| Author |
Message |

Joanne (baby_glendon)
Junior Member Username: baby_glendon
Post Number: 286 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Monday, April 20, 2009 - 6:33 pm: |
Hi, I would like 2 ask mummies out there, if 1st child is autism, wil it affect the 2rd child? Meaning wil it yi2 chuan2 2 2rd child? |

tok lay tin (toklt)
New member Username: toklt
Post Number: 55 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Monday, April 20, 2009 - 8:55 pm: |
my son is autistic. my gal is asperger's. so is my hubby. i think if your family has history, high chance it will affect 2nd. but if only your 1st affected, maybe won't affect 2nd. all of my son's special schoolmates have normal younger siblings. |

eqstars (eqstars)
New member Username: eqstars
Post Number: 6 Registered: 3-2009
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 22, 2009 - 11:04 am: |
according to my gynae, the chances of 2nd one is 15% |

Joanne (baby_glendon)
Post Number: 290 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 22, 2009 - 12:58 pm: |
i check wit my doc he told me it 2-8%. I am jus supecting my 1st child is cos he still cant speak w/ poor eye contact at 2yr n i am pregnant wit 2rd 1 nw. Jus a worried mummy yi2 sheng yi2 gui3. He seem perfectly n0rmal except the 2pts above, he Knw his abc, animal, color n even phonic sound (we knw it as we ask him 2 point) bt duno y jus cant talk. N he reject being carry by other except me n daddy (heard tat autism doesnt lik other 2 touch him), bt he can hold hands wit classmate n hug teacher if he willing to leh Bt he walk at 10mth old, sme told me, if walk earli, there sure 1 thing slow. Sme say boy talk later. Bt nw oreadi 2 til no improvement, mak me worried lik mad. Hahaha i scare mysef worrying too much, wait depression too. Bt wat 2 do, it my own flesh, hw 2 n0t worry... |

A Lee (bluethorn)
New member Username: bluethorn
Post Number: 24 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, April 23, 2009 - 12:11 pm: |
Hi Joanne, If you're worried about your kid, you can bring him to the Child Development Clinic at Health Promotion Board for a check-up or visit any paediatrician. Don't worry for nothing, just get it checked out. Early intervention can sometimes help with your child's development. |

Joanne (baby_glendon)
Post Number: 291 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Friday, April 24, 2009 - 4:04 pm: |
i hav jus refer my son 2 speech therapy at nuh le, bt they say it too early 2 judge him as he stil young. Need 2 monitor til 2.5yr den can go autism assessment 2 c got prob an0t. Jus went 4 1st appt 2day, did nothing jus given my son sme toy n observe him playing, giving him sme instruction n etc. Duno wil therapy really help an0t, doc say need me 2 practice m0re at hme, eg encourage him 2 show gesture, point, choose n talk n etc |

PingPing (pingping)
Member Username: pingping
Post Number: 1923 Registered: 3-2004
| | Posted on Friday, May 01, 2009 - 10:55 pm: |
Joanne, From what you describe yr son, he is normal. He has a mind of his own and has character. He don't let other pple touch him cos he know how to choose. He only let the pple he like to touch him, which is very normal. My girl was also like that when she's abt yr son's age, she is very good with her hands but slow in her speech. She only start to talk a lot at 3.5 yrs old. Don't worry, or yr baby will become a worried baby. |

Joanne (baby_glendon)
Post Number: 298 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Sunday, May 03, 2009 - 10:47 pm: |
Thank Ping ping, These days i am really depress n stress becos of my son speech delay, thank for ur comforting. Im trying to stay easy nwsaday cos i think i worry oso no use, i can only monitor him til 2.5, cant do nothing at all. So i try to be easy on myself n not think too much n wait loh. Thinking of putting him in CC, hoping without me around , he will gesture more n even speak more if he wana get something. With me ard 24hrs with him, i know what he want without much action, so he tend to get thing easily with me ard. |

