SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2006 Mums * (2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs * Archive * Archive through August 19, 2005 < Previous Next >

SSF (missy)
Username: missy

Post Number: 147
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 2:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi celine...i mean get another fridge if you do not have enough space. cos you mention you will have a lot of supply *wink* i have frds who actually bought another fridge just to contain milk bottles. hehee

mashy brainz (mashybrainz)
Username: mashybrainz

Post Number: 1974
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 2:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

celine

Is the Ikea cot the $129 one? It's untreated wood leh. So means you'll have to kaki paint over it or there might be splinters. Not so ideal for bb.

SY (sychua79)
Username: sychua79

Post Number: 130
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 2:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF,
is it becos of their abundant milk supply? my fren told me some pple got so much milk supply until it keeps dripping non stop and they gave up breastfeeding becos they wanted to ask doc to stop the supply....

Celine (cel_cel)
Username: cel_cel

Post Number: 78
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 2:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mashy

no..no... its not untreated wood, its white sprayed paint wood.. about $329, theres a sample there of it being converted to junior bed as well. very sweet leh...:-)

SY

The $99 is normal price i think, cos i went a few times and its always tat pricing unless its for a period lor..but its reali the same...

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 148
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 2:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi SY, yes they have abundant milk supply.

Post Number: 1976
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 2:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Celine

Orh, that one. Have u checked out this place?

http://www.babytown.com.sg/displayproducts.cgi?rm=cat_search

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 131
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 2:58 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy
for babytown stuff, is it all secondhand?

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 132
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 2:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF,
so did your frens continue to BF? i know my fren's frens gave up. i think that is quite scary. but such things really beyond our control.

Yuki (yuki)
Username: yuki

Post Number: 780
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 2:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am expecting my second baby, in my 18th week now. By right for second pregnancy should be able to feel baby's kicks earlier but till now the kicks are not so frequent.... Thou being pregnant a second time, it doesn;t stop me from getting anxious about baby's kicks..........

Anyway saw many of you discussing about baby bottles. From my own personal experience, don;t buy too many. I bought 6 Avent bottles for my first child but when i was at the hospital, the nurses feed my child using NUK's teats (latex type). My baby got used to the soft latex and doesn;t know how to use silicon teat which Avent bottle uses. End up we had to rush to Kiddy palace to buy Nuk's bottles and teats. Other type of bottles can accept both silison and latex teats but Avent has only silicon teats..........

I am using Avent steriliser thou. Can accept Nuk's bottles thou it dioesn;t sit well. But can still sterilises....

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 133
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 3:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

just wondering. what are the brands that are recommended for different things? For eg, steriliser most pple buy avent. what abt things like milk bottles, stroller, car seat etc?

Celine (cel_cel)

Post Number: 79
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 3:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mashy

the cots look nice but then cant see how it looks like when assembled..

Celine (cel_cel)

Post Number: 80
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 3:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY

i think for stroller alot pple buy Combi. saw one at metro yesterday for $189, not bad, quite sturdy looking... colour also very nice.. quite a few choices. but if u hav frens who b getting u gifts or company welfare budget, can leave these items to them. for me, i b leaving the stroller in the company budget since bb wont b using it during first month also..

Post Number: 1977
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 3:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY

Not all. They will specify where it's new or not.

Post Number: 1979
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 3:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Celine

See page 2 lah. Those are new ones. They've assembled pic. I think the 2nd hand ones are a bit overpriced.

edd2jan (ttc2)
Username: ttc2

Post Number: 215
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 3:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

had my detailed scan yst and i am also expecting a boy! really many boys among our jan 06 MTB thread huh... ya i also have the line in the middle like some of u mentioned. and indeed realised tummy abit hairier now... cannot be because of a baby boy in tummy ba.. i think its normal when one is preg...

hi ivory,
can update me, i m expecting a boy too! :-)

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 134
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 3:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Cel_cel,
thanks for the info. I was also thinking some of the things no need to buy too soon. only buy those really really essential ones..

edd2jan,
congrats on your boy! realised there's a lot of boys also in Jan.

Post Number: 1980
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 3:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i think i'll use my Tefal food steamer to sterilise the bottles.

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 149
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 3:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY - yes still breastfeeding.

wow..so many boi boi..so fun and a twins some more :-)

celine (celine77)
Username: celine77

Post Number: 174
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 4:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi mashy brainz, SY,

Ya, i won't be moving myself. infact my mil ask me to go and stay at my mum's place for that few days of moving. keke...

i think i will get an advent manual pump and later if need electric one, will get ameda. coz heard that the medela mini electric is very noisy. like cutting grass.

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 135
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 4:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy,
got a fren who's using food steamer also to sterilise the bottles cos it's a company gift. that's any idea also.

