SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2006 Mums * (2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs * Archive * Archive through March 11, 2007 < Previous Next >

SY (sychua79)
Username: sychua79

Post Number: 3555
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 9:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

cookie
the church play group is it riverlife? they have a 3 hours playgroup? what age group? i m interested. can JH join the playgroup even though we dun go to the church?

CL,
i msg u at abt 11.45 whether i can go. cos got meeting till 12

Tracy (cml77)
Username: cml77

Post Number: 1623
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 10:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

queen,
Re:MIL
that sounds so irritating! Thankfully my MIL doesn't say so direct about Meg preferring MIL to me. BUT at times she does it in other ways. eg. when Meg pulled at her diapers and cried and I didn't know its cos she pooed and wanna be changed, my MIL said,'aiyo poor thing, she pooed lah. you didn't know?' i just laughed and said,'you also didn't know!'

sl (sl0922)
Username: sl0922

Post Number: 1215
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 10:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

CL,

Let me know when the lunch thing firmed up? Not sure if I can join you guys. Got lots of stuff to clear - end of FY now.

CassCL/Denmy,
Think I am luckier. Quite a few pple gave up their seats to me when I was obviously pregnant. Maybe I was glaring hard enough at them. Ha ha ha!

re: cord blood banking
I also kaypo since I am not pregnant. I donated charmaine's cord blood.

val,
Oh dear! Thank God you and kirsten are okay! I know that junction. There are quite a bit of heavy vehicles using that road and they can be very reckless.

Cookie,
I cooked the porridge very not nua now though my mil still cooks it quite nua. I didn't even blend the veggies and fish already. Just cut them into small pieces. For meat, I also just cut into small, small pieces. BUT my mil kept complaining that I should cut her veggies smaller cos her poo got visible bits of veggie so it means that she can't digest them. I don't think she has problems digesting them cos even the PD said at our last visit that don't need to cook porridge all the time already. Can give her rice with soup to make it softer.

sl (sl0922)

Post Number: 1216
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 10:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Denmy,

I am using the PIS - loved it so much that I would recommend it to everyone. My ms was quite low and not really very fantastic to begin with but I managed to TBF charmaine till now cos the PIS really made it so much easier for me to express milk during office hours.

sl (sl0922)

Post Number: 1217
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 10:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Cookie/SY/CL,

I am going to visit Del-Care tomorrow at 10am. It's a infantcare/childcare centre recommended by CL. I saw the programme they emailed me. Not bad.

CL,
Wanted to check with you if you have heard of a lot of kids falling sick there?

re: childcare/infantcare
Actually I am of 2 minds about whether to send charmaine there. My mum has to travel with my dad for biz quite often and for the past year, she really has to cut down a lot on this cos she needs to look after charmaine for me. BUT my mil is really not reliable in terms of being there for us to help to take care of charmaine. Like this week, my mum's overseas so I asked if she can help to take care of charmaine for the whole week. Her first reaction was like no way, you know how active your daughter is, it's very stressful for me. BUT on the other hand, I have heard a lot of pple commenting that children get sick very easily at childcare.

queen (queen)
Username: queen

Post Number: 2047
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 10:36 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tracy,
It's not so much of my MIL bragging about Isaac preferring her but most of the time, it's the other way round. She likes to express her 'jealousy' that Isaac rejects her when I'm around. It's irritating to me that she wants to 'compete' with me for Isaac affection. I mean, isn't it natural that Isaac who hasn't seen me the whole day, wants me more when I'm back from work? Why must she always keep saying that he doesn't want her when I'm around? Like Isaac is being ungrateful.
There was a period of time before he was sick from the Rotavirus when Isaac was more sticky to her and she will subtlely comment on that. Also super irritating to me cos I mean it's insensitive right? What's she trying to prove?
I can still ignore all these comments but last evening, the way she just snatched him away from my lap and hug him and said 'it's ok, Ma(3) Ma(3) sayang' really takes the cake. As if she cannot bear to see him crying while in my arms. Thank goodness, Isaac knows who's Mummy and cried for me to carry.
I know it's natural for my MIL to feel hurt that Isaac rejects her (whenever I'm around) when she's the main caregiver. But I think if she understands that I'm his mummy and that it's only natural that prefers me more sometimes, then she shouldn't feel jealous right?
But then again, this doesn't apply the other way round. I know that I would be jealous and hurt if Isaac rejects me. Cos I'm the MUMMY! And MUMMY comes first! Heeheee...
Maybe I also Siao liao.

Tracy (cml77)

Post Number: 1624
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 10:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

queen,
you're not siao lah. think this MIL-DIL love-hate relationship (that is if you even love her!!) goes way back many generations already. it's difficult to strike a balance cos somehow most MILs want their grandkids to stick to them. Strangely it happens always from the guys' side, while the girl's parents dun seem to. hmmm....

lets see next time whether we will become like this too. hahaha

Chicken Little (little_pony)
Username: little_pony

Post Number: 2216
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 10:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SL,
Tomorrow not many kids around because Sat. Then you only get to see the environment and not see for yourself how the teachers take care of the kids. Usually if the kids sick and need to be on medication, the childcare required the dr letter to confirm the kid is fit for school. So far I see the kids who are on medication are always the same few who is on asthma medication. I seldom hear Charmaine telling me who is not at school because of cough or fever. But I not very sure about the infant side. But if you see the menu, I oso like it myself. hee hee.

Cityhall Lunch
I have not received any confirmation from Cookie to meet for lunch. Will sms you all when it is on

rachel (moon77)
Username: moon77

Post Number: 1690
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 10:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

krissie/tracy
thanks for the info on stroller. will go down when hb is back from his biz trip. oh, so combi no cheaper than outside ah. anyway if we like the stroller think will still get one since have some taka voucher =)

re: cord blood banking
i donated dylan's cord blood instead of banking it. know from them, if the child *touch wood touch wood* has any illness, his/her own cord blood wont be ideal to use le. best is to use their sildlings cord blood instead. think i will still donate my #2 cord blood, since it will be use to save other child =)

SY (sychua79)
Username: sychua79

Post Number: 3556
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 11:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SL
can share the program from Del care?

queen
i think it is only natural that isaac wants u at the end of the day.

u know, JH every night will look for us if we are not back yet. i was late in going back last night and he refused to change into his pampers until i was home.

next time if your MIL still say silly remarks, just hint to her that it is only natural and in fact, if isaac doesn't wan u when u r home, then that wd be worrying!

