| Author |
Message |

Rena chew (rena076)
Junior Member Username: rena076
Post Number: 345 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 9:40 am: |
RE: Puke.. Dun worry.. as long as when cry after the puke.. he is ok.. the milk did not go to lungs.. during the first month Elijah is like that.. I as the PD she says its quite normal.. very scary ok.. the milk came out from mouth and nose..and it is so much that even his hair is wet.. RE: Thanks Cookie.. thanks for your email..Cindy and all.. thanks.. I have finally told hB my decision of tying the filopian tube.. I do not wish to give birth any more.. I dun mind the pregnancy ( even when mine is tough), or the C section but I can't bear the thought that he will do hanky panky again.. sometimes I really ask the lord.. is it so diffcult to pull the family together? |

Rena chew (rena076)
Post Number: 346 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 9:42 am: |
RE: posting of pictures could someone help me to shrink the pictures again? I wanted to make passport for elijah but can't seems to shrink the pictures could someone help me? thanks |

cookie (labby)
Member Username: labby
Post Number: 1054 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 10:38 am: |
sunny so I can hand express and still can collect the milk in bottle and store? Celine thanks.. me so long never latch bb liao..ok will try to latch. thanks! |

sl (sl0922)
New member Username: sl0922
Post Number: 14 Registered: 2-2006
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 10:44 am: |
cookie, I also sometimes feel that my breast is hard after pumping for very long, especially when I am engorged. What I find out is that during engorgement, a manual pump works better in emptying the breast. When I use the electric pump, what I did is to press on the lump and the hard hard areas and try to "push" the milk to the nipple. It works cos I can see jets of milk coming from the same side. Try the method and see. Re: Breastfeeding Just to share my own experience of breastfeeding. I gave birth to my daughter on 25 Jan and for the first few days in hospital, there wasn't much milk so my baby was on formula though I did latch her on. Then I was discharged 2 days earlier than my baby. During these 2 days, I only latch her on once a day (when we visit her at the hospital) and I didn't pump at all. When I bring her home, I wanted to breastfeed her but then she's already so used to formula milk. It's really difficult to latch her on and she would cry at every latch on. I could only pump out a few drops. so I give her formula. By the time she's 8 days old, she's totally on FM. Despite this,I was convinced of the benefits of BM, so I seek the help of a LC. The LC taught me to latch her on and pump after every feed and pump at 3-hrly interval. Now, my gal is 6 wks and she's on TBF since her second wk. I don't think my ms is those a lot kind cos I dun feel engorgement when my ms first came in. Sorry for the long post but just wanna share mt experience. I really believe that ss = dd, to have ss must create the dd first by latching on and pumping diligently. Having said that, I also feel that there's no need to stress yourself. Some babies growing up on FM are very healthy too. It's more impt to enjoy yr motherhood. Happy wkend! |

sunny (nyny)
Member Username: nyny
Post Number: 1576 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 11:10 am: |
cookie ya, you can hand express and collect in the bottle. else, when pumping, try to compress your breast i.e. squeezing those area that you feel got lump/hard. i did that and notice that when i squeeze those lumpy area, got more milk coming out.  |

SY (sychua79)
Intermediate Member Username: sychua79
Post Number: 2145 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 11:25 am: |
cindy my boy got same bday as your boy too! try putting the ru yi oil. my boy also like that. for a few days he will cry when feeding n burping. u using the correct teat size? rena u sure abt not wanting more kids?must calm down n pray abt it. sl i also pump diligently for many weeks but stull not sufficient. think it's the latching cookie did u massage in btwn pumps? also like wat celine suggest u latch n then pump. helps the flow. n usually b4 pump, i can feel those lumps n i will massage those areas more. |

May Wong (maywong)
Junior Member Username: maywong
Post Number: 314 Registered: 12-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 11:32 am: |
Rena, I agree with SY. U sure u dun want anymore kids? Ur bb will be so lonely without sibling next time. At least there is someone around when he/she needs help next time. As u cannot be around everytime. |

mongs (mongs)
Junior Member Username: mongs
Post Number: 293 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 12:27 pm: |
cookie, actually the baby is the most efficient pump. when I have engorgement, I will pump first then let the baby latch on and have a snack. she will be very pleased with the surprise. sl, u are so lucky. I really try everything possible but still can't TBF. my baby was literally on demand feed for 8 weeks. maybe that wasn't the best method. she is always taking so long to finish her feed. now I pump 2 and half hourly in the daytime and get 90 or 100ml, slightly short of her 120 per 2 and half hourly. so top up with formula. it's really a bit sad. but I feel more relax with the 1 formula feed per day. rena, do think twice. it's a big decision. and it's irreversible. it's a bit difficult at this moment but always be positive. things can only improve if you think you have hit the rock bottom. |

Y (chillies)
New member Username: chillies
Post Number: 77 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 12:50 pm: |
My baby doesnt want to sleep during the day. During feeding he'll doze off and after burping he's awake. Even if he really do sleep, he will only nap for around 30 minutes.Then become cranky sometimes as he's tired. Anyone in the same situation as me? |

cookie (labby)
Post Number: 1058 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 1:47 pm: |
SL thanks.. i try harder before invest in another manuel pump.. Hi all mummies thanks for all the advice. |

cookie (labby)
Post Number: 1059 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 1:50 pm: |
Y my bb is also getting more and more like this.. she couldn't sleep long as last time.. she is only 5 weeks old...and she is tired she wan pple to carry, once put her down either she cry or same as your situation wake up after a short while. I couldn't even sit down to pump my milk at times  |

god's child (cel_cel)
Member Username: cel_cel
Post Number: 617 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 1:58 pm: |
hi mummies haven been missing so much fr the forum!!! was staying wf my in-laws, thus no access to PC and gosh, i was so terribly bored there... luckily baby Celeste was there to keep me company... am now back at work and so..here i am.. Re : jabs when is the next jab after the 1mth old jab of Hep B? i thought the next jab will be at 3mths? is there any at 2mths??? Mashy - my MS also horrible.. been going down the drain... also felt like giving up but cant bear the thought of not having Celeste close to me and her big innocent eyes staring at me...  |

Sept 03 Bride (sept03bride)
Junior Member Username: sept03bride
Post Number: 199 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 2:06 pm: |
hi Y, yes, my BB oso like that. His afternoon nap is usually 15-30mins.. But i tink in a way it is good cos he sleeps really long at nite. His bedtime is about 9+ and will wake up for his milk about 4+..giving me and HB ample rest. |

Joanna (jojopiglover)
Junior Member Username: jojopiglover
Post Number: 214 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 2:58 pm: |
Hi mummies...me been MIA cos my maid was sent back due to hep B and at my mum's plc daily...if my sis brings her laptop to school...I have no access to computers at all...hehe....so today the laptop is home.... SOooooo many postings to catch up on... Demny...me going to the Motherhood fair....maybe tomorrow evening if not sun morning...need to get some things... cookie...so sorry abt not getting the bottles from you...been crazy without help at home...my home looks and feels like a total warzone...even hubby mentioned that it looks messy...hehe.... Hmm....I bot the Avent single electric pump from taka 2 weeks back and I didn't regret it...costs more than the single mendela pump but really good....with the pump...my latest and most updated volume was 400ml....I myself could not believe the amount of milk I was producing...and now despite having fed my boy...I can manage to pump abt 220ml-280ml each time....I believe it is due to the fluids that I drink... Wendy...my milk separates into the white protein layer on top and the liquid at the bottom...but after warming the milk...it is pure milky colour without clumps and all...I store my milk in milkbags....so should not have any probs...right? Baby is drinking fine and there is no ill smell either leh...I thot I read somewhere that it is common for milk to separate when put into the fridge that's why we have to swirl the bottle to ensure that the layer of protein gets mixed with the foremilk....hmm.... Updates on James...brought him to see a TMC Physician who was confident of healing the abcess at his anal region...after taking 2 doses of medication...we do see some improvement....the pus has reduced and the swell has also gone down...however...each time we feed him his medication..he will cry till he pants....only 2 days ago...I found an alternative solution and that was to mix the medication into the EBM....he still knows that the medicine is there but probably cos its diluted...he takes it better....sigh... imagine my heartache.... okie mums....will come in again....tata! |

