SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2006 Mums * TOA PAYOH mummies * Archive through November 28, 2010 < Previous Next >

♥ Рrecious ♥ (thepreciousones)
Username: thepreciousones

Post Number: 2842
Posted on Saturday, November 20, 2010 - 12:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jul
What happen? Is your boy ok?
My two kids visit Dr Jeremy Tan at Faith Clinic Lor 8, so far he is good. Once I visited Dr Teo at YS Teo too, he is also good

janice (sotong123)
Username: sotong123

Post Number: 468
Posted on Saturday, November 20, 2010 - 11:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi jul... wat happen to your child. My kids also seeing Dr Heng. Yes she is really pushing a lot of test and meds to my kids. Recently just spend 200 doing some unnecessary tests .... :-(

Which PD do you see now?

Surf (clouds_54)
Username: clouds_54

Post Number: 372
Posted on Saturday, November 20, 2010 - 10:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jul
The playgroup is actually conducted at this RC centre, a standalone building beside a playground. The con of such places is they do not hv proper toilets for toddlers. Also, u hv to source a proper Kindergarten later on as this is solely a playgroup. That's why am sending my gal to a CC centre now to enrol her in nursery.

Re: PD
Oh dear, was still thinking to bring #2 to see dr heng for all the vaccinations. Hmm, as compared to pds located in tmc or mt a, her consulation fee is much cheaper. E.g. i was referred to a pd by gynae when i delivered at TMC. This PD is based in Mt A. When I went bk to her for follow up on my #2's jaundice, the consultation was $100!! Plus the test, the bill was $100 plus. I recalled when #1 had jaundice and I delivered at KK, they referred us to polyclinic for the follow up, I paid like $10 for the follow up test.

So my conclusion is Dr heng's charges still cheaper if u look at PD per se. her consultationn is $40? Hmm... now I dunno if shld bring to polyclinic again. After i hv gone thru them for #1, realise the way they do vaccines, really scared the kids off. Must be in certain position and parents must hold down, etc. At dr heng, she was v fast that my gal didn't even hv time to react. But of coz, price differenc lor, btw pd and polyclinic. Now my #1 seeing GP alr.

Char (charmer)
Username: charmer

Post Number: 1930
Posted on Sunday, November 21, 2010 - 11:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

surf,
i'm also in a dilema as to whether or not to bring my #2 to dr heng. i must agree with you that she is very quick with the injections but when it comes to baby being sick, i'm quite scared to go to her, very very ex! wait everything is bronchitis and must do inhalor puffs or nebulise. but then i duno whc doc is reliable to go to for babies when they're sick.

Post Number: 2845
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 12:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Char
For my #2, after he turns 3mths old n so, I bring both to see Dr Jeremy Tan at Faith Clinic. So far his medicine work well for them

jul (jul_04)
Username: jul_04

Post Number: 11532
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 9:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

char, precious, janice

Thanks for the concern. My boy's not sick now.

Yes, it is THAT PD. Actually I aws went to Dr Ong at Mt A (he was at TMC & I was assigned to him when I delivered there). But his clinic is aws very crowded & the queue is really long. I went to him for all the jabs though, coz Hubs & I trust him a lot.

But because MIL's place is at Toa Payoh, & both ILs dislike the queue (& they're not happy with Dr Ong coz he seems very bo chap & they feel that the clinic is stuck up coz they're "popular'), they'd rather go to THAT PD. (And also bcoz SIL used to go to her - speaking of this, it makes me mad, but that's another loong story). So.. a couple of mths back, my boy had a blocked/running nose, cough, phlegm & fever episode. We went to THAT PD again & she said it was probably HFMD! Made me buy antibiotics & antiviral med. I wasn't sure that it really was HFMD & was reluctant to buy the $100+ antiviral. I asked her if antibiotics was also necessary & she said YES. She asked me to buy the $30+ antiviral that day & made me go back to her the following day for follow up.

The next day, she said it was CONFIRMED HFMD & made me buy the $100+ antiviral. My poor boy took 2 types of paracetamol, 2 types of antiviral, & augmentin. On hind sight, docs shd never prescribe antiviral & antibiotics together. Antibiotics is for baterial infection. If it's a virus, why augmentin? Besides, virus shd be allowed to recover by itself? But I was too panicked that my boy had HFMD to ask/think too much.

My poor boy was crying & struggling & couldn't eat for a few days. We had to pin him down to take meds. Hiding the meds in his milk or porridge didn't work coz there was so darned much (5ml of antiviral alone!) He lost appetite coz the meds were so strong (fyi my boy has a very good appetite. He eats very well even if he's sick). he also had diarrhoea after taking all those meds till he had a very very bad diaper rash. His whole butt & scrotum & testicles were red & weeping & he cried like mad every time we had to change him.

Hubs insisted we go back to Dr Ong for a 2nd opinion & he said it WASN"T HFMD! Even it it were, there's no need to take antiviral med bcoz it will run its course (analogy : chicken pox). And definitely not antibiotics! I was sooo upset that my boy went through all that trauma & suffering coz that PD wanted to make $$. Oh yeah, I went to read the labels & the $100+ antiviral was for HERPES!!!!

I went back & told MIL that I am NEVER gog back to that PD. I'd rather go to Dr Ong & camp there from opening hrs till lunchtime than subject my boy to such suffering again.

