Search Last 3 | 12 | 24 | 72 Hours Search Search Tree View Tree View  

A Singapore Motherhood Portal for the Singapore Parents * Matters Of The Heart * Help ~ Upstair residenter always smoking at the balcony < Previous Next >

sukiyi2006 (sukiyi2006)
Username: sukiyi2006

Post Number: 67
Posted on Monday, August 18, 2008 - 6:02 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I think just 1 floor higher than us that residenter always smoke at the balcony. Many ash fallen to my house (balcony side). All my clothes dry by the sun at balcony get dirty liao... Can I just press their door bell ask them not to smoke there? My baby's clothes all get dirty, how? My MIL want to use one of the common room to dry those clothes there, but my maid coming in soon. This is not the way to solve the problem. Or can we let the CC ppl know about this?

Yan Wai Mun Ivy (ms_yan)
Username: ms_yan

Post Number: 21
Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 - 8:36 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Same as me, but I do not know they are from which floor.I let my kids eat in the balcony and sometimes I saw alot of ashes on their table. Very fed up, but no choice, need to close the window most of the time.

sukiyi2006 (sukiyi2006)

Post Number: 72
Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 - 9:22 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Can't close the window all the time, no wind coming in. Living room will be very hot... some more clothes need the sunlight. really sianz.. for this problem.

Shirley (psme78)
Username: psme78

Post Number: 91
Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 - 10:44 am:   Edit Post Print Post

I had this problem b4. Every morning my kitchen window area will have alot of ash fallen in. I am confirmed it is someone upstair smoking but cannot confirm which floor. I called town council pple and they went upstair to ask. My upstair and the above all claims they dun hv anyone who smoke. So town council just tell them not to do it cos got pple complain. Nowadays less liao and i try to remember to close the kitchen window every nite.

sukiyi2006 (sukiyi2006)

Post Number: 75
Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 - 10:54 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Hi shirley,

Then upstair ppl know you're the one who complaint to Town council lor? My husband really like "mouse", he everything said never mind, don't let me complaint to town council. He said if not all the neighbour don't like us after know it.

Jae Chong (s7870127g)
Username: s7870127g

Post Number: 41
Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 - 11:40 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Complain to town council not much use leh unless u know exactly who and which floor did that...

sukiyi2006 (sukiyi2006)

Post Number: 78
Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 - 11:57 am:   Edit Post Print Post

atleast try to do something lor.. can't just leave it like that. I think most probably is upstair ppl lah... can't be very high floor from us still can drop to my balcony. Town council is the only one can help. call police mer.. cannot be lah...

Super77 (super77)
Username: super77

Post Number: 24
Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 - 1:12 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

The only we did was keep complaining... We used to stay in the 2nd last floor. Our inconsiderate neighbour's kids (3 boys) from upstairs kept throwing stuff down such as chicken rice's chilli, sauce, seeds from fruits... They think it's funny! How incorrigible! My mom, sis, bro-in-law and I kept going up to complain. Their mother kept saying it's not them, we showed her the proof and the best is if it's not them, then who? Ghost? After a few months, they kind of stop the nuisance. Some things need to insist on...

My husband's case even more fantastic. He used to keep 2 cats but his irritating neighbour's maid from upstairs kept throwing food to his balcony to feed his cats until one of them jumped to catch the food she threw and eventually plunged to it's death. Poor cat! His landlord immediately shot their neighbour a lawyer's letter and everything stopped.

sukiyi2006 (sukiyi2006)

Post Number: 80
Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 - 4:05 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

your family really super le... but my hb & mil wont do that lor.. only me 1 person. I'll try to paste a note on their door lor.

Super77 (super77)
Username: super77

Post Number: 27
Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 - 4:13 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Even if you keep nagging at them, they also won't help? For this, my mother is the best!

sukiyi2006 (sukiyi2006)

Post Number: 81
Posted on Tuesday, August 19, 2008 - 4:49 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

ha.. ha.. scare if i face to those fierce aunty or uncle then siao liao!

sunflower (ximi)
Username: ximi

Post Number: 172
Posted on Wednesday, August 20, 2008 - 3:02 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Actually I have similar incident which happen to my neighbour. Her neighbour who stay above her like to smoke by the window and throw the ashes, sometime even worse, throw the cigarette butt which is still lighted. Imagine if no one at home, the consequences will be disastrous

She complains to the town council and she meet up with the MP too, all these stop for a while and continue again.

And guess what, the house above her was on fire recently, not sure if due to cigarette butt as some people can actually fall asleep while smoking.

