SingaporeMotherhood.com * Motherhood, Pregnancies And Babies * Advice Needed: Creams & Oils to prevent Stretchmarks < Previous Next >

lime_n_liliac (lime_n_liliac)
Username: lime_n_liliac

Post Number: 3
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 12:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi! I was just given some Emu Oil and Lanolin Cream by a friend who recently came back from a holiday.

Anyone have any advice if it's safe to use emu oil and lanolin cream on my tummy to prevent stretchmarks?

vone (vone)
Username: vone

Post Number: 1943
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 10:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi lime,

i used emu oil on my tummy 2 prevent stretchmarks. it's safe coz d oil is recommended 2 me by my gynae. if u r not sure, mayb u wanna cfm wif ur gynae. :-)

Post Number: 4
Posted on Thursday, November 24, 2005 - 6:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi vone

That's a good idea! I'll bring my bottle with me to my gynae appt next week so she can read the 'ingredients' listed :-)

I've read so many good things about Emu Oil. It seems it's good for carpal tunnel and muscle aches too!

kikynss (kikynss)
Username: kikynss

Post Number: 9
Posted on Friday, December 09, 2005 - 11:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I noe that u can apply olive oil to prevent stretchmarks

APRIL (aprilyeo)
Username: aprilyeo

Post Number: 1
Posted on Tuesday, January 10, 2006 - 10:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Oils are better than creams for stretch marks...my dear Aussie friend has recommended me to try LM Naturals stretch mark oil as she swears by it.
Is Emu Oil good enough? Im into my 2nd trimester & i really want a highly effective one! heh

;p

LiLacz (lilacz)
Username: lilacz

Post Number: 1114
Posted on Wednesday, January 11, 2006 - 12:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

IM currently using clarins stretch mark oil, going to finish soon. Find it rather ex and dont think i need another bottle since already in my 3rd trimester. How much is this emu oil and where can i get it? Thanks thanks for sharing.

ruggles (ruggles)
Username: ruggles

Post Number: 91
Posted on Wednesday, January 11, 2006 - 10:55 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm currently using olive oil, I started using at abt 1 month and the bottle is still 2/3 full!! I'm now in 19th week and no lines yet.(fingers crossed)

APRIL (aprilyeo)

Post Number: 2
Posted on Wednesday, January 11, 2006 - 5:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yeah, how much is this emu oil? Where can we get it? Pls share with us!! Thanks!

Post Number: 17
Posted on Wednesday, January 11, 2006 - 10:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I've been using my Emu Oil diligently and am just past my 24th week. So far no signs of stretch marks (fingers crossed!) - it runs in my family and comes on pretty early in pregnancy so I've been really worried about that.

I don't know where to get it in Sg yet but I know I'm going to be needing another bottle before junior pops :-) Once I find it I'll post the info rightaway!

Tracy Wong (fluffy596)
Username: fluffy596

Posted on Friday, January 13, 2006 - 12:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

halo!
I strongly recommend the propolis cream, no stretch mark at all for me. Thru' out my pregy i been applying every nite w/o fail. :-)

vone (vone)

Post Number: 2140
Posted on Friday, January 13, 2006 - 12:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i gt my emu oil fr my gynae. if u gals r interested, then i chk it out & let u gals noe.

LiLacz (lilacz)

Post Number: 1135
Posted on Friday, January 13, 2006 - 10:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi vone, how much is the emu oil?

Lyn (lucida)
Username: lucida

Post Number: 24
Posted on Saturday, January 14, 2006 - 10:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just got the clarin oil but really felt the pain in my wallet.. Bought another stretch mark balm from L'occitance known as "Mom & Baby Balm". Intend to use this during day time cos' I dont think I will have time to apply the clarin oil in the morning. So the clarin oil just for night time... Spent almost $100 in total for both product today.. :-(

Is the emu oil expensive? If the price is right I am really interested to get it after I finish the clarin oil.

