SingaporeMotherhood.com * Motherhood, Pregnancies And Babies * Dr L C Foong from Gleneagles * Archive through March 11, 2010 < Previous Next >

angeline su (angeline_su)
Username: angeline_su

Post Number: 50
Posted on Thursday, February 11, 2010 - 11:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi kiki and missixity,
i had HSG scan last month to check my tubes. the dr put the liquid inside and scan. it's about less than 10 mins. the last part when she pushed the liquid in and asked me to tube my body to left and right to do the scan, it was quite painful but about 3-5 seconds only. the pain is like very bad period cramps. then i rested about 5 mins in the bed after procedure. i did it in the morning. i paid $ 201 if i'm not wrong. u should wear sanatary pad. because the liquid that they put in, will flow out any time.
in the afternoon about 2pm, the liquid flow out. then i feel very very bad cramps until i want to faint. i quickly run to bed and lied down. the cramps that i feel, last about a few hours. i couldn't walk straight for that fews hours.
but they say it depends on individual. i heard most of them don't feel any pain or any cramps.

hi miraclebaby,
i can feel your pain. i was telling my hubby two days ago that i wonder how r u doing. my tears drop when i read your post. my heart goes to u. but like u said, u stil have frozen embies. so think positives, ok. it's just the timing is not right yet. u need to take care of yourself.

missixty (missixty)
Username: missixty

Post Number: 21
Posted on Thursday, February 11, 2010 - 2:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

angeline,
woww.. seems like it's quite a painful process. hopefully, i am able to endure. my threshold is also not very good.

am i right to say that after this scan, the results will be able to conclude if the tubes are blocked and any severe endometrosis?

kikigirl (kikigirl)
Username: kikigirl

Post Number: 7
Posted on Thursday, February 11, 2010 - 7:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I just came back from visiting Dr F. he is really good, caring and very Pro. No regrets. my 1st appt with him only cost me about $220 which is cheaper than Dr C which cost me about $400. Dr F advise me that i don't really need to remove the endo for now as it was too small. he say waste of money.. haha :-) I did V scan and he saw 7 bigger follicles on the left ovary and one of the measurement are 22mm. he advise me to gave a try this month and hope i can strike . :-)

Hi Lyn,
It was a Taiwanese drama series and it was shown in Channel-U last year. i don't remember the title. will check it out and let you know ok?

Angeline,
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. it sound so scary... i think i will take full day leave when i am going for HSG scan next mth if this mth didn't strike. he don't advise me to do HSG scan this month as he say i will O tonite or tomorrow.

Post Number: 51
Posted on Friday, February 12, 2010 - 11:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi missixity and kiki,
don't be scare by my experience. i heard a lot of them don't feel the pain. may be my pain threshold is very low.
once i finished the scan, i asked the dr who did the HSG for me to see whether my tubes are blocked or not. (because i was too anxious). she said it look ok and not blocking. anyway dr foong will call once he receives the result. i'm not sure about endometrosis. i don't know whether HSG can see endo or not.

kiki,
last time how u check whether u have endo?
good luck for your trying for this cycle. :-)

missixty (missixty)
Username: missixty

Post Number: 22
Posted on Friday, February 12, 2010 - 3:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi angeline,

haha... my threshold, i think will not be any better than yours.. cause usually menses CD1, i will feel very pain and bad that i have to lie down on bed.. so i guess this scan will be equally painful for me!!

anyway, thanks for the info... will wait till next mth when my menses comes then schedule for this scan, cause dr foong said better not do this month, cause maybe, who knows, i may be preggie already. keep my fingers cross... hopefully, what he said this month will come true.. then i will have good news and don't need to do the scan next month liao!!!

HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR & VALENTINE'S DAY to all!! :-):-)

kikigirl (kikigirl)

Post Number: 8
Posted on Friday, February 12, 2010 - 7:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Angeline,

The previous gynea did a 4d scan. yesterday dr F did 3d scan also can see the endo. but the endo size is kind of small thats y he advise me not to remove at this point of time.

Thanks. i will pray hard. :-)

Happy Chinese New Year :-)

Post Number: 52
Posted on Sunday, February 14, 2010 - 4:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

for all the ladies here,
Happy Chinese New Year!! May all the ladies' wishes come true!!

baby (babe79)
Username: babe79

Post Number: 1376
Posted on Thursday, February 18, 2010 - 2:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

happy cny!!

I went to dr f just now.. Wanting to do my 2nd ivf.. But postpone to next mth as dr f will be away during my er and et if i do this mth.. Abit disppointed but no choice.. Use this time to do accup and hope it will help me...

Vinwee
See tat u gng due soon.. So fast hor.. Hee... Anxious?

Dream
How r u? Long time mvr talk to u liao.. Hows tins?

miraclebaby (miraclebabyhopes)
Username: miraclebabyhopes

Post Number: 57
Posted on Thursday, February 18, 2010 - 7:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks All for your words of comfort. The last week or so has been a struggle for me and I question when I can have the chance to be a mummy. However, I will press on and not give up.

Hi Baby
Good luck for your next cycle. We did not chat previously but I got to know a little about you through the previous postings. I just failed my fresh cycle with Dr F but I still believe in him. My review with him will be next week but am planning to do my FET in April (or May). There are not many people on this thread doing IVF so perhaps we can encourage each other. Do you know how much the FET will cost? Also, my confidence took a beating after the failure. Am thinking that if I did not BFP with 3 8-cell embies, will I BFP this time? I have another 3 8-cells embies and 1 10-cell embie but somehow these got to 8 cells slightly slower than the 1st 3 or there must have been some reason why they were not chosen the 1st round. Also, is Dr f going off again?

baby (babe79)

Post Number: 1377
Posted on Thursday, February 18, 2010 - 11:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Miraclebaby

I really know how u feel... I been thru this.. I know no words i can say to make yr saddness go away.. But believe me.. U need time.. I often console myself that its not the right time yet.. So do take time off with this ttc thing and do tins u enjoy... Lets be each other bubby ya.. :-)

Some history to tell u... I failed my first ivf last june... I transferred two grade 1, 8cell embryos... Dr f was v confident i will succeed.. I too tot i will make it cos two best grade 1 embryos are placed.. But i didnt.. So i knew how u felt.. Everytin was at top condition.. Be it lining or embryos.. Or age.. I should have succeed on my first try... Then i recovered and went for fet in oct.. I thawed six to get three embyros... So quality is not as good... So it failed... Now im gearing up for my 2nd ivf with dr f again..

Thou i have 4 failed iuis... 1 failed ivf and 1 failed fet with dr f.. I still believe in him.. So im staying with him for my 2nd ivf... Hoping i will be lucky this time.. I know how u feel in thinking with good grade embyros placed and it still failed.. Confidence level will drop till almost zero.. For my case, im only 30... Dr f say i have no prob at all.. No pcos.. No endo.. No blocked tubes.. I ovulate evey mth... Normal uterus.. Respond well to puregon..(only 200iu needed).. Retreived 20eggs... Even dr f dont know why i failed.. Just imagine my feelings... I even resort to tcm Accup for my fet.. But useless... Even my tcm dr also find it strange tat i will failed my ivf.. Two top grades embryos not even one implanted.. If my embryos Are not good grade i will have expected the failure.. I guess u know the feeling..

