SingaporeMotherhood.com * Motherhood, Pregnancies And Babies * Agape Little Uni (Kallang) - Infant care * Archive through February 09, 2011 < Previous Next >

Superbee (superbee)
Username: superbee

Post Number: 1224
Posted on Thursday, September 02, 2010 - 6:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

leereiner
the email is dated this yr or last yr? hmm agape got membership?? i also havent met mrs neo... is she chinese or indian? saw a few new faces in agape lately but no idea who they are....

regarding mattress
u can try to find 2nd hand online and buy from those pple who decide to stop CC and go for normal kindergarten... and bedsheet need not be agape one... cos mine is a red color mattress and my cover is cute pink pictures kind... not the usual agape mattress and bedsheet ... :D

Leereiner (reiner)
Username: reiner

Post Number: 2682
Posted on Friday, September 03, 2010 - 8:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

the e-mail is dated 02 Sep hor...

wow!!! 3 hands up >>. no see mrs neo yah... she's chinese ya.

double check my gal's enrol receipt... GOT PAID THE MATTRESS...80bucks think me got a mix up w cr**tive one yah.... this cr**tive didnt ve to pay yo...

is there any notice given of fee increase for PG/N1, N2/K1/K2 kinda eh?

EiLiYa (s_l)
Username: s_l

Post Number: 507
Posted on Friday, September 03, 2010 - 9:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

If I'm not wrong, I saw a notice on the increase of infant fees but didn't see any notice for increase in N1 fees. I realised the increase from the monthly receipt. But I'm quite blur sometimes so maybe they did send...anyone received?

Ooh...you didn't pay for the mattress in CS!?! I paid leh... $50 for mattress $20 for 2 covers. That's why when we left, I asked for the mattress back ;P

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2684
Posted on Friday, September 03, 2010 - 10:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

when me enrolled my gal for PG, the rate is 850bucks (Sep/Oct Yr08, during their very 1st open hse) and the rate for PG/N1 are the same 850bucks. So are N2/K1/K2 leh 750bucks...

me didnt received any notice for fee up leh...

ya... recalled that paid 20bucks for the mattress cover... already "screamed" leh... keke...

can share the agape monthly fee receipt, PG/N1 or even N2 one eh? wanna verify the charges yah...

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Username: snowball32

Post Number: 936
Posted on Monday, September 06, 2010 - 11:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Leereiner,

My younger gal at PG also paying $500 ($900-$100(disc) - $300 subsidy) until end of the year - Due to $100 discounts (for 1yr) granted by OCBC Baby Bonus account. Maybe your SIL is under the promotion.

For my elder gal, she was enrolled in Sep 08, 1 month before the fee hike and standardisation of CC fees. Hence, I am paying $750 for N2 onwards (still under the old fee).

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2695
Posted on Monday, September 06, 2010 - 11:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Snowball,

nice to see you here yah... the baby bonus account? is it CDA? the one that govt match dollar by dollar one? if is this, then nope leh... my niece is not entitle to this scheme.

N2 - so can say after 300bucks govt sub, the fee is 450bucks? no other discount eh?

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 937
Posted on Monday, September 06, 2010 - 12:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Leereiner,

Hi, hi.....Yes, the CDA account opened with OCBC. If not, then maybe the CC got some other promotion tie-ups which your SIL is entitled to?

My N2 DD1 is paying $450 for CC fees. But, after adding fees for Art class/ English S & D, milk/ yalkut, we also end up paying almost $500(after $30 sibling discounts somemore).

I find that the mattress covers and uniforms are expensive.

Next week, my DDs' CC organising trip to Buttefly park, they charge each child $25 (transport/ entrance fee/ lunch). Plus, my MIL going along to jaggar my DD2, pay another $28. Paying almost $80 for this 1/2-day trip. Expensive hor?

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2696
Posted on Monday, September 06, 2010 - 2:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Snowball,

ay... how come different pricing yah? you can scroll up and see EiLiYa posting:-

EiLiYa (s_l)
Posted on Thursday, August 19, 2010 - 10:34 am:

Tomorrow we're going to Butterfly Park... Cost $18 per child and $20 per adult (without lunch). Thought it is kinda expensive too but I'm not sure what the admission price is and didn't bother to find out so just paid for it. Any parents going?

