrived, and the maid was taken to hospital as her lips were swollen.

Then I called the agent again, who did not bother to come to our place, saying that since it is a police case, the police will contact her.

The case is still under investigation (there is no witness) and the maid is now with the agent. The agent said it was hard to believe anyone would inflict such injury to herself...The agent asked us to sign the release form for the maid to be transferred so that we need not incur the maid levy. We said we needed advice from the police and how could we transfer such dangerous person to other household? The officer said we could cancel her work permit and police would apply a special pass for her to remain in Singapore for investigation or transfer her, so long as she is in Spore... The agent said by cancelling her work permit, MOM would be notified and this would not benefit us as we would not be able to get new maid while pending for investigation and still need to pay levy.

Our concern is to get the matter closed as it is emotionally very straining for my MIL, who could not eat and sleep and cries whenever she talks about it. My MIL is a gentle person who never hit or scold anyone. My previous maid could even warn my MIL not to report to us on certain things that she had done and my MIL cleaned her own room as it was difficult to get the previous maid to do so...

I could not imagine someone could be so ruthless and evil, to the extent of self-inflicting injury and accusing people just to get to a new engagement...according to the agent, the maid wants to work for new employer....

Now, my MIL has maid phobia and we are looking for full time childcare for my toddler and tingkat arrangement....Sigh...

Any advice?

mommybb (mommybb)
Username: mommybb

Post Number: 416
Posted on Tuesday, May 05, 2009 - 12:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

my goodness, how can maids bully yr MIL? really too much! maybe can post her terrible behaviour & maid picture in the http://singaporemaidcomments.blogspot.com/

hope yr MIL is alright now.

i've also horrible heard stories that maid slapped elderly at home when the employers are not at home.

my family used to have a very bad maid, we were affected by her psychotic behaviour. but luckily, she was banned by MOM.

KC (kckc)
Username: kckc

Post Number: 614
Posted on Tuesday, May 05, 2009 - 12:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

OMG, the maid is so evil!! Please please, update this to Tam's blog as mentioned above.

Let us know which agency and the maid's name....I am sure evil people will not have a good ending.

joycelyn (h20fantasy)

Post Number: 671
Posted on Friday, May 08, 2009 - 12:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi mommybb and kc,
as the case is still pending investigation, will upload later on.
in any case, the agency is still trying to get us to sign the maid release form and we are totally not inclined to do so. i would like to cancel the maid's permit but the agency keeps advising against it, citing that we would have records with MOM. In my view, suc?ake the emotional stress. Any advice on this

joycelyn (h20fantasy)

Post Number: 672
Posted on Friday, May 08, 2009 - 12:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sorry, i meant, in my view, the wrongful deeds by the cunning maid cannot be condone, but my hb is worried that the case may drag longer and my mil may not be able to take the emotional stress.

mommybb (mommybb)
Username: mommybb

Post Number: 432
Posted on Friday, May 08, 2009 - 1:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi joycelyn,

i think yr agent is siding the maid, he doesn't want this case to affect his biz & want more money fr you.

better for you to cancel the wp & inform MOM to blacklist her. if mom don't want to ban her, you can find yr MP to help you. its a matter of principle & justice.

michael (mtyh)
Username: mtyh

Post Number: 125
Posted on Friday, May 08, 2009 - 2:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

engage a lawyer and ask for advice.

assure your mother in law that things will be fine, that she doesn't have to worry.

I think the maid should not have a strong case against a 70 year old lady.

joycelyn (h20fantasy)

Post Number: 677
Posted on Wednesday, May 13, 2009 - 9:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

we called the agent to ask her to arrange for the cancellation of the maid's work permit and was told that we would have to bear 5 months' pay of the maid, ie, there would be no refund of our monies paid to the agent for the first 5 months' of the maid's work. The agent said it was stated in the fine prints of the contract that we signed with the agent, that in the event we repatriate the maid before the end of the 5th month, there is no refund of the monies paid in advance. the agent said she did not invent this condition, as it is a standard clause everywhere including the specimen recommended from MOM.

is that correct? try looking through the contract, but thought it was not quite clear...