But lets not be too negative.. We will make it soon...

Mind sharing me yr age and yr ttc history? U been with dr f for v long?

Dr f will be away for 5 days in mid of march.. Which will hit my er and et.. So i decide to do it next cycle.. I will use this mth to do accup and prepare my body..

Fet cost abt 2k plus if i recall... I didnt use medisave.. All cash..

Post Number: 53
Posted on Friday, February 19, 2010 - 11:23 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i'm not doing iui for this cycle yet. a bit disappointed:-( but i'll follow dr f's advise. he said my cycle is 30-35 days. so he wants to adjust to 28 days first before we process with iui and at the same time, allow my hubby's sperms to get better. next cycle, i'll take medicine (i think is clomid) 1 tablet everyday from D2 to D6. then go for scan on D12. but another disappointment. i found out that dr f will be away from 13/03 to 19/03. my D12 will be on 15/03. may be another dr will do the scan for me. but look like i have to wait at least another 2 cycle for iui. so stressful......

Post Number: 58
Posted on Friday, February 19, 2010 - 12:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Baby

If your ER/ET is planned for Apr, we may be cycle buddies, assuming Dr F says I can use my April menses to start. Today is my D12 and my ovulation kit is showing a darker line, so I expect to O either Sunday (D14) or on D15. This IVF has pushed my O day back by about 2 days (I normally O around D12), so not too messed up. I however had some spotting on D9 to D11 after I thought my menses already stopped on D6. Did you experience that in the 1st cycle after IVF?

I am 38 this year, so time is really not on my side. My TTC journey is hard and I don't wish the same for anyone else. I have been trying for more than 8 years. I always had mild to moderate endo but tubes and uterus normal. After 3 years during which I did 2 laparoscopes and had 6 months of lucrin treatment, I managed to conceive naturally. My pregnancy was pretty smooth until my baby's heartbeart stopped at 23 weeks. It was like being plunged to the bottom pit...I cried literally buckets of tears...imagine going through 3 days of labour (with epidural for more than 40 hours) becos my cervix couldn't dilate and then finally giving birth and then cremating your child. Even as I type this and 3 plus years later, I still feel the sadness and terrible void. After the delivery, I had to immediately go through the D&C etc etc. People tell me that after a pregnancy, you will be able to conceive easily again...Not true for me though. After trying on our own for another year plus, I went for IVF at Raffles Hospital but did not BFP. I attribute this to some residue endo which was on my left ovary and shortly after the IVF, I went for my 3rd lapscope to clear the endo. I didn't pluck up my courage to try another IVF (because I did not have great faith that IVF works) until Jan this year with Dr F. I started seeing Dr F in June 09 and in Aug 09, did my 4th lapscope. For me, the lapscope is like nothing already, just go in for the operation and then a few hours later, walk out after impatiently waiting to be discharged and while waiting, I am clearing my work on my blackberry. After the lapscope with Dr F, I did 3 IUIs, 2 on clomid 1/2 tablet and 1 natural. This IVF, my fertilisation rate and embryo quality were good (retrieved 11 eggs, fertilised 9, 7 embies all 8-cell/10-cell Grade 1/2)and plus I already cleared my endo, so my hopes were high...but I guess God has other plans.

Yes, we need to press on and believe that God will bless us one day. You still have quite a few more years but I see 40 years old looming in the not too distant future...so it's kind of I need to act fast if I want a baby. Even if I BFP, I think I will not have any peace during the whole pregnancy until I hold my baby in my arms (after my last saga).

Told my boss after this IVF failure that having a baby is my number one priority for this year. I am no longer going to give my work 120% and plan to out of office for another 2 weeks for the FET. My boss is pretty understanding...I am in investment banking and we no longer pay like before with all the political pressures, so I will no longer give my job my all.

Am seeing Dr F next week. Not sure whether I will be on natural or medicated FET. I ovulate like a clock every month on a 26 to 28 day cycle, so not sure what he will decide...

Good for you to get your body strong again before doing IVF...so if have to wait 1 month or so, then better do so. You are still young and time is on your side. I went for acu this morning and my acupuncturist says my pulse is very tight...what to do...for the past few days and even during CNY, i do give in to a few drops of tears a day...guess I have been through worse and I must pick up the pieces and stand up again. After the whole IVF saga, I don't even think about the physical pain from the IVF or even the $ paid. I only have memories of the emotional drain from the failure.

You hang in there too!

pinkbubbles (pinkbubbles)
Username: pinkbubbles

Post Number: 1
Posted on Friday, February 19, 2010 - 3:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am new here, and doing my 1st IVF with Dr. F today.

Not even sure if i am nervous about the whole procedure, as I don't want my hubby to worry about me, so trying my best to carry on as normal and not to think too much!

This thread here is really interesting and helps me to understand I am not alone in this path!!

Lots of baby dust to everyone!!

vanilla pod 2 (vanilla_pod_2)
Username: vanilla_pod_2

Post Number: 2895
Posted on Friday, February 19, 2010 - 4:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi ladies - i was w Dr F and we have a thread under Matters of the Heart - Christian IVF Mummies and Mummies to Be... if u need support and encouragement do pop by that thread.

Post Number: 59
Posted on Friday, February 19, 2010 - 4:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Vanilla

Can you send the link for the Christian IVF Mummies? Thanks

Post Number: 2897
Posted on Friday, February 19, 2010 - 5:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/1244527.html?1245042117

here u r miracle bb

LYn (lady1978)
Username: lady1978

Post Number: 1654
Posted on Friday, February 19, 2010 - 9:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi baby, long time havent seen u around.. Happy cny.. So u have decided to do 2nd ivf soon, all the best to u..

Miraclebaby, its always so so.. sad to hear abt experiences like yours but u r not alone.. Behind everyone going thru this journey there is always alot of heartbreaks... I understand ur feelings of ur prev m/c coz recently one frd who told abt her m/c that happened when the foetus is of 20 weeks. It happened abt 4 years ago and she was tearing when she was telling me her experience.She said she could see and felt the baby moving when the nurse showed it to her and her DH have to crement it all by himself. She did ivf last year and will be due in march. I told her i admired her courage of wanting to be pregnancy again coz she really went to alot and its very traumatizing. Altough his DH had actually decided that they didnt want to try for children again but her strong wish to become a mother made her DH changed his mind abt it and GOD had granted her her wish.. so i believe u will be blessed with one too....Dun give up. I agreed dr f is a good doc but soemtimes we need some luck to BFP too...

baby (babe79)

Post Number: 1378
Posted on Saturday, February 20, 2010 - 1:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Miraclebaby

U indeed went thru alot... U are a brave lady.. Pls continue to stay hopeful.. U have good embryos left for fet... My fet embros are not good.. Not all are 8cell.. Some are 6 and 7cell... So the failure was kind of expected... But its still a blow to me cos i never expect i will have to go thru another ivf...