I have neighbour who like to throw newspapers.

sukiyi2006 (sukiyi2006)

Post Number: 92
Posted on Wednesday, August 20, 2008 - 6:21 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

have this kind of inconsiderate neighbour really " dao mei".

sunflower (ximi)

Post Number: 173
Posted on Friday, August 22, 2008 - 4:33 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

my next door neighbour denied sweeping ashes over at our doorstep, and blame it on another neighbour who lived almost 3 doors away from us when we confront them. We have ashes all over our front door. Sigh, really dislike my next door neighbour.

sukiyi2006 (sukiyi2006)

Post Number: 108
Posted on Friday, August 22, 2008 - 6:04 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

complain to town council even meet up MP also can't solve the problem. really difficult to solve.... what can we do..!!!

Velerie Yeong (bleahz)
Username: bleahz

Post Number: 7
Posted on Saturday, September 06, 2008 - 10:29 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

just write some note paste at the lift asking the person not to do it or else action would be taken.

try. it may work =)

if dun work than complain. dun say nv warn.

lemontree (superlemon)
Username: superlemon

Post Number: 370
Posted on Sunday, September 07, 2008 - 3:30 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I also have such a neighbour. Sometimes, I can get the cigarette smell too, but I don't know which unit. In the morning, my balcony will be very dirty with ashes, and there was once, with green phlegm!! So yucky right?

fatherof1 (fatherof1)
Username: fatherof1

Post Number: 65
Posted on Tuesday, September 09, 2008 - 6:33 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

How terrible. How inconsiderate.

I got the solution. relocate to top floor. Then you only need to worry about the pigeon poo.

Tan Leng Leng (tanlengleng)
Username: tanlengleng

Post Number: 12718
Posted on Wednesday, September 10, 2008 - 1:58 am:   Edit Post Print Post

I stay on top floor... :-)

fatherof1 (fatherof1)
Username: fatherof1

Post Number: 70
Posted on Wednesday, September 10, 2008 - 1:36 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi Ms Tan,

So you busy cleaning pigeon crap?

This thread reminds me of a real story that occured to me when i first moved to singapore. I was staying in HDB 3 room flat and one day i heard a knock on the door. When I answered it's a singaporean lady. But english not so good, and I don't speak mandarin. So I had no idea what she want. She then just went into the apartment and went to kitchen. It turns out she hanging laundry and one of her underwear dropped onto my window sill. I understand once she took back. For a second there I thought i was going to experience a male fantasy of strange lady comes to your doorstep and get kinky. ha ha. But the reality was much less dramatic.

Tan Leng Leng (tanlengleng)
Username: tanlengleng

Post Number: 12736
Posted on Thursday, September 11, 2008 - 2:25 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Nope, no pigeon poo... :-)

zaza (pooh_baby)
Username: pooh_baby

Post Number: 11
Posted on Friday, September 19, 2008 - 11:03 am:   Edit Post Print Post

I'm also having this problem now... Discuss wiv hubby and agreed to monitor the situation till end of the week.... by next week if did not stop then hubby would went up to talk nicely... If talk nicely still does not work then may have to resort to town council which I doubt will be working ....

Another problem which I am facing is an irresponsible neighbour who likes to hang wet laundry outside and the water falling like rain ... the part which makes me angry is my laundry is almost dry n end up became wet again because of the above neighbours ... the amazing thing is everytime we knock on their door, noone answered even though we could hear music and ect from inside .....

DarlingYouLoveMe (darlinglove_me)
Username: darlinglove_me

Post Number: 1
Posted on Saturday, September 20, 2008 - 1:02 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

sharing my experience
1) double confirmed that the ashes come from your above floor.
2) If is a Malay family, go make a visit during Hari Raya.
3) Get them a gift and wish them Happy New Year.
4) Get to know them and slowly explain your problem.

It work for me.
I used to feedback (complain la) to T/C , HDB / AVA / NEA / SPF about noise pollution and all the agencies people came and talk to me and even talk to above party too. (they know who complained)
But now thing are fine and I even help carry the grandpa bicycle up to his floor before.

