SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2006 Mums * (2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs * Archive * Archive through July 04, 2007 < Previous Next >

tabbiesus (tabbiesus)
Username: tabbiesus

Post Number: 1136
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 11:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

krissie

My massage lady is quite good not so much cos my tummy shrinks but she can tell where there is still wind in my body and i didn't have to tell her where it hurt, she will tell me that i have headache cos got wind in the head. She really massages quite well, not too hard that its painful. I am taking the massage more for the "therapeutic" aspect e.g. to get rid of wind and to get rid of the blood clots in the uterus... she uses a lemongrass oil and does binding.. she doesn't use the herbal type of oil and even despite not showering (:P hehehe..dun be too grossed out) i didn't feel sticky. But the best part is that i get to zone out for 2 hours and usually snooze away and get some rest... my tummy has gone down a bit but still flabby.. sigh... but i can fit into some of my pre-2nd pregnancy pants.. I also wanted to book her for 10 days but she was busy during the second week...

SSF
this time round i got no confinement lady and somemore, my mom was too busy to help initally so quite tired... now, i've packed tabby off to grandma's place so during the day i can get some rest cos have food catered and all i need to do is sleep, eat and produce milk... kekeke... Mooo

I really think that a good confinement is important cos i have a lot of joint problems before and after the first pregnancy, i felt much better...

SH (stonelamb)
Username: stonelamb

Post Number: 627
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 11:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY,
Thanks in advance then...i can see if JW likes it b4 i put in effort. Coz hb always spoilsport...always say coz he don't like cheese...bb sure dun like cheese too

MamaChan,
Wah daren so smart! JW will tend to bob his head into water whenever we carry him out of his float. Then he will choke on the water and come out looking stunned.
Hmm...maybe we can buy him the hand float and see how he handle it. Did u just simply give him the float and he can handle it liao?

Scott Emulsion
Hmm...so many good things abt it....maybe i should let JW try...though i personally used to hate that when I was young ;p

Tracy,
Your boss so nice....ok with you surfing net.

SSF (missy)
Username: missy

Post Number: 2473
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 11:56 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamachan - i am due on 11 aug. so i think i left 14-15 jul, 28-29 jul as 4-5 aug sounds risky. haha so much for the choices of date i have. if we go ..we will drive up ..depart on sat and return on sun. sounds very rushing hor? let me know la...havent check with hb on his schedule also. haha..

back to aquaducks trial..ya 15 jul is better for me.

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 2474
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 12:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tabbiesus - can u PM me the massage lady contact too. sounds very good and relaxing lei! just wanna KIV ...in case i need to use her. ya delegate so u have more time to recuperate and rest. moooing is never an easy task. mentally and physically draining. haha..

mongs (mongs)
Username: mongs

Post Number: 808
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 12:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tabbiesus,
I also agree that a good confinement is important. I was thinking of getting a confinement lady this time instead of getting my MIL to help coz the last time I didn't let my MIL take care of clariss at night so I was very tired because she will be crying to be fed and then crying to be carried, with a confinement lady, she will pacify the baby and only when the baby is hungry then bring to me to be fed.

anyone has good confinement lady to recommend, please pm me. thanks.

Florence (flo)
Username: flo

Post Number: 1664
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 12:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SH,
Mirror...are you using the Bloomberg one? I've one on my computer monitor too =) Tho is not so much to check if my boss is watching me...haha

MamaPanda (slinky)
Username: slinky

Post Number: 1985
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 12:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY
My neighbour's hp number is 91818456. His name is Norman Ho. Just tell him you're his neighbour downstairs, Wendy's friend.

Nobody interested in Nordic Natural Children's DHA spree? I'll open it up to marketplace then.

Wenyl (wenyl)
Username: wenyl

Post Number: 1314
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 12:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tabbiesus,
Can pm me the massage lady's contact too? And also the caterer for ur confinement food? Glad u are hoping well even without a confinement lady. I intend not to get one too. Hopefully can cope, with just the maid's help.

SH (stonelamb)

Post Number: 628
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 12:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Flo
nope i using a normal mirror. Haha...i used to hv it at my old workplace...but more for vain me to look at my hair...see not messy or put lipstick. But in my new workplace i position it targeted at my boss seat.