Post Number: 2217
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 11:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Cityhall Lunch -
I will be meeting Cookie at 11.50 at Raffles Hotel. SL, SY sms me to check where we will be eating if you are coming.

SY, I will pass the birthday bash gift exchange to cookie in case we dun meet up. I think easier for you to meet up within Pasir Ris

Mong
Your goodie bag I already pass to flo, you can pick up from her.

Mummies who has attended the birthday bash
We still need to submit our babies' 1 Year old photo to Rachel so she can do up the Momento. Hurry Hurry before our babies turn 2. Hee Hee

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1691
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 11:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

re: inconsiderate people on public transport
think there is only a very small number of people who will give up their seat to elderly, preggie woman and children.

there was once a preggie woman boarded the bus with me, very crowded. no one seems to see her and her big tummy =/ after 2 bus stops, a lady left her seat to alight and i quickly sat down first, at the same time tried to get to the mummy. when i finally got her attention, she tried to move towards me and when i stood up, a man actually wanted to snatch the seat!! aiyoh, shame on him. i stared at him and blocked his way so the mummy can seat down. *shook head*

Tracy (cml77)

Post Number: 1625
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 11:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Rachel,
Sent a close-up shot of Meg to you liao at memories_inc. Hope the shot is good enuf. :-) Thanks!!

sl (sl0922)

Post Number: 1218
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 11:32 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

CL,

Ya, I wanted to go tomorrow to see the environment first and bring charmaine along to see if she like the place. Then visit with my mum later to show here where the place is since she might be picking charmaine up then we can also see how the teachers interact with the kids.

sl (sl0922)

Post Number: 1219
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 11:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY,

you pm me your email addy? I will forward you the email that the lady forward me.

chillies (chillies)
Username: chillies

Post Number: 877
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 11:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

RE : Infant Care
My friend put her daughter but pulled out shortly. Cos the daughter fell ill easily there and once the child is ill.She also gave all vaccine to play safe. Now daughter wif a nanny.

RE : MIL
my MIL also the same. My boy reaches out for me but she wldnt let go and quickly carries him away. When he cries, she wld quickly "Ma Ma yang yang". I let me boy watched Baby Genius "Four Seasons". Its classical music on the background and some simply pictures or children. She commented. "Aiyo, y not cartoon? He dun want to watch want lar!" But my boy was watching intently. Haiz...somehow she likes to prove me wrong.

chillies (chillies)

Post Number: 878
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 11:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

re: inconsiderate people on public transport
I long gave up on them. Nv give up seat, nv move in leaving empty seat inside. Rush to board the bus before me. If I'm in a foul mood, I wld loudly say "Excuse me!" and get myself infront of them.

MamaChan (babe_agape)
Username: babe_agape

Post Number: 964
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 12:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

re: inconsiderate pple on public transport
chillies
Think you quite mild lah, at least excuse me is acceptable. There was once I was waiting for taxi along the road near my place carrying Daren and my hb was with me. Then this young punk came walking from afar, am very sure he must had seen us, blatantly stand about 50m away form us and flag for taxi! I know that as no taxi stand and whoever stands in front of whoever will get the cab. I was so annoyed (waited for 10 min or so) as he tried to flag this one available cab coming our way, I shouted "Oi!!!!!!" very loudly. He turned and looked at us and his arm slowly came down, stopped flagging and we got the taxi instead. My hb was shocked that I shouted out. hehehe.

Rena chew (rena076)
Username: rena076

Post Number: 1643
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 12:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

RE: public transport

i think i also si3 xin1 with singaporean even the younger ones.. i remember when i was pregnant with a very big tummy.. when ever i take mrt or bus.. no body will bother to give up their sits.. some pretend to sleep somehore.. wah lao..and it was a very old lady giving up her sit for me.. but i very pai seh coz she very old leh..

MamaPanda (slinky)
Username: slinky

Post Number: 1399
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 12:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Address
Mummies, I've PMd u my address. If your name is not in the list below, kindly PM me for my address.

Date
I'm ok with 15 March but I just realised its a thursday and I normally go to my dad's place on thursdays.. Will you still be able to make it if I change it to 14Mar (Wednesday) instead? If not, we'll stick to thursday. No problems.

Activities
What shall we do during the Circle time? Any ideas? I'm toying around with the idea of finger painting and feet painting.. Would be nice to have our little darling's feet and hands in a neat artwork yeah?

Bubbles
Who's bringing the bubbles? I only know toys'r'us selling those special bubble solutions and bubble guns for children. Anyone has them?

Recipe
Anybody else gonna share recipes on that day? Would u like me to share baby pasta recipe, baby shepard's pie (mashed potato & minced pork) or chicken & butternet squash delight (my very own home cooked instant baby food)? For those who are bringing food (can be porridge, dessert, etc) along for the buffet, I think just bring about 2-3 baby's portion is enough. The idea is to let our babies try a wide variety of baby foods instead of the usual 1 :-)

xjysg
Will you be joining us for the baby buffet?

Lunch for mummies
Finally, what are we gonna eat? We've settled our baby's foods but what about us? I've got KFC and Pizza Hut and Kopitiam just downstairs. Macs is also nearby at Bukit Panjang Plaza. Do we want to pot luck for ourselves as well, or order takeaways?

Bt Panjang Playgroup (All are welcomed!)
Date: 15 March (Thurs)
Venue: Mamapanda's place
Time: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Pls indicate response:
1. Mamapanda - Ok
2. Durianlover - Ok
3. Rachel - Ok
4. CassCL - Ok
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little -ok
7. xjysg - will be there after lunch (prob 12.30 - 1pm)

Suggested Activities
1. Baby gourmet [sharing of baby recipes)
2. Circle Time
3. Bubble time

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1400
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 12:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

public transport
I've long given up hope on our current young generation, even as their teacher - also one of the reasons why I'm leaving the service. When I was pregnant, I don't expect them to give up seats for me. If they do, its usually aunties or people around our age, who do so. The young people - uni students, poly students, sec school or pri students - they just either pretend they did not see u by looking down or elsewhere or some don't even bother even when I'm standing with my 3rd tri tummy protuding right in their face in front of them. What's more, I'm carrying my big bulky heavy notebook (compliments from a low budget organisation like my school) and the train is really crowded. People simply don't care anymore. *shake head*