And thinking back.. My boy had another flu episode & that PD gave so many meds too. Insisted I took Zyrtec & whatever not even he had no running nose. I stupidly took it for 7 full days like she instructed.

And when my poor boy as only 2 weeks old, my MIL & SIL inisted he had phlegm & went to that PD. He was obviously too young for meds then so that PD did the suction thing. Inserted a tube into his throat & nostrils to supposedly suck out phlegm. We went back again at ard 8 weeks to do the same thing. Now I keep wondering if I had damaged my boy's nose & throat membranes by that stupid sucking of phlegm. For info, Dr Ong said my boy didn't have phlegm (just normal 'pi sai') but MIL insisted there eas phlegm coz all kids have phlegm (????)

So.. anyway.. buyers beware. I'm aware that there are many parents out there who find that PD very gd. But for me, I'd rather self-medicate than go to her ever again. The consultation may be cheap, but she earns it all back & more thru the meds. I went to Dr Ong for my boy's flu recently & even with $50 consultation & 5 meds & 1 diaper rash cream, it cost me only $80+.

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11535
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 9:23 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

surf

I think I'll start my boy with playgroup first at 18 mths. Coz dunno if he can adapt. He's the cry when go to new places type (but he is a terror at home :-() haha

In fact, I'm trying to get a slot for Kidnermusik trial this weekend. Just bring hi to look c & learn some tips heehee.

maybe next weekend can go Gymboree or something (so that mummy can pick up more tips)

I'm tired of seeing my boy play aimlessly all day & gog crazy coz he's sooo bored!

The advantage of Prime Gym is that it's in Toa Payoh & my ILs can easily drop off/pick up my boy there.

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11536
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 9:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

char

Yes yes! I aws see that nebuliser thing when I'm paying at the counter. Seems like everyone needs nebuliser & everything is bronchitis & every kid has phlegm :-(

I suspect maybe my SIL's kids are forever coughing coz their lungs got weakened by the nebuliser???

Char (charmer)

Post Number: 1931
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 11:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

precious,
thnx. will consider bringing #2 to dr jeremy if really need to.

jul,
it's the antibiotics that caused the diarrhea. few mths ago she did a test on my gal and said that it was something related to h1n1 virus and prescribed antibiotics and tamiflu. she also strongly suggested that i neb my gal although her cough wasn't bad at all. my med bill for that day was $300. after the med had finished and my gal started coughing again, i decided to bring my gal to a GP whom my hb is seeing (company doc) and he didn't agree to give both at the same time. so far my gal reacted quite well to dis GP's med but the con side is the amount of med he gives is such a small bottle. my gal still hasn't fully recovered and the med has finished.

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11549
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 12:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

char

Yeah it's the stupid augmentin *blood boils*

Actually my PD gives a very small bottle of med too. It's usually those std (issit 90ml?) plastic bottles for common meds like rhiramine & paracetamol. Only 'branded' meds like Mucosolvan & Zyrtec came in their own sealed big bottles.

But my PD told me to take ard 4-5 days, then stop the meds & let the baby recover by himself. My Terbutaline cough syrup normally can last for 2+ illness bouts. Sometimes I'm KS & give a bit longer than recommended. How small a bottle is the meds the GP gave u?

Maybe it's coz I only have #1, so tend to be a bit KS & only go to PD for jabs & illnesses. I find PDs very very fast at checking & jabs. I needs very fast docs coz my boy will bawl & struggle at every doc's. Hiaz..

Surf (clouds_54)

Post Number: 375
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 6:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jul
Yes! Talking abt nebaliser. That was the final straw that made me change from her to a GP. We had to pin our gal down in the clinic for the 1st round of nebaliser. My gal was crying so badly and I cried when i had to hold her down, telling myself it's for her good :-(

After that when i saw a GP for my own flu, the GP said actually no need everytime give nebaliser, they also hv the equipment but they dun prescribe readily to kids. They will use normal medication first. From then on, i decided that my #1 shld not see PD anymore.

Just a recommendation, my #1 seeing raffles clinic at Central. An indian lady doc, recommended by a fren in TPY who also brought her son there. Brought my gal there for fever and she only prescribed NECESSARY medicine for my gal and the antibiotics, is the same as what PDs will give for yound children. My bill is about 40 plus, include consultation.

How much is this prime gym?

BTW mummies, my tummy so big still after 5 post-natal massage session. Does girdle or tummy binder help? Any idea where I can get it?

Surf (clouds_54)

Post Number: 376
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 6:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Char
Conclusion, vaccines still go to her. I feel her jabs stock will be "fresher" coz everyday also use mah. So many babies. At GP, not everyday got babies go for jabs.

Post Number: 2846
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 6:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Surf
Can get from Marks n Spencer

Surf (clouds_54)

Post Number: 378
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 7:37 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks Precious. Any idea the price? Give me the impression it's $100 plus?