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 136
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 4:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

celine,
is the electric one very noisy? but is manual very tiring?

krissie (cleo)
Username: cleo

Post Number: 470
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 4:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yuki
Which hosp did u stay at?

edd2jan
Congrats... it's a boy. :-)

Post Number: 1982
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 4:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY

Yah, i heard u just need to sterilise the bottles till bb is 6mths old. So buy a new steriliser a bit wasteful like that.

confused (confusedgal)
Username: confusedgal

Post Number: 833
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 4:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

edd2jan - Congrats on your boy :-)

Pochacco - wow! so many boi boi in jan. if mine is a gal gal then we got many choices leh

celine (celine77)

Post Number: 175
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 4:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY,
ya i heard from a few friends already. all complain about the noise. unless u get the very exp one. i think $600+. if it's the medela mini, be it dual pump or single pump, it's going to be very noisy. one even commented tat it's so noisy, her milk couldn't flow out! and another one said, when she first turn on, she tot the thing is spoilt coz the sound is like cutting grass! oh an another one said, it woke up her daughter in the middle of the nite...so i suppose i won't be taking the risk.. furthermore it's not cheap.

styloBB (stylobb)
Username: stylobb

Post Number: 4286
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 5:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF
I wished I had that kinda of problem - excess bm!!! Mine just enuf for my boi that time... next time hope will have more.

Haha..so many boys, hope I can tilt the gender ratio a bit to gals...

krissie
Yes, u are right...either transfer to Avent bottle or into storage bag. Why dun u try direct latch-on first? More convenient and less to clean up...hehe...

SY
So u identical twin... interesting.
Yeap, me also into my 17th week.

Yes, the Medela portable one is v noisy. I used the PIS, borrowed from my friend... super quiet and efficient...

Were u asking for the list? Yah, think mashy brainz sent.. I also kept it cos I have forgotten wat stuff.. but guess for me I dun need to get much lah..

celine
I suggest u go to Tai Sing at North Bridge Road to see the whole range of Combi prams and strollers, they also throw in freebies with purchase. Also got discount.
I just got a stroller (can recline all the way) after my current stroller is about to give way, they say they will also try to see if the current one can be repaired...

mashy brainz
I sterilise the stuff till my boi was about 18 months.. maybe becos the steriliser is sitting there, so I just do it.

yuki
Thankfully my boi super flexible from day one, breasts, teats (avent) also take... never reject, never fuss ...haha....

Post Number: 1984
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 5:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

styloBB

What else do they sell at Tai Sing? Address? Thx

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 137
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 6:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mashy,
i din know abt the sterilising is only till 6 months. shall go and check it out before buying anything then. but can always use for the 2nd one.

Celine,
i shall ask my fren abt it. i know she got one so will ask her which one. if it's too noisy, will attract too much attention and not a good idea.

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 139
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 6:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

styloBB,
so we are in the same week. i haven't felt bb yet. dunno whether is it cos it's first one so not very sensitive. can't wait. all the mothers here making me very excited!

What does PIS refer to? Must go and ask ard more.

Mashy sent me the list already :-)

is the place at tai sing a wholesale place?

juliann (juliann)
Username: juliann

Post Number: 2037
Posted on Wednesday, August 17, 2005 - 6:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just an update.

I am currently 17.5 weeks.

Mine is a little princess

krissie (cleo)

Post Number: 471
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 8:44 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

StyloBB
Thanks.. I also prefer bf directly.. I'm just enquiring for times when I need the breast pump. BTW, when do we need the breastpump if we are on mat leave? I know when I come back to office will need to use it to pump, but during the 1st few weeks, do we really need the pump?

The Tai Seng shop is near where huh? Have not heard of or seen it. Is the whole shop all selling bb stuff?

Juliann
Congrats on getting a little princess. :-)

smiley (smileyface)
Username: smileyface

Post Number: 87
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 8:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi...how to sterilise bottles with steamer? same as steaming food? for how long?

Celine (cel_cel)

Post Number: 82
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 9:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

StyloBB

wow, u r so informative..do share wf us the address k? thanks!!!

Juliann

wow, a little princess!!! congrats...

Yuki (yuki)

Post Number: 781
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 9:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Krissie,

I gave birth at NUH.

As for the question you asked about having the pump while on materity leave, well, to pump out the milk means you can store in bottles and your hubby gets to feed the baby as well. :-) That helps in their bonding and you can take this time to rest as well. When i BF my baby initially, it can take up to one hour per feed. Then have to feed every 3 hours. If you pump out the milk and hubby/CF helps to feed, you get more rest in between.

And yes, the medela pump is noisy. Sounds like cutting grass. :-) So for night feeds, i just let the baby latch on. After the second week, i master the art of lying down to Bf :-) At least not much backache. :-)

Hi StyloBB,

Lucky you! My daughter is fussy about teats and we only manage to switch them to silicon type after one year...........

prettycloud (prettycloud)
Username: prettycloud

Post Number: 27
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 9:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Celine, you are renovating your new place now? I just booked my flat, hoping to get my keys soon. Schedule seems very tight for me, cos I am hoping to renovate the place before I give birth 1st Jan (I will most likely give birth earlier, usually the case). I am scouting for IDs and contractors now. Can you recommend me your ID if you think she is good? If you rather email, my email address is stefchin@yahoo.com.

sleepingdeer (sleepingdeer)
Username: sleepingdeer

Post Number: 57
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 9:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi SY,
goodie, another reference we can learn from! Am also reading up on what the MTB in the earllier threads are doing...

Mashy,
thanks for the advise, I'm hoping to bf as much as I can, then can minimise on bottle feeding... :-) The babytown website seem to have quite alot of interesting things also, if it is online sales, then think will be a little risky, but since can go take a look, no harm...

edd2jan,
congrats on your bb boy! Wow, so far only pochacco, Juliann and mine is girl girl, let's see the rest. :-)

Celine,
the cot sounds good, will go take a look also. I bought one, the Tom and Stephanie/taka one for my mum's place already, now looking for another one for home.

am also looking around for breast pump and pram. Think I will invest in a good breast pump as I heard from some mums that they can get tired out using the manual, and I am a very lazy MTB, hee hee.