Cookie : porridge
I still cook sticky nua porridge for Ariene. She likes it that way. As for learning how to chew, it doesn't have to be from eating porridge. What's more important is how K likes her porridge, right? Ariene learns how to chew from her finger foods. She can bite bananas from the whole banana, she can bite cheese off the wedge, she likes to bite of her baby wafer ( the only sweet treat I've ever given her), she likes to chew her teddy puff and gerber fruit stars too. BAsically, I don't cut her foods into small baby bite size anymore. I just cut into normal bite sizes and she'll chew them herself. If I cut too small, she'll try to squeeeze many pieces into her mouth and chew them.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1401
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 1:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

taka baby fair
The fair is until when? Need buy few more boxes of pigeon breast pads. Thought I can do without them already but last night, while I was feeding on 1 side, the other side was soaked cuz it started leaking when I had a let down.

sl (sl0922)

Post Number: 1220
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 1:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rachel,

I am using a combi light weight stroller which is good except that now that Charmaine has grown a bit, when she's sleeping in the stroller, the harness cannot secure her comfortably.

sl (sl0922)

Post Number: 1221
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 1:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

CL,

Think I am not joining you guys for lunch. Just finished my stuff.

Mamapanda,
same here! If I cut my fruits very small, charmaine will stuff a lot of pieces in her mouth too!

god's child (cel_cel)
Username: cel_cel

Post Number: 1139
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 1:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

AK - Im using Britax,but dunno which model it is. 3point harness oni... had i realised earlier,wld haven gotten the Royale,think its 5point harness.

Re : IT fair / Baby fair
sigh, i wana go Baby fair but HB wana go IT fair... so now counting on my sis to get the camera we want then i can pull him to Taka liao... hiak hiak.. afterall, there isnt anytin of my interest at IT fair plus, its so overcrowded tat i tink the organiser shld supply more oxygen into the hall!!! mummies who have gone there, are there like 20% disc for Pigeon?

SSF (missy)
Username: missy

Post Number: 1919
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 1:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

valerie - oh gosh..the lorry driver is really terrible. thank GOD that both of you are safe and sound. we really have to be extra cautious when driving mann!

re: light stroller
i bought one from combi at hypermart for $126. It's abt 2 kg plus only. i find it easy to bring it ard esp when travelling.

denmy - wow u are still planning to expand your family tree. hopefully u will get a gal la. as for me...after a discussion with hb, we plan to stop at 2. so may it be a gal or boy this time, our decision is still to stop. too tired to get preggy again. hee..

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1402
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 1:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

anyone going to the taka fair today? I'm going to town for my new job's medical checkup so will walk over to taka for the fair later after the checkup. Prolly will be at taka at about 4pm.

car seat
I'm using the maxi cosi priori with 5-point harness. Prolly won't be getting another one anymore cuz hb says most of the time we'll be driving my car if we're bringing Ariene out cuz its bigger, more spacious and has a bigger boot space, but that doesn't stop me from looking at others right? We really liked the ultimate Aprica one but unless we strike toto, its far out of reach. I want to see strollers though. The maclaren XT although sturdy, is heavy. Are combi strollers and aprica strollers cheaper at the fair? Are they on offer at robinsons as well?

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1403
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 1:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

preggy #2
You gals are so lucky. Don't think we'll be lucky a second time in having a #2. It was already quite hard for us to have Ariene and now, hb has slipped disc problem, makes it even harder to have a #2. Oh well, we're really glad we had Ariene. It's ok for us even she's our one and only. She'll have all our attention and tender loving care. Of course, my ILs won't be happy abt this cuz my hb's the only son and the only male in his family. All his cousins are females. But.. some things are not within our control la.. *shrug*

May Wong (maywong)
Username: maywong

Post Number: 1273
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 1:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

MamaPanda,
Taka fair until 15 Mar or 25 Mar leh.

Preggie Mummies,
Maybe u all can drop by to get some baby clothings. Some can be worn at home and it's pretty cheap.

Mamachan,
Guess now being mum we will tend to protect ourselves and baby more bah. I used to keep quiet when pple knock onto me last time. After preggie, I will purposely say OUCH or WEI and wait for apologies. Including now if anyone accidentally hit Jamie with handbags or paperbags.

RE: MIL
Queen I know how u feel when baby prefers mummy. I am also like that when MIL did that. Got the "dun think u can win me" feeling.. haha.. I once told hubby "U will never understand the strong invisible bond between Jamie and me."

Post Number: 2218
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 2:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Julia Gabriel
Wow, just received a call from David Gabriel I think he is the director or something from the school. He was assuring me that they are looking at setting up a class for us but faced with some difficulties. But he is definitely closely monitoring the progress. Asked him about the registration form , he not involved in day to day operations but will get the admin head to reply me.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 965
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 2:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Seats given up for pregnant women
So far, I've been quite blessed that each time I board the MRT or bus when I was preggers, even at 5 - 6 months onwards, I have seats given up for me, interestingly, it was mainly women (middle-aged) and once a middle-age malay man. I think my tummy was really huge and round that I look like I'm going to give birth soon. But yes, the younger generation don't quite care to give up their seats which is really sad.

sl (sl0922)

Post Number: 1223
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 2:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamachan,

I have pple giving up seats for me too. But most of hte times, it's the young executive males! So by combining our experiences, maybe there are some hope for Siingapore. : )

god's child (cel_cel)

Post Number: 1140
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 2:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamapanda - im going to taka baby fair too,but not so early.bout 6pm after work :-)

CL - wow, good to hear JG is in the midst of organising a class solely for us. look fwd to hearing more from them.

Esh Mummy (esh_mummy)
Username: esh_mummy

Post Number: 260
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 3:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi...
Congrats to all mummies to be... :-)

Denmy (denmy)
Username: denmy

Post Number: 871
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 3:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Queen,
Thanks for your suggestion. Wouldn't it work out the same cost if sending it via post? I'll have to keep a look out for ppl going to US or UK. Maybe can get him/her to hand carry back.

Anyway, I calculated liao. Getting an Avent IQ Duo is equivalent to buying 6mths worth of FM. So it will definitely be worth it if I TBF for more than 6 mths. As for the Medela PIS, it's less than 4 mths worth of FM.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 966
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 3:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sl
hahaha I certainly hope that Singapore will have hope!!! I was quite amused to see those army regulars or NSmen on the trains, they look more zonked out then us then-heavily pregnant woman. Especially those who sleep on the train, legs stretched out at times and mouth big big!! (They slept like there's no tomorrow). And they don't give up seats to the preggers. They only need to carry their 12kg load for whatever march/exercise they have and that's that, while we carry the additional weight for a good 3 months (in our 3rd tri) everyday, 24/7!!