@ Kallang is 18bucks where as your side is 25bucks.... hmmmm

ya... everything is so ex from agape leh... every single thing they wanna earn a BIG share of it... so no matter how much govt sub, the monies still go to agape bah... poor parents become poorer lor... govt no help wah...

me is paying 450bucks for fee and S&D of 60bucks... so every month is 510bucks... NO ART CLASS leh... 30bucks sibling discount?? applicalbe to younger one only or for both eh?

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 938
Posted on Monday, September 06, 2010 - 4:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Leereiner,

I thot Agape standardise their CC fees from Oct last yr, except for One-North where their fees cost $100 more for all levels.

Huh? you mean the lunch cost $7 per person.....I wonder what lunch they provide. Ya lor, I find that Agape's outing/ excursion is very expensive. Last time went Marina Barrage (CC brought fried rice for lunch), each pax still paid more than $10.

Only my DD1 enjoy $30 sibling discount after I enrolled my DD2 for PG. I gotta pay $40 for her Art class.

Every month, more than $1k is paid to Agape (after subsidy). I agree with you, whatever additional subsidy Govt give, they will adjust their CC fees to sucked up the extras. We are not any better off in the end leh.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2700
Posted on Wednesday, September 08, 2010 - 10:40 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Snowball,

my #1 in N2 is going to animal resort on 16 Sep and gotta pay 16bucks yah... how about yours?

yah... so how come there's difference of pricing for excursion eh?

already clarify with mrs neo yah...

for my #1 - the fee is 900bucks (as you mentioned of price increased) but given 150bucks discount. so agape still honour the old price of 750bucks. With govt sub of 300bucks, we are paying 450bucks per month for the fee...

as for my #2, the fee is 900bucks. With govt sub of 300bucks, and "member" of (TMC -sorta of baby club and using ocbc cda to pay fee) then 100bucks rebate... so my boy fee will be 500bucks...

wanna confirm again the 30BUCKS SIBLING discount hor... so your DD1 has 30bucks off eh? not on your #2 right?

side track... is your DD1 @ yahama? how is it eh?

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 942
Posted on Wednesday, September 08, 2010 - 10:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Leereiner,

Yalor, I find their prices for excursion to same place different for different centres.

My DDs' centre did not organise to go Animal Resort leh.

My DD1 got $30 sibling discount. DD2 dun have.

Yamaha - My DD1 enjoyed her class very much. Music Wonderland has lotsa singing and listening. They only use the keyboard ocassionally. My DD1 going to progress to YJC (Yamaha Jnr Cse) next month. They will be using the keyboard more. Let her continue for 1yr first and see if she has the interest then we will invest in a proper piano for her.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2704
Posted on Wednesday, September 08, 2010 - 2:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Snowball,

thanks so much for confirmation of the 30bucks silbling rebate yah... gotta get them to check on this yah...

hmmmm.... which yamaha branch? YJC will be a new teacher yah? not e same teacher from the wonderland eh?

Superbee (superbee)

Post Number: 1241
Posted on Monday, September 13, 2010 - 1:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

any one going for the animal resort this week? :-)

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2712
Posted on Monday, September 13, 2010 - 4:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yah.. my gal lor... on 16 Sep yo

kiki80 (kiki80)
Username: kiki80

Post Number: 335
Posted on Monday, October 18, 2010 - 1:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

Replied to your email

eileen ang (eileen_ang)
Username: eileen_ang

Post Number: 385
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 7:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jus wanna share this:

My aunt who is babysitting my 1.5 yr old boy, helps to bring my elder boy to Agape daily. Last fri when she reached the ccc at abt 10am, she saw a playgroup little girl crying and there was this new teacher (I dunno who she meant) who became angry with the crying little girl and threw a sch bag very loudly besides the little girl. The little girl got a terrible shock and my aunt who witnessed the whole incident, scolded the teacher. She told her off saying that if she does not hv the patience, go find another job. Li Lao Shi came out cos the bang from the bag was really loud and she too agreed that the little girl was frightened.
Cos of this, i hv decided not to put my little boy in Agape anymore. At least my elder boy is able to tell me whatever happened in sch.
Btw, there are apparantly 2 very naughty boys in the K1, K2 group from Sengkang. 1 of the took a N1 boy's hands and swing him round and later released his hands. the N1 boy flew off and hit his head. This landed my older boy in shock as well and he refused to go to school.

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 513
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 9:46 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

OMG... how can the teacher be so impulsive?! This incident had a witness, how about the other incidents without witnesses? Gosh...this is unbelievable!