I love the Quinny strollers, so cool looking and easy to move around. Only thing is the price which is so expensive. ANy mums using Quinny strollers with advise to give?

styloBB (stylobb)

Post Number: 4288
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 9:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

krissie
If I recall correctly I direct latched on for almost the first six weeks, in order to build up ss. At nite I let my boy take 1 fm but I still expressed at 11pm when he was drinking the fm. Reason being I was really too tired out and he drank v often (stimes can be within 1 hour!). Of course when he woke up in the nites I direct fed him... v xin ku but worth it lah. Apparently bb's suckling is more efficient in increasing the amt of bm.

If u intend to total b/f, do ask for your bb once u are cleaned and back into your ward, put bb to your boobs to let him start to suckle.
Also take note that on third day u might suffer from engorgement, so try to massage with warm towel and if boobs too engorged, try to express out the bm.

SY
I also never feel any movement but from the scan, can see they are both active lah...

PIS means pump-in-style... the one I used was dual electric pumps. V efficient for use in office but expensive, I borrowed from gf. I think the version they sell now is the haversack type. Might not be worth to buy it.

yuki
U having a gal or boi this time?
Yah v thankful that my boi feeds v well. For me no point pumping cos he drank v frequently that time, demand feeding, whenever he was hungry I just put him to the boob. He was also v good in that he can suckle each boob for 15 mins each, and then was done. One thing that spurred me on to b/feed otherwise would have given up that time!

celine
My gf gave good feedback for the Ameda pump altho I haven't used it before.

No problem mah, any useful info we share share..
Btw they repaired my current stroller w/o any charge. Wl probably be going down this Sat to collect it.

Those of u asking about Tai Sing....
750/752/754 North Bridge Road
(Along the way of the the mosque)
U can see a Combi signage outside the shop
Tel: 6392 1095
www.taising.com
Open from Mon - Sat, 9am - 5pm
U can ask for Eileen, she's pretty helpful.
They are the agent for Combi. Besides Combi, they sell a lot of other toys. Go down to take a look!

Berlin (mayneberlin)
Username: mayneberlin

Post Number: 346
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 10:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sleepingdear,
I like the quinny prams as well, but it's quite heavy leh 9 - 11kg. And can't recline fully. If for newborn, got to buy additional infant seat.

celine (celine77)

Post Number: 176
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 10:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi prettycloud,
ya i'm in the midst of renovating. but mine is a terrace house.i'm afraid my designer don't do hdb. sorry can't help u on this one. i believe hdb has a long list of appointed contractors right? maybe u can use one of those. :-)

Hi stylobb, thanks for ur feedback. ok set, me shall get the ameda pump then. but i will probably get it after i deliver, won't buy so soon.

Yuki (yuki)

Post Number: 783
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 10:10 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi StyloBB,

Don;t know the gender yet. Waiting for the detail scan in early Sep. :-)

Like you, i have not feel the baby's kick and is getting anxious about it. I do feel them just not too frequent. Mostly in the evening, once or twice..........

Thou tiring, i enjoy BF my daughter cos it's really good bonding session. :-)

Hi Krissie,

Actually i BF my baby immediately at the delivery room after the midwofe cleans my baby. I read in books baby is most alert in the first hour of birth...........

I agree with StyloBB that baby's suckling is more efficient than pump. Actually nurses advise that it's better to feed direct for the first three weeks to establish the supply.

Another important thing i must warn mummies to be here is to make sure your hubby and whoever looks after you and baby to be supportive of BF.

My mum did my confinement and i took for granted that they will not opposed to BF. To my surprise, my mum always feel that BF is not 'full' enough for my baby and insist on giving formula milk. Being first time mum, i am also worried whether i have enough supply etc so sometimes give in and feed formula just to make sure........ One month passes and my mum found out for other aunties looking after theor own grandchildren that BF is very good for baby that she starts to encourage me to BF.

Post Number: 1986
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 10:19 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

smiley

I'm also not sure how long. But since it works the same as the steriliser (using steam & very instant too), i think should be abt the same timing.

Those who used the bottle steriliser, may i know how long u let it on for?

MH (munchkukie)
Username: munchkukie

Post Number: 292
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 10:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

celine: I got the Ameda pump and it serves me wuite well and it is not as expensive as Medela PIS. As I got sore and cracked nipple in the 4th day, I turned to pumping so as to maintain milk supply and to let it recover.

prettycloud (prettycloud)
Username: prettycloud

Post Number: 28
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 10:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Celine, I see. Thanks anyway. Yeah, I went to the expo last two weeks. Got some IDs' contacts. So far, not very satisfy... will go on searching.

celine (celine77)

Post Number: 177
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 11:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy brainz,
the bottle steriliser takes about 8mins.

MH,
ic. dat's good. btw where did u buy your pump? i only see is selling on momsinmind.com.

prettycloud,
no worries :-)

btw does anyone know where is having sale for avent breast pump?

Post Number: 1992
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 11:20 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Celine77

Thanks! My steamer can also steam quite fast. Think will probably use that instead. Just need to buy a bottle rack...

