SingaporeMotherhood.com * Motherhood, Pregnancies And Babies * Milk bottles ! ! ! ! ! < Previous Next >

kovankitty (kovankitty)
Username: kovankitty

Post Number: 39
Posted on Sunday, June 01, 2008 - 1:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just enquiring how many of you use bisphenol A-free milk bottles for your bb? Seems that there are only a few brands in the market which sells such bottles and they are much more expensive. Is it really worth the money, in the sense that there's no need to change them compared to using normal milk bottles?

If it's really worth to get, which stores in Singapore sell them? Can the bottles fit most breast pumps too?

angie (madeinturkey)
Username: madeinturkey

Post Number: 4
Posted on Tuesday, June 03, 2008 - 11:25 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Piyo piyo has one such kind of bottle. Definitely v. ex. You can get them from Kiddy Palace. My mum said we all survived using the normal plastic bottles, so what's the big deal, right? Just make sure we rinse the bottle with boiled water below 50 deg celsius.

kovankitty (kovankitty)
Username: kovankitty

Post Number: 58
Posted on Tuesday, June 03, 2008 - 8:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My MIL uses the old traditional method of sterilisation by boiling the bottles in a pot of water. So it's definitely more than 50DegC. I couldn't convince her to change her method, so trying to find other ways to mitigate the 'damage' like finding BPA free bottles.

The other alternative is stick to conventional bottles but gotta commit to replace them more frequently. But how frequent? Every 3 months?

ruiqi (ruiqi)
Username: ruiqi

Post Number: 112
Posted on Tuesday, June 03, 2008 - 11:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i am using avent bottles and change them every 6mths. I use Pigeon sterilizer to sterilize them. hmm. so far so good.

Cheng Mei (fann)
Username: fann

Post Number: 2
Posted on Wednesday, June 04, 2008 - 7:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm using the NUK glass bottles for the past few months after heard abt the chemical leak in those plastic bootles. It is ard S$14+ for a bigger bottle and this can be purchased at Robinson at Raffles Place. So far so good, drop once but didn't crack...

Lucie Goosie (lucie_goosie)
Username: lucie_goosie

Posted on Wednesday, June 04, 2008 - 8:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm using Aprica. Any comments please?

piggybb (piggybb)
Username: piggybb

Post Number: 14
Posted on Thursday, June 05, 2008 - 10:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i am using avent too.. change the bottles n teats every 4 months..

Jojo Yap (jojoyp)
Username: jojoyp

Post Number: 25
Posted on Saturday, June 07, 2008 - 12:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

is there a need to change bottles every few months? As my Avent bottle use quite sometimes already. I only change teats every 3 months.

apple79 (apple79)
Username: apple79

Post Number: 388
Posted on Saturday, June 07, 2008 - 1:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

it is better to change the bottles every few months esp when you notice scratches and discolouration.

Heard Avent going to introduce their first BPA few bottles this summer

Jojo Yap (jojoyp)

Post Number: 29
Posted on Sunday, June 08, 2008 - 1:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

most of the bottle i use it to store my daily breastmilk. If keep changing it would cost a lot to me.........what is your suggestion?

thyme (thyme)
Username: thyme

Post Number: 3
Posted on Sunday, June 08, 2008 - 2:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm using NUK glass bottles to warm & feed EBM, but using plastic bottles to store in fridge. So each time I'll pour out the amt needed from the plastic bottles into the glass one and pop it into my pigeon bottle warmer before feeding my baby, glass bottles warm up milk faster also...

Jojo Yap (jojoyp)

Post Number: 32
Posted on Sunday, June 08, 2008 - 11:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Alright, then I should try to buy the NUK glass bottle and try. Thanks ya.

Sonia (sonia15)
Username: sonia15

Post Number: 89
Posted on Monday, June 09, 2008 - 7:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

If u r using Glass bottles, can u sterilize them in a pot of boiling water ?

jessel (jessel)
Username: jessel

Post Number: 248
Posted on Wednesday, June 11, 2008 - 2:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I just got Pigeon PES from Taka today - $18.90 each. Its BPA free, its kinda yellowish in color. Expensive compared to conventional feeding bottles, but after reading the BPA issue, i've decided to change all our Avent bottles to Pigeon PES just to be sure - kiasu you may say, but better safe than sorry, right?

btw, Avent magic cups are BPA free, so for older babies can use that instead. Also Avent VIA cups are BPA free - i still use those to store my EBM. Just the Avent feeding bottles are not BPA free.