To boast yr confidence level... Dr f fet success rate is higher than his fresh cycle.. So u are in good hands... If im not wrong, dr f is the first dr to try fet in spore...

I did not experience spotting aft my af stop for my ivf.. But the flow is heavier than normal cos of the progovona that makes the lining thicker..

Ya i will start my cycle in end march.. So my er and et will be in apr.. Lets support each other.. Hope we will succeed together!!
Thou age is not on yr side but u have good odds.. U respond well to the stimming drugs.. Good embryos.. And the best part is yr ovulation is so timed... Mine was 35days cycle so i normally ovulate on d21... Which is too late for fertilisation cos dr f told me the egg will be too old.. And my egg shell is thick for normal fertilsation.. I only knew i have this problem when i did ivf.. No wonder past trying and iuis have failed.. Means i cant conceive naturally.. I only hv chance in ivf with icis..

U are doing accup now? Are u on chinese herbs? Cos dr f dont suggest we take chinese herbs.. He say accup is fine.. I think accup helps to build up lining for ivf..

Lyn
Happy cny to u too!! How are u?
U doing ivf also? Cos last yr u wrote u will be trying ivf this yr.. Hows yr progress with pc wong?

Post Number: 60
Posted on Saturday, February 20, 2010 - 10:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby

You are a late sleeper...don't worry...your odds are good as you are young and have no hormonal problems. You will defintely make it. Just a matter of luck and perserverence. Sometimes we just have to take defeat in our stride, grit our teeth and press on for what we hold dear. When we start to compare why others get preggie easily why others can BFP with the worse grades embies when we can't, it cuts into us. For now, i tell myself that I will try until God tells me it's useless like when I no longer can produce eggs...

I go for acu at Raffles. Am taking herbs for now but will likely stop when I start my cycle especially if it is a medicated FET. Do you know why Dr f ordered medicated FET for u rather than natural since u do ovulate every month? Or is it his usual protocol so that can control cycle better? I am a bit scared to take more estrogen. I go for regular breast screening as I have a few breast cysts and fibriods plus my mother had breast cancer...

Lyn

thanks for your words of comfort. I also tear when reading your friend's story. Are you going for ivf with dr f or dr wong?

Post Number: 54
Posted on Saturday, February 20, 2010 - 10:54 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi pinkbubbles,
welcome to the thread and good luck for your ivf.

LYn (lady1978)

Post Number: 1657
Posted on Saturday, February 20, 2010 - 12:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby, miraclebaby, most likely dr f but now have to plan again coz DH told me he may have to be station in bangkok for half a year.... so i m still thinking. Nuh is out of my consideration liao coz its too far for me and if DH is out of town i have to travel by public transport... dun want to make myself so stressed up by all these coz ivf alone is already stressful enuff...

LYn (lady1978)

Post Number: 1658
Posted on Saturday, February 20, 2010 - 12:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby and miracle baby, care to share the cost of a fresh cycle and a FET with dr f with me?

vinwee (vinwee)
Username: vinwee

Post Number: 516
Posted on Saturday, February 20, 2010 - 12:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Happy Lunar New Year. Gong Hey Fatt Choy.... Wish everyone have a good year ahead. And lot of baby dust to everyone here.

Baby,
I already gave birth. And confinemen end soon... :-)

Dream,
How's things?

Lyn,
How are you lately?

Miraclebaby,
Take good rest till your nxt FET. Dun stress up yourself. I guess to success in IVF, there's a lot of factors taking in. So please don't stress up if you got good grade of embbies or not in your coming FET.

LYn (lady1978)

Post Number: 1659
Posted on Saturday, February 20, 2010 - 12:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi pinkbubble, u juz starting jabs or doing egg transfer liao?

LYn (lady1978)

Post Number: 1660
Posted on Saturday, February 20, 2010 - 12:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi vinwee, u gave birth liao... never touch ur tummy before before u popped... Which day u delivered? Wish u all the best and ur baby too...

Post Number: 61
Posted on Saturday, February 20, 2010 - 1:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lyn

My fresh cycle cost $16,500. This excludes $500 plus for freezing embies and $711 for the insurance. I was on gonal f which is more exp though. Did dr indicated what your dosage would be? For FET, Baby says it's about $2k.

For FET, am thinking of not buying the insurance. It's quite exp and it's not a happy thing to get the policy after you have failed. The coverage is also not great, about $100 per day for the premature babies subject to $50,000 max. Anyway, am thinking that it would be highly unlikely for me to get triplets given my past failures...will just take the risk...worse case,I can fork out the $50,000 coverage if I dig into my savings...

LYn (lady1978)

Post Number: 1661
Posted on Saturday, February 20, 2010 - 2:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Miraclebaby, i think my dosage will be high this time but not finalised yet... Did u use medisave for ur fresh cycle? wow thats alot of money u have spent on ivf, imagine that amount of money can give our child a better life or maybe will can go europe for twice... heart pain leh...

Insurance can only cover max of 50k? 50k for 1 bb or 50k for the entire bill? Ya i agree that its heart broken and feels the money for the insurance had been gone to the drain if failure does happens....

LYn (lady1978)

Post Number: 1662
Posted on Saturday, February 20, 2010 - 2:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Miraclebaby, r u working at the moment?

Post Number: 62
Posted on Saturday, February 20, 2010 - 2:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lyn

The $16,500 is before medisave. I only stimulated 10 days, if do longer will be more exp. But remember a baby is priceless...I am working in an investment bank. Work is stressful as I cover regional work which requires travelling and I have to do conference calls into the wee hours of the
night sometimes. During ivf, I worked from my blackberry.
BUT, I am priortising on having a baby this year, so my work
can take a poor second or third place. Heck if my boss cuts
my bonus etc. I told him as much after the ivf that I will taking another 2 weeks off for FET.

Ya, the insurance only pays out $50,000 max for all babies combined and $100 per day for the lower grade ICU or $300 per day for NICU. You know, the final policy comes after you receive news of the failure and it's so upsetting, just feel like throwing the whole thing away...

baby (babe79)

Post Number: 1379
Posted on Sunday, February 21, 2010 - 5:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

miraclebaby

We really much alike... I been v reluctant to try out ivf tats y i tried 4 iuis due to the hormonal drugs needed for ivf... My mum also has breast ca.. And i removed breast fibriods two times.. Been gng for regular screening...

We really can be each other friend... We have so many in common...

Dr f prefers medicted fet cos he can control better.. Else cycle has to be cancelled due to no ovulation or missed ovulation..

U are doing accup at raffles.. V exp?

Vinwee
Congrats!! Boy or gal?
U delivered naturally?wana share w us dr f skills and yr labour?
Is yr wound pain?

kikigirl (kikigirl)

Post Number: 9
Posted on Sunday, February 21, 2010 - 2:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi pink bubbles,

welcome to this thread.

Hi micrable baby,

I never tot of IVF cost so high. I guess i need to save more money before considering IVF. I have been taking chinese medication for 2 years to "po" my womb. the dr (from Yishun) say i am improving and not as weak as last time. Hopefully, can increase my chances of conceiving.