PingPing (pingping)
Member Username: pingping
Post Number: 1947 Registered: 3-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 05, 2009 - 4:44 pm: |
Joanne, Don't worry, my gal start to speak up when she attended playgroup at 3 yr old. Even the teacher told me it's normal, as every kid is different. I also noticed kids in CC talked earlier cos of the exposure to kids and teachers communication. I guess it stimulates their senses, My younger son start to babble earlier, and will try to follow what I say. So don't worry, every kid's development is different. Don't be affected by the milestone thing. |

de_GAPS (degaps)
New member Username: degaps
Post Number: 4 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Friday, May 15, 2009 - 12:38 am: |
Hello, there's hope via natural treatment for autism.. visit http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/2458801.html?1242318809 |

jc mum (jc_mum)
Junior Member Username: jc_mum
Post Number: 364 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 19, 2009 - 8:35 am: |
Hi Joanne, wat some of the mummies here said are true. My 2nd child is autistic but my 3rd one so far is ok. Anyway, maybe too early to tell but am monitoring closely as i was ignorant abt ASD earlier & thus did nt do much/intervene much for my son. He is 7 this yr & still in a special school hoping that he can pass the IQ test and make it to Pathlight next yr. Recently, i have brought him to a TCM at Jurong east for accupuncture and we have seen some improvements. This chinese dr specialises in Child PD esp autism. There are many other children like my son seeing her too. She told me that if my son has started on accupunture earlier, he would have been ok very quickly but as he's so big now, treatment will take awhile. If u are keen to find out more, u may contact her at 81274453 Clinic name: Shan Dong TCM Dr Tee |

Joanne (baby_glendon)
Post Number: 342 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 27, 2009 - 2:55 pm: |
hi jc mum, thanks for ur reccomendation. My son have not been tested on autism yet till he is 2.5year old. So i think i will not approach the TCM now. Just hope he pass the assesement when he reach 2.5yrs. |

jc mum (jc_mum)
Junior Member Username: jc_mum
Post Number: 380 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 27, 2009 - 3:04 pm: |
Hope all will be well for ur son. |

2 X Mum (2xmum)
New member Username: 2xmum
Post Number: 43 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Friday, May 29, 2009 - 6:39 pm: |
Hi jc mum, what are the improvements that you have seen in your son? Will like to seek accupuncture if it really helps. |

Zai (whiskers)
New member Username: whiskers
Post Number: 14 Registered: 8-2008
| | Posted on Monday, June 01, 2009 - 11:21 pm: |
Hi mums...am interested in this autism topic... a qn...how do u know/notice your child might be autistic other than the no-eye contact factor? |

eNemum (bluerose)
Member Username: bluerose
Post Number: 1535 Registered: 7-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 03, 2009 - 4:30 pm: |
joanne, your child sound perfectly normal to me at least he can point |

Joanne (baby_glendon)
Post Number: 343 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Saturday, June 06, 2009 - 12:46 am: |
but he got poor eye contact when other talk tohim. he is listening n answering back by noding head but eye not looking at the person. he is 27mth n he can say mum mum n purple n babbling onli.... but i can say his iq is very high |

eNemum (bluerose)
Post Number: 1538 Registered: 7-2004
| | Posted on Monday, June 08, 2009 - 2:38 pm: |
joanne, what about his interaction....can play with others....will tend to sit alone to play? what did teacher says? 27 months....speech wise can be improve one. they tend to pick up at 30 months....should be able to see tremendous improvement continue to observe |

Jes (sturutmum)
Junior Member Username: sturutmum
Post Number: 248 Registered: 12-2007
| | Posted on Monday, June 08, 2009 - 4:43 pm: |
Hi mummies, just to share my experience..My gal of 4yrs (now in nursery) is a very active and talkative gal at home..but when at school, she does not talk (even a word) to her teachers...she was already like tat when she was at a playgroup last yr, but tinking tat she is just shy and @ such a young age, we did not tink much of it...But now we are very worried and did some reseacrch and realiase that my daughter could be having a symtom called 'Selective Mustism'... We will be bringing her for a assessment at KKH but the apt is very long (Aug).... Now I really regret not realising the problem earlier.... So pls don't wait if us suspect ur child is not normal.... |