Sonia (sonia15)

Post Number: 92
Posted on Thursday, June 12, 2008 - 12:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello............

I also got the Pigeon bottles today as I was worried for my 3 mth old son whom I have been feeding with the traditional feeding bottles (Polycarbonate).

Not only that, as I am using the traditional method of boiling the watch, I was concerned about the leakage and decomposition of the BPA compound.

Although this Pigeon PES bottle is expensive, I hope it could reduce the harmful effects for our children.

jeelomeelo (jeelomeelo)
Username: jeelomeelo

Post Number: 931
Posted on Thursday, June 12, 2008 - 10:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi mums,
i was using bfree for 6mths but am tired of washing them now. now i've switched to nuk glass. thank goodness he doesn't reject nuk teats.. :P

ruiqi (ruiqi)

Post Number: 122
Posted on Friday, June 13, 2008 - 10:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi jeelomeelo. pardon my ignorance, but why is bfree bottle difficult to wash?

jessel (jessel)

Post Number: 262
Posted on Friday, June 13, 2008 - 12:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jeelomeelo, i wanted to buy bfree bottles before, but then when i looked at the box, it does not state who the manufacturer is. there is no addess, no contact num, not even website where to check it. And it did not even state what country it was manufacturer. So it made me question the product if its worth to buy...so ive decided not to.

jessel (jessel)

Post Number: 263
Posted on Friday, June 13, 2008 - 12:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ruiqi, bfree is difficult to wash cause it has those vent inside which you need to wash everytime. Its the same with Dr. Brown and BornFree bottles. I used to have Dr. Brown, but then after 2 days, i dont want to use anymore...troublesome to wash.

Then i end up buying Pigeon PES. =)

jessel (jessel)

Post Number: 264
Posted on Friday, June 13, 2008 - 12:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I just hope Pigeon updates their website to include Pigeon PES. Some of my friends question me if there BPA-free Pigeon bottles as they cant find in the site.

ruiqi (ruiqi)

Post Number: 124
Posted on Friday, June 13, 2008 - 6:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

oic..tks for the clarification. thk i will buy pigeon PES bottles during the next change :-)

lillypie (lillypie)
Username: lillypie

Post Number: 35
Posted on Sunday, June 15, 2008 - 6:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have 4 BN Pigeon BPA-free wide-neck bottles (240ml) to sell off. Got them from Isetan 2 weeks back, but selling as I didn't realise they were wide-neck teats (daughter is on standard teats).

Interested mummies who want more details and pics can PM me, thanks.

Sonia (sonia15)

Post Number: 93
Posted on Sunday, June 15, 2008 - 6:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Are the pigeon PES bottles yellowish in color and wide-necked ?

Hi Lillypie, could u show some pics of ur bottles ? Thanks

lillypie (lillypie)

Post Number: 36
Posted on Sunday, June 15, 2008 - 7:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Collection point in Yio Chu Kang/ AMK.

Sonia (sonia15)

Post Number: 94
Posted on Sunday, June 15, 2008 - 10:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi lillypie,

thanks for the photos - are they glass or plastic ? how much r u offering each for ? and are the teats S or M or L ?

Sonia (sonia15)

Post Number: 95
Posted on Sunday, June 15, 2008 - 10:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I also wanted to ask this question too.

When u r boiling these BPA free bottles, how long should the bottles be heated for over a moderate heat ?

And if you change the pot of water twice in a day, is this fine ?

Sarahteddy (sarahteddy)
Username: sarahteddy

Post Number: 34
Posted on Sunday, June 15, 2008 - 11:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Bfree bottles have more parts to wash but they are good at relieving colic and stop leaking from bottle. I have changed all my avent bottles to Bfree as the new avent bottle has leaking problem, and not BPA free.

But what impressed me most is that the when the child drinks from Bfree bottle, the pressure is less than of other brand, making sucking more easy. My gal has been drinking more milk after we changed to Bfree. Hubby was surprised too. He now very pro-Bfree bottle, and intent to get one for the coming 2nd child.

lillypie (lillypie)

Post Number: 37
Posted on Monday, June 16, 2008 - 8:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Sonia,

The bottles are made of PPSU plastic, the standard sizing of the teats in this model are Y cut. I'm offering each bottle @$15, but if the buyer takes all 4 bottles will let go for $55.