Dunno if it upsets her or not though ;p

ky (xjysg)
Username: xjysg

Post Number: 890
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 12:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SH, u can teach JW to spit water out ... put your mouth half into the water and blow bubbles in front of him, or spit water out. They'll soon learn, yes, esp after choking a few times.

For arm floats, you must keep re-iterating to the child that he cannot ever jump into the water without it, so while u remove it, you must show to it that it's out and keeps telling him. Sometimes, it's good to go without arm floats so that the child doesn't have a false feeling that he can swim.

.ky.

mashy brainz (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member
Username: mashybrainz

Post Number: 5478
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 12:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamapanda

that time vitakids had 20% off nordic nats and i bought extra to store already. :p

SH (stonelamb)

Post Number: 629
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 12:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ky,
thanks! we bring him out of his big float at times and he will suddenly decides he v good liao...wants to push daddy and mummy away...dun let us hold him. Faint ah....

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 2475
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 1:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

may - keep forgetting to post this. so ya have tender? good la...take a break for now and spend quality time with jamie.

May Wong (maywong)
Username: maywong

Post Number: 1700
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 1:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF,
Lousy mummy here not determine enough leh. My resignation got rejected as my boss wants me to reconsider. However, I will go in tomorrow and tell her that's my final decision. I can actually go within 24hrs but I dun think she will agree to it. At most work till Friday lor.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1988
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 1:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy
How much is vitakids selling per bottle of 8oz for?

sunny (nyny)
Username: nyny

Post Number: 3049
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 1:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamapanda
me too! use dermalogica's products. too lazy to use the full range, though. hehe....

what's this vitakids thingy?

CL
what time did you leave the film fest? my gal can't stand the loud PA system. we left after 45 min of the show starts.

Chicken Little (little_pony)
Username: little_pony

Post Number: 3307
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 1:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sunny,

Ha ha Aden basically only interested in eating and when there is music and dance during the movie. So once we run out of food and milk, we left. About 1 hour after it starts. Imagine I sit right in front, super loud man. But I find the show so boring. The singing reminds me of Grease.

cheng (el2004)
Username: el2004

Post Number: 403
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 2:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamapanda
I use derma products too. Can you advise what is the average shipping cost? Wanted to compare prices :> I usually can get 20% discount from my beautician. But heard that Derma products will have price hike in July.

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 2476
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 2:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

may - oh boss ask u to reconsider...he seems to think highly of u. but ultimate choice is still urs to make. so now ya in ORD mode. hee..so nice!

mashy brainz (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member
Username: mashybrainz

Post Number: 5479
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 2:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamapanda

it's $43.90 so your spree price is really cheap. Too bad i've got 2 extra 8 oz bottles now. Perhaps u might wanna check out the shipping price too. check here for the price list of items sold in vitakids.

For the cod liver oil, it's important that the source of the cod liver oil is clean coz of mercury poisoning etc. So there's diff grades among the cod liver oil brands. Better pay a little more for a pharmacaetical grade than a cheap one and u don't know its source.

http://www.zenadu.ecrater.com/category.php?cid=183209

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1989
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 2:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

cheng
yes, the price is already hiked. Buying from the website which I'm organising the spree will save you at least 30-40% off the price here. For eg, I bought the Special Cleasing Gel for only $31.95USD. If u buy in Singapore, its $90+. my spree is still open. Do join if u wanna buy. I'm still have 100USD more to go. If response is poor, I may close the spree and open it again next month.

cheng (el2004)

Post Number: 404
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 3:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi mamapanda,
So for the special cleansing gel, after shipping costs, how much will it be in S$?

If it's cheaper, I don't mind ordering the special cleansing gel too.

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 1701
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 3:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF,
I give crap to her saying that I have some family matters to attend to. Dun want to tell her the truth that I dun like the job scope, else she will go like, "During interview already..blah blah blah.." Sigh..dun want to get nagged/scolded even I want to resign. So use family commitment as an excuse. Who knows she ask me to work halfday till the matter is resolved. And ask me to reconsider. Anyway, tmr's answer will still be the same. I am already turned on my ORD mode. Counting down my days. Hahaha..