Denmy (denmy)

Post Number: 872
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 3:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Durianlover,
re: Baby Spinach
Did you mention a couple of days back you need to get spinach again? Wanna start teh ball rolling?

cookie (labby)
Username: labby

Post Number: 3031
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 3:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Krissie
Yes back to Dr Ho again.
BTW he change his package starts from 5th mth onwards ley.. wow spend more $$. The multi Vit also change.
I started seeing him around 2 mths plus

Tracy
What happen to megan? why reject porridge?
When she reject porridge.. what did u feed her? Cereal?

Re: meals for Kae during holiday trip...
Now a bit headache with meals for Kae if we really go Aust.. cos dun think will bring slow cooker to cook porriodge.. since she super fussy and I cannot bring food stuff into Aust. Aust supermarket probably dun sell Ngoh He also...

Thinking of feeding Cereal plus Egg for lunch and probably jar food for dinner...
Hopefully in Aust have other food that I can make into small pc and feed Kae.
Now our baby is older... they should be able to accept more food rite? but HB still not in favour to feed her adult food.

Esh Mummy (esh_mummy)

Post Number: 261
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 3:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

cookie, can try mashed potato while u're there... potatoes should be in abundance... :-)

Esh Mummy (esh_mummy)

Post Number: 262
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 3:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

then can mix the mashed potato with eggs, with some vege available there...

cookie (labby)

Post Number: 3032
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 3:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

to continue
Re: Share food receipt to serve with Cereal
Hi mum
Any ideas to share with me.. what else can I serve with Cereal during lunch?

SY
I heard.. currently play group at river life is 2hrs only but in 2007... the play group will extend to 3 hrs.
According to my friend, the play group aim to get kid work in group on a project so they will learn to communicate and share in the process etc..
I have no information on the play group yet.. will need to search.

cookie (labby)

Post Number: 3034
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 3:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Esh Mummy
thanks so much... mash potatos + egg should be nice. I was eating egg mayo just now.. so nice but our toddler cannot eat. But I suppose add butter will ok.

Esh Mummy (esh_mummy)

Post Number: 263
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 3:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Cookie,

I added eggs to it, sometimes i'll add cheese to it, or diced apples, banana and papaya...

Esh Mummy (esh_mummy)

Post Number: 264
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 3:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

butter? not so good for baby's health, y not try cheese? those in cubes...

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 967
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 3:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

cookie
maybe instead of the usual HT cereal, u can make Quaker Oats for Kae? Like what Esh Mummy suggested, mashed potato would be good. Brocolli would be readily available I believe, just need to steam or broil them till soft and serve as finger food for Kae to self-feed and chew. Australia should be able to sell their "Pearl Rice" at their supermarkets and u still can consider bringing your slow cooker to cook just for her. minced Beef/pork could also be readily available to add into porridge, just need to use a cooled boiled water to add to the amount of minced meat you want to add and stir till they disperse and not too chunky and add into porridge to cook. Shouldn't be all that difficult. You could try giving Kae other types of fish i.e. Cod or salmon, since it's not going to be a long trip, should be alright.

cookie (labby)

Post Number: 3035
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 3:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamachan
I bought heinz organic museli with fig and sultanta. it's more chunky and smell nice (to me) but kaelyn dun fancy and ate very little..
esp rasin/sultana.. even though it's sweet, she also dun like.

kaelyn dun like meat in her porridge.. when we serve her pork or chicken ( MIL dun prepare beef so far).. she reject after the 1st mouth. She prefer fish overall.. but I do not wish to feed cod fish (she hate salmon) all the time due to high level of mercury.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 968
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 3:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

cookie
O i c, for cod fish, true to the high level mercury content, but if keep it minimal like once a day and alternate days, should be alright. You can try to give her other types of fish too. Maybe can try asking if they have threadfin aka ngor he at the market when you're there. =) Does Kae like toasted bread or bread? Can let her have some bread as well. =)

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 1920
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 4:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

cookie - ya u can buy potatoes from aussie supermarket. then mashed it adding egg, carrot, slice of cheese and even brocolli. I did it last weekend and it was tasty. then just bring a vaccum flask and u are ready to feed her at a go. u can also buy jar food and feed her during dinner times. i think its ok to feed adult food as long as its not salty or have lots of gravy. ui can feed kaelyn rice too and maybe boiled veg like cauliflowers or brocolli, carrots.

Esh Mummy (esh_mummy)

Post Number: 265
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 4:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

can my baby with 6 teeth take rice?

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 1921
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 4:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

esh_mummy - caleb has taken japanese rice as early as 9 mths when we went to japan. basically i think its alright as long as its not too hard.

Esh Mummy (esh_mummy)

Post Number: 266
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 4:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF,

Oic.... Thanks :-)

cookie (labby)

Post Number: 3036
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 4:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF and mamachan
Thanks.. I will try out the recommendation.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 969
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 4:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

queen
forgot to mention, I've already transferred the money for the old navy socks (4 pairs) 2 days ago. I forgot to take down the reference number. Do kindly check =). Thanks once again!

Tracy (cml77)

Post Number: 1626
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 4:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamapanda,
Pigeon breast pads going at $8 per box so quite worth it to go get at Taka fair.

Cookie,
Meg has slight bronchitis. So appetite affected. She's purely on milk and bread for 2 wks already...but i can bet if you give her potato chips she will eat!

Re: Neubilize
Sigh...had to rent the neubilizer for 5days. Its not the rental tats costly. it's the med!! the consultation today burnt a $221 hole in my bank.

Juz neubilized her at 4.15pm during her nap. Thankfully she slept right thru even though the machine was even noisier than a breast pump. Gotta do it 8hrly so it's sleepless nights for next 5 days. Worrying part is whether MIL can handle the neubilzer on Monday and Tuesday. Otherwise i'll hve to fly from office-MIL-office on Mon & Tue afternoon..

Re: Seats for Preggy Women
I would say 50-50 for me. Sometimes have, some not. But majority who gave up their seats are surprisingly men and not the women. You would think that the women will empathize with you. I can still remember a teenage girl (looked abit havoc type) did give up her seat for me. So all is not lost for our next generation.:-)

I face more problems getting seats on trains than buses. On buses, people more auto. I remembered a bus driver was so nice to wait till i sat down then he drove.