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 140
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 11:24 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wow, all the mummies here very efficient. log on so early. trying to catch up on the info.

StyloBB,
thanks for sharing the address. will pop by one weekend to check it out...hee maybe we will see some of us there. just that we don't recognise each other...will they have sales? some places like robinsons have offers at times so will that make robinsons cheaper?

from the feedback seems like the avent pump is not bad. is it electric as well?

sleepingdeer,
like u i thikn i will be too lazy to use manual...already so tired so will be too lazy..:-)

thanks to yuki and styloBB for sharing their BF experience. hope it won't be too difficult. my fren told me BF more painful than giving birth...

for things like breast pump and number of milk bottles, do we need to buy immediately or can wait until the first month over? if bb can latch on, then no need to buy so many right?

for those who are interested in KKH's antenatal classes, think they are filling up fast. only Tue and Fri 6.30 and Sat 9am still available starting in Sept.

btw, styloBB's msg reminded me of what my fren shared. she said that after she gave birth, she din get to BF her bb immediately and the nurses din even pass the bb to her until her hubby went to ask for the bb. apparently a lot of bb born at that time and the nurses were bathing them and took quite a long time. like what styloBB said, best to let bb latch on soon after birth (some books say within first hour of birth). so must remind hubbies to ask for the bb if the nurses forget.

celine (celine77)

Post Number: 178
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 11:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi gals, does anyone know where to buy Aprica strollers?

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 141
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 11:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Celine77,
my fren uses aprica car seat. i will ask her where she buy

celine (celine77)

Post Number: 179
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 11:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY,
thanks! :D

Yuki (yuki)

Post Number: 784
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 11:39 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi SY,

NO lah. Bf is not painful if baby latch on correctly. If nipple feel sore, can buy the medela nipple cream to apply, Safe for baby. Alternatively you can use your BM to apply on your nipple. It's a good form of moisturiser.

The nurses need to clean and check the baby before passing baby to you. For my case, i think they took about 45 mins. Afterwhich i asked to BF my baby. :-)

Actually my advice is to buy the pump lah. During the confinement period, you can;t go out.......... Milk bottles, if you buy the Avent steriliser, they come with bottles. Thou it's ggod to let baby latch on but it's very tiring. If can pump out, can pass baby to hubby for feeding. :-)

Hi celine77,

I think Robinson have them but they are rather costly. Average price about 400 plus. There are those very very pretty one and cost about 1000 dollars. But they are very light. :-)

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 142
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 11:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi celine,
got the info already.
my fren say robinsons carry aprica but quite ex. she bought one and cost abt 300+ during sale. but she says it's quite bulky. wholesale places like baby hypermart/baby kingdom also carry the brand.

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 143
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 11:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Yuki

thanks for the comforting experience. I also hope BF won't be that painful cos it's an experience every mother wd want to have. :-)

Is it possible not to have any milk supply at all? I got a colleague's sis who din have any for both her kids so she can't BF at all.

styloBB (stylobb)

Post Number: 4289
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 12:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sleepingdeer
Talking about prams and all, u know my hb used to sling my boi in the sarong sling... so convenient and no need to lug any extra weight around. We tried a pram but found it so bulky... but I guess first-time parents still prefer a pram...
In fact we were saying for our twins, we will each sling one... hehe....

berlin
Wow, that is heavy! Already we got the new Combi which is 4.2kg, hb is saying heavy cos our old one was less than 3kg... no joke huh, lug that plus all the bb stuff... we try to minimise....

celine
My gf is lending me her Ameda pump...
I think The First Few Years at United Sq is also selling... go take a look..

yuki
I think we two are guo lai ren... hehe.. .. we understand the benefits and difficulties of b/feeding.
Me also faced same problem as u: mil and mum not too supportive altho they never said much, only at the beg made those usual comments 'so little' 'so thin' 'not enuf'. Imagine I pumped the bm out time in hospital for my boi cos he had jaundice and mil said 'so little'. At the back of my mind I was thinking, 'u think what! A pail, is it?' My hb was v supportive, in fact he was the one who encouraged me when I broke down two weeks after continuous b/feeding that I can't take it anymore, he said to try my best, and I am thankful I did. Actually I did feel a bit resentful cos I was feeding my boi day in, day out cos he drank v often... macham I did nothing but b/feeding! But I am glad I pressed on, I think when I brot him for his check-up, he had doubled his weight and so no comments from mil or mum anymore. But I wished I had more milk, I tried everything but ss remained about the same leh.... really hope I will be more successful this time...

SY
Yep, yuki is right, supposed to b/feed once bb is out, but for my case, v angry, never give me my baby to b/feed until I asked for him and it only happened a few hours later.....thankfully my boi never rejected my boobs... can u imagine me lying on the 'tray' waiting and waiting..think that nite they were all v busy...

No lah, once u get the hang of it, b/feeding is not so bad lah, only hope to produce enuf/excess for bm... so envious of those mummies who can fill up their fridge...
it's painful only when u did not latch on the bb properly... actually it's so convenient and bb gets the best from mummy....
Some of my mummy friends did not b/feed successfully... I think need to persevere loh, cos initially can be quite discouraging due little ss...

Btw the Avent bottles, there is one pack that comes with small/medium bottles and also the cleaning brush... I found that one a good buy.