Connie Lim (red_ridden)
Username: red_ridden

Post Number: 8
Posted on Thursday, January 19, 2006 - 5:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hey Vone,

i would like to know where to get too!
I am using Bodyshop cocoa butter cream now, not too bad but seems like the emu oil is a wonder.

wong (baby26)
Username: baby26

Post Number: 62
Posted on Thursday, January 19, 2006 - 9:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tracy,
the propolis cream issit from forever living?

vone (vone)

Post Number: 2181
Posted on Monday, January 30, 2006 - 7:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi lilacz / lyn, paiseh, 4gt 2 chk back on tis thread. i bought d emu oil fr my gyane. it costs me $30 4 d 50ml btl.

hi connie, i gt it fr my gynae. i dun noe whether u can get it outside.

LiLacz (lilacz)

Post Number: 1180
Posted on Monday, January 30, 2006 - 9:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Lyn, i found a cheap place to get the clarins oil! Got it for about $50 at a shop in Chinatown. Its on the 3rd level of the newly renovated food centre besides OG. Worth it!

Etelle (etelle)
Username: etelle

Post Number: 2195
Posted on Monday, January 30, 2006 - 10:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lilacz
is the shop u talking about call OCEAN??

LiLacz (lilacz)

Post Number: 1184
Posted on Tuesday, January 31, 2006 - 1:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

cant rem the name...I think so.They are selling all kinds of toiletries.

Lim Lynette (lynettelim)
Username: lynettelim

Post Number: 22
Posted on Tuesday, January 31, 2006 - 1:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i think i remember my Gyne told me not to waste any money to buy stretch mark cream as this is a gene thingy..

if you family have that.. u tent to have also.

i apply all diff kinds when i am pregnant also no use.. no cannot wear bikini. :-(

Did any of your gyne suggest that?

Janet (janet_lee88)
Username: janet_lee88

Post Number: 1115
Posted on Thursday, February 02, 2006 - 11:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lynette,
I applied Galenic Elancyl stretch mark cream towards the latter part of my pregnancy. It's not so much because for the stretch marks but more so for the stretching of the skin at the abdomen which causes a lot of itch as the baby grows. Every morning, I applied the cream on the abdomen and if we go to shopping centres, I applied more as the skin tends to be drier. I remembered how I had to find fitting rooms to scratch the tummy.

Lyn (lucida)
Username: lucida

Post Number: 28
Posted on Thursday, February 02, 2006 - 8:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi LiLacz,
Thanks for letting me know about that. I will go Chinatown next time to buy the clarins oil.

Hi Lynette,
Yup. Alot of my friends says that too. But, i think I just have to do something whether it helps or not. Kiasu :p Anyway, I think apply the oil or moisturiser helps to hydrate the skin such that it doesn't itch that much. So I think at least in will help alittle, may it be just a psychological thinggi... hee hee.

Etelle (etelle)
Username: etelle

Post Number: 2223
Posted on Thursday, February 02, 2006 - 9:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi Lyn
i think whether it works or not it's good to try. During my first and second trimester i was lazy in applying the stretch mark cream and then i thought my mother doesn't have it so evry likely i wouldn't have. WHo knows in my 3rd trimester everything popped out and i got plenty of the stretch marks.

Then my gynae was tleling me it has not been proven that stretch mark cream can cure stretch marks....so probably it would only lighten and not make it that obvious but it will not cause it to disappear.

But my advise is if want to start start early. During first trimester can start applying dutifully everyday...dun be like me into last trimester then i regret...:-)

Lim Lynette (lynettelim)

Post Number: 38
Posted on Thursday, February 02, 2006 - 10:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hahaha.. i remember stretching my tummy often also. but i still apply thick cream instead.. as i found that those stretch mark cream is not cheap.