Post Number: 2
Posted on Sunday, February 21, 2010 - 2:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Lyn, I have just started the injection on friday, lucrin & 375mg Gonal F. Doctor says the whole cycle should finish by the first week of March.

I am going to be 40 this yr, so miraclebaby, you are not alone on this, about our age not being on our side. I wish you best of luck in your next FET cycle!!

I am also new to Singapore, so joining this thread has also been very encouraging that we are all here to give each other support!

Can I ask if anyone feel any discomfort while on the jab, i.e. dizziness or wobbly leg?

Post Number: 2900
Posted on Sunday, February 21, 2010 - 5:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi pinkbubbles when I was on superfact I was dizzy. I was v lightheaded. Dr said it is not s common side effect but is a side effect.

Post Number: 63
Posted on Sunday, February 21, 2010 - 8:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Baby

I go to acu at Raffles as I like the acupuncturist and it is convenient for me...can go before work as bugis is quite near raffles place. I stop thinking about the money after a while... Just take it as part of monthly household essentials. Each acu session cost about $80.

I scheduled appointment to see my breast specialist mid mar to do ultrasound. Better to get a clean bill of health before I do FET with peace of mind. I am not afraid of the physical aspects of ivf other than the increased risk of cancer. But what to do...already tried naturally for quite a while already

Kiki

Your cost may be $3k or so less if you use a low dosage of drugs. Can also use medisave and get government grant if you do ivf at govt hospitals... Even without the grant, their cost is like half to two thirds of O&G's but the care is not the same....

Pinkbubbles

I don't recall feeling dizzy...mostly just feel tired while the eggs were growing.

Post Number: 64
Posted on Sunday, February 21, 2010 - 8:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Vinwee

Congrats...must be such a joy to hold your baby. Do share with us how dr f is for pregnancy care and delivery. We also hope to get there soon.

Angeline

Sometimes we need to wait for the best timing . Forcing through the iui may also not get a good result and you would have spent at least $750 for each try. Take care.

puppet (puppet)
Username: puppet

Post Number: 332
Posted on Monday, February 22, 2010 - 8:46 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Happen to pop by this thread and read some of your postings!! Used to participate in this thread with some old timers..My twins, 1 girl and 1 boy are coming to one year old this Sunday, conceived through ivf done through Dr Foong. I am very lucky to strike at my 1st try..I treasure all the little moments with my babies. And i would like to tell you all that everything that you are going through right now is worth it! :-) As time comes closer to their birthday, i also recall back on the ivf days and also their deliveries.

I was on TCM with Marine Parade sinseh for 3-4 months before i tried ivf, during ivf i stopped as he would not dispense herbs to interfere with ivf process, did acupunture during the ivf 2-3 times a week, I believe these help to prepare my baby as well, so do give a try..also drink home made chicken essence 2 to 3 times a week..strip chicken of its skin, let the juice drip into a bowl over steaming..you would get about 1 bowl. Can get a pot especially to brew chicken essence. more convenient.

Now my babies are getting very cute, my gal babbling a lot. my boy is more quiet. They are like cheese and chalk, very different. they get jealous of each other and fight for my attention. I am still breastfeeding them and they are really very close to me, stick to me whenever i am in sight :-)

Would like to wish you all all the best! Lots of baby dust!! Do not give up hope!! :-)

Post Number: 3
Posted on Monday, February 22, 2010 - 10:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

miraclebaby, which breast specialist are you seeing?

Coincidentally, I also had a breast surgery last July, found out I had 2 lumps on my left breasts while on a consultation with a fertility specialist in HK, had the surgery immediately in the following week. To be on the safe side, I'd better find a breast specialist here too, so would be grateful if you could share who you are seeing, thanks.

kikigirl (kikigirl)

Post Number: 10
Posted on Monday, February 22, 2010 - 1:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Pinkbubbles,

I have 1 small lump on my right breats too. But the size of the lump are getting smaller since i first discover in year 2008. Dr didn't push me to do surgery and she say is alright to keep and I need to do yearly check up on my breast.

Hi miraclebaby,
i don't entitle the govt grant as i am a PR. Just wondering why the cost is less than 3K. is the cost of IVF depends on age and also the dosage? i am going to be 30 this year. Thanks

Post Number: 4
Posted on Monday, February 22, 2010 - 3:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

kikigirl, which doctor are you seeing for your annual check-up on your breasts?

Post Number: 65
Posted on Monday, February 22, 2010 - 4:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Pinkbubbles

I go to Prof Walter Tan at Raffles Hospital. He has good bedside manners (you don't feel funny when he examines one's breasts) and is very experience. He is also a plastic surgeon so imagine his stitching should be fine. I also like the breastcare nurse there a lot. She is very reassuring. I have about 7 cysts and fibriods but they are all below 1 cm and thus was adviced not to remove them. I could never feel these lumps on my own as they are pretty small. Ivf can result in increase the size of these lumps...touchwood...so I need to
monitor.

Kiki

Think ivf with dr f can cost as little as $12,000. If you are young and have good ovarian reserve, then no need as much drugs to get the eggs. People with pcos normally don't use high dosages as they have many eggs....

Post Number: 5
Posted on Monday, February 22, 2010 - 6:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks for the information miraclebaby, I will get a check-up by him soon, now that I am on fertility drugs, I need to monitor more closely. My 3 nodules were benign, but since I was seeing a fertility specialist at the time, and was going to do IVF with her in HK, she strongly advised that I had them removed before any IVF treatment. She didn't want to take any chances of them growing or even changing due to the fertility drugs I would be taking if I was to undergo IVF procedure.

Post Number: 55
Posted on Monday, February 22, 2010 - 6:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

miraclebaby,
tks for your support. your support always make me comfortable. i wish you all the best for FET. by the way, u can't use medisave or get gov grant for ivf in gleneagles?

puppet,
u r so lucky to strike twins. i can imagine how cute they are. last Dec, when i was waiting for consultation with dr foong, i saw one lady brought twins (also one girl and one boy) to the clinic. i was so happy to see how cute they are and at the same time, i felt like crying. i'll treasure every moment with my baby like u do if God give me a chance to be a mother.

kikigirl (kikigirl)

Post Number: 11
Posted on Tuesday, February 23, 2010 - 5:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Miraclebaby,

Thanks for the advise. i am not sure whether i have good ovarian reserve or not? hopefully is ok.

Pinkbubbles,

I went to Mont A for my annual checkup. I think i will consider to visit Prof Walter Tan for my upcoming check up.

LYn (lady1978)

Post Number: 1677
Posted on Tuesday, February 23, 2010 - 11:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi puppet, ya so envy u....
Did u BFP on a fresh or FET cycle? If u dun mind sharing...

Post Number: 66
Posted on Wednesday, February 24, 2010 - 11:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Haha...at this rate, we will all have the same breast specialist and gynae. The breast care nurse is called Valencia, so ask for her when you make the appointment.

Angeline
You can use medisave for IVF at Glen E but no grant and total gross cost would be also much higher (compared to KK).