Post Number: 2847
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 8:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Surf
The high waist, during promotion is $39 to $69. They are good as they don't roll down easily when you sit down. They should be having some promotion now, since it is Christmas season. Happy shopping

Char (charmer)

Post Number: 1932
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 9:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jul,
this GP gives 45ml bottles. so tiny! but this clinic is shared by 2 GPs, daytime is male doc which i usually see. just now in the evening i brought my gal there and it's a female doc. she gives 60 & 90ml bottles. so now i know, next time go see her. :-) 3 bottles of med - $37. the male doc also charge around that price for those tiny bottles.

surf,
didn't the massage lady bind up your tummy during those 5 sessions? it should flatten a lot more. using a girdle or tummy binder after the 5 sessions should help. hollywood actress, jessica alba uses a girdle for several months after she gave birth to her child and she said it helped to flatten her tummy. :-)

tummy binder/girdle: if only i asked this question earlier, i'm also looking for one but too late to go shopping. tmrw go see gynae and not sure if will induce tmrw or not.

Post Number: 2849
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 9:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Char
Nearest is paragon

are (are)
Username: are

Post Number: 3609
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 10:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

re abdominal binder... i had emergency csec and they charged one to my bill aft i discharge. the binder was really gd and i recovered very fast. i was able to move ard easier also cos the weight of the tummy not going down.

last year, my SIL gave birth and she was wearing one with three straps, which is a lot more comfy than mine cos adjustable according to your tummy. she bot it frm an online shop but i juz cant seem to find it now. if i find i will post here.

osim also has one i rem, and you can get it frm any pharmacy. if really urgent hor, can always go mustafa, 24hours, everything also hv. hehe...

are (are)

Post Number: 3610
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 10:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

think tis is the one. so cheap too!

http://www.originsjamumassage.com/belly-gone-wrap.html

in case anyone going for csec, i was taught a tip how to wear the binder. place a thick pad (post birth kind) on your csec wound b4 wearing the binder. tis way, the binder wun scratch against the wound and you wun tear the wound.

Post Number: 2850
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 11:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Are
I bought that. Not effective at all. And not easy to use. Each time go to the washroom, have to do the velco again :-(
The material is very thick, warm to wear :-(

Post Number: 2852
Posted on Monday, November 22, 2010 - 11:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Surf

This is the design sold at local Marks n Spencer http://m.marksandspencer.com/mt/www.marksandspencer.com/Firm-Control-Sheer-Waist-Cincher/dp/B001V78Y40?ie=UTF8&ref=sr_1_18&sr=1-18&qid=1290439417&pf_rd_r=1X7Q6F6F03K2S9M2H0EC&pf_rd_m=A2BO0OYVBKIQJM&pf_rd_t=301&pf_rd_i=0&pf_rd_p=215485807&pf_rd_s=center-3

Char (charmer)

Post Number: 1933
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 12:22 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

precious,
but the waist cincher has attached panty is it? then wont it be quite tight around the private part? i prefer to have a binder that wraps around the waist and not have to struggle pulling up and down a tight binder when wanna go to the toilet.

ivy (eyevee)
Username: eyevee

Post Number: 2954
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 12:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

been busy and finally manage to read all the post.

Eh for dr heng hor, i went there once. Also given anti-biotics, anti viral... say viral fever.. then she ask me go back review my girl, after review go back again.. until i feel a bit uncomfortable keep going back. So after my original PD, dr ong w H from aglow come back from leave, i went to him and he check say could be fake measles... and say no choice finish the anti-biotics.

He will usually give salbutomol (sort of oral ventolin) & amxol (cough and wheezing) for cough phlegm, only when bo bian then give neubalizer. So far after giving western medication to bring down the illness quicker, i will give tcm, and she will recover.

Post Number: 2853
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 1:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Char
The material is very soft, easy to remove n wear it back. It is best to wear a binder for a couple of weeks after delivery. Hv you engaged any malay massage lady? I had the jamu wrap for a week after delivery.

Char (charmer)

Post Number: 1934
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 2:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

precious,
ic but i feel that one is more suitable to wear once the bleeding has stopped else it'll get dirty and needs replacement very often. hmmm....worse come to worse i'll buy one from the pharmacy at the hospital. i have engaged a malay massage lady who did post-natal massage for me during my gal's time. this time i wanna be hardworking and wear a binder as long as i can tahan. :-)

Surf (clouds_54)

Post Number: 386
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 9:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks Precious. The price is reasonable but prefer those that bind across, instead of a panty design, gets dirty easily and need to change frequently. Any idea if marks and spencer sell those one pc across bind across tummy with vecro?

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11568
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 9:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

surf

Central = next to Merchant Court Hotel, not Orchard Central right?

It's terrible when docs give unecessary meds for small babies & kids. Their organs are hardly formed yet & they are adding chemicals to their innards :-(

I'll stick to my current PD for now. He's also the type who doesn't believe in unecessary meds. I asked him to clarify that antibiotics = bacterial infection & antiviral = biral infection. He told me straight out that there's no need for meds for viral infection. Just let the body recover on its own. So I trust him a lot. If he gives me the meds, that means I MUST take them.

Sigh I can't help with the tummy. Am poking at mine now & sighing loudly haha.

precious

Oh it's abt $39-69 for a girdle? I NEED one very badly. I already was not very toned before preggie, and now 15 mths after childbirth.. *shudder*

So it needs to be wrapped? Not just tugged on like a normal girdle?

char

Actually I feel that 45ml is enough for me. Coz the meds can only be kept for 6 mths before u have to throw it away. But since the lady doc gives the same med in bigger qty for the same price, why not? haha

Oh good luck for ur gynae appt!

ivy

yes, I'm aws told to go back for review every time I went there. Anyway I've boycotted the clinic :-(

Surf (clouds_54)

Post Number: 387
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 10:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hey Are
Saw the link on the binder. Similar to what the massage lady wrap manually, i,e from below all the way up. Yes, hot, but quite effective i feel. The price also cheap. Hmm....