Ivory (ivory)
Member Username: ivory
Post Number: 1642 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 3:00 pm: |
edd2jan / SY¡K dun envy lah¡K if I can I oso prefer to work¡K sometimes I oso tired of carrying n playing n toking n feeding, etc¡K especially my boi in the daytime super active.. dun sleep after feeding n have to kip carry him walk here walk there¡K but bo bian ah.. denmy¡K keke¡K I agree¡K even if wan to bring work home to do really tough man¡K especially when bb always demand your attention¡K rena¡K same¡K I dun mind carrying my boi¡K but hor¡K he 5kg liao.. n my wrist was injured last time¡K now the old injury acts up n I always have shooting pain when I carry my boi¡K cham¡K Y¡K ur boi same as my boi lor¡K feed liao dun sleep.. sleep oso 15 mins oni¡K my boi is a little devil in the day¡K he wan to carry walk here walk there.. some times u carry him he oso buay song n will scream in my ears¡K super pek chek¡K but when he not cranky¡K he can be a cute little thing.. just that he¡¦s a devil most of the time¡K. Oni bully me¡K. c lah¡K he wake up again¡K Re: Hubbies Kekek¡K all hubbies are the same lah.. mine just like to disturb bb after I ¡¥hao bu rong yi¡¦ coax him to sleep¡K my hubby will try to help with feeding n change diapers once in a while¡Kbut there was 1 time ah boi give him color to see¡K cry n cry n cry n wun stop no matter wat my hubby do¡K from then onwards he disturb bb lesser.. cos I always tell him, u disturb bb n make him wake up n cry.. u coax him to sleep.. im not going to bother abt u¡K u can bring him to work (or sleep with him n I go sleep in the living rm¡K) I do feel depress when hearing bb cries¡K once in a while I cant control n I will call n cry to hubby n ask him to come bk home quik quik cos I pek chek with bb cries¡K he really do rush back for a while¡K n rush back to work again¡K I noe he oso very tired.. so I tried not to be angry if he wan to go out with frens or dun help feeding / changing bb.. Its my gd fortune that I live with my in-laws so my stress is reduced by half when my mil offer to look after bb at nite though she oso working¡K kekeke¡K its her precious grandson.. she dun wan to risk I go into depression n throw bb on the floor¡K hahahaha¡K So since now decide to be a SAHM, I trying to learn to control n deal with stress that comes from phobia of bb.. its oni 2 weeks that I just started to take care of bb by myself after confinement¡K. |

krissie (cleo)
Member Username: cleo
Post Number: 1482 Registered: 5-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 3:01 pm: |
rena agree with mongs, and the rest. maybe use other form of contraception first lah. anyway, you're still young. might change your mind next time. re direct latching I usually latch my bb on at 7am. then the rest of the day on EBM. yest, we went shopping the whole day, so bo bian latch him at the taka nursing rm at 6+pm. And when it was time for the next feed, he refused the bottle and cried for abt 3hrs, NON-STOP. I know he wants the breast, but I didnt give him coz am afraid that it'll worsen the prob. He cried till his tears were rolling down the cheeks. I was so sad, nearly cried too. anyone has similar prob? the funny thing is he's ok when i latch him in the am. but in the afternoon, evening, he will reject the bottle. |

Y (chillies)
Post Number: 78 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 3:06 pm: |
Sept Bride, Cookie My boy is almost 2 months old I know he is tired but he tries to stay awake. I try to get him to sleep ard 8pm at night. He usually drinks 3hourly at about 100-120ml of formula. If he sleeps deeply, can last longer before the next feed. He will sometimes "wave" his hands in the air during sleep and that wakes him. He needs alot of coaxing to sleep. He doesnt fancy the pacifier or sometimes u carry him, he cries even louder. Simply doesnt know what he wans. I'm so stress now. The lack of sleep really drain me. Been trying to control the tears and temper but flared finally.He was wailing and mum kept nagging and I couldnt take it, shouted at him "KEEP QUIET" and later at my nephew who kept bugging me. Felt bad. Mum said the child doesnt understand but its a form of frustration for me. I'm stress taking care of him and also afraid my mum wld get too stress up too. Sian!!! Oh yes, my mom keeps giving my son milk when he cries even though time is not up. Sometimes is only after 2hr and if you feed, he will only drink a little and fall asleep. I do not want him to use milk as comfort food to help him sleep. Mum doesnt understand my point! Kept saying I dont know how to look after my child. |

krissie (cleo)
Post Number: 1483 Registered: 5-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 3:14 pm: |
Y I'm experiencing everything that u mentioned. I shouted at my boy last friday too. and he threw his temper by screaming at me. I know he doesnt understand but I'm also v tired. As for snacking. my boy has this habit too. my mum, like your mum will keep asking me to feed him as she gets gan chiong each time he cries. my boy even worse. sometimes, gets hungry 1 or 1.5hr after the feed. but, my boy is those big cc type, can drink a lot one.  |

SY (sychua79)
Post Number: 2149 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 3:16 pm: |
joanna u got impressive MS! got a mother in another thread asking for excess BM cos she's on medication and her bb can only take BM. her hb recently pass away so she's quite depressed. u wan to consider giving some to her if u have excess? krissie yah, heart pain when see our little one cry till tears roll down.... Y my boy used to be like yours but now he's better. he will not sleep like the whole day and wakes after 15 min of sleep. now in the morning, he will sleep ard 11am, and sleep till abt 1pm with waking up a bit in between. my boy also waves his hands but as long as he doesn't cry, i will ignore him even if he wakes. someteims when i carry him he cries louder. is anyone with you at home to help care for him? if there is, pass to another person to carry. sometimes my boy just wants a different person to carry. try not to feel stress cos the bb can feel it. a few times when i carried my bb and i felt frustrated, he cried even louder cos he knows. i take deep breaths and start all over again to comfort him. why dun u give him water when he cries? the sucking action will make them tired. i give him water if he cries before feeding time is here. unless it's only half hour before, then i feed him milk. another trick i use on my boy is to bring him downstairs. once out of the house, he can sleep cos he likes the rocking motion as i walk. i will just walk abt downstairs and let him sleep. a little sleep goes a long way. |

Joanna (jojopiglover)
Post Number: 215 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 3:20 pm: |
Hi SY...Basically i think my MS is good cos my baby suckles well...in a way...that helps too...he is currently taking 150ml each feed...Which thread is that? I am currently storing up my excess milk in case my MS dips when I get back to work in another 2 weeks time...if I have excess...I seriously won't mind giving some to her... James will also try to attract attention when he is awake...I will ignore him and let him play on his own...it gets beta each day....just gotta persevere and not pick him up the moment he starts to make wailing sounds...hehe... |

