SingaporeMotherhood.com * Matters Of The Heart * Calling ALL Thomas TRain FANS! * Archive through October 30, 2008 < Previous Next >

Poor Mummy (PM) (paranoidmummy)
Username: paranoidmummy

Post Number: 4127
Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 12:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

So - I agree it's quite hard to move around with 3 kids.

I have only one, but my SIL has 3. When she asks me out, it's 2 adults to 4 children. Pengz! I can faint man! Even it's from my place to Compass Point, within half an hr I wanna go home liao.

Post Number: 4128
Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 12:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

CAtz- Am thinking of buying a Thomas Toothbrush too, but Im far from Robinson as well. Only Robinson has them?

Catz (catz)
Username: catz

Post Number: 10743
Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 12:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

PM, hv only seen at Robinsons so far.. even Taka doesn't hv much range of Thomas stuff. To me, not worthwhile la... just buy oral B. More impt to have clean teeth than for the Thomas deco :-)

Travelling with kids no joke. I remember the first time I started driving and bringing my son out by myself... shake ah, so scared. But I drive la.. then when my daughter was born..alamak, she can cry for the whole car journey until everyone go deaf.

co11ectionz (co11ectionz)
Username: co11ectionz

Post Number: 545
Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 4:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

If really want a good thomas toothbrush, buy the good toothbrush and decorate the handle with thomas stickers :-)

Post Number: 546
Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 4:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Catz, OTC packaging quite ok lei. But quite a lot of different items so must track properly. Recently, they have missing items so must check.

I also ordered from ezpartyzone. But till now, the items not even shipped from ezpartyzone yet! Quite long already. Now quite worried if it will arrive on time.

Post Number: 547
Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 4:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

BOY-GIRL PArty theme

Interesting... So far, I have attended all boys or all girls' sibling theme. Have not yet seen a combined one.

Maybe you can have the happy b-day banners side by side on a big wall? then segregate the party area into 2, with left side thomas and right side princess? or Dora?

You can use the food / buffet table as a divider of the 2 themes.

Post Number: 548
Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 4:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Planning for a party is always so exciting. Now I'm looking around for THomas party favours.

Poormummy & So... didnt know you stay around this area! We're closeby!

Catz, u also nearby?

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10745
Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 7:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

co11ectionz, alamak, so EZpartyzone not very good har? OTC - yes, the items are all kacang kacang price.. so I would expect quite a complicated shipment :p THat's why I prefer to do Gap/ON sprees 'cos not so many items.

Dora, Strawberry Shortcake - my girl doesn't know yet. Hello Kitty also dunno. She like Barney and Elmo but like a big funny - Elmo and Thomas party? Hehe..

Me AMK area.. Hougang ain't too far off. If I do Allaboard spree again, will jio everybody :-)

Post Number: 550
Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 7:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yeh YEh!

Strangely, Thomas and Elmo does sound weird. Maybe just doesnt blend as well as Thomas and Dora or THomas and Strawberry Shortcake. Is it cause Elmo is not feminine enough? Hmmm...

IF you have a Barney and THomas party, my boy will LOVE it man!

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10747
Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 8:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

co11ectionz, teehee.. I really dunno how lei... a bit mean to do all Thomas which is not what my girl really wants but she's a bit young, dun really know what she really wants either. Hello Kitty is cute lah but sighhhhh, no connection, know what I mean? Unless I do a totally Little Einsteins theme but L.E. not much party stuff leii...headache!

Post Number: 551
Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 9:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ya... LE not much party stuff.

Another way is really make your own, using stickers or print yr own pictures.

OH.. I once did a LE fruit snacks spree. The gummies are quite good as favours.

My boy loves LE too! I just bought a pat pat rocket for him. Will be trying to do a LE rocket cake for him for 1 of his bday celebrations with family. For classmates, its quite obvious to be T-H-O-M-A-S :-)

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10748
Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 9:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

You bought a pat pat rocket? As in the huge one? How was the shipping? Am tempted to do a spree for that :-)

OK think maybe I'll go and search for LE stickers.. you really gave me a good idea! Fruit snacks are a great party favour too! Thanks thanks!!

