SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2006 Mums * (2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs * Archive * Archive through October 02, 2006 < Previous Next >

esther lee (estherlee74)
Username: estherlee74

Post Number: 587
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 12:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rach,

maybe u can also do the same?? introduce small amt..eg 2 tsbp of cereal for bf for a start?

chillies (chillies)
Username: chillies

Post Number: 554
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 12:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Denmy,
CONGRATS!!!! So excited for you.

RE : 3 solids
Oh...our babies shld beon 3 solids now? My boy takes cereal for breakfast and porridge in the evening. However, he has cereal in milk for last feed.

esther lee (estherlee74)

Post Number: 588
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 12:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

denmy,

CONGRATS! i'm so happy for you.

but wanted to check with you hor..so u did check before you went for your xray, right? and negative.. but normally with test kits, when will results show? after egg planted?? or conception ah?

coz better be safe la..for those mummies who bought the test kits... coz i also nearly went for xray when i was pregs last time with renee..coz the stupid gynae in hanoi didnt ask me if i was pregs ( i went to see the gynae here as i had spottings and thot something wrong with my womb..then they poke here n there and asked me to go for xray..)

a few days later then i tot..hmm maybe i pregs so i went to buy the kit and tested positive ...

chillies (chillies)

Post Number: 555
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 12:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Nap time

Lingbel : 3Xs (10am, 2pm, 5pm)
SY : 2Xs (~ 10am, 5pm)
Rachel : 3Xs (930am, 2pm, 6pm
Rena : 3Xs ( 10.30, 2 pm, 7pm)
Yuki : 3xs (10am -1 hr, 2.30pm - 1.5hrs, 8pm - 15min) and sleep at 1130pm!!!
Cookie : 2 or 3 Xs depends (10am, 1pm, 3pm)
God's child : 3Xs ( 10am, 1pm & 5pm )
Denmy: 2Xs (12.30pm-2-3hrs & 6pm-1hr)
sunny: not fixed, but roughly 2 or 3xs (roughly 1030am - 1.5hrs, 230pm - 1hr, 5pm- 30min
Tracy: 10am-1pm or 1pm-4pm and 5pm-6pm or 6pm-7pm
queen: 2 or 3x; 10am (~1 hr), 1pm (~ 45min), 4pm (~30mins), sleep at 9pm - 5am
Durianlover: 2Xs (10:30am-1hr, 2:00pm-2hrs)
MamaChan: 2x at IFC on weekdays but timing subjective. Min. 1/2 hour nap. Weekends : 2 x morning 9am to 11 plus am afternoon 2 or 3 pm to 4 plus 5pm.
Flo: not fixed, but roughly 2 or 3xs (10am - 1hrs, 1-2pm - 1-2hr, 4pm+ 30min - 1hr
MamaPanda: 2X, 11am - 2pm (2-3hrs), 4pm - 6pm (1-2hrs)
AK : 3x, 10a.m., 2 p.m., 5 p.m.
Chillies : 1 long 1 short nap in either morning and afternoon depending on his mood, sometimes 1 short one 30mins in evening)

MamaChan (babe_agape)
Username: babe_agape

Post Number: 486
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 1:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Am just wondering how much time is taken in feeding your child porridge for lunch/dinner?

Daren - 1 chinese bowl porridge, 15min - 25min

SH (stonelamb)
Username: stonelamb

Post Number: 274
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 1:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Re. Botanic Garderns PS
1 Flo, Melody (confirm)
2 Rachel, Dylan (confirm)
3 Sleepingdeer, Shannon
4 Lingbel, Christabel
5 Celine, Edgar
6 Wenyl, Ethan
7 SL, Charmaine
8 Tracy, Megan (Confirm)
9 Sept03bride, Caleb
10 God's child, Celeste ( Confirm )
11 Babylon, damien
12 Clare, Ashley (confirm)
13 Valerie, Kirsten
14 Rena076, Elijah
15 Queen, Isaac (confirm)
16 MamaChan, Daren (confirm)
17 Cookie, kaelyn
18 Sunny, YX
19 Tabbiesus, Tabitha
20 SY, JH (confirm)
21 Sandra, Sarah Mae
22 Sysac, Cephas (confirm)
23 Denmy, Keenan/Ethan
24 SH, JW (confirm)

rachel (moon77)
Username: moon77

Post Number: 1189
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 1:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

esther

your schedule looks good, but can i ask how much water renee takes for the whole day?

hmm one thing is dylan's nap time clash with your feeding schedule... well ,think got to start intro another solid meal first. try an error and hope things work out well and my mum dont complaint me being so troublesome haha thanks for your info!

ky (xjysg)
Username: xjysg

Post Number: 378
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 1:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Denmy

congrats! x-ray? I don't suppose so ... just imagine, there would be a number who like u dont know they are preggie n went for x-ray, then how... anyway, from a professional aspect, gynae would tell u facts and leave all decisions to u. one person I can think off-hand is Ginny Phang, the doula. She's rather well-read, so hopefully she can give you better answers ... anyway, take it easy and just continue to take your vits.

ak/durianlover ... even if you r bfg, u can still conceive. there are some mummies who actually tandem nurse, ie nurse 2 babies and they also nurse thru' pregnancy.

.ky.

esther lee (estherlee74)

Post Number: 589
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 1:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rach,

renee drinks about 100-150ml of water a day. so far she has never not finished her milk.. so everything's good for me..

sophia,

renee's very greedy, she takes about average of bout 8 mins for a meal..

Yuki (yuki)
Username: yuki

Post Number: 1999
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 1:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Rena,

Was wondering about the title of the song on your blog. :-)

I accidentally click on it once and heard the nice song. So every now and then i 'visited' your blog for the song (and of course to read on Sumo ) :-)

I know it's from Hillsong but don;t know which album or title. :-)

sl (sl0922)
Username: sl0922

Post Number: 924
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 2:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi Denmy,

Congrats! Am so happy for you! Are you hoping for a gal or boy this time? I also think you are very courageous. I think I would like to wait till Charmaine's 2 before trying again. Mum also said that she wants a break : P Guess everyone can guess how difficult it is to take care of her.