Y (chillies)
Post Number: 79 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 3:31 pm: |
I know babies can detect our mood. I try to control but if i'm really exhausted that day. Very diff. to control when he wails! Water works sometimes and he doesnt really like it. When he's in one of those "no water" mood, feeding water will trigger his temper! He has a furious temper and my mom blamed me for it. Saying i scold my pupils too much during pregnancy. My mom is those typical mother who thinks she always right and we r wrong. She cant stand my boy crying but sometimes its okay to let them cry abit. If I'm a little slow in making milk or getting water, I'll get screamed at!!! She kept saying my nephew whom she helped to take care wasnt like mine. I felt as if my baby is really so difficult and not like the others, so angelic. Yesterday she tried to coax him to sleep but he simply din want to. Mom was tired and when my nephew bugged her to change his wet tee, my mom flared and slammed the drawers and threw the wet tee on floor. A breaking point for her. I quickly carry my boy out and let her rest. Obviously, the temper she threw was from the frustration of taking care of my boy as she din stop me from carrying him out. I understand she's tired so I tried to take care of him at night. Then my boy started his crying, i so scared it wld irritate my mom more, brought him down although it was 930pm.Mom came down and scolded me and asked me to go up! On top of my stress, I'm afraid of my mom getting stress!!! Stress! Stress! Stress! |

mongs (mongs)
Post Number: 294 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 3:59 pm: |
Y, so your mom is going to take care of your boy and your nephew? how old is your nephew? My MIL is also going to take care of my girl and my nephew but my nephew is 7 years old and he is not around in the afternoon, attending school. so less stress. my baby also a bit more difficult compared to my nephew and niece but what to do? I think it's a passing phrase. try to take note of what irritate them and prevent from doing those. my baby like a certain carrying position and she likes to be left alone to finish her poo before we change for her. she will cry once she is done and if we dun change for her immediately, she will wail. we have learnt bit by bit of her nature. |

SY (sychua79)
Post Number: 2150 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 4:57 pm: |
joanna, yup i think it is impt that bb can suckle well. mine doesn't seem to be able to suckle well. so each pump u actually have quite a lot left! http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/284514.html?1141898247 the mum's name is ho may san. Y i find that babies now are really more difficult than bb in the past. they seem to have fiercer tempers! think your mum not used to it. initially my mum thought only my son so naughty. then later my neighbour's granddaughter also turned out to be so difficult. we concluded that bb nowadays are fiercer! sometimes i also break down and cry when my son doesn't want to sleep at night. will just persist in calming down and eventually he will calm down. we must be more persistent than them. i agree with mongs, must really know their temper and this will pass. my boy was really difficult in the first month and he gets better over time. and now when i know he doesn't wan me, i quickly pass him on to someone else. it works and i feel less stressed. |

sleepingdeer (sleepingdeer)
Junior Member Username: sleepingdeer
Post Number: 417 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 5:01 pm: |
Hi Ladies, have not been on the internet coz my stupid laptop power cord died on me, so can only log on when I reach home from my mum's place everyday, how's everyone doing? Joanna, I sooo envy your MS, I can only pump 100ml every 3 hours, and there is definitely not enough for my bb... I'm going back to work end of March, so looks like she will have to be supplemented at least 50-50.. |

sl (sl0922)
Post Number: 15 Registered: 2-2006
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 6:41 pm: |
SY, If you are interested, I can pass you the contact of the LC that I went to. I think she's very good. Very encouraging and gives practical advice according to your particular situation. Mongs, Yes, I really thank God that it works out well for me. I believe that God provides. He has given us my daughter and He will provide for her needs. My gal is different from yours - she's the impatient type so at the beginning, latching her on is perpetually a struggle with her. She's too impatient to wait for the letdown and the milk to flow. But the consultant taught me a method that works to increase the amt of time she suckles. That is, to prepare FM first and latch her on, when she gets impatient during latching on, "reward" her with some FM while she has not swallow the FM latch her on again. SY, you might want to try this method if your problem in latching on is the same as mine. Cookie, My gal also cries to be carried all the time - so tiring. She also only sleeps for 15 - 30 mins each time. Not sure how to solve the problem. Joanna, Your ms is really impressive. So envious of your ms. |

Denmy (denmy)
New member Username: denmy
Post Number: 31 Registered: 2-2006
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 6:56 pm: |
cookie, I find the Avent ISIS manual pump can really empty the breasts. I normally use the Medela 1st until I see nothng coming out. Then I use Avent. While expressing with one hand on the lever, I will press around the breast with the other hand. The breasts will become very soft and droopy.... btw, last night I pumped out 140ml... got improvement. I think the fenugreek does help a bit. |

durianlover (durianlover)
Member Username: durianlover
Post Number: 525 Registered: 10-2003
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 10:07 pm: |
Seems like a lot of u find that Avent pump is good. For me i find no difference between the Avent pump & Medela electric one...in fact i think Medela one is less tiring! But for both pumps they don't empty my breasts fully...not sure if it's coz i don't use the right technique or what. sunny, When i was at Harbourfront, i breastfed at Delifrance. Just bought a drink and sat down there to feed coz no other conducive place! Re: expo Last time i went expo (in Feb) the security guard told me there's nursing facility but in dunno-which hall. It was quite far from the hall i was in so i didn't use it. Anyway since there's a baby fair i'm sure they'll cater for nursing mothers! cookie & sl, my gal also used to cry to be carried all the time, but it was just a phase that she went thru. Now she's fine Pray and hope that it's just a phase your babies are going thru! Or find some other way to entertain ur baby so she doesn't need u to carry all the time. |

sunny (nyny)
Post Number: 1577 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 10:17 pm: |
Y my gal also sleep little in day time after 9am. the most she sleeps is 1 hr after feed. then around 6 or 7pm onwards, she will sleep for 2 - 3 hours. then, during day time, she will cry for carrying and grouchy 'cos of tiredness. sometimes i will carry her for a while and put her down. and if she still cries and wants to be carried, i will tell her strictly that she should sleep or else keep quiet. think she understands and really goes zzz or play with herself... mummies just came back from expo bb fair. nothing much there, pretty disappointed. lots of spa, beauty salon stalls. the hottest stall is moms in mind!!! mum&babes selling PIS advance at $699 with free gift (thermometer), and single pump with free cooler bag. |

Cindy Tan (doolittle)
New member Username: doolittle
Post Number: 3 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 10:28 pm: |
Hi all, Bb is ok today, think the merlion episode is a one-off and not reflux. Dunno issit cos I cleaned his tongue the first time and might have been too rough and 15mins later gave him his feed. Rena, hope you reconsider the fallopian tube procedure. My mom did it and she had earlier than normal menopause (she was only 43 yrs old, and her other sisters not like that, so thot that it might be the procedure). SY, Cool! your boy same birthday! I put Ru Yi almost once a day each day. Went into a "face black-black" stage with my hubby because of it. He was like against everything: Ru Yi Oil - says that it smells like old woman use kind of oil; give Gripe Water to help relieve wind and he says it will cause bb to be addicted as it is like a sedative... But I then dun care, been even secretly giving bb little Bao Ying Dan every other day to help reduce phelgm. Tried using the Pigeon Peristatic Bottle to see if it helps bb reduce wind and be more willing to take milk. The first attempt is quite successful. I tested the teats myself and the flow is smoother and teat is softer than Avent 2... Think my bb got small asian mouth, Avent may not be suiting him - but been using for almost 7 weeks already anyway. Y, I think just go with bb's mood. Their behaviour is changing week-on-week... previously I was strict about not giving him milk before the "hour is up" and keep wanting him to sleep (use to sleep only 10 hrs in his first month, so worrying). Now, it is the opposite - doesn;t want to drink and wants to just play and sleep... think maybe they reach diff stage got diff needs... am wondering issit because it is stimulated by more things around him now and brain needs to process and recover hence the longer sleep hours. Mummies, Can I ask if letting bb latch on and suck for comforst even thought there is very little milk is ok? Does it cause wind? |