Eileen, did you see which N1 boy was bullied? Also, when did it happen? Usually they are not suppose to be in the same class unless during early morning or evening while waiting for parents. I am very disturbed with this sort of bullying in school. I think we need an explanation from the school in regard to this. I've seen rather mischevious-looking K1/2 boys around before and they always seem to be intimidating the younger ones. Gee...

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 387
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 10:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi EiliYa,

I dunno the name of the N1 boy but his parents were informed. The 2 very naughty K1/K2 boys are Brian and Jepthan.
This incident was brought up cos my boy refused to go to school. He complained that Tr li is very fierce. So i went to sch to find out.
Apparently the N1 tr had to go to the toilet so she asked tr li to help look after the class. i think tr li combined the classes in order to look after both groups of children. and when she saw the incident, she screamed very loudly and my boy was scard cos of this.

Superbee (superbee)

Post Number: 1261
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 10:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

eileen
the PG class has a new english teacher cos teacher angelene has transfered to another branch. but that new teacher doesnt look so bad tempered leh... after reading the incident, it sounds very worrying to me cos my gal is in PG. :-(

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 514
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 10:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Eileen,
Tr Li was screaming at the naughty boys right? I think she is usually quite ok but can be fierce towards naughty kids. Which is fine I guess... Some kids need to be taught the "hard way". But of cos' hitting the children is not allowed. Raising voice is inevitable.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2768
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 11:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wow.. happening again...

the new teacher @ PG seems like fresh O leh... how to cope with PG litties eh? how mcuh experience and patience she has? just kpo,who's that little girl eh?

Hi eileen,
me got no choice gotta send my 18M boy in liao leh... how to 放心 leh??

Brain - that K boy... saw his writting on the whiteboard as punishment yah.. sthing like " not to say STUPID again" saw 2 big boys pressed the door switch n ran out, think to the school bus back to SK yo. Now even in K got bullies liao!!! what is the P doing eh? no see her everytime leh, too early in am (aro 0730hrs) or too late in pm (aro 1700h) so gotta make appt to see her leh??? she very bo eng leh... wonder is she @ Kallang or not?

but raising voice till make the kid scare/dont want to go to sch is no good too yah... worst is to PG kiddies...

Tr Angelene got tfr eh? how come P Michelle got tfr n Tr Angelene also got tfr eh? why like to tfr Kallang ones out eh? then get FRESH ones here... TREAT KALLANG AS TRAINING GROUND leh...

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2769
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 12:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

who are the teachers?

K1/K2 - Tr Pauline, Li Jia老师 (the bubbly one)
N2 - Tr Grace, Chen 老师 (the long hair)
N1 - Tr Jessica, Tr Doris
PG - new Tr (to replace Tr Angel) Li老师 (the short hair)

any news for the new P? or are they gonna save this cost? run by PT Snr P eh?

Superbee (superbee)

Post Number: 1262
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 12:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

leereiner
tr angelene got transfer in end sep to the new branch in raffles place. they even gave us the invite to the opening hse there wor... as for the P, usually i'll see her going in to the CC at ard 9am.

PG - Tr Charlene & Zheng 老师 .

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2770
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 12:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

so why gotta tfr Tr Angel, why cant new RP get their Tr leh?

Superbee, you mean there's already a new P? hmmmm... didnt notice any memo yah?! or are you refering to Mrs Neo? if she, then she's not the new P lor. she's the Snr P or rather temp P only hor... wow... so gotta see the Snr P after 9am and before 5pm lor... this is my working hr too leh... so very hard to meet her lor... need to take leave to meet her eh? need to meet her upon appt lor after 1830hrs?

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2771
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 12:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

@ least to see the P everyday, not a 过分要求 bah... cld see/small talk to P Michelle every am and also the previous P leh...

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2772
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 12:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

K1/K2 - Tr Pauline, Li Jia老师 (the bubbly one)
N2 - Tr Grace, Chen 老师 (the long hair)
N1 - Tr Jessica, Tr Doris
PG - Tr Charlene & Zheng 老师 (the short hair)

Superbee (superbee)

Post Number: 1263
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 1:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

dunno y they transfer her out wor...

paiseh shd be Snr P... New P not in yet... i been seeing Snr P lately cos i drop my gal off at ard 9am... :P

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2773
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 1:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

so do you talk to Snr P?

Superbee (superbee)

Post Number: 1264
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 2:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ya i do since she open the door for me so talk a bit b4 i rush off to work.. ;)

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2775
Posted on Tuesday, October 19, 2010 - 3:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

so me is the unlucky one lor... or counted as "lucky" coz gotta have "coffee session" eh... keke...

