SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2011 Mums * (2011/10) Oct 2011 < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
Archiveforever8114102 143 2-10-12  1:32 pm
Archive through February 23, 2012leeoh100 2-23-12  6:39 am
Archive through March 10, 2012leeoh (leeoh)100 3-10-12  11:03 am
Archive through March 24, 2012Winny (winny)100 3-24-12  10:39 pm
Archive through April 05, 2012zZz (sleepyzzz)100 4-05-12  5:21 pm
Archive through June 12, 2012Rabbitbaby (yc_mw)98 6-12-12  6:03 pm
Archive through September 18, 2012Zav's mummy (carrotz100 9-18-12  10:49 pm
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

Mumsykoh (mummykoh)
Username: mummykoh

Post Number: 15
Posted on Tuesday, September 18, 2012 - 11:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Zav's mummy,
How about have more frequent milk feeds but less each time? I breastfeed my bb but she has to take the bottle once or twice a day when I'm at work. I find she drinks less then so what my helper and I have resorted to is feed her more often. Also sometimes we give her rice water if she really rejects milk.

As for solids, I know a bb who LOVES her food but dislikes the spoon, so for a while she ate very little. Now her mommy gives her bread instead of rice cos that way she'll eat! Have the usual fish, veg etc..but she has them on bread, like an open-faced sandwich. Sometimes also need to entice her with biscuit etc to make her open her mouth, then quickly put the bread and stuff in :-)

Last time my son was a bit like that, and he survived on bread, biscuit and bananas for a while...everything else he rejected!

Zav's mummy (carrotz24)
Username: carrotz24

Post Number: 5
Posted on Wednesday, September 19, 2012 - 11:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I tried giving like 30-60ml of milk in between meals, but he also will reject.... Even b4 the bottle goes into his mouth, he will start kicking & crying loud... Haizzz... So I'm hoping to give more solids sinc he's rejecting milk dat much...

My boy does like bread though... Maybe I should just learn for u mummies, give him bread & biscuit with all the fish & veggies....

Elaine Lye (lyeelaine)
Username: lyeelaine

Post Number: 2
Posted on Thursday, September 20, 2012 - 4:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Zav's mummy,
I know some might say no cheese before one year old, but you can sneak cheese into some foods to up the calcium intake. My gal eats cheese sandwich and macaroni cheese and cheese melted in rice. Maybe your boy prefers to feed himself? My daughter seems more interested in food when she gets to feed herself.
Give more liquids from cup with straw? My daughter drank very little water from sippy cup and bottle. But once I introduced straw, she drank much more.

Zav's mummy (carrotz24)

Post Number: 6
Posted on Friday, September 21, 2012 - 10:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Elaine,

Wat brand & wat type of cheese is suitable for babies??

My boy will either play with the bottle or the spoon when I try to teach him to feed himself...
My boy does drink lots of water, he just hates milk...

Winny (winny)
Username: winny

Post Number: 1339
Posted on Sunday, September 23, 2012 - 9:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My bb doesn't drink much water too but she will sip from spoon.
How to train bb to drink from straw?

For food, I try to cook her porridge with soup (pork soup/vege soup) then before I feed I let her smell to try to whet her appetite.

Elaine Lye (lyeelaine)

Post Number: 4
Posted on Sunday, September 30, 2012 - 9:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Zav's mum: sorry for the late reply. I just lost my maid last week and house was tipsy-turvy till now.
I use Kraft Cheese - the normal sliced cheese from any super market? I just put the entire slice on her plate, and she feeds herself. She can easily finish one slice for supper.
I think as long as he is drinking sufficient liquids, should be good. Just try to sneak in calcium into his foods- like cheese and milk powder into oats.
For straw, I hold the cup and just put the straw into her mouth. Water must be filled 3/4 of the cup so she doesn't suck in air. Just keep trying during meal time. She'll figure out suddenly. :-)

Zav's mummy (carrotz24)

Post Number: 7
Posted on Sunday, September 30, 2012 - 10:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Elaine,

Thanx!!! I'll try giving him some cheese & see if he likes it.... Anyway, I'm giving him 2 cereal meals a day cooked with 170ml of milk each time so dat can cover some of his milk target for the day... And lucky he will finish up the cereal....

