SingaporeMotherhood.com * Motherhood, Pregnancies And Babies * ADVICE NEEDED - How to Handle my MAID < Previous Next >

Thread Last Poster Posts Pages Last Post
Archive through July 17, 2006hsee100 7-17-06  9:28 am
Archive through August 17, 2006curry100 8-17-06  6:52 pm
Archive through September 03, 2006zenn100 9-03-06  9:52 pm
Archive through October 02, 2006och100 10-02-06  1:47 pm
  ClosedClosed: New threads not accepted on this page        

zenn (zenn)
Username: zenn

Post Number: 2828
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 4:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

och, oh so b4 that u will give her cash every mth?

Jo (bliss)
Username: bliss

Post Number: 1308
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 6:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

zenn..

u can talk abt her personal hygiene.. where she hang her clothings after wash, whether can use washing machine for her clothes,

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1309
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 6:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

zenn..

my maid writes in english.. u can ask her write in malay too.. as long as she understand n ask her to tell u wat she wrote after u gave her a long list.. few days later ask her to tell u again.. this is to test if she realli write the instructions u told her

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1310
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 6:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

och..

ur maid realli steady poon pee pee! hahah....

yah la.. my maid oso another attitude one. that day not happy that i talk abt the cash n her bargaining to meet her cousin. today tell agent she not happy that i rack her bag.. say i no respect her! i told her off after agent told me wat my maid says.. she still dare raise her voice at me n say i bo respect her! i say u know wat is call "respect"?? when u dun even bother to greet ur employers every morning n say good nite b4 going to bed. she still want to tell me wat is call respect? she keep quiet.

just now, i ask her to write on a piece of paper.. that she was the one who have decided not to work for me. asked her to sign.. tml i will send her back to agency liao. ask agency to endorse on the letter oso.

cos she is my 5th maid, i hv to protect myself when MOM call me for kopi when i employ the 6th one.. i will show to MOM that its the maid who doesnt want to work for me.. not that i dun want to keep her. everything black n white better la.

och (och)
Username: och

Post Number: 904
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 6:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

zenn,
yup. it's only $10 a mth, according to the schedule given by the agency. that's v. little, n she needs it to buy phone cards to call home too.

och (och)

Post Number: 906
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 6:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jo,
my maid steady right? some of her answers really stun me. i never met or heard of such a steady maid b4, n i hope nobody has to encounter someone so steady.

aiyo, i think u should send ur maid back asap. ur maid knows the laws here, so she dun tell u her decision directly n complain to agent first. din even mention the previous discussion abt houserules too. i think u should also show the agent the house rules that she wrote down, n keep a copy with u as well. that way, when u really hv to drink kopi with mom, that's evidence that the fallout was really bcos of house rules, not bcos of whatever reason the maid cooks up at the last minute.

zenn (zenn)

Post Number: 2846
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 6:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

gals, the maid will hand wash their own clothings rite?

Joy747 (cheerful747)
Username: cheerful747

Post Number: 678
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 7:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ZENN

You are right...and you have to tell them which pail for what and which tower for what or they will use it all for the wrong reasons and you will get very angry...

Joy747 (cheerful747)

Post Number: 679
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 7:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

aiyah...type so fast its towel...not tower...hahhaa

och (och)

Post Number: 909
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 7:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

zenn,
u should tell her explicitly that she needs to handwash. if u dun want her to mix her clothing with ur family, also let her know upon arrival.

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1317
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 8:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

och..

yes i pass a copy of the hse rules to the agency today.. they read n see nothing unreasonable at all. indo agent read my rules n spoke to her n she was kana f upside down. tml i will send her back to agent.. on the spot i will spend sometime there.. see how she kana f by spore agent.

she try to b funny oso no use. agent will protect us instead of them.. since $$ comes from us.

och (och)

Post Number: 910
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 8:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jo,
agent dun hv real power, it's mom that is more troublesome. a friend of a friend was prevented fr hiring a maid until she was cleared of abusing her maid. she din abuse lah, but those were false accusations that caused her great inconvenience, cos the home was maidless while waiting to be cleared?

enjoy the kopi with mom.

Joy747 (cheerful747)

Post Number: 684
Posted on Tuesday, October 03, 2006 - 9:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Och, zann, jo and all

Bet all of you have read the "bank guarantee" for maids...I almost fainted when I read that...That means, maid can draw out all the money and buy things which I do not want them to have...like handphone??They can just run away with the money.....we are not protected this time.....

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1319
Posted on Tuesday, October 03, 2006 - 10:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

och..

i not scared if maid accused me of abusing her. i will volunter to bring her go get police report n oso medical report.. at the same time, i will say i lost a $50 n get police to check on her oso.. see who win lo.

och (och)

Post Number: 913
Posted on Tuesday, October 03, 2006 - 12:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

joy,
yah i read that article. it doesn't mention atm cards leh, so i was wondering if the maids will hv full access to their bank accounts.

jo,
aiyo, i'm not saying u will get arrested lah. i'm saying it's an inconvenience if u r barred fr hiring a maid during the duration of investigations. it's very yuan wang, especially if u hv to work. everybody wants a maid to help them, but one devious maid can create a lot of havoc for the whole family, especially if mom goes overboard n bars u fr hiring a maid during investigations, like in my friend's friend's case. she had to look for alternative arrangements for her children, her whole family alternated taking leave etc.

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1321
Posted on Tuesday, October 03, 2006 - 1:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

och..

nah.. i dun hv to worri too much abt not being able to get a maid in. cos my sis n my siblings will b able to employ maid on my behalf. as we are all staying at different locations.

now, my maid wants to work for me again.

och (och)

Post Number: 914
Posted on Tuesday, October 03, 2006 - 5:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jo,
r u going to keep her?

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1326
Posted on Tuesday, October 03, 2006 - 6:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

och..

yes will keep her for the time being n observe her performance. if she dun perform n wanna play punk.. the most i wait till after hari raya .. get new one in n kick her out.

just now, when i talk to her. she ask me not to get angry. she declare that she got hp. says that she will let me keep for her. onli give her when necessary. i m ok with that. she request to make a call home in every 1-2mths. i m fine.

but told her, she want time off or off days.. thats a no. what i can help her is.. she get her cousin to join us shld i bring her out for shopping. thats all i can do for her. no extra.

she agree to it. still i will go thru her stuff tml in the presence of my sis. get her to sign on the hserules. if she refuse, then she will still hv to go.