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 393
Posted on Monday, October 25, 2010 - 11:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

This thread serves as a gathering place for all busy mummmies whose children are all in the same ccc. I seriously think that it is a good avenue for all to voice our concerns and share our views on certain issues pertaining to all aspects of the centre.
It is alright for the centre's personnel to read this thread but they definitely have no right to stop us from all our discussions, and we have absolutely no obligations to help them keep certain happenings under wraps. In fact we should all share so that we can be aware of the things happening..

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 394
Posted on Monday, October 25, 2010 - 11:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

But of course, there shouldn't be anything offensive written, or anything that may be detrimental to the children......

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 520
Posted on Monday, October 25, 2010 - 1:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Eileen,

I totally agree. So long whatever we are saying are true experiences and not defamations we should have no qualms about sharing. Afterall, this is what a forum thread is for.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2783
Posted on Tuesday, October 26, 2010 - 9:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi 5 to EiLiYa n eileen ang yo... keke...

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 397
Posted on Tuesday, October 26, 2010 - 9:40 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Does anybody have any reviews on Pat's Schoolhouse, the Siglap branch? Thinking of sending my younger boy there........

Btw what Agape Kallang really needs is a strong and influential P lah. They dun have a strong leader to drive the centre all these while until this Senior P came along. But then again, she is not permanent....

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 402
Posted on Wednesday, October 27, 2010 - 3:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mrs Neo called me and explained that the "throwing bag" incident. She said that the teacher "dropped" the bag and did not "throw" on purpose. So, benefit of doubt.......

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 521
Posted on Thursday, October 28, 2010 - 12:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

The bag must have weighed a ton.

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 405
Posted on Thursday, October 28, 2010 - 7:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi EiLiYa,

My aunt insisted last night that the teacher THREW the bag. She said she SAW how the teacher threw the bag. Anyway i didn;t pursue the matter lah.... was concerned cos i was looking for a ccc to place my younger boy

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 522
Posted on Thursday, October 28, 2010 - 9:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Eileen,

Sigh... Often it is better to admit the mistake and try to resolve the problem then to cover up and expose more faults.

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 406
Posted on Thursday, October 28, 2010 - 9:45 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ha ha ha (in exasperation!)

YaoyaoMum (rachel20)
Username: rachel20

Post Number: 159
Posted on Tuesday, November 09, 2010 - 11:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I get my boy register to Agape@serangoon then only found this thread. It seems like some of the mummies view confirm my feel that this ccc is money sucker.

Also wanted to chk is it normal to pay the whole sum of deposits+ 1st mth school fee, misc... all upon registration? My child will only enrol in Jan 2011 but they demand me to pay upon registration, claiming they give the $100 off n they need security... is that right?

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 529
Posted on Wednesday, November 10, 2010 - 11:23 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Yaoyaomum,

I won't say they're money sucker though the fee doesn't come cheap. However, if you make a comparison outside, they are more or less about the same cost for this standard/type of CCC services. Surely you can get a CCC at a much lower cost, but the standard is different already. What I'm asking for is that while they are increasing the fee, they should also show that they are increasing the level of service/standard.

To answer your question, yes it is the norm that upon registration the centre will collect a full month fee (i.e. total amount before deducting subsidies or discount if any) as deposit and usually they'll collect 1st month fee as well. I had the same experience from the 2 CCC which my son been to.

Sara Tan (iggydot)
Username: iggydot

Post Number: 1
Posted on Friday, November 12, 2010 - 12:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Yoayaomum,
Which level is your boy in? PG/N?
I juz registered my boy for PG1 with agape@serangoon too, starting in dec 2010.

So far no review for this centre, hope he'll do well there.

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 419
Posted on Friday, November 12, 2010 - 12:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Any mummies have experience to share with Lorna Whiston language school?
I am thinking of sending my boy there for English classes......

YaoyaoMum (rachel20)

Post Number: 160
Posted on Sunday, November 14, 2010 - 11:09 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi EiLiYa,
Thanks for sharing, I really hope they are worth money to give the child experience better standard of service than those cheaper CCC. I put my boy into a neighborhood CCC before but he really don't like it n wasted 3 months money...

Sara,
I registered my boy into N1 next Jan. I visited this centre 2 weeks ago on Saturday, they hav done the cleaning n I can't really tell whether their ventilation is good enough during weekdays since they put all children at the basement, the underground part is the thing I don't like but my boy seems to enjoy their gyms act.
They are pretty new, only 60+ kids so far. Maybe you n I can start the 1st review on this agape@serangoon, haha..

