SingaporeMotherhood.com * Matters Of The Heart * IVF Mummies-To-Be Support Group * Archive * Archive through March 20, 2009 < Previous Next >

juju78 (bb_hopeful)
Username: bb_hopeful

Post Number: 1902
Posted on Saturday, March 14, 2009 - 10:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jo,
SIL passed us an old 4-wheel stroller, so hubby say dun nid the original 3-wheeler liao. think i nid another playpen @ MIL house, hubby also say dun nid. everything also dun nid. he nvr think, nid another set @ caregiver's place

Sam (mummywannabe)
Username: mummywannabe

Post Number: 723
Posted on Saturday, March 14, 2009 - 11:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jo,

Roughly about the same as you... but i got no pram ... all are daily neccessities and developmental toys, rocker cause the pram i want is not coming into singapore already.. so sad.. can only buy from US..

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 724
Posted on Saturday, March 14, 2009 - 11:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm not sure if you bought the wet wipes pigeon brand, but i think worth it.. the 6pk is $19.50, outside selling 3 pk at $10.80 usually.

I wanted to buy the huggies to get the free siaper bag cause i think worth it but too bad only for M size n above, but huggies diaper worth it only $14.70, Buy from JB cheapest is ard Sing $15.20 per pack.

Sorry huh, im stocking up cause i need to buy for 3 babies and can save more also..Maybe singleton mummies need not stock so much.. But i will be glad to look for bulk purchase at special price than let you all ladies know if interested to share or not..

babymaking (babymaking)
Username: babymaking

Post Number: 960
Posted on Sunday, March 15, 2009 - 4:36 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ju

re: bb care
you will be putting bb at MIL with maid? we finally got a maid, will be coming in on tue, hope everything turns out fine.

p/s: in order to apply for a maid need to sit for some online FDW course, takes 90 min minimum before can do the quiz...yawnz

sam,
so fast you buy toys? i got only the necessary things... toys optional :p i figured friends can get toys and relatives can get clothes during the 1st mth shower? hehe

btw why need cotton tips for baby? *blur*

Josephine (jun3)
Username: jun3

Post Number: 544
Posted on Sunday, March 15, 2009 - 1:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi juju,
ooo ic, i think he thought bb will grow fast and thought buying necessary thing.
so later on, your bb will be taken care by your MIL?

Hi sam,
wow.. from USA? you order from USA? what brand and how much? i think your expenses is higher than us(singleton) cos everything u need to purchase 3x. ^_^

Hi babymaking,
at least you must have several baby cloth after you deliver. ^_^
I think cotton tips to clean bb stomach/cord or clean nose when s/he sicks. ^_^

juju78 (bb_hopeful)

Post Number: 1903
Posted on Sunday, March 15, 2009 - 4:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

bbmaking / jo,
shld be bah... dun wanna talk abt it too much cos end up quarrel again.
noted on the FDW course. thx

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 545
Posted on Sunday, March 15, 2009 - 7:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi juju,
what is FDW?

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 727
Posted on Sunday, March 15, 2009 - 8:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

babymaking, Jo

Ya.. since the toys got 20%.. I bought like rattles, play mats, play gym, wanted to get the forest jumperoo than think of it haha indeed too fast so wait a while for that..

The brand is Graco but the twin side by side or the Duoglider, cannot get it in Singapore already, even babyplanet and safari also have to get from US. Ranges from $500 - $1k.

Ya its rather siong for me n DH cause everything gotta buy 3X ... thats why we slowly stock up so no need one whole shot buy .. we planning to get supplier so cheaper also..

Cotton tips are basically for cleaning the ears, baby cord clean with spirit given by hospital and cotton pads after shower.Clean nose you can get the pump type from Pigeon.

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 728
Posted on Sunday, March 15, 2009 - 8:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ok, this is what i promise you ladies here for the preparation of the hospital bag:

Roughly, should start packing sometime 4-5 weeks before due date.

For Mummy :
2-3 pairs of warm socks (to wear in the delivery room)
1 extra pack of pads (most hospital provide only one pack and will charge you if you get more. It is not necessary to get maternity pads; just get pads used for heavy flow. If you want to get maternity pads, buy them from the Hospital pharmacy, Cold storage or the bigger NTUC FairPrice outlets might have them but quite hard to find. The Hospital Pharmacy is your best place to look for these items.
Disposable underwear. (4-5 sets)
Discman with your favorite CD (of course music that will help you relax) - *OPTIONAL*
One presentable robe (For you to look presentable to your visitors or when checking on your baby in the nursery)
Massage oil (recommended in most childbirth classes)
Two sets of nightgown (one that opens in the front if you are planning on breastfeeding and preferable thick enough because you are not likely to be wearing bras. Have seen some nice ones at Robinsons (Karmy brand) and Metro. If you don’t mind spending, more, Victoria’s Secret has nice nightwear too)
One set of clothing for happy trip home (clothing with plenty of room will be the most comfortable, breastfeeding dresses will be good for moms who have gone through natural or caesarian birth)
Cosmetics
Toothbrush, toothpaste, floss
No Deodorant. Preferably not, as you will musk your natural scent from your baby. Studies have shown that traces of deodorants can be found in the breast tissues.
Slippers
Handphone and charger
Breastfeeding pillow to assist you during breastfeeding, but I find it rather unnecessary as newborn are pretty light.
Breast pump to help stimulate milk production ASAP as babies tend to be sleepy during the first few days after birth.
Inflatable ring or Boppy pillow to ease episiotomy wound.
Nursing pillow to make positioning of babies easier especially if you have a c-section.