So (mumof3kids)
Username: mumof3kids

Post Number: 17
Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 10:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hmmm..if hv any good deal and u guys r going to organize a spree, pls let me know as well....hehe..i always see ppl buy, then hiong hiong join ppl, then after that regret for spending so much, crazy!!!
just bought over hundred usd thomas stuffs from allarboardtoys, i myself hunger but dun dare to spend on food...siao cha bo!!!

teng (teng2teng2)
Username: teng2teng2

Post Number: 142
Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 11:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi to all mummies n new mummies ....

me Bishan area .. v near to AMK, hougang leh ...

i still busy w #2's LS leh .. 2 wks leow , teeth still cannot come out leh .. sigh.. dunno if shd go back to PD again or not leh ... sometimes can LS 6 times per day ... 8-(

collectionz, u can get thomas sticker n coloring bk @ pasar malam .. $1 per book .. but stickers kinda "chiong" ones .. hehehe .. can satisfy my boy's thomas craze .. so ok for me .. hahaha

btw, I got 2 mighty mac in unopened capsules ... selling each @ $2 .. if keen, let me know ..

Post Number: 553
Posted on Saturday, October 18, 2008 - 7:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Catz, LE stickers also quite hard to find. But if you go to popular and buy those activity book, there are sheets of stickers in there. Hope this helps!

My friend helped me to buy the pat pat rocket from US when she went over last month. This item is not worth shipping over as the box is very very big. Lots of room inside the box as the rocket is a little odd shaped.

Post Number: 554
Posted on Saturday, October 18, 2008 - 7:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

So, what did you buy from allaboardtoys?

Post Number: 555
Posted on Saturday, October 18, 2008 - 7:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Teng, hope your #2 gets well soon.

Looks like we are all around this area.Good!
Next time can plan Thomas party for this fan club. Ha ha ha .

You know what? I have been searching for a pasar malam for about a month liao. I still have not seen any around! Sigh... when u need it, u dont see it. When u dont need it, you see it everywhere!

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10751
Posted on Saturday, October 18, 2008 - 8:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

co11ectionz, you are so helpful!

Allaboardtoys ah - clothes, accessories and 1 cranky the crane.. :-)

Teng, yeah very nearby to me!

What's might mac?

Yeah Pasar Malam all gone missing. Think they must be in Jurong..haha :-)

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10752
Posted on Saturday, October 18, 2008 - 8:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Alamak, really got my heart set on the Pat Pat Rocket leiiii... roughly the box is around 2-3kg vol and around the same weight yah? Dunno if I do a spree for 4 of the same item, whether it will be better or not. :p

So (mumof3kids)

Post Number: 18
Posted on Saturday, October 18, 2008 - 10:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi, i am staying at Hougang ave 9, is it nearby u guys??

from Allaboardtoys, normally buy clothing,for my boy and girl, then toys, slipper, booties, and those on clearance where i need it.
actually the price seems cheap, but after add up the shipping, think it's not cheap also lor...

i just bought a medium size Thomas bag for my boy on Thursday,as he is attending childcare, but realised it's too small to put in his things, it's new with tag and inside the packaging, anyone wanted to take over this at my cost $15.90??? i only take out to take photo...
pls let me know ya...cos no point keeping it when i no need it.

mylvera (mylvera)
Username: mylvera

Post Number: 855
Posted on Sunday, October 19, 2008 - 7:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

morning all,

jz found stickers here ... :-)
http://exclusivelythomas.com/asccustompages/140.html

Post Number: 558
Posted on Sunday, October 19, 2008 - 2:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Catz... there's a new pat pat rocket.

http://www.target.com/Fisher-Price-Little-Einsteins-Transform-Rocket/dp/B00172TZT2/sr=1-7/qid=1224399846/ref=sr_1_7/602-3964384-4692631?ie=UTF8&index=target&rh=k%3Alittle%20einsteins%20rocket&page=1

teng (teng2teng2)

Post Number: 144
Posted on Sunday, October 19, 2008 - 10:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

thanks co11ectionz ... got to bring #2 to see PD tmr leow .. he coughing .. sigh ... i never zz last nite coz he cry n scream the whole nite ..

got 1 pasar malam near braddell .. was there last wk.. nt sure gone already or not ...

Catz, might mac is one of the little engine w 2 heads joined together under thin controller's care ...

SO, hougang ave 9 .. nt v far ...

think we can have thomas & LE parties leow .. keke ... coz my boys oso luv them ...

So (mumof3kids)

Post Number: 22
Posted on Sunday, October 19, 2008 - 10:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

so, where are u ladies staying??maybe we ever met b4, but just dunno each other that we are all Thomas siao!! ha..

i am waiting for Pasar Malam also,dunno when it will come to Hougang Ave 9 leh..

Hippy Tan (hippybaby)
Username: hippybaby

Post Number: 200
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 8:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

if you wanna get those stickers and coloring books etc from Pasar Malam, can go check out Toa Payoh HDB hub. There is one shop that sells stuff like that, just abv MRT, very near Breadtalk... if you stand at the popular entrance, you can see the shop clearly.