Post Number: 2855
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 10:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Surf
It is around that price

Post Number: 2856
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 10:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Surf
No, marks n spencer does not sell

Char (charmer)

Post Number: 1939
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 3:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jul,
the 45ml bottles sometimes dun last long enough. my gal not fully recovered and the meds are finished.

i'm still at home. gynae thought it may be today, ready to burst waterbag but i'm still not dilated and baby is still ok inside so can afford to wait 2 more days.

are (are)

Post Number: 3613
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 4:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

char... if everything is ok then dont burst waterbag. very painful lah! hahaha...

go or more walks, and also do gentle squats and doggie poses? all the best for a smooth delivery!

precious... i din use personally so i dun noe. SIL and another fren highly recommend it leh. maybe a different brand they use from yours.

Char (charmer)

Post Number: 1940
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 6:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

are,
thnx. my gal's time gynae burst waterbag as i was already dilated. the whole process was quite fast (compared to those who went thru 10 over hrs) - 5hrs for my gal to make her grand entrance. this time went for check up this morning but still not dilated so can't burst waterbag as baby may get in distressed if cervix dun open in time and may end up c-section which we all try not to go for.

Surf (clouds_54)

Post Number: 392
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 9:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Char
jia you! So exciting! Seeing your little one soon and joining me soon as night owl when we wake up to feed our bb :P

Char (charmer)

Post Number: 1941
Posted on Tuesday, November 23, 2010 - 11:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

surf,
haha, thnx. er....actually i'm not looking forward to the frequent night feeds. :p so right now i'm enjoying the moment when he's still not out yet.

newmummy08 (newmummy08)
Username: newmummy08

Post Number: 558
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 1:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hey mummies!I got a call from My First Skool again saying that mid jan next yr hv vacancy le!but still...i was wonder my boy already prepare for it or not...hmm....if i miss this chance, then will be in waiting list again le...don know wen will get again....is the one at blk 192...

Post Number: 2857
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 1:07 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

newmummy
why not? If it is going to be convenient for you

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11587
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 10:40 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

char

R u still here? Erm.. is it your EDD already, that's why ur gynae wanted to burst waterbag?

newmummy

Blk 192 is the one at the NTUC right?

I think there's another My First Skool opening near Blk 54 or 55 or somewhere right?

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11589
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 10:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

surf

Ur baby's only abt 4 mths right? And u have No 1? How can u find time to be here????

Char (charmer)

Post Number: 1946
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 11:35 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jul,
my EDD was supposed to be last fri. and yes, i'm still here. yday went to see gynae but i'm still not dilated at all so can't burst waterbag. thankfully baby is doing fine inside so still can wait. but looks like tmrw have to do something liao.

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11596
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 11:46 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

char

Hmm.. u could have just ovulated late right? Mine was definitely late coz I used OPK. And he still came out 3 weeks ahead of schedule!

Char (charmer)

Post Number: 1947
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 1:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yeah i was thinking it could be that as my period is very irregular after i delivered my #1. actually i'm kindda liking it this way, still have some freedom. :p

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 562
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 2:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hey Precious,i cant decide yet as hubby said my boy too small go there will get sick more easier!but got trail period of 2 weeks...so i thk still ok ba?but altermately i still need to let him use to the environment,coz for sure beginning he sure not use to the environment one!but i scare if let go the chance then don know when will hv vacancy liao!
Hey Jul, yes, new branch will be at blk 54 there, but don know when open..some more actually if go there even is more near to my hse, but no shelter all the way to there,if raining then cham liao!
Blk 192 tehre still ok,as my hse here got direct bus to there,atleast raining not tat scare lo!
So...still don know want to let him go or not...:-(
this sat hv to let them know le the latest!
The other concern is if i work late till 7pm,then don know who will go pick up him!as i don hv back up!hubby may work late too!so was thk my current nanny can help or not lo?as by then not let her tk care le, then ask her help if i late back,then pay her some money lo....don know how to gv and gv how much..and she don wan wan or not too!coz by then she may tk care other bb,then may no time go pick my boy also lo!

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11600
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 2:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

char

Hmm.. starting to think of No.2, even tho I can hardly manage No. 1 haha

newmummy

Oic, yeah no backup is not easy. If both of u need to work late, it's a hassle.

I think the new centre at Blk 54 is opening in Q1 2011. If u wanna wait, I think still got chance?

I'm also thinking whether to put my boy to playgroup/CC at 18 mths, or to wait till 24 mths. And to start on full day CC or half day CC or playgroup. And to put in more affordable Star Tots / First Skool or to put in so-called branded CC. All this thinking is giving me a headache..

Surf (clouds_54)

Post Number: 398
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 2:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jul
I just delivered 2 weeks ago, so still in confinement. Got a CL to take care bb, #1 at MIL's place on weekdays. Weekends then bring her home. Well, i logged on here while pumping milk! :-) I guess after confinement is over and my elder one is home daily, I be real busy liao. That's why desperate to send her to CC centre mid Dec.