Kiki

The way to check ovarian reserve is to scan for follicle count and also to check FSH hormone on D2. Dr would already have an idea of your follicle count as he has scanned you better. Since you are young, he probably will not ask you to take blood unless you are going to do IUI or IVF.

Hi Baby
How are you doing?

Dr F says I can use my April cycle for the FET, so we will indeed be cycle buddies. Really hope we can succeed together and this is the last time we have to go through IVF! April would be my 3rd cycle after the IVF i.e. I would have rested for 2 cycles. How many cycles did you rest before FET?

Dr F does not have a reason for me for the failure. He said that the ET went well, the lining was good and embryos were good. The only thing he said could be some people have problems implanting due to artificially high level of estrogen from the jabs (compared to normal cycle) and this will not be the case for FET as there are no jabs involved. In fact, there are patients who don't go through the ET in fresh cycle and freeze everything because of this issue or they don't transfer their best embies during fresh cycle. Dr F said his FET success is as high as fresh. Tells me I must not look backwards now, I should move forward and the good thing for me he said is that my frozen embies are of good quality and he hopes to give me twins this time. I really hope so, told him my confidence level is almost zero now. I have the option of transferring all 4 remaining embies for FET (1 10-cell, 3 8-cell). Still thinking...likely they will thaw all 4, if all survive, transfer 4 if not, whatever is left. Quite risky but doesn't really make sense to leave 1 embie behind also. I asked him why they didn't transfer my 10-cell embie the first round, he said that sometimes, if the embie grows too fast also not good so 10-cell is not as ideal as 8, but still considered acceptable. Tells me Dr Liow does ICSI one egg at a time, the 10 cell embie could be the 1st egg that he did work on etc, so not all get to 8 cell at the same time, can be 1 hour later/earlier or so and still not considered worse quality. Anyway all 4 embies are grade 1-2, not grade 1 but Dr tells me no need to be grade 1 to implant...some people even impant with Grade 2 and 3 embies...am I as lucky?

I asked Dr F to scan me to check whether there were any side effects from the IVF drugs. Good thing no ovarian cysts or endometriosis recurrence. Dr said I ovulated around early morning of D15 this month, lining about 10.5mm. Regardless, he stills wants me to go on medicated FET...says he can control the cycle better and he tells me his success rate for medicated FET is better. I told him "whatever you say". His approach is different from KK where they will put you on natural FET if you are regular.

I did ask him how soon one can do a Fresh cycle if FET does not work...TOUCHWOOD(!!!), he said immediately. During FET, in fact ovaries are resting as you don't ovulate if you take Progynova. Compared to you, I definitely have the pressure of time...Dr F tells me I have enough follicles to work with (when he scanned me this time) but can't help worrying. Hopefully, FET will work and I don't have to go back to drawing board.

Dr F is a family man, so we need to avoid all the quarter months for IVF (Mar, June, Sep, Dec) as he will take like a week off in these months.

Post Number: 6
Posted on Wednesday, February 24, 2010 - 12:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Miraclebaby, thanks for sharing your experience in deepth, and I truly wish you success in April!!

I went for my scan this morning, after 5 days of jabs, he says everything seems to be looking positive, I have 6-8 follicles on each ovary, so hopefully he will try to get as much as my body will produce in the next few days. My initial thought would be implanting 3 embryos back, if they are of good quality, giving me 60% success rate of conceiving one child. Keeping my fingers crossed that all is going well and besides a little tired, I have otherwise minimal side effects.

Wish me luck!! :-)

Post Number: 7
Posted on Wednesday, February 24, 2010 - 1:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

miraclebaby, hope you don't mind me asking, have you been pregnant or given birth before?

Can anyone share if they already have children but still trying for more through IVF?

LYn (lady1978)

Post Number: 1680
Posted on Wednesday, February 24, 2010 - 5:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi miraclebaby, is dr foong appt difficult to get nowadays?

Post Number: 8
Posted on Wednesday, February 24, 2010 - 8:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lyn, are you starting treatment with Dr F soon?

I am currently with him for IVF, not sure if his appointments are all full, but whenever I go in the morning, the clinic seems to be quite quiet!

Post Number: 67
Posted on Wednesday, February 24, 2010 - 9:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lyn

Dr F's appointment has been packed back-to-back since post CNY. In fact, Angeline (Dr F's nurse) was super stressed yesterday when I was at the clinic. She said to me that she would rather have no holiday break as she has been having difficulty slotting people in and you know that Dr F does not squeeze in patients unless it is absolutely necessary eg. for IVF scans etc. I even told her that I will stop recommending Dr F to other people and she said "yes, pls stop". I imagine that was not a career promoting statement for her, and joked with her "not to say this too loud" and for her to ask Dr to employ another nurse. It doesn't help that Dr is going away in March again, but at least then, she said that other drs can cover while over CNY, everyone is out...So, my recommendation is plan and book appointment early. I already booked my end Mar appointment.

Dr was looking a bit overworked yesterday. I only saw him at 5.15pm (for a 4.45pm appointment), 1st time I had to wait 30mins to see him due to the spillover. He was still patient, comforting and nice to me, so no compliants. His day generally starts at 8am with egg collection, then clinic starts at 8.30am, during lunch, he does IUIs and urgent appointments. Post lunch, he does ET and then starting 6pm, I think he clears emails and calls patients, and hopefully no one gives birth or has an emergency during the night...so he does work pretty hard.

LYn (lady1978)

Post Number: 1682
Posted on Wednesday, February 24, 2010 - 11:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Pinkbubbles, i shld be seeing him soon....

Miraclebaby, its not easy becoming a dr and even more tough to be a gynae and fertility doc...pity him. As for his nurse,she did tell me before she is not happy working there but till now still there leh...

LYn (lady1978)

Post Number: 1683
Posted on Wednesday, February 24, 2010 - 11:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Miraclebaby, i thougt there was a new nurse assisting dr f when i saw her last year? Perhaps cannot tahan the workload?

happyhippo (happyhippo)
Username: happyhippo

Post Number: 99
Posted on Thursday, February 25, 2010 - 9:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

do u know what are the dates that dr f will be away in march?

puppet (puppet)

Post Number: 335
Posted on Thursday, February 25, 2010 - 11:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Angeline,

I am sure you will have the chance..Do persist on!

Lyn,
I striked on a fresh cycle on 1st try ..Actually i only had 14 eggs, only 11 fertilised and only 3 survived on the ET day and all 3 went in..Imagine my shock on ET day when Dr Foong told me. If i recall correctly not grade 1 eggs either..I just hope for the best and was prepared to go for another fresh cycle again..As it turned out, i got very lucky!!

So now if i want 3rd child, i would either hope to conceive naturally or go for a fresh cycle as i did not have any stored.

baby (babe79)

Post Number: 1380
Posted on Friday, February 26, 2010 - 2:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

miraclebaby

I rested for 2 cycles too for my fet.. Two normal afs excluding the af that came right aft the failed cycle.. It took quite long before my cycle return to normal..

I had my pap smear test done when i saw dr f last wk.. The results is normal but show i hv yeast infection.. This is my second ps test.. The first one also show i have yeast infection.. U gals experience this before?