Rena chew (rena076)
Username: rena076

Post Number: 1206
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 2:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

The song title is " Here i am to worship"

Esther,

Elijah drinks and eat fast too.. but at times he has his mood.. and will take longer time

Mel (gabes_mum)
Username: gabes_mum

Post Number: 23
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 2:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

It's been a while - Gabriel was sick, then I was sick. Very trying 2 week but we're both ok now.

Took me a while to catch up on all the post. Very touched to see many mummies sharing their lives here - thank you to those mummies. Hopefully with the network of support here, we can all be better mummies to our little ones.

Denmy
Congrats on being preggers again! so exciting.

Re: Milk
Gabriel takes, at most 250ml EBM a day and he doesn't drink much water (unless you spoonfeed). been racking my brain to see how to 'persuade' him to take more water. I have tried with the bottle, mag mag cup with spout and straw, nuby cup, nuk magic cup.... so waste money *sigh*

I suspect he was 'heaty' from lack of liquid when he fell sick. was feeding him boiled barley water religiously when he was sick.

Re: Car seat
Is anyone's child seat facing front yet? Am thinking of turning it to front-facing so that Gabriel doesn't fuss so much in the car.

mongs (mongs)
Username: mongs

Post Number: 643
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 2:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ky,

ya my friend who was breastfeeding her girl of 9mths old conceive another girl. I am not sure if she had her menses already then but for those of us who don't even have menses (our womb not even lining itself to prepare for the embryos), think the chances even lower. also heard from my sis gynae who did a scan at her uterus, although she had menses for a couple of months, she is not ovulating. she is still breastfeeding her 15mths old son. her gynae suggest for her to drop bf altogether.

but then I also heard of people tandem feeding, guess it really depends on individual and their body.

sl (sl0922)

Post Number: 925
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 2:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Florence,

My email add's correct. Thks! Sorry that I didn't reply to your email cos I think I meant to reply later than forgot abt it. Btw, can also help to check what's the price for other printouts?

re: solids
Charmaine's on 2 solids a day - porridge/cereal/puree at 12noon and at 5pm, i.e. lunch and dinner. Usually she has porridge with vegetables and fish cos she really loves them. She's a Chinese baby - doesn't like cereal. : (

re: mil
I guess to keep peace sometimes we have to learn to keep quiet. I remembered that one sat when we are all lunching at mil's place. I brought the freezed potato puree along for Charmaine. She asked me when did I cook that and I said that I made it on thur and freezed it. She actually said "Aiyo, why like that? Not good for babies to eat overnight food. It's easy to puree potato, just need to wake up a bit earlier lor." I was angry cos to me it's like implying that I am lazy to wake up earlier to prepare food for Charmaine. I didn't answer her, just left the kitchen. BUT on the way back home, I complained to my hubby all the way. : )

mongs (mongs)
Username: mongs

Post Number: 644
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 2:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mel,
Clariss car seat is facing front though she is not yet 9kg as recommended for the use of the car seat. but she is very happy inside and she can fall asleep by herself. I am very happy with that.

Mel (gabes_mum)

Post Number: 24
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 2:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks Mongs.

Re: Breastfeeding
I am still breastfeeding and my menses has yet to come. Last week, I had some spotting and was expecting my menses to come but it didn't. Is this normal?

Re: Ovulation
My friend stopped breastfeeding her 16 month baby 2 months ago, hoping to conceive another one. This was at the recommendation of her gynae. However, she did a scan and found that she has yet to ovulate. Apparently, the body needs some time to adjust and for the ovulation to kick in.

MamaPanda (slinky)
Username: slinky

Post Number: 1016
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 3:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Solids
Hmm, I feed Ariene 3 meals a day since 7 months old. Breakfast is usually fruit like banana, papaya or mixed grain / rice cereal. If I'm unable to feed her breakfast, she'll drink about 250ml EBM. Lunch is usually the heavy one like beef & spinach porridge, pork porridge, chicken and broccoli porridge, etc. Dinner is usually non-porridge mixed vegetables and fruit like broccoli & carrot & potato mix, sweet potato, butternut squash, etc and kiwi cubes, papaya cubes etc. I'm feeding fruits like papaya and kiwi in little cubes to my girl to train her to learn how to chew and bite. Above all, she still takes milk (either latch on or EBM) after her meal. Am I feeding her too much? I'm not sure what's the recommended to feed her everyday. I just make sure she has her vitamins and proteins ie, at least one meat, one vegetable and one fruit everyday. SOmetimes, in between meals, if she's perkish, I'll feed her a fruity snack or some finger food snacks.

Whaleshark (whaleshark)
Username: whaleshark

Post Number: 345
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 3:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mel:

Sorry to intrude on Jan mommies... But Mel, you disappeared!!! Anyway, repost...

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mel:

If I recall, YOU wore the same darn sexy thing and you danced in FRONT somemore... Must be those sexy long legs of yours...

Those kindergarten teachers... one of them must have been a clost paedophile to think of that costume...

Hmmm... doesn't matter to me whether hubby there or not. Can also if you don't mind cos my hubby more sociable than me one... he can TALK!!! The son is a no choice thing. Your call on the hubby lor...

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1190
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 4:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mel

good to know both of you have recover =)

i had 'upgrade' dylan's car seat for 2 months. he is happier comparing to rear facing bcoz he can have better view and he enjoyed watching the lorries and buses passing by (cant see car from his seat yet heehee) another thing was his legs are getting longer and rear facing just cant allow his legs to be comfortably straighten out.

MH (munchkukie)
Username: munchkukie

Post Number: 704
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 4:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Denmy: Congrats! I wish to have a boy boy in the future but now time is tied up with my autistic elder gal.