Shernyce Tan (shernyce)
Username: shernyce

Post Number: 196
Posted on Tuesday, May 19, 2009 - 12:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

If you have a singpass, you should be able to cancel the maid's work permit yourself.
www.mom.gov.sg > Work Permit Online (WPOL)(For Employers of Foreign Domestic Workers)
then you login using ur singpass. Its just a suggestion. I did not cancel my maid's pass, but i renewed her pass myself thru this webbie.
next is, u can always call back the same agency but not to the same lady to ask for 2nd opinion. maybe u can act as someone else or something.
last, u can always go to CASE. they might be able to help.
whether u will be blacklisted by MOM or not, i dun think so. but pls try to call the MOM hotline yourself to ask for more details. MOM hotline number is 64385122. They hv a helpline for foreign domestic workers.
Rather than listening to the agency telling u everything, u might as well do the homework urself.

I hope this helps..

Yippy (winup22)
Username: winup22

Post Number: 302
Posted on Tuesday, May 19, 2009 - 2:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi jocelyn,

I think you can contact CASE. As my fren previously also sending a new maid back to indonesia which still have loan with agent. AND she able to get back the deposit. All Agent are just want to earn money and they will side the maid. This kind of maid should not let her stay in singapore. So scary...

joycelyn (h20fantasy)

Post Number: 681
Posted on Friday, June 05, 2009 - 12:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

thanks for advice. there has been no update from the the io yet...will check up the mom and case...

Tan Leng Leng (tanlengleng)
Username: tanlengleng

Post Number: 16860
Posted on Friday, June 05, 2009 - 3:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

*scary*

sharon (~mimosa~)
Username: ~mimosa~

Post Number: 691
Posted on Tuesday, June 09, 2009 - 5:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yes indeed its scary...but ur MIL is so old...where got strength to inflict injury on the maid

jocelyn, can reveal agency name?
or PM me? thanks
me in the process of hiring a maid

Kell (closetdoor)
Username: closetdoor

Post Number: 1435
Posted on Tuesday, June 16, 2009 - 12:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wow, the maid agency trying to play games? Breakdown the issue and handle one thing at a time.

Since the agent like to threaten, do the same back. Tell them if investigations shows the maid is of unstable mind, you will sue them for mispresentation and fraud. Misrepresentation - giving a false impression of a maid that can't/unable to work normally. Fraud - maid might be a rejected case and the agent did not inform you of the history. Maybe same thing happen at previous household.

If they refuse to cancel the permit, check with MOM and show them the police case.

Check out the websites listed before. Maybe someone who cancelled work permit before can walk you through.

Anything that can be solved by money is not a big issue. Rather part with money then something else that can't be bought.

Comics (comics)
Username: comics

Post Number: 54
Posted on Monday, July 06, 2009 - 12:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hope things are fine for you...

The maid is scary and sometimes when i read news on bad maids, i really wonder why everyone always side maids.

Indeed, there are bad employers, but there are really bad maids who murder and at the end, instead of punishment, they are jus deploy back to their countries.... Start afresh, apply new password under another name, and back again....

Melissa Lee (cometgarden)
Username: cometgarden

Post Number: 923
Posted on Wednesday, July 08, 2009 - 10:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My maid wrongly accused us too. She is a filipino. She complained to her sister that we have ill-treated her by hitting her, not giving her enough sleep and not paying her.

Her sister insisted that her employer make a police report against us. Luckily her sister's employer approached us directly instead of reporting to police without investigating.

In the first place, we did not hit her. Just pointing very near to her head for being so stupid. Obviously no injury as inspected by her sister and her sister's employer which they asked to see the maid in person. We have 2 maids in a HDB Combo flat, not tat big that the 2 maids need to work till very late. Lastly, she is not entitled to any pay as her contract with the agency is stated very clearly until she has finished her loan.

She did not clarify with us and never complained abt anything yet she wrongly accused us. We were so angry that we rather forfeit 3 months maid' salary and send her back immediately.

Definitely we cannot keep such maid !!!

I read your thread and I could understand how your MIL's feeling. Being wrongly accused and worst no witness.

Comics (comics)

Post Number: 56
Posted on Saturday, July 11, 2009 - 3:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jts, my hubby had a friend's wife who was also wrongly accused by the maid. The maid also self-inflicted injury.

Sadly, the court believe the maid and the wife was sentenced to 6mths jail. So, the friend went for an appeal as his wife seriously did not abused the maid.

They won the case, but sadly, his wife already completed the 6mth jail terms and also spend legal fees of more than S$10k... :-( All this for nothing...