U mentioned gals with high estrogen due to the drugs will hinder implantation.. How do we know our estrogen level is too high? If we know then we can avoid doing fresh transfer.. Can wait for fet..

I just bought medicine for my yeast infection frm pharmacy.. Only need to insert once... Cos dr f did not mention what dose to get.. I just went for the one day theraphy... Is it ok?

U hv nice embryos.. At least u have alot of 8cell embies.. I dont hv 10cell.. I even hv 6 and 7 cell embies.. So u hv good chance.. Most likely we be cycle buddies.. But mine will be longer cos its a fresh cycle with suppression..

Post Number: 68
Posted on Friday, February 26, 2010 - 10:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Baby

Did you treat the yeast infection after the 1st pap smear? How long ago was it? Best to call the clinic or email Dr F on whether the medicine dosage is fine. I think we need to make sure that all infections are cleared before IVF to maximise our chances as things like this can affect implantation. I never had yeast infection before but heard that yogurt and wearing breathable underwear (like cotton) will minimise recurrence.

I didn't ask Dr whether can tell if I fall into the high estrogen category cause hopefully I don't have to do another fresh cycle. All our E2 levels would definitely be higher than normal as can be seen from the blood tests which he makes us take during the jabs. Probably when you fail your fresh cycle despite good looking embies and womb lining, they will suspect this. Perhaps you should ask Dr F and ask if any tests can be done. I also hear that some people also have antibodies that affect implantation...hopefully we do not fall into this category. Last thing we want is to waste all our best embies (almost like murdering them) when nothing can stick due to hormonal environment...

When is your expected ET date? Mine should be around 20 April if all goes well. Let's look forward and be POSITIVE that we will succeed!

Post Number: 9
Posted on Friday, February 26, 2010 - 12:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Did you do a 3 or 5 day transfer?

baby (babe79)

Post Number: 1381
Posted on Friday, February 26, 2010 - 3:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

miraclebaby

yup i treat my first yeast infection after my first pap smear test which is two years ago...i took oral tablet cos dont dare to insert... but now since ivf...inserting medicine is nothing..haha....

dr f emailed me saying one dose is fine cos the dosage is high....

im now waiting for my af to come to book my d21 appt with dr f.... i predict my et will be either mid or late apr...

LYn (lady1978)

Post Number: 1691
Posted on Friday, February 26, 2010 - 6:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Puppet, did u do D3 or D5 transfer? Well, yours is the best grade but u have made it so afterall in ivf we need some luck and also abit of fate lor..

vinwee (vinwee)

Post Number: 517
Posted on Friday, February 26, 2010 - 9:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby,

I hv yeast infection as well when I do my previous pap smear. But it's not a serious one. And I don't used any medication at all.

vinwee (vinwee)

Post Number: 518
Posted on Friday, February 26, 2010 - 10:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Miraclebaby,

Ya... is such joyful to hold your little one. I'm taking care myself at night. My Baby always gv me a smile aft feeding. And it's fast... one mth over and it's like yesterday despite the night feed and hv to wake up in the mid of the night for feeding and pumping milk.

Dr. F pregnancy care is super. And his deliver and stitches all v good.. :-) No Complains at all... I have v good exprience with him so far.

You will be there soon. Jia You.....

Post Number: 69
Posted on Friday, February 26, 2010 - 10:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Pinkbubbies

I did D3 transfer, hence the 8-cells embies. Don't think dr is a fan of D5 transfer. If you only have 3 or less embies, Dr sometimes does D2 transfer to my understanding.

puppet (puppet)

Post Number: 336
Posted on Saturday, February 27, 2010 - 1:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Lyn,

Did D3 transfer ..yes, i am very lucky!!!

time flies!! like what vinwee mentioned, it's like yesterday when we kan cheong and have to set alarm to wake up every 3 hours at night to feed our little tiny new born babies! I still feed them on demand at night after their 11.30pm formula feed.. really treasure my moments with them

baby (babe79)

Post Number: 1382
Posted on Saturday, February 27, 2010 - 6:36 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

vinwee

How cum dr f didnt ask u to take medicine for yr yeast infection?he ask me to take for my two pap smears where it show yeast infection... Dr f told me that it wont go away by itself..

Time really flies.. I still rem the times where u are still trying natural.. And now u are already a mother.. Hope its our turn soon...

Miraclebaby
U dont worry too much ok.. U hv good chances.. Btw there is option to put in 4 embies? I tot max is 3?
Did dr f drain urine aft the transfer? Cos i didint for my fet as my fresh transfer make me bleed aft the nurse pull out the catherer tube... So dr f avoid cathering me.. But he had a hard time trying to transfer for me cos my bladder is not full enuff..

Post Number: 70
Posted on Saturday, February 27, 2010 - 8:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby

To put in 4, you must be more than 35 years and failed Ivf before. Sadly, I meet both criteria. You are still young, so for you is 3. I was asking dr during the fresh whether 4 was an option. At that time, he refused cos he said embies were good and risk of multiples is high. But no bfp...so now I will go with remaining 4 cos doesn't really make sense to go through another ET just with 1 embie.

I had the catheter draining. Actually dr didn't give me a choice on ET. I didn't bleed but I thought the catheter was worse than the transfer..

Post Number: 71
Posted on Saturday, February 27, 2010 - 8:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby

you will buy the ivf insurance? For 4, the premium is about $2,000. Such a high amount...even more than cost of FET. I am prob not going buy and take the risk.

baby (babe79)

Post Number: 1383
Posted on Saturday, February 27, 2010 - 2:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Miraclebaby

Ya.. The catherer is really worst than the transfer... The putting in part is still bearable.. But the pulling out really hurts and i nearly jump off the bed.. I wonder at that time whether my embies drop off not...

I bout the insurance for both the fresh cycle and the fet.. The 3 embies are exp at 700plus.. Regret buying it.. I may not buy it for my fresh cycle.. I will see how... For yr case of putting in 4 is really v exp...

joyyy (joyyy)
Username: joyyy

Post Number: 547
Posted on Sunday, February 28, 2010 - 1:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi ladies!

hi vinwee, congrats on the smooth delivery!! Is the pain horrible (delivery)? how long u took to recover? What's your first symptom (waterbag broke or contractions or bleeding?) before admitting to hospital?

Any problem with breast feeding or the nurses will teach u all the dos and don'ts?

sorry, so many questions, cos my D DAY is coming soon, so scared.

Post Number: 10
Posted on Sunday, February 28, 2010 - 2:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just a little update, went for 2nd scan yesterday, now ER is scheduled on wed morning. Dr F said I could cut down the Gonal F to 150IU for today and tomorrow, hope that means it is a good sign that I am responding to the drugs!

Wishing all of us get lucky in our next cycle with Dr Foong!!!