For Daddies :

Snacks or sandwich (keep food on hand so the "labor coach" won't have to leave your bedside.)
Vending machine money. Coins. $1, 50 cents, 20 cents.
Camera and extra film. Or with digital, plenty of megabyte space. Make sure your camera is fully charged.
Camcorder and batteries
Phone list to call to announce the birth of baby to one and all.
Baby car seat for trip home. (compulsory in Singapore)
Original Marriage certificate to register name of baby. You can either register your baby’s name at the hospital or at Immgration and Custom Authority(ICA). Birth should be registered within 14 days from the date of birth, including Sundays and public holidays. If registration is done after 42 days, a letter of explanation stating the reason for late registration must be submitted for the Registrar/Registrar General's approval. After approval has been given, the birth will be registered and the birth certificate will be issued. Such cases can only be registered at ICA.
Admission form (good to bring this form everywhere you go after 36 weeks gestation

merlenna (merlenna)
Username: merlenna

Post Number: 398
Posted on Sunday, March 15, 2009 - 8:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi sam,
thanks for the list of things to pack. indeed its very helpful.. i'm in week 37, still haven't pack half of what you wrote out.. haha..

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 729
Posted on Sunday, March 15, 2009 - 8:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Merlenna,

Oh ... if you find it difficult to pack, ask DH to do the job for you... you need more rest n less work now..and yes less the stress but add the stress to DH.. haahaa.

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 546
Posted on Sunday, March 15, 2009 - 9:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wow.. never think to pack so much thing leh..
i thought 2 day 1 night only..
today in, tml must check out already... hahahaha :D
wow.. must prepare prepare....
thanks sam... ^_^

babymaking (babymaking)

Post Number: 963
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 7:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

thanks for the list sam

other things to add:
comb
hairband to get hair out of face when in labour
yr prefered body wash/shampoo (for those not following traditional confinement)
mints or sweets to keep throat soothe from the screaming
spectacles (no contact lens allowed)

for baby:
one set of nice nice going home suit & swaddling blanket

bliss Tan (blisstan)
Username: blisstan

Post Number: 1320
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 10:54 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

just to add on to what Sam posted about the things to get ready to hosp.
My friend who gave birth in KKH two years ago told me that KKH gave 1 pack of 10 maternity pads. However, my sis who gave birth in KKH last year told me she was given 2 packs instead, so she said there is more than enough to use during stay in hosp, so no need to bring on your own. Anyway, just for fyi, maybe should bring some on own just in case.

Sam,
oh no, you bought so many things! I think you are really too overwhelmed by the fair... taka definitely welcome mother customers like you very much, hahaha!
Btw, you bought the pigeon baby wipes at an expensive price liao! NTUC sells 3 packs only at $9.85, I just saw it last night. And I have another good lobang to all ladies here, it is an online shop, www.shopbug.com, this is highly recommended by a mummy friend! The same pigeon baby wipes selling in the online shop is selling at only 3 packs $9.21, the cheapest in Singapore so far!! I am ordering quite a lot from the shopbug. And also, I have been comparing the prices of the products in the shop to other outside shops, they sell at cheaper prices leh, even cheaper than the Baby Kingdom in Kaki Bukit Industrial park!

So ladies,
do go to the shopbug website to take a look, it really worth buying from there, esp the pigeon baby wipes. They have other promotions too.
Fiy, they provide free home delivery with min purchase of $80! And can make cash payment only on the day of delivery, it is not a must to make payment in advance or by credit card. I find it very good and safer to pay only when I have seen the products delivered. Heehee... :-)

ponytail (1sttime_ivf)
Username: 1sttime_ivf

Post Number: 365
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 11:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ladies - there's robinson's sale at expo.

http://www.singapore-expo.com.sg/index.php?option=com_events&task=event_details&id=193&Itemid=38

i think i'm going, even after the last experience at baby expo where got nothing to buy. maybe robinsons have more stuff.

bliss - your link looks very interesting. so many things to buy. thanks !

76 - congrats. another twin MTB on this thread.

ladies - by the way, i think everywhere also got 20 % off avent products. taka, isetan, robinson. i wonder where gives more discount. how many milk bottles per baby are you getting ? i'm thinking 12 for my twins, but my friend with singelton says she manage with only 2 bottles. so very big range...

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 547
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 12:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi bliss,
at shopbug, they only sale farlin & baby safety 1st ohh.. no maclaren pram... hehehe ^_^

hi ponytail,
thanks for the info. thinking to go there on saturday. hehehehe ^_^

bliss Tan (blisstan)

Post Number: 1322
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 12:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ponytail,
12 bottles are too many for twins lah...haha! You shocked me...heehee. :-)
I think at most 3 bottles are enought for 1 baby.
I would advise no need to buy so many bottles at one time. It is always ok to buy more when really need to by then. I feel that we dont need to be so kan cheong to buy so many things yet, it is better to buy after noticing babies need them, will be a waste of money when we dont even know our own babies would make use of those things or not. Somemore, there are always new designs and new models of baby stuffs, we may regret to keep those old ones in future. :-)

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 734
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 12:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

babymaking,

haha ya comb, if not like "Xiao Ja BO".. Oh anyway i cut a new 2009 mummy hairdo.. my haie use to be below bra length, now only below my ears... *sighs* after so many years of long hair..wat a daring move hor..

swaddling blanket or receiving blanket will be given by hospital, if not can use your own lor..think hospital is FOC one.