Hope this help...

Post Number: 561
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 10:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks Hippy Tan! Will go check it out when in Toa Payoh.

PASAR MALAM
There's one near Serangoon North!

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10757
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 1:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks Hippy!

Pasar Malam - Serangoon North outta my neighbourhood leiiiiii. Just hoping for AMK to have soon :-)

Teng, oic, dun think I see mighty mac before lei.

LE is a really good show. My son grew up on Baby Einstein so LE was a natural progression!

co11ectionz, think the pat pat rocket you got is the better one. sigh...

Post Number: 562
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 1:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Catz... why better? I tot the new rocket is better? I haven fiddled with it though :-) Waiting for his bday....

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10760
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 1:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Judging by lack of reviews on that one and the glowing reviews on the original one :-) Haiz.. I just wait and see la. See if my CFO gives me the greenlight to organise spree for his darling daughter :-)

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member
Username: mashybrainz

Post Number: 8044
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 2:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My boy is turning 3 in a few months time. He's also a big fan of trains. Not so much thomas exclusively, it's plarail trains. We've thomas & tomy (shinkansens) trains sets at home and he's got his own thomas bed. :-)

He started loving trains coz his daddy wanted to fulfil his childhood dreams. SO the moment my boy could sit up, he had been surrounded by trains going round and round him. And, my place faces the MRT tracks, and he loves watching it go by everyday.

Anyone knows where or how i can get the train couplings? It's almost impossible to find in Spore. I remember seeing them in Japan before and that time didn't buy it. Now really regret.

jessel (jessel)
Username: jessel

Post Number: 787
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 4:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

my son is 14 months and he too loves thomas. actually he loves thomas and bob the builder...it started when my bro bought my son a thomas train from JP...he loves the chochoo sound and movement of thomas...then he started watching thomas in playhouse disney everyday (after which bob the builder is shown)...so now he loves both cartoons.

So far, i have bought my son thomas water bottles, food container, aquadoodle, jacket - all thomas designs...im also looking for thomas clothings, but cant find nice designs in SG...so still checking out some sprees.

If my son still loves thomas when he turns 3, that will be his bday theme - still long way to go...hehehe!

Post Number: 563
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 5:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Welcome Mashy & Jessel! :-)

MAshy, whats train couplings?

Jessel,my boy also likes Bob the builder! The song is so cute!

mouseaction (jastan)
Username: jastan

Post Number: 4479
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 7:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

catz
Thomas toilet seat as in the cushion of the toilet seat is with Thomas design. It is for kids... Was thinking to use this to lure my boy to get started using adult toilet.

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10762
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 7:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

welcome, Mashy and jessel :-) mashy, you're staying in AMK too right?

Thomas clothing - generally not v nice and horrendously pricey in SG. One set of Thomas PJs are $20.. siao!

Bob is nice... I actually enjoy watching Bob the Builder but my son not so keen already. I find it very funny :-) OK that's very sad :p

mouseaction, have definitely not seen it but you should check out those overseas spree sites just in case I missed it. You know what I did to potty train my son at 2.5 years? I gave him a book and whenever he peed in the potty, he'd get 1 sticker to stick on that day's page.. he was off diapers within 1 week! So if you get Thomas stickers, would be just as good as a Thomas potty (if you cannot find one) :-)

Post Number: 564
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 10:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Catz, u're so innovative.

Post Number: 4129
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 8:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Catz - Yup, agree. The thomas clothes selling in Mothercare is so ex. My son only has 2 Tshirts from Taiwan.

Potty Training - So far my son only poo in the poty once or twice, other days he does it in CC already. Pee-ing... cannot control always say after he has done it. How to encourgage him to tell me when he has the urge?

Party flavours - Realise Thomas party flavours are ex. I bought the tattoos, didnt really turn out well. Everyone thought it's sticker. By the time I want to correct them, the tattoos cant work anymore.

What's Patpat rocket?

Last friday I bought a small thomas bag for my son, meant for weekend use. End up he insist to bring it to sch. So yesterday and today we go to sch with 2 bags.
At the same shop where i bot the thomas bag. There's a set of small little thomas and his friends on a mat. My son keep telling me he likes it and went to kiss the glass! But i didnt get it from him.. coz v ex.. $90+ and I dont find it fun ...