Mummies: sorry havent been particpating much as I am busy with my work...what's the photo shoot in Botanic Gardens abt? Can someone pm me just in case I missed out in this fast moving thread?

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1191
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 4:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

esther

haha me gonna sit down and plan where to squeeze in dylan's 2nd solid meal. dylan drinks 150ml of water, somedays can take up to 180ml. thankful that he can drink water without any fuss.

Mel (gabes_mum)

Post Number: 30
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 5:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks rachel.

In case you are wondering - you can ignore the posting from whaleshark. She's from the March mummies thread and we found each other on this forum. She used to be my kindergarden and secondary school classmate and we were just reminiscing the good old days in kindergarden when we had to put up a concert on the March mummies thread.

ak (angelk)
Username: angelk

Post Number: 326
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 5:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ky,

I also know it is possible to conceive even when TBF but very very low chance....I saw my gynae last mth and he said he really pei fu me for TBF for so long. He said while he heard of ppl conceiving while TBF, but unlikely....anyway, I am also thinking of stopping TBF so that I can regulate my body and prepare for my next kid....

SY (sychua79)
Username: sychua79

Post Number: 2929
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 5:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rena,
i like that song a lot as well!

rachel,
dylan drinks a lot of water...i realise as JH gets older, he drinks more water as well, which is good... hmm, maybe i need to plan how to squeeze in one more meal. actually i was planning to drop the morning pump and use it to feed him some breakfast... :-)

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1192
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 5:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mel
haha im like having lots of question mark above my head when i read her post to you. now i understand le. =)

Sy
i make it a point to let dylan drink 60ml before he takes his morning nap at 930am. yah yah we mummy need to do some homework =p

Mel (gabes_mum)

Post Number: 34
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 5:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Rachel, SY
How do you persuade your babies to take water? teach me some tricks leh. Am having a lot of problems with Gabriel on this.

Denmy (denmy)
Username: denmy

Post Number: 548
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 5:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thank you, thank you!! I did a little read-up on the internet and am asking my urologist to find out from the radiologist what were the doses of radiation used. With this info, at least I can assess if I'm at a high-risk group lor. Waiting for him to call me back. Will update you guys as soon as I get an answer. Anyways, here's the link for some of you who might be interested to know more about radiation in pregnancy: http://www.kem.edu/dept/radiology/Info2.htm

I will answer your q's tonight... I am starving now... need to go get food... :-)

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 2930
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 5:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rachel, mel,
i always give JH water after each solid feed. in btwn solid feeds i realise he likes to drink water as well. so it's a good chance to feed.

besides that, i give him water after his dream feed and also after feeding milk.

actually last time i have a lot of problem giving him milk so i started giving water during dream feed. it works!

hee, another trick is to give him something that he doesn't like to eat and he will drink lots of water after that. JH doesn't like potato so he drinks a lot of water each time i feed potato.. :P

denmy,
hope that we hear positive feedback from your urologist!

Florence (flo)
Username: flo

Post Number: 617
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 5:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

RE: Kiwi Fruit
If I remember correctly my PD ever mention that kiwi fruit is genetically modified. Tabby is it true?

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1193
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 5:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mel
hmm... i dont have any tips in getting dylan to drink water. he simply drink whatever we feed him! whether is it sour, sweet, bitter or tastless. =p medicine to him is nothing bcoz he takes them in as well without any fuss *faint* at first even worry whether something wrong with his taste bud.

like what SY mentioned, you could try giving water to him after his solid meal.

Denmy
oh... starving no good wor. do take great care. yah will wait for your update =)

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1194
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 5:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Flo
the round shape kiwi is all right, the pointed shape kiwi is genetically modified. hope my info helps.

esther lee (estherlee74)

Post Number: 590
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 5:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rach,

wat's dylan's current schedule like? maybe i can give somee suggestions to second feed?

renee also takes medicine like dylan...i didnt think renee had taste bud issues...i just think she's greedy .. everything also ok .. but i'm very happy thats the case!

Mel (gabes_mum)

Post Number: 37
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 5:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY, Rachel
Thanks for the pointers. Will try dreamfeeding Gabriel with water first.

Rachel
Are the kiwi fruit sold in packs of 4 in supermarkets genetically modified? I give the golden kiwi to Gabriel.

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1195
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 5:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

esther
thanks alot! muack**

Dylan's feeding schedule:
730am 240ml FM
1230pm 1 chinese bowl porridge
430pm 240ml FM
830pm 240ml FM

Dylan's sleeping & napping schedule:
7am wake up
930am nap(~3hrs)
230pm nap(~2hrs)
6pm nap(~1hr)
9pm ZZZZ

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1196
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 6:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mel
not sure about golden kiwi... its yellow flesh?
as long as the shape of the kiwi is round and the 2 ends of the kiwi not pointed, then it is fine =) hope my info helps.

esther
me gonna off work and log out soon. will lookout for your post when i log in again. thanks so much! over the weekend wont be in here bcoz gonna visit my ILs in malaysia.

sysac (sysac)
Username: sysac

Post Number: 504
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 9:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Denmy - Congrats !

May - Hope your dad is better :-) Take care of yrself too.

Flo - Do u have the brochure yr photographer fren has done up? If yes, plse email me a copy. Tks!

Rena chew (rena076)

Post Number: 1207
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 10:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Crab Dinner
Date : OCT 7 ( place at Celine77 edgar mummy)
Time : Dinner time of course

1) rena + hb + bb (confirm) (Either crab shack or the mapherson one)
2) angie + hb + bbs (confirm)
3) rachel + hb + bb (confirm)
4) celine + hb + bb
5) sept03bride+hb+bb
6) god's child + hb + bb (50% confirm)
7) babylon + hb + bbs (KIV First, if I can't join, might just drop by to say hi to all, since I stay nearby)
8) SY + hb +bb (can only confirm when nearer)
9) sanraye1330+hb+bb (to cfm nearer the date)

Good idea for lantern leh. Lets all bring 1 lantern.