SY (sychua79)
Username: sychua79

Post Number: 4134
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 3:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SH
yeah i will try to make it this weekend or the next. but i dun have oven how to bake? can use those toaster oven kind?

my hb also spoilsport one. when i try something new and JH doesn't like he will keep saying dun do anything new next time. so hopefulyl i got appreciative audience in JW...haha

mamachan
thanks for organising. i will try to make it cos really wan to see how they conduct the lessons

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1993
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 3:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

cheng,
Before shipping its abt $51, after shipping, it'll be $55-$60, depending on shipping costs. No need to calculate, definitely cheaper. You call up ur beautician n ask them how much they selling it to you after discount and compare see. If your beautician cheaper, I'll forget abt the spree and buy from your beautician too.

sl (sl0922)
Username: sl0922

Post Number: 1443
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 3:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

So busy these few days - no time to read through. just scan through.

SY,
Sorry, have I transferred the $ for the Mandeville trial to you? Can sms me your account number again? Thks!

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 2477
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 3:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamapanda - oh another US100 more to go...hmm...like that maybe cheng and myself can order somethg else or u have to call off the whole BP. so wasted!
maybe can help me check on the sunscreen(oil free) for my face. give me the estimated price incl shipping and conversion, can?

firstly i cannot checkout those sites at work and also lousy at price conversion. if you can let me know the costs, it be easier. TIA!

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 2478
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 3:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

may - ya i think its wiser to tell her u have family issues than complaining abt the job scope. at least u can leave with a good record and an innocent and bo bian look. hee.. happy counting down...

mamapanda - wats the size(ml) for the cleansing solution? the medium one?

Florence (flo)

Post Number: 1665
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 4:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SH
Heehee, maybe u can tell your boss is for fengshui reasons. My ex colic's had alot of "problems" at home after my ex co had a reno cos there was a sharp corner pointing at her new seat. Both her hb and mom were down with cancer and she felt sick too. After sometime, she decided to put a pot of plant and a mirror in front of her desk and miraculously both her mom and hb's cancer went into remission after that.

Re: Cod liver oil
Just to check, do you give in the morning or evening? cos I thot like most vitamins is better to give in the morning for better absorption?

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1995
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 4:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF
Its 16 fl.oz (large). Why not u check out my BP thread and the website?

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?590029/860439

http://www.whatgreatskin.com

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1996
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 4:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

oops.. jus saw the ml thingy.. its 500ml. The medium size one is 250ml (8oz)

MamaChan (babe_agape)
Username: babe_agape

Post Number: 1358
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 4:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF
wow, you're gonna pop really soon. Sat drive up and sunday back is really abit too rushed. If Friday drive up? I think better not lah, dunno what we will do should you go into labour man!

SH
Daren learnt to be water smart after choking a few times and drinking lots of water! Just like what ky mentioned! I didn't just leave him be with the arm floats just like that, that's a no-no policy for me. When after a few rounds of swimming and seeing that he's so comfortable being in the water, I slowly let go of my hold on him and be around near him and let him float about on his own. When he chokes on the water, he'll paddle back to me and I'll pat him on the back and assure him and show him how to do bubble breathing (blow out bubbles under the water). It takes a while. Key thing is not to hurry them, own time own target. =)

May
Actually, your boss seems to think highly of you hor? Maybe if there's any other portfolio that you're keen in, you can perhaps "bargain" to have a change in job scope? Now that the ball is in your court, so to speak.

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 4135
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 4:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sl
i din check my acct. i will sms u my acct number again. no worries. :-)

Flo
i give the cod liver oil in the morning after his breakfast. :-)

Tracy (cml77)
Username: cml77

Post Number: 2008
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 4:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Flo,
eh, I give cod liver oil in evening cos that's the only time for me to feed Meg. MIL cannot remember to feed her in the morning.

Wenyl (wenyl)

Post Number: 1318
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 5:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Flo,
I also give E the Scotts cod liver oil in the morning, usually after his bfast. But recently, I keep forgetting. Only gave him once a week the most. I also dun refrigerate it after opening. I find this cod liver oil useful cos after his prolonged cough early this yr, I started on it & i believed it kinda build up his immunity.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2001
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 5:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wenyl
I added ur orders to my spree already. Now jus need another 1-2 more orders we can close spree liao. Hurray!

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2002
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 5:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

cheng,
I cant give u an exact figure as it depends on the overall shipping charges. i can only tell u how much it costs before shipping. Overall, it should be about +-$60. Before shipping, its US$31.95*1.6 = SG$51.12.