Anybody here get sick of the morning "air horn" noise make by those Kurang Guni man ?
Now a day many PRC guy and after months of feedback it finally work.
(still a handfull during weekend but they start late around 10.30am " previous was 9am siao) time

carnellin (carnellin)
Username: carnellin

Post Number: 1078
Posted on Tuesday, September 23, 2008 - 5:21 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

wow, i didnt realize many mom experience the same with me, my neighbors form above smoke, and then some one smoke on emergency stairs right in front of my kitchen window, my whole house filled with smoke...dont know where to complain so i just yell NO SMOKING!!! really tired leh.

now already moved, my above neighbor like to litter.. i found out who they are, bring evidence and knock on their door.. so fat they never repeat again... :-(

why some people being inconsiderate... is there a number we can call, nowadays found so many people smoking in every mrt st, bus st :-(

sometime i missed 'fine' singapore...

ErgoProxy (ergoproxy)
Username: ergoproxy

Post Number: 2
Posted on Thursday, September 25, 2008 - 12:45 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Talk about inconsiderate neighbours..

I'm staying on the 2nd floor and I have noticed that my 'corner' neighbour had been getting rid of their garbage by throwing their trash bag out of their kitchen window straight down to the dumpster below. This happens almost every night and usually around midnight, i suppose when no one is around. Initially, i thought someone had jumped down from above! duh.. Its getting on my nerve as it can be quite alarming to hear loud broken glasses in the middle of the nite. If I complaint to TC, I wonder if this can be classified as 'killer litter'...or trash

atinarin (atinarin)
Username: atinarin

Post Number: 2331
Posted on Saturday, September 27, 2008 - 10:14 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

my neighbours also smoke, no balconies for us butthe smell drifts in, as ifsomeone in my home issmoking...

on top of that, they pple upstairs dont wring their clothes before hanging out, they are heavy footed and make alot of noise with their punding feet as well as constant reno that they seem to do...alot of knocking and stuff...

the other night i was so pissed, i opened my window, stuck my head out and shouted: "Oi! Tiam ah!"

all awas quiet after that...whendealingwith barbaric behaviour, nice talk dont work

leafforme (leafforme)
Username: leafforme

Posted on Tuesday, September 30, 2008 - 3:12 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

I've experienced neighbours upstairs throwing FOOD down the kitchen window. Can you imagine my painstakingly washed clothes all soiled and have to re-wash again? I was soooo pissed and immediately went up to tell the parents (coz i suspect its the kids doing it).

For a period of time, it stopped. But now, as and when there will be some phelgm or something. Dun think its the same household that do it. Staying in high rise buildings ahh...we have to tolerate these kinda behaviours one. Best is to stay landed. Then the only "thing" to look out is the BIRDS....Haha

Mrs Low (lowmrs)
Username: lowmrs

Post Number: 7
Posted on Wednesday, October 01, 2008 - 4:49 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

hi all...
mi too encounter pro wz neighbour upstairs. initially was aircon leaking and last sun i encountered... Not Ash but SPIT E WATER FROM BRUSHIN TEETH out of the kitchen window and best part, my on-the-way dried clothes kena!!! Urghh

cherrie (mycutey)
Username: mycutey

Post Number: 324
Posted on Monday, October 06, 2008 - 11:08 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Yeah atinarin is right, nice talk dun work! The aunty upstairs likes to wash her windows using the kind of old fashioned mop for mopping floors, all the water will rained down like heavy rain and spilled into my unit i dun close the windows. She even did that for the kitchen, meaning my clothes gonna be wet. And guess what she shouted to me when she heard me shouting at my hubby abt it. Dun "gua gua jiao", u should watch if i got wash the windows b4 u hanged out the laundy mah!!! Wah lau, I shouted at her u should watch b4 u washed the windows, how many times have u washed them in a hot sunny day, who are u, are u the flat owner? she slammed the window and went off

Joyce Lau (mrs_joyce_lim)
Username: mrs_joyce_lim

Posted on Saturday, October 11, 2008 - 10:41 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Me too have inconsiderate/problematic neighbour staying upstairs. Everyday without miss, there will be noises such as banging wall or dragging chairs which are absolutely annoying. This happens 24 hours a day, no matter morning, afternoon, evening, night or even midnight. Can someone advise what should I do about it? I tried knocking at their door but they just don't bother to greet me. My sister suggested to call the police. Is that a good idea?

carnellin (carnellin)
Username: carnellin

Post Number: 1086
Posted on Wednesday, October 15, 2008 - 5:12 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

joyce,
i dont think police would help, they prob say its only a household matter , best they can do only filed a report... that if they want to...

my above neighbor oso like to drag stuff, bang door, i wonder if the wall are too thin sometime when they quarrel we oso got to hear.

now they renovating, and my bathroom wall cracked because of them... drilling and hammering.. dont know what to do :-(

atinarin (atinarin)

Post Number: 2563
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 7:46 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

wah this is really too much, i dont know which unit has a super noisy air con compressor!