Esh Mummy (esh_mummy)

Post Number: 267
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 4:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tracy,

When is the taka fair ending?

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1692
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 5:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tracy
oh dear... you hang in there.

Re: Seats for Preggy Women
for me there is also once a bus driver waited for me to sit down then he start driving, very touched wor =)

once a young lady offer her seat to me on the train too. appreciate her kindness, although those student sitting next to her like dont seem to see me standing there.

our younger generation still got hope =p

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 1922
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 5:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tracy - thks for sharing the discount on the pigeon's breastpad and booster seat. i just asked my frd who works there to buy for me 2 boxes plus the safety 1st booster seat :-) so this weekend, i can dun need to squeeze with the crowd liao :-)

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 970
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 5:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tracy
Oh dear...neubilize for 5 days? Wow...hope Megan recovers soon! Hope that Megan is a brave gal and not put up too much of a struggle. Daren when he was sick and had to be neubilized, he lost appetite for milk, but still ok with porridge.

Sept 03 Bride (sept03bride)
Username: sept03bride

Post Number: 1127
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 5:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tracy,
why does megan need to be on the neubilizer?Aiyo, always very xin tong to hear our babies on neubilizer

Tracy (cml77)

Post Number: 1627
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 5:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Esh_Mummy,
Taka Fair is on till 25th March :-) Vouchers can be used, but no further discount for Taka card.

Rachel,SL

SSF,
No problems. Glad I could help out.

sl (sl0922)

Post Number: 1226
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 5:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tracy,
Oh dear! Hope that Megan gets well soon. Will pray for her quick recovery.

Mamapanda,
Can share your baby shepard pie's recipe pls? Sounds yummy! Too bad I can't make it for the playground.

Cookie,
If you are staying in svc apartments, should be able to use the pot there to cook porridge for kaelyn. When I was in Australia, I would alternate for charmaine, i.e. one day codfish then the next day would be chicken or pork. Baby spinach/broccoli, codfish, chicken, rice are easily available in coles. They even have the smaller packs for vegetables. On days when I know that we are going out early early then I will cook the stock one night early then just cook mee sua the next day. It's faster.

Tracy (cml77)

Post Number: 1628
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 5:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamachan, Sept03,
Her phlegm did not clear from last Tues, and since she always puke her med out, its not reaching her well. So best way is to neubilize.

Eh...she didn't struggle cos she's asleep. heehee. I only started neubilizing her when we reached home, not at the PD's. The nurse said dun need to strap the mask to her face when she's asleep. Just hold the mask close to her nose and let her breathe it in.

Thanks for your concern! I'm positive that she'll be well soon since it cost $221!!! Better be....

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1693
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 5:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

esh_mummy
taka fair till 25 march.

mamapanda
i recieved your pm on your address le. thanks. i am fine on either day, just let me know. hmm, but if its wednesday then chicklittle not able to join us.

your baby pasta recipe, baby shepard's pie (mashed potato & minced pork) or chicken & butternet squash delight all sound so yummy to me! only porridge and mee sua for dylan till now. boring right? think we can call for home delivery on KFC/pizza hut/mac, i am fine with either one =) then we share the cost.

finger and foot printing will be fun! i can provide some cardboard (those square size cardboard for maths flash cards) let me know if you need me to bring. i have a bottle of bubble solution, let me go find where i place it.

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1694
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 5:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sl
thanks for your info =) then i will bring dylan along to try out the stroller at taka fair.

tracy
megan is a strong girl, she will recover in no time. sayang from aunty rachel.

cookie (labby)

Post Number: 3037
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 5:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tracy
I hope Megan get well soon. Poor gal...

SL
I have another prob.. I'm not staying at Service apt, I wanted too but seems like booking flight alone on my own it difficult during the days I plan to go. My date is very limited only have 2 date to choose from due to my work but I'm dying for a trip before #2 comes along.
It's either the flight ticket price is too high or coming back no flight at all.
I'm still trying to work out whats best.
But tentatively I have enrol in a free and easy package with a travel agent on SQ flight.
The only thing is Hotel do not have a kitchen and cooking can be difficult.
I'm still thinking abt it..

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1695
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 6:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SH/SSF/Tracy/celwong
recieved your darling's photo.

CassCL (roryml)
Username: roryml

Post Number: 90
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 8:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamapanda;
I dont think i received your PM. Also don't mind pizza hut, KFC and then splitting the cost.

I'll be bringing some homecooked porridge stew..and yes, please share your recipes!

ak (angelk)
Username: angelk

Post Number: 991
Posted on Friday, March 09, 2007 - 9:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks for feedback on car seat. I shall go taka tomorrow and take a look.

Denmy (denmy)

Post Number: 874
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 12:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Chillies, Mamachan,
When I was preggers with Keenan, I can be very moody. Once I waited for a taxi in the hot sun, (plus I was rushing for time)for like nearly 20 mins. And then this woman came out of nowhere opp the road and b4 i knew it, along came a cab in her direction!!!! So I told myself that if the taxi did a U-turn onto my side of the road, I'll stop it. And it did. I was probably out of my mind or something cos I actually went to the middle of the road and spread out my arms. The cab actually made a little swerve to avoid me but I gave chase and bang it on its butt until it stopped. I demanded the woman to come out and claimed that the cab was mine as I've waited for 20 mins already...heehee... now by thinking abt it also pai seh...macam siao cha boh!!

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1404
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 12:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

casscl,
I'll PM u my address again. In case you didn't get it, my block is 528, just beside Greenridge shopping centre.

finger and feet painting
Can someone bring the non-toxic paint for our babies?

recipe
Which recipe you want me to share? The pasta recipe or the chicken butternuet squash recipe?

Baby shepard's pie
Its really simple.. it goes like this :

Ingredients:
1 med USA potato
1 portion minced beef or pork
1/8 med yellow onion (chopped finely)
1 small knob unsalted butter (I use Lurpak)
grated cheddar/parmesan cheese to taste (optional)
milk or water

Method:
Wash and skin the potato. Cook the potato until soft either by boiling it in water or cook on high in a microwave oven for about 1-2min (depending on your microwave power)in a bowl containing a small amount of water, covered.