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 2479
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 5:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamapanda - ok i check the site tonight and confirm with you again.

krissie (cleo)
Username: cleo

Post Number: 2298
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 6:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tracy
i agree with you that confinement is impt. But, i couldnt tahan. I bathed the moment I reached home, coz there's aircon in the hosp, but at home, i didnt on the aircon and I was so hot. I observed most of the confinement rules (except the washing hair) that time. Think i was qt weak and my body ached. So, i bathed with herbal water and washed my hair on alternate day. Washed my hands with boiled water, no fan, etc. such a torture. Will try my best to see how long I can tahan. Did u do the malay massage? how come you hv wind in your tummy?

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 2481
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 7:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamachan - ya i am gg to pop soon. cannot wait mann! weather is sooo hot these days..and with an extra pouch, it doesnt help to cool me down esp when caleb perspires so easily.

mamapanda - i would like to order the following.
Ultra Sensitive FaceBlock spf25 1.75oz
i have added on to your spree link. pls help to update the table. Thanks! :-)

krissie (cleo)
Username: cleo

Post Number: 2299
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 9:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tabb
thanks for the feedback on the massage lady. I still cant decide which massage lady to get. Think i better start booking soon.

mongs
when are u due??

re cod liver oil
think i shall go buy and start Gerald on it soon. He's going to start his sch in Aug and will surely start falling sick.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2005
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 10:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF,
whats your email addy? I'll use the email u use in your profile. If u want to change email in my records, PM me your new email addy cuz I'll be updating u ladies mostly via email.

cheng (el2004)

Post Number: 405
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 10:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamapanda
Thanks! Think I will pass this time round :>

ak (angelk)
Username: angelk

Post Number: 1202
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 10:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Bathing during confinement
I also tried to "tong" during my confinement but i showered and washed hair abt 3 hrs after delivery cos feel so yucky. In the end, gotta go for acupuncture cos my wrist hurt so bad and the acupuncturist actually said my body very weak.

Cod liver oil
I give Ryan the orange flavoured one and he seems to like it...but at this age, their taste bud keep changing....so something he likes today, he will reject tomorrow.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2008
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 10:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY
I've asked my neighbour already. They say if u want indonesian maid in malaysia, she can get her agent in jakarta to liase with you directly to send the maid to malaysia. You can call her for more details. Her name is Mavis Tong. Their office is :
Success Recruitment Services
No.1 Marine Parade Central,
#07-05 Parkway Centre,
Singapore 449408

You can call Mavis at 98584849.

wenyl, SSF re: dermalogica spree
Wenyl, please transfer $102.89 to my POSB account. You have my bank details from the jshopper spree right? SSF, i've PMd you my bank account already. Your order is $41.58. The amount is based on estimated shipping charges. Please check the spree page for more details.

krissie
You joining my Nordic Naturals children's DHA 8oz spree?

yuen (yuenyuen)
Username: yuenyuen

Post Number: 481
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 11:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Advice needed
Have very bad toothache yesterday and never sleep the whole night. Call up the nearest clinic in the morning and end up after checking have to do root canal (last upper molar).

During the process, it was still painful after the jab. When she took out the nerves, was quite painful as well. Wanted to ask it that normal? Was on painful killer but now when I bite, it is painful, is this normal? hopefully I can sleep tonight after so pain killer.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2013
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 11:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wenyl, ssf
I forgot to deduct the base charge from the shipping estimate. So sorry.. the revised amount should be:

wenyl : $99.09
SSF: $39.68

Wenyl, I'll refund u the excess, if any, either via cash during collection or internet transfer. Otherwise, I'll credit the extra into the shipping charges if its higher than my estimate.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2015
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 11:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jshopper spree update
NickItemsTotal (yen)Shipping (yen)Total (Yen)Total (SGD)Paid?
Clare¥7,310¥353.57¥7,663.57 $103.46 yes
Flo¥6,450¥311.97¥6,761.97 $91.29 yes
Lisa¥4,260¥206.05¥4,466.05 $60.29
wenyl¥6,790¥328.42¥7,118.42 $96.10 yes
Total¥24,810¥1,200¥26,010 $351.14

Wenyl (wenyl)

Post Number: 1321
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 11:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamapanda,
No worries! Keep the excess in case the shipping charges higher than ur estimate. Thanks!

ashleyjames (ashleyjames)
Username: ashleyjames

Post Number: 110
Posted on Tuesday, July 03, 2007 - 11:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI ladies,
Din log on for some time. My maid has left so been doubling up as maid at home so been really busy to log in.