Shop - me most probably go in the morning... if u see a stout boi boi and a pregnant mummy, it's probably me....hehe...

mashy
Bottle steriliser as in the avent steriliser? Automatic one mah...

Did u ask about number of bottles to buy? Think for a long time I made do with just two small and 1 medium.. but if ur mum / mil is looking after, then u gotta have an extra set.

celine (celine77)

Post Number: 180
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 12:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi sy and yuki,
thks for the info. :-)

Yuki (yuki)

Post Number: 785
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 12:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi SY,

According to books and lactation nurses, only very small percentage doesn't have milk.......... I think the crux is to persevere and keep trying. Initial part not much but just keep feeding the baby, the supply will come. :-)

One of my friend had so much milk that she starts leaking from 5th month onwards and when she feed her baby, the other side of the breast kept leaking milk :-) She was complaining that it's so messy to BF and after two months, she agreed that it's very convenient and she doesn;t have to bring milk bottles etc out when travelling. End up she BF till her baby is one year old. :-)

Must keep reminding yourself the benefits of BF. :-)

Hi StyloBB,

Indeed have to persevere. Mee too. Mum keep quiet whe told her baby put on 1.5kg after first month.

I don;t have much supply either so i substitute with formular once in a while. Only after the second month i cut down on formular and go onto TBF. Once i broke down and cried too when my mum commented in front of me that baby doesn't have enough to drink that's why she cry. But i kept reminding myself that BM is best for baby's health, some books say higher IQ etc and of course, it's free! :-)

sysa (sysa)
Username: sysa

Post Number: 79
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 1:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have been to Babytown. Most of their new stuff are in the boxes. What's is on display are mostly the second items. Anyway, was there about 2 months ago so there may have been changes.

Aprica strollers can be found at major shopping centres. Saw them at Kidz Mall as well.

I was interested in electric breast pumps but was advised to use the manual ones instead. Was told that the electric ones actually change the shape of your breasts if used too often at a high speed. Anyway, I think it's personal preferences :-)I understand that the Medela pumps can be rented. If not wrong, my friend rented hers.

Saw Avent items on sale at Taka. Don't know is the sale is still on. Those interested can drop by to have a look. Think the steriliser was going at $119 plus 4 bottles. Hope the sale is still on!

So far, I've got my cot, stroller, Avent breast pump & sterliser, and quite a bit of baby clothes. Cldn't resist the Mothercare products so bought more tops last week. Will need to start washing all the stuff up soon :-)

babylon (baby99lon)
Username: baby99lon

Post Number: 69
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 1:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

can i know how long do you all bf your baby each time.

MH (munchkukie)

Post Number: 294
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 1:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

celine77: I got it from momsinmind. That time, they are selling it at less that 300 for the pump. But that one is old model lar. Another place that sell it is BMSG http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/indexshoppingcorner.html. It's cheaper for members. Their Lansinoh cream (for sore nipples) are much cheaper than MIM too.

Sy: I bought some bottles before the baby is born. I used them (2 tall bottles) to contain my EBM and 3 small bottles to transport EBM. We later bought two pigeon peristaltic one for my husband and my mother to feed her.

I Bf my girl till she was 2. During this period, we went to Penang and Hong Kong F&E, it was hussle-free and convenient!

Yuki, StyloBB: in the beginning, my mum was also asked by my aunt to supplement. But I was adamant and did not give in. Not a single drop of formula or water goes to my bb's mouth. Hope this round will be smooth too!

MH (munchkukie)

Post Number: 295
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 1:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sysa: I dunno whether my breasts got change shape or not...hee...some people pump better and faster with Avent. For me, I find Avent pump have many parts and I am impatient and lazy. So, Medela MiniE and my Ameda are my good friends.

babylon: for me, in the beginning it was about 20 mins with a 2 hours interval.

styloBB (stylobb)

Post Number: 4294
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 1:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yuki
I didn't cry in front of them, I was more agitated with their remarks... they dun know about bm but comment here and there, me actually read up about b/feeding before I gave birth so I was not ignorant.

I had leaking boobs a few times, too bad it was in the middle of the nite and I was too tired, I just b/fed my boi, maybe I shud be pumped out the excess.

Let's encourage each other to b/feed more successfully this time round!!!!!!!!! (But I haven't thot of how to tackle with twins ..hehe!)

SY
B/fed babies are found to have fewer sicknesses, allergies and higher IQ, bm is easily digestible hence they go hungry faster. Fm may not be suitable for their digestive systems. But the old folks ah, keep thinking like we wanna torture our babies.....
But having said this........u try your best, dun feel so bad if u can't do it so well ok? Dun blame yourself... at least u have tried...... have persistance, perseverance and patience...

babylon
As in each b/feeding session? About 30 mins, 15 mins each side lor.

sysa
I think it's nonsense! Change the size of the boobs? Did not happen for mine.... personal preference lah, me hopeless with the manual one, pumped till my fingers so tired also no milk! Plus I dislike the many parts the Avent pump has... I counted, at least seven parts to assemble. But at least for the electric one, so easy... hehe...

MH
U are fantastic! My only grouse was my bm not enuf leh...

Post Number: 1995
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 1:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Gals

If you're looking at getting Avent/Medela Manual Pumps, u can get it cheaply at the Kaki Bukit children's warehouse. Can't remember it's hypermart or the other one. It's abt $50.