ITs so LOUD and the wall vibrates!

I cant go around asking, thought of putting notes into their letter boxes but i dont write Mandarin.

Angelmum (btbatok)
Username: btbatok

Post Number: 550
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 8:32 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

Really unlucky to get these kind of neighbours.

I hate ppl purposely puff out smoke at my corridor, the smell gets in fm the windows .... smelt horrible.

As for air-con, my neighbour's aircon dripping water so when water hit on my aircon, the dak dak sound so loud in the night. Lucky aft tolerate some mths they changed new air-con.

Sometimes worry if complain, the neighbours get angry and will do even more. Wanted to paste posters at my window "DONT puff at my windows" .... no guts :-(

hoopsterdavid (hoopsterdavid)
Username: hoopsterdavid

Post Number: 21
Posted on Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 7:44 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

i think you can politely go to the few floors above you and explain the problem to them. your neighbour may not admit to it. paisay ma. so you may never know who is the culprit. if the problem persists, you have to get the council involved.

my husband went knocking on my few neighbour's doors to stop this major banging music. it's so loud, my walls shook. it has stopped since. we still dunno exactly which neighbour. haha...

sunflower (ximi)

Post Number: 211
Posted on Thursday, November 06, 2008 - 9:59 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Not sure if anyone has the same problem as me.

I have been staying at my current flat for nearly 5 years. lately i realise that there is alot of noise at the pipe. I thought it is my pipe having problem and ask town council to check. The noise actually affected the whole block of the building. And it seem that the problem is not from our flat, it is my neighbour's tap having problem and we wont know which neighbour, as there are some neigbhour dont mind their whole house full of siren whenever they turn on the tap. So even if town council know which flat is the problematic, they cant do anything too if they dont change the tap. Sigh it seem there is little that the town council can do.

tingting (tingting)
Username: tingting

Post Number: 3342
Posted on Thursday, November 06, 2008 - 11:18 am:   Edit Post Print Post

just adding my share of neighbour encounters.. my lower floor neighbour likes to smoke at his window, and bcos the window faces an enclosed area, the smoke actually floats upwards to my unit, which aggrevates my sinus problem.

Their aircon condenser was also loud n cranky.. i was often woken up in the middle of the night thinking how come there are heavy vehicles moving around at this time!

Zolldoll (zolldoll)
Username: zolldoll

Post Number: 1214
Posted on Thursday, November 20, 2008 - 2:03 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

You can get inform the town council and they will take action by putting flyers on the blocks and to find your neighbours. A friend of mine cant take it too with the same incident and complained.

Misa (closetdoor)
Username: closetdoor

Post Number: 711
Posted on Thursday, November 20, 2008 - 4:05 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

When I smelt cigratte smoke in my kitchen, I will talk loudly: "Who is smoking outside again?" then my neighbour will walk to another place. :p hahaha

I dunno upstairs or downstairs lah, I just comment loudly.

Zolldoll (zolldoll)

Post Number: 1225
Posted on Thursday, November 20, 2008 - 4:34 pm:   Edit Post Print Post

My neighbour is worst. He smokes outside my place which is a small area shared by both families. I do not mind him doing that, but what i hate most is he throws the butts at my area near my potted plants or my doorsteps at times. I do not confront him to make things worst but i really hate this.

Misa (closetdoor)
Username: closetdoor

Post Number: 724
Posted on Monday, November 24, 2008 - 8:43 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Zolldoll,
Wow that is inconsiderate. Short of pooping and throwing toilet paper at people's door.
U still got a kid, what if he pick up the butts and play w them...

When u r outside w your kid and u see the neighbor, u "act" to tell your kids, "Please don't pick up the cigratte butts, they are litter." Then see what happens... HEadache neighbour.

Zolldoll (zolldoll)

Post Number: 1301
Posted on Tuesday, November 25, 2008 - 10:04 am:   Edit Post Print Post

Ya lor. Already they play mahjong every night already and i am quite unhappy about it, and they litter round my area. I do not wish to kick up a fuss la, but hopefully me being quiet will make them guilty and make them wake up. Now i still smile and make small talk with them though.

tinarin (atinarin)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5180
Posted on Wednesday, September 09, 2009 - 2:02 am:   Edit Post Print Post

I think the TownCOuncils are totally hopeless.
called about the loud airconcompressor and they said its not under them. Call HDB.

Stupid.

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Last 72 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use