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11601
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 2:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

surf

Oh! Hmm then which mummy is the one with a 4-mth old baby? Is it char?

Hiaz I only enjoyed motherhood for the first 2 days in hospital! After that, I really suffered. No confinement lady, stayed at MIL's, don't have anything with me coz I delivered unexpectedly... If I have #2, I will have both CL & maid! So there!

Post Number: 2858
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 3:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jul

I was like you then. Gave me lots of headaches when thinking if I should send both to full day program. Finally made the decision, the worst if they can't adapt well or find out it is not necessary for them to go cc, then I will withdraw them. At least both are in the same school, with more friends to play with.

Post Number: 2859
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 3:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Btw, I drove by and saw Blk 55 having their renovation

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11602
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 3:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

precious

Hiaz.. I guess I just think toooo much. Or maybe I'm just lucky to have options. I guess if I didn't have Il support, I'll just pop my boy into IFC w/o even thinking abt it.

Ugh.. still thinking very hard..

Post Number: 2860
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 3:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Newmummy
Pray about it. Sometime we must learn how to let go too. For my 15mths boy, I won't be accompanying him into the cc next mth (16.5mths). The more I can't let go, I know I will cry and perhaps regret my decision. My hb also agreed with this idea. It is normal that he will cry, but as long as he is being attended, we know he is alright with the school. Before you make any decision, have a good talk with your nanny. Bring your concern to the school too

Post Number: 2861
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 3:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jul
Agree. I don't hv alternate help too. I tell myself, as long as the children enjoy themselves in cc, Im happy too. And I can always fetch them earlier if I want to bring them out for outdoor activities :-)

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 564
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 5:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Precious...u may diff,coz im working mum!:-(
I really need to hv a deep tot of it b4 make decision...btw,Jul,i thk the blk 54 mayb got chance?
so Precious, the reno only undergoing ah?don know can complet on time on Q1 of 2011?

Char (charmer)

Post Number: 1948
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 8:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jul,
can't be me who has a 4mo baby cos i'm about to pop. :-)

surf,
lucky you to have help from mil to help take care of your no.1 during your confinement. my mil is no longer around and my mum is still working so no.1 will be under my care but the CL said she will help to cook for her, bath and change her.

Surf (clouds_54)

Post Number: 400
Posted on Wednesday, November 24, 2010 - 9:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Char/Jul
Yes, we are better prepared for No. 2 this time except for maid issue. Sent my new maid back last week after she threw everything on the floor and sat there crying like a bb! Sent her bk to agent the next day. Not easy to find a good maid these days. Sigh.

We also ga lang ga bo for #1 back then.

But morale of story, dun let MIL do confinement for you. Sure got tension. MIL wanted to do for me for #2, thinking it's easy after helping me take care No 1 from 3rd mth onwards till now. Lucky I insisted on a CL this time too, if not sure mad house and temp brewing at home. 2 more weeks and CL be gone, I will hv to do night feeding cum pump milk liao.

Jul - no need think lar, just pop another one and then consider close shop! :-)

Post Number: 2863
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 12:07 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

newmummy
According to the sch prinicipal at Blk 192, Blk 54 is starting in June 2011.
If you were to enrol him at blk 54, you would be facing the same issue too.
Perhaps wait till he is much older, or when you or your hubby is able to make arrangement in the work schedule?
There would be lots of adjustments involved especially we don't hv alternate help.

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 565
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 12:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wow!so late only open on June next yr??
ya lo.thk hv to wait him more older then will bring him to cc then....:-(
Just hope current nanny won too spoilt him!

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11619
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 8:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

precious

Blk 54 may be good for my ILs. They live at Blk 45.. Hmm..

newmummy

Sorry I din catch the beginning of your discussion. Is it urgent for you to put your baby into CC? You have a nanny now right? She deosn't wanna take care of him for you?

Honestly, after all the thinking & hindsight experience, nannies & CC & grandparents all have their pros & cons. Nannies - personalised care but they're 'outsiders'. CC - interact with kids, learn more, but aws sick. Grandparents - try their best for their beloveds, but may spoil them & they learn nothing. So.. just do whatever we wanna do if it's within our means lah!

That said.. I'm lucky to have 2 options, that's why I think soo much haha

char

Yeah hor! How can u have a 4mth baby? *slaps forehead* My brain's like half gone after No.1. After No.2, I'll have 1/4 brain left????

surf

Hiaz.. maid issue ah. Reminds me of mine.

Haha I'm scared to have #2 coz #1 is a real challenge!

are (are)

Post Number: 3622
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 11:56 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hey mummies...

kiddy palace got pigeon products 20% discount off regular items, till 31 dec.

ivy... nice to see you and lovely bella!! so fast, 1 year old soon!!!

winnie (faithgurl)
Username: faithgurl

Post Number: 390
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 4:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi mummies & daddies,

Anyone has sent their kids to Ascension, Pat's schoolhouse, Learning Vision or White Lodge? Can give some comments? Or any good preschools ard Toa Payoh area? Can kindly give some feedback?

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 566
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 5:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Jul,
My current nanny is good, but just scare she will spoilt my boy!wat to do?:-(
At least go cc teach can teach him lo..
later going to call cc inform will gv it a miss!this is second time they call me le...
hope wait he grow more big boy 1st ba....properly after cny,he is abt 2 yo liao...

ivy (eyevee)

Post Number: 2960
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 5:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

are,
yes she 1 yr soon, very fast hor. If u call her en yu, she will know better.. cos we seldom call her bella now ahha. only my 1 grp of frens does. End up we did not buy anything anyway. will pass ur hb card to my sis tonight.