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 420
Posted on Monday, November 15, 2010 - 8:17 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just to share that i attended Agape's concert last week and i was truly impressed at the standard of the performances! The musicals the kids put up were truely of standard though i find the item put up by one-north a little too long and draggy and not very suitable for their age.
Kallang put up the little red hen, cck put up ugly duckling and one-north put up the sound of music.
It'll be good if the kids can perform for the rest of the children in their own centres.
Just one concern for the authorities in Agape. The songs and lyrics in the little red hen and ugly duckling were improvised but the exact sound tracks were used for the sound of music. Agape is not a government institution. It is a commercially run private centre. Jus a word of caution: You are exposing yourselves to the infringement of copy rights issues for the sound of music performance.
Oh, the emcee for the event was either too nervous or not of very good standard. And the director's speech was full of tense mistakes!!! If even the director speaks like that, i am very concern of the standard of english taught in the centres.

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 530
Posted on Monday, November 15, 2010 - 9:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Eileen,

Thanks for sharing.

I'm shock to hear that the director's speech was full of grammar mistakes. Err... that is not very good ya. Like you said, if the management portrayed such standard, what more can we expect from the teachers and principals. Gosh...unbelievable...

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 421
Posted on Monday, November 15, 2010 - 11:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

His grammar is fine but he has a serious problem
with his tenses!!! He can't use singular n purals appropriately

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 531
Posted on Monday, November 15, 2010 - 1:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hmmmm I thought singular and plural tenses are the fundamental... still shocking ;O

Iggy (iggydot)
Username: iggydot

Post Number: 2
Posted on Friday, November 19, 2010 - 11:45 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Yaoyaomum,
Russell will be in N1 too in 2011. He is starting in dec 2010 cos I want him to get used to the centre as he is very attached to me.
Maybe our boys will be in the same class.

I too don't like the underground part but am hoping the lessons, teachers & friends will make up for it!

Hi Eileen,
Thanks for sharing.
The kids were rehearing their performances @serangoon when i visited the centre, looks high spirited.

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 430
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 1:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Does anyone koe abt the centre closure today before the letter was issued last fri?
They have a calender of sch closure dates pasted on the door but i don't think today's date is on it....

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2814
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 1:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

cant rem whether 22nd Nov is on the list pasted @ the glass door... but its marked in my hp yah... n gave me a reminder on Thurs lor...

RE:director's speech
director is to earn monies so no good english nvr mind yah... but has big pocket mah...

wonder has agape arrange for next yr teachers eh? any changes? or all Tr remain in the same level or go with the kids eh?

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 533
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 4:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Eileen,

I believe the centre closure dates for 2010 is pasted on the side of the entrance not the glass door itself which only notifies of the PH in Nov. Also, on Fri the principal reminded me as I bumped onto her. Did you bring your kid to school this morning?

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 433
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 8:09 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi EiLiYa,

I didn't bring my child to school yesterday but i didn't note the date for the centre closure until i saw the letter last fri. I noted down the dates for the centre closure but yesterday's date wasn't in my calendar. Maybe i missed it out.....

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2815
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 11:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

a new childcare centre @ Mountbatten Square... open house on 27 Nov & 4 Dec...

can check out: www.childfirst.com.sg

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 436
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 11:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Are your childen going for the library visit next thurs, 2nd Dec? It's so far the cheapest trip ($9)but i still think they are over charging parents. Not that i can't afford, more of i buay gam guan to let them earn from it. The cost of a 2-way transport for 40 children (big bus)is $180. That amounts to $4.50 per head, including teachers. (17 children from the K1 and K2 group, plus N2 children n teachers. The school should pay for the teachers' share, not parents)I am not sure if there is food but even if there is, shouldn't the cost be included in the school fees already???

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2817
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 3:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

me also same as you yah, buay gam guan... teachers' pay is from school.. others expenses gonna "charge" to parents yah... simple calculation wah... this is where to earn the extra... how much effort is require to make the arrangment for transports & library eh?

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 534
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 4:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ooh I haven't check my son's bag...didn't know there is a library trip. Btw, which library are they going to?

I also think $9 is too expensive. Even taking a taxi to Geylang East library (for example) will not cost you one way $18 ($4.50 x 4 pax) leh...