Dramaqueen (rdaphne)
Username: rdaphne

Post Number: 943
Posted on Wednesday, October 04, 2006 - 4:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jo,
ur this new maid sounds like she is pretty smart. knows how to talk, give and take and even tell u not to b angry. well, i guess, she can b a gd maid if she 1 2, given her experience. she can also b a "give u hell maid". she is already so experienced so will know how to play punk. well, this is the dilemma we r facing with experience maids. u appreciate their experience sometimes, but there r occasions where they try to b funny as well.

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1330
Posted on Wednesday, October 04, 2006 - 5:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

dramaqueen..

somehow i regretted something. i shld hv taken her cousin that time. i interviewed both of them over the phone. just duno why i chose her. her cousin is so much smarter than my maid. write very good english, know how to speak good english, chinese n she even took accounting course b4 too.

well i guess everything is fated.

nevertheless, after my talk wiht my maid today gg thru her things.. she declare all that she hv n she sign on the hse rules. onli after that she talk to me much openli.. in fact, she is onli 21 instead of 25. but we are ok with that as long as she does her work well. age doesnt matter to us.

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1331
Posted on Wednesday, October 04, 2006 - 5:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

dramaqueen..

in fact, i told her say my family members all like her n she is the onli maid that i gave chance once. the rest, once mistake done or try to bargain anything. out they go. we just see that cos she is good. told her if hse does her work well, my plan is to keep her for abt 4yrs. by then my boys wld hv grow up. she wants to go back to see her family for 2 weeks.. i will let her go in btn the renewable.

my sis told me say if she still want to carry on working for us... yet i dun need her oredi. she will keep her for my parents. oredi its as good as telling her her job is secure as long as she does her work well.

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1332
Posted on Wednesday, October 04, 2006 - 5:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

think abt it.. i can say i hv a good agent. he doesnt give me one whole stack of diodata to chose from. but instead, after telling him my criteria.. he just draw out 2 for me.. allow me to hv a phone interview n even gave me contact to call the ex employers.

very responsible agent n fast in giving me the maid i need. highly recommend.

ac (ainchon)
Username: ainchon

Post Number: 709
Posted on Tuesday, October 10, 2006 - 12:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Can anyone share their maid's schedule of a day?
We are thinking of getting a maid for the first time. Not sure what is ok to expect n what not.

If u got schedule type out already can also PM me pls?
:-)
Thankyou. Thankyou. Thankyou.

Emma (babypooh)
Username: babypooh

Post Number: 660
Posted on Tuesday, October 10, 2006 - 7:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

do i need to provide her with a set of clothing when she just starts work with me? anyone provide uniform for the maid instead? thank

och (och)

Post Number: 969
Posted on Wednesday, October 11, 2006 - 1:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

emma,
it depends on what she brings with her n what she is lacking. i dun provide uniform, so i will only buy if she doesn't hv sufficient t-shirts, shorts n pj.

Emma (babypooh)

Post Number: 663
Posted on Saturday, October 14, 2006 - 4:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

anyone leave maid alone at home? I will be working and there will be no one to supervise her. I am only due in one month time..

What are the things I need to provide for her initially?? thank ...

Courage (courage)
Username: courage

Post Number: 5
Posted on Monday, October 16, 2006 - 7:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Emma,

My maid came two months before I deliver. I spent a weekend with her to go through the list of things need to do daily and weekly. She v free when me and hubby go to work so I had to constantly tell her this is temporary only and she need to practise work fast as later she will have many things to do when bb arrive. I sealed hse key in an envelope to monitor her movement when I not around. Provided her with enuf food and toiletries etc so no reason for her to get out of hse unless emergency. Passed her bb books to read about how to take care of bb and cookbook and english lang book to occupy her time. My maid committed a few mistakes worth noting. She too free kept helping herself to milo, biscuits and other food in the house vanished frightening fast. She too free 'investigated' my house drawers went through personal document and photos. She too bored sneaked out of house once. I suggest you must be v specific with the rules initially. Fortunately my maid quit doing all these after warning and she now proved a great help despite occasional fumble.

YSL (shiaolea)
Username: shiaolea

Post Number: 177
Posted on Friday, October 20, 2006 - 2:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ac,

I startedn this thread coz I was getting a maid for the first time too. If you look through the archives of this thread right at the beginning, some mothers had shared their schedule with me.

Good Luck!

Emma (babypooh)

Post Number: 667
Posted on Sunday, October 22, 2006 - 9:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

update on my new maid, she does not eat breakfast and very small appetite. Anyone with myanmar maid also have the same situation?

So far, she is hardworking, very quiet but cannot express herself well..

Sassyger (sassyger)
Username: sassyger

Post Number: 8
Posted on Wednesday, October 25, 2006 - 1:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

need some advice on maid matter. I will be getting my mum to help me look after my bb when i start work after my confinement period. but my mum already looking after my sis bb. is it too much for the maid to handle 2 babies?

ac (ainchon)
Username: ainchon

Post Number: 766
Posted on Wednesday, October 25, 2006 - 10:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi YSL

Thanks a lot.
Yes, read n got some ideas what to do and what to list. :-)

glad (glad)
Username: glad

Post Number: 1275
Posted on Sunday, October 29, 2006 - 9:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Any ladies here install spy cam in ur hses?? Tot of getting one.. need more info on that. Thanks in adv! :-)

curry (curry)
Username: curry

Post Number: 439
Posted on Wednesday, November 01, 2006 - 3:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi glad,

i installed a webcam and told my maid i want to see the baby so that she doesn't think i am spying on her. Of course that can't prevent her from going through our stuff since we can only see from one angle. Just that it can deter her from sneaking out of the house.

Spycam is quite expensive....especially if u are installing in bedrooms and living room.

glad (glad)

Post Number: 1297
Posted on Sunday, November 05, 2006 - 10:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Curry, thanks. :-) Will check it out..

babymilk (baby_m)
Username: baby_m

Post Number: 599
Posted on Monday, November 06, 2006 - 3:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI mummies

there are so many post to follow up...