Surf (clouds_54)

Post Number: 403
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 10:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Forgot to tell mummies that PCF sparkletots also called me last week liao, to say got vacancy. The fee after sub really cheap leh, but alr told them will give it a miss as we hv decided on another CC centre.

Newmummy
We are toying ard the idea of getting a nanny for #2 after i go back work. Can share the charges and her profile? can PM me.

Winnie
Not many pre schools in TPY. That's why mummies here cracking our brains where to send our kids. U looking at CC centre or a kindergarten? Ascension is kindy, the rest u mentioned are childcare centres.

Gal.dolphin (dolphingal)
Username: dolphingal

Post Number: 1324
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 10:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

are,
the pigeon pdts are all 20% off even without showing membership card???

no news from Char, think she might have popped.. hehe..wish her all the best..

surf,
u r right.. maids are not easy.. so far i have no luck with one.. haiz.. still choosing and waiting for my next one to come.. *pray that she will be good help*

are (are)

Post Number: 3623
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 11:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

dolphin... the tag says off all regular products leh, pasted on the shelf. i haven't bot mine yet, cos i need to go bishan to use my capitamall vouchers.

winnie (faithgurl)

Post Number: 391
Posted on Thursday, November 25, 2010 - 11:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Surf,

Ya..agree that there's not much choices in Toa Payoh and that's the reason why I have to search one that is out of TP area but hopefully not too far away. In fact, I'm actually looking for a preschool with playgroup program. Intend to let my girl learn & socialize with some other kids. Maybe half a day program or 3 to 4 hrs kinda program. Any idea what is a better choice? Quite confused btw CC & Kindergarten though cos some CC also have the kindergarten curriculum rite? Kindly advise. Thanks ya!

Post Number: 2864
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 12:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just to share

Carlson baby wipes or Squibbles baby wipes is having great promotion, 3packs x 80pieces at $4.40.

John Little is selling $5.50

Now purchase $50 n above, free delivery.

May contact Jeffrey @ 9146 3669

Post Number: 2865
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 12:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Winnie
I just enrolled my two children, born 2006 and 2009 at Cherie Hearts Preschool at Kallang Sector. They do provide sch bus transport service.

Surf
Blk 146A PCF sparketots called me two weeks ago. Their price is really cheap for kindergarten, around $280 monthly. For nursery and infant, the price is double due to the teacher-student ratio.

Post Number: 2866
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 12:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Winnie
How old is your child?

Post Number: 2867
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 12:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ivy
Kidzloft is having 50% discount of their housebrand products for 1st birthday

winnie (faithgurl)

Post Number: 392
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 12:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi precious,

My gal is currently 15 mths but intend 2 sign her up when she turns 3. Heard tt good preschools hv long waiting list tt's why I start searching early.

Post Number: 2868
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 12:54 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Winnie

You may check out United Montessori at Bishan. The waiting list is up to 12mths.

Which ones have you shortlisted?

winnie (faithgurl)

Post Number: 393
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 8:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi precious,

U hv mentioned united Montessori at bishan. Is it good? In fact, I hv in mind pat's schoolhouse, learning vision, ascension but still open 4 other options. Any idea 4 church related school will They include bible or church related kinda program in their class cos quite sensitive abt this issue as I'm nt a Christian.

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11630
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 9:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

newmummy

I also worry that my ILs & maid will spoil my boy. But now I'm mor worried that he'll like them more than me.

Not sure if I've shared before.. But my boy seems to dislike me! When I talk to him, he mostly ignores me. When I carry him, he'll more often than not reach out to someone else to carry him - FIL is all-time favourite, followed by Hubs. Worse is when he seems to like the maid more than me, when she's only been here for 2 mths! And I stayed home with him for almost 15 mths lor :-(

So one of the reasons for sending my boy to PG/CC is to tear him away from them. So selfish hor.. but I can't help feeling this way :-(

winnie

I'm thinking abt Sparkletots at Blk 146 or Star Tots at Nlk 78, or Learning Vision at Novena.

Are u looking for the LV at Gentle Rd, IRAS, TTSH? My boy's comint to 15.5mths, so our BBs are abt the same age.

But I think I'll put him to those 2-3h PG first to let him get used to it, then maybe half day CC. IF I want #2, then I'll put him to full day CC. That's my thinking now.. but I may change my mind again 2moro haha

Post Number: 2869
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 10:22 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jul
It is normal if the child is closer to the main caregiver. For myself, I'm closer to my granny. Btw, if you decide on 2-3hrs daily program, they might not have full day program. Hence you will have to look for another cc. My girl was in Bishan Montessori playgroup for 1yr, then in PCF for 2yrs and going to Cherie Hearts next week. Thank God such changes did not affect her much :-)

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11635
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 10:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

precious

Boo hoo.. I was a temp SAHM with my boy for 14.5 mths & only just came back to work! Feeling like a failure :-(

Yup, I'm also concerned abt whether the changes in schools will affect him. That's why I'm thinking abt Learning Vision coz they have half / full day CC all the way up to K2 level. So now I'm trying to decide if I shd go for CC or just "study" If it's "study", I can go to either Star Tots. But if I want option for CC, then it's gotta be Sparkletots or LV.