When first boiling the BPA-free bottles, will boil them using moderate heat for 5 minutes. I believe most baby accessories (eg. teats, bottles) can be subsequently boiled between 3 - 5 minutes.

Sonia (sonia15)

Post Number: 96
Posted on Thursday, June 19, 2008 - 11:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Lillypie,

Can the Y cut teats be used for kids beyond 3 mths old ?

lillypie (lillypie)

Post Number: 42
Posted on Thursday, June 19, 2008 - 2:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Sonia,

Have already sold off my bottles already. Fyi, the Y cut teats are non-drip teats, meaning that your baby has to have relatively strong sucking motion for the milk to flow. The other usual teats in S, M and L are just differentiated by the teat hole size, and the milk can drip out if bottle is held downwards.

michelle (micaqua)
Username: micaqua

Post Number: 30
Posted on Thursday, June 26, 2008 - 1:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi lilypie,

wat the diff btw this pigeon PES bottle and the normal pigeon bottle other than the teat is non drip teat

Li Ling (momo2)
Username: momo2

Post Number: 1
Posted on Thursday, June 26, 2008 - 10:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi anyone know where i can get pigeon PES bottles? And the Y cut teats - are they similar in hardness to avent teats?

ivy ng (berry76)
Username: berry76

Posted on Wednesday, July 02, 2008 - 6:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

theres a new brand, everflo at kiddypalace...cheap, only abt $10 or less for a plastic bottle, pba free. can try that.

Blessed Mum (galaxgal)
Username: galaxgal

Post Number: 63
Posted on Friday, July 04, 2008 - 6:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi jessel, what is the diff between peigeon PES and normal Pigeon bottles?
what does PES stands for?

ruiqi (ruiqi)

Post Number: 137
Posted on Monday, July 07, 2008 - 11:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi blessedmum, not sure what PES stands for but Pigeon PES, which is the yellowish bottle shown in picture above is BPA free. That is the main difference between Pigeon PES and normal Pigeon bottles.

i just changed all my Avent to Pigeon PES btw..Bought them at Isetan (both Scotts and Parkway carries it)

Maddy's Mum (maddysmum)
Username: maddysmum

Post Number: 37
Posted on Tuesday, July 08, 2008 - 1:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

just FYI: ever flo plastic bottle (pastel color BPA free) is $5.90 (120ml) and the glass bottle (240ml) is only $7.90

Cheaper than most brand. the only downturn is its plain looking and hard to see the volume. But other than that great value

goodbb (goodbbb)
Username: goodbbb

Post Number: 856
Posted on Wednesday, July 09, 2008 - 12:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

are all glass bottles BPA free???

lillypie (lillypie)

Post Number: 62
Posted on Wednesday, July 09, 2008 - 4:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yup,

Glass bottles are definitely BPA free. I believe the BPA chemical is usually found in plastic materials. I'm currently using the Evenflo glass bottles for my gal, and they're very durable. During demo at Motherhood fair, the salesgirl threw the glass bottles down onto the concrete floor, and they didn't break! Also, glass bottles can be used for life, unlike BPA-free bottles which have to be changed over time. However, the only drawback about glass bottles is that they are slightly heavier to hold than normal ones.

Lennie Hong (jellypurin)
Username: jellypurin

Post Number: 12
Posted on Friday, July 11, 2008 - 11:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

does any one know where to get the Evenflow glass bottles? interested.

Maddy's Mum (maddysmum)

Post Number: 50
Posted on Saturday, July 12, 2008 - 12:03 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lennie,

Kiddy Palace sells them. Or wait until the next baby fair in expo, its usually cheaper.

thyme (thyme)

Posted on Saturday, July 12, 2008 - 2:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

any idea whether any baby fairs coming up?