Shall we decide where to get the best crabs from all over Singapore ?

Celine (celwong)
Username: celwong

Post Number: 412
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 10:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Denmy
Congratulations.

Flo,
can get more details on the photoshoot from you, PM me the details, ok?

Toy'R Us Warehourse
Quite crowded. Some sales pple really good, but the cashier quene was super long, waited for 1 hour just to pay. Some ang mos really buy and buy with 5 ~ 6 big carriers.

Bought 1)A Lego lookalike thing (has pooh figures). Think 100pcs, can stack and change different types of design. 2) Fisher Price Peek a boo Cubes 3) Elmo Sumberine

Was hoping to find the pony, hokey elmo or balls there. But not available. Some items like push car cum walker type quite a selection, FP selling very fast (Stacking gold fish, stacking stars and pull toy) MPH has a small sale next to it, small baby books like dr suess type.

Staff are still unpacking some toys when i left.

Rena chew (rena076)

Post Number: 1208
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 10:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Crab Dinner
Date : OCT 7
Place : at Toh Tuck plc( place at Celine77 edgar mummy)
Time : 6pm Dinner time of course

3) rachel + hb + bb (confirm)
4) celine + hb + bb
5) sept03bride+hb+bb
6) god's child + hb + bb (50% confirm)
7) babylon + hb + bbs (KIV First, if I can't join, might just drop by to say hi to all, since I stay nearby)
8) SY + hb +bb (can only confirm when nearer)
9) sanraye1330+hb+bb (to cfm nearer the date)

Good idea for lantern leh. Lets all bring 1 lantern.

Shall we decide where to get the best crabs from all over Singapore

Florence (flo)

Post Number: 618
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 10:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Celine

Can you PM me your email address as I can't attach the brochure.

May Wong (maywong)
Username: maywong

Post Number: 821
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 11:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks mummies for the concern.
My dad has discharged and currently resting at home. But Jamie keeps crying for him to carry her. Sigh..

Denmy,
CONGRATS! Read abt ur post in office today but unable to post. Don't worry abt x-ray as it won't do much harm at this early stage but definitely not a CT scan. My boss went for CT scan without knowing she is pregnant. After discovering that, her gynae told her that it is better not to keep the baby as CT scan had great damage to baby. Think it is better to seek a second opinion. Dun worry.. take good care of urself!! Give u some luck of baby girl !! Hope your boys will have a baby sis soon !

Hmm.. so who will be the next one?? I wonder??

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 822
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 11:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Nap time

sunny: not fixed, but roughly 2 or 3xs (roughly 1030am - 1.5hrs, 230pm - 1hr, 5pm- 30min
MamaChan: 2x at IFC on weekdays but timing subjective. Min. 1/2 hour nap. Weekends : 2 x morning 9am to 11 plus am afternoon 2 or 3 pm to 4 plus 5pm.
Flo: not fixed, but roughly 2 or 3xs (10am - 1hrs, 1-2pm - 1-2hr, 4pm+ 30min - 1hr
Chillies : 1 long 1 short nap in either morning and afternoon depending on his mood, sometimes 1 short one 30mins in evening)
Maywong: 3x, 10am-11am(1hr), 1.30pm-3pm(1.5hrs), 4.30-5pm (30min) ~seems like jamie nap very little.

esther lee (estherlee74)

Post Number: 592
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 11:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

may,

wats the diff between CT and ultrasound scan ah?? sorry ah...

coz i also did a scan when i was preg ( didnt know it then )

durianlover (durianlover)
Username: durianlover

Post Number: 818
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 11:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

RE: menses & bf
i went to gynae for uterus scan abt 1 month ago and gynae said i'm still not ovulating, possibly due to breastfeeding. Said if i cut down no. of feeds per day to 3 or less, then menses might come back. But as of now, i still bf 5 times a day. Dunno if it's a lot??
But now that i read that having menses doesn't mean u'll ovulate, guess i'll just have to wait!

rachel,
Dylan eats/drinks 4 times a day only? That's amazing! But i guess he eats less often but takes in bigger quantity.

durianlover (durianlover)
Username: durianlover

Post Number: 819
Posted on Friday, September 29, 2006 - 11:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mel,
i'm also using front-facing for Janelle's carseat. Did that when she was abt 6 months old i think!

Re: water
My gal also hates drinking water. Think she drinks less than 40mls per day. Is it really necessary to give her water? Coz she poos normally so i assume she's got enough fluids!

CassCL (roryml)
Username: roryml

Post Number: 45
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 12:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Denmy;

Please don't abort bb!

I went thru the same thing as u when i was preggers with rory. Went for my pre-employment checkup (inclusive of chest x-ray) less than a week before conception. I also stupidly and unknowingly took a short course of antibiotics (doxycycline) in my 8th-9th week because i was breaking out badly due to the pregnancy hormones - i didn't know i was pregnant until the 15th week! how stupid can i be?!? Till this day still want to kick myself.

According to reference books, Doxycycline can cause bones deformation and dentation problem (yellowing of teeth especially). My gynae, Dr Lisa Chin, sent me to Professor Anandakumar at Camdem Medical Centre for detailed ultrasound scan and 2nd opinion. Prof Ananda was so jovial, fatherly and reassuring. He told me there's virtually no risk from the X-rays and from his scans, rory was developing fine. and that i shouldn't worry about the doxycycline because there's nothing a good dentist cannot do. Moreover, doxycycline these days are alot less 'damaging' than they used to be. Rory has 3 teeth now, and they're all pearly white :-)

I remember waiting for my turn at the professor's clinic...was praying so hard for my baby's wellbeing and could feel myself shake from the anxiousness because I feared I would have to abort my baby.

I hope u feel more reassured :-) If you're worried, you might want to ask ur gynae to refer u to Prof. Anandakumar.