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10765
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 8:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Me? nah.. out of necessity :-)

Potty - doing poo is easier than pee. My son had started pooing on potty from 6 months 'cos I just dump him on potty when I brush my teeth. My daughter a little slower but now she's 1.5 years and more or less does all her poop in the potty. So much cleaner.

Pee - you gotta keep bringing them to potty, say every half hour.

Pat pat rocket - it's a little einsteins toy :-)

hehe.. all kids like that lah.. they like having things their own way.. what to do? Sometimes we look so idiotic 'cos of the kids but no choice!

Post Number: 4130
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 8:40 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yes! Look idiotic coz of the kids.. I'm always like an idiot. Hahahahahahah..

Post Number: 565
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 9:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Actually Thomas toys are very expensive too... not only clothings. The worse is, if u buy these expensive clothing, some pple may think u buy from pasar malam!!!!!

Catz.. I saw that you lost an item via mail? Oh dear...

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10768
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 9:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

co11ectionz, SO TRUE! Don't know why the Thomas apparel is so hideous and pricey!

Yes, lost a mail in one of my purchases from BP 'cos sender did not put return address :-( First time ever.. luckily I've never had lost mail when I've been the sender 'cos I always put return address.

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8051
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 1:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

co11ectionz

It's the white connectors for the trains. My boy's very rough when he dismantle his trains so gotta buy replacements. They sell for 100y (abt $1.4) for 3 sets. Also need tyres for the trains but can't find it anywhere in Singapore.

Anyone knows if Thomas' stuff are cheap in HK? Going in Dec and wanna see if can get it cheaply there.

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8052
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 1:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Catz

Yah, you're right abt that. :-) Have 'met' u at several threads before.

So (mumof3kids)

Post Number: 27
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 1:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy, i heard 1 of the mummies said Thomas is much cheaper in HK, as her mother is there, she is also a Thomas siao mummy...ha...you going in Ded, then must control yourself lor, else, you will need to buy few lugages to bring back your Thomas stuffs..

Post Number: 566
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 1:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Catz.. so you wont be able to get any compensation? :-(

I had a lost parcel before, when my friend mailed to me from US using USPS. But lucky have insurance to cover.

Post Number: 567
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 1:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

MAshy, you tried Daiso for your couplings?

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8054
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 2:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

co11ectionz

u mean daiso sells that? No leh. Always thought must buy under the Thomas brand. U mean they actually sell that?

teng (teng2teng2)

Post Number: 145
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 3:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mouseaction, u can try minitoons .. got mine there but it was quite some time back ..

SO, thomas in hk is also not very cheap but they are more common as compared to sg ...

Mashy, for thomas stuff in hk, u can find them in JUSCO/dept stores/flower street .. if wan cheap kids clothings, u can go to stanley mkt ... i used to go there to get kids clothes while we were staying in hk ... 8-)

Nobody interested in mighty mac huh ?? mmm...

Post Number: 570
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 4:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mashy,
They have some train stuffs in Daiso, but I am not sure if they have the couplings u want. :-)

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8059
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 5:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

co11ectionz

oh ok, thanks! Will go and see.

teng
Thanks! Will go and see. Hahah, my hb was saying stanley mkt nothing much, dun wanna go there this time.

Post Number: 573
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 11:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Side track topic for today - FIDGETS
Any mummies here been to Fidgets? How's the food in the Cafe?

So (mumof3kids)

Post Number: 28
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 12:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i went to Toysrus at Vivocity last saturday, there are lots of Thomas toys, bags,...etc...but the price also quite high even those on sale...for those keen to buy Thomas VCD, no need to buy from those video shop, they are much more expensive.
i just bought 5 pcs from my friend, really good price and it's original, same as what i bought from Popular 2 mths ago. should know her earlier lah...

Jer (dreamer_j3r)
Username: dreamer_j3r

Post Number: 805
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 1:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

glad that i ponder onto this thread! My elder boy who is 4 years old are huge thomas and friends fan too. Hubby said he going bankrupt soon if my boy dun stop buying thomas stuffs.

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10774
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 1:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mashy, I think I bought those blank GD cards from you.. that was when your baby was still small enough to be slinged :-)

Wah train couplings I really don't know 'cos mine are the Takealong and wooden series ones.

So, yes TRU is expensive.. but when their takealong sets go on sale, they are cheaper than Robinsons/Taka.

Jer, welcome.. we're all broke mummies here :-)

co11ectionz, where's Fidgets? I usually go Globetrotters but their playroom a bit lousy already. Food improved though, no service charge, no GST

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8061
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 2:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Catz

yah yah. That's right. Hahah, my GD cards are still sitting at home 'doing nothing'. My boy only enjoyed the Maths dots that i made for him.