I have not started giving him the straw cup although I have the Pigeon Mag Mag cup... Guess its time I start him on the straw cup...,

So how r u coping without ur maid??? Who's taking care of ur gal now??

Elaine Lye (lyeelaine)

Post Number: 5
Posted on Monday, October 01, 2012 - 11:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Realized I've been too dependent on maid. Good thing that came out of it is I've learnt many short cut tips from friends to tide over. I now cook my daughter's porridge in a slow cooker (lunch and dinner same) and for breakfast it's instant cereals. Snack- a slice if cheese and biscuits. Bath reduced to once a day. :P
I'm SAHM so I look after her and my elder son by myself.
Let me know how he takes to cheese! :D easy to bring out as snack.

Zav's mummy (carrotz24)

Post Number: 8
Posted on Monday, October 01, 2012 - 2:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Haha, it's always the case when there's a maid, but when maid gone, we will be at a lost... But u will gradually get used to it...

I will give my boy lots of biscuits & bread as snacks... Lucky thing is he will eat... Realized that recently he can finished more solids than milk... So I just try to feed more cereals & porridge....

Just started giving him the straw cup today, obviously he doesn't like it... And now he's refusing to drink water even when I change back to using the sprout cup.... Haha... Guess I will need more time to train him on using the straw cup...

Mumsykoh (mummykoh)

Post Number: 22
Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2012 - 2:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Zav's mummy, how is your boy now? Eating more?

I just tried teaching my gal to use the Straw cup. at first she was quite blur, and didn't know how to close her mouth around the straw--mouth was open as if she's expecting a spout/bottle teat :p
Now ok and I'm so relieved. No more worrying if the spout leaks!

Zav's mummy (carrotz24)

Post Number: 9
Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2012 - 2:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi mummykoh,

My boy is eating more for cereal & porridge, but not for milk... At most he can only finished 150ml 2 times a day...

I think my boy knows how to suck fr the straw... Coz when I started giving the straw cup to him, I can see some water being sucked up the straw... But after a while he refused the straw cup, not sure if its so difficult to suck fr the Pigeon mag mag straw cup.
Wat brand r u using for the straw cup?? I think I read somewhere dat some mummies commented that its very difficult to suck fr the Pigeon mag mag cup. So I was wondering if I should change the cup...

Mumsykoh (mummykoh)

Post Number: 23
Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2012 - 3:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm using Pigeon mag mag! using it cos it was a freebie with some toy. Maybe you try using another bottle with a straw?

Elaine Lye (lyeelaine)

Post Number: 6
Posted on Wednesday, October 03, 2012 - 5:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Zav's mummy,

I just changed the drinking tool- without maid I find cleaning the straw a hassle. I changed to cup with spout that flows freely- the cheap kind. Brand less. She still chokes a bit but drinks much more because the flow is faster.

May I know if any of your babies have transitioned to one nap yet?

teardrops (teardrops)
Username: teardrops

Posted on Friday, October 05, 2012 - 7:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi oct mummies

my girl is born in oct 2011. can i join your Facebook group? please add me at urameshi27@hotmail.com

anyone planning to send your boy/girl to playgroup yet? any good recommendations? i stay in bukit panjang

meplaa (meplaa)
Username: meplaa

Post Number: 518
Posted on Monday, October 08, 2012 - 5:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

can share with me, where did you order cake for your bb 1st year bday party?

SunflowerNg (sunflowerng)
Username: sunflowerng

Post Number: 33
Posted on Tuesday, October 09, 2012 - 3:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Mummies :-)

My gal is also born in Oct'11.

