A Singapore Motherhood Portal for the Singapore Parents * Matters Of The Heart * About Transfering Maid < Previous Next >

twin_mummy (twin_mummy)
Username: twin_mummy

Post Number: 244
Posted on Tuesday, January 27, 2009 - 11:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have a toddler and a twins. I was encouraged by friends and few mummies here to have a maid cos I am working. I don't think I want a maid for a period of 2 years. I have a gd friend who no longer needs a maid and transfering maid. The maid has been with him for a year and so far has no problem. If I were to take his maid, it means that I only need to take the maid for a year to complete the contract? I need someone to explain to me about the contract thingy and do i need to pay agent fees etc.?... kind of lost. Thanks a lot.

Jae Chong (s7870127g)
Username: s7870127g

Post Number: 83
Posted on Wednesday, February 11, 2009 - 1:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

You have to look for an agency, they will settle the documentations for you. You must remember to buy the maid insurance from the agency...abt $200 over but its absolutely necessary cos if she runs away and you didn't buy her insurance, you have to pay the govt $5 k. Then the other issue is... is your friend trustworthy? Cos some people say very good things abt their maid...just to transfer their maids away faster...If they sent the maid back, they have to pay for her air ticket. If the maids don't get transferred to another owner, then they continue to pay for the maid's levy... so its kind of worrying to get transfer maids nowadays...many people faces problems with transfer maids...

Jae Chong (s7870127g)
Username: s7870127g

Post Number: 84
Posted on Wednesday, February 11, 2009 - 1:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

its also quite scary to rely on maids to take care of little children...i have plenty of personal experience to share....Think twice and take care

blissfully blessed (blissbless)
Username: blissbless

Post Number: 29
Posted on Monday, March 02, 2009 - 3:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hm..... have your friend left her kids with the maid alone before?

I have bad experience with maids and have decided to do without them once and for all :-)

jute100 (jute100)
Username: jute100

Post Number: 180
Posted on Thursday, April 09, 2009 - 5:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI Blissfully..can share ur maid bad experience?

yoko noriko (yokonori)
Username: yokonori

Post Number: 225
Posted on Sunday, April 12, 2009 - 1:17 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, sometimes we don't have a choice but to take maids to look after our kids. Currently I have a boy and going to have another EDD aug 09. SO I decided to take another maid to do housework. Usually I take philipino maid cos I felt that if they don't like they will tell u. Unlike indonesian, old pp and some employers will like cos Indo maids usually don't argue and have no off day. But can u imagine that they will keep to themselves and after tat u will not know what will happen. As far as I observe I have seen like mostly the ones in troubled are usually indo not philipinas. Maids all by luck. My current maid is very lousy with her housework but good in childcare. Of cos not the fantastic type. But at least she is quite reliable. sometimes we have to open one eyes and close. No choice. We can't expect them to do everything. As long they know their responsibility can liao.

yoko noriko (yokonori)
Username: yokonori

Post Number: 226
Posted on Sunday, April 12, 2009 - 1:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

To me, I like to take transfer maid. Cos sometimes the maid maybe good but meet lousy employer of cos there are other wise. But is so much easier cos we are able to see them in person. Of cos they can pretend to be like an angel when you interview them. Usually I will scare them with like i have 3 cars and she gonna work in a big house bla bla bla. Observe her reaction. Some will be a bit reluctant to accept. So from here u can see their facial expressions.

jute100 (jute100)

Post Number: 182
Posted on Monday, April 13, 2009 - 8:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi yoko. thks for sharing .

Chua (yernying)
Username: yernying

Post Number: 127
Posted on Tuesday, April 14, 2009 - 12:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

like my maid.I also treat her very well.one eye open one eye close,cos if without her help.I also very headache.

jute100 (jute100)

Post Number: 183
Posted on Wednesday, April 15, 2009 - 8:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi Ms Chua..sometime i think it is difficult to close one eye..

ecobaby (ecobaby)
Username: ecobaby

Post Number: 3
Posted on Friday, May 08, 2009 - 1:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hello ladies,

i just like to share my experiences here,i have been having maids for the past 2 year and i had to change quite a few before i got my current 1..my 1st was indonesian and new to Singapore. she was so unhygenic, she wouldnt brush her teeth in the mornings, even showers I had to prompt her to do so..once i got so fed up cause she changed my dog's pee pee pan and didnt wash her hands after that and immediatley wanted to cook lunch for me..i was pregnant that time so i decided to send her back to agent..