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 535
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 4:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I know liao! Our NLB must be starting to charge "entrance fees"!! *scratch head*

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2818
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 9:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

2nd dec, marine parade library... cant understand why hv to go there leh? why not geylang east one? since its the nearest to agape... and library has been org FREE events yah... and they are more willing to org such event for young kids yah... sigh!!!!

N1 is not included in this trip yah...

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 536
Posted on Tuesday, November 30, 2010 - 9:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yo mummies... are you all going for the X'mas party? Saw the note in the bag last night, it was stated Friday, 23rd Dec... asked the teachers this morning and they confirmed its Thurday, 23rd Dec. Was scratching my head when I saw the note, Friday, 24th Dec is definitely out for us since we have our own family party. Anyway, hope to meet you all there ;D

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2823
Posted on Wednesday, December 01, 2010 - 9:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

maybe later part... cant make it so early yah to the party... wanna meet you all too...

today is my boy 1st day @ agape... yipeee!!!! so far so good as zheng lao shi said lor... he's still w jie jie yah... hope he likes the pl... he gotta cope with only 1 nap in a day now... under MIL's care, she gotten make him nap in the am so she has time for housework yah... and pm for fixing dinner... keke...

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 537
Posted on Wednesday, December 01, 2010 - 9:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yeah...its good the jie jie is there so it'll make 1st day/week easy for the di di. I remember I had to take 2 days leave and spend time with my son and had to sneak out during before lunch!

The timing is also very early for me thus I intend to leave office by 3pm that day. X'mas period no one is actually working anyway... LOL

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 439
Posted on Wednesday, December 01, 2010 - 4:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'll be there as well. ;)

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 541
Posted on Thursday, December 02, 2010 - 10:45 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hope to see you there Eileen ;)

Sophia (mommy_fatgal)
Username: mommy_fatgal

Post Number: 220
Posted on Thursday, December 02, 2010 - 12:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi everyone.
I'm intending to send my 2mth old boy to the infant care. Any comments abt the place? I've seen the sch before but not sure abt the service and overall care giving to infant.

Appreciate feedback or anything to take note of.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2824
Posted on Thursday, December 02, 2010 - 4:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ermm.. cant give comment on the infant care yah... #1 went in when she was 3, and #2 @ 20M...

hope to meet you all too... hope can make it yah...

az (yf_mm)
Username: yf_mm

Post Number: 14
Posted on Friday, December 10, 2010 - 2:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Mummy!

I intended to enroll my girl to the PG in Agape sengkang branch next year. And I visited the center this morning, actually I feel that it is quite good since the baby can have GYM program. But of course I have no opportunity to know whether the teacher is patient and nice or whether big children are naughty or not. After read your comments, I am a bit worry...

So may I know that is it still worth to enroll my girl when having these issues?

jade (angelray)
Username: angelray

Post Number: 21
Posted on Tuesday, December 14, 2010 - 3:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi AZ,

At first i was like you, very worry after reading so much from here and there. And after my girl there, I can see the teachers is not as bad as what you hear. They are nice and excellent teachers, especially the principal Ms. Yee there are very good, she do keep her eyes on the children and show her love and smile. So now I have no worries, my girl learn a lot there, she eat by herself and play.
But be prepare for the first week in school as is the child do need time to adapt with the new enviroment teachers, vv for teachers too, to understand the child pattern, each child have difference pattern. As for us also if we are in new enviroment we also scare too.
I will give my two tumbs up for this school for sengkang agape.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2830
Posted on Tuesday, December 21, 2010 - 8:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

any K1 mummies here?

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 440
Posted on Saturday, December 25, 2010 - 9:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I saw tr Charlene. She was wearing singlet, thus displaying her impressive back full of TATTOOS!!!

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 546
Posted on Sunday, December 26, 2010 - 11:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Who is Charlene? One of the teachers or one of the mummies?

Superbee (superbee)

Post Number: 1333
Posted on Monday, December 27, 2010 - 11:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

eiliya
tr charlene is previously PG (now N1) teacher. my gal teacher. was shocked to see eileen posting that tr charlene got tattoos. anyway i have withdraw my gal from agape and this week will be her last wk @ agape. glad to have known u mummies here. :-) take care everyone and have a good year ahead!

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 547
Posted on Tuesday, December 28, 2010 - 9:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Oh, is she the new young teacher? The one that "dropped" the bag so loudly that the kids cried?

bbwow (babywoes)
Username: babywoes

Post Number: 2608
Posted on Tuesday, December 28, 2010 - 2:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi yaoyaomum and sara,

my boy also just started N1 (next yr promote to N2) in Dec at Serangoon.