✿sunshinebaby✿ (sun96)
Advanced Member
Username: sun96

Post Number: 9075
Posted on Monday, March 01, 2010 - 10:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

joyyy
congras!!! u w Dr F too?? conceived naturally, by IUI or IVF? when u due??
no need to scare... juz relaax and tell yrself, u'll be seeing yr LO soon....

for my case, my bb is overdue... 40 wks liao still dun wan to come out... so Dr F induced 3 days later n he finally came out ^_^

all the best to all mummies trying...

joyyy (joyyy)
Username: joyyy

Post Number: 548
Posted on Monday, March 01, 2010 - 5:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi sunshinebaby,
Congrats to you too!! ya, i'm with Dr F too. mine's conceived by IVF. :-) Baby due soon.

Your inducement painful?

LYn (lady1978)

Post Number: 1704
Posted on Tuesday, March 02, 2010 - 11:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi ladies, checking some info for a frd who is doing FET under dr f soon. For those ladies who had done FET under dr f wat support were u given during 2ww? Any BT done after ET for progesterone level?

baby (babe79)

Post Number: 1384
Posted on Thursday, March 04, 2010 - 2:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lyn
U doing fet? U done yr 2nd ivf aldy?

Im seeing dr f on the 20th mar which is my d21... If everytin goes well.. My er and et should be ard mid apr.. So anxious and afraid.. Not on the injections or procedures but the torturing 2ww and disappointment...

Post Number: 56
Posted on Thursday, March 04, 2010 - 11:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi happyhippo,
dr f will be away from 13/3 to 19/3.
i'm seeing another dr for scan on 15/3. and see dr f again on 20/3.

Post Number: 57
Posted on Thursday, March 04, 2010 - 11:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi baby,
have u done iui or so-iui before considering ivf? is this your first ivf?

✿sunshinebaby✿ (sun96)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 9088
Posted on Thursday, March 04, 2010 - 5:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

joyyy
i admitted ard 9plus tat night and the nurse actually insert stg into my V, can't rem wat's tat... still bearable...
the contraction only start ard 5plus in the next morning...
juz relax yrself ok ^_^

vinwee (vinwee)

Post Number: 531
Posted on Thursday, March 04, 2010 - 5:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby,
My yeast infection is mild one. Dr was saying is quite common especially before menses or after (if am not mistaken). He said so long I can bare with it if any then is ok.

vinwee (vinwee)

Post Number: 532
Posted on Thursday, March 04, 2010 - 5:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Joyyy,

Thanks. Wish you have a smooth delivery.

The pain is not so horrible. Much better than what people told me and what I imagine.

Mine is natural birth.

How long it take to recover? As in? I am able to move around once they allow me to do so. Our womb should take a bit longer but I have no problem and didn't feel any diff aft birth. As the stitches, it's recover pretty fast. Within a week. Dr f do a good job. I dun hv pain aft tat. and recover within a week but of coz first few days u will feel sth there.

Don't have to worry, u will enjoy the delivery process. I scared of pain, if I can do it, so do you.

Yes, I'm in total breastfeed now. There's nurse and the lactation consultation will teach you how to. Anyway, you milk supply will not come in immediately. But you will hv colustrum for your baby. I do feed my baby once formula in the hospital coz baby didn't pass urine that day and they scared the baby got dehydrated. And I have supply more than what my baby drink.

vinwee (vinwee)

Post Number: 533
Posted on Thursday, March 04, 2010 - 5:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sunshinebaby,

Congrats!!! You js delivered not long ago as well?

LYn (lady1978)

Post Number: 1713
Posted on Thursday, March 04, 2010 - 7:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby, i m asking for a frd not myself.....

baby (babe79)

Post Number: 1385
Posted on Friday, March 05, 2010 - 1:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

angeline
Yup i did 4 iuis before with dr f and all failed.. This is my second ivf try .. Failed my first ivf and one fet with dr f.. So many failures hor.. Pretty kan cheong for my upcoming second ivf... How abt u?

✿sunshinebaby✿ (sun96)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 9100
Posted on Friday, March 05, 2010 - 5:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

vinwee
my boi coming to a yr old end of tis mth... ^_^
enjoy the parenthood...
i bf for 9 mths then stop due to work commitment... realli tired but worth it for yr LO... JIA YOU!!!

vinwee (vinwee)

Post Number: 534
Posted on Friday, March 05, 2010 - 6:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sushinebaby,
Totally breastfeeding? Did you pump out? I already back to work and I pump out but didn't pump that often as I hv too much milk supply and my baby only drink abt 1 litre per day the most.

If you totally breastfeed, you just let your boy latch directly when going out?

Pretty tired... emm.... quite sometimes.. hv to feed and pump at night, but time flies. Still surviving...I bet aft 6 mths when they are in semi solid shld be better...

Post Number: 58
Posted on Friday, March 05, 2010 - 7:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi baby,
i tried naturally for more than 2yrs. found out my hubby sperm quality is low. only 1%. now dr f is monitoring my follicles' growth. this cycle, i started taking clomid. and dr f said he will do iui after adjusting my cycle. sooooooo depressing to wait to get pregnant. especially when ppl around me getting pregnant one by one and keep asking me when is my turn.
how about u? what is your problem to get pregnant? mind sharing with me?

happyhippo (happyhippo)
Username: happyhippo

Post Number: 101
Posted on Friday, March 05, 2010 - 9:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi angeline
thks for info re dr f's leave.
which dr will u be seeing when dr f is on leave?
can i ask when r u starting ur injections? long or short protocol?
tks

lena soon (xuan2lena)
Username: xuan2lena

Post Number: 185
Posted on Saturday, March 06, 2010 - 10:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

angeline,

i understd how you feel...its the same for me also... hate it when pple keep asking me when i'm going for No.2 and other frens get preg so easily...arrgh.. was yr hubz v.depressed after finding out? my hubz is kinda upset abt it..and i find it hard to talk to him abt it..he's so stressed up nowadays..sometimes i wonder if maybe i shldnt hv gone to see dr f..then wont find out the root cause...

kikigirl (kikigirl)

Post Number: 12
Posted on Saturday, March 06, 2010 - 8:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Babe/ miraclebaby,

Just done my HSG this morning. i just wondering wat is the procedure of IUI and whats the different between So-IUI.

Post Number: 59
Posted on Sunday, March 07, 2010 - 12:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi happyhippo,
angeline (dr f's nurse) told me the dr name that i'm seeing. but i forgot.
i don't know what is long or short protocol. dr f never mention to me before. so far i'm taking clomid tablet (1 tablet everyday from D2 to D6) starting from this cycle. i'll see dr f on 20/03. i guess he will tell me more about it and i'll share with u after i see him.

hi lena,
my hubby is ok even though sometimes he is a bit sad about the situation. i'm the only one get depressed :-( because i love children. even though we have been trying for more than 2 yrs, we have been married for 4 yrs and i always wanted to get children since we married. it was my hubby decision to plan for it 2yrs after we got married. but i don't blame him. he had his own reason.
u mean your hubby also have low sperm quality? mind sharing with me how many %?

baby (babe79)

Post Number: 1386
Posted on Sunday, March 07, 2010 - 6:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

angeline
I dont wats my problem... Dr f say there is nothing wrong.. My tubes is unblocked.. No pcos.. No endo.. Uterus normal.. Hb sperms is ok... I ovulate every mth thou on the late side.. Been trying for many yrs.. From using opk.. Till doing iuis and ivf.. Now doing nothing. Just waiting to do my second fresh ivf.. How abt u?

lena soon (xuan2lena)
Username: xuan2lena

Post Number: 186
Posted on Sunday, March 07, 2010 - 10:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi angeline,

actually our situation quite complicated ah..as you know, we tried successfully (quite fast also) for #1..then i decided to wait at least 1.5 yrs before trying for #2, even though my hubz thot we shld hv started earlier. (by then I alrdy wanted 4 coz my #1 was and is still a v.easy child)..