Meplaa, I order my bb 1st n'day cake from Emicakes. It's nice plus I'm celebrating her b'day at Downtown East and there is a branch there for easy collection :-)

Winny (winny)

Post Number: 1349
Posted on Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 3:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mommies, I personally tried Mag Mag sippy cup and it's really not easy to suck. So I changed to Combi. Sigh.... But my bb refuses to drink from it.
I cAn only feed her from spoon.

For cake, I ordered from Pine Garden. The cake is so pretty!

Zav's mummy (carrotz24)

Post Number: 10
Posted on Thursday, October 11, 2012 - 9:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi mumsykoh,

My boy refused to drink fr the pigeon straw cup, so I guess I gotta find another straw cup for him to try...,

Hi Elaine,
My boy is using the Pigeon Mag Mag sprout cup... And he prefers this sprout cup rather then learn to use the straw cup...
My boy is taking only one nap now. Coz he wakes up late in e morning, so his nap time is late afternoon for abt 2-3hrs...

Nurul (sparklesnfa)
Username: sparklesnfa

Post Number: 41
Posted on Thursday, October 11, 2012 - 9:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My baby use avent straw cup. I find that it's quite easy to use as my baby figure out how to suck through straw only at first try.

Any babies walking yet?

SunflowerNg (sunflowerng)
Username: sunflowerng

Post Number: 36
Posted on Thursday, October 11, 2012 - 10:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Nurul,

My gal can walk with the support of the sofa.. lol

Any mummies can share with me ur bb meal plan now? Thanks

HSL (hsl)
Username: hsl

Post Number: 15
Posted on Thursday, October 11, 2012 - 8:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My boy can walk now but I got to follow him around in case he fell.

As for his meals, he has his midnight milk feed at 1 am. Milk at 7 am after he woke up. Has his porridge at 12 and milk again at 2 pm. Porridge for dinner at 6 pm and finally his milk at 8 pm.

meplaa (meplaa)

Post Number: 539
Posted on Friday, October 12, 2012 - 1:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dear mummies, thanks for your info.

btw, do u know where i can get a cake which suitable for bb 1st year?

My baby now can walk too.. but need something to support, like sofa, side table, coffee tabl,etc

Winny (winny)

Post Number: 1350
Posted on Friday, October 12, 2012 - 5:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mommies, my girl will walk a few steps without support now. She will practice walking in her playpen and she will fall and laugh. So funny.

My girls daily schedule:
8am milk
12.30 lunch
1.30 - 2 fruit
3.30 milk
6.30 dinner
11 milk
Sometimes 4-5 am she will still ask for milk

I really have no idea how to teach her to drink from straw. Any good tricks to share?

Elaine Lye (lyeelaine)

Post Number: 7
Posted on Friday, October 12, 2012 - 10:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My daughter also used the MagMag straw cup. It was very successful. Got my son to act out drinking in front of her in an exaggerated manner. I kept trying during meal times and one day she just got the water out and laughed. Then kept pratising at every meal. I changed to spout (without suction) only because it's easier to clean.

630am: Breastfeed
7am: cereals/ bread
930am: Breastfeed
12pm: lunch (porridge)
1pm: 4oz formula
3pm: cheese
5pm: dinner (porridge)
630pm: Breastfeed
7pm: sleep

Mumsykoh (mummykoh)

Post Number: 28
Posted on Monday, October 15, 2012 - 2:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hmm..my gal's daily schedule now:

6+am: breastfeed
(sometimes 8am also breastfeed)
930am: breakfast: cereal with fruit/bread with egg yolk etc
1030: nap (can be from half hr to 1.5hr)
1230pm: lunch: rice or pasta with soup, fish/meat, veg then fruit
330pm: 6oz formula
630pm: dinner, same as lunch
9+/10+: breastfeed
middle of night: breastfeed.

Sometimes if i'm home late she'll take 6-7oz formula, AND still breast feed when I return...will get super heavy diaper when she wakes up :p

novmummy (novmummy)
Username: novmummy

Post Number: 466
Posted on Monday, October 22, 2012 - 2:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi mummies, my boy can walk now but with support like sofa or tv rack.