Post Number: 2870
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 10:40 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jul
Learning Vision, if I'm not wrong, the sch fee is around $1k after subsidy. Maybe find out more about the environment (some are open concept, some has their individual own classroom) teacher turnover rate, reading program and sch curriculum.

Once I asked PCF sparketots about their sch cirriculum and

Post Number: 2871
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 10:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

and their reply: "We just follow MOE syallabus".

newmummy08 (newmummy08)

Post Number: 567
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 10:45 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hey Surf,PMed u...but mayb not for the time being, properly after cny got vacancy, then i will let him go le...don wan drag too long, but for the coming Jan vacancy at My First Skool,i will gv it a miss liao lo...kind of waste the opportunuity, but no choice le...:-(
Hubby say my boy not prepare yet...hmm....so after cny,he already 2 yr,better ba..
So Surf u wan to let nanny tk care ur #2?how old?and y not send him/her go cc le?

Jul,i understand how u feel,haha...is norm for every mummies to hv same feeling like u...:P
DOn worry,afetr all,ur kid still will stick back to u de...:P

Post Number: 2872
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 10:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

For half day and full day program, there is no much difference in price. If you are a working mum, full day program you get $300 subsidy, half day program you get $150.

I have friends who send their children to Pat School house, Eton House, their children enjoy there.

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11638
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 11:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

precious

Thanks for the advice. I'm looking at the LV situated in a landed property so there's outfoor play & fresh air (even tho I'm an aircon baby haha).

But will the school actually declare turnover rate? Will they actually tell me, "Yeah we had 3 teachers leaving every 3mths"?

Sparkletots of course is the very PAP system lah haha

I think for LV, half day & full day is $50 diff only! Pat's Schoolhouse & Etonhouse is too exp for me. Even LV is exp, but I can maybe wing it. I don't want to spend so much on CC. Anyway there'll be misc fees on excursions, enrichment programmes, unfiroms etc to pay for, not just the monthly fees!

newmummy

Thanks. I hope things'll improve when he grows older too

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11639
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 11:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Etonhouse

Personally I find it too 'atas' already. I see so many expat kids there. I don't really feel comfortable with sending my boy there

Post Number: 2873
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 11:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jul
You would be able to find out if their teachers work there for many years :-)

I also like clean and spacious environment, allow the children to mingle around during free play or get together time.

Good to find one which you don't have to spend extra $ on enrichment lessons on weekends too. And that is the purpose of sending them to FD. Can't imagine sending them to FD and still have to enrol them for academic enrichments

Twinkle (happytwinklestar)
Username: happytwinklestar

Post Number: 610
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 11:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i hv this eu yan sang 20% birthday discount voucher for 1 time use (not applicable to Cordyceps, patent medicines & prescriptions). If you all have anything in mind, let me know by mid dec. :-)

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11642
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 11:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

precious

That's why I'm having such a headache! If I send to full day CC, I'll need one that has a so-called better curriculum coz I don't want my boy to study again on weekends. he needs some time to jyst be a child! But if I'm not gog for full day CC, I can settle for Sparkletots or Star Tots. Argh! I think too much!

sunny (sunny72)
Username: sunny72

Post Number: 353
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 11:53 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Winnie, if you are clear at home about what religion you are and teach your child accordingly, there is no reason why you can't send your child to a catholic or christian school.

There are quite a few advantages from a language and educational and social point of view. My family is buddhist but my dad sent me to Convent kindergarten and even asked for me to attend cathechism class instead of "morals/civics" class. His reason was that in cathechism class, at least I get taught properly and get taught in good english unlike at the more bochap civics class which is more like free period.
I am very grateful for his foresight because the grounding in catholic beliefs have helped me a great deal (i) in school - in English lit and history. For lit - A lot of authors use a lot of biblical references in their writings and if you dont understand the original context, you miss half the "depth" of the work. (ii) in life - I understand and appreciate and think am more tolerant about other religions.
I am still strongly buddhist. Dont be scared about learning new things. Just make sure that your home grounding is firm. cheers.

ivy (eyevee)

Post Number: 2963
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 2:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Precious,
for the birthday month??

rlrenn (rlrenn)
Username: rlrenn

Post Number: 260
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 2:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi mummies, any recommendation for good dentist who r gentle to kids?? I scare my gal's tooth Kena poke by fish bone leh coz the bleeding start from her tooth. My mum gave her fish with bones though she said she had extracted all bones out but I still scare. My gal is seems ok now lah so I'm not sure if she is really poke by fish bones or just bit on herself?

Post Number: 2874
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 2:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ivy
Yes bd month

Rlrenn
I brought my girl to the dentist at Q&M city square. He is gentle n good with kids. Will talk to her, explain to her

Post Number: 2875
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 2:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jul
PCF Sparkletots is a cc. Startots is playgroup. Both are different. PCF Sparkletots accepts babies onwards, Mac they take in is 100 students

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11647
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 4:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

precious

Oops! Typo. I meant Kindergarten for schooling & Sparkletots for CC. PCF has both & I aws have to think twice abt which is which!

jul (jul_04)

Post Number: 11650
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 5:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Amazon

Er.. anyone bought books from Amazon before? How does the inetrnational shipping work? I just choose all the books I want, then ship directly to me (cheaper than shipping through vPost right?)?