Yuki (yuki)

Post Number: 787
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 1:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi babylon,

I had a booklet to record how long i BF each session, how mamy times baby poo and pee :-)

When i look back, i am amazed that i survive....

One day session can be as such:

2330 hrs 20 mins L, 15 mins R
0200 hrs 30 mins L, 20 mins R
0430 hrs 10 mins L, 15 mins R
0600 hrs 30ml formula milk
0900 hrs baby shower
1000 hrs 30 mis L, 20 mins R
1230 hrs 45ml formular milk
1530 hrs 20 mins L, 20 mins R
1800 hrs 30 mins L, 15 mis R
2100 hrs 45 ml formular milk

And the whole session repeat itself again. You don;t get much sleep in between. Baby need to be fed at almost every three hours interval. Say first feed starts at 0900hrs, each feed takes at least 30 mins, which is 930hrs. after cleaning up etc, its 1000hrs. Rest for 1.5hrs and you have to start cleaning yourself etc to prepare for the next feed.... It's worse if you have to shower or take our meal during that 1.5hrs break.

Hope i don;t scare the mummies off from BF.....

Yuki (yuki)

Post Number: 788
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 1:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi StyloBB and MH,

My friends and i actually found our breast reduce in size by half a cup after BF........... Do you all have such problem?

Hi StyloBB,

I read lots of books and magazine about BF too but i guess being a first time mum, there are many worries and doubts :-) So sometimes give in. ;p

celine (celine77)

Post Number: 181
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 1:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

MH,
ic.. need to pay membership to join the breastfeeding.org.sg?

Mashybrainz,
do you have the address for the kaki bukit marts?

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 144
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 2:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wow, stylobb and yuki,
thanks for sharing your experience. i think it is very encouraging. though everyone's experience differs, it is good to encourage one another to persevre esp when it is hard initially.

i dunno what my mum and mil has to say abt bf but i think probably won't say too much since not staying with either of them.

sysa,
i was at taka yesterday. the sale for some avent items still on. is the mothercare sale good? when is it ending?

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 145
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 2:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

MH,
you mean bb dun need to drink any water at all for the first few months? I tot some say give them water to drink at night to train them to sleep thru? not very sure abt this so seeking some advice

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 146
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 2:12 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

what are good books to read abt bf?
is the avent electric pump hard to use? seems like quite a few mothers use ameda. where do u find that?

Celine (cel_cel)

Post Number: 84
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 2:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mummies-to-be,

hav any of ur thought about cord blood banking for your newborn? my HB is thinking of doing so, he thinks its better than buying insurance for the kid.. but think its rather exp too...

celine (celine77)

Post Number: 182
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 2:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY,
ameda pumps are sold on http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/lactalinepump.html

Yuki (yuki)

Post Number: 789
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 2:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi SY,

I have a BF book pass down from my cousin. I think it's from the breastfeeding support group. Alternatively some issues of motherhood etc have lots of info on BF . :-)

BF baby need not drink water. The initial BM is called foremilk and is very thin and it is to quent the thrist of baby. The hindmilk is thicker and that is to fill the baby's stomach. BOth contains different levels of nutrients. That's why it is important to empty one side of breast in order for baby to get both kind of milk before moving on to the other breast.

Not too sure about giving baby water to train them to sleep thru out at night. I thot that's for baby who are older like three months etc. Newborm need to be fed every 3 hours interval.

Hi StyloBB and MH,

Please correct me if i am wrong! :-)

krissie (cleo)

Post Number: 474
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 3:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yuki, StyloBB, MH
Thanks for the tips on bf. Very useful. :-) My cousin also encountered the same probs when bf.. her mum kept saying that bb is thin, etc.. I read in the book that bb dun need much milk during 1st few days and if bb is on total breast milk, no need to give them FM. I'll most prob tell my mum and MIL that if they say that... after reading your stories.. I really hope to hang on for the 1st few weeks.. I told myself to try for maybe 2weeks before giving up.

Yuki
Thanks. I'll be delivering at Mt. A. Will ask them what type of teats they use. My colleague was also advising me to get a pump to stand by. Now, thinking of which pump to get. Any one to recommend. I heard the Medela one is good, but very noisy. So, now still thinking about it.

StyloBB
I am hoping to bf for as long as I can. Hopefully, can do it. Will take note on the massaging for engorgement. My colleague suggested that I get a breast pump to pump out when breasts are engorged. Sorry, I cant rem if you mentioned if Tai Sing is cheaper or that they have a good variety? My friend recommended Combi to me, so I thot of going to take a look.

MH
Your Ameda pump, Is it single or dual?

babylon (baby99lon)
Username: baby99lon

Post Number: 70
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 3:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i felt bad that i only bf my son for only 2weeks coz i had infection..my nipples were bleeding bad and with no experiences oso.

this time round i am very determined to bf my bb...

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 147
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 3:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

is it better to get single or dual pump?

Celine,
thanks for the link. will check it out.

Yuki,
thanks for the advice. Think you and StyloBB have both been very encouraging, which is good for first time mums like us. Also teach us not to be discouraged by comments from others.
think i will check out the website for bf support.

Post Number: 1997
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 3:36 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Celine77

It's at
69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1, Shunli Ind Park

There's another one just a few units away.

celine (celine77)

Post Number: 183
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 3:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

thks mushy brainz! :-) btw wat's the name of the marts? there are 2, u mentioned.