For cheese sauce, just a suggestion. If you have like the macoroni cheese like those in california pizza, think you will like the velveeta cheese. Just melt over the macaroni. Quite idiot prove.

Managed to get a swimming instructor that specialise in toddler swimming to come to my condo in pasir ris to teach swimming on fri morning. I need 2 more tods to start the class. anyone keen? He charges 25 bucks for 30mins session. please pm me will give more details. Cannot reveal where he is teaching but can only say he is a veri popular teacher teaching in infant swimming school in singapore.

Re: Cod liver oil,
I give my girl Nordic natural DHA capsules.she prefers it to oil. Maybe she likes the oppinf feeling of the capsules. Multivits generally should be given after food for max absorption.
Just to share. There was a news paper article some time back on the quality of DHA of brands available in singapore and NOrdic natural is one of the few reccomended ( i tink others include Usana and shaklee)as it is process via molecular distillation process so it is free from dioxins and PCBs.

mongs (mongs)

Post Number: 809
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ak, krissie,
I also couldn't tahan the not bathing part but I still try to stick to it. I think I started bathing 7days or 10 days after delivery and about once every 3 days in herbal water depending on the weather. if the weather is too cold, my MIL will advise me not to bathe. I am quite guai in this sense. I know my SIL quietly went to bathe without my MIL knowledge. so far, I am pretty strong though I think I still didn't do a good confinement because I didn't really rest enough. this time round, I am definitely going to be less tough on myself.

Krissie, I am due in end dec. in fact, my EDD is the same date as Clariss B-dae. hopefully the 2 of them can share the same b-dae but I think that maybe difficult.

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 4136
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:03 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamapanda
i think u got the wrong person. i din ask abt getting maid in malaysia :-)

ashleyjames (=jamom)
just in case they dunno your nickname. :-)

where did u get the velveeta cheese? cold storage?

hmm, does tat mean scotts is not very good?

Grace Chng (gchng)
Username: gchng

Post Number: 20
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:03 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Really cant don't visit this post daily or else will definitely get lost..... =)

Seems like many of you gives vitamins/cod liver oil etc to the little ones already....I've not given anything of this sort yet....hmmm....

A few questions
- Any recommendations for "beginners"? In capsules or liquid form?
- How to give in capsules form?
- Don't the little ones resist thinking that we're giving them medicine?

Hear from you all soon....

Aileen (celine77)
Username: celine77

Post Number: 1615
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi mamapanda,
i'm keen to get the nordic naturals cod liver oil. is it much cheaper to buy online? how much is it selling at vita kids? any idea?

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 1616
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

edgar has gotten this horrible viral thingy, suspected HFMD. his hands are affected the most as you can see from the pics. apart from the itchiness which irritates him a little when he's sleeping, he's otherwise fine. still active as ever. have gone to 3 PDs and referred to a dermatologist but none would confirm whether it's HFMD or not, citing that it could be that or just something viral. No medication is given and was told that it would go away on it's own. does any mummies here have any encounters on this, can share more? thanks!

Rena chew (rena076)
Username: rena076

Post Number: 1881
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Alieen,

Poor edgar..hope he get well soon..is there any recent insect bit or did he eat any food tat trigger this?

Post Number: 3314
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen,

Does the rashes appear on the sole too ? Anything on the tongue ? Any fever ?

I sometimes have similar rashes but just a bit on my hand. That is when I touches something very dirty or when I have allergy.

Which dermatologist did you go ?

Post Number: 3315
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:32 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamapanda,

Pai seh, too busy to check out your previous post on nordic naturals cod liver oil. How much huh ?

Sharon Sum (sum)
Username: sum

Post Number: 262
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen
Oh gosh.... poor Edgar! Hope he'll get well soon.

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 2483
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamapanda - yes you can use that email addy from my profile. Ok, will transfer the money to you ASAP. Thanks!

aileen - u want to bring him to KK for second opinion? Looks pretty bad. are there any water in those bubbles? may want to seek KK for their expertise. i know HFMD will also have red dots at the bottom of their feet and ulcer in their mouth. if there is none, i dun think its HFMD.

tabbiesus (tabbiesus)
Username: tabbiesus

Post Number: 1138
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

aileen

poor edgar.. but he's active still and eating alright? It looks like a nasty rash though...

mamapanda
after reading all the posts re: cod liver oil, i was thinking of getting the nordic cod liver oil, is your spree still on? Initially i was thinking of just using the good ole Scotts original one which I happen to LOVe the taste...