All the best,
Cass

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 823
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 12:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Esther,
CT scan is a very detailed scan. I searched for the link about it. You may want to know more??

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/ency/article/003330.htm

chenoa (chenoa)
Username: chenoa

Post Number: 1279
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 12:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Any mother bought Nepia diapers recently, what's the price now? Any promotion?

Chicken Little (little_pony)
Username: little_pony

Post Number: 865
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 4:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ya mummies,

I heard so much and saw the BP on Nepia but I have not seen 1 before. Is it good ?

Thanks,
Angie

tabbiesus (tabbiesus)
Username: tabbiesus

Post Number: 515
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 8:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Super busy these few days.. so many postings!!

Denmy

CONGRATULATIONS!!!

RE: xray exposure
To be honest with you.. it will be hard to find a medical professional who will be able to guarantee that ur baby won't be affected at this stage.. even though the risk from exposure is probably minimal. Only later, with u/s scanning, you will be able to see if there is any fetal abnormality. I really hope that your baby hasn't been affected. Praying hard for you!

Flo,
Sorry for not responding to ur email abt the phototaking... the yahoo mail is fine by me and the date is also good for me... thanks so much!! I'm interested in a family shoot too.. can i do it on a separate day at her studio?

RE: kiwi
Rach.. thanks for ur info.. i dunno much abt kiwi fruit.

tabbiesus (tabbiesus)

Post Number: 516
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 8:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Esther

A ct scan is actually like multiple XRAYs being taken at different planes,the info from each image is then combined to give a better digital image,

So there is higher xray exposure then compared to one XRAY

Florence (flo)

Post Number: 620
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 8:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Rachel
Thanks for the info on Kiwi

Mel
I think the golden kiwi is most likely GM cos so far all those I have come across are pointed.

Tabby,
Yes the family shot will be on a separate day. My fren will set up a yahoo group account to coordinate the indv photo date once I confirm all the email address.

Re: Email address for bb photoshot
Celine, Sept03bride,cookie and SH are your email addresses ok?

May
Glad to hear that your dad has dicharged

chillies (chillies)

Post Number: 558
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 9:36 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

This site has a list of GM and Non-GM food but complied in 2003 though.

http://www.truefoodnow.org/shoppersguide/guide_printable.html#babyfood

Sandra Chu (sandra21)
Username: sandra21

Post Number: 285
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 10:25 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Congrats Denmy! =) So happy to hear the good news.

Flo, count me in!

Rena chew (rena076)

Post Number: 1209
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 10:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tab,

the green round kiwi is natural but the golden ones or pointed ones are not.. there fore it will be better to buy the green ones.

cheona,

the quality of nepia is almost like pp.. the price is 15 dollars for all sizes..

tabbiesus (tabbiesus)

Post Number: 517
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 10:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks rena.. i think i will check...

I think i bought the yellow ones last time cos they were sweeter... but i bought them from the l'organic shop lei...how can organic shop sell genetically modified food items.. hmmm?? doesn't that defy the definition of organic...i can't remember if round tip or pointy... i guess gotta go check.

chenoa (chenoa)
Username: chenoa

Post Number: 1284
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 10:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Rena,
my gal's using Nepia, but I bought at before price increase. So dunno what's the price now. thanks. Yes, I like it cos it's soft. Is your bb using Nepia as well? Have you tried the pull-up pants? good?

valerie (valerie)
Username: valerie

Post Number: 193
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 11:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wow, so much to catch up on. Hubby was away so no time to reply till now...

Denmy, CONGRATULATIONS!!! Really hope your dream of a baby girl comes true.

Maywong: 3x, 10am-11am(1hr), 1.30pm-3pm(1.5hrs), 4.30-5pm (30min) ~seems like jamie nap very little.
valerie: 3 or 4x. Ard 10am, 1pm, 4pm. 1.5hr, 40min, 40min.

Rena chew (rena076)

Post Number: 1210
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 11:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tab,
does organic means no pesticide ? but i dun think it inculdes genetically modified food..

RE: elijah cough again

haiz i am so upset my sil gal sneeze on my boy two days ago now elijah is having cough.. when i told mil that niece may spread to elijah but she so jump to defence immediately.. hey come on when elijah was having allergy she insist that he spread to my niece but now why can't she come to terms with it for the fact that my niece is still sick you now still coughing... Angry..

SSF (missy)
Username: missy

Post Number: 1551
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 12:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Caleb is using Nepia diapers and for bulk purchase..it went up to 15 bucks per pack, it used to be $14 and i think u need to order 1 carton(i think so..last time i order 4 cartons so not sure abt the minimal qty) and they will deliver to your place for free.

oh btw, i bought a kit yesterday and tested..and sorry Denmy..not joining u.haha..it is negative. do keep us updated on your status. we are sooo excited for you!

Mel (gabes_mum)

Post Number: 39
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 1:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Re: Kiwi
Shoot! I thought Golden Kiwis were safe to give. And to think i did so much research on infant FM just to find one that didn't contain and GM products. That's it - no more Golden Kiwis for Gabriel.

Re: Water
Durianlover - I want to give Gabriel water to get him into the habit and taste of water. I am quite sure his "yeh yeh" will jump to give him sweet stuff once he is past one years old. Also, gabriel's not taking much milk too so must make sure he has sufficient fluid. Sometimes when i see him struggle to poo, that's when i tell myself must give more water next time.

Rena
Your sil is too much. Since when is an allergy infectious? first time i heard of it.

esther lee (estherlee74)

Post Number: 593
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 5:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

MANICURE

any mummies have any friends in the nail industry?? i'm trying to set up a small scale nail spa here..need to work out the figures and get some professional advice like suppliers etc.. if anyone has friends, can introduce to me? thanks alot!!

babylon (baby99lon)
Username: baby99lon

Post Number: 558
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 6:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

valerie: 3 or 4x. Ard 10am, 1pm, 4pm. 1.5hr, 40min, 40min
babylon: 9.30 (30mins), 11am-2pm(3hrs), 5-530(30mins), 730 -830(1hr)

Rena chew (rena076)

Post Number: 1211
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 10:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mel,

allergy does not spread..