My first time employing maid. She will arrive in 1st week of Dec.

Me & hubby are the kind that will want to be best friend with my maid. Thus do not wish to be very firm with her. will only states some basic rules and not to restrict her in some of the things.

Do you think this is okie? any expreienced mummies want to share her point of view on this?

babymilk (baby_m)

Post Number: 600
Posted on Monday, November 06, 2006 - 5:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Another question....

Which is the cheapest way for maid to call home?
Buy phone card, apply IDD or wat..?

michelle (xuerkai)
Username: xuerkai

Post Number: 33
Posted on Tuesday, November 07, 2006 - 12:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Does anyone bring your maid to mother's place to help look after kids? Need advice on this... thanks.

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1470
Posted on Tuesday, November 07, 2006 - 5:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

michelle..

yup.. i bring my maid to my mum's place to help look after my kids..

wat happen to u?

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1471
Posted on Tuesday, November 07, 2006 - 5:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

babymilk..

pro n cons to the arrangement.. i guess depends very much on how ur maid is like.. i find its good to b firm to them for a start.. then slowly observe their character b4 u b more friend with her.

Sassyger (sassyger)

Post Number: 20
Posted on Tuesday, November 07, 2006 - 7:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I will be getting a maid for my mum as she is looking after my baby but I will be registering the maid under my name cos my mum place do not have enough room to accomodate her and she has to stay w me at night. but i do know that MOM rules is such that we cannot let the maid work in home that is not the registering address. Anyone has done that and has a solution for this?

michelle (xuerkai)
Username: xuerkai

Post Number: 34
Posted on Wednesday, November 08, 2006 - 8:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Sassyger,

MOM rules do not allow the maid to work in home that is not the registering address. Try writing to them on your situation for advice.

Hi Jo,
Actually i was having headache on MOM rules of not allowing maid to work in my mom's place. After i made the post, i received MOM's reply. Now, I know what to do and how to arrange for the new maid.

Can I know how is your arrangement with the maid? What is she suppose to do in your mom's place and at your place? Do you have a roster for her or leave it flexi?

Which country is your maid from?

Thanks for your advice.

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1484
Posted on Wednesday, November 08, 2006 - 4:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Michelle

my maid, an indonesian actualli stays permanently at my mum's place. thou my home is her registered address..

she onli comes back to my place once a week n cleans up everything in the hse.. as for my mum's place.. she did the everyday chores.

she is an ex-sin. i dun give her a roster to follow. cos i feel that everything comes adhoc esp when she got to help take care of my kids at my mum's place oso. she pick her duties as she goes along. now 1.5mths here with me.. she knows her duty very well. i dun hv to tell her wat to do unless its any other than wat she did daily.

Sassyger (sassyger)

Post Number: 21
Posted on Thursday, November 09, 2006 - 4:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Jo,

How do you arrange that with your maid? Is it acceptable by MOM? I am asking cos I intend to do the same thing as you just that the maid stay with me at night from Monday to Sunday as my mum place has no room to accomodate her. I do not expect her to clean my house on weekday. Only on weekend. She will help my mum from Monday to Friday

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1507
Posted on Thursday, November 09, 2006 - 5:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sassyger..

hahah.. not acceptable by law. but no choice le.

my maid is aware that she has to do work in 2 hseholds b4 she agree to work for me oso. thats why her salary is $320, no off days. as long as she dun go gossip with other neighbouring maids.. n the maid's employers dun kaypoh oso.. complaining to MOM abt the violation.. everything will b covered.

even she knows that she got to clean up 2 hses.. she still very happy n does her work well. my place onli need cleaning once a week.. so its ok for her.

babymilk (baby_m)

Post Number: 629
Posted on Friday, November 10, 2006 - 3:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Jo & michelle

My maid will arive in end Nov. Mine same case as yours...

The maid will stay with me every nite...day time, I will bring her over to aunt place to help to look after my boys.

This is what I intend to do:
-morning, help to mop the floor and wash babies bottels.
After that I will bring her over to aunt place for the whole day till I return at 7pm after work.
- Nite, the most wash some clothing and baby stuffs.
- Sat & Sun she will be with me the whole day at my own place, that is when I will ask her to wash toilet, clean cabinet, etc.

But the thing is that: I really hope she can do some basic things over at aunt place, like: wash dishes, sweeep & mop floor. Although her main role is to look after kids.

Should I tell her these infront of my agent? coz by law, she is not supose to do house chore ove rat aunt place.....

Your advise pls.

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1517
Posted on Friday, November 10, 2006 - 4:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

babymilk..

i suggest u tell agent that maid supposed to work at both place.. so that the maid wont think its easi job n at the end of the day.. if she smart enuff when u ask her to do etc.. she may tell u that in the first place u onli state take care bb n do hsework at ur hse which is onli once a week..

let them b aware that they hv alot of things to do than noting to do..

Sarah's mom (sarahs_mom)
Username: sarahs_mom

Post Number: 311
Posted on Friday, November 10, 2006 - 10:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Babymilk,
I agree with Jo. You need to be firm in the beginning. UNderstand and know them in person gradually, before you give them any goodwill. I've learnt my lession thrice. My hb told me that I was too friendly towards them in the beginning. My maids would slacken in her work, and/or made many requests expecting that you'll say yes. My last maid even gave my home addy and tel no. to her relatives in Singapore before telling me, since I'm so lenient towards her. She got pple to call her at a specific time when I'm on the way to pick my dd up. Or make calls during my absence without telling me. Only admitted few days ago after some interrogations.

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1528
Posted on Friday, November 10, 2006 - 11:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yup.. now that i m not working.. i dun tell my maid oso.. thou she stays at my mum's place most of the time. i will just appear suddenli for spotchecks on wat she is doing.. when i appear.. i just stand at the door quietly.. there was once she was sitting infront of the tv with my mum n son.. the mmt she saw me.. she dash straight to the kitchen n start to keep herself busy. hai

Joy747 (cheerful747)

Post Number: 809
Posted on Saturday, November 11, 2006 - 8:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi sarah's mom

How is your new maid...how are you dioing...hope to catch up some day.