You very cute le.. you intend to scream and shout meh.. wait DH get frightened and pai seh run away.. haha.

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 735
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 12:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Bliss,

Aiyo.. never say earlier.. heehee luckily i only bought 10 packs.. Okok.. i will go shopbug.. can save more also..

Thanks for this great deal..

bliss Tan (blisstan)

Post Number: 1323
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 1:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sam,
sorry, just got to know the website last week.
Wow, you got 10 packs already, when is your EDD? Will they dry up if not used for months? Good that you have having 3 babies, think will use up very fast. :-)

Josephine,
I am not sure about the brands of pram selling in shopbug, but for other baby products, they sells pigeons, tollyjoy and other brands too. :-)

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 736
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 1:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Bliss,

Don't think will dry up, i use mothercare wet wipes opened already also can last more than 3 months..My Edd is sometime in June.

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 737
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 1:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

can i check with you all, are you all getting sterilising tablets for sterilising bottles?

For BF mummies, will you all still be getting the bottle warmer?

For BF mummies, will you all still use thermos? OMG i forgot i going to BF and bought this thermos for $100 plus.. think so wasteful.

Would you all be getting laundry detergent, softener for babies and also the nipple and vege wash?

76 (dejected)
Username: dejected

Post Number: 91
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 1:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks for your blessings....Hope i can tahan till at least week 37 coz i need to do c-section
cribby
I am still at week 10 day 2 (as of Monday) same as you. My next check is 1st Apr at 2 places - NUH and my gynae at gleneagles. NUH is to do some down syndrome scan...so, its abt 2 weeks and 3 days away.
saw my bb...one of them waved...soooo cute...both are 3cm and on schedule...gynae was surprised to see 2 too...he was still wondering is it the same bb when he scanned. all along, i have been having v-scan...sat was my first tummy scan, i supposed thats why spotted late....

bliss Tan (blisstan)

Post Number: 1325
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 1:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sam,
I am getting sterilising tablets beside having steriliser. Will only use the tablets when washing only fewer bottles and stuffs. My steriliser is a big one, so dont want to use it unless sterilising more items at one time.
I dont have a bottle warmer, think will use the 'ancient' way to warm bottles. haha! Coz i plan to breastfeed, hopefully can latch on.
Yes, I have gotten baby detergent already, bought kodomo one, more exp leh. Will get other brand such as tollyjoy which is cheaper next time. I didnt get nipple and vege wash. Think there is promo at the shopbugcom on that.

bliss Tan (blisstan)

Post Number: 1326
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 1:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

just found this webpage giving useful websites for baby stuffs and mothers. Havent checked on all the websites myself, just browse thru, thought it might be quite useful, do take a look then.
http://www.bimandruth.com/daniel/resources.htm

ponytail (1sttime_ivf)

Post Number: 366
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 2:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

bliss - oh, 12 too many is it ? was thinking of 16 ! ha ha, ok will re-assess. i already got 2 260ml and 3 125 ml that came free with sterilizer. think only need to get a few more then.

sam - are you going to buy any special pillow to BF after c-section ? i keep reading that recovery will take longer. and BF will not be easy. i intend to BF too. but dont know whether need to buy special pillow or not

76 (dejected)

Post Number: 92
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 2:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ponytail
How come milk bottles must buy so many for twins? they drink already you throw ah?

babymaking (babymaking)

Post Number: 967
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 2:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ponytail,

think milk bottles, u need 2 big ones (250ml) for milk & 2 small ones (125ml) for water. When new born, better to use the small ones for milk cos less air is introduced into bb's tummy.

sam
oh yeah, I'm prepared to scream & shout the house down. Had VE a couple of times, the last couple of weeks when hospitalised, already so damn painful, can't imagine gynae doing that + contractions at the same time, surely will scream.

of course, the mints will give to hubby when he scream when i grab his hands. LOL

own swaddling blanket surely nicer than hospital one ;)

re: bottle warmer, bottle warmer takes longer time to heat up milk , as compared to old fashion way of boiling water. so if baby can wait, then bottle warmer is good, otherwise stick to hot water in cup.

oh gals, do note: wet wipes do have expiry dates, i so happen to notice it. usually 2 years from manufacture.

ponytail (1sttime_ivf)

Post Number: 367
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 3:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

babymaking - huh ? only 2 big 2 small. wow, then the sterilizer not put to good use leh :p

cribby (cribby)
Username: cribby

Post Number: 38
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 3:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi sam,
thanks for the helpful list!

hi 76,
aww that's so cute about your baby waving - did you get a picture of that? what is your new EDD? not october anymore right? did you decide on a c-section already? thought it could depend on the position of the twins in later pregnancy?
so are you starting to show already? it should start earlier with twins i think. so exciting!

hi kaira,
not sure if you still visit the thread... how are you? enjoying your 2nd trimester? :-)

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 738
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 5:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ponytail,

Yes, i already got it.. Its called the Nursing Pillow. Please do not get the U pillow cannot support at all. There are 2 typpes.

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 739
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 5:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

So happy just came back from my detailed scan today, everything is well. My eldest bb still open and close the fingers i think say bye bye to mummy, daddy and the 2 doctors.. keke.. Now i have to target 28 weeks. *Phew*

ponytail (1sttime_ivf)

Post Number: 368
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 5:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sam - where did you buy from ? how much ?