the 2nd transfer maid was also indonesian, she was with her last employer for 10 years and reason for not wanting her was she was shouting at the kids and talking back to the employer..but the agent gave me a different story, saying she was owed $$ and so got fed up with the family..I took her in cause of her good track record but u know she was quite scary, always talking and giggling to herself whenever she is doing chores and not sleeping at night..my dad said he got a shock couple of times as she would sit in the kitchen at 3 or 4 plus in the mornings, in the dark in the kitchen doing nothing..got 1 time after my delivery, she jus picked up my baby without permission and wouldnt pass him back to me only after asking her 2x. i had to get my mum to tell her not to touch the baby without my permission, and she ended up going to the baby room secretly and just stand there staring at him for sometime until someone came to check on him..she would then cry and laugh at diffrent times of the day, very weird..i told the agent to take her back cause she was behaving too eratic..

3rd was was filipino and she was good in cleaning, a lovely gal.. but i found out that she was leaving the house secretly whenever we were not home and quite a number of my things went missing..she couldnt answer when i questioned her so i couldnt keep her.

4th was a transfer filipino as well and she was a terror..with me onli 1 week, 1st day she came to my home, she started demanding additional day offs in a mth, to allow hp to talk to her boyfriend, she kept my mum's clothes in her drawer saying thought it was hers, once i saw her give my son (onli 7 mths and was in the walker) a loud "WHAT" and "diao him with her eyes"..i heard from my agent that she went to another employer home, again only within 3 days, was caught on camera wanting to do something to the children..eventually she was banned from working in singapore..

so i think we must always becareful with maids, sometimes its not that we dun wan to trust them but they come all the way here to work for peanuts and this is not their home or their children, i dun think they will really care about our children's welfare and upbringin..i actually sold off my condo and gave up my job just to be a stay at home mum, i still have a maid and so far she is working out well, we treat all our maids well, letting them eat with us, bring them out when we go shopping, etc..but there is a line that cant be crossed when they go too far..

Annabel (s0perm0m)
Username: s0perm0m

Post Number: 49
Posted on Thursday, May 14, 2009 - 9:56 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just want to share my bad experience with you all here. Lately I've just had encounter with this maid agency named "Jrs Business Express Pte Ltd" located at 420 North Bridge Road, lady boss by the name of Naty. I shan't say what happened as its a long story. All I can say is this maid agency is not honest and truthful. Understand that all agency will sometimes make mistakes, this agency made mistakes never mind, but she refused to bear responsibility for what she had done, instead started being very unreasonable..
The mistakes she made is not something small, she did not handle matters the legal and correct way in the eyes of the MOM, plus all the advices she gave are all wrong (found out after checking with the other maid agencies.)
And when she is being confronted by it, she pushed to all the people she can find to put the blame on.
In the beginning, she sounded so sincere, promise you a lot of things, but once anything goes wrong, all that she promised, she will tell you that it's not possible to do this and that anymore, take it or leave it! She even send an SMS to threaten me. I was so shocked that she will do such things.

Well, there's nothing that I can do now, I can only share my experience with you and hope that this will stop people from having the same fate as me, please pass this on to all your friends before it is too late.

janjanx (ahjanx)
Username: ahjanx

Post Number: 33
Posted on Friday, May 15, 2009 - 9:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, I have a maid for transfer. But she will be only be available after mid sept this year. As I am waiting for my son to reach 18months before I can let her go. She is the main care giver for my son, and during the day i left my son alone with her while me and papa goes to work. So far she's fine. she teaches plays, sings and teaches him stuffs.

If you are interested, please pm me. Thanks!

Jasmine (topaz_gem)
Username: topaz_gem

Post Number: 568
Posted on Friday, May 15, 2009 - 3:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hey Janjanx,

CANnot PM you leh... otherwise you PM me can? I can wait until mid Sept.

Angel (angellee)
Username: angellee

Post Number: 604
Posted on Wednesday, May 20, 2009 - 3:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi janjanx,

ur PM is off.. can u email me at angeltoh@gmail.com? Thanks!

Higgledy (higgledy)
Username: higgledy

Post Number: 657
Posted on Wednesday, June 03, 2009 - 6:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hello janjanx,
is your maid still available? Please PM me. Thank you.