Maddy's Mum (maddysmum)

Post Number: 63
Posted on Monday, July 14, 2008 - 10:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Lennie and Thyme,

I recently ordered Snoopy Glass Bottle 240ml. Picture as attached. Are you interested? The item will arrive at July 25 thus if you want to tag along in ordering there is still time (providing the store still sell the item)

[IMG]http://i345.photobucket.com/albums/p371/yudiana/SnoopyGlassBottle-1.jpg[/IMG]

thyme (thyme)

Post Number: 32
Posted on Tuesday, July 15, 2008 - 12:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi maddysmum, thks for the offer but i already hv 5 NUK glass bottles and if i get some more, my mum (who's looking after my baby in the day) will be asking why i buying so many again :-)

but i asking abt babyfairs coz there's usually many other stuff on offer :-) does anyone know if there's any upcoming babyfairs?

mamayee (summeryee)
Username: summeryee

Post Number: 59
Posted on Wednesday, July 16, 2008 - 3:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Maddy's Mum,

How much is the snoopy glass bottles?

Celest Lee (doodleger)
Username: doodleger

Post Number: 5
Posted on Monday, July 21, 2008 - 12:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi , im nov MTB, may i know what is BPA? & oh no, i just bought quite alots Avent baby bottles... is avent really that bad?

Maddy's Mum (maddysmum)

Post Number: 77
Posted on Monday, July 21, 2008 - 12:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamayee: I've already sold off the snoopy glass bottle. It was sold for $6/ piece (240ml). If there are demands I might order more, but can't be too soon. This is trial only :-)

Celest: Since you've bought many bottle then don't worry lah. Just make sure that there is no crack and bottle is change frequently. As in every 3 months or so. And don't heat them up too much, keep the cleaning and sterilizing below 100degree. If you must, then you can also use sterilizing tablet.

BPA is this material that is used in many baby bottles. It will release toxic chemical if there is crack or overused.

goodbb (goodbbb)
Username: goodbbb

Post Number: 921
Posted on Tuesday, July 22, 2008 - 11:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

any 1 noe if enfant milk bottles are BPA free??how do we check?

SharonBB (az717s)
Username: az717s

Post Number: 136
Posted on Wednesday, July 23, 2008 - 11:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Mummies, Just to check with the BPA glass bottles, does it develop bubbles with baby is drinking? I just brought apair of Dr Brown wide neck, and realise its not BPA free. But it is really bubble free when my boy is drinking. While last time i used the avent bottles and is causing so much white foams like bubbles... And also like to check, can glass bottles be sterlise using sterlizer?

Maddy's Mum (maddysmum)

Post Number: 78
Posted on Thursday, July 24, 2008 - 5:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SharonBB,
Do you feed your baby FM or EBM. With FM there is usually bubble regardless what kind of bottle.

Or bubble can be caused by the air your bb blow to the bottle. Dr Brown might have less bubble because if its anti colic function. So whether or not its BPA free it doesnt matter.

Yes, glass bottles can be sterilized with sterilizer

roxy (roxyz)
Username: roxyz

Post Number: 2047
Posted on Friday, August 08, 2008 - 3:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1620871.html?1218181081

hi i started a spree for Gerber BPA free bottles... please join if keen thanks!

MaybeeBaby (maybeebaby)
Username: maybeebaby

Post Number: 44
Posted on Saturday, August 09, 2008 - 9:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Maddy's Mum
Dr Brown doesnt seem to be recommended by Mrs Wong BB from TMC. but I didnt realise it has an anti-colic function :-)

SharonBB
glass bottles can be sterilised with steriliser. Even boiled in boiling water (old style) as glass is inert compared with polymer plastics. Hence the BPA issues. Hope this helps

mummyfang (mummyfang)
Username: mummyfang

Post Number: 52
Posted on Sunday, August 10, 2008 - 12:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Takashimaya is having Baby fair now til 24th i think

mummyfang (mummyfang)

Post Number: 53
Posted on Sunday, August 10, 2008 - 12:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Does anyone know if these pigeon bottle are BPA free? Thanks trizia68@hotmail.compigeon bottle pigeon bottle

Meow (meowie)
Advanced Member
Username: meowie

Post Number: 5815
Posted on Sunday, August 10, 2008 - 4:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mummyfang,
i'm using bottles that are not BPA free. Last time before Pigeon carrys the new product of BPA free bottles if any customer ask they only advise customers to replace their bottles once they're 6mths old or with many scratches. So i will replace them as and when needed else use glass bottles lor, confirm no BPA one

Sarahteddy (sarahteddy)

Post Number: 152
Posted on Sunday, August 10, 2008 - 5:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am curently using Bfree bottles. Used to use Avent, but recently even new avent bottles leak, and not BPA Free, so switched to Bfree.