RE: immunization
Today tabby is getting her final jabs... then, soon di di's turn will start.. this time round, I'm definitely getting the rotavirus vaccination on top of everything else...

RE: JG
Can i ask you all if you were sent a confirmation letter for receipt of payment... tabby's class was prorated and she's due to start on 15 july... do i just turn up with her?
How's the class so far?

RE: VPOSTUSA
is the UOB discount promo still on? If so does anyone have the code?

Tracy (cml77)
Username: cml77

Post Number: 2009
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Krissie,
wow, your confinement was much better than mine. I simply led a 'normal' life aside from the confinement food. 1st two wks at MIL's, I washed my own pump parts, bottles so already touch tap water. First hair wash happen before going for 1s chk at gynae's. I was sleeping in aircon too. :P

After two weeks, I was washing my baby's clothes on my own already and washing hair alternate days. I didn't do massage cos c-sect so had to wait a period, in the end i forgot about it.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2018
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sysac, re: Indonesian maid in malaysia
SY, sorry.. think its Sysac who asked.. I repost it for her in case she missed it..

I've asked my neighbour already. They say if u want indonesian maid in malaysia, she can get her agent in jakarta to liase with you directly to send the maid to malaysia. You can call her for more details. Her name is Mavis Tong. Their office is :
Success Recruitment Services
No.1 Marine Parade Central,
#07-05 Parkway Centre,
Singapore 449408

You can call Mavis at 98584849.

Aileen, Chickenlittle, re: Nordic naturals
The bottle will cost SGD$26.30 before shipping. Shipping cost will be about $5-$7 per bottle (estimated). Vitakids at Suntec is selling at $49.30 per bottle. I checked their website already. So far, I've got 7 bottles, another 5 more bottles before I close the spree. Unless I get an overwhelming response, then I'll open another spree for the spill overs.

vpostUSA promo
Can only use the discount once. It discount code should be available in vpost website. you can check it out there.

aileen
Yeah, I think u should being him go see a PD if u dun wanna go KK. Kinda looks abit like chicken pox to me, esp if there's water in the bubbles.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2019
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

oops.. forgot to include spree link.. here it is:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?590029/866219

Post Number: 3317
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 9:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks Mamapanda,

I will take 2 bottles then since I got 2 kids.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 1617
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

initially we tot it was insect bite becos it started off with only a few dots. then after 2 days, it started to spread and get worst. we saw a PD at railmall, she said it's probably dirty things that he touched, so prescribed some cream. but after 2-3 more days, it got worst. more area got affected and more intense, so we brought him to PD at gleneagles, this PD said it's eczema, so gave antibiotic cream. then yest, i see that things didn't get better and edgar had mild fever over the weekend, so brought him to see PD at gleneagles again. this time PD said he's afraid it's scabies, but he can't confirm. so referred us to dermatologist opposite his clinic. her name is Dr Tham Siew something, can't remember. she said it looks like something viral or could be HFMD. edgar did have an ulcer but we were not sure if it's due to HFMD coz coincidently he knocked into my hb earlier last week, so we are not sure if he bit his lip or not. and no, there are no spots on his sole.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 1359
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:03 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen
Oohhhh, poor Edgar. Oh dear me, the rashes looks really bad! I recall some of the mums who shared when their todds had HFMD, they refuse to eat and even drink as it's too painful for them to swallow or something, plus fever. Hopefully it'll go away soon. They didn't prescribe any cream (steroid) to apply to help ease the itch and help to eradicate the rashes?

MamaPanda
I think it was sunny who asked about the maid in M'sia, if I recall correctly.

Grace
I started Daren on Scotts Emulsion Cod Liver Oil about 1 month back. So far so good and he doesn't rejects it. It's the only health supplement I've given him to date. I don't think our darlings know exactly what to do with those chewable muti-vits, chances are, I think they might spit it out.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 1618
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamapanda,
are they having 20% off at vitakids? think someone mentioned b4. if they are then i'll get from vitakids.

tabby,
ya edgar's eating fine and active as usual. doesn't seem to be bothering him.

mamapanda,
don't think it's chickenpox, coz i suppose if it is, the PDs shld have suspected. and i don't think there's water in it. don't know leh. looks dry to me.