Joanne (baby_glendon)
Post Number: 346 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Saturday, June 13, 2009 - 10:40 pm: |
He like to play with my sis's daughters which is pri.1 n pri.2. I used to attend playgroup with him cos it is a parent accompany programme, he can hold hand with classmate n do those action song. but Sometime when other children are doing those action song, he did nothing n stare at them smiling, i think he is shy baa... cos at home i sing the song to him, he can do the action. But when people talk to him he seldom look at people, n he is now 27mth, he can onli say mum mum, mama, purple n babbling onli. He is going to reach 30mth soon, doc say can suggest to go for the autism assesment or test. I was scare leh, duno whether wana go for it or wait till he is older, maybe 3yrs. I scare too young n wait doc misdiagnose, it will be very hurtful for the outcome of the news but end up actually it is nothin, cos i heard from people, normally doc will say autism to children cos of lack of speeech n eye contact. |

2 X Mum (2xmum)
Post Number: 56 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, June 21, 2009 - 6:51 am: |
Hi Joanne, the longer you delay your assessment, the longer you are depriving your child of the help/therapy that he needs, should he needs it. Self denial does not help the situation |

2 X Mum (2xmum)
Post Number: 57 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Sunday, June 21, 2009 - 6:53 am: |
Hi Joanne, the longer you delay your assessment, the longer you are depriving your child of the help/therapy that he needs, should he needs it. Self denial does not help the situation |

eNemum (bluerose)
Post Number: 1582 Registered: 7-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, June 23, 2009 - 4:45 pm: |
2XMum, dun think joanne is in a denial state. Think she knows her child the best. she is also quite true when it says that there can be misdiagnosis. Joanne, if you want, can just take a referral. By the time its your child's turn, your child should be quite old cos the waiting time is very long during the waiting time if your child ok, then default lor dun worry too much...bad for baby...tho i know easily said than done |

Joanne (baby_glendon)
Post Number: 347 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 24, 2009 - 6:55 pm: |
hi mummies, my son is currently seeing therapist for his speech after referral from polyclinic, n i did train him at home after reading the book, it takes two to talk. It is a bery good book which got lot of method to make ur son speak, just like what every therapist is doing (reccomended by my son's therapist). Therapy is only a few time a month is not enough, everyday is great. The doc which my son is seeing now did say my son improve in his eye contact coz he learn to interact more with other using the book method. I think i just go with it with the test which will held when my son is 2.5yrs... i dun care whether diagnosis correct or wrong, i know my son the best, i just want to give him whatever help he need. I happen to read this book, The einstein syndrome- bright children who talk late.... Whether he is autism anot i dun think it is a matter, cos he is very bright, just cant talk onli. He can fix puzzle which meant for 3-4yrs old children when he is 14mth old, till now @ 2yrs old he still like to play puzzle, can play computer game but duno hw to use the mouse, he point n i click for him, he got super good memory, after viewing the sight words dvd (meant for preschooler)for few times, he manage to recognise those words, he point n tell me whenever he see the word in the subtitles below when we watch tv. He know his abc, transportation, animal, letter sound, 123, colours n shapes when he is bery small oso. But sometime it did bother me when people keep asking y till now still duno hw to talk, duno what to reply them... |

eNemum (bluerose)
Post Number: 1590 Registered: 7-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, June 25, 2009 - 1:45 pm: |
joanne, what book is that? |

Joanne (baby_glendon)
Post Number: 348 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Friday, June 26, 2009 - 2:39 pm: |
the book is It take two to talk!! can go lilrary borrow, but need to reserve. I borrow n photocopy most of the important page n cost ard $6+ with blinding. It teach therapist or parent to create conversation rather than just ask the child to repeat what the mother say. it is useless to ask the child to repeat after u, it will make the child less wanted to communicate. Highly reccommended in the amazon n by my friends n therapist, n infact this programme is included in the hanan programme which cost $1200 OVER FOR ARD 12 LESSON in some center The other book is The einstein syndrome- bright children who talk late.... not so good lah but it did mentain that some doc make misdiagnosis, n it affect greatly on the children when they are put into special school or intervention with other special kids, given two type of group into: highly intelligent but no speech and metal retarded but no speech. Just read for fun as it is highly reviewed in the amazon too. |