If you want to know if bottles are BPA free, check if bottles are made of Polycarbonate (PC) or Polypropylene (PP). Avoid PC bottles as it contains BPA. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bisphenol_A

Sarahteddy (sarahteddy)

Post Number: 153
Posted on Sunday, August 10, 2008 - 5:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dear Sharon BB.

glass bottles do not contain BPA. It is only plastic bottles (Made of Polycarbonate) that have BPA.

In fact, glass bottles are the best container to store Breast milk.

Jenny Tan (msiamom)
Username: msiamom

Posted on Tuesday, August 12, 2008 - 12:55 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi! All,

I got to know this website thru Googles and excited to share some. I'm fr Penang,Malaysia. I got to know BPA free bottles about 2 weeks back.
Previously my 2 years old boy used Avent and now I changed to "Music" PES milk bottles.It's come with different design and wide or small neck available too. You may log in to www.musicbaby.com.tw for viewing. Anyone is interested, pls let me know, I can help to buy. For wide neck it only cost RM32.90-39.90 and small neck only cost RM22.90-25.90.Beside, glass bottles available too and it only cost RM13.90-14.90.

It's quite cheap to convert to Sin dollar, just need extra charges for courier.

It's really save if it's PES plastic.

Jenny Tan (msiamom)
Username: msiamom

Posted on Tuesday, August 12, 2008 - 1:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi! blessed mum,

PES stand for Polyether Sulfone.

mummyfang (mummyfang)

Post Number: 67
Posted on Thursday, August 28, 2008 - 7:26 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi dear all I ve call Pigeon, its manager told me that the breastfeeding bottle is PP bottle so it's BPA free :-)
As for the wide neck bottle its not BPA free.

Maddy's Mum (maddysmum)

Post Number: 158
Posted on Thursday, August 28, 2008 - 7:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mummyfang
Thanks for the info now I feel safer that the storage pigeon is BPA free, I was about to put them back in the shelf...

I'm using glass bottle, and so far has broken 2 of my pigeon glass. I am thinking to buy more evenflo as it is BPA free, plastic, and affordable..

VeRoN (vt_kl)
Username: vt_kl

Post Number: 266
Posted on Thursday, September 25, 2008 - 3:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Can I check if i can reuse those bottles to store BM which i use 2 yrs ago?

thks....

Sugarplum (sugarplum)
Username: sugarplum

Posted on Monday, September 29, 2008 - 12:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mommies,

does NUK have BPA free bottles? Where to get? & how much?

VeRoN,

Me too,
i have been reusing the plastic milk bottles to store BM & feed my BB.. Ops.

VeRoN (vt_kl)

Post Number: 267
Posted on Tuesday, September 30, 2008 - 10:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi sugarplum,

I guessed all glass bottles are BPA free bah...
I just bought a small NUK glass bottle at kiddy Palace, cost about $13+, the big one is $1 diff only.

I only used the plastic milk bottles to store BM, but nvr use it warm the milk & feed the BB, so u think still can be use?

Sugarplum (sugarplum)
Username: sugarplum

Post Number: 33
Posted on Tuesday, September 30, 2008 - 10:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi VeRoN,

Does the nuk glass bottles break easily? ie, once drop will break? I am going to buy some asap to feed my baby..

Any idea if NUK have plastic BPA free bottles?

Well, from what i read from the above posts by other mommies, i guess it is ok to use recycled plastic bottles to store BM, so long we dun use it to warm BM.

But one question though: we can still sterilise those plastic bottles, right? meaning, so long at the point of sterilising them, there's no bm inside?? do u get what I am trying to say?

lillypie (lillypie)

Post Number: 116
Posted on Tuesday, September 30, 2008 - 10:46 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Sugarplum,

If you are interested to purchase glass bottles, I have the 2 NUK glass bottles (240ml, I think) which I only used for a while...bought too many glass bottles now, and my gal has reduced her frequency of drinking milk. Also have 1 extra Evenflo glass bottle. Fyi, I have had no problems at all using the glass bottles

Can let it go at a good price, so you can PM me if you are interested :-)

VeRoN (vt_kl)

Post Number: 268
Posted on Thursday, October 02, 2008 - 10:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Sugarplum,

Me also not too sure, coz nvr tried dropping on the floor...keke...