Yuki (yuki)

Post Number: 792
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 3:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Krissie,

I used the Medala electric pump. Borrow Avent manual pump from a friend but it's very tiring to pump manually.

Initial BF is always difficult. I always feel like giiving up but keep telling myself to hang on one more week. Then next week come, i tell myself again that one week has pass, since i can hang on for that one week, i can hang on for another week.......... :-)

Hi SY,

No worries. Most important thing is to make it clear to the people surrounding you to get used to the idea of BF. During my granny's and mum's generation, BM is only for poor people who can;t afford formula. They didn;t know about the benefits of BM.

Hi babylon,

Don't feel bad. Some things are just out of our control. :-)

Post Number: 1998
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 3:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

celine77

bb hypermart & bb kingdom

celine (celine77)

Post Number: 184
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 3:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy brainz,
ic okie thanks!

styloBB (stylobb)

Post Number: 4296
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 4:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yuki
It's true, I read, like they say, must relax before b/feeding in order to get more bm, macham never happened for me....so saaaaaaad.....hehe....
But I dun know why I have not a lot of bm leh... so saad, only enuf for daily need... got no excess... try fenugreek also no avail...drink papaya soup also no result...

Size of boobs, yah, mine macham smaller after that, now preggie, bigger again...hehe....

Timetable!! Haha....I used to record them in my Palm... I was horrified cos my boi was hungry like every 1.5-2 hours!!! Worse, once he had a growth spurt, need to drink every hour in the evenings, me nearly fainted!!!!!!!!

Book - the pink one? I have that too. U are quite right lah!!!!

SY
Ur bm consists mainly of water leh...... no need to drink more water lah... if I remember correctly, bm is like 90% of water... I must go and verify. But the nutrients inside are beneficial to bb lor. And the marvellous thing is your bm will adjust to the needs of the bb as he grows. Bm is of the right temperature too...!!!

Single or dual - if u are at home, then u got all the time in the world to pump, if once u are back at work and u still intend to express, then having a single one will mean more time taken, ie u may have to sacrifice your lunch hour or ask for extended time....

My boi was trained to sleep thru in the fourth month, before that I still woke up to nurse him.. v siong lor.. but now have three months maternity leave, beta lah..
But be aware that first few weeks will be demand feeding, ie u can forget about 2 hour or 3 hour feeding, so long as he cries for milk, u gotta feed him.

No problem at all in sharing, we give moral support to one another loh!!

krissie
Sorry, I did not answer properly. They have the whole range of Combi prams and strollers as well as other Combi stuff. U can try to ask them for discount and they may even throw in freebies.

Dun be confused hor..
1. Avent manual pump, single.. pump by hand

2. Ameda electric pumps, I think is dual... someone correct me if I'm wrong cos I never used this before.

3. Medela has the portable one (the noisy grass-cutting one) AND the Pump in Style (new version in a haversack form, old version like a luggage bag - v quiet and efficient). U can go to Mums & Babes or The First Few Years to take a look.

Yes u can bring your breast pump to hospital or the hospital will let use theirs... the nurse was v nice, she set up one for me to express my bm.

I think it takes more than two weeks for the bm ss to be stabilised... if I'm not mistaken, it's about six week... I gotta go refer to book again.

babylon
Was it becos u did not latch on properly therefore have bleeding nipples?
U have another chance to b/feed then!!! Hehe....

MH (munchkukie)

Post Number: 296
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 4:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

stylobb: I pumped like 4 times per day and direct feed her when I am home, and it's just sufficient too. Dun have much excess.

yuki: wow! u got a hungry baby! My girl's small feeder, drink only one side satisfied ecept growth spurt...hope the next one also not so taxing..

dunno about boobs size cos I only wean her off when I got preganant.

Celine77: have to pay membership lor...

MH (munchkukie)

Post Number: 297
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 4:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sy: babies need to feed water only if they are on formula. At that time, I was only concerned abt my girl gaining weight rather than sleeping through the night.

krissie: the Ameda pump is dual, I like it becos u can adjust the speed and suction and it's not very noisy.

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 148
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 4:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

StyloBB,
i read that somewhere too. that BM will adjust according to bb's needs that's why it is still the best for bb. no need to worry abt changing FM etc.

u managed to train your boy to sleep thru from 4th month? that's very good. i stil hear of pple whose bb's wake up at night even after 1 year. i know the first 2 months will sure not be luxurious but it's worth it if bb is healthy and grow well.

the info on the pump is useful. think will go and cehck it out and compare.

mashy,
thanks for the address. i only know it's in that area but too lazy to check out the exact address

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 150
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 4:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i have not start buying any babies' necessities except for some clothings and blanket. anyone have any list what needs to be bought now?

pump is abit too early right cos i am not sure if i have enough milk. so other than the following , what else?

cot
pram - first mth not going out, so many advise don;t buy first as people may give during 1st mth.

celine (celine77)

Post Number: 185
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 4:25 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi SSF,
i happen to chance upon this website which has a shopping list. even list out the recommended brands to buy. u may wanna take a look.

http://www.baybsupplies.net/shoplist.htm

i personally have not started on any single item yet. will start shopping around this weekend.