Mine are all those with blue tracks. The wooden series are too ex for us already. My hb was so tempted to buy this huge train table where the trains can be secured and there's drawers to store the trains. Think it's under the imaginarium brand at toys r us.

Post Number: 574
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 3:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

fidgets is at turf city

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10775
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 3:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

co11ectionz, wah never go Turf City ever since my son stopped his Marsden swim classes. There's also a Playground cafe there, not bad. Sol, I think, near the entrance side. But when the big kids swarm the playground, then the little ones have no choice but to evacuate.

mash, my GD cards dunno where already. Only got past 10..haha.

Wooden series is crazily expensive... and my coupling magnets are all rusty :p But my friend says they are heirloom pieces. Dunno where to store lei..

So (mumof3kids)

Post Number: 29
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 7:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

this afternoon i went to KK hospital as my eldest need to go for her heart screening( she born with heart prob), notived motehrcare there also selling Thomas items leh..and the shop right beside Mothercare selling quite a lot of Thomas item as well, really cant resist....

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10777
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 7:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

So, sooooo what did you buy? :-) your girl's heart is ok, just need to check?

Post Number: 575
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 7:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

So, wat did you buy? :-)

So (mumof3kids)

Post Number: 30
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 10:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, Catz and Co11ectionz

my girl born with extra vein, but the aorta that pumping the blood to the heart had route the other way round before pump the blood, so, it caused her heart beat is much slower than others, she also has a small hole on her heart when she born, but according to doctor, it's healed. due to her, we had spent all our saving, hospital bill for her & me when i gave birth her is nearly 14K!!! killing!!

hm...i bought fork & spoon at $3.95, cap at $14.95, it's expensive i think, but my boy like it..my pity boy always been neglected, so, it's a compensation to him lor....

Lin (giftfromgod)
Username: giftfromgod

Post Number: 3320
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 12:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Co11ectionz

I've been to fidgets. The food they serve are just finger food like sandwiches and cakes, don't expect main meals. The playarea is much much bigger than Globetrotters. :-)

Teng, I finally saw those machines u were telling me abt and i put in $2 coins w/o checking if there were anymore capusules and turned the dial. Later I realised no more capsules inside! aiyoh so pai seh! :P

Tell u all a funny incident....
I was at Toys r us with my boy today when i overheard a daddy and son conversation that went like this:

Son: Thomas! (Pointing to Thomas toys)
Dad: Who is that?
Son: (Points to box with Thomas toys)
Dad: It's not Thomas lah, It's TOMY (referring to the brand)
Son: Thomas!
Dad: T-O-M-Y (pointing to the letters). It's TOMY not Thomas. Say TOMY......TOMY.....
SOn: (Walks away)

LOL....i was trying hard to contain my giggles...kekekeke :P

Lin (giftfromgod)
Username: giftfromgod

Post Number: 3321
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 12:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi So (mumof3kids), good to hear tt yr girl's heart is ok. being parents, what matters is that our kids are healthy and happy. must be tough to go through making sure your girl is alright. *pat on yr back*

when u say yr boy is neglected, its because of his jie jie's condition?

Post Number: 576
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 9:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lin, thats really funny. That boy must have given up convincing his dad that he just walked away. Ha ha ha

For the capsules, it happened to me too! If you call the tel # on the machine and tell them, they will refund to u, via cheque.

Post Number: 4132
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 1:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lin - The boy's reaction is funny...but kinda of sound sad too..I do know of some fathers who werent as engaged...

Saw this thomas humidifier cum night light at drugstore, thought of buying it.. but read the bad comments and I stopped myself from buying.

I have not seen the capsule before.. where can i find them?

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10780
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 3:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lin, sometimes hubbies can be so blur :-)

PM, so true.. think a lot of dads are very disengaged from their kids. you see them at paediatrician's waiting rm, reading newspaper, ignoring their kids. dun care their kids running, climbing, acting like monkeys :p

So, actually I find my #2 is also neglected but it must be tougher for your boy 'cos your girl's condition prob needs a lot of follow-up attention.