Then after TTC unsuccessfully for 1 yr, we finally went back to our old gynae and the gynae upon 1st diagnosis say bcoz I'm PCO, so tat's the whole problem... which of course made me super depressed for mths..arrgh... then after a few rounds of clomid, (and also bcoz of the super long waiting hrs of the old gynae, and his bo-chup attitude), i decided to switch gynae and my fren actually referred me to Dr F.

I really felt that God sent an angel to help us by bringing us to Dr F coz at the first consultation, he says that both of us needs to do some "tests" to examine where the fault lies ah.. then "ta-dan", hubz sperm analysis was not favourable. (cant tell you here the % coz I promised him that I wont tell on e forum ah..) Dr F says that although i'm PCO, i'm still ovulating..which means that conceiving is possible..but now is poor hubz is kinda depressed, emo, and in mood swings..juz like how I felt a few mths ago..i only picked myself up after 6mths upon learning it.. so i tink its still kinda early for him bah.. he's pretty upset abt it...and causing alot of stress on himself..sigh..and sometimes i also dont know how to talk / approach him on this topic.. contemplated IUI before..but i rem u / some ladies sayg tat the success rate is abt 15% only..and i'm sure if we raised the stakes, the expectations and disappointment (if unsuccessful) is also bigger.. so i also dont dare to push for anything now..coz i scare later he become even more disappointed then jialat..

Post Number: 72
Posted on Monday, March 08, 2010 - 8:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Kiki

IUI is the process of putting washed sperm in the uterus. There are 3 types of IUI to my understanding. They are:
1. Natural cycle IUI i.e. no medication
2. Clomid IUI
3. SO-IUI i.e. puregon injections, sometimes with clomid combination.

The success for #3 is highest as you normally ovulate more than 1 egg but need to self-inject and would cost more than $ 1,000. # 1 is like normal intercourse and #2 helps to regularise the ovulation.

kikigirl (kikigirl)

Post Number: 13
Posted on Monday, March 08, 2010 - 10:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI Miraclebaby,

Thank you for your info. I am waiting for Dr. F to call me today for my HSG results. Not sure whether he will advise me to take up IUI process or not.

baby (babe79)

Post Number: 1387
Posted on Monday, March 08, 2010 - 6:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

miraclebaby
Im seeing dr f on the 20th which is my d21... So i thk my et will be somewhere ard mid of apr.. How abt u? Did dr f tell u what is yr infertility problem?

Post Number: 73
Posted on Monday, March 08, 2010 - 7:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby

I expect ET to be on 20 April onwards. Depends on how long this March cycle will be and then I add 14 days for the lining build-up and another 3 days later for ET. My Feb cycle was 28 days. My problem is mild endometriosis.

You start suprefact on 20 March? Dr F may give you lucrin this time...he said suprefact stock was low in Jan. I am seeing Dr F on 22 Mar, during which he will give me the progynova for the medicated FET.

Think positive ya? I also alternate between being confident one minute and then this fear of failure creeps in again. Think people like us who have tasted failure will not be to set aside this fear completely, but positive energies is important...so chin up!

Am going for a short holiday for 3 days to Krabi over this weekend to relax before FET. Are you doing anything to prepare for the IVF cycle? Are you continuing with your acu?

Post Number: 60
Posted on Tuesday, March 09, 2010 - 4:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi lena,
tks for sharing. :-)

hi baby,
very strange to hear your problem (when there is no problem).
for me so far i'm ovulating every month but most on the late cycle. so, dr f wants to adjust my cycle to 28days. my tubes are unblocked. dr f said my uterus is normal. but he didn't check endo or cysts. last time, how they check your endo?
so far the only problem we found out that my hubby sperm quality is low. he is now on medicines. hope it will improve.
i wish u good luck for your ivf. :-)

baby (babe79)

Post Number: 1388
Posted on Tuesday, March 09, 2010 - 10:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

miraclebaby
Yup im also gng on a short trip before my ivf.. Heard hong kong lizi got twins frm ivf.. So lucky and so envious... Hope we are as lucky to strike!! Hvt start accup yet.. Been lazy.. Heard cant do too much accup.. So i tot of starting accup when i start my injections... Suprefact is low in stock? So strange.. Wats the diff between suprefact and lurcin? I know kkh uses lucrin... Cheaper is it? Hope to use bk suprefact and puregon.. Cos i react well to them... Fet is easy and stress free.. So dont worry too much.. No injections needed... Just take pygonova..

Augeline
Ya i also find it strange on wats my problem... Thou without lap there is no way to tell for sure whether one had endo.. But from v scan.. Dr f says everytin looks normal... But even one has endo.. Ivf shb help... Its frustrating to not know wats the problem.. At least if i know i hv blocked tube problem, then ivf solves it.. But its scary to know there is no problem but still cant work.. I can only play with luck now...

gael (gael)
Username: gael

Post Number: 25
Posted on Tuesday, March 09, 2010 - 11:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have been seeing Dr F since 2001, he is a very nice and detail Dr tats make me still seeing him till now even for my normal checkup or Pap test.

My C-sect date will be on 16 April, i'm wondering to get 1 bedder or 2 bedder due to the hospital bill. Dr F ask me to set aside $10k due to i'm having twins and now GlenE dun give package for twins..Dr F mention it unfair for his patients cos many for them is having twins or more.

Anyone just give birth or having twins at GlenE, kindly share ur hospital bill and medisave claimable amt with me pls....
I wanted to get single bed yet worry tat the bill will be very ex.

Tks....

Gabrielle (gypsy)
Username: gypsy

Post Number: 272
Posted on Thursday, March 11, 2010 - 9:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Gael,
Congratulations on the twins. I had twins with Dr Foong about 2 1/2 years ago and then, it was about 10k even though my twins didn't go to special care or anything. It was a c-section with an epidural. I had a one bedder too.

The one bedder is a good idea because when you have 2 babies in the room with you, it tends to get pretty cramped, especially if you have visitors.

I can't remember how much I claimed from Medisave though. You can ask the hospital when you do your pre-admission paper work.

If you have any more questions, you can PM me.

✿sunshinebaby✿ (sun96)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 9111
Posted on Thursday, March 11, 2010 - 4:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

vinwee
all on BM except night feed on FM... b4 back to work, i'll latch him and pump out the excess to store... i'll latch him direct when outside
once back to work, i didn't latch him anymore but still continue to pump...
realli tiring when u back to work but worth it as BM still the best for our child... ^_^

✿sunshinebaby✿ (sun96)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 9112
Posted on Thursday, March 11, 2010 - 4:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

congras gael!!!

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use