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 742
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 9:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ponytail,

I bought from Cheeky Bon Bon During the sale. Its at $42.90. There are some other brands like mothercare and such.. there costs ard $100 plus but usage is about the same but mothercare is very bulky i find. The cheeky bon bon one can use as a cushioning when baby learns to sit up too.

juju78 (bb_hopeful)

Post Number: 1908
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 9:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jo,
FDW = foreign domestic worker

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 747
Posted on Monday, March 16, 2009 - 9:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Some pics for your Peepy :

Baby A Eldest

Identical Twins Baby B

Identical Twin Baby C

merlenna (merlenna)

Post Number: 399
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 1:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi sam,
love your scan pics.. very adorable. ur babies pic so close up ah.. makes you think they are so much bigger than they really are..

hi 76,
lol! i nearly fall over your joke! haha.. maybe ponytail thought 12 is enough for her twins. hehe..

hi ponytail,
12 bottles?! alot lah.. why buy so many. you have so many means you will need storage also. provided you use all, if not must keep washing before and after use anyway.. hehe.. i bought the avent bottles that come with the breast pump which includes the milk storage bottles which is 3 bottles.. then i bought another 2.. but that's also because i'm putting some at my mum's place. hehe..

ponytail (1sttime_ivf)

Post Number: 369
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 9:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sam - wow, nice pics :-)

merlena, 76 - dont laugh leh. i read from book says 10 for 1 baby, 16 for twins, so i thought 12 for twins is ok. I guess the book written in UK /US where they dont really wash things. you're right. i ask a few ppl already and all said <5 per baby. do you know if hospital will give free bottles ?

76 (dejected)

Post Number: 93
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 9:46 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ponytail
Can you share some tips or things to expect with twins? say in terms of growth of bb, or type of food to eat or things to expect in general...besides double the cost for everything.

76 (dejected)

Post Number: 94
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 9:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi sam
pics so cute. So, you have 2 identical twin and 1 other who will not look like the 2? just curious...did you put in 3 embryos? or did 1 of the embryo just split? When will you know if the triplets/twin will loook alike or not?

76 (dejected)

Post Number: 95
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 9:55 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Cribby
My gynae say twin higher risk, so, it will be c-section. i wasnt gven a choice. Edd is no longer 10 Oct but will be sept coz he said week 36-38.My tummy is not showing yet...though have a little paunch which was there before preggie..think is my tummy fats. How about you? how long was your bb? Hw abt heartbeat? did gynae tell you how many beats? Next time, ask lah....

ponytail (1sttime_ivf)

Post Number: 370
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 10:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

76 - i dont have any tips. 1st tri i was spotting and bleeding non-stop. *shudder*. oh yes, i look bigger than most ppl with singletons. i'm 21 weeks and ppl say i look like i'm about to pop :-)

76 (dejected)

Post Number: 96
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 10:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ponytail
What was your weight before preggie and now at 21 weeks? Did you have to really eat a lot more? I am at 10weeks + but no appetite, scared will affect bbs' growth

76 (dejected)

Post Number: 97
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 10:26 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ponytail
Do you know where I can read up or buy books on twin pregnancy esp for Asians?

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 548
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 10:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi juju,
ooo ic... so you got maid or MIL will taking care your bb?

hi ponytail,
i think for twins 4 small, 4 medium should more than enough. cos bb grow quite fast.
1 for water, 1 for milk - buy 2 for each your bb loh... hehehehe :-)
i only buy 2 small (125 ml), 2 medium (250ml) Avent bottle BPA free (bought from Amazon) ^_^
over here the 250ml dun have, only have 125ml (or maybe i dun know where to buy.. hehehe ^_^)

btw, my friend who delivered at KK last year told me that we can ask milk bottle from hospital.
she said the milk bottle was cute made from glass so she ask 1 more bottle and keep it as souvenir.
later may, when i gave birth i will inform you per detail oh... hehehe :-)

btw, which hospital are you?

hi sam,
your babies so cute. so close. btw sam, how are you? 28? (*saw your ic no.. hehehe)

hi 76,
pregnancy book for asian.. hmm very difficult leh.. so far i borrow from library are most from US one.. hehehehe

bliss Tan (blisstan)

Post Number: 1328
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 10:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jo,
oh, avent has 250ml bottles BPA free ah?
Oh, I bought 2 125ml BPA free from taka yest, was told there is only 1 size! Aiyo, they lied to me... I wanted to buy bigger one at first... :-(
I just have 2 125ml bottles for my baby. Think will stick to that and decide later after baby is born. Really hope can latch on, then bottles is only for water and little milk that is being expressed out.
I have 1 NUK from my sis and also 2 small glass bottles and about 8 bottles for storing milk. Hahaha... Not sure can use or not.

ponytail (1sttime_ivf)

Post Number: 371
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 10:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sam - where do they sell cheeky bon bon stuff ? $40+ for a pillow ! wow, i think i'll ask my mum to make for me. FOC. :-)

76 - my detailed scan is next week and will weigh myself then. i also dont know if i'm putting on enough weight. when i went for scan at 18 weeks, i only put on 6 kg. my doc says normal but i want to put on more so that babies can grow better. i'm also looking for books on twins for asians. still cant find any. anyway, i gave up reading those books already, cos only meant for singletons and the books mostly say the same things. gues its intersting for 1st time readers.

jo - i'm with NUH.

ladies - do you know how to store the milk after you pump out? my sil used to freeze them in special bags. anyone knows where to get those bags and how the pump ACTUALLY works ?

btw - i'm going TPY this weekend to avent showroom to fix my pump i got 2nd hand from SIL. anyone going there ? maybe can meet up ? :-)

cribby (cribby)
Username: cribby

Post Number: 39
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 11:03 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi 76,
i've read in a few places that twins can be given birth to naturally in many circumstances... but maybe those were from cases outside of singapore? at my last scan (9 weeks) baby only measured 21mm. i was so caught up in the scan i forgot to ask about heartbeat rate but will ask next time.
yea i don't have a real baby bump yet just tummy fats. haha. i heard the body just stores a lot more fat as a back-up plan when pregnant.