My gyne jokingly said.. save all the money then go for a cosmetic surgery loh... heee :-)

LiLacz (lilacz)

Post Number: 1191
Posted on Thursday, February 02, 2006 - 11:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I think more or less it helps abit cuz it gives the skin some moisture as it stretches. Just like our face, sometimes without moisturiser, its so tight and the dryness may cause lines.I rather be safe than sorry. :p Have started applying since i know im preg at 5th week or 6th week till today (3rd trimester) diligently. Morning and night.So far so good. *touch wood*

I'm a Mummy! (mummytobe)
Username: mummytobe

Post Number: 651
Posted on Friday, February 03, 2006 - 3:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi lynette,

My gynae also said the same thing. Buy stretch mark cream or oil no use one, no need waste money. Just apply baby lotion or baby oil can already. Actually olive oil is the best (according to both my malay massage woman and gynae's nurse) but only if you can stand the oily icky feeling haha i only applied baby lotion throughout my pregnancy once a day at night on my belly and thighs, thankfully not a single stretchmark, heng ah!

Ethel (ethel)
Username: ethel

Posted on Sunday, February 05, 2006 - 8:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i used palmers cocoa butter oil for itchy skin. it has added vitamin E and collegen to help combat stretch marks. It worked perfectly! after birth of my first son, i didnt hv any marks.. i only had stretch marks on my bums coz i was concentrating on my tummy! its cheap only $18 from gaurdian. if yr friends goes to USA, ask them to get for you cost its only US$5!!

wendyheng (wendyheng)
Username: wendyheng

Post Number: 7
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 4:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi janet
I use palmers cocoa butter too but i still got sttetch marks on my stomach.maybe individual's skin different ah. hai. Now i looking for some effective cream to lighen my marks. Now using galenic elancyl cream to lighen marks. btw u have any advice??? Anyone elso noe which cream to use??? thanks

teenoyl (teenoyl)
Username: teenoyl

Post Number: 34
Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 11:40 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I agree with Lynette & Mummy2B too.. It's all in the genes.. with this believe, I didn't apply any cream for my 1st.

For my present 2nd, me experiencing chilling cold during most nights so I am now using "Natalie Prenatal Massage Oil Aromatherapy".

Extract from the bottle itself :
Directions
Massage this blend of rich nut oils and soothing essential oils into abdomen to soften and condition skin, into tops of shoulders and base of spine, ankles and feet to soothe muscles.

Ingredients
Sesame, sweet almond, grapeseed oils, vit E, rose geranium/tangerine/geranium essential oil.

Believe this is the best, as it can eliminate stretch mark, relax the muscles especially the leg-cramps during the last trimester and also to keep body warm. Can easily find the oil in any pharmacy in hospitals. The promoter is well-trained and will assist you.. (I got a 10mins free demo massage too - shiok)..

crystallized (crystallized)
Username: crystallized

Post Number: 29
Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 1:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i applied stretchmark oil tt was safe 4 pregnancy and now i got rashes all over my body, i think i look so freaky! hahaha

i heard tt shea butter is gd 4 stretchmarks. juz wonder issit safe 4 use during pregnancy?

Lim Lynette (lynettelim)

Post Number: 282
Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 6:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

have anybody really seriously considering doing cosmetic sugery?

really feel like going for it!

Just realise that my breast also have stretchmark :-(

wendyheng (wendyheng)
Username: wendyheng

Post Number: 10
Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 5:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ANYONE NOE ANY STRETCH MARKS CREAM TO LIGHTEN MARKS????

APRIL (aprilyeo)

Posted on Tuesday, March 14, 2006 - 11:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

my aussie friend told me abt this stretchmarks oil 100%organic from australia. was thinking of buying in bulk cos she can get discount over there. instead of aus$99, if buy in 12 will be S$50. chk out the website www.lmnaturals.com. so far 3 mummies are interested. anyone else?email me @ ashley_nikkibabe@yahoo.com.sg.

zazan (zazan)
Username: zazan

Posted on Friday, March 17, 2006 - 2:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i used clarins 'tonic' oil during pregnancy... i m more KS, i applied additional body lotion at the last stage of pregnancy. my friend rec me to use clarins 'tonic' swearing its very effectiveness. lucky for me theres no stretch mark aft delivery. well i think it works for me though...

chloe (ch1oe)
Username: ch1oe

Posted on Monday, March 20, 2006 - 12:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

can advise where to buy the clarins oil? any tester available?