Is there a max no of books when they will charge me the surcharge for bulky package?

Surf (clouds_54)

Post Number: 408
Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 6:32 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jul
Great minds think alike! :P I am sending my gal to CC partly to let her be disciplined at CC coz at home, old folks pamper too much. I am TRANSPARENT when they are around ok. *faint*. Nope, that is not selfish tots. We are doing it for the good of our kids!!!!! :-)

Winnie
Church kindergatgen are great places too, I totally agree with Sunny. If not for the fact that they only offer 2-3 hours classes, I wld hv sent my gal for it. I need at least haf day with option of full day in future.

Newmummy
Thanks for the info. The charges are ok. Little skool house is $1000 after sub and it's LONG LONG QUEUE everywhere!!!!! the CC that we hv signed our gal up for does not hv infantcare so now we are stuck. May hv to run 2 places if really send to infantcare. No. 2 is a boy. 3 weeks old now. This nanny only takes in 1 kid?

j foo (jcefoo)
Username: jcefoo

Post Number: 1352
Posted on Saturday, November 27, 2010 - 12:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Church-base kindergarten - christianity is not driven into the child but they will sing songs based on christian themes, that's about it.

Rlrenn, our family dentist is at River Valley Road, Gentle Clinic.

Twinkle, can you get "ling yang" for me? There are two types of "ling yang", one of which is the AAA the other is a cheaper. I only need the cheaper one (think it's about $15 per packet), want 4 packets. Also a box of Bao Ying Dan. Cough powder (for warm coughs) - two types - one in yellow box for mild warm cough (12 boxes) and the other in red box for more serious cough (6 boxes). Let me know if that's ok. Are you buying from the EYS in Toa Payoh? One alternative is for me to go in and ask the staff to put aside for me and you buy on my behalf. Most of the staff there know me quite well so should be ok.

Surf (clouds_54)

Post Number: 409
Posted on Saturday, November 27, 2010 - 12:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Galdolphin
U maidless now? New maid is indo or filipino? Mine coming tomorrow.

Twinkle (happytwinklestar)
Username: happytwinklestar

Post Number: 611
Posted on Saturday, November 27, 2010 - 1:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

j foo, yup i'll be buying from EYS at tpy central. but will be ard mid dec. cos need to ask friends if they have anything in mind to tag along as well. is it ok with you to wait? maybe like 11th dec? either way or we can either go together. :-)

j foo (jcefoo)

Post Number: 1353
Posted on Saturday, November 27, 2010 - 2:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Twinkle, I can wait, no problem. Are you a FTWM or SAHM? Saturdays I am tied up with teaching most of the day so I'm afraid I can't make it for 11th. See when you're going and if I can make it I'll meet you at EYS. Otherwise if you can let me know a few days in advance then I can go down and have the things put aside.

winnie (faithgurl)

Post Number: 394
Posted on Saturday, November 27, 2010 - 4:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Jul,

Thinking of LV at Gentle rd or IRAS but still open to other options. Can't really make up my mind now.

Hi Sunny & J foo,

Thks for yr comments. I'm not against the religion of Christian or Catholic but just concern that the class will include bible or praying kinda things. If only songs that are educational, I'm alright with it.

Can I chk with those mummies or daddies that hv sent their kids to LV, Pat's schoolhouse or Ascension, are the curriculum well prepared for the kids when they are enrolled for pri 1 class?

j foo (jcefoo)

Post Number: 1354
Posted on Saturday, November 27, 2010 - 11:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I use to work at Pat's (I helped with planning their music curriculum as well as some teaching). From what I see, they have a very well thought out curriculum, with most of the material from States. The kids are well prepared for P1 and the kids are widely read. Part of it is due to the way teachers teach (though it may vary from branch to branch) and the company of kids they mingle around with - being Pat's, the kids who attend are from mid income to high income families who are most well versed, exposed to many things.

winnie (faithgurl)

Post Number: 395
Posted on Sunday, November 28, 2010 - 12:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi j foo,

Oh, u r previously fm Pat's so why did u leave then? Do u know the difference btw Pat's, Learning vision & The odeyssey then? Cos fm their website, I found that they are somehow related. Hope u can clear my doubts. Thks!

Hi Twinkle,

Juz chk with u regarding the eu yan sang birthday discount. The 20% discount will be applicable to u on birthday month? How does it work as in u juz present yr card or u hv a discount voucher tt they sent to u cos in fact this month is my birthday too but was nt infmed abt the birthday discount. Kindly advise. Thks!

babygenius (babygenious)
Username: babygenious

Post Number: 58
Posted on Sunday, November 28, 2010 - 8:03 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi j_foo,
Are you teaching piano classes? home based?

Winnie,
I have a fren whom send her child to Pat's schoolhouse near kk. She withdrew after a year as she felt the teachers then weere not as dedicated for the price she paid.
The other fren send her gal to Pat's at Serangoon. She said so far so good.

For Eton house, so far I heard about very good feedback but price is steeper than Pat's

I am looking at MMI at Thomson. They are open to a 1 hour trial lesson on 11-Dec. Think can call to register.
Any mommmy placed their kids with MMI before?

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use