Mash the potato, adding milk or water as you mash to achieve a nice, smooth consistency. If you want the mash potato soft and fluffy, add more milk/water. For a stifer consistency, add less milk/water. (Try not to add too much else the mash potato becomes watery and you will not be able to shape it)

In a mini saucepan, melt the butter under low/med heat. Sautee the onion until fragrant, soft and throughly cooked (it should look throughly transparent and babies don't like half cooked onions).

Stir in the minced beef/pork and sautee until the meat is just cooked (try not to overcook the beef or the texture will be hard and tough). Add in the mashed potato and mix throughly.

Add in the grated cheese. Remove from heat and stir to distribute the heat and melt the cheese.

When the cheese has melted, shape the mashed potato and meat mixture in baby's plate. You can use an ice-cream scoop to make nice round balls, or use your imagination and make some interesting figures. For me, how her food looks doesn't really bother her so I just make a little mountain with it to amuse myself. Maybe one of these days when she's older, I'll stick 2 florets of boiled broccoli at the sides for ears and 1 small stick of boiled baby carrot for mouth and draw a nice long smile on the potato to make a smiley clown for her.

For older kids, you can transfer the mashed potato and minced meat into a greased pyrex cup, shape the top into a nice round mount and bake in the oven at 160deg (moderate heat) for 10-15min, or until the top is alittle browned and crispy.

ak (angelk)

Post Number: 992
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 12:17 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Denmy,

so funny, your account of you stopping the cab.

Anyway, any mummies know of any instruments that I can put monies in (something ike FD) but perhaps on a short term basis (i.e. 7 days, 2 weeks etc...) and has pretty good returns?

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1405
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 12:25 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

playgroup date
Chickenlittle cant make it for wednesday? How abt Tuesday 13th? Is everyone ok with Tuesday 13th? If not, we'll fix it on Thursday 15th.

PIS advanced
Just realised my PIS is really noisy. I thought it was my imagination but after listening to the demo set at taka fair, I realised my PIS is noisy. Gotta send it back to First Few Years for warranty claim. BTW, was told by the SIngapore Medela agent that they do not honor warranty claims of units purchased from 1st few years. 1st few years service their own Medela pumps. Denmy, if you're buying PIS, you may want to know this : Singapore Medela agent has express 1-2hrs same day servicing at their Toh Guan service centre. Those who did not buy their pumps from them have to pay $100 service fee. HEard 1st few years can take up to a week to service their pumps. Now, I don't know how I'm gonna send my pump in for warranty claim cuz I cant live without my pump! I can use my Medela Harmony for 1-2 pumps a day but 1 week.. I'll end up with engorged breasts again. Feel kinda cheated now cuz I got a PIS under warranty but I cant claim the warranty.

SL,
Will u be joining us for the playgroup on 13th or 15th?

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1406
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 12:26 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wow denmy! that was really crazy.. I cant imagine u doing that.. haha.. sorry.. it looks comical in my imagination.. imagine a big tummy denmy with arms wide open in the middle of the road scolding the woman in the cab!

durianlover (durianlover)
Username: durianlover

Post Number: 1049
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 12:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamapanda,
Wow your shepherd's pie sounds really yummy and fun! I must try it out! But Janelle doesn't seem to like potato and she can't really chew on meat yet (unless very finely minced), so not sure how she'll take to it...

RE: Playgroup
Haha, i totally forgot about our lunches! Too busy being excited about the babies' buffet that i didn't even think of our lunch. I'm fine with Pizza Hut / KFC and sharing costs. Any food's fine with me :-)

I have the bubble thingy from Toys R Us. But it's the simple type, not the bubble gun. I can bring that. Will also bring a CD of some children's action songs so we can sing and play.

As for food, i'll prob bring beef pasta. I think each mummy need only cook for 1.5 or 2 babies' share of food. If not we'll prob end up with too much!

Denmy,
Hahaha you're so funny! U're really firm in getting what u want :-)
As for spinach, you mean we can just consolidate orders and tell u then u'll order?? i thought only when u're intending to order then only we ride on ur order!

Val,
Indeed it was a close shave. Scary drivers around! But i like ur concluding statement abt how you don't care whether Kirsten is good baby or not - as long as she's there for u to love!

Post Number: 1050
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 12:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

RE: playgroup date
Both 13 Mar or 15 Mar are ok with me. Actually 13 Mar may be better for me but we go with majority.

cookie,
Actually i think Australia is food paradise for kids leh!! All the fresh veggie and meat and exotic stuff (like butternut squash) that's so much more readily available as compared to S'pore! Am sure u'll hv no problem cooking for Kae :-)

Rena chew (rena076)
Username: rena076

Post Number: 1644
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 12:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tracy,

hang in there.. when elijah had to be nub at 3 month we really felt the pitch.. we borrowed the machine from sil and the medication coz a big bomb as he has to be nub for 2 weeks.. i remember that there was one month we spent 500 plus on his medication...

when megan is awake , when you happen to nub her.. the best is to lay her down and pat her back with cup hand for five times .. this is to losen the phelgm.. i think both mashy and myself have become the expert in this field coz our bb are allergy prone...

if using mask is too ma fan you and just use the tube but mak sure you direct the smoke to her nose...

Denmy (denmy)

Post Number: 881
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 12:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Durianlover,
I dun mind getting spinach again. Shall I start..

re: Baby Spinach (collection @ Raffles Place or Marine Parade)
1. Denmy

Mamapanda,
When you make the sheperds pie for Ariene, do you blend it b4 you serve it to her? Won't the meat be a little too tough for her to swallow?

re: PIS
Hmmm... very sticky situation here. Do you think First Few Years actually bring in their own Medela pumps, thats why they can sell it really cheap at $499 instead of the controlled market price? Anyway, can I have the tel. no. of the distributing agent? Or would you know which are the distributor's official retail shops?

Florence (flo)
Username: flo

Post Number: 1317
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 1:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Cookie
Congrats! Good to hear the good news.

Val
Wow, what a close shave. Luckily both you and Kristen are safe and sound.

RE: Britax Royale
I got it during Robinson 20% sale, together with the card member 5% rebate I think I pay less than $372. Mel loves the seat, will sit there quietly and zzz off esp when she’s tired.

Denmy
Wow, u really daring…stop the cab with your big tummy…heehee
RE: Cordblood
Just being kaypoh also, if I’ve #2, I’ll still bank the cordblood but with another blood bank. Mel’s is with stemcord. This is to spread the risk in case the cordblood got contaminated or blood bank storage facility has problem.