Esh Mummy (esh_mummy)
Username: esh_mummy

Post Number: 547
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen,

Will keep Edgar in our prayers....
Hope that he'll get well soon and be strong......

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 1619
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamachan,
ya the rashes are really bad. it looks much worst in person. very dark red, as if inflamed. but good thing he's still active so it's not so tiring on me! :P they only gave a moisturizer to keep him moisturised and medication to reduce the itch.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 1620
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

thanks esh! =D

Wenyl (wenyl)

Post Number: 1324
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamapanda,
Can I order 1 bottle for Ethan to try too? So far, like Mamachan, I only gave E scotts emulsion as the only health supplement. Bought seven seas but hvnt try yet.

Mamachan,
U will be surprise that our little darlings will enjoy chewing the multi-vits, especially if its tasty.

mongs (mongs)

Post Number: 810
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:26 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

aileen,
poor edgar, I think you must be very heartache.
I used to have bad rash on my hands before as well. something like that but not so big on the back on my hand, mine has water in them and when it's dried up, it will be ok. it was so bad that I couldn't take anything using my hand else it will trigger the itch. I think KK is a better option to see a PD.
I believe it maybe allergy since if it's not HFMD or chicken pox. wash his hands frequently with water and dry them properly. don't let him touch things with chemicals such as soap and clean his toys frequently but don't use chemicals to clean them. take care of his food intake as well. try to give bland cooling stuff.
my rash went away after 1 week plus close to 2 wks. now I avoid the soap that gives me the rash and I have been cleared off the rashes for 6-7 years already.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2025
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wenyl,
Orders noted.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2027
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:32 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

chicken little, babylon
orders noted. spree closed. hee.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 1360
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

MamaPanda
I would like to order one bottle as well for Daren to try, since he's finishing his current bottle of Scotts Emulsion. =) Thanks!

Grace Chng (gchng)
Username: gchng

Post Number: 21
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamapanda,
Maybe i can get a bottle to let Megan try....
Can collect @ Hougang! Thanks

Wenyl,
what type of multi-vits are you refering to?

ky (xjysg)
Username: xjysg

Post Number: 892
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi Aileen

Might be HFMD. How many days since the first rash came out... but if the experts can't confirm, n u have seen a few PDs ... hm.

My #1 had HFMD 2 times. The very first time is mild. Just a few spots and he was running and eating very healthily, no ulcer. But it's the 2nd time when there's quite a lot of rashes that he was not able to eat and that was really bad, and the rashes look similar to this. Is this just on the two hands only?

.ky.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2029
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen
I'm not sure if vitakids are still having 20% off cuz I checked their website, nothing was mentioned abt 20% off. Anyway, the quota has been reached so I'm closing the spree. I can open up another spree and see how many more responded though if u still want.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2030
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamachan, grace,
I'll open up a spree #2 for you. The first one is closed already.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2032
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

nordic naturals spree#2 is open. here's the link :

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/867197.html?1183517280

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2035
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 10:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tabbi,
Strange.. I didn't receive your PM but I ordered 1 bottle for you. BTW, bad news.. your VS bras have been backordered to 28/8 :-(

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 1361
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Looking for Angel's Wings
Any of the moms who bought the wings for our last Botanical Gardens PS wants to sell it off? I would like to get one for my gf's upcoming wedding in Nov this year. She's looking at Angelic Theme and she's booked Daren as her angel page boy and she needs an extra set of wings for her angel flower girl.

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 1703
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamachan,
I dun want to stay here cos of the culture. Anyway I dun think she will be ok with it. Bcos of the time difference of my customer, it is actually ok for me to work halfday. That's why she is offering me this option.

Aileen,
Poor Edgar, think it is better to bring to KKH. It looks like HFMD to me too. He been to any playground or places that mix around with other kids recently?

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 1362
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks MamaPanda for helping organize Spree #2 =)

Florence (flo)

Post Number: 1666
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

RE: Cod Liver Oil
SY, Tracy, Wenyl...thanks for the info. I've bot one scotts quite sometime back but have yet to give Mel.