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 149
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 4:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hee..i also have not started on the major items. only bought some baby clothes but asking ard on the brands to buy and what is needed

styloBB (stylobb)

Post Number: 4297
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 5:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY
Yah, trained him but that time his sleeping patterns still changed lah, like teething then he can't sleep properly, then stimes woke up bawling... but after a while he stopped waking up for milk loh.. have to train, we need to sleep and rest too.. hee..

At the hospital on the last nite, I was still in pain, could not get up the normal way, like an invalid, struggled to pull myself out of bed to nurse him, next day broke down cos too tired and painful..hiaz....

Tell u hor, at home, I woke up three times to nurse him... what to do, a mother's love and duty ...hehe...

Anyone of u gonna try the sarong sling?

celine (celine77)

Post Number: 186
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 5:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY,
wow, sounds tough... but like u said loh, mother's love and duty... bo bian..

i don't think i will try the sarong sling coz i got a weak shoulder and back. cannot carry heavy weight.

Post Number: 2000
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 5:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Found a great way to get VPost $10 discount. Don't need to sign up. So that means if you're an existing customer already, u can use this code. Valid till 31 Aug. And they don't check whether you're Pacific Internet subscriber.

MH (munchkukie)

Post Number: 298
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 5:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

stylobb: I got the MIM sarong sling and I think it is very useful especially when I bring my girl out alone or when she need to BF.

Post Number: 2003
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 5:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Our shipment from Maternity Mall is here. The swimsuit size is alright. So if you're small, just go small. No problem with it.

Only thing is bottoms are bigger, think they've bigger butts. So be careful when ordering jeans/pants etc.

Tops look good too. U just need to stick to your pre-preg size, don't get bigger than that.

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 150
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 5:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

stylobb,
i think i sure cry one. i already get emotional at times and cry easily when i m pregnant. think when i stress after bb is born, i sure cry a lot one... :-)

how do u tahan walking up so often when u need to work?

is the sarong sling good? someone did encourage me to get it. my fren got the other kind where bb sit straight one.

mashy,
does that mean if i m S size, the S will surely fit? tot it may depends on cutting?

Post Number: 2004
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 5:33 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY

I'm referring to the swimsuit. For the blouses, you'll have to agar agar. I didn't order the blouses, so can't tell for sure. I just look at those ordered by the rest. Think the sizes look ok, not gigantic. Only the jeans i bought. sigh.

SY (sychua79)

Post Number: 151
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 5:34 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy,
hmm think i may order the swimsuit then. i want to go swimming but dun want to wear my old swimsuit. too tight.

Post Number: 2005
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 5:46 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY

I didn't really like the crochet one that i ordered, look bulky. Now salivating over Clare's choice of the Aqua piece. hehehehe. And it's out of stock liao.

styloBB (stylobb)

Post Number: 4300
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 7:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY
Sling - suggest if u can borrow, borrow first, if useful then buy.

I am M size, but I ordered before, M size only fitted me during 2nd tri, after that gotta take L, so I ordered L for the tops this time.

Not easy, like a zombie !!! But thankfully only temporary, first 4-5 months were quite tough..

Mashy
Think bottoms quite difficult to estimate...that's why me never ordered their bottoms...
I think Clare's aqua one was one that caught my eye that time...

MH
My hb had been the one using the sling...kekeke.. but looks like this time I will have to use as well.

Post Number: 2010
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 7:45 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

styloBB

I noticed the Expecting T-shirt M size but not very big leh. Think we'll slowly progress to L later. :p

Etelle (etelle)
Username: etelle

Post Number: 1136
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 8:28 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mashy
what code? You ordering soon. If you do pls include me in. I think i want to order..

Post Number: 2011
Posted on Thursday, August 18, 2005 - 8:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Etelle

No lah. Just got the clothes leh. Think the Feb MTB are interested.

Oh, forgot to create the link.

http://www.pacific.net.sg/article.php?id=418308

sunny (nyny)
Username: nyny

Post Number: 1090
Posted on Friday, August 19, 2005 - 8:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yesterday i went for scanning. the gender of bb still can't cfm yet. but doc said 60-70% gal.

wow... most of you have started buying bb stuff. but me haven't leh. i wonder when i should start buying..... hmmm... any good deal at bb stores now?

sleepingdeer (sleepingdeer)
Username: sleepingdeer

Post Number: 58
Posted on Friday, August 19, 2005 - 8:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Morning gals!
Tell you all something funny. After all the talk about breastfeeding, these must have gotten in my head, coz last night I dreamt that bb was already borned, and I was expressing milk direct into the milk bottles, and it was super easy... 5 min can fill up a whole milk bottle already... hahahah, too bad in real life it's not like that :-)

Berlin,
yeh, like Quinny strollers alot, but so heavy hah? I saw some mothers pushing it, and seem so easy... Having to buy a infant carrier is very mah fan, looks like have to look around more and open eyes bigger liao...

SY,
yep, I will probably try the electric pump, just haven't decided on which brand, Medela or Ameda. Maybe can nap while the pump is doing the work?? :-)

Hi Stylo,
actually I never thot of that before.. hee hee. But you're right, it frees the hands for many other things. How long can we use a sling until bb gets too heavy or big to carry around? I think I will only get the stroller after bb is born, since we dun need it straightaway right?

Kuki,
wah, honestly, your diary scares me a little, bf looks like alot of hard work. I admire you leh, how did you do it?

Have to start mentally psychoing myself to be hardworking for bb...

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use