I've tested the mothercare stretchmark cream. Though it's cheap, but personally dun like the sticky feel.

zazan (zazan)

Post Number: 41
Posted on Saturday, March 25, 2006 - 6:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

u can get it at those cosmetic shop at toa payoh its cheaper....

Mikel (mikel)
Username: mikel

Post Number: 51
Posted on Saturday, March 25, 2006 - 10:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Chloe
The one from mothercare isn't really effective.

Initially I used the one from mothercare, but stretchmarks still came. Then my gynea recommended one and the stretchmarks reduced in size ... it's from France and not really that ex.

chloe (ch1oe)

Post Number: 34
Posted on Monday, March 27, 2006 - 10:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

zazan,
where in toa payoh and any idea how much they selling? Saw in those big departmental stall and they are selling $78 leh!!! very expensive.

chloe (ch1oe)

Post Number: 35
Posted on Monday, March 27, 2006 - 10:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mikel,
can recommend the brand and where to buy?

zazan (zazan)

Post Number: 43
Posted on Monday, March 27, 2006 - 3:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

chloe
its at tpy central the shop selling all the beauty products...its the stretch of block behind kfc. there r 2shops (one is called yu hwa if i am not wrong) side by side selling the same products u can compare on their prices, cant remember how much abt $50+ or $60+ definately cheaper than what u get fr counter. u wont miss it as there ll be alot of ppl crowding ard to get shampoos, body bath, perfumes etc...

chloe (ch1oe)

Post Number: 36
Posted on Monday, March 27, 2006 - 3:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

zazan,

Post Number: 48
Posted on Monday, March 27, 2006 - 5:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hello

u gals aware tt we can use the clarins bust cream/gel when we r pregnant? my coll has showed me her stetchmarks on her breasts liao. i wan to avoid it, thus wondering if its safe to use clarins during pregnancy?

sasi (sasi)
Username: sasi

Post Number: 16
Posted on Monday, March 27, 2006 - 6:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi crystallized

Its safe to use clarins tonic oil during pregnancy even on bust area.

Post Number: 50
Posted on Monday, March 27, 2006 - 7:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi sasi, i meant their bust cream specially juz 4 breasts. not this tonic oil.

dun dare play wif oil liao. juz had a bad allergy of essential oils 2 wks back tt took me almost 2 wks to heal. better juz stick to my baby oil.

sasi (sasi)

Post Number: 18
Posted on Tuesday, March 28, 2006 - 8:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi crystallized

their bust gel n cream is not for stretchmarks,maybe if u r free u can go down to Clarins counter to have a sample of the Tonic oil,try on a small area to c if u r allergy anot.

Post Number: 54
Posted on Wednesday, March 29, 2006 - 7:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi sasi,

yah think i will do tt. really cannot play a fool liao.

Mikel (mikel)
Username: mikel

Post Number: 56
Posted on Wednesday, March 29, 2006 - 9:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

chloe
The name of the cream is percutalfa. Not too sure if you can get it from outside.

erica (erica)
Username: erica

Post Number: 132
Posted on Friday, April 07, 2006 - 11:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I used mothercare stretchmark cream in the daytime and clarins tonic oil at night. Not a stretch mark at all :-)

chloe (ch1oe)

Post Number: 40
Posted on Monday, April 10, 2006 - 11:23 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I bought the clarins tonic oil but was confused by the instructions. It said that I should apply on damp skin, then FOLLOW BY A SHOWER. Why apply since i need to follow with a shower?? can anyone advise?

gemb@by (crystallized)

Post Number: 99
Posted on Monday, April 10, 2006 - 7:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi ladies, the clarins oil states "stimulating". issit not suitable 4 pregnancy use then? i noe this oil is widely recommended during pregnancy. some mags even recommend it. i find it confusing... and one of the ingredients, if i rem correctly, majoram, is NOT recommended during pregnancy.

bbloh (bbloh)
Username: bbloh

Post Number: 172
Posted on Tuesday, April 11, 2006 - 11:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Didn't use Clarins as it's rather expensive.