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1551
Posted on Sunday, November 12, 2006 - 11:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wats gg on.. so quiet!

blessings (blessy)
Username: blessy

Post Number: 408
Posted on Tuesday, November 14, 2006 - 10:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI mummies,

I have just hire a new maid from philippines. She is here about 2 weeks already. Really make me vomit blood in the beginning cos I want her to take care of my bb but she is very slow. She has 2 young kids of her own but to me, she seems to have much less experience compared to me ( i am a 1st time mum). Aiyo, I almost raised my voice at her everytime when I see her slow slow in bathing my bb and feeding him. But then on the other hand, she is pretty good in housework chores.

I left her at my mum's place due to work, only fetch them in the evening. Told my mum to train her cos I really do not have the patient to do so. Whenever I see her doing things which is not what I expected, I become very upset. Must I really close one eye?

Now she is much better but like abt Jo and Sarah's mom said, need to be firm with maids else they will climb over yr head.

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1564
Posted on Tuesday, November 14, 2006 - 10:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

blessings..

hmm.. is urs a fresh maid? u may want to set timing for her to finish each individual tasks. if not, she may take her own sweet time n nothing much done at the end of the day.

Sarah's mom (sarahs_mom)

Post Number: 314
Posted on Tuesday, November 14, 2006 - 1:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joy747,
Saw yr sms but no time to reply. Juz sent my maid away on Saturday. Gave outsiderS residing in Singapore my home no. and address. Get pple to call her when I'm not around and call pple without my permission. My bb disliked her even though she had been with us for 3 weeks. Her reaction was so strong as soon as the maid came near her.

Jo,
Went to yr agency, and told Delvin that u recommended me. Unfortunately, they do not have any transfer maids at the moment. I am looking for one urgently. Btw, your list of questions for the interview are so well thought out. Many Thanks..

Any reliable agencies to recommend?

Jo (bliss)

Post Number: 1570
Posted on Tuesday, November 14, 2006 - 4:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sarah's mom..

i realised that they hardly hv any trf maids.. now that u hv oredi sent ur maid back.. who is taking care of ur kid? u probably wan to check with him if he has any suitable maids who can come in asap..

MOOMOOKO (moomooko)
Username: moomooko

Post Number: 249
Posted on Friday, March 02, 2007 - 4:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone's prev maid by the name of Titi Purwanti?
selected this maid recently and MOM pending approval as they suspect she is here before, but indicated as fresh maid, anyone encounter this name before let me know tks!

glad (glad)

Post Number: 1378
Posted on Friday, March 02, 2007 - 5:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Pls do not employ this maid, ENI ASTUTI if you need her to look after aged parents, babies or children.

Joy747 (cheerful747)

Post Number: 1145
Posted on Saturday, March 03, 2007 - 8:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sarah's mom

Did you get a new maid?How is it going?Have not heard from you a long long time...happy lunar new year...

BabyGab (pinkeden)
Username: pinkeden

Post Number: 258
Posted on Monday, March 05, 2007 - 2:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dear all, do not employ a maid by the name of VIVI RIA ASTUTI aged 23 years old INDONESIA.

She just ran away from my place after stealing my money!!! She help herself to all the food in the hse without asking and denies it when we questioned her. We treated very well but she tell lies. She do not have any off days yet she is so F*** up. imagine if she has off days??? She is really horrible and tells lies. Once, she slip her tongue and says she's been jailed in her country b4!

BabyGab (pinkeden)
Username: pinkeden

Post Number: 259
Posted on Monday, March 05, 2007 - 2:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

och, jo and sarah's mom, can i know which angency u mummies are using?? anyone using express maid agency in bukit timah??

Joy747 (cheerful747)

Post Number: 1152
Posted on Monday, March 05, 2007 - 3:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Talking about maid, let me share with you all ...

Maid asked me to help her to buy a cheongsam for her...I did and I bought it something like her size.

I am not quite sure as it has to be fitted personally so I go by agar agar....

As I know she is dieting type, so I told her if the dress is a bit tight, please do not go on diet in order to fit it....

She got paranoid and mad with me over the statement and eventually told me she is mad at me for the statement, In return I told her I am mad at her for being so petty. I told her its common in singapore that people did it.

Eventually she aplologised as she wanna use my house phone. I told her, why asked me, you are the madam what...she kept aplologised and i told her to save it...

See, what kind of maid in this era....

glad (glad)

Post Number: 1384
Posted on Tuesday, March 06, 2007 - 12:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

babygab,

guess wat.. ur maid has got the same surname as my runaway maid... :-( Actually, i prefer best helper.. i regret changing agency... :-(

MOOMOOKO (moomooko)
Username: moomooko

Post Number: 250
Posted on Tuesday, March 06, 2007 - 1:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Glad,

can i have the contact for best helper maid agency?
how good is it?
how much is the agency fee?
anyone get their maid from Best Home at Bukit Timah shopping centre any comments?

sandra (sandramay)
Username: sandramay

Post Number: 2
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 2:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

MOOMOOKO:
If i not wrong the titi is my ex-maid... pls dont get her, she is the great lier and steeling thing... c she is ex-singapore yet said she is fresh maid, dangerous right?

mad bride (mad_bride)
Username: mad_bride

Post Number: 165
Posted on Tuesday, March 13, 2007 - 4:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Sarah's mom, that is exactly what my ex-maid did - gave our address to someone else in singapore and even asked them to come to our place to look for her!!! All without even asking me first!!! I asked her if she is the owner of the house or me?!

After I sent her away, there were even people calling up to ask for her. She also made calls without permission everytime we go out, but yet flatly denied and even lied when we interrogated her.

Mummies, please be careful - do not employ her, her name is Wagiyam.

Sarah's mom (sarahs_mom)

Post Number: 343
Posted on Tuesday, March 13, 2007 - 11:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joy747,
Happy Lunar New Year. I almost fell into depression coz of my former maid who was with me for near two months. After she left, I realised that one pc of my mil's pyjamas set that I kept as a rememberance got stolen. Few weeks ago, we found money hidden in the flower pot, when my dd was digging the pot with a spade. She even wore my mum's bras and returned to the drawer without washing. My mum hardly stayed with us, and the same day when we discovered the hidden $$, she opened her lingerie drawer, and it stinks real bad. Until my mum has to throw away those bras. Lotsa horror stories abt her...