Post Number: 527 Registered: 10-2003
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 10:43 pm: |
sunny, oh so the expo fair nothing fantastic? So sad! Why do u say the MIM stall is happening? Any discounts on nursing wear? cindy, i don't think latching on will cause wind in baby. But not too good to let baby comfort suck because it'll make him reliant on your breast for comfort. And if it becomes a habit u'll hv to keep offering ur breast to comfort him! Why don't u try pacifier if he wants to comfort suck? |

tabbiesus (tabbiesus)
Junior Member Username: tabbiesus
Post Number: 157 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 11:07 pm: |
re expo really disappointed... majority are spas or funny weight loss and cheena spas... with quite aggressive sales persons... the other main stalls are the insurance and FM companies... like sunny said mim stall most suitable 4 me...bought 3 nursing bras and one nursing top.. think the taka fair better 4 kiddy stuff leh |

sunny (nyny)
Post Number: 1579 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 11:09 pm: |
durian didn't really go to see what discount they have. saw lots of ppl at that stall and trying out the sling. haha... there are few ways to carry bb using sling, have you mastered all? |

krissie (cleo)
Post Number: 1486 Registered: 5-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 10, 2006 - 11:52 pm: |
cindy PD says latching will also hv wind if it's not a tight seal (i.e. no gaps between the mouth and your breast). |

cookie (labby)
Post Number: 1061 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 12:30 am: |
joanna dun worry abt it.. the bottles are in my store room :P as long as my mil dun throw it away accidentally - dun worry if she throw surely will ask me before hand..take your time :P Y and sl Looks like lotsa mummies also has same cranky babies episode..I also dunno what to say but to learn everyday abt bb, whats she likes and dun. Like mongs say, try not to do. Last nite I wanted to change my bb into PJ, sleep in air con mah, so long sleeve and pants better but after changing she cry sooooo hard and cannot be console, so I change her back to her short sleeve and long pant she quiet immeidately and fall asleep pretty soon. Like durian say... really pray that its a passing phase.. Oh check out the following... 7points why bb cry and how to soothe them : http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/baby/babycare/babysoothing/9790.html?scid=momsbaby:20060306:2670:17362:7573 Demny wow now I'm really thinking if I should buy one AVENT ISIS pump How much is ISIS pump? Tabb thanks looks like I won go expo liao.. maybe drop by taka one more time to check out the mobile.. I went last week but never see the mobile ley Cindy got to be careful washing bb toungue.. me too that day 30mins after feed clean bb tongue and she merlion most of her milk out.. I was so scare I hurt her.. fortunately my mil not there to witness bo I get it big time! |

Denmy (denmy)
Post Number: 32 Registered: 2-2006
| | Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 1:23 am: |
cookie, re: Avent ISIS pump I think it's about $60. I got it last year at Mothercare's sale... mummies, re: cloth nappy by bumwear I tried a few tinmes with BB. When he wee wee, it's ok. But when he does the poops... OMG... it goes everywhere.... anyone heer has used one of these b4? Is there a special way of using them? |

krissie (cleo)
Post Number: 1487 Registered: 5-2005
| | Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 7:28 am: |
cookie saw from dec thread that you can get the tiny lv mobile at isetan & JL too. cheong choon is selling too. you looking for tiny lv or other brands? |

cookie (labby)
Post Number: 1062 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 9:44 am: |
kriss looking for tiny love.. heard from tabbie.. she saw taka advent selling 49 only wor.. so I poping by taka today. you bought yours already? |

Y (chillies)
Post Number: 80 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 10:58 am: |
The crying really test our patience. But of cos when successfully calm him, feels really great! My mom gives him "Bao Ying Dan" too. Not very comfortable with it as its meant for children from 1yr old as stated on the box. However the sales person said can give abit to babies. Does it work? My boy likes the taste that's all I can say. Can see the way his mouth moves enjoying it. Feels alot better after sharing. Its great to get support. Thanks mummies! |

Rena chew (rena076)
Post Number: 347 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 11:02 am: |
RE: HB Actually have thought that it might be unfair to Elijah as he will be loney when he grows up.. but the fear of going thru the trumor is stress.. RE: Expo.. Mom in mind is the hottest?? any discount? I wish to buy another sling so I have a spare one when the other needs washing.. Re: furious bb my bb was like that too .. at that time I was really stress but after a while I some how got used to it.. now i know how to make him calm down.. it not easy.. so jia you... RE: PD is it ok to bring bb to a GP rather than a PD? |

SSF (missy)
Member Username: missy
Post Number: 1155 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 2:32 pm: |
wow so many postings...havent had time to read as i am at my mum place since hb is away for biz trip. but he be back tonight and i be gg to pick him with my boy. haha...ok, will read the rest of the thread again tmr when i am back to my hm. y - my boy is like tat too. has been a light sleeper lately. once i puthim down after cuddling him, he will open his eyes and start bawling. and if i manage to put him down successfully, he will wake up in a couple of minutes. i find it difficult to pump milk if i am alone and he has been crying. |

sysac (sysac)
Junior Member Username: sysac
Post Number: 182 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 3:39 pm: |
Hi all, Long time no see & talk. Cephas is 3.5 mths old now. This morning, brought him to West Coast park for a walk & he enjoyed it. Weather was warm but breezy. Came back home & he's sound asleep now. I think he has 'peng san' from the weather. Just some new pics of him

edd2jan (ttc2)
Junior Member Username: ttc2
Post Number: 331 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 7:23 pm: |
hi sysac, glad to see that Cephas is doing so well.. think you are one of the mum here who has no complain abt her bb. and moreover, Cephas is our thread da ge da.. hehe.. btw, asking all mums whose bb born in dec or earlier, have your bb's head become more stiff as in dun need to support, they can also hold by themselves? i m trying to train Javier's head now and can see that he is slowly getting it but still need more time.. |

krissie (cleo)
Post Number: 1489 Registered: 5-2005
| | Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 9:45 pm: |
cookie yup, i just bought the mobile today. we got the $129 one. so heartache. after disc abt $109. I know abt the $49.90 one but coz the design is diff from the farmyard animals one, i didnt dare to risk it. haven try it yet, hope my boy likes it. sysac your cephas is so cute.. btw, his smile is like my boy's.  |

krissie (cleo)
Post Number: 1490 Registered: 5-2005
| | Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 9:47 pm: |
cookie btw, i saw this new tiny lv product called DVD magic. it's this dvd with a soft toy. there is some remote in the soft toy, so when the dvd says hello, the soft toy will also say hello. qt interesting. we're thinking of getting that too. |

Cindy Tan (doolittle)
Post Number: 4 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Saturday, March 11, 2006 - 11:31 pm: |
My bb likes Bao Ying Dan and Gripe Water - can see him lick and taste his lips with great satisfaction. I also know its bad to let bb suckle for comfort, but as he is on full FM after the first month (now only one serving of BM each morning, latching on). My MS is in pathetic trickles which makes it a convenient comfort food for him to sleep... it's probably the only competitive advantage I have vs maid whom bb has taken quite a liking to as she's taking care of the night feeds, I am the milk-maker - mom convinced me to let her take the night shift after the first mth for her to 'practise' before i go back to work. It's the insecurity... Btw, today I bought the Pigeon brand nasal suction thingie which has a flexible soft tube to insert.. much better ergonomics than other brands, bought Safety 1st initially and the tip was too big and hard. Just something to recommend. |

cookie (labby)
Post Number: 1063 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 7:09 am: |
kriss we bought the 49.90 one... my gals seems pretty enjoyable watching it moving.. that DVD soft toy things sound quite cool!! |