But I have develop lots of stretchmark from the 8th month though I applied oil, cream and lotion religiously 2X a day. Think my BB grows too fast for my tummy to handle.

zazan (zazan)

Post Number: 58
Posted on Saturday, April 15, 2006 - 6:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

chloe
yah i was confuse too... anyway what i did was applied then follow by a shower, skip the damp skin that part.

gemb
are you sure ??? as i read the instruction it stated for use during pregnancy too...????

sasi (sasi)

Post Number: 110
Posted on Saturday, April 15, 2006 - 8:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi chole zazan

the oil is safe for pregancy du worry many ppl is using....

Damp skin means...after yr shower when yr skin is stii wet apply the oil on the area u wan then gently massage then just use water to go over it(Shower)dun use shower cream ok then towel dry...........

gemb@by (crystallized)

Post Number: 134
Posted on Saturday, April 15, 2006 - 11:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

zazan,
i noe it says tt the oil is safe 4 use during pregnancy. and many ladies r using it. but juz happened to find out one of the ingredients is not recommended, and coz of the "stimulating" term. i guess its all up to individual. perhaps best to check wif ur gynae.

zazan (zazan)

Post Number: 61
Posted on Tuesday, April 18, 2006 - 2:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sasi,

goodness i was using the wrong method all the while, lucky i ve no stretch mark aft birth... hah i dont like the smell and tummy will be very oily if can't use shower cream aft applying it.

gemb
i didnt noe abt that but ll def check wif my gynae. thanks

wynn pon (wynn)
Username: wynn

Posted on Tuesday, April 25, 2006 - 2:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi..i would also like to recommend propolis cream to prevent stretch mark too..

Ella (ellasara)
Username: ellasara

Post Number: 12
Posted on Tuesday, May 02, 2006 - 4:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

You may want to try Eucerin ph5 for sensitive skin, Intensive lotion. It is non greasy and easily absorbed to the body.

As the tummy stretch, it may become dry and we know dry skin always cause itchness. The more we scratch, the skin become more itchy. The lotion is to keep the skin moist.

Ryes (ryes)
Username: ryes

Post Number: 1632
Posted on Tuesday, July 25, 2006 - 2:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hey chloe, where u got the clarins oil from? at TPY> how much?

Annissa Koh (Ann) (annissasim)
Username: annissasim

Post Number: 330
Posted on Tuesday, July 25, 2006 - 2:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

From what I know, Clarins Treatment Oil has 3 ranges, used during pregnancy (Tonic), post-delivery (Anti-Eau)and another for firming.

"tonic" http://sg.clarins.com/main.cfm?prodID=65

"Anti-Eau" http://sg.clarins.com/main.cfm?prodID=66

Got terrible itch on my tummy and elephant feet during the last few weeks, I applied "tonic" as and when i feel like it. I poured into small little glass roll-on bottle, it's very handy.

I bought from SaSa the cosmetic shop, alternative is ask friend(s) who travel to buy from airport DFS counters.

coolbabe (coolbabe)
Username: coolbabe

Post Number: 27
Posted on Wednesday, July 26, 2006 - 5:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am currently using an anti-stretch mark cream day and nite from my prenatal massage place at Alush day spa. They are having a promotion on their products presently. If any of you mummies keen, feel free to PM me...

edelweiss (edelweiss)
Username: edelweiss

Post Number: 19
Posted on Monday, August 14, 2006 - 2:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have a bottle of CLARINS Tonic Oil to sell. Pls see my thread below:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/487011.html?1155487054

storm (storm)
Username: storm

Post Number: 28
Posted on Friday, August 18, 2006 - 6:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i applied clarins oil at night and galenic elancyl in the morning since 2mths preggie.. now 7mthhs liao no stretchmarks on tummy. but there's a few at the butt even though i apply that area as well :-(

Yasmin Lim (sunhana)
Username: sunhana

Post Number: 14
Posted on Monday, September 11, 2006 - 5:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i dun have stretchmarks on tummy too...recently (just a month ago) few marks appeared on my hips and butt..=( how ah...just bought the clarins oil...will it help?