I bought him Pigeon straw cup but he can't suck the water.. Hmmm after reading the review, maybe i should change to another brand straw cup for him to try...

My boy's feeding schedule,
6am - 8oz milk
10am - 6oz milk
1pm - lunch, usually fish porridge
4pm - 6oz milk
7pm - dinner, rice with soup
11pm - 8oz milk

rejoy28 (rejoy28)
Username: rejoy28

Post Number: 305
Posted on Monday, October 22, 2012 - 2:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi novmummy, i have bought the new Pigeon straw cup for my daughter and it is very difficult even for adult to suck the water, dun say the baby.

my mum bought the lucky baby for her and she really loves it....

Patricia Tan (pattymummy)
Username: pattymummy

Posted on Monday, October 22, 2012 - 5:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hey, any parents with babies out there? Want the safe and comfortable organic cloth diapers for your babies? Well, that was what I wanted for my baby and so I went on a search frenzy, hoping to find some good quality yet affordable organic cloth diapers.

And this leads me to my find!

I was just looking on the internet for any good deals and I came upon this website that are going to hold this wonderful 3-day “Buy-1-get-1-free” sale for their BabyKicks organic cloth diapers and baby products. There is also an additional 35% off other BabyKicks products as well as free surface shipping! The sale would be on from this Wednesday to Friday and they would be announcing the discount codes soon! Do look out for the the discount codes!

The website is zerzula.com and you can check
out http://www.facebook.com/pages/Zerzula/198654086883267 to find out more!

I’m so excited for this find! :-)

Patricia Tan (pattymummy)
Username: pattymummy

Post Number: 4
Posted on Tuesday, October 23, 2012 - 10:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hey! Pat here again! The deal I talked about just released their discount codes on their website - http://3w-grp.com/?p=344!

The codes are as follows:

“Buy-1-get-1-Free” discount code for Babykicks Diapers and Inserts: B1G1

35% off other Babykicks products: BBK35ALL

Free surface shipping: FSSAP

The sale starts tomorrow and ends Friday! I've been wanting to try cloth diapers for a while but always thought it was too daunting! But this sale was just the push to get me to try cloth diapers!

leeoh (leeoh)
Username: leeoh

Post Number: 313
Posted on Sunday, October 28, 2012 - 11:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi. My girl can walk independently for a short distance but not very confident yet.

I bought the Combi cup with the straw insert and it works great. Better than Mag Mag I feel which my elder one used last time. Looks nicer too :-)

I feel there is no need to really "teach" - I just let her play and bite the straw, then suddenly she sucked up some water and found it interesting. From then on, she start sucking with straws. Last time, my elder one was not too keen on water so I put in some soya bean milk in his cup and when he sucked the soy up, he had the incentive to try again. You can try with juice.

reef-reef (reefreef)
Username: reefreef

Post Number: 1
Posted on Wednesday, October 31, 2012 - 4:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello

My boy was born in Oct 2011.

Can i join the facebook group?

reef-reef (reefreef)
Username: reefreef

Posted on Wednesday, October 31, 2012 - 4:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My email is sharoneo@hotmail.com

Winny (winny)

Post Number: 1353
Posted on Wednesday, October 31, 2012 - 5:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi leeoh,
my bb doesn't even want the straw near her mouth. she wants to play with the cover only.

Can anyone add me in fb too?

angelfallz11@gmail.com

Love Everyday (loveeveryday)
Username: loveeveryday

Post Number: 68
Posted on Thursday, November 08, 2012 - 10:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Winny, reef-reef, I have send you a msg to your email. Do add me as a fb friend so that I can add you directly to the group.

Winny (winny)

Post Number: 1354
Posted on Sunday, November 11, 2012 - 11:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi! I didn't receive any email from you leh.