Post Number: 528 Registered: 10-2003
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 8:57 am: |
hi mummies, anyone of u msg me yesterday to ask if JL or Robinson's having sale?? coz i accidentally deleted the sms before i could reply n i dun hv the no. stored in my HP. Denmy, i also bought 1 Bumwear diaper but haven't tried yet. Poo leaks?? So sad...thot supposed to contain quite well. Did u use 2 nappy liners? Cindy, does the Pigeon nasal suction remove nose shit? Looking for something that removes nose shit and not mucus. sunny, i hv tried the other way of carrying baby whereby she's sitting up with face towards my chest. Actually i learnt that basically you can hold ur baby in any position desired, then adjust the sling such that the baby is snug in the position u want. Know what i mean? Means u hold the baby in whatever position u want first, then only adjust the sling. rena, Guess it's really up to u whether u want to bring baby to PD or GP. But frenz recommend to bring baby to PD for the 1st year coz PD is more detailed n specialized, then after 1 yr old can go GP coz the illnesses they catch are easily treated by GP. So that's what i'm planning to do. How are u & hubbY? Do take time to cool down and think about the relationship yah...don't make rash decisions! There're always ups and downs in a marriage - pray that this down period of urs may soon go up! Perhaps u may want to consider a marriage counsellor? At least can help u both to talk things out Re: food warmer anyone of u has a food/bottle warmer to recommend? Would like to look for one that can heat up milk (for now) and food (in future) for baby. |

sysac (sysac)
Junior Member Username: sysac
Post Number: 183 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 9:44 am: |
Hi Edd2jan/Krissie, Haha! How to complain? I am his mother & he is my son for my life already. He has his cranky stages but then have to deal with it :P He was cranky during this photoshoot. I wrapped him up & started shooting. That's when he stopped & started smiling. Babies have this sweet endearing smile. When they smile, our hearts will melt. |

sunny (nyny)
Post Number: 1583 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 10:04 am: |
durian know what you mean... think need lots of practice. do you bf bb in the public b4? that day i went to expo... managed to bf my gal one side only... don't know how to switch to another side to bf without letting anyone know. :P |

krissie (cleo)
Post Number: 1498 Registered: 5-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 10:12 am: |
sysac yup, totally agree that when they smile, we forget everything. |

MamaChan (babe_agape)
New member Username: babe_agape
Post Number: 92 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 10:32 am: |
hi mummies really been a long time since I last checked into the forum. TBF supplement with follow-on formula at 6 months Any 2nd time mums here who has done this?? I've been reading on weaning and introducing solids like rice puree to baby from 4 months onwards and also thinking how to go about supplementing baby with follow-on formula once he's around 6 months old together with breastmilk. Any advice?? I'm trying to arm myself with as much info as possible to prepare myself when the time comes. Already as it is, my MIL, each time see her, she keeps telling me that oh, from 4 months onwards can start giving porridge lah, that breastmilk in itself is not enough lah, that already at 2 months my bb seems like not enough lah... damn annoyinfg I tell you. Then I told my husband that I don't like to be told repetitively so many times, he gets annoyed with me, saying tbat my MIL doesn't know better and she just meant well, just take it that she's lor-so... Grrrrr, sorry, long time never come here and am complaining already. |

cookie (labby)
Post Number: 1064 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 11:35 am: |
mamachan heehee.. my hb also always say the same thing when I say something annoying abt mil... "mother meant well, just listen and forget abt it lor" |

SY (sychua79)
Post Number: 2152 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 4:29 pm: |
sl my problem is not just with latching. it's more on the postiion of the latch. his mouth very small and he doesn't open his mouth. even if latch on already, he will give up after a while. where is your LC from? cindy my boy also got small mouth. i have been using avent no 2 as well. so far so good..... i put ru yi oil a few times a day to help him pass wind. think it helps.... denmy, u use the medela then avent? sounds like a lot of work. maybe i shd try that also edd2jan sometimes i dun support my bb's head. he will keep turning his head also. that day we put a toy in front of him and he turned left and right very fast! Rena i birng my boy to Gp. shd be ok mamachan these kind of things can just one ear in and one ear out. we can't stop them from keep saying. with my own mum, i just tell her whether can or not. with my mil i will just say i know. anyway, my MIL worse. think she has some weird ideas. everytime we bring bb back, she will keep pushing bb to my hb and insists that my bb wants to listen to my hb's voice. she like has this super huge insecurity that bb only wants me and not my hb. then when my hb mention that he doesn't wan bb to sleep in our room ( i move to bb's room to sleep) she told him must sleep with bb or bb won't wan him. she behaves like she scared bb only close to me. is there anything wrong with bb being close to me? can't stand her. |

cookie (labby)
Post Number: 1066 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 6:09 pm: |
SY my MIL on the contrary... whenever my hb carry or coax baby (sometimes I want my hb to carry bb so bb will get use to him also), MIL always want to take over from him and coax herself. I'm however upset by her action lor. When diaper wet then she ask my HB to change whereas carry bb she want to do.. she also do the same thing to me initally until I refuse her request to take bb from me..then she know I dun like it. Besides she want to bond with bb, I think more importantly, as parent we should bond with bb. Esp for me...after 3 mths I will start work, then I have less time with bb already. |

cookie (labby)
Post Number: 1067 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 6:11 pm: |
mamachan Oh.. anyway my MIL also the same la.. always say breast milk not full not full for bb. Initally I was annouyed, now I just ignore her. |

sunny (nyny)
Post Number: 1588 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 9:04 pm: |
cookie is your mil going to take care of your bb after you start work? if yes, think you need to let her build some bonding with your bb so that bb won't have hard time to get use to the new caretaker. me too have the same thinking as you actually 'cos dont' really like mil to take over my role. haha... but try to switch my mindset a bit 'cos after i go to work, mil will be taking care of my gal. i don't want my gal to be a crying bb when i m not around, so, got to let mil to carry her sometimes... |

sunny (nyny)
Post Number: 1589 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 9:07 pm: |
mummies who are working do you have the thought of quiting your job and be full time mum? i never had this thought until recently... 'cos find that bb's development depend on the caretaker. and i am quite bu fang xin to let others to take care of her even though the 'others' is my mil... |

Post Number: 529 Registered: 10-2003
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 9:37 pm: |
sunny, i have bf my gal in public before, but like u i haven't mastered the art of changing sides too. But i usually just feed my gal on 1 side, then feed the other side at the next feeding, so not too much a problem for me. i think bfing in public needs practice to make it discreet! i've seriously thought of quitting my job to be a SAHM for the very same reasons that you're considering too. But i'll most likely be returning to work coz my boss is very understanding and flexible and i might be able to bring baby to work. So if that's the case i'll continue working  |

ak (angelk)
New member Username: angelk
Post Number: 60 Registered: 12-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 10:37 pm: |
sunny, I have not BF in public before but usually do so in the car. Find it more comfortable and no one really notices. durian lover, same as you, my boss v understanding...so feel; bad if i quit after 3 mths ML. Yet, my role requires travel and I am no longer comfortable being away fr BB...went to japan with my HB during ML and I cried more than the BB as I felt so sad being apart fr him... |