I have started the thread here.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/4934845.html?1293516724

Feel free to post! :-)

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 441
Posted on Tuesday, December 28, 2010 - 4:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yes that's the one who threw the bag

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2831
Posted on Friday, December 31, 2010 - 9:07 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

75% of K1 kids will be tfr to Cecil outlet... but mine stay put...

hmmmm... what's the reason behind for this tfr eh?

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 548
Posted on Friday, January 14, 2011 - 1:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just for sharing... had a birthday celebration this week. All the kids were so cute, sitting around the tables waiting for the cake to arrive ;D

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2843
Posted on Monday, January 17, 2011 - 9:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi Eiliya,

already tfr my both kids to cecil branch yah... so K1 has 3 kids only joining K2 class...

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 549
Posted on Monday, January 17, 2011 - 4:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

Why did you trf your kids to Cecil branch? Better environment? N2 this year has 21 kids!! *fainted*

bbwow (babywoes)

Post Number: 2632
Posted on Monday, January 17, 2011 - 4:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Eiliya,

I'm from the Serangoon branch. May I know what is the standard classroom size? 21 really seems like alot!

My child is also in N2 and his class is the biggest so far 13 kids which I already find it's alot. haha

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 552
Posted on Monday, January 17, 2011 - 4:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi bbwow,

I think the class size differs. I know N2 at Kallang is the largest by far. 21 kids. I only knew that last week. It is shocking eh.

13 sounds alright. I remember when I 1st brought my son in Oct-09, they had something like 14 kids, then in '10 they had 17 kids... this year is ultimate... 21 kids. I hope the teacher ratio is not actually 2:21. I did ask my friend who runs a Montesorri carechild, they operate 1:8 at N2 level. Of cos their fees are slightly higher but not by alot... gosh. Just thinking if I'm getting the "best deal"?

Superbee (superbee)

Post Number: 1364
Posted on Monday, January 17, 2011 - 5:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Eliya
i think your son class will eventually get lesser too ;) cos i bump into one of his classmates mum last fri @ the carpark and she told me that she want to withdraw too but waiting for the other kindy/cc for vacancy.

bbwow (babywoes)

Post Number: 2633
Posted on Monday, January 17, 2011 - 5:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

What is the normal ratio? I thought it was like 1:8?

if it's 21 kids, I hope there is at least 3 teachers.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2849
Posted on Monday, January 17, 2011 - 5:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yah, better env over @ cecil lor... not so crampy like kallang... and ms lai is over @ cecil now.

isnt agape is going by mcys law? i.e the min requirement: -

Trained Programme Staff-Child Ratio
1. Table 1: Programme Staff-Child Ratio
AGE OF CHILDREN TRAINED PROGRAMME
STAFF-CHILD RATIO
2 months - 18 months >> 1: 5*
Above 18 months - 30 months >> 1:8
Above 30 months - 3 years >> 1: 12 (PG)
Above 3 years - 4 years >> 1: 15 (N1, N2)
Above 4 years - below 7 years>> 1: 25 (K1, K2)

is the staff to child ratio stated in agape handbook?

how about N1? how many kids?

rachel20 (rachel20)

Post Number: 178
Posted on Monday, January 17, 2011 - 11:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,
I thought the agape at Cecil st also quite cramp already? I found another new Childcare at Cecil st, it's called Genius Hive, visited them in dec, very impressed with the layout, the subject based program n the toys. They have a big playground at entrance, the director told me it's tailor made then import into Singapore. The have varieties of program includes geography, science, festive corner on top of the normal language n music/art. They also imported quite a number of toys from Europe to make the learning funs. I was pretty tempted to put my boy there but my husband already registered my son into Agape at serangoon. This cc is very different from other cc I visited. I can see that the director put in lots of effort in designing the programs, not just sucking Money.

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 553
Posted on Tuesday, January 18, 2011 - 9:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ya... I know the class ratio is still within the MCYS regulation but I think 1:15 is way too much for a teacher to handle. I mean if I am paying like $400-500 per month for school fees, I won't complain about that. Our fees is double of that right... we should be expecting a higher level of service and quality.

Reiner, Cecil is in CBD area. Isn't it very inconvenient to send your kids there every morning? I won't consider moving my son there if it means I have to drive to CBD area every morning and then to Tuas. My life will be shortened by 10 years man...