SY
I think u can try calling for the gymboree class cos the quota is only for “free trial”. Hope you and JH can join us in the class

Krissie
I read before is not advisable to drink camomile tea when preg cos it relaxes the womb.

Mong
Let me know when you wanna collect your goodie bag. I stay near vista point.

Tracy
Oh poor Megan, hope she gets well soon. Mel is also down with flu and cough.

Ak
U have 3-month holding period? If yes maybe u can consider Sing Gov T-bills, now paying about 2.8% p.a.

Tracy (cml77)

Post Number: 1629
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 2:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Rena,
Thanks for the advice! My Meg can actually hug the neubilizer while sleeping...haha.

Flo,
Hope Mel gets well soon too! You got a good buy for the Britax Royale! I like the fact that this is a 6-point harness seat and it has a hood to shelter the sunrays.

Tracy (cml77)

Post Number: 1630
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 2:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Re: Upper Back Ache
Been a long time since I'm up at 2am...Had this sudden sharp pain in my upper back since yesterday morning when i woke up. The pain worsened last evening especially when i try to get up from sitting on floor position. Its a shooting pain that makes me cry out in pain. Even had difficulty lying down on bed and changing positions in bed.

I'm awake now cos suddenly I experienced hot sensations around the pain area and the backache just suddenly got better. I only took one Panadol Extra before I slept.

Anyone had such experience before?? I'm gonna consult the doc later, but i tink doc will say i've sprained my back muscle n i doubt they can prescribe anything for it.

Worse of all, last evening my hb had to go work and i had to look after Meg. My goodness! The pain was almost unbearable cos i had to carry her when she climbed onto the sofa, i couldn't run after her etc..

tabbiesus (tabbiesus)
Username: tabbiesus

Post Number: 805
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 8:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tracy

did i disturb you with my call yest?... forgot that your meg was sick... Hope both of you get well..

Flo
Mel is sick too? oh dear...

get well soon sick babies!!

Tracy (cml77)

Post Number: 1631
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 8:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tabbie
no lah, not at all. Thank you sooooo much for looking into my mum's case. Really appreciate it very much! Thank u thank u.

queen (queen)

Post Number: 2050
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 8:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Good morning mummies,
So sad, I have to work today. :-(
My new job requries me to put in 1 half Sat a month. Sian.

Denmy,
Wow... you are 1 determined woman! I can just imagine the scene.. the cab driver and the passenger must be shocked! Did the woman get off the cab?

Tracy,
Oh dear, hope Meg recovers soon. Your back muscles could be sprained or taut. I remembered there was once during my 3rd trimester, I had sharp chest pains. Went to the doc and did an ECG, nothing wrong with the heart. The doc said mostly likely heartburn or muscles strain. Quite bad, the pain lasted 4 to 5 days. He prescribed some muscle relaxation medicine and the pain went off eventually.

Cookie,
I strongly suggest that you take a service apartment. With Kaelyn, it makes things a lot easier. Other than the fact that you can cook proper meals for Kaelyn and fix a quick breakfast for yourself and HB everyday, there are washing machine & dryer to wash clothes in case Kaelyn soiled her clothes. And if you are going for a long trip, you can bring lesser clothes and do laundry midway through your trip. Will lighten your luggage load. You may want to check with the agent whether a service apartment can be arranged for you. Can just take a studio apartment, cost is quite economical. I have stayed in 2 service apartments in Melbourne before, both are pretty good. If you want I can give you the name of the apartments.

Flo,
Mel is down too? Isaac seemd to have slight runny nose and cough last night as well. Isaac and Mel always fall sick at the same time... must be due to some Woodlands bug?

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1407
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 9:09 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Durianloer
No, I don't blend it. Ariene's ok with the minced meat, except when it contains the hard ligaments sometimes. She'll eat everything and slowly push out the hard minced ligaments with the tip of her tongue.

Denmy,
Yes, FFY parallel imports their own MEdela pumps. That's y Medela Singapore does not honor warranty of pumps purchased from FFY.

Borrowing/rental of PIS
Now, I'm in a fix. After listening to the showroom model of the PIS advanced at taka fair yday, I realised I need to send my PIS advanced into FFY for warranty claim cuz my unit it too noisy. COuld be some loose parts somewhere. But, I heard FFY will take a few working days. Meanwhile, I was hoping if I can borrow some mummy's PIS for a few days? I can pay u a nominal sum for rental of the pump for the few days? I think they'll take about a week, or at most 2 weeks..

1. Denmy
2. Mamapanda

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1409
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 9:40 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

MArch Hols PLay group
OK, seems like some prefer 15th, some prefer 13th, what about 14th? Pls vote for a preferred date.

Date: 13, 14 or 15th March (to be confirmed)

Pls indicate response:
1. Mamapanda - prefer 13th or 14th, ok with 15th.
2. Durianlover - prefer 13th, ok with 14th or 15th
3. Rachel -
4. CassCL -
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little -
7. xjysg -
8. SL -

Suggested Activities
1. Baby gourmet (sharing of chicken & butternut squash recipe)
2. Circle Time (finger & foot painting, singing & dancing)
3. Bubble time
4. Mummies' lunch - takeaway pizza / KFC

Things to bring
Durianlover - beef pasta, bubble thingy, baby song CD
Rachel - bubble solution, cardboard
CassCL - home cooked porridge
Tabbiesus
Chicken Little -
xjysg -
sl -

We're still short of the following items - Any volunteers?

1. non-toxic water based paint for the finger and foot printing (Is it ok to have 2 or 3 mummy bring this? I think the baby section of major department stores should have. Think I saw it in popular book store before also)
2. large plastic sheets (really large ones people use to cover floor when painting ceiling) for babies and mummies to sit on floor to do finger and foot printing so that we don't dirty the floor (Can be purchased from any hardware shop. We'll need at least 2 sheets)
3.more home cooked baby foods (Each mum only has to bring a larger portion of their baby's usual lunch will be enough)
4. bubble gun
5. baby food container to pack food home for our darlings in case of left overs

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1410
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 10:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Borrowing PIS pump unit,
Forgot to mention that I only need to borrow the pump unit, so I won't dirty or contaminate your pump as I have my own tubings, funnel, valves and bottles. I've PMd some of you in case you missed the posting as I'm really desperate to borrow a pump unit. Sorry for the intrusion.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 971
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 4:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tracy
Oh dear. Must have hurt alot to feel that. Was it an old injury from before? If not, then maybe can consider acupressure massage. If it's an old injury, can try acupuncture. I had a lower back injury some years back at the tail bone area, hurt like crazy! Can't even sit for long on the chair, and worst of all, couldn't do what I needed to do for a performance back then. Bo bian, ended up going for acupunture and it really relieved the pain a whole lot. But I had to do 2 sessions of it and eat the yucky tasting chinese medicine.