Guess at least the truth is out and she got back her dignity....

Ocean Princess (oceanprincess)
Username: oceanprincess

Post Number: 3
Posted on Saturday, July 25, 2009 - 11:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

joycelyn, i had consulted my hubby over this

Its a one's man word against another, meaning the maid vs your MIL

i think self-inflicted wounds can be traced by the police. If ur maid gets the special pass, then she will be happy cos' she can freely stay in singapore (to assist police investigation which can take a year or more) and does not need to do anything.

Is this the 1st time she's in singapore or has she come here before? Someone must have taught her this

This scenario is the same as foreign construction workers inflicting injury on themselves to rip off the workmen compensation from MOM.

Since ur maid had already sound out that she wanted to work for other employers, then you should not grant her the wish. Just cancel her work permit and send her back if possible.
Her motive for causing disturbances is simply:

a) Get Special Pass, get free stay in singapore
b) Move to another employer which is a excuse, maybe she dun wanna take care of baby or elderly at home as its very tiring.
c) Get Special pass again so that she can work illegally in some pubs or watsoever in Singapore and earn even more money.

EiLiYa (s_l)
Username: s_l

Post Number: 90
Posted on Wednesday, July 29, 2009 - 11:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hey Joycelyn,

Same thing happened to my sis' previous maid. Only 5 days into the new home she went bizarre. Just like your MIL, my sis' MIL also 70s and doc certified that she has hurt her arm before and cannot carry anything more than 1 kg as her arm has no strength too. This maid burn herself on the stove (while staring at the MIL from the corner of her eyes). The MIL saw and pulled her away from the stove. After that she tried to use the iron to scald herself but the MIL stopped her and chase her away from the room. After that she went crazy and yell while holding on the the metal gate like a mad jailed woman. I don't believe the MIL tortured her over that 5 days to make her behave like this as all the previous maids were okay with working for them. This one is probably a nut case.

Anyway, when my sis got home after the MIL called her. The maid dashed out of the house and even fall down the stairs while running away. She disappeared and after that made a police report that the MIL abused and burn her!!! She even pretended to be soooooooo sick that she has to be hospitalised for a week! After rounds of questioning and investigation, the police confirmed that the maid was lying and send her to the mental institute to check on her. No jail term or anything!! Not sure if she was allowed to work here anymore but its unfair that she was not punished for the lies she made.

mama G (mama_g)
Username: mama_g

Post Number: 383
Posted on Wednesday, July 29, 2009 - 1:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi joy.. have you update the blog? cant wait to see the evil face... has everything been taken care of? Hope everything is ok for u...i should say for those with maid...

joycelyn (h20fantasy)

Post Number: 723
Posted on Wednesday, July 29, 2009 - 2:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks for your advices and comments.

According to the IO, the case, which is 3 months old now, is still pending for AG decision.

In any case, due to undue pressure from the agent and to avoid any potential emotional strain for my mil and any additional time required to be incurred to liaise with the agent, i have very reluctantly signed the transfer form. The maid has since been transferred.....Hopefully, no harm has come to others...

As the case is not closed yet, my hb forbids me from "broadcasting" on this matter...

Eiliya, how long did the police investigation take for your sis' case?

Things have turned real "hay wire" for us, without the support of my MIL and a domestic maid. My MIL has become quite depressed after the fall, the maid incident, and recently, she was hospitalised for 2 weeks for some infections...

Sigh...

EiLiYa (s_l)
Username: s_l

Post Number: 91
Posted on Wednesday, July 29, 2009 - 3:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Joycelyn,

My sis' case was settled within 1-2 months as the police found out that she was indeed lying and that she has some mental problem. While the case was pending, she could not hire maid cos' they were under investigation. So she suffered 2 months without maid (she is also FTWM) with 2 kids until the case was settled and that they are cleared of the charges. I think her case may be more straightforward than yours as her maid is an obvious psychotic nut case plus her MIL has doctor's certification that she has no strength in her arm. C'mon, any person with common sense will be able to tell something is amiss....how can a frail 70 year old woman hold down a 20+ year old woman's hand to burn at the stove without any signs of struggle and bruise on any parties?