I got myself another maid whom we're happy with so far. Keep my finger cross. She has been with us more slightly more than a month.

BabyGab,
I got my two Myanmar maids from Legend who have quite pretty maids, but doesn't work for me. My last maid was an Indonesian from Jolly.

Madbride,
THe maid that gave my address away was a Myanmar maid. I sent her away too partly for that reason. Pple have been telling me that most maids lie. But I still couldn't accept that, hence, decided not to keep her. Also, my dd was really afraid of her. Dun know why..

Thumbprint (thumbprint)
Username: thumbprint

Post Number: 8
Posted on Monday, March 19, 2007 - 11:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

most maid are just not trustworthy. previously, got a indonesian maid at home and she also steals from the house and pass it to her ex-boyfriend who she knows at her previous employer place. sigh.. luckily she only steals a bit as we find out soon and sent her back immediately, and luckily the kids at home are safe and sound. we are relieve that she only want money and not our life.. hehe..

girlgirl (girlgirl)
Username: girlgirl

Post Number: 544
Posted on Friday, March 23, 2007 - 11:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

anyone got any time table to share, so i can train the new maid, sending my old maid back really give me a headache for the past 1 year.

My agent said cannot tell her if u are sending her home, they will come on that day and tell her pack bag, quite poor thing right, cannot know in advance and then next day go up to the plane already without buying anything, but no choice. she never appreciate what we do for her. Agent said maid cannot be pity will climb on top of your head.

Joy747 (cheerful747)

Post Number: 1169
Posted on Friday, March 23, 2007 - 3:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sarah mom
Good to know that your maid is good...do keep us posted.

pigmy (pigmy)
Username: pigmy

Post Number: 38
Posted on Saturday, March 24, 2007 - 1:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Need some advice here. My maid is taking her off day once every month. So far, my MIL has been telling her to finish the basic housework, e.g. wash baby's clothes, mop the floor, and bathe baby before she goes out. My MIL also asks me to tell my maid to come home by 6.30pm.

I'm just wondering if there are any rules on off days? That the maid must finish basic housework and be home by a certain time? When she comes home, is she expected to do somemore housework?

zenn (zenn)

Post Number: 4963
Posted on Saturday, March 24, 2007 - 1:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

any mummies here install camera at home? any recommendation?

missk (missk)
Username: missk

Post Number: 1482
Posted on Saturday, March 24, 2007 - 11:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hey ...I am in the process of getting one for my house. It comes in a package..abt 1.5K for 4 cameras. I am still scouting ard though ...:-)

zenn (zenn)

Post Number: 4966
Posted on Saturday, March 24, 2007 - 11:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

missk, which brand is that? can we view when we are outside? do they ve package for 2 cameras? sorry for so many questions.

thx!

missk (missk)

Post Number: 1485
Posted on Sunday, March 25, 2007 - 11:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

heh...dun worry abt the questions.

Actually I am not too sure. My husband was the one who found out all these. I know it's Taiwanese made though. U can choose a package where u can view using PDA. I think that will work on wireless network. Have u gone to Sim Lim or Fortune Centre to find out?

zenn (zenn)

Post Number: 4970
Posted on Sunday, March 25, 2007 - 12:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

thanks missk! i went to funan and apparently the 2 popular brands are linksys & d-link but dun ve any package leh. can ur camera rotate or zoom? the one i looking at cant so its around 180-190 per camera.

missk (missk)

Post Number: 1490
Posted on Sunday, March 25, 2007 - 10:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mine cant rotate or zoom leh. How much do u have to pay in all?

zenn (zenn)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5028
Posted on Saturday, March 31, 2007 - 7:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

missk, i ve order fm wynston. u can click the link for details.

jan (seetoh)
Username: seetoh

Post Number: 3
Posted on Tuesday, April 03, 2007 - 12:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

zenn,

where's the link? its being removed? can anyone post it again on how to configure the camera?

mylife (mylife)
Username: mylife

Post Number: 78
Posted on Wednesday, June 20, 2007 - 1:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi there...i'm in the process of looking for a maid and since this is my 1st time employing one, can anyone send me a list of some the questions to interview the maid?

Also, would appreciate also if u all can send any timetable to me?

Any agencies to recommend?

mylifenow74@yahoo.com thanks a lot!!

YSL (shiaolea)
Username: shiaolea

Post Number: 182
Posted on Sunday, August 12, 2007 - 3:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sorry to barge in like this. But just like to thank all the mothers out there who had kept this thread sooooo alive. I am so pround having started this thread and (hopefully) helped new mums with new maids out there!

By the way, my burmese maid is still 'killing' me. SIGH but my MIL likes the fact that she does not 'fight' so I am bearing with her lack of initiative and lack of capability to keep things tidy etc etc until I get a new maid soon.

Hang in there ladies. We WILL survive!

LOL YSL

soprano (soprano)
Username: soprano

Post Number: 12
Posted on Tuesday, August 14, 2007 - 11:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My parents stay with us and help look after my elder son. I am due to delivery my no. 2 in a few weeks time and we just got a fresh filipino maid a few weeks ago.

The thing is my mum doesnt like my maid and they dont get along. So I get hell.... like my mum will call me in office to nag about her.

Anyone has experienced times when your mum or mil doesnt get along with the maid? and how did you handle it ? I am almost giving up.... and argued with my mum to lower her expectations and not nit pick on every single thing. It is just causing a lot of havoc at home... at a time when I shd be looking forward to the birth of my 2nd child. ;-(

soprano

tamarind (tamarind)
Username: tamarind

Post Number: 4365
Posted on Wednesday, August 15, 2007 - 10:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have created a blog to share my experience of hiring maids in Singapore. It includes houserules, timetable and other things to look out for when selecting a maid and agency. Please feel free to view and comment.

http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com

Tam (ram)
Username: ram

Post Number: 26
Posted on Wednesday, August 15, 2007 - 2:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Tamarind

Thanks! your blog is really useful! my situation is same as yours, mother will come over to help during weekdays and maid will assist her

Vivi (2kidzmum)
Username: 2kidzmum

Post Number: 345
Posted on Wednesday, August 15, 2007 - 4:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I also had a maid short term b4 myself. And afraid to hire one again hearing so much horror stories of how bad their character are esp some seem really timid and innocent but maybe deep down they are not so stupid as they act out to be. Also afraid of those allegations maids like to have against their employers and little bit of things they run away to seek refuge at embassy and always being sided by the embassy and ended up the employer has hell with the police and investigations and the anxiety of waiting for outcome of investigations. does anyone has experience in this area to share I am quite interested in stories like this esp not to have anything to do with the law. And also most cases like this is it always the employer tat will lose out and being procecuted or some really is being let off? Thanks for sharing.

tamarind (tamarind)
Username: tamarind

Post Number: 4377
Posted on Thursday, August 16, 2007 - 9:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tam,
You are welcome ! Glad to know that we have the same type of helpful mothers :-)

Vivi,
I have hired 8 maids before. One of them is a nightmare. She accused my mother of poisoning her by putting MSG in her food. Then she threatened to run away to the embassy. I got to call the police to help to get her to the airport to be sent back to filipines.