Ethel (ethel)
Username: ethel

Post Number: 920
Posted on Monday, September 11, 2006 - 6:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i was told that the stretch marks on yr tummy is inherited.. if yr mum dun hv, chances of u not having is very high..
i used the palmers oil or itchy skin for 2 pregancies alrdy.. works alright..
any tummy sliming pdt to recommend from clarins?

are (are)
Username: are

Post Number: 1799
Posted on Tuesday, September 12, 2006 - 2:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hey all... you can try our aloe propolis creme which is a rich moisturiser and recommended by 1 mummy in previous post. for really dry skin (more likely to hv stretch marks), you can use our aloe serum, the Alpha-E.

Aloe Propolis Creme
- 100% stabilized aloe vera gel & bee propolis
- Added chamomile & comfrey, Vitamins A & E
- Skin Moisturizer & conditioner
- Gentle enough to use on most skin types, especially useful for dry skin
- Propolis is a natural antibiotic, helps speed up healing
- Leaves protective barrier on skin & heals scars, brown spots, stings, bites, acne, eczema

Alpha-E Factor
- rich blend of ingredients to provide optimal skin conditioning and nourishing
- most ideal for preventing stretch marks
- superb combination of powerful anti-oxidants

both are very safe for pregnancies as they are aloe vera based, and contains no alcohol.

pls see http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?tpc=450761&post=2032668#POST2032668

thanx, are.

empty me (empty_me)
Username: empty_me

Posted on Tuesday, September 19, 2006 - 1:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi to all,

actually it doesnt matter which brand of cream we use, as long as we keep the skin mositurized, have enough hydration ( very impt ), we can minimize the ugly marks... its important to start applying n drinking early though.dry skin tend to b itchy.

charmaine (tittieal)
Username: tittieal

Post Number: 50
Posted on Thursday, September 28, 2006 - 11:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Can anyone advise me whether i can apply stretchmark cream on my breasts coz i have many lines on both sides of my breasts? :-(

mashmallow (mashmallow)
Username: mashmallow

Posted on Friday, November 03, 2006 - 8:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am using the cream from Thyme but still experiencing stretchmarks on my thigh and hip..

Anyway other creams to help reduce them?

Fi fi (fi_fi)
Username: fi_fi

Post Number: 297
Posted on Monday, February 26, 2007 - 12:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi all, may i noe wer can i get aloe propolis creme? wen do we nid 2 start applying dis?

are (are)
Username: are

Post Number: 2001
Posted on Monday, February 26, 2007 - 5:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi fifi...

i can post you the aloe propolis creme and u can tt me the $$. basically, u need to keep the skin moisturised as much as possible, so you can start applying anytime.

pls pm me if you are interested.

thanx, are.

maple (babypink)
Username: babypink

Post Number: 27
Posted on Sunday, July 08, 2007 - 12:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi i m new here... when should start to apply those stretchmark cream??

vone (vone)

Post Number: 2830
Posted on Monday, July 09, 2007 - 11:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi maple,

u can start applying as soon as u noe tt u r preggy. :-)

miorei (miorei)
Username: miorei

Post Number: 69
Posted on Monday, July 09, 2007 - 3:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

any 1 using virgin coconut oil from adara?

fen (fen9983)
Username: fen9983

Post Number: 723
Posted on Sunday, July 15, 2007 - 11:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi try using clarin stretchmarks cream
it works for me
no marks at all

KrisJoy (krisjoy)
Username: krisjoy

Post Number: 616
Posted on Thursday, July 19, 2007 - 2:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I tried Mustella during my 1st pregnancy. I guess it is too oily for me and my skin has breakouts. Now for my 2nd pregnancy, I switched to Palm's Coco Butter. It is non-greasy and my skin around tummy appear to be much fairer as I have rashes previously.

miorei (miorei)
Username: miorei

Post Number: 400
Posted on Friday, November 09, 2007 - 6:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

am using my 3rd bottle of clarins tonic oil. was ok till the stretch marks started fr wk 31. bb's growing too fast for my poor tummy to handle.. :-( i think i muz use the 2 prong approach liao. oil at nite n cream in the day. keeping my fingers crossed for post delivery results.