So (mumof3kids)

Post Number: 31
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 9:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi, thanks for concern on my eldest condition, yup..her condition need more attention, and we always worrying as she is really too weak, she having minor asthma and easily get lung infection, admitted twice due to pneumonia and bronchitis...every month, must keep some money for her to see specialist...recently, she seems a bit better, maybe, i am not working...

my boy always been neglected due to elder sister's health condition, also, as he cant speak well, cant express himself, always running, jumping,screaming...etc..do all the things that ppl dun like...so, i m the only one who care of him..i do my very best to convince my hubby that he is actually a good boy, but just too playful, after all, he is a boy, boys are like that, now, hubby treat him better, else always get beaten..pity boy..
hubby's family also nvr buy him anything, but as for eldest, always go shopping with them, buy expensive toys, like Baby Alive,Barbie dolls,..expensive clothing....etc..but, when come to my boy, they always say, kids easily grow up, no need to buy good one!!! unfair...

then baby girl, baby wah..sure gets more attention lor..moreover she is still on breastfeeding..

my pity boy lah..sometimes even myself..dare to beat him when he missed behave, but just don;t dare to beat my eldest, as she really too weak lah..

i dunno how to educate her leh...anyone can help??she is really bad attitute lor...

So (mumof3kids)

Post Number: 32
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 9:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

as for the capsule, i saw Toysrus at Vivocity have few, all full full one...KK hospital also have, but all empty liao..

Post Number: 4133
Posted on Friday, October 24, 2008 - 7:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

So, your boy sounds like my boy in terms of behaviour and Unfair treatment from grandparents. But at least yr ger is still yr child, so still can console yrself that they are still good grandparents. Hahaha.

How old is yr boy. I tend to agree, boys are boys, their behaviour in general is always more rowdy than girls. My boy also jump and jump run and run, cannot be controlled as a result got lots of scars and stiches on his head. I also lay my hands on my boy when I cant stand his rowdy behaviour, more often than not is those stares from others that makes me feel pressured.

Who is bad attitudE?

So (mumof3kids)

Post Number: 35
Posted on Friday, October 24, 2008 - 10:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Poor Mummy,
my boy is 29 mths old already, he is really too playful, but he is more attach to me, eldest (girl) is more attach to grandpa, as he always fight for her, even that she is wrong...thus, she had become very mischiveous, whenever we are out, she must fing something to buy, esle, she will cry and throw tantrum, i insist not to buy, as i don't want my girl think that she can get her way once she angry and cry, but FIL always buy for her...when she and brother fighting, FIL always say brother is the one who start to fight, so, she is the angel, the boy is the evil...but, what i noticed is the boy will not have plot to hurt his sister, will not tell lie...but my girl will think the way to beat her brother back if the brother beat her, and she will protect herself by saying brother is the one who start, exactly learn from FIL and SIL. SIL always brought her out, only 2 of them, then SIL always give her prohibited food,eg. lots of sweets, frech fries,oily and deep fried items, then SIL will tell my girl not to tell me, really too much, teach my girl to cheat me leh...luckily, my girl still too young to cheat me, so, i must monitor her before she been poluted by them, but I really dunno how....this girl also very lazy, nvr want to study, going to school is like going to prison,everything she wants to be the first, else, she will cry and get angry...everytime, the whole family have to give her way to be first,...i dun think it's healthy, but just out of idea on how to educate her, she is 4.5 yrs old, should be able to understand what is good and what is not...she also don't want to do her own thing, eg. put on her dress,socks ,shoes,....don't want to eat herself( someone must hold her food and feed her)as FIL always wanted to do for her, then if he is busy or doing other thing, he must get me to do, i say must let her learn, he will complaint to SIL that I nvr take care my girl..faintz!!!
then when my girl angry to him or SIL, then they start to blame me for not teach my girl properly, crazy!! they are the one who spoilted her, and give me headache!!

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10784
Posted on Friday, October 24, 2008 - 8:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

So, wa not easy when your girl has heart problem... but I think you're right - you gotta discipline. If not hitting, then try putting her on the naughty stool for time-out if she misbehaves? Only take her off when she calms down and is ready to say sorry... at least you don't hit her lor. FIL so soft-hearted hey? :p

So (mumof3kids)

Post Number: 43
Posted on Saturday, October 25, 2008 - 3:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

true lor...must discipline, but need lots of support and back up which i am lack of currently....sigh!!!

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10789
Posted on Saturday, October 25, 2008 - 3:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

So, yes it's hard. when I first started sleeptraining my son using the cold turkey method, my mother was so angry with me. But nothing to say when she saw the results for herself. But still, when I discipline the kids in front of my parents, wah biang, they not happy but they know better than to interfere.PILs different la... not your own parents, how to explain?

Post Number: 582
Posted on Saturday, October 25, 2008 - 6:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am looking for the Take Along Thomas & Friends - Travel Case. Seems to have disappeared from the toy stores!!