SY (sychua79)
Post Number: 2155 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 10:44 pm: |
sunny i am considering taking no pay leave. i m on bond and can't quit my job and my job is quite difficult to work from home. durianlover, u can bring bb to work? your workplace got childcare? that's so nice. cookie yah must spend as much time with bb as possible now. can't imagine after starting work how busy i will be and not be able to spend enoiugh time with bb |

chenoa (chenoa)
Member Username: chenoa
Post Number: 536 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Sunday, March 12, 2006 - 10:51 pm: |
Hi, RE; Breast Pads Anyone using washable breast pads? Which brand is good? Wanted to buy Pigeon disposables but saw Gerber ones cheaper. Is this brand good? |

Denmy (denmy)
Post Number: 33 Registered: 2-2006
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 12:52 am: |
Durianlover, Re: bumwear Nappy I too kan cheong la. Used it without the nappy liner. Put tissue instead... :P I just bought liners today, will try the nappy with liners tomorrow and see if it works better. Re: work Wa your boss so good... can bring BB to work. What do you do anyway? (hehe kaypo) SY, Yes, I use both together: I have the medela electric single pump and Avent ISIS manual. I switch sides and after thorough "extraction" with electric pump, I will finish off with the Avent. btw, mummies, my left breast can only yield half the amt. of my right breast... anyone like me? How to increase supply of left breast? |

sunny (nyny)
Post Number: 1592 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 12:57 am: |
durian so, the interval that your bb asks for milk will be shorter? wow, your boss is so good! i had a pretty nice boss before. but he had left. new boss will be joining around the time i go back to work. i am not too sure how understanding the new boss will be... sigh... if financially allowed, i will definitely quit my job for bb; but quite unlikely at the moment. ak ya, normally i bf bb in the car. find that if the car is moving while bf bb, she doesn't really suckle efficiently and always ask for milk in shorter interval. |

krissie (cleo)
Post Number: 1506 Registered: 5-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 5:04 am: |
sunny i thot of it that time too. but after discussing with hb. he feels that bb's devt now is not as crucial as his proper devt, eg those exp courses to stimulate mind, piano class, etc. if i dun work, then no money for those liao in the future. I feel that if we spend quality time with bb everyday, then shldnt be too bad. Coz like now, everyday i take care of him, only spending quantity time, coz too tired to lay proper games with him to stimulate him. whereas, my hb is spending quality time. but, for those who can afford it, then good to be SAHM. Mummy's best. |

sunny (nyny)
Post Number: 1593 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 5:28 am: |
krissie i feel that bb could learn things v fast esp when they r young. so, every moment is crucial. for quality time, after work when we c bb, bb might already wanna zzz. only weekend we can spend time with bb. but like what u said, $$$ is important. sigh, so have to really juggle b/w $$$ n time to give the best for bb... |

Joanna (jojopiglover)
Post Number: 216 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 7:53 am: |
Hi Mummies...good morning....at my mum's plc again....gotta post b4 my sis brings the laptop to sch...hehe.... Sy...I contacted the other mummy from the forum and will be passing her my excess BM today...thanks....a total of 19 packs at 60ml and 70ml each...I think she needs more too....but that's all I can afford to pass to her cos I also need to have some backup in case my MS dips when I get back to work in another 2 weeks time.... Mummies....dun worry abt MS....when I had my first child...my MS was also miserable....it was only after alot of hardwork and breastpain....that I managed to BF well this round...also....I think becos my second child is not a sleepy baby and suckles very well...that's why my body keeps producing....remember....demand=supply....nt easy to BF...whatever u have is good enough....so dun blame yourself or take it negatively....as long as we give what we have that is best to the baby....we have all done our utmost... Sigh....I starting to get separation blues....worry abt keeping up with MS when I get back to work....worry abt pumping schedule cos I teach and I dun have much free time to pump....so worry that baby will not be taken care in the same way that I had taken care of him for the past 3 months...SIGH....so many worries right....some really senseless....and making me rather mang zhang and stressed...hubby ask me to take it easy....sigh....me also dunno how.... RE: BF in Public.... Using the Sling is really good cos it is really discreet...however...I normally only BF one side and the when I get back to the car...I will BF the other side....hehe....some days...I dun even bother to wear Maternity tops but just some loose Tshirts....I will just flip up...feed and then business done! hehe |

mongs (mongs)
Post Number: 295 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 8:49 am: |
Joanna, I don't use the sling but I still breastfeed in the public if no choice. Yesterday went to the airport to send my hubby off to US, he will be in New York for 2 weeks. the nursing room is very far away, so I just sit at a corner, facing the corner to breastfeed her at BK. didn't wear nursing top or have sling but luckily my bra is front drop type. very easy. luckily baby didn' make a big fuss as well. |

SSF (missy)
Post Number: 1156 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 9:10 am: |
hi mummies.. yesterday brought my boy to shave his head at suntec and i get to keep the hair. anyone also keep it as well and thinking of making it a hair brush?? any idea where can i make it? thot it be a nice remembrance to make into a brush and pass him during his 21st birthday..haa..i know its a long way still to his 21st :P |

SSF (missy)
Post Number: 1157 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 9:31 am: |
Morning mummies... went to the expo on fri and agree that there isn;t much things at all. thot i can grab some diapers like pet pet, nepia or mamy pokos on sale but there is none. only one germany brand(nvr heard b4), drypers and EQ/Sealer. in the end i bought the sealer brand for 12 bucks per 64 pcs. bought 2 big packs. i also manage to get some baby safety stuffs like door latch, table corner and a rattle toy. all at 2 bucks or 3 bucks. very cheap. then a auto baby night light at 7 bucks. got a pureen sterilising tablets at 5 bucks for 60plus tablets. tats all...i heard mother hood in june is much much better. yeah cannot stand those slimming, facial and insurance ppl. here we are finding those stores..they attack us and have to find ways to siam them. teriible! sunny - no i don;t have the thought of quitting my job. i think i will always need to have my own time without baby else i be stick to him for life. my MIL and my mum will rotate in taking care of him in the day while i can resume my normal activities back at work ...lunching and bonding with my colleagues. but then my work lately has been quite unstable as there could be retrench in the future..so when the time comes, then i may consider finding another job or not then face being a SAHM and losing my personal savings for shopping  |

MamaChan (babe_agape)
Post Number: 93 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 10:11 am: |
Hi mummies Being a SAHM Currently am on no-pay leave already to be the caregiver for bb. Though it's really financially tight for us, I think the sacrifice is worth it, even if it means no more buying things for myself unless necessary. It's good for bb to stick to us now than when they turn into school-going age, all they want is to be with their friends (well, I was like that when was younger). I guess right now is the best time to spend with them, teaching them and bringing them up right. BF in Public I've tried doing that outside, the pulling down of nursing bra and lifting of the top is easy, it's when baby is done and not interested to feed and start to squirm and you have to try to adjust back both the bra and the breast pad which is rather annoying for me. ANy mummies encounter this problem? Any advice on how to successfully put back the breast pad in the right position without a bulge appearing at the breast? |