Mamapanda
How's the taste of nordic naturals? Humm after reading about it am thinking of getting one but afraid Mel may not like the taste. She's a fussy eater :-(

Re: Chewable
Do they taste better?

Aileen
Edgar's rashes look bad...I rem Mel's PD mentioned previously not all HFMD will have full blown symptoms. I find she's quite good and thorough and most imptly very patient. I can PM you her clinc address if you are keen to seek 4th opinion.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2036
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

flo
I've also never tried it before. This is my first time but I heard alot good comments on this product, so decided to try it out. My neighbour and my hb's boss also getting 1 bottle each to try out. According to their website, its not supposed to taste fishy.

Wenyl (wenyl)

Post Number: 1325
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen,
Poor Edgar. Hope he recovers soon. Is he attending any playgroup recently? Better check with the school if there is any recent case of HFMD there.

RE: DENGUE hse checks
Just now, 2 officers came to my plc to do spot check on mozzie breeding. Luckily I've got not many plants around. They are also checking the kitchen dish washing trays. So I thot better warn the mummies here. Btw, dun forget to clear the tray below our fridge cos it does accumulate water after a period of time.

sleepingdeer (sleepingdeer)
Username: sleepingdeer

Post Number: 1332
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Mamapanda,
transfered money to you yesterday night about 9pm+... did you receive it? Oh dear....

Flo,
no lah, Melody was just a little cranky, she didn't disturb the class, I think first day all the kids were a little unsettled.... haha, your hubby wasn't around for the chinese class to see Shannon figeting and whining too... strange leh, i overheard your hubby telling the teacher that Mel is always likt tat in class, I remember her in positive babies, and she was fine! Maybe miss her mommy, that's why.... :-)

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2039
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

babylon, mamachan
Pls PM me your email addy and Hp numbers for my records can? Your profiles don't have email address.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 2040
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sleepingdeer,
I'll check tonight. NO worries. I didn't login to check last night.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 1621
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamapanda,
please include me in ur 2nd spree. thanks!

flo, may, ky,
his spots on the hands started appearing last sun/mon. now there are spots all over his whole body, hands and legs but nothing like those on his hands. his hands looked as if badly inflamed. i will seek another opinion if things doesn't look better by the end of the week. i'll check with shichida if they have any cases. coz that's the last class he went to b4 he had the spots.

Post Number: 1333
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY,
the veleeta cheese comes in a pack of Marcaroni and Cheese, I bought it from Cold Storage, Yup, as Ashleyjames mentioned, it's idiot proof, just cook the pasta, and add the cheese sauce over it... but as ususal, fussy S didn't enjoy it much, my neighbour's gal loves it though! She can finish the whole pack!

Tabs,
the JG class is quite fun, similar to the holiday programme but with chinese section added into it... :-) Think you can just walk into the class, cos they have a register of names of those who are joining...

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 1622
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sleepingdeer,
under which section can we find the velveeta cheese pack? cheese section or pasta section?

Post Number: 1334
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

AIleen,
should be under pasta section, it comes in a dry cardboard box... I saw it right at the end of the row under Pasta section at Rail Mall's Cold Storage.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 1623
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sleepingdeer, ok noted, thanks!

Post Number: 1335
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Oh, it's from Kraft, so maybe easier to spot... :-)

Sysac (sysac)
Username: sysac

Post Number: 1064
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamapanda - I think it was Sunny who was aking abt a maid for her dad in Malaysia. Not me lah :-) I already have an Indon maid :-)

Aileen - I wish Edgar a speedy recovery. The rashes really looks bad!

Sysac (sysac)
Username: sysac

Post Number: 1065
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:54 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Kraft Marcaroni Cheese is yummy! My mum cooks that for Cephas. However, it's quite cheesy. Took him a while to get used to it :-)

Sept 03 Bride (sept03bride)
Username: sept03bride

Post Number: 1318
Posted on Wednesday, July 04, 2007 - 11:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen,
oh dear, those rashes on Edgar's hands looks pretty bad. The 3 PDs cannot confirm what causes it or how they should be treating it? That's bad.
I have seen some pics of HMFD cases and it looks somewhat similar to those that Edgar is having.

HMFD spreads to adults too cos my colleague also got it from his kiddo. U are preggy now, should be careful also hor.

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use