Understand your situation...Sometimes it is not something you can control. I'm sure if you have your way, you would want this maid sent back to Indonesia for good and not allowed to come back here to work! But do you know that even if we do that, they can always come back with a new identity and start afresh!!! So hiring a maid is a gamble.

Oh my...I think your MIL is really traumatized by the incident. How are you handling it? Will you still get another maid or think of other alternatives?

michael (mtyh)
Username: mtyh

Post Number: 192
Posted on Thursday, July 30, 2009 - 11:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Joycelyn, maybe you can consider hire a part time helper for the time being. At least that can relief you of some household chores.

Tilaka (tilafila)
Username: tilafila

Post Number: 289
Posted on Friday, July 31, 2009 - 7:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

We FTWM have no choice but to rely on maids to care for our children but sometimes they just take advantage of the situation.

Recently i took a brand new maid. I have never come across such a hopeless and useless person like her. Here i'm doing my confinment and there she's sleeping away. She eats like a cow man.

Ask her to wake up at 7am, she will sleep till i have to walk into the room and shout at her to wake up. Afterall she sleeps at 9pm and doesn't do night feeding for my newborn. She can't be bothered to clean my house until i have to tell her what to do. After she's done, she will just sit around the house till i bark the next work to her. She questions my mum on her movement. When i bring her out, she will not bother looking after my son but just stand behind me thinking i'm buying food for her as well. When i dun give her, she shows me attitude. She uses my kids and mum's stuff. Until one unlucky day, i spotted her using my son's towel and that was all it took to send her off.

Luckily my current maid is better off. So one headache over but still got to monitor her.

SWM (swm)
Username: swm

Post Number: 228
Posted on Monday, August 10, 2009 - 11:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Can I check, when you bring your maid to another family's house, ie mother or In laws house for dinner. Do you expect them to do the washing of plates ?

aria jo (ariajo)
Username: ariajo

Post Number: 3819
Posted on Friday, August 14, 2009 - 12:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

oh dear,indeed very very scary! if i have read this earlier, i will be sooo jittery to get a transfer maid! i did get one eventually (indo maid) and she's been with me for 2 weeks plus. So far so good and in fact, exceeded my expectation. I surely hope i'm one of the lucky ones.

But few days ago, i do have a problem with my maid which is she has overslept 4 times during these 2 weeks. I was very patient with her and didn't reprimand her all these while. Just ask her what happen. I provided her her the alarm clock so that she has no excuse for not waking up on time. She's to sleep by 10pm or earlier if all chores are done and wake up at 6am (8 hours of sleep) and have her own room. Anyway, the last round is enough for me to really sit down and have a talk with her.

I did my homework as to how to approach her and talk to her by asking my gf's advice :-) She can speak bahasa much better than me and more experience. Anyway, i sit her down and approach her nicely and told her that i'm doing a review with her and slowly brooch the sleeping issue. After the talk, I told her, this time round it's me talking to you and if next time SIR is the one talking to you abt this issue, it's very bad already. I told her I want to see her change after tomorrow. So far, she has been waking on time (3 days already).

Despite this problem, I have no other complains abt her. I believe you need to respect your maid and she will respect you. Afterall she's a human being. I don't think i will ever tell her she's stupid, etc. Noone likes to be called stupid right? It's quite demeaning lah.. Hope i did not offend any mummies here..I also believe we must treat our maid with dignity but do not be overly friendly so that she doesn't overstep you. It's a very challenging task for me too. No choice lah.

Oh yeah, on the 1st day of work, I sat down with her for 2 hours to read pages of houserules to her. My gf told me I have to do this. Somehow I think the houserules did set an expectation to her and she knows what I required of her. My 1st page is the 7 golden rules. I told her whatever you do, you must remember these 7 golden rules. You might want to do this with your maid to (ie set expectation and state your houserule/golden rules).

The 7 Most Important Rules/ Tujuh Peraturan Yang Terpenting
1. Safety/Keselamatan/Keamanan
2. Hygiene/Kebersihan
3. Hard Working/Tekun/Kerajinan
4. Honesty/Kejujuran
5. Initiative/Inisiatif
6. Respect/Kehormatan
7. Obedient/Taat

aria jo (ariajo)
Username: ariajo

Post Number: 3820
Posted on Friday, August 14, 2009 - 12:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

swm,
you bring out a good point. I never thought of that before. I think if there's no maid at my in laws place/mother's place, I would ask her to help out but in nice tone like "can you help ah-ma with the dishes?" I'm sure she will oblige. if there's maid, then i will ask my mum or MIL if they need my maid to help their maid. If yes, then i'll ask my maid to help out.