MamaChan (babe_agape)
Post Number: 94 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 10:14 am: |
Denmy I understand from my aunt who had breastfed all my 3 cousins mentioned that it's natural that one breast will somehow have more milk than the other. In order to increase the MS, just let baby latch on more on the side where it's low than after awhile, do keep alternating between both breasts |

sl (sl0922)
Post Number: 16 Registered: 2-2006
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 10:16 am: |
SY, the LC that I saw was from KK. Have you tried compressing your nipple so that it's easier for the baby to latch on? Denmy, My right also has more milk than my left. The LC said that it's normal that one side has more than the other. Sunny, I have breastfed my baby in public without the sling. I don't know how to use the sling to breastfeed. It's quite okay. I use nursing bra and tops and either fed in the nursing room (taka got very nice nursing rooms) or at corners. Mamachan, My mil also the same - whenever my baby cries, she will ask if it's because she doesn't have enough. It's always the first reason that mil thought of. My baby cries a lot - might not be due to hunger. What I did was to express a bottle of milk before going to her house and when baby cries, bottle feed her in front of my mil. My baby didn't want to drink then either so she stopped asking if my milk is enough for the baby. Now she's asking if the baby's thirsty. SIGH. I just leave my hb to explain. SSF, I did a calligraphy brush with my baby 's hair with the Taimaobi Centre at KK. You can call them for enquiry. The Tel is 62973513. I am also worried abt going back to work. My baby wants to be carried all the time. Not sure how my mother's going to cope. |

SSF (missy)
Post Number: 1158 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 10:22 am: |
wenyl - how to PM har? sorry still blur abt this function. anyway, i tried last week on the infant carrier and this time i face him outward instead of inward and was so happy that he enjoyed it. i even carried him to the airport to pick my hubby and he was so surprise tat bb was so quiet and cosy sleeping in it. i think he just want to see the world. haha...so for now, i be keeping it though. i bought it at kids mall at $79 bucks. i dun think its the 6 in 1 kind that you are referring to. can only carry front and back tats all. but it is well cushion and comfy which explains the steep price. sl - how much did you pay for the calligraphy brush? i am not sure if the hair is sufficient though. is it a concern if its too little? re: pumping milk all mummies who are expressing in the wee hours..do hang on. i am also quite tired and always thinking of quitting. told my hb and complain many times tat i am very tired tat i need to wake up in the middle of the night to pump. but thinking of my baby and how the breast milk will benefit him really make me think otherwise. so all mummies who are expressing..ya doing a good job and no matter how much the qty is, do not give up! a single feed of EBM is better than none. so jia you..jia you. my EBM is also quite unstable. at times i can get like only 120ml per session and at times i can get like 200ml. so do perservere and give the best to your precious ones  |

SSF (missy)
Post Number: 1159 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 10:29 am: |
sl - ok manage to check out the site. its so cool. will be heading to KK soon to get it done. did not know tat they provide free hair cut and door to door service still wasted my 15 bucks to shave his head yesterday |

sunny (nyny)
Post Number: 1595 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 10:34 am: |
joanna me too, going back to work next mth... feeling a bit down when think of it. is it called separation anxiety? ssf i also did the brush at taimaobi centre. i asked them to come to my house to shave my gal. tomorrow i am going to collect it.  |

sl (sl0922)
Post Number: 17 Registered: 2-2006
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 10:38 am: |
SSF, I paid $150 for the jintailan brush. Yup, they provide door-to-door svc but must call in advance and I didn't. So brought my baby to KK to shave her. They will advise you on what kind of brush you can make based on the amt of hair that your baby has. If baby's hair not enough to make the smallest one, then can use parent's hair to make the central part. That's what I gather from the brochure. My baby got quite a bit of hair so it's enough. |

SSF (missy)
Post Number: 1160 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 10:44 am: |
sl - wah so ex?? i thot its from 38 bucks? |

SY (sychua79)
Post Number: 2157 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 10:54 am: |
denmy my left breast also yield much lesser than right. dunno how to increase. use 2 pumps like a lot of work....pei fu joanna how is the mummy doing? saw from other threads that some mummies also pass her their ebm yah i also going back to work soon n dun feel like it. wan to stay home with my son. n i haven decide whether wan to continue pumping... sl i also saw the LC from kk. think it's cos my bb doesn't suckle well. |

Bao Bao (piglets)
Intermediate Member Username: piglets
Post Number: 4462 Registered: 11-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 11:09 am: |
Any kind mummies Cos like to check if any mummies can order formula milk for me for dumex brand. Cos bulk purchase oni entitle to 1 bb once for Dumex. It will not affect on other bulk formula milk. This is oni for Dumex. Can kindly email me at grace_piglets@yahoo.com |

Yuki (yuki)
Member Username: yuki
Post Number: 1572 Registered: 11-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 11:16 am: |
Hi mommies, Seems like all babies are almost the same! My ga Megan is also a fussy baby. Since one month onwards, she loves to be carried and rock to sleep and it can take more than one hour to do that - only to have her wake up in a few minutes when we put her down on the cot/bed...... I was so tired and frustrated that i broke down too. It doesn't help when my first child was easy to take care of. Megan has no problem latching on but she simply hates bottle. Even till now, coming to 9 weeks old, it takes us 15 mons to coax her to finish 3 ounces of milk and had to feed and walk...... Thank God for my mum who's there to ease my tirness..... Now i am worried my mum cn't cope when i go back to work in April. But when i m frustrated, i saw how patient my mum was towards Megan, i felt bad that i, being the mother is more impatient.......... Anyway, i let Megan sleep in sarong i the day time now. At least need not to carry her - hand ache, plus so sweaty with the hot weather nowadays. With sarong, she can sleep longer and now i worry she sleep too much and doesn't get enough stimulation!!!! I had post natal blues one two weeks after i gave birth. I felt bad towards my elder gal that i am unable to give her undivided attention anymore. Yet i also felt bad towards Megan cos i also cannot give her all the attention like i used to to my elder gal..... so contradicting..... had a few crying episodes during tjose two weeks. Most mothers with more than one kids complain of the physical tiredness but no one warns me of the emotional part. Till i spoke to a few friends with two kids, they all felt the same feeling once........ Hai. |

Yuki (yuki)
Member Username: yuki
Post Number: 1573 Registered: 11-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 11:19 am: |
Hi mommies, Seems like all babies are almost the same! My ga Megan is also a fussy baby. Since one month onwards, she loves to be carried and rock to sleep and it can take more than one hour to do that - only to have her wake up in a few minutes when we put her down on the cot/bed...... I was so tired and frustrated that i broke down too. It doesn't help when my first child was easy to take care of. Megan has no problem latching on but she simply hates bottle. Even till now, coming to 9 weeks old, it takes us 15 mons to coax her to finish 3 ounces of milk and had to feed and walk...... Thank God for my mum who's there to ease my tirness..... Now i am worried my mum cn't cope when i go back to work in April. But when i m frustrated, i saw how patient my mum was towards Megan, i felt bad that i, being the mother is more impatient.......... Anyway, i let Megan sleep in sarong i the day time now. At least need not to carry her - hand ache, plus so sweaty with the hot weather nowadays. With sarong, she can sleep longer and now i worry she sleep too much and doesn't get enough stimulation!!!! I had post natal blues one two weeks after i gave birth. I felt bad towards my elder gal that i am unable to give her undivided attention anymore. Yet i also felt bad towards Megan cos i also cannot give her all the attention like i used to to my elder gal..... so contradicting..... had a few crying episodes during tjose two weeks. Most mothers with more than one kids complain of the physical tiredness but no one warns me of the emotional part. Till i spoke to a few friends with two kids, they all felt the same feeling once........ Hai. |

tulips (red_devil)
New member Username: red_devil
Post Number: 43 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 11:28 am: |
sl - can you email the contact of the lc to me at evepoh@singnet.com.sg thanks. |