Zhimin (zhimin)
Username: zhimin

Post Number: 389
Posted on Saturday, September 30, 2006 - 11:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Demny

Congratulations!

SSF (missy)
Username: missy

Post Number: 1552
Posted on Sunday, October 01, 2006 - 9:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

estherlee - wow..u are starting a biz here. actually i am also planning to open a small scale shop but have no idea what biz to do. sorry don't have any contacts on nail services. maybe other mummies can shed some light. let us know once its open so we can patronise. hee..

re: tumbletots

haha yesterday I am the only parent who came for the tumbletots as lots of bb is sick and some cannot make it last min. but Veron is so nice..she started the class even when there is only 1 baby. she is so pro..but the sad thing is that Caleb was so cranky and afraid of Veron. He kept wailing almost throughout the entire class..haiz..he wouldnt want to try the swing, nor the slide. in the end...Veron didnt charge me for the class.haha..we so pai seh..hmm..any of your babies also behave the same or is it just Caleb. We do bring Caleb out often but he always wail when he is close to strangers.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 487
Posted on Sunday, October 01, 2006 - 10:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF
Oh dear, feel so bad that we can't be there for the tumbletots. I thought I was much better but still having slight fever. So ended up we didn't go. Veron is really nice. I'm intending to enrol Daren for the class, seeing that he enjoyed himself quite alot. Daren was quite ok during the class the last time round. Was it near Caleb's naptime??

Tumbletots Signup
Any mummies keen to sign up for a semester of classes with them?

1) MamaChan + Daren

Joanna (jojopiglover)
Username: jojopiglover

Post Number: 283
Posted on Sunday, October 01, 2006 - 11:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hihi all...

Denmy...CONGRATS!!! :-) :P :-) So HAPPY for u! :-) Congrats again! Pray pray for a gal...hehe....i dun hv that kind of courage....the boss at my son's enrichment class is also expecting her third baby....she has an elder boy and the second a girl...now she's expecting a girl again....hehe...yesterday...she was just trying to psycho hubby and I to try for no. 3....haha....say must have a girl to complete the family....but....i really no courage....what if it's another boy...haha....so....for now...i'll happily settle on having 2 boys...hehe
as with the x-ray...i think if the radiation is below 5, it should be safe....read it somewhere...but just to play safe...beta to seek second opinion....

Mummies...I'm gonna stop bf liao....now i pump in every 12 hours can only get max of 80-100ml....so...decided to stop...James turning 9 mths soon....but i feel quite bad about it leh...yesterday went to shop for milk powder then realised that it is SO EXPENSIVE these days as compared to the days of my elder boy....

Now James takes 2 cereal meals, once in the morning, once in the afternoon and porridge in the evening....in between he has between 4-5 milk feeds of about 180ml each time...

Okie....all mummies...take care....catch up with all of you soon!

cookie (labby)
Username: labby

Post Number: 2367
Posted on Sunday, October 01, 2006 - 11:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Re: Toysrus sale
Anyone been there?? how's sale

Demny...
din manage to read your posting... too many to catch..
I gather you are pregger??
Big Big CONGRATS!!!
We must catch up soon...
Hope can organise to go Pasir risk park again.. before your tummy gets "in the way" :P

SH (stonelamb)
Username: stonelamb

Post Number: 275
Posted on Sunday, October 01, 2006 - 11:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Re: Nepia
Went NTUC on Sat. Turn out that there's some promotion. Think the Nepia diapers are selling at $28+ for 2 packs. Works out cheaper than bulk order ($15 per pack).

For those who wanna buy, maybe you can drop by NTUC. Sorry I didn't notice the promotion period coz i just ordered a carton from Nepia liao. Only remember feeling very bang!

esther lee (estherlee74)

Post Number: 594
Posted on Sunday, October 01, 2006 - 2:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF,

no la..i'm not opening it in singapore..too competitive and expensive, i'm stationed in hanoi so trying to do something to occupy some of my time too :-)

esther lee (estherlee74)

Post Number: 595
Posted on Sunday, October 01, 2006 - 2:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rachel,

Dylan's 2nd meal

I looked thru his schedule..i think maybe we can either

1) 8.30 bfast maybe a little cereal for a start

0r

2) 5.30 early dinner..maybe can start with 1 cube portion of fruit/veg puree

i think for a start a small amount should be ok..i hope this helps.

Ling Ling (lingbel)
Username: lingbel

Post Number: 390
Posted on Sunday, October 01, 2006 - 3:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF
so sorry last min got to cancel the class, lucky didn go yestersday, Christabel fall sick and got slight fever, 37.2

mummies like to check those cool pack that paste on bb forehead, so we place the pack in freezer or normal fridge at the bottom? I think its the bottom, but seems after a while, no longer cold, so like to ask. Thanks

krissie (cleo)
Username: cleo

Post Number: 1978
Posted on Sunday, October 01, 2006 - 5:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

denmy
congrats!!! wah.. you're fast.. hope that you'll get a gal this round. I'm hoping for a gal too. :-)

lingbel
for the fever pack that we bot, no need to put in fridge. just peel off sticker and paste on head can liao. cant rem the brand. it's blue packaging with this sick bb pic on the cover.

valerie: 3 or 4x. Ard 10am, 1pm, 4pm. 1.5hr, 40min, 40min
babylon: 9.30 (30mins), 11am-2pm(3hrs), 5-530(30mins), 730 -830(1hr)
krissie: 9-10+ (1-2hrs), 3-4+ (1-2hr)

queen (queen)
Username: queen

Post Number: 1423
Posted on Sunday, October 01, 2006 - 10:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Today spent some time batch cooking for Isaac. Trying out 2 of the A. Karmel's meat puree recipes. Made 3 portions (~80-100ml each) of Chicken with Carrot & Apple puree and 2 portions of Cod with Sweet Potato puree. Both quite yummy, especially the Cod. Going to semi-replace 1 milk feed with the purees, starting tomorrow.