shan (flipflop13)
Username: flipflop13

Post Number: 17
Posted on Tuesday, December 18, 2007 - 9:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I was allergic to Palmers stretchmark cream..little bumps like pimples appear on my tummy after i applied it...so i did not use any stretchmarks cream at all throughout my pregnancy...but on and off when i wasnt too lazy, i applied johnson and johnson lotion...I was lucky that i did not have any stretchmarks at all...and yes, i think its due to genes too...my mum, after having 3 children did not have any stretchmarks on her tummy too

Spidergirl (spidergirl)
Username: spidergirl

Post Number: 15
Posted on Wednesday, December 17, 2008 - 1:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I used the Body Shop's Body Butter range, specifically Cocoa Butter, during pregnancy. Loved it!

Sarah Chia (enxuan)
Username: enxuan

Posted on Thursday, January 08, 2009 - 10:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone tried using Johnson's Baby oil? I heard from a couple of friends who have delivered and have no stretch marks... They swear by it and introduce me to use it. It's considerably a much cheaper and practical option.
Has anyone used baby oil and has the same effects??

Sarah Chia (enxuan)
Username: enxuan

Posted on Thursday, January 08, 2009 - 10:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone tried using Johnson's Baby oil? I heard from a couple of friends who have delivered and have no stretch marks... They swear by it and introduce me to use it. It's considerably a much cheaper and practical option.
Has anyone used baby oil and has the same effects??

SY (popkorn2008)
Username: popkorn2008

Post Number: 60
Posted on Friday, January 09, 2009 - 10:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hmm, I have 2 extra bottles of Galenic Elancyl stretch mark cream in shirk wrapped (brand new). Willing to let go at $40. Bought for $47 plus. Keen, pls PM me or send me at email at sheryl0409@hotmail.com.

SeaBreeze (seabreeze)
Username: seabreeze

Post Number: 3164
Posted on Saturday, January 10, 2009 - 11:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY ...

You cant accept PM, have send you an email.

sharon (~mimosa~)
Username: ~mimosa~

Post Number: 125
Posted on Tuesday, February 03, 2009 - 10:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

anyone using the clarins oil? i read the instructions...apply then followed by a cool shower???
any mummies follow that?

Shippo (shippo33)
Username: shippo33

Post Number: 176
Posted on Tuesday, February 03, 2009 - 10:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi sharon,
I had use clarins oil b4.Normally i will apply after shower at nite. As for day i use anti stretchmark cream. No stretch mark on places that i applied =)

Madelaine Chan (madmad)
Username: madmad

Posted on Tuesday, February 10, 2009 - 3:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi! I have a brand new btl of Clarins Oil to sell @$40. Anyone interested sms me at 97495695

Angie Tan (bluencream)
Username: bluencream

Post Number: 15
Posted on Monday, February 23, 2009 - 1:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I religiously rubbed Palmer's Cocoa Butter every evening after shower throughout my pregnancy and I don't have any stretch marks at all on my tummy. Maybe it helped but maybe it's good genes from my mom who also does not have any stretch marks after giving birth :-)

Angie Tan (bluencream)
Username: bluencream

Post Number: 19
Posted on Monday, February 23, 2009 - 1:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I religiously rubbed Palmer's Cocoa Butter every evening after shower throughout my pregnancy and I don't have any stretch marks at all on my tummy. Maybe it helped but maybe it's good genes from my mom who also does not have any stretch marks after giving birth :-)

sweetzinc (sweetzinc)
Username: sweetzinc

Posted on Thursday, February 26, 2009 - 9:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Letting go an Organic Palmer's Cocoa butter massage cream for stretch marks.. used once only.

Bought the wrong one. Retail at $36 at guardian. letting go at $30 only. Free postage or meet up.