Pochacco (kellylims)
Junior Member Username: kellylims
Post Number: 466 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 12:00 pm: |
i brought my dvd magic at $99... got $49 one har??? did i got it at a more expensive price!!! my boi (10 weeks)  |

SY (sychua79)
Post Number: 2160 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 12:04 pm: |
pochacco is that a basket? looks very comfy! my poor boy scratched himself today till bleeding... sob sob

Pochacco (kellylims)
Post Number: 467 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 12:09 pm: |
Sy - that is rocker convertible to baby chair... very good and comfortable.. got roller which can roll him around when he is bigger... ur boi never wear mitten??? mine yest just got a nail trimming session by his daddy... |

SY (sychua79)
Post Number: 2161 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 12:11 pm: |
got trim his nails but he was crying after bathing cos he hungry and think he scratched himself too hard. usually not like that one..sigh..so heart pain. |

Pochacco (kellylims)
Post Number: 468 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 1:17 pm: |
Normally bb drink milk from bottles, do the milk also flow out from the bb mouth... my bb when drinking milk alway have milk flowing out from his milk and the cloths will alway be wet wet by the time he finished the milk... dun think it is because of the flow of the teat cos i only using avent teat no.1 for him... |

Post Number: 530 Registered: 10-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 1:28 pm: |
pochacco, i just PMed u regarding Avent bottle warmer. Your boy's so cute..such a nice smile! Yes my gal also will have milk dripping out of her mouth when i bottle feed but not so much till it soaks her clothes - just a little bit of milk that i use cloth to wipe away. i'm also using Avent teat no.1 and i think the flow might be a bit too fast for her (as compared to the flow from nipple). There was once she puked up a large amount of milk after i bottle fed her! Not sure if it's coz she gulped down too fast or what...but my gal is coming to 2months and she's still on teat no.1, which is strange coz i thot 2 months old can take teat no.2 already... Re: work / SAHM My work is pretty flexible as i work with students - meaning that i have to meet up with students quite often and i hardly need to be deskbound. Perhaps that's why my boss allows some flexibility in terms of bringing baby to work. But then again, it's not confirmed yet!! i'm meeting up with my boss to further discuss and see how things work out. Hopefully can work out some arrangement for me to bring baby along with me for work if not it'll be financially v tight to be SAHM. SY, oh looks like quite a bad scratch your boy has! Poor thing! |

babylon (baby99lon)
Junior Member Username: baby99lon
Post Number: 158 Registered: 5-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 1:58 pm: |
yuki, i know how you feel..and i am facing the same problem like ..having 2 kids to take care..escpically the fist month after gave birth, a few time i screamed at my elder son. btw, how old is your elder daughter, my son was 3. so he is so use to gain attention from all of us and now he is not able to. |

cookie (labby)
Post Number: 1071 Registered: 2-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 4:53 pm: |
sunny I'm not worry abt my mil not bonding with my gal.. sometimes she "fight" with me to carry my gal. When my gal cry and I try to coax.. my mil will intercept and want to take her from me.. I was annoyed but din wanna be disrespectful.. anyway I will refused her and tell her I would like to coax her myself. And now that I'm pumping.. my mil will be looking after her... 98% of time.. I'm the one making milk-EBM or FM.. and my mil just take hanky and wait to feed.. sometimes I have to tell her straight I will feed. U know thats y I dun think my mil will have problem bonding with her lor. Sy yes I need to bond with my gal.. sigh...stress.. |

god's child (cel_cel)
Member Username: cel_cel
Post Number: 618 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 5:02 pm: |
SY / Denmy - like your, my left breast also yielding miserable supply of milk... i latch Celeste on for the equal amount of time and yet it is always so much lesser... i do understand tat its ok but then its sad to see milk coming out in drops as compared to the other breast where it come in jets!!! does your milk's colour vary? i realised sometimes its milky white, whereas at times its more diluted white ( almost transparent )... do your experience this??? |

sunny (nyny)
Post Number: 1606 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 5:19 pm: |
cookie haha... i understand what you meant. when my mil came to my house, she also will intercept and straight away change diaper for my gal even though i am standing at the right position and prepare to change the diaper already. quite offended by her move... and she was the one who told me not to carry bb so often during my confinement. but now, she is the one who carry my bb the most! really scare that she will spoil my gal. mummies this morning i told my hb that if he could earn more, i would rather quit my job and stay at home to take care of bb. he was shocked that i had this thought 'cos all the while i had been quite career minded. :P |

Cindy Tan (doolittle)
Post Number: 5 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 5:25 pm: |
durian, the nasal suction seems to be able to help the soft boogers to be drawn further out but not into the device. Dunno why my boy also has so much booger.. house is clean so I think it should be the mucus that dried up as he often snorts and snores. |

Zhimin (zhimin)
Junior Member Username: zhimin
Post Number: 298 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 5:50 pm: |
Hi all just to drop by and say hello... MIA for too long... can't really catch up the thread... hope everyone is doing fine!  |

sl (sl0922)
Post Number: 18 Registered: 2-2006
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 8:06 pm: |
SY, It's alright. Like Joanna said, we give our babies the best that we can. Don't stress. Tulips, Just email you her tel no. SSF, Yah - I also thot that it's from $38. That's what they quoted me over the phone as well. But when we were there, the brushes that the lady showed us started from $130. Since we are already there, we just went ahead and make it lor. God's child, The more diluted version you see shd be the foremilk which is meant to quench baby's thirst while the more white version is the hindmilk to fill the baby. Cindy, The nasal suction is useful is it? My baby also has a lot of mucus but dunno how to remove it leh. |

Denmy (denmy)
Post Number: 34 Registered: 2-2006
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 8:36 pm: |
Joanna, Mongs, Re: BFing in public I also BF a lot when we go out. It's much more convenient than bringing out everything u need for FM-making. And if I do give FM when we go out, my breasts will be very engorged. When BFing, I am very discreet one...have to use my sling, and I wear maternity top and bra. But I can feed anywhere though, sitting, walking, or even while shopping. And ppl stare, don't they? Makes me nervous, as if my breast is exposed or something or like they can see thru' the fabric and know what you are doing underneath!!!!!!!!!! SSF, I had my boy's head shaved and hair made into paint brush when he was 7 weeks. They actually came to my place and the haircut was free. http://www.babeszone.com.sg/ 91262457 Cherlee |

Denmy (denmy)
Post Number: 35 Registered: 2-2006
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 8:43 pm: |
MamaChan, I use both hands to adjust the bra and pad, with the tail-end of the sling covering my front. I have problems with b pads also. I like pigeon disposables best: contoured and just the nice thickness. gerber is contoured as well but a little too thin for one-hand adjustment. It gets scrunced uo easily. Avent is the worst. Too thick and flat. |

SY (sychua79)
Post Number: 2162 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 10:44 pm: |
pochacco, durianlover, my boy used to drip a lot of milk cos i was using the wrong size avent teat. then when i changed to teat number 2, he drinks much better. god's child i only latch my boy on left breast and it is actually lesser..beats me... sl, i already accept that my boy will be on partial BM only, wil just try harder for the next kid! |

sunny (nyny)
Post Number: 1609 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 10:50 pm: |
sy number 2 is bigger hole? when shall we change to bigger hold? |

Cindy Tan (doolittle)
Post Number: 6 Registered: 10-2005
| | Posted on Monday, March 13, 2006 - 10:59 pm: |
sl, It works better cos it has a flexi rubber tube attached to the tip... the Safety 1st one which i bought previously has too big an insert, can't even stick it in. But remember must angle the device slightly to the sides, never straight into the nostril so as not to damage the mucus membrane. |