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 549
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 11:55 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi bliss,
i bought this one:
http://www.amazon.com/Philips-Avent-Infant-Bottle-Starter/dp/B001G2K2BI/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2?ie=UTF8&s=baby-products&qid=1237261998&sr=8-2

aiyoo... last saturday at taka i also wanted to buy avent bpa free but ohhh they said that no stock.. sighhhhh.. at least ohhh they told you they got 125ml leh... hahahaha :D

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 550
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 12:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi ponytail,

i bought the medela freeze storage bag, i think the most important is the ice pack or frezer pack.
the bag you can buy from medela at mum n babes $45, pigeon also got sell with the freezer pack.

i think avent also have. you might ask the TPY showroom heheeh ^_^

merlenna (merlenna)

Post Number: 400
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 1:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi ponytail,
no lah, i think everything we do must in moderation. don't wanna spend so much on something in the end baby dun use. wasted right? anyway, talking about those expressed milk storage, i didn't even get any packs or bags. when i bought the avent breast pump, they have a few bottles that can be used for storage. so i thought why not use it as baby's extra bottles as well. i dunno if i can enough supply to do any storage or not, but if i do, then i will get hubby to grab some packs.. hopefully, by the time i give birth, the fair at taka won't end yet. haha.. 29th is the last day right?

hi 76,
just google on the net lah for info. i think food wise, its the same just the intake different, slightly more if you're carrying multiples. but even when you're carrying a singleton, they also say eat for yourself first. make sure you get a balanced diet so baby will indirectly benefit from your healthy food intake. as for the other things, i think if you search on the net there are many useful websites that will share tips with you.

76 (dejected)

Post Number: 98
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 2:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

merlenna
You carrying multiples too?

Maykel (maykel)
Username: maykel

Post Number: 613
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 2:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thank you for all the well wishes, sorry I had not been updating much. Cos most of my time now is on pumping BM then resting. Didn't sleep well at nite cos must pump 3hrly and my BM is still not much despite everything. Had tried papaya with fish soup, had seen the lactation nurse, massage etc. A bit stress cos i know my babies need the BM.

Just an update, both my gals are in Step-down ICU care now. They are both able to breath on their own and does not need any machine assistance. Now they are still on nutrition drip and we are waiting for them to tolerate more feeds b4 the drip can be taken out and they can go to Special care Nursery where they must learn to suck and gain at least 2kg b4 they can be discharged. I managed to carry my elder gal oni on day 12 when she is bigger and out of incubator, she's so cute when she open her eyes :-) The younger 1 is still small and in incubator, so can't carry her yet.

I'm sorry if i did not post as much, but feel free to PM me if need to, in case i missed out any posting.

Hi Bliss,
Thanks. But its not really good news really to skip 3rd trimester. I would like to enjoy a full-term pregnancy for many reasons, the main 1 being the babies wellness. Cos its very hearbreaking to see them suffer when they are delivered so early and small. Cale and I felt very heartache to see them with tubes, machines and drips.....but thank goodness they are better now...but still very small.

I think the gals still need a few wks b4 they can be discharged. They can't suck yet, on tube feeding now. So i pump BM and my hubby bring to KK everyday. I oni go on alt days.

Ya, i nvr ask the CL to come cos my mum cooking for me and my maid is here to do all the washing. Dun intend to ask her to come already cos if babies come bk after my confinement, i can take care of them liao.

Hi Sam,
Glad to know that ur babies are doing well, take good care and hope you ahve a smooth pregnancy.

Hi Merlenna,
So fast you are in ur 37wks already! So can deliver anytime now loh. must get ready and pack ur delivery bag already, dun last min kan cheong. All the best and have a smooth delivery :-)

ponytail (1sttime_ivf)

Post Number: 372
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 3:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

maykel - so glad your babies are doing fine. so touching to hear you carry your baby too. i also want to BF. is it difficult to pump BM after c-sect ?

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 755
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 4:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Merlenna,

My Dh says not very clear though..

I know 2 are identical twins from my 6th week scan cause they share same placenta. The individual 1 is fraternal. 2 embbies, 1 split.

Jo,

haha yes.. birthday next month..

Actuallu they say 1st birth tummy will not show a lot issit.. My tummy now also not very big..I think maybe until 3rd Trimester.