SWM (swm)
Username: swm

Post Number: 247
Posted on Friday, August 14, 2009 - 11:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hmm, if there is no maid, I will need to ask her to do it. But she will not be too willingly and also do a very bad job.

But if there is another maid in the house, no need to ask my maid. Cos she will automatically help out the other maid. One would wash and the other would dry the plates.

Kate Xie (kxie1985)
Username: kxie1985

Post Number: 8
Posted on Thursday, September 10, 2009 - 8:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

***it's really scary ....

Comics (comics)

Post Number: 64
Posted on Monday, September 14, 2009 - 11:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joycelyn,
Hope things r ok for u now.

Yuan Yuan (prettymummy)
Username: prettymummy

Post Number: 3
Posted on Friday, January 29, 2010 - 12:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

REALLY SCARY!!!
Hope everything will come to an end soon.

Sabby (amrc)
Username: amrc

Post Number: 1
Posted on Sunday, June 06, 2010 - 8:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Joyceln,

Hope everything is alright with you, did the IO finally closed your MIL Case?

joycelyn (h20fantasy)

Post Number: 893
Posted on Sunday, June 06, 2010 - 10:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks for the concerns.

According to the agent, that maid had since returned to Indonesia, and the agent claimed that they had informed the IO, but the IO did not pick up calls. So, the maid went back despite IO highlighted to agent that the maid should remain in Singapore so long as the case remained unclosed. In the end, the AG did not get to interview the maid, and the IO, in order to close the case, a stern warning was issued to us.

We were pissed off by this (as the IO did not even see or interview my MIL)...We had considered to lodge an objection directly or via a lawyer or via a MP.

However, after much consultation and consideration, given the deterioration in health (mental and physical) of my MIL, we worried that this would create unnecessary stress on her (either due to "re-opening of case" or "possible interviewing by IO / AG"...). It would be in her best interest (in terms of health) to let the matter rest. So, the case is considered closed now.

Sabby (amrc)
Username: amrc

Post Number: 2
Posted on Monday, June 07, 2010 - 9:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Joycelyn,

Thank God, your case is considered closed now at least you do not have to hang around.

Would like to share with you my story, which is similar to yours.

My maid which is an ex-Sin Maid was highly recommended from the Agent as she has worked in Singapore for 3 years but when I actually applied her and eventually I found out that she did not complete contract for her previous emloyer. The Agent told me that they can't do anything cause such information they are also not aware, they only based on the Bio Data provided by the supplier in Indo.

This maid is very very forgetful, even daily routine she can't remember. Even if you ask her to write down on how to cook, she will still forget and told me that her previous employer will need to call her from work everyday to tell her what to cook and have to teach her over the phone if she forget otherwise no dinner. she will tell me things like she sometimes see ghost in the house.

One fateful day, she ran away, in the evening, we received a call from the Police that she is at the station. We need to go down to record statement as she has claim that my mother has pull her hairs. She has initially went to MOM to request for transfer of employer but MOM refer to the police to handle.

The maid was also send for medical examinations but the doctor couldn't find any injury or marks on her. Of course, there wouldn't be any marks cause my mother has not even touch her. She fabricate such stories so that it will be easier for her to transfer to another employer. She told the police that she doesn't want to pursue the case if we transfer her to another employer. The police cannot close the case, saying that all maid allegations for abuse will have to under go investigations. The case has been pending for more than one months. Which we are not able to get a new maid as long as the case is not close. I do not know what is the procedure as there they cannot find any injuries on the maid, it is just her words against us and
the police is siding her........Sigh.... It is really not fair.

The agent also insists on transferring the maid, if we do not agree we will not be able to get back all the upfront loan which we have paid. We have finally reluctantly sign the transfer paper and the maid has been transferred to look after old folks.

Star (star1105)
Username: star1105

Post Number: 47
Posted on Monday, June 07, 2010 - 7:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

That's so unfair... the maid is wrong, and instead of "punish" her, she is not charged.... :-( And the employer get warning for doing nothing?:-( Plus the maid may do the same thing again if she did return to work.... :-(

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Last 72 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use