But I still continued to hire maids after her. My other maids didn't give me much problem. One of them helped me tremendously, took care of my baby boy since birth to 2 years old, made my life so easy. But later she changed, and has numerous boyfriends in the neighbourhood. So I sent her back.

I still continue to hire maids. My current maid is not a super maid. But she is honest, reliable, mature and has a good attitude. She is very good with my kids and can even take care of my father who is old and quite weak. She can cook and keep the house clean. So I am happy with her.

While there are some horrible maids out there, most maids are OK. If you get a good maid, she can really make your life very easy.

My first rule of hiring maids, is don't be afraid to change maids. If your maid is bad, just change until you get a good maid.

cjx (cjx)
Username: cjx

Post Number: 59
Posted on Thursday, August 16, 2007 - 2:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Is it true that employers get blacklisted if we employ more than x number of maid within a certain period of time?

kim (s33856)
Username: s33856

Post Number: 13
Posted on Wednesday, August 22, 2007 - 10:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Need mommies advice here...Currently have this maid coming to 1-year looking after my 7-year boy and housechores. Would rate her average. My EDD is coming Nov. and I'm deciding whether to change to an experience maid who can look after newborn. Current maid claims she has 3-year experience looking newborn in Malaysia, but my maid told my boy she does not like to look after babies because scare lack of sleep.

My hubby says train her to look after our newborn, but I have doubts about her capabilities. Should I change then? Was looking at Indo-experience maid, ex-Sing, 25-30, married with children. But most that I interviewed asked for S$400 and off-day, which I may need their help on weekends. Anyone in the same situation as me?

pigmy (pigmy)

Post Number: 44
Posted on Sunday, September 09, 2007 - 11:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, can anyone advise if I need to go through agency if I want to renew my current maid for another 2 years and she is agreeable to my terms? Can I renew her work permit, banker's guarantee and personal insurance myself?

Thanks a lot!

Hi Kim, if my maid tells me she doesn't like to take care of babies, I will probably change her.

Rainbow (shining_star)
Username: shining_star

Post Number: 601
Posted on Sunday, September 09, 2007 - 1:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Pigmy

You may want to refer to a similar thread under motherhood, baby and pregnany, advice on baby and maid expenses...

I went through asking the same questions last few days....

pigmy (pigmy)

Post Number: 45
Posted on Monday, September 10, 2007 - 8:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Rainbow,

Thanks for the info!

Fen Fen (fennie_chua)
Username: fennie_chua

Post Number: 12
Posted on Wednesday, November 07, 2007 - 8:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi tamarind, can u advice me how to black-list a maid in mom? And is it true that all mother would take a look before they settle down with one?

cherrie (mycutey)
Username: mycutey

Post Number: 159
Posted on Monday, November 19, 2007 - 6:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dear ladies,

Could U advise me on how to hire a good maid? Me looking for a phillipina with no off days. Any thumb of rule to see if the maid is ok to start with? She has to do all the hsework by herself and assist me in cooking and taking care of my boy. I will be at home with her.

Also besides her pay, do I need to pay for her necessities like sanitary pads, transport, medical bills etc...And if she is sick, do I need to give her 1 whole day to rest?

How to treat a maid? Where do u let ur maid sleeps? What is the maid's working hours like?
My baby is sleeping alone now. There is 1 empty room and I am thinking to let her sleep in there. Afraid that she will sneak into my baby's room and harm him....

Ozzie (ozlee)
Username: ozlee

Post Number: 507
Posted on Tuesday, November 20, 2007 - 12:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Cherrie
good that you are asking all these questions...

er.. why do you not want to give your maid "off days" to rest?

if you have started already fearing that your maid may "sneak into (your) baby's room and harm him"... then maybe you are not ready for a maid...

check out these website for more information : http://twc2.org.sg/site/

good luck.

luveebebe (luveebebe)
Username: luveebebe

Post Number: 244
Posted on Monday, January 28, 2008 - 1:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi!
could anyone please share some info on what to do at the end of (filipino) maid's 2yr contract if i'm not keeping her?

Mrs Ng (mrsngpk)
Username: mrsngpk

Post Number: 14
Posted on Tuesday, January 06, 2009 - 10:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sorry.. side track a bit.. can i employ a maid for only 6 mths or 1 year? any minium bond to serve? Thanks

DTJ (dtj)
Username: dtj

Post Number: 97
Posted on Tuesday, January 06, 2009 - 6:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

luveebebe :

If you are not keeping her ... just buy her an airticket to Manila ... pay her all her salary in FULL .. but before that , ask her if she wanna carry all those money or remit some via Western Union ... my maid remitted two-thirds and carried one-third cash home :-)

I also bought her some presents & a set of nice clothing for her 2 yr old son... and an ang pao to wish her well.

DTJ (dtj)
Username: dtj

Post Number: 98
Posted on Tuesday, January 06, 2009 - 6:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

oh btw luveebabe :

my maid has no off-day ... so 1 month before she left, i gave her 2.5 days off to do her shopping...

smhlim001 (smhlim001)
Username: smhlim001

Post Number: 2
Posted on Tuesday, August 18, 2009 - 10:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

maid no off day better... if not will do funny things outside...

sweetnov (sweetnov)
Username: sweetnov

Post Number: 49
Posted on Tuesday, August 25, 2009 - 1:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I juz hire a maid less than 1 week. May I know are we suppose to buy them face wash too or?