Taka Baby Fair
Went last night after dinner with Daren. Wow! Super crowded! I got a FP Xylophone/piano toy which I've been looking for awhile and a VegeTales interactive cloth book. Daren recognized the two main characters of the book and kept touching it.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 972
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 4:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

1. Denmy
2. Mamapanda
3. MamaChan - pickup at Raffles Place

chillies (chillies)

Post Number: 883
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 4:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tracy,
How's meg now? Its really tiring and stress when our darling is sick. Take care!

Denmy,
I was laughing away after reading. Can imagine u doing that!

AK,
I put 3 months in bank. Its time deposit. Interest in better. I think now interest not as good though but better than leave in savings. Its ard 2.6% for 3 months. DBS has 3,6 or 12 months. Citibank also has it but more flexible. If u put 6mths, 1 mth cannot touch but after that u can withdraw money out if u need and let the rest, earning the time deposit interest with no penalty. Must be fresh funds but DBS no need.

Post Number: 1051
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 6:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

1. Denmy
2. Mamapanda
4. durianlover

Post Number: 1052
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 6:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tracy,
Your back pain sounds bad. Do take care of both yourself and Meg!

RE: Britax Royale
Janelle also uses this model and she loves it. It's very comfy so she tends to fall asleep in it :-)

ak (angelk)

Post Number: 993
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 7:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks for the advice, I was looking at even shorter terms than 3 months. Reason being that we may make some investments and hence need funds at short notice, yet dun want to leave it idle in case we havent made that invt decision.

Mamachan, Sept 03 bride, God's child,
so nice to see u gals in class today. did anyone sign up? I did cos I thot this is better than gymboree and Ryan has a good time. My only concern is that it is his regular nap time, so today he is a bit off as he napped when we reached home at 1230, had lunch at 130 and didnt take his afternoon nap....

CassCL (roryml)
Username: roryml

Post Number: 91
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 10:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamapanda;
I'll bring some small plastic containers for packing food.

MArch Hols PLay group
OK, seems like some prefer 15th, some prefer 13th, what about 14th? Pls vote for a preferred date.

Pls indicate response:
3. Rachel -
4. CassCL - Ok with any date
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little -
7. xjysg -
8. SL -

Suggested Activities
3. Bubble time

Things to bring
Rachel - bubble solution, cardboard
CassCL - home cooked porridge, plastic containers
Tabbiesus
Chicken Little -
xjysg -
sl -

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1696
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 10:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

MArch Hols PLay group

Pls indicate response:
3. Rachel - Ok with any date
4. CassCL - Ok with any date
5. Tabbiesus
6. Chicken Little -
7. xjysg -
8. SL -

Suggested Activities
3. Bubble time

Things to bring
Rachel - home cook porridge bubble solution, cardboard
CassCL - home cooked porridge, plastic containers
Tabbiesus
Chicken Little -
xjysg -
sl -

We're still short of the following items - Any volunteers?

1. non-toxic water based paint for the finger and foot printing (Is it ok to have 2 or 3 mummy bring this? I think the baby section of major department stores should have. Think I saw it in popular book store before also)
2. large plastic sheets (really large ones people use to cover floor when painting ceiling) for babies and mummies to sit on floor to do finger and foot printing so that we don't dirty the floor (Can be purchased from any hardware shop. We'll need at least 2 sheets)
3.more home cooked baby foods (Each mum only has to bring a larger portion of their baby's usual lunch will be enough)
4. bubble gun

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1697
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 10:35 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

May
recieved your darling's photo =)

Denmy
you power ah! that's the power of mummy hahaha

tracy
i on and off will have upper back ache too, its whenever i sit in a bad position for sometime or i bended forward while sitting, straining my back. your back better now? beside seeing a doctor, do try to have more bed rest. believe your hb can handle megan alone. leave her to him and rest more, if not it might get worse. take care. hope megan will get well soon.

Denmy (denmy)

Post Number: 882
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 10:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Queen,
No lor.. the cab driver didn't take me instead, He must be thinking 'this woman xiao one. I'll endanger my own life if i take her instead...' He asked me to go away from his taxi...:-(

Anyone else? We'll close this BP at the end of the week (16th Mar, Friday) for collection on Tuesday, 20 Mar.

1. Denmy
2. Mamapanda
4. durianlover

queen (queen)

Post Number: 2055
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 11:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rachel,
are we supposed to send you a close up shot?
I thought we took the photo at the Bday Bash?

god's child (cel_cel)

Post Number: 1142
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 11:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tracy - So sad to hear that Meg has to be neubulised... hope she recovers soon and get that load of medicine behind her!!! u take good care of your self too.. mabbie can get the doc to give u some muscle relaxants? the times when i had lower back ache, i just had to sleep like a mummy,stiff and straight to slowly overcome the 'sprain'.

AK - Nice meeting u in class today too! Ryan looks so cheerful and so guai.. u din even have to catch him back unlike someone's daughter... oops! talking bout myself...heehee :-)

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1698
Posted on Saturday, March 10, 2007 - 11:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

queen
yes. do email me.

as stated in previous posting (forgot how many weeks ago) i went through all those, the photos taken during the bash is abit messy and did not capture all the babies at nice angle. better to get clearer photos and do out a nicer momento.

Florence (flo)
Username: flo

Post Number: 1318
Posted on Sunday, March 11, 2007 - 1:22 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sunny
Re: Part time helper
I pay her $50 but most of the time she stays longer than 5 hours. I think she's only keen to work in Woodlands and Seng Kang area.

Queen, Tracy & Tabbiesus
Ya, Mel started with a mild cough on Thur, then runny nose on Fri and fever on Fri nite. Luckily her fever subsided on Sat. Queen, Isaac is having cough and runny nose too? Humm, maybe is the bug in Woodlands area. Hope Isaac cough/runny nose is not too serious.

Tracy
Sounds like is a muscle strain. Could it be that you've been carrying Megan more often lately as she's not feeling well?

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use