Anyone seen it around lately?
dc

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10791
Posted on Saturday, October 25, 2008 - 8:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Saw some at Robinsons a couple of weeks back lei... Try Taka?

Anybody wanna order tutu for their darling daughters? Kindly email me quickly foo.catherine@gmail.com. Etsy site:
http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=5900857&order=&section_id=&page=1

So (mumof3kids)

Post Number: 44
Posted on Saturday, October 25, 2008 - 10:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

co11ectionz,
i saw this at OG Albert Park, think shd be last mth or early of this mth, maybe u can try to pay a trip there, at toy's dept.

Catz,
i am really tired and sometimes, thinking of give up and hide myself away from all these, i don't want this type of life!! too stressful and helpless!!!

Post Number: 591
Posted on Tuesday, October 28, 2008 - 12:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

THomas toothbrush - I saw the electric version at KinderHomme at United Square.

Mashy, I went to Daiso yesterday. They dont have train couplings. Sorry... Hope you've not made a trip down yet.

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10798
Posted on Tuesday, October 28, 2008 - 1:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

So, can imagine.. sorry you are SAHM or FTWM? If SAHM, living in your own house (like me) then not so bad.. can just do your own things.

co11ectionz, wah must be expensive if it's electric!

Post Number: 592
Posted on Tuesday, October 28, 2008 - 1:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i cant recall the price. :-)
Tomorrow I go take a look again.

I was at Toys r Us yesterday... the Thomas take along sets all very expensive and seems quite filmsy. I wanted to buy the Tidmouth shed and the doors were all hald hanging around. Hmmm... anyone has experience on the take along sets to share before I spend my $ on them? ha ha ha

My boy is asking for ROcky... and its so expensive too! *GOSH*

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10799
Posted on Tuesday, October 28, 2008 - 1:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

co11ectionz, I have Takealong set - Rescue station, Great race and the mining one.. everything OK leh.. still intact :-)

What's Rocky?

jessel (jessel)
Username: jessel

Post Number: 812
Posted on Tuesday, October 28, 2008 - 4:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wow, you all have sooo many collections...those all thomas toys? im also thinking what to buy for my boy this christmas, he will be 16M by then...im thinking of thomas toys and clothings...but then i was thinking that most of the toys are die cast, and afraid that it may hurt him.

Post Number: 593
Posted on Tuesday, October 28, 2008 - 4:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Rocky is the one who comes along to pull the trains back on track. (similar to harvey, but longer)

Here's the actual description:
Rocky is a very strong crane who can pick up other engines, but is also a gentle giant who wants to be everyone's best friend. He can do all the big jobs that Harvey can't… like lifting derailed engines back onto the tracks. Rocky has no engine and relies on other engines to pull him to where he is needed.

http://www.myfavoritetoys.com/character_detail.php?who=rocky

So (mumof3kids)

Post Number: 51
Posted on Tuesday, October 28, 2008 - 10:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

catz, I am SAHM, the house is not belongs to me, but under my hubby & in law's name, this house is here for abt 10yrs liao, so, they treat me like outsider, and i dun like this house as well, as no space for me, i just like a tenant who have a small room( not master bed room), with 3 kids thing, 3 kids....etc..in law alone in master bed room, brother in law who own a condo, left all his old belongings here...MIl who passed away left all her thing here, SIl who married 9 yrs ago left all her things here....FIL dun allow me to touch ( MIL's thing), and nvr ask them ( SIL and BIL)to take their thing to their own house, so, can u guys amagine how my life is?? how tough to keep my house tidy and clean?? impossible!!!

Post Number: 4134
Posted on Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 9:22 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

co11ection - The take along set is useful when u need to go to friend's/relative's place. During CNY I just bring along and that kept my boy entertained. Of coz..lots of fighting abt cousins too. Sigh. The diecast wont hurt the boys, but will hurt yr furniture. My son always likes to play crashing with them. Faintz. It is also easier to pack,unliek those blue tracks, need to find storage location for the tracks. Take along just put the tracks inside and close up. I have the knaford station, the doors closed up well and wont hang.

I saw the tote in ToyRus sometimes back. U can try to buy online too. Retail selling $29.90, but i heard if u buy online after shipping coz less than that.

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8080
Posted on Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 10:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

co11ectionz

It's ok, i went to Daiso already. Going HK in Dec, hopefully can find. We tried contacting Sheng Tai but no reply from them. :-(

I think i saw the travel case at Toys R us Vivocity a few weeks back. Remembered talking to my hb abt it and how the one in Japan included the trains.