Agent say we suppose to buy them daily use stuff. I suppose is shampoo, shower gel, toothbrush, toohpaste, am I right?
And is it true, we should supply them for the 2yrs?

Or once they have their full monthly salary, they should buy herself, no need buy for her already.

amore (amore)
Username: amore

Post Number: 1728
Posted on Tuesday, August 25, 2009 - 3:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sweetnov, i did buy face wash for my maid... but i choose the brand etc...

sweetnov (sweetnov)
Username: sweetnov

Post Number: 51
Posted on Tuesday, August 25, 2009 - 11:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My maid has her own hp, with free incoming call. She say use pin no. to call. Talk on phone every nite. Not sure should I control her to call her family daily. Pls advise.

Snowball32 (snowball32)
Username: snowball32

Post Number: 43
Posted on Wednesday, September 02, 2009 - 3:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Sweetnov,

You should not let your maid hold her HP during the day and restrict your maid on using her HP daily. Eg, she can only use the HP when she is done with her daily chores. This is what most of my friends and colleagues do.

We made a mistake by being soft-hearten and let her hold HP after 1 yr. But, we did restrict her to use her HP only after she is done with all her daily chores. Know wat, she was so daring that she even started calling during the day when we were at work, even tho' my MIL is around.

We learnt our lesson and do not even allow our 2nd maid to hold any HP and we allow her to call home twice a mth (about 20 min each). We provide the calling card tho' so that we can control her talking time.

jajnj (jajnj)
Username: jajnj

Post Number: 128
Posted on Thursday, September 03, 2009 - 8:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Same here. after my previous maid had a HP, nightmare. SHe will always be on the phone & she will not sleep early as her phone keeps peeping. It gets pretty annoying.

Also, after she had the phone, pattern comes out liao. I guess she has more contacts & then she decided to 'bluff' us that her kid was sick & need to return home & then never come back.... Later we realised that she went Hong KOng to work.

So I do not allow my present helper to have a HP. I will give her 2 phone cards ($10 Singtel) to call home evey month.

mschan (mschan)
Username: mschan

Post Number: 43
Posted on Monday, November 30, 2009 - 8:32 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi moms,
I agree that you should not allow your maid to use HP even if it's her own during the day because it will distract her from finishing the daily chores. Set expectations for her to follow with regards to this subject. I also had a bad experience with my maid who has her own HP in the past. So, now I limit my maid in using the HP during daytime or even at night just to make sure she does her tasks.

DADA (7575)
Username: 7575

Post Number: 191
Posted on Tuesday, December 08, 2009 - 11:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

About HP, I agree. better not to have any. My previous maid started without hp. then one day asked to buy hp coz she said didn't want to use our housephone in case got incoming call for us.

stupid me agreed. but i also told her cannot use phone during the day. still she used. everytime when i caught her, she said hubby called or sms. becoz she got young kids, so i cannot ask her to tell her hubby not to call during the day. then one day i secretly peeped into her sms and calls record, guess what, all spore numbers. there was once i asked her to watch over bb when bb was about to sleep. she was busy sms when i quietly walked into the room. she stole once, said need money to buy phone cards ( i didn't allow her to keep any money). but promised not to steal again. she was very afraid that i would report to police.

then, first she asked for day off to attend friend's party. party??? no lah. i dun even have the time to attend party and yet ... then, ask for day off to meet with her cousin here. i agreed to 2 hours only. then, again, asked for day off for hari raya. again, no. i dun like her to mix with her friends, with all the funny attitude after having handphone. few days before she left for good, i gave her 1 day off to shop for presents. before that, she wants to make sure she wear pretty for shopping, so asked to go to shops opp my place to buy handbag, clothes and shoes.

if i close one eye, she was ok though, coz i helped her when she couldn't cope with her work. actually, i wasn't really want to help, just doing to check the things myself, such as folding bb clothes - i check if clothes clean while folding. haha ... she eyes red red when i sent her off to departure gate.

i included "no hp" in house rule. stated very clearly that no matter how long they have worked for me, no hp request will be entertained. learnt my lesson already.

as to maid cannot get along with mil or mother, i will always side mil or mother in front of maid. then will try to educate mil/mother when maid not around. maid needs to know they have to respect mil/mother first, coz they should be helping them. maid usually doesn't respect mil or mother coz they know they are not employer, thus not the one to make decision. so, we have to help mil/mother, they are the one truly helping us to take care of our children, not maid. i also experienced my mom keeps complaining about maid when i m home after work. very tired already still have to handle it. if it's maid fault, i will keep an eye on the maid so that when she repeat the mistake, i will tell her off immediately. if it's due to my mom's expectation, i will share my thot with her - remind her to put herself in maid's shoes. so if maid not feeling well, i have to tell my mom on that day to lower her expectation further.

for this new maid (just arrived for a week), i tried to be the strict employer first. if she didn't do the housework properly, i asked her to redo, even though this means i have to cancel some of her tasks for the day. better to start right, i think.

sorry for the long winded post :P

Ivy (karena)
Username: karena

Post Number: 233
Posted on Wednesday, December 09, 2009 - 10:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, me also have some issues over the HP maid using..

My maid has been with me for nearly 1yr plus le, overall she's ok, but only her HP & off says issues..

HP: Normally will ask me to buy those Singtel top up card for her but few months back realise how come she never ask me help her buy. Then my MIL told me maid now ask her help her buy the top up card & some more change no already & I didn't even know!

Previously, trusted her so let her holp her HP until 1 day when I came home, caught her talking on the HP while wokring! I was so damn angry & gave her a scolding & from then onwards, I'll keep the HP & only will return her at night.

Off days (sunday-1day p/mth): Initially told me, her off days, she will go church & visit her auntie. But recently, she often late coming back (I set her timing fr 11am-7pm), once she even came back 8 plus, although she called back to inform! I was really pissed off lor!

Only last month, I told her now her timing will be 11am-6pm,to come back latest by 6.30pm, still she's late lor, came back @6.45pm...

Only these 2 issues of her make me pissed off,overall she's ok with the housework & takes cares of kids properly. And becos right now I'm near EDD at Feb, I told her her that her last off days will be in Dec, then Jan, Feb & Mar, no off days for her but will compensate her in monetary, she agreed.