EiLiYa (s_l)

Post Number: 554
Posted on Tuesday, January 18, 2011 - 9:36 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Actually my hb's family been urging me to send my son to Ascension kindergarten (long story...) but I've been resisting it cos' I think my son is happy at Agape. He looks forward to going to school and even on PH, he'll tell me he wanna go to school. I also thought Agape's environment is quite good, curriculum is good too. However, this sudden explosion in class size is disturbing me :-(

eileen ang (eileen_ang)

Post Number: 464
Posted on Tuesday, January 18, 2011 - 9:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My older son is in agape and i intend to send my younger boy (22 mths) to PATS Schoolhouse at Meyer road. I am going to let him take the school bus. Maybe you all can consider that and our kids can take the school bus together? Pats schoolhouse ratio is 2:7 or 2:8 for all levels. There are 2 teachers at all times. 1 english teacher and 1 chinese teacher.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2850
Posted on Tuesday, January 18, 2011 - 9:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

the kids over @ cecil is lesser leh.... can share how much is the fee @ Genius Hive?

transport provided to cecil lor... same time, hubby sends the kids to agape kallang... but back home will be aro 15min later lor...

Hi Eiliya,
heard lots of gd comments @ Ascension leh... but not convenient for us @ all...

rachel20 (rachel20)

Post Number: 179
Posted on Tuesday, January 18, 2011 - 10:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,
I can't remember the exact dollar Genius Hive is charging, I think it is around $1100 b4 subsidy, i hav the impression that this price is about the range at CBD cc like Cherie hearts and Citikids, I think it's a reasonable price consider the facility, teachers n the rich programs. The learning schedule is quite full, avg 45mins for each subject, don't hav to worry the kids get boring n nothing to do or spend the extra dollar for enrichment class jjust to fill up the time.

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1133
Posted on Wednesday, January 19, 2011 - 8:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

I drop by the Cecil Branch when I was in the vicinity. Nice environment. Infant care also got big area.

I remember when I queried about the fee hike the last round, I was told that the CC wanted to reduce teacher-to-child ratio. Now for my DD1 (in K1), their class has 23 kids (2 teachers). For DD2 (in N1), now they have 15 kids (3 teachers). Indeed the teacher-to-child ratio has reduced. Anyway, think the CC is running at full capacity liao, cannot take in anymore children.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2852
Posted on Thursday, January 20, 2011 - 9:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI Snowball,

nice to see you yah... keke....

both kids are @ Cecil branch now... hope there wont be same problem as @ kallang one...

the ratio oer your side is good leh... N1>> 1: 5, K1>> 1: 12 wow!!! how me wish kallang has such gd Tr to kids ratio yah.... then me wont move my kids to cecil....

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1147
Posted on Wednesday, January 26, 2011 - 1:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

Seldom see you at the other mummy forum leh.

Actually they put 3 teachers with N1 now as the PG kids also join them. When the CC recruit more PG kids, they will split the class and N1 will be back to 2 teachers.

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2863
Posted on Tuesday, February 01, 2011 - 2:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

what is the school fee now? any increase? if yes, when?

sandra (starrydust)
Username: starrydust

Post Number: 80
Posted on Sunday, February 06, 2011 - 12:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm intending to put my son at agape @ Cecil when he's 18 mths old..

Any comment on the centre? How's the curriculum of agape?Is it worth the $$?

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2868
Posted on Monday, February 07, 2011 - 8:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi sandra,

both my kids r tfr to Cecil branch... so far okay lor... 18M will be in PG, same as my #2. Now PG is combined with N1, Tr HuiXin.... She's a nice Tr yo....

sandra (starrydust)
Username: starrydust

Post Number: 82
Posted on Tuesday, February 08, 2011 - 9:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi leereiner,

yar, tr huixin seems nice, very young too.

How do u find the curriculum? It looks very nice on paper. Do they really follow the time table?

Ur kids enjoy going to school?

Thanks for responding! :-)

Leereiner (reiner)

Post Number: 2869
Posted on Wednesday, February 09, 2011 - 10:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

so far so good yah... yah curriculum is nice on paper, think apply to most ccc bah.... practically unsure how much they follow the paper...

Snowball32 (snowball32)

Post Number: 1170
Posted on Wednesday, February 09, 2011 - 10:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Reiner,

My gals' CC going to start 3G arithmetic enrichment class next mth. Your elder child joining?

I signed my DD1 up for this course. See if it is good.

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use