Maykel,

My gynae very encouraging, yesterday he was saying i did a great job, ask me to target 28 weeks now so another 7 weeks more, than he say once pass 28 weeks, we will look into 32 weeks.. than 36 weeks thats the best..But i think triplets mummy won't pass 35 weeks 3 days. So am hanging on.. I can feel and i think i will be terribly upset if i give up on my babies and deliver them early.. I know sometimes no choice but i will bear with it and hang on.. Its very sad to see them small i think...The thought of it really terrifies me.

ponytail (1sttime_ivf)

Post Number: 373
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 5:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

merlenna - what you say makes sense also. my coll also say wait till give birth then buy, cos these things are never too late to buy and always there.

sam - i look as big / bigger than my singleton friend who's due in jun. but as long as your doc says you're doing fine, dont worry.

i'm going for detailed scan next mon. yay, so nervous and excited. and also for urine test again for bacteria cos last month they said got bit of bacteria. hope it all clears by then

bliss Tan (blisstan)

Post Number: 1329
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 5:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Maykel,
glad to hear from you and knowing your babies are doing well. I am sure they will grow fast and can go home with you very soon.
So you also got to see Cale's baby too? Wonder how Cale and her baby are now.
How come the milk supply still little when you have been expressing so frequently daily? Me also worried if would have sufficient milk for my baby. :-(

bliss Tan (blisstan)

Post Number: 1330
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 5:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jo,
check with you, is the link of the Avent bottles you posted stated in SIN dollars or US dollars? If SIN dollars, it is really very cheap, so gd. :-)

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 551
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 7:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi bliss,

US dollar. But still cheap after convert to sing dollar. hehehehe

bliss Tan (blisstan)

Post Number: 1331
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 7:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi jo,
ya, the price still not so bad if in US dollar. So how did you make the payment? The offer still on now? How long did you wait for the delivery?

bliss Tan (blisstan)

Post Number: 1332
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 7:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jo,
is the delivery free of charge?
I am thinking of buying bigger Avent bottles from Amazon.com if it is still worth to buy from them.

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 552
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 7:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi bliss,
i use vpost and buy other thing so price much cheaper. 1 avent bpa free bottle 125ml = S$15.9.
so if got 4 bpa free bottle = $15.9 x 4 = 63.6
got brush + milk container = $10.9 x 2 = 21.8
total = 63.6+21.8 = 85.4.

At amazon, US 33.87 * 1.6 (rate SG -> US maybe can be lower or more, later see the charge on credit card loh.. hehehe) = S$54.2 + $15 (shipment using vpost, i got buy several thing combine together). So total cost = S$69.2

Still cheaper lohhh.. cos i calculate the price base on small size bottle.. the bigger one should be more expensive, rt? hehehehe :-)

i use paypal. take abt 1-2wks to reach here. but at amazon very fast one, 1 day shipping only and some more some item amazon got free shipping to local US. I bought the avent yesterday and already reach at my VPost USA today. Since i buying other thing, so the item is pending first at VPost USA till i finish shopping...

hahahaha :D

bliss Tan (blisstan)

Post Number: 1333
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 8:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi jo,
thanks for sharing.
May i ask how you order the things? Straight from the amazon.com? How to use vpost on the website? I have vpost acc, but didnt use for long time liao.
So there is still delivery charges for your orders? Not eligible for the free delivery?
So when the things arrive, you will have to go post office to collect?

Aiyo, i have so many questions to ask, sorry to trouble you.
I am thinking of buying the bigger Avent bottles from it and other stuffs, since I find them so cheap after browsing thru. But not very sure of the exact prices to pay for things when I order.
Can you advise?

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 757
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 8:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Merlenna,

Ya same as me, i bought the avent breast milk storage and can double up as bottle, no point buying bags or packs cause we dunno seriously got milk or not.

My GF told me 1st 3 months the smaller bottle 125ml will outgrow the baby, no point and better to get the bigger one think its 250ml. Each baby just need 2 milk bottles, 1 drinking water sufficient already...

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 758
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 8:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ponytail,

As above, no need get so many bottles de.. You also dunno if your babies like it than gotta buy new teats for bottles already.

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 759
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 8:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just wanna check on your opinions on cord blood banking... will you ladies do it and have you all register for it?

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 553
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 8:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Bliss,

You got PM. Hehehe
too long to post here.. so I PM u. hehehe

juju78 (bb_hopeful)

Post Number: 1910
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 8:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jo,
leavin to hubby. he say get maid, but haven't go agency. dunno wat he wanna do.

i got a whole box of milk bottles from SIL. anyone noe whether yellowed bottles still can use? i guess she suppose i will have lotsa BM like her... her fridge & freezer almost overflowed!

maykel,
glad to hear frm u. dun worry, ur BM will come in more soon. drink more fish soup also, not only papaya fish soup. think ur #2 will grow big soon too... must worry less so dat u can hv more BM.
must have felt good to carry ur #1...

sam,
think kkh standard is like dat. even my bb 31 wk at last scan, i still feel it's very blur lor.

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 554
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 8:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi sam,

cord blood banking is very expensive leh..
i dun think i will register it. Hehehehe ^_^

juju78 (bb_hopeful)

Post Number: 1911
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 8:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sam,
i plan to donate my cord blood. others can benefit as well. think average cost of cord blood banking is $5-7k.

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 555
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 8:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi juju,
yellow hmm.. dunno abt that.
i think still can, but 1st need to sterilize 1st.
how your SIL manage to produce so much milk?
what pump your SIL use?

juju78 (bb_hopeful)

Post Number: 1912
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 8:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jo,
she use medela, dunno which model though. she said hers spoil liao, so din take from her.
me not as rich as her, so only buy mini electric. hope good enuff.
i dunno how she get so much leh... she jus say have lor

bliss Tan (blisstan)

Post Number: 1334
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 9:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

juju,
think can still use the bottles, but like what jo said, must sterilize first. I also got many bottles from my eldest sis, her milk supply was also a lot, got to use three fridges to store that time! She breastfeed her son for a few years somemore, I salute to her! Hahaha! My sis also used Medela milk pump leh, she passed it to my 2nd sis and now to me. My eldest sis advises me die die must keep stimulating and expressing the breastmilk many times daily after delivery.