2 X Mum (2xmum)
Post Number: 65 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, July 01, 2009 - 4:49 pm: |
Hi all, I agreed that the book - It takes 2 to talk is a good book, esp for children with speeech delay. It teaches you methods to encourage your children to talk. |

Glennia (glennia)
New member Username: glennia
Post Number: 40 Registered: 11-2009
| | Posted on Friday, January 15, 2010 - 5:45 pm: |
JC Mum are you saying the accupunturist mentioned that autism can be cured? |

jc mum (jc_mum)
Member Username: jc_mum
Post Number: 541 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Friday, January 15, 2010 - 6:52 pm: |
GLennia, I dun mean that they can cure ASD. It is supposed to help up to some extent for some children |

mschan (mschan)
Junior Member Username: mschan
Post Number: 171 Registered: 11-2009
| | Posted on Sunday, January 17, 2010 - 3:53 pm: |
Hi joanne, There are signs you need to watch out for if you suspect that your child has autism. You must know about the developmental milestones of your child and try to observe his behaviour. If you find something wrong then bring him to doctor for hearing test. Check out http://bit.ly/4VDyo9 for a video in recognizing autism. |

mrs lew mimi (mimgoh)
Intermediate Member Username: mimgoh
Post Number: 2396 Registered: 9-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, January 21, 2010 - 9:42 pm: |
my son has speech delay, diagonsed by KKH Dr Lim with ADHD hyperactive + austism . he reali speak up after i send him 2 ccc(childcare ctr) when he's 32mths old. Send him there as my late mum was critical down with last stage cervical cancer. Now, he's 43mths old.....speech has improved but not clearly spoken but beta than nothing lor ! Behaviour SUCKS !!! austism ........ Dr Lim "failed" him as he refused to speak up when questions are asked! He's TOP 3 naughty list in Chinese Sinseh list ........ since he 1st seen her (huang yi shi fm yu guo) when he's 2mths + old. According to Huang Yi Shi, he's suspose to have needles treatments onto his head but his hyperactive will not co-operates with Huang Yi Shi ! She waiting for him when he turns 5y/o then will try on him. Dun suspect, do seek professional HELP instead ! Suspecting CAN DRIVE u go NUTS !!1 |

Hakim (kai)
New member Username: kai
Post Number: 99 Registered: 5-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 30, 2010 - 4:32 pm: |
Yes, Its tough but autism is on the raise in Singapore and globally Autism exists in a spectrum and at more serious end of the spectrum kids maybe non-verbal and engage in repetitive behavior, In mild autism cases, kids can be verbal but still exhibit some peculiarities and may struggle socially. Asperger's is also part of the Autism Spectrum Disorder Autism is not a disease its a disorder. Put simply, research points to connection in the brains that are different from a non-austistic child, They be hypersensitive tio certain stimuli and over sensitive to certain stimuli. Without early intervention, one has more struggles getting an austistic child to be more "mainstream" Early Intervention includes, ABA Applied Behavioral Analysis which kids are drilled with positive behavior thru repetition and encouragement Its impossible to write my limited knowledge on the subject here Its impt to try to recognise the signs early, Help is really hard in Singapore, limited places in EIP schools(waiting time more than a year), the pte providers are expensive and may not be accessible Do not be discouraged and be depressed Its the circle of life, and all things happen all the time asking why is futile, frustration is even more futile, we hads 2 quakes recently in Haiti and Chile..people died and survivors have to go on Never blame your child for bad behaviour, its not something they can control if they are autisitic they never asked for this....neither did you but it is what it is... I hope the following links help in your quest for information http://www.autism.org.sg/assessment/ http://www.autismcoach.com/Early_Autism_Diagnosis.htm http://asnsingapore.org/community_parents05.htm There's a wealth of info out there If your child is autistic....he needs YOU !! |

Hakim (kai)
New member Username: kai
Post Number: 100 Registered: 5-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 30, 2010 - 4:35 pm: |
http://www.wecaneip.com/arc/web/aboutautism/WhatIsAutism.shtml |