If not, u can try pigeon glass bottle, coz is cheaper.... think only 7.90

Think u don't buy too many at the time, coz when bb is older, they tend to hold the bottle themselves, so glass one will be too heavy for them to hold...
that's why i feel lah...

As for ur question, i suppose it shd be fine to sterilise it bah, coz i have been doing that...

chen_mama (mamachen)
Username: mamachen

Post Number: 84
Posted on Thursday, October 02, 2008 - 1:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

If BPA free bottles, does it mean we do not have to change the milk bottles? If using not BPA free bottles then we have to keep changing every 6mths old? How about the milk bottles used for pumping breastmilk? Do they have to be BPA free too?

Poshies (poshies1)
Username: poshies1

Post Number: 1016
Posted on Thursday, October 02, 2008 - 1:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wow... din know for glass bottle is so ex... think i'm really blessed... i had collect alot of glass bottle from the hospital and had been using them to store my EBM... and my gal had been drink directly from the glass bottle (as I had alot... i think close to 50 bottle..... so i will be saving lot of $$...

mikocoro (mikocoro)
Username: mikocoro

Post Number: 83
Posted on Thursday, October 02, 2008 - 9:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I just started using pigeon PPSU bottles. How frequent shld I change to new bottles since PPSU bottles are BPA free.

I also realised that my gal's upper lips is touching bottom of her nose while drinking, worried that in long term her nose will be tilted (like pig nose) :-(

Joyce Lim (joyceljt)
Username: joyceljt

Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 6:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Heard that Avent BPA free bottles leak and are not recommended. Has anyone tried? Any comment?

Choy Mui Koong (koong_m)
Username: koong_m

Posted on Wednesday, October 29, 2008 - 3:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I saw Avent BPA free bottles in Malaysian website at thelilcaliph.com. I bought 3 bottles each about $30 and shipping only $10!

blueginger (bluegin)
Username: bluegin

Post Number: 558
Posted on Sunday, November 02, 2008 - 11:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just a little comment. I bought an everflo brand glass bottle which claimed to be unbreakable.
I bought it during the motherhood fair and last week my bb accidentally knocked the bottle and it fell from the living room table. Surprisingly, it broke. Fortunately no one get hurt.

happy_mummy (mum_on_the_go)
Username: mum_on_the_go

Post Number: 8
Posted on Friday, November 07, 2008 - 11:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Can I ask if BAP free plastic bottles still must be changed regularly?
I just bought bfree cause can fit the avent teats i have. But if still must change then I will buy the glass bottles.

Mancini (mancini)
Username: mancini

Posted on Friday, November 14, 2008 - 2:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi.. if you are getting BPA free PP (polypropylene) type of plastic bottles, it will turn yellowish after sometime (3~6 mths) due to frequent sterilization. Although yellowish bottle is not harmful but I think it is good to change to new bottle after sometime.

The BPA free bottle should also have EN14350 certification (its a European standard for baby products).

st (stjt)
Username: stjt

Post Number: 130
Posted on Wednesday, November 26, 2008 - 11:45 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

does it mean that if it's glass bottle it's BPA free..cos for nuk bottle didn't see the word BPA free..

heard Dr Brown is good too is it true?

Sarahteddy (sarahteddy)

Post Number: 167
Posted on Wednesday, November 26, 2008 - 5:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi st,

for BPA problem only pertaining to plastic bottles.

Not too sure about Mr Brown. I am currently using Bfree. Many parts to wash but so far so good.

st (stjt)
Username: stjt

Post Number: 141
Posted on Wednesday, November 26, 2008 - 5:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sarahteddy

oic thanks but that doesn't mean if the teats of the glass bottle is BPA free right?

Sarahteddy (sarahteddy)

Post Number: 168
Posted on Thursday, November 27, 2008 - 12:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi st,

not too sure about teats. But we are supposed to change the teats every 3 to 4 months. Even BPA free bottles which are subjected to wear and tear also need to change. It is just that it does not release harmful chemicals that may cause cancer.

My elder gal and his little bro have their own bottles. Not good to let little bro to use his elder sis' bottle.

Mancini (mancini)

Posted on Friday, November 28, 2008 - 4:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

BPA chemical only related to Polycarbonate bottle. The teats are make from sillicon or latex material.