So overall, I still think she's OK, so now me still thinking of whether to renew her contract when it ends on Aug 2010.

My3darlings (my3darlings)
Username: my3darlings

Post Number: 3
Posted on Monday, December 28, 2009 - 6:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hello everyone....I am new here, may need your guidance....it seems that its not advisable to wash the maid's clothes together with ours?

buds (budbelly)
Username: budbelly

Post Number: 16
Posted on Wednesday, December 30, 2009 - 4:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My maid hand wash her own clothes, I think most employers don't like their maid's clothes to be mixed with their own. And I agree with the earlier posts that maid owning HPs is a bad idea, maids love to yak yak yak non stop. And they are really good at making 'friends' too. My maid has no off day but still she is able to make lots of 'friends' when I sent her out for simple errants like buying bread or newspaper.

mschan (mschan)
Username: mschan

Post Number: 163
Posted on Sunday, January 10, 2010 - 11:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I guess it's normal for maids to make friends with people they meet along the way as we send them to errands but they should act appropriately and be responsible since we hire them to do the tasks we can no longer do at home. And yes, I prefer that maid wash clothes separate from our clothes.

smilemum (smileysmiley)
Username: smileysmiley

Post Number: 954
Posted on Thursday, July 01, 2010 - 6:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hihi, cos my family's moving to another country to stay for 2 years soon, I'm looking for another employer for my helper. Anyone looking for a smart fili helper? she cares for my baby in the day at my mum's place and can cook simple chinese food, like soups and stir frys.

Do drop me a note at gillian_kit@yahoo.com.sg if u r keen, or call at 91548677 for more info. We can only let her go in August tho cos I still need help till we go off..

kooladonia (kooladonia)
Username: kooladonia

Post Number: 13
Posted on Friday, June 17, 2011 - 1:17 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Some maids I know are good ones. Stayed with the family for years until when they had to go back hometown for good, the owner cried coz the maid already part of the family. Very sweet :-)

Al (alicia80)
Username: alicia80

Post Number: 152
Posted on Wednesday, June 29, 2011 - 2:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

anyone of your maid having below offence, you can email to MOM.... to that the next employer won't face the same maid same problem again.

Feedback on Foreign Domestic Worker’s Conduct

An Foreign Domestic Worker (FDW) is expected to comply with Singapore's rules and regulations. The Government takes a serious view of FDWs who break the law or misbehave themselves.

For Penal Code-related Offences
If a Foreign Domestic Worker (FDW) is suspected of committing an offence (e.g. theft, child-abuse/elderly-abuse, threatening/harassing employer/family members, bringing strangers into her employer’s house without her employer’s consent) under the Penal Code, the employer should:
• Make a police report immediately; and
• Email a scanned copy of the police report to mom_wpd@mom.gov.sg. Please attention the email to Controller of Work Passes.

For Violation of Work Permit Conditions
Employers can provide feedback on their FDWs via email at mom_wpd@mom.gov.sg. The feedback should be attention to the Controller of Work Passes.

MOM will review the feedback given and take the appropriate action against the worker. The Ministry will only place the worker on an employment ban if she is charged and found guilty of an offence under Singapore laws, including offences under the Penal Code and the Employment of Foreign Manpower Act.

ahbui (mandy99)
Username: mandy99

Post Number: 1378
Posted on Tuesday, March 27, 2012 - 5:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wanted to take a poll.. I just found out that my maid took my undergarments without permission and took a lot of my kid and my stationery (pens and pencils).

I cannot stand her dishonesty and also she has been asking for funny requests lately.

1) ask me to finish cooking by 430pm on weekends so that she can wash up and rest early. I of cos rejected her.
2) ask for her fili hp but she say to communicate with her mother. But later I found out that she has a telephone book of quite a number of maids in the neighbourhood.

I am changing her but should i let her transfer or just send her back as she has finished her contract

avocado (avocado)
Username: avocado

Post Number: 1454
Posted on Tuesday, March 27, 2012 - 5:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ur maid oredi started to show "patterns".no point keeping her.Think who she is?how can she ask u to finish cooking by certain time?We don't even ask our bosses to knock off early!

ahbui (mandy99)

Post Number: 1379
Posted on Tuesday, March 27, 2012 - 6:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi avocado,

ya.... i definitely won't be keeping her.. just wondering if i should send her back to her hometown.
Although the things she took are all quite petty(pens).. but one of them is my undies leh...

1 thing is i dunno if she has taken other things as she has a locked luggage that is at least 20kg now and full to the bream!!!

driving me nuts thinking of what is inside that luggage.

PBLee (phoe)
Username: phoe

Post Number: 134
Posted on Tuesday, March 27, 2012 - 6:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ask her to show you her stuff inside. Most of my maids will auto offer for me to go through their luggage before going home. I will send her home.

glad (glad)

Post Number: 3272
Posted on Tuesday, March 27, 2012 - 7:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ahbui, u have all the rights to request to see the contents in that luggage. Afterall, our bags are also check if we work in some government organizations.

DADA (7575)
Username: 7575

Post Number: 561
Posted on Thursday, March 29, 2012 - 8:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

If u can afford, send her back.

I check all my maids' belonging before let them go for good. I will unload everything on living room floor. Then go through wif them together, I.e. I check everything in front of them. They can repack once I finished certain item. If the maid said item given by my relatives, I will call my relative to verify if item is of certain value.

All my maids do not hold cash, they will inform me if they need to buy anything. I told them this is to avoid misunderstanding of stealing.

One of my former maids used to steal small items n food. We closed one eye but to our shock, we found one big roll of hk, sing dollar n ringgit value over thousands in her bag that belongs to my husband. We r sure those were stolen money coz I never allow her to hold cash. She rampage my room after the money was taken away. I sent my two young kids to my brother's place fear she would harm them after her insane behavior.

I consulted the agent if I should report police, but becoz we did not have recording of searching her bag wif the money, decided not to report coz no evidence. She denied stealing money till the end. Agent sent her back the next day n did not ask us to pay for transport cost.

ahbui (mandy99)

Post Number: 1380
Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2012 - 7:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ah... my maid request to transfer to an expat family

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use