Post Number: 598
Posted on Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 12:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I was at Vivo over the weekend and Toy r us dont have the travel case :-(

Thanks for the info though.

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8081
Posted on Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 1:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

co11ectionz

oh, maybe it's sold out... If i see any ard, will let u know.

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10805
Posted on Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 1:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

So - wah like that not easy. Actually I could be in your situation, had my PIL not fallen out with my hubby.. 'cos they were in the Q for SK flat. Same block as my BIL/SIL and my SIL's family too. Luckily never happened :p Not easy for you unless your hb helps you to do all the 'thick skin' things like asking everyone to remove their junk!

mashy, wah the tote with the trains must cost a bomb!

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8082
Posted on Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 1:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Catz

Can't remember how much it cost but it was alright lah. But that time my boy was still young and not really appreciative of the trains yet, so we didn't buy. Now really regret. They've lots of THomas & Tomy trains which aren't available here.

Next time go there going to buy lots and buy all the spare parts.

So- Hahah, i was also nearly in that situation. Except that hse was under my dad & my name. SO when I got married, I sold the place and bought a new one with my hb and my dad stayed with us. My bro also left all his things in the hse after he got married. It was only coz we shifted that he took whatever he wanted and we threw whatever that was left. Your ILs all very 'bu zi dong', should at least let u have the master bedroom. And with 3 kids, it's so squeezy. Maybe your hb should consider selling it and buying a new one. Then your IL come and stay with you. And u can do just what i did. Give the ultimatum to the siblings.

Post Number: 599
Posted on Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 9:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Update : Thomas electric toothbrush is around $23++

Post Number: 605
Posted on Thursday, October 30, 2008 - 12:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mummies, any of you have Thomas train napkins and paper plates to sell or spare me first?

My items from the spree is not here yet and I m having a party tomorrow and over the weekend.

Am willing to buy or exchange, if need be. Anyone? My items will arrive next week :-(

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10810
Posted on Thursday, October 30, 2008 - 12:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

co11ectionz, sorry leh, I don't have any Thomas party stuff now as I will only be buying in Dec. :-( How about Toys R Us? I remember I bought some a loooong time ago for my son's first birthday.

Post Number: 607
Posted on Thursday, October 30, 2008 - 2:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

TRU dont have lei... :-(

You interested to take over my paper plates and napkins? No obligations.

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8086
Posted on Thursday, October 30, 2008 - 3:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Finally found the couplings in a Japan website. Anyone knows besides VPost, which one can ship from Japan? TIA

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8087
Posted on Thursday, October 30, 2008 - 3:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Has anyone seen the Imaginarium Train Table lately? I've seen it before in Toys R Us but it's gone already. :-(

It's a huge table that comes with wooden tracks and trains.

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10818
Posted on Thursday, October 30, 2008 - 3:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy, think you're stuck with vpost unless the merchant ships internationally via EMS like Jshoppers.

Imaginarium train table - nahhh, they used to be at all ELCs but then 2 years back, ELC stopped bringing in the wooden sets. You wanna buy?! :-) :-) :-)

co11ectionz, have decided to go for a Little Einsteins theme party.. then no need to headache over 2 weird themes clashing...hehe.. I'm sure you'll find some takers for your plates and napkins here. How come the spree stuff was so late?

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8088
Posted on Thursday, October 30, 2008 - 3:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

catz

yah, wanna buy, but can't find it anywhere...

Catz (catz)

Post Number: 10822
Posted on Thursday, October 30, 2008 - 3:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Think it didn't sell very well. I remember there was one at Paragon which my son loved for the longest time.. it was about $1K? Then it went on sale for $700 and somebody bought it. Sad day for my son...heh.

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8090
Posted on Thursday, October 30, 2008 - 3:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Catz

The Imaginarium one at toys r us was selling for $200+ i think. Comes with tracks and trains. Didn't get it then coz my boy was too young to play with it. Now really regret coz they've discontinued it. I wonder if HK will sell... Hmmm.... TOys R Us US is still selling it though.

Post Number: 610
Posted on Thursday, October 30, 2008 - 3:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy, I think i saw it at Forum's ELC a few months back. Maybe you can call them to check?

Post Number: 611
Posted on Thursday, October 30, 2008 - 4:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Catz, I ordered 1 month back... until today still in mid air. Sigh....

I joined tknotts's partyzone spree. It took partyzone nearly 3 weeks to ship out. And Vpost takes 5-7 days! *Gasp* V post so expensive and takes so long. BDL takes only 3 days to arrive SGP. Anyway, no choice la... sigh... bad move.

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use