Misa (closetdoor)
Username: closetdoor

Post Number: 753
Posted on Tuesday, December 02, 2008 - 10:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm very confused now...

BPA will leak from PC (Polycarbonate) plastic at high temperature right? As per Mancini's post.

PP (Polypropylene) is another type of plastic which they claim are BPA free right? Thats why Pigeon came up with the PPSU (Yellow-tinged)bottles?

So fundamentally, we still need to change PC/PP bottles due to wear and tear. Because these Plastic bottles will turn cloudy after few months.

Do Glass Bottles turn cloudy between 6mths to 1year of use?

Mancini (mancini)

Posted on Friday, December 12, 2008 - 6:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yes, according to report, BPA will migrate from PC bottle at high temperature.

For Pigeon PPSU bottle, it is not made from PP material. Its another type of plastic material called Polyphenysulfone, which manufacturer claimed it does not contain any BPA chemical.

Glass bottle is very stable and will not turn cloudy after 6 to 1 yr use. It should be the best material for baby bottle. But its heavy and breakable.

LeMonT (lemont)
Username: lemont

Posted on Monday, December 15, 2008 - 3:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi all dear mommies...

I m a very confuse MTB, EDD 020209...

Till now, i've not get the milk bottles, teats, sterilizer, pump etc..

Which brand of milk bottles, teats, sterilizer should i get? Electric or manual pump? single or dual?.. so confusing ..

Any advise.. appreciate :-)

ruiqi (ruiqi)

Post Number: 160
Posted on Monday, December 15, 2008 - 10:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi leomont, for sterilizer, i use pigeon, the one that can sterilise 6 bottles at a time..it fits all kinds of bottles too so i found that useful

for pump, suggest investing in a dual pump - really cuts the pump time by half

as for bottles, no comments now becasue i am also confuse by all the bpa chemical. hope this helps

Sarahteddy (sarahteddy)

Post Number: 171
Posted on Monday, December 15, 2008 - 11:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi LeMonT,

initially for my 1st child, I used Avent for bottles, but the quality has dropped, and it is not BPA free, so I am using Bfree for my 2 kids.

I got Nuk Sterilizer as it is cheap and good, less than Hundred buck, and my Confinement lady liked it so much that she bought 1 for her daughter who gave birth recently.

I bought Medela Pump-in-style as it is a dual electric pump. Very useful if plans to breastfeed even going back to work. Managed to give breastmilk to my gal for almost a year. Also good to stimulate milk supply.

LeMonT (lemont)

Post Number: 6
Posted on Thursday, December 18, 2008 - 2:36 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ruiqi
Hi, thkq for ur info :-). r u referring to the Pigeon Rapid Steam Sterilizer?

Sarahteddy
Hi, thkq for ur info too :-). Which brand of BPA free btls r u using now? can any brand of btls be sterilised using NUK sterilizer? or only NUK's btls?

r u referring to Medela's new stimulator dual pump?

ruiqi (ruiqi)

Post Number: 161
Posted on Friday, December 19, 2008 - 1:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yes. thats the one.

Sarahteddy (sarahteddy)

Post Number: 172
Posted on Friday, December 26, 2008 - 7:54 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi LeMonT,

The bottle that I am using now is BFree. The sterilizer can sterilize any brand of bottles, as long as it can fit in. So far, no problem sterilizing Avent, BFree.

As for the pump, got new one meh? Thought they either have Pump-in-Style or PIS Traveller. Mine is the older version but still got the initial stimulation where it will pump fast for about 2 minutes before it pumps at regular pace.

LeMonT (lemont)

Post Number: 27
Posted on Saturday, December 27, 2008 - 4:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sarah
thkq very much!!!

Cherlyn Lim (miu2)
Username: miu2

Posted on Thursday, February 26, 2009 - 3:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi, have anyone try tommee tippe bottles fm Mothercare? Is it good, as compare to Pigeon and Avent?

Queenie Bee (queenie08)
Username: queenie08

Posted on Monday, April 13, 2009 - 3:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

with all the bottle talk, could i ask what is the routine of steralising the bottles? Do you sterilise bottles daily that are unused?

do you use the chico rack to drip dry the bottles? if yes, wouldn't it require to be sterilise again?

jan jan (jan4january)
Username: jan4january

Post Number: 325
Posted on Thursday, June 04, 2009 - 5:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

when buy steriliser, does the pack comes w/ bottles? r they plastic or glass?

wat abt those pigeon new born starter kit? bottles in it plastic or glass?

n those bottles included in d breastpumps r plastic or glass?

jan jan (jan4january)

Post Number: 452
Posted on Thursday, July 02, 2009 - 3:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

is pigeon ppsu bottles = bpa free bottles?

r all bpa free bottles yellowish?