I'm going to try the below meal schedule:
5am/6am - Latch on (hopefully takes in at least 100ml)
8.30am - 220ml EBM (increased by 20ml)
11am - 4 tbsp of cereal with ~70ml EBM
2pm - Chicken / Cod puree (used to be 200ml EBM)
3.30pm - 150ml EBM
5.30pm - Porridge
8.30pm - Latch on (hopefully takes in at least 150ml)

sl (sl0922)

Post Number: 926
Posted on Sunday, October 01, 2006 - 10:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi queen,

can pm me how much I must pay you for the ON stuff? thks!

sl (sl0922)

Post Number: 927
Posted on Sunday, October 01, 2006 - 10:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

re: toysrus sale

any mummies went? was so busy over these 2 days but i couldn't find the time to go. Hubby just flew off to BKK. Will be back only next sat. Very sian. The next week's gonna be a mad rush every morn and evening for me again. Somemore it's gonna be a busy week for me as well. Can't even take leave so that I can manage better. Hiaz

Clare (clayre)
Username: clayre

Post Number: 907
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 8:46 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Rachel,
I find Dylan's feeding is quite similar to Ashley. For your reference :-)

Ashley's usual feeding schedule:
730am 7-8oz BM
1130pm 1 chinese bowl porridge
2pm-3pm 7-8oz BM + Fruit/snack
6pm 1 chinese bowl porridge
830pm 7-8oz BM (estimate cos Latch On)

I just started introducing breakfast yesterday so Ashley has 3 meals a day. Targeted schedule looks like this:
730am 7-8oz BM
930am Light Breakfast (eg. egg yolk)
12pm 1 chinese bowl porridge
230-3pm 7-8oz BM + Fruit
6pm 1 chinese bowl porridge
830pm 7-8oz BM (estimate cos Latch On)

Joanna (jojopiglover)
Username: jojopiglover

Post Number: 284
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 9:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Dear Mummies.....

Today's Children's Day holiday...yahoo...which explains why I can stay at home and chat on the computer...hehe....

Hai...I look at all the mummies and c that all of you still bf....i feel bad...hmm....luckily...i still latch him on once a day...:-)

okie...gotta go clear some work...will try to pop in later....tata

Tracy (cml77)
Username: cml77

Post Number: 1040
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 10:22 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sorry MIA from Friday, working at the silly children's day carnival at expo. so tired today. hubby was alone with meg on sunday. i pat her to zz at 11am then left. she slept till 1.30pm hubby was so 'creative'. at 4pm, he drove her to punggol end so that she could sleep in the car. then he transfer her back to cot where she slept till 6.30pm. lucky him!

Mel,
haha, i was reading whaleshark's post several times as i got a shock reading it. :P

i've changed meg's carseat to front facing about 2-3mths back. meg hates water too. can only drink if spoonfed. i've tried all other gadgets and gave up liao. she's pooing normally so i just left it at that.

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1197
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 10:56 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tabb/Flo
you are most welcome! just sharing what i know on the kiwi fruits =)

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 2932
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 10:56 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i went to the toys r us sale and got 2 toys for him. one is a turtle and one is the peek a blocks. hb so funny. he got con into going to downtown east with me. we were plannign to go white sands but no parking so i told him to go downtown east isntead and he din realise got the sale..hee.

initially he din wan to buy the turtle but when he saw JH pressing it, he soft hearted and gave in..haha

re nepia
the promo ends end sept....it is cheaper than ordering from nepia direct.

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 2933
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 10:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

cookie, denmy,
do u wan to go pasir ris park on fri?

planning to go pasir ris park on fri. anyone interested?

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1017
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 10:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

carseat
been using front facing car seat since Ariene was 6 months old.. never bought the front facing ones

gm foods
wads the drawbacks/effects of feeding baby GM foods? so many of our foods eg, rice, are GM to increase he yield so its impossible to avoid.. I dont think I want my kids to grow up not being "able" to eat so many foods.. its so sad case..

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1198
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 11:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Esther
thanks for the suggestion! your 2 options are good, will try an error and hope he cooperate =p

btw, over the weekend i tried out the following schedule and so far so good =>

720am 240ml FM
12noon porridge
4pm cereal (60ml FM)
430pm 180ml FM
830pm 240ml FM

Dylan takes the cereal well and im happy. this morning inform my mum on the extra cereal meal, again as expected she said is it too much for him... well hopefully things go well and my mum will not complain further. *cross finger*

my new feeding schedule is ok right? think i gonna prepare lots of fruit and veg puree, so that can intro them as snack to dylan =)

Clare
wow Ashley eats more leh. your light breakfast means just solely egg yolk? i see from your schedule Ashley can drink another 7oz of BM after 1 bowl of porridge! an interval of 2.5hrs only! wow wow hee...

durianlover
yah Dylan takes more and less number of times.

Chicken Little (little_pony)
Username: little_pony

Post Number: 872
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 11:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY,

Is it the turtle one with 3 balls inside ? I oso bought that from Isetan at $19.90. How much did u pay ? What other good lobang at the sale ?

ky (xjysg)
Username: xjysg

Post Number: 384
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 11:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Re : Car Seat

I'm considering changing to front-facing as well. But my son is a feather weight and looking at the situation for my older boy who was bigger at the same age, he only converted at 11months. And my front-facing car-seat is pretty upright ... So I'm staying put with back-facing car-seat.

I just remembered 2 cases of accidents; 1 was a mother who was glad she had her 2 kids strapped in though it was a ride round the corner; the car seats save the kids. Another was my hubby's colleague. hubby, wife n 3-yr old boy was in a car accident. Boy was not in car-seat.