Nikki Li (bb_loh_mum)
Username: bb_loh_mum

Post Number: 1
Posted on Friday, November 16, 2012 - 2:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi I m a silent reader my bb born on 251011 can you add me to ur fb group too? Loh25@hotmail.sg

meplaa (meplaa)

Post Number: 606
Posted on Friday, November 23, 2012 - 12:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

any mummy has used 1st birthday candle & table cover? i want to buy.

kindly pm me. thanks

mama gene (mamagene)
Username: mamagene

Post Number: 189
Posted on Tuesday, January 15, 2013 - 5:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sorry to interrupt, just wanna share my joys here.

I have gain total 15kgs from 2 pregnancies since 4years ago.
Imagine I was carry these 10 over kgs with me for past 4 years, I don’t have confidence, don’t dare to take picture and seldom buy any new clothes…and always wear loose type.

Recently I took up a program, I lost 8kg within 3mths. My friend who recommend me to the program, she has lost 9kgs and her high cholesterol is drop to healthy level.
We hope can help people who want to imporve their own health or their family, parents' health from high blood pressure, high cholesterol and diabetes. And also people looking for weight management.

PM me if you want to know more. I can share more pictures and testimonials. Thanks.

Mumsykoh (mummykoh)

Post Number: 47
Posted on Thursday, February 28, 2013 - 10:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Is anyone enrolling the lil ones in pre -nursery next year? I checked a few places and found they only accept kids at least 2.5 years old..which means I can't register my gal this year. And by the time I can register her, places are mostly taken up and she'll be on waitlist!

Don't remember having the same problem with my son last year (he's also an Oct baby).

Am now wondering if I should just enrol my gal in Nursery in 2014 and let her play at home next year instead...

ShopperMummy (shoppermummy)
Username: shoppermummy

Post Number: 3
Posted on Thursday, March 07, 2013 - 3:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mummy koh, you should enrol your kids for playground (PG) instead of pre-nursey. try looking are for PG around your area.

Mumsykoh (mummykoh)

Post Number: 51
Posted on Saturday, March 09, 2013 - 2:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi Shopper Mummy,thanks for the suggestion. interestingly, my bb gal was playing in the playground near home when a staff fr one centtr spotted her. she asked my helper to tell me to enrol my gal there!

but I just checked it online..it's an infantcare full day programme. too much lah..I just want my gal to socialise and get helper some breathing space for a few hrs once or twice a week.

any mummies with gd playgroups to recommend? I am even considering forming one...lately I hear my helper getting q fiercwith my gal..though I know she IS cheeky and can beclingy and whiny..so thought maybe some hrs away from home might help us all!

rosyrabbit (rosyrabbit)
Username: rosyrabbit

Post Number: 40
Posted on Thursday, March 14, 2013 - 1:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi mummies I would like to join oct 11 mummies Facebook group.. How to go abt it? Pls pm me..

rosyrabbit (rosyrabbit)

Post Number: 41
Posted on Thursday, March 14, 2013 - 1:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Any mummies staying near Buangkok area! Would like to make friends as I'm a SAHM. The children can play nearby at playground near by! I ve a oct boy.

rosyrabbit (rosyrabbit)

Post Number: 42
Posted on Thursday, March 14, 2013 - 1:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mummy Koh I would like to join ur playgp if there's one! Which area? My boy loves to go out! Lots of energy

Mumsykoh (mummykoh)

Post Number: 52
Posted on Friday, March 15, 2013 - 8:55 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Rosyrabbit,
I haven't managed to find any playgroup nearby..all I have around me are childcare! Any pre-nursery classes available are for children at least 2 years old.

I'm at Serangoon, pm me? maybe we can meet up :-) My girl loves the playground too, will take her shoes to indicate her wish to go out every evening..Her highlight of the day now is waiting for her brother to come home from school. Will happily wait downstairs and greet children in uniform when they come home!

Lyra Ng (lyra)
Username: lyra

Post Number: 27
Posted on Friday, April 12, 2013 - 5:03 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Any Mummies placing their kids in Childcare or few hours playgroup? Any recommendations? Also, any recommendations for kids' dental?

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use