Nuk or Pigeon bpa free bottles r better?

do we need to chg bpa free bottles as frequent as we to chg normal non bpa free bottles?

goh siw hwi (burnwoods)
Username: burnwoods

Posted on Saturday, July 18, 2009 - 5:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

for bpa free milk bottle, do we need to change every 6 mths or can last longer?

please advise

Ewe (ewe)
Username: ewe

Post Number: 11
Posted on Thursday, July 30, 2009 - 10:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I posted an article on my blog about the types of plastics used in Baby Bottles. Hope it helps.

Bascially three types of plastic materials. Polycarbonate types have BPA. Alternatives which are BPA free includes
(1) Polypropylene or Polypropene (PP) and
(2) Polyethersulfone (PES)

I'm trying to find out which alternative is better.

http://chewingonit.wordpress.com/2009/07/29/61/

jan jan (jan4january)

Post Number: 578
Posted on Sunday, August 09, 2009 - 4:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

pigeon PPSU bottles r under PP or PES?

Joy Tan (starlove)
Username: starlove

Posted on Sunday, September 13, 2009 - 11:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Sarahteddy,
May I know where you bought your Bfree bottles from? Kiddy Palace got? And are the teats normal teats? TIA.

chen_mama (mamachen)
Username: mamachen

Post Number: 158
Posted on Sunday, September 13, 2009 - 2:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Are there any milk bottles trade in exchange for a discounted price for bpa free bottles?

Joy Tan (starlove)
Username: starlove

Posted on Sunday, September 13, 2009 - 5:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

besides milk bottles, where can I buy bpa-free pacifiers?

Sarahteddy (sarahteddy)

Post Number: 188
Posted on Monday, September 14, 2009 - 11:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Joy ,

got it from Kiddy Palace. Teats are not made of the same materials as milk bottles, so the teats will not have BPA problem. LIkewise for pacifiers too.

orangecanton (orangecanton)
Username: orangecanton

Post Number: 8
Posted on Thursday, October 08, 2009 - 2:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sorry to interrupt.

I'm organising a BP (pre-order) on BPA Free Feeding Bottles: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3079091.html?1254964180

The bottles are from Simba, a Top 3 Taiwanese brand for baby products. The bottles are made from Germany-imported PES material.

Hope this interests you.

bluemoon (bluemoon289)
Username: bluemoon289

Post Number: 9
Posted on Friday, October 09, 2009 - 1:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have 3 brand new BFree Milk bottles for sales, selling at $30 for 3. 2 pcs are in original packaging and the other is in loose pc cos I had taken the other for my bb's usage. It is BFA Free. Any interested parties pls drop me an email at bluemoon289@hotmail.com

Self collection at Seng Kang.

AA (mscapri)
Username: mscapri

Post Number: 215
Posted on Monday, July 12, 2010 - 1:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI All,

Quote: All PIGEON's glass and plastic nursing bottles, as well as their nipples, caps and hoods, are heat-resistant and can be sterilized in boiling water.

http://pigeon-in.com/qa_category.php?cat_id=5

Ai Sakura (ai_sakura)
Username: ai_sakura

Post Number: 132
Posted on Friday, December 16, 2011 - 11:17 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

As with some of the mummies here, I'm using Avent too :-) and their steam sterilizer.. so far so good. Just change regularly esp for teats..

Ai @ http://www.sakuraharuka.com

millyme (millyme)
Username: millyme

Post Number: 9
Posted on Tuesday, December 27, 2011 - 3:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone tried Born-Free brand before? Can advise if they are easy to clean?

creamdonut (creamdonut)
Username: creamdonut

Post Number: 1002
Posted on Wednesday, February 15, 2012 - 2:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

can bpa free plastic milk bottles be steam sterilise? or only sterilise with boiling water?

millyme (millyme)
Username: millyme

Post Number: 11
Posted on Friday, February 17, 2012 - 2:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

shouldnt be a problem sterilising using either method

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use