Sam,
thanks for saying that 2 small bottles will be good enough for newborn baby. :-) I feel better now after buying only 125ml small milk bottles. Heehee... :P

bliss Tan (blisstan)

Post Number: 1335
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 9:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jo,
thanks for the PM! :-)
A bit confusing at first reading... heehee.. but I will read thru carefully and try. Thanks!

juju78 (bb_hopeful)

Post Number: 1913
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 9:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

bliss,
wow! now i feel very stressed... later no BM, dunno how...
somemore MIL so naggy & super pro-BM...

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 556
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 9:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi juju,
i also got same thought like you..
what if no BM. hahaha :D
but oh... dun want to think too much..
hehehe

bliss Tan (blisstan)

Post Number: 1336
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 9:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi juju, Jo,
think no use worrying about that. It is the best as long as baby grows well, no matter breastfeeding or formula feeding.
We all are trying our best. Dont forget that many babies (esp during the our mothers' time) are brought up by formula. I am also fed by formula. :-) Many of us grew up healthily still. :-)

juju78 (bb_hopeful)

Post Number: 1914
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 9:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

bliss / jo,
i also dun wanna think but...

ya la... my mum wun stress me cos she fed me (& the rest of us) FM. mil & hubby will stress me cos too pro-BM liao. some more SIL 3 kids all BM at least 1-2 yrs, the 2 younger ones heard BM 3 yrs some more! piangz! and the 3 of them keep saying 1 fridge not enuff, store partial at mil's house other than her own!

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 557
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 10:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi juju,
better dun think too much.
the more you think the more you stress.
relax relax.. better enjoy these last few weeks of pregnancy before delivery. After delivery will be hectic liaooo due to baby cry.. hehehe :-)

juju78 (bb_hopeful)

Post Number: 1915
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 10:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jo,
hope so la

Cale (mimiko)
Username: mimiko

Post Number: 444
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 11:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My boy already transferred to special care nursery since last week. He has all the tubes removed except the feeding tubes, as he is still too small to suck. His weight gain is quite slow. Hope he can gain more weight and I can bring him home soon.

I met with Maykel sometimes during the visiting hour. I saw both Maykel's babies while in NICU, they are both very cute :-).

Hi Merlenna,
Great to know you are in 37 weeks now. Have a smooth delivery.

juju78 (bb_hopeful)

Post Number: 1916
Posted on Tuesday, March 17, 2009 - 11:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi Cale,
glad ur boy is out of NICU alrdy. wat's his weight now? did the PD say roughly when ur boy can go home wif u?

ponytail (1sttime_ivf)

Post Number: 374
Posted on Wednesday, March 18, 2009 - 9:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

cale - good to hear your boy's improving. grow strong and healthy young man !

bliss - i'm going TPY this weekend and think will compare prices against amazon. is amazon really cheaper than normal ? i never use vpost before so dont know how it works leh.

CP&YT (cpyt)
Username: cpyt

Post Number: 1786
Posted on Wednesday, March 18, 2009 - 10:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am doing a BP on eczema friendly products and many more other products.

Feel free to take a look at my BP.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2253925.html?1237189553

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 558
Posted on Wednesday, March 18, 2009 - 2:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi cale,
glad that ur baby is doing fine.

hi ponytail,
amazon can be cheaper if you buy other with lower rate. if US rate is high better buy here. ^_^

juju78 (bb_hopeful)

Post Number: 1927
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 3:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sleepless in sg... haha

ponytail (1sttime_ivf)

Post Number: 375
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 9:07 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

josephine - oh i see. but must you pay shipping charges etc.

76 (dejected)

Post Number: 99
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 10:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Have started to have dark brown stains since Monday. No cramps. went to see gynae on Mon and wed.. but b4 i saw gynae, the nurse told me v comon one, dun keep coming to waste $$. And that some preggies bleed till week 30. i told her i scared mah, better be KS. Mon, doc did a spectula check, din find anythng wrong except local bleeding prob, due to crinon, or UTI..Wed, din even do any checks..say bleeding due to my stoppage of HCG pregnyl jab, so ask me to resume my twice weekly jabs...say, perhaps the placenta havent taken over the job. ask him 3x need to scan. he said no need... coz just scanned on sat, and too much ultrasound will affect bbs' growth...gvn 3 days mc. I am v scared leh...any advice?

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 771
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 11:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

This is the first time i heard ultrasound can affect bb growth le.. Hmm well, maybe you can chk with ponytail cause i think she also have bleeding problem from the start.. Or maybe can ask your doctor to prescribe progesterone for you to stabilise your pregnancy? I know droplets of blood is common, its never too kiasu to be sure especially for us to be parents right. Doctor's should be more responsible and understanding ma.