Tan SL (kkitkat)
Username: kkitkat

Post Number: 190
Posted on Tuesday, June 09, 2009 - 4:22 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi I have a filipino maid to transfer. She is good with childcare n housework. Has been with me since nov 08. I should say she is good. Reason y I wanna give her up is because my elder gal is in childcare n I will be quitting my job to take care of my younger gal. Hence will not be needing the extra help. Initially got her cos I thought the extra help would be good, was pregnant then but now realized there is really nothing much she can do that I
cannot cope with hence after July when her loan is completed, I
wanna be maidless to relieve myself financially too. She is rather hardworking n clean. She mainly cleans my 5room flat, cooks n does the laundry. As I m a rather possessive mummy, I like to be handson with my children. But she is good with kids n does her part to ensure their well being. Pls pm me if u are interested.

Ling (tokll)
Username: tokll

Post Number: 25
Posted on Monday, June 22, 2009 - 3:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Are you maids still available?

Pls email me at ling55ling@hotmail.com

Carman (dragongirl)
Username: dragongirl

Post Number: 1
Posted on Thursday, July 16, 2009 - 4:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi janjanx and Tan SL (kkitkat),

Pls email me at littledragongirl77@yahoo.com if your maid is still available.

Eunice72 (eunice72)
Username: eunice72

Post Number: 87
Posted on Monday, August 17, 2009 - 6:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi janjanx and Tan SL,

pls email me at mama3655@gmail.com if yr maid is still available. I need one urgently.

jojet (jojet_70)
Username: jojet_70

Post Number: 173
Posted on Monday, August 24, 2009 - 4:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Janjanx and Kitkatt,
Maids still available? I'm keen, I need to find one asap. Pls email me at jojet_70@yahoo.com.

Thks in adv!

Joanna Han (beebee09)
Username: beebee09

Post Number: 1
Posted on Tuesday, September 08, 2009 - 10:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi janjanx and Tan SL,

I know it's been a while since your posts but may I know if your maids are still available. Am desperately looking for one as I am planning to send my current maid back. Pls email me at hanjhm@gmail.com. Thanks.

Erm...anyone else got good maids to transfer?

IanAn (ianan)
Username: ianan

Post Number: 735
Posted on Monday, October 19, 2009 - 3:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, just came across this thread. If you have a good domestic helper and you are intending to transfer, please contact me at: ianan.bb@gmail.com. Thanks alot!

Cloudie (cloudie71)
Username: cloudie71

Post Number: 5
Posted on Friday, October 23, 2009 - 1:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Same for me, if anyone knows of any good maids for transfer, please PM me or sms at 96212090.

Indo or Filipino is not an issue, but I prefer those more homely and humble type. My current Filipino maid loves to use handphone and going out. Must speak and understand English (fairly well is ok).

Please recommend if you have, great thanks:-)

celeste tay (celestebab)
Username: celestebab

Post Number: 3
Posted on Monday, November 09, 2009 - 7:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi all, i need advice as to whether is a common practice that i need to pay $10 each day for accomodation and food if i return my maid who has come but we find her totally unsuitable to work for us, besides, the levy that i need to pay.

And is there a time limit for this as my agent MDS in katong SC says, i will have to pay till the maid is transferred.

mariacia (mariacia)
Username: mariacia

Post Number: 11
Posted on Monday, May 31, 2010 - 9:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

oh my god.. scary maid.

jh_mumloveu (jh_mumloveu)
Username: jh_mumloveu

Post Number: 19
Posted on Sunday, June 27, 2010 - 10:03 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone got good maids to transfer pls pm me thx...the maid must good with childcare n housework...

Cher (bugsfire)
Username: bugsfire

Post Number: 19
Posted on Monday, August 09, 2010 - 10:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am urgently looking for a DH, pref. filipino. Please PM me if you have a good maid available.

No agents please.

OranGeBB (orangebb)
Username: orangebb

Post Number: 144
Posted on Saturday, August 28, 2010 - 3:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi mummies, I am looking for a maid to take care of my bb n housework. Please pm me thanks!

Maisy (maisy)
Username: maisy

Post Number: 16
Posted on Tuesday, August 31, 2010 - 8:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

kindly assist

My current maid is due to complete her contract in December. I need to look for a good reliable maid to replace her anytime from now ... my intention is for the new maid to "parallel" my current maid for 2 months before she heads off.

Jobscope:
- Main Task is to provide childcare duties like bathing, feeding , cooking for the kids (2 preschool kids)
- General household duties (laundry, ironing, cooking, cleaning)
- Family of 4 (me, my husband & my 2 kids)

Anyone who is letting go of your reliable maid or knows of relatives/friends who may be letting go of their reliable maids, please email me maisy123.lim@gmail.com

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Last 72 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use