Please PM me if interested ! :-):-)

Smurfygal (smurfygal)
Username: smurfygal

Post Number: 414
Posted on Friday, February 27, 2009 - 1:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Letting go a tube of anti-stretchmarks massage cream from Mothercare (150ml, expiring in Sep 2010)at $6 only. Barely used as I delivered shortly after buying it. Pls PM if interested.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/2183348.html?1235319958

Berlyn Liw (cookieber)
Username: cookieber

Posted on Monday, March 09, 2009 - 9:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, I have got a tube of Percutalfa stretchmark cream (200ml) to let go at $25. Bought from my gynae and used only once and also too lazy to apply everyday. Pls PM if interested.

jinamich (jinamich)
Username: jinamich

Post Number: 5
Posted on Thursday, April 09, 2009 - 1:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

has anyone used olive oil before eg. Olive Manon? Does it work?

loonshi (loonshi)
Username: loonshi

Post Number: 3
Posted on Thursday, April 30, 2009 - 11:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Can try using the Sakura Seasalt. It works for me. You can get it at $8.80 only.

GG Lee (gg_lee)
Username: gg_lee

Post Number: 223
Posted on Monday, May 25, 2009 - 2:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wonder why Clarins tonic oil is recommended to use in the day?? I use on both day and night cos feel weird not to apply anything at night.

Michele (foxy42)
Username: foxy42

Posted on Monday, May 25, 2009 - 2:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i'm using Rosken Bio serum.. find it effective

Evelyn tan (evedonald)
Username: evedonald

Post Number: 13
Posted on Tuesday, May 26, 2009 - 12:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i using clarins too .. love the smell.. only think it a bit on the oily side so my wait slowly absorb... hehe :-)

Evelyn tan (evedonald)
Username: evedonald

Post Number: 14
Posted on Tuesday, May 26, 2009 - 12:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

actually i realise to put on weight gradually is also important.. my 1st one last trimester put on too fast,, i still thinking wow i wont have stretch mark but haiz still got some...

svanessa (svanessa)
Username: svanessa

Posted on Monday, June 15, 2009 - 11:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm using the Perfecta Mama intensive preparation for stretch marks.I'm actually very particular about ingredients in creams.This one contains all the vitamins and contains natural extracts.A friend recommended I use it on my breasts and belly during my second trimester and so far, no strech marks at all

If you are interested you can drop me a PM to find out more

shiseru (shiseru)
Username: shiseru

Posted on Wednesday, June 17, 2009 - 10:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Do these creams provides relief for an itching belly as well? I do apply stretch mark cream but it didnt seem to ease the itchiness.

Pia (yapeegurl)
Username: yapeegurl

Post Number: 46
Posted on Wednesday, March 10, 2010 - 7:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

my son uses emu oil as well.. he has eczema.. am also selling emu oil since i saw the effectivity to my son's skin..

Jasmine Ong (bbloelim)
Username: bbloelim

Posted on Monday, April 19, 2010 - 9:46 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

can those stretch mark cream be apply on first trimester?
coz i read on some forum that the creams can only apply on 2nd trimester..

Fen (white_african_flower)
Username: white_african_flower

Post Number: 18
Posted on Friday, March 11, 2011 - 9:46 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I use clarins tonic oil too
Am and pm
No itchy ;)

coco69 (coco69)
Username: coco69

Post Number: 64
Posted on Tuesday, April 19, 2011 - 10:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi. Sorry to interrupt.
I have 2 spare bottles of Clarins Oil to let go. They are brand new, and unused. I bought too many, cannot finish.

My price: $58/bottle (30% discount!)
Retail price:$82/bottle

Do pm me if you are interested. While stocks last! :-)clarins oil

Eliz Marquez (jaylaalessandra)
Username: jaylaalessandra

Posted on Monday, September 03, 2012 - 3:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Do you know where I can buy emu oil here in Singapore. My baby needs it for her red marks betweek skins and hopefully I can also use it on my stretchmarks.

Thank you so much.

Email address: eliz_008@yahoo.com

Cher (bugsfire)
Username: bugsfire

Post Number: 79
Posted on Friday, October 19, 2012 - 10:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Would like to know where to buy the emu oil too

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use