.ky.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 488
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 11:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY
Heee, your account of "conning" your hb so funny. I think end of the day when hb sees JH enjoying himself with a certain toy, am sure he would be willing to buy for him!

MamaPanda
Hmmm, I've been wondering myself what the adverse effects might be on GM foods. I think most GM foods in the case of rice for example, are modified in such a way that genetically, it's resilient to plant diseases or pests that eats up the crops. But thinking of it this way, it might have a little effect on the human body. Might have to find out more on scientific articles on such things.

rachel
I don't think your new feeding schedule will be too much for Dylan. In fact...it makes Daren look like he's overeating! heh heh

Feeding Schedule for Daren (on weekdays)
7am - 210ml Milk
11.30am - 1 bowl porridge
2pm - 180 milk
5pm - 180 milk
7pm - 1 bowl porridge
9.30pm - 180ml milk

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 2935
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 11:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

chicken little
yeah i bought that turtle. bought at $20...hmm seems like not really that cheap. bought the blocks at $15. the rest din really buy...

rachel,
do u wake dylan up in the morning to feed?

my feeding for JH is like this on weekdays
9am 210ml
12pm 210ml
3pm 180ml
6pm 60-90ml
7.30pm cereal or porridge
10+pm 90ml (dream feed)

for weekends, the noon feed is replaced by porridge.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 489
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 11:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ky
wow. thanks for sharing on the importance of having a car seat once again. I bugged hb to get one about 3 months back even though we don't own a car but we get to drive a vehicle (either my mum's van or BIL's car) almost every weekend and seeing Daren can be quite a handful, felt it's much safer for him to be in one. Never regretted that decision. It's really useful when either one of us have the vehicle and need to pick Daren to and fro infant care. Especially during the period when my hb was away for 19 days and my BIL happened to be away for 14 days and I got to use the car.

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1199
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 11:58 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamachan
hoho, its good daren can eat. you know la its one tough thing to convince my mum her darling grandson is not overfed...

SY
nope, he will auto wake up at 7am sharp. he is the one who be on duty to woke me and my hb up! =p

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1200
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 12:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Crab Dinner

3) celine + hb + bb
4) sept03bride+hb+bb
5) god's child + hb + bb (50% confirm)
6) babylon + hb + bbs (KIV First, if I can't join, might just drop by to say hi to all, since I stay nearby)
7) SY + hb +bb (can only confirm when nearer)
8) sanraye1330+hb+bb (to cfm nearer the date)

posted last week that i cant make it for the crabby party. hb having a gathering with his ex polymates (which he totally forgotten about it till he received an email...) sorry

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 2937
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 12:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Crab Dinner

3) celine + hb + bb
4) sept03bride+hb+bb
5) god's child + hb + bb (50% confirm)
6) babylon + hb + bbs (KIV First, if I can't join, might just drop by to say hi to all, since I stay nearby)
7) sanraye1330+hb+bb (to cfm nearer the date)

i can't make it also....hb got to work that day so he wants me to have dinner with him..sob sob..plus need to go IL place.

really quite pissed over this. my hb doesn't like to go out on sun but i m ok. so i told him i m missing the gatherings cos of his refusal to go back on sun. one thing is cos my MIL works, we can only go back at night and hb feels that it is tiring...

anyway i will pop by to say hi cos will be at my mum's place and it is really near.

mashy brainz (mashybrainz)
Username: mashybrainz

Post Number: 4161
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 12:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Chicken Little

Only $19.90! Gosh, I was cheated! I bought it for $25 at the warehouse sale!

And I was very upset with Toys R Us. I went on Sat and attended the auction coz I saw the Buzz Lightyear Rider that they are going to put up for auction. One of the helpers passed it to the auctioneer and told him it's $20. Then the auctioneer proceeded to reserve that for himself! So upset! Another staff still had to cheek to lie to me that it had many faults! But when I asked to check it, the auctioneer stepped in and said it's reserved. Of course, by him!

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1201
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 12:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy
wah, they are so unprofessional man. i will be pissed. even if they want to reserve for themselve might as well do it behind close door mah. sigh...

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 490
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 12:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rachel
yah, i know it's good that Daren can eat. But I think even if he's full, he just won't stop. He's been getting a little greedy lately. Sigh...just the other day, my MIL was like telling me not to overfeed him as scared his gut might get "spoilt" from being too full all the time, and kept urging me to cut down on his intake.That babies do not know the difference of when they are full.

I read in the weaning book that as of now, at their age of about 8-9 months, their milk intake should be about 600ml, while taking in 3 solid meals a day.

Then again, I see Daren no matter how much he eats he doesn't like put on much weight coz he burns it all up with all his moving about!

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 1202
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 12:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamachan
think as long as Daren is eating well and no tummy upset, all should be fine. yes yes agree with you that our babies could be very greedy. yesterday after feeding dylan 1 full bowl of porridge, he kept looking at us as we start eating our meal. i tease him by muching my food and went close to him. he actually lean forward and want to eat my mouth!! imagine that, so greedy! after that he kept getting close to me and want to munch my mounth! *faint*

so what your MIL said is true.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1018
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 12:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamachan,
Don't worry about Daren. Ariene eats even more and drinks more milk, she's still the lightest baby in this thread @ 7.4kg. I've been feeding her 3 solid meals a day since last month and she's still not gaining much weight. Since PD says its ok, I'm also not too worried.

As for GM foods, I think I'll just continue to feed Ariene whatever we're eating, GM or non-GM, with the exception of preserved foods like salted fish, salted vege, sze chuan vege, etc. There's too many GM foods involved. Unless its satistically and scientifically proven GM foods causes gene mutation or something to that extent in babies.. oh well.. *shrug*

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 1019
Posted on Monday, October 02, 2006 - 12:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rachel,
Haha.. You're not alone. Sometimes, when I'm munching something, Ariene would come close to my mouth and take a BIG SNIFF and lick my lips to taste my food...

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use