Sam (mummywannabe)

Post Number: 772
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 11:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I heard from someone sometime back saying cordblood banking have to bank for min 21 years right? Hmmm cause i think its really expensive, but think of it .. issit really necessary? Cause i heard if donate, next time any problem we can get the same cord blood but not our own one ..Issit better that way? Usually who do we donate to?

babymaking (babymaking)

Post Number: 980
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 1:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi 76

i've been having discharge and bleeding since week 8, been in and out of hospital & have been having scans everyday for periods of consecutive days when hospitalised, so far there's no feedback that ultrasounds are bad for baby, rather it's very reassuring to the mother that baby/babies is/are doing well.

if the bleeding is localised, i.e. from the cervix due to insertion of the crinone, then shd be ok, but if the discharge continue, it's prob some bleeding in the womb/placanta or water bag which only progesterone and progesterone jabs & bedrest can help to minimise.

although some women bleed thrugh out pregnancy, it's not considered a stable pregnancy, i casually mentioned it to my gynae and he said any bleeding/discahrge is not a good sign and needs to be monitored carefully.

sam
i read some stats abt using cord blood, only a few cases per year, and it's very rare. even if donate to public bank, probability that someone will match is like 1:1000000, so i feel that no need to waste money on it, would rather use the money to buy a comprehensive medical insurance plan which will cover hospitalisation & medical fees.

Btw when you need to use the cord blood, you still need to pay some $26000 to use back your own cord blood (this info heard from some MTBs in another thread, not sure if it's accurate, maybe u check with yr cordblood coordinator)

maykel & cale,
nice to read yr updates, was wondering how your babies are doing. keep your spirits up and kangeroo yr babies. hope to hear updates of their discharge soon!!

76 (dejected)

Post Number: 100
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 2:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

thanks ladies for advice. Was initially given 2 days mc on my 1st visit on Mon... then wed, given 3 days mc... so basically i whole week on mc...hehehee..
Ponytail
When did you know you have twins? which week? was it through your normal scan or from some detailed scan?

76 (dejected)

Post Number: 101
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 2:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

when you mention detailed scan, whats the difference between that and 'normal' scan?

ponytail (1sttime_ivf)

Post Number: 376
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 2:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

76 - i had bleeding and spotting during 1st tri also. not something to be relaxed about. i still shudder when i think of those days. sometimes it was brown, but there were a few times where it was red. i went to see doc each time. 1 night i even went to A&E cos so scared. if your doc says its localised, then think not as serious. i think my bleeding was due to a blood clot. dont know how it got there, but i pray everyday that my babies are doing fine now :-)

merlenna (merlenna)

Post Number: 406
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 4:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi 76,
i was carrying twins. but one didn't make it. no heartbeat. so that dispells on its own. i had bleeding for 4 weeks. but doc say better for it to come out by itself early rather than affecting the healthy foetus. now, i'm carrying a fiesty singleton.. hehe..

i did hear that scanning too much would affect bb but affect how i dunno. and how much is too much.. but yah, some experience mothers out there say, scanning too many times is not very good. i'm in the middle on this coz unless there's a need, then will do scan, if its unnecessary then wait for future appointments lah.

normal scan is very short, usually to measure baby's growth progress, size and weight. make sure that your amniotic fluid is of the right volume. coz if your amniotic fluid is starting to decrease then, you need to be induced.. that is usually during the 3rd trimester.. detailed scan is when the sonographer will scan every organs that is developing in the baby's body. heart, lungs, kidneys, brain, anatomy etc.. just to check that as these organs develop well. usually they will do this check at 5 months.

hi maykel,
yeah so fast ah, but not fast enough.. hehe.. can't wait actually. maternity bag is 3/4 done. i just need to pack my luggage to move in to mum's place. hehe.. supposed to do today.. but i still haven't start!

hi ponytail,
yah, dun get everything in huge bundles for now. get bit by bit. especially those things that you won't know baby can adapt to or not like pampers, toiletries and milk. even clothes.. dunno if baby can fit the 0-3 months. haha.. turned out baby grow so fast, all those cute rompers wasted! i can imagine, i would want baby to use those clothes i bought, i'd probably change her clothes like nobody's biz.. dun wanna waste right? haha.. sounds so kiasu!

hi sam,
dunno why lah kkh gives blur images.. my latest baby scan, the sonographer pass to me this totally weird scan pic. i dunno what to make of it. can't even tell which part. haha.. so i don't bother. out of so many scans, i only have one given by doc sadhana which is better than the one in adc where baby was seen sucking her thumb. that one was worth it..

hi cale,
thanks.. hehe.. tomorrow entering week 38! yippee!! anytime now.. i'm just waiting for my cue. so many questions, will it be 'bloody show', waterbag leakage, menses cramps, endless backpain.. etc.. ahaha.. the anticipation is driving me nuts! which one will be my sign of labour?

76 (dejected)

Post Number: 102
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 6:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

merlenna
thanks for detailed explanation. When did you lose your 2nd twin?

76 (dejected)

Post Number: 103
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 6:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ponytail
are you having identical or fraternal twins?

merlenna (merlenna)

Post Number: 407
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 7:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi 76,
the first scan after discovering that i was positively pregnant at 6 weeks, they detected 2 sacs. only one had heartbeat.. at week 7 - 11 i bled. so during that time i believe the womb was cleaning itself out. in the beginning it was sort of a dilemma coz at one point i was sad for the twin but for another i'm still expecting a baby. so i choose to be positive and enjoy my pregnancy and cherish the one baby that will be coming out very soon! hehe..

Josephine (jun3)

Post Number: 559
Posted on Thursday, March 19, 2009 - 9:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi merlenna,

Same. At 1st I was told that i got twins.

In the first scan they detected 2 heartbeat (6wks). Then oh, on 10wks scan only detected 1 heartbeat.

The different with you is my other twins was not expelled out. But Dr Loh told me that it will dissolve by itself and absorbed by the other twins.

That time I was also sad and dilemma.

ponytail (1sttime_ivf)

Post Number: 377
Posted on Friday, March 20, 2009 - 9:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

76 - fratenal for me

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use