SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2006 Mums * (2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs * Archive * Archive through October 23, 2008 < Previous Next >

MamaPanda (slinky)
Username: slinky

Post Number: 3515
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 3:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

colors
Hmm.. Ariene can tell colours rather accurately, including intermediate shades and colors like white, black, pink, purple, brown. She has problems with beige though.. sometimes can get it, sometimes don't.

Anyway, sometimes, when her attention is elsewhere, she'll anyhow give a color name, so gotta ensure u got their full attention first b4 asking them colors. You can make use of jelly beans to teach them colors. They'll come running to u and tell u which color of jelly bean they want. I bought the Natural Foods Company's jelly beans (think NTUC and Cheers selling for $3.15 per pack) and it comes with yellow, orange, red, pink, green, purple color jelly beans :-)

Oven
I tried using the small oven in my MIL house when we were still living together and my honest opinion is.. get a proper convention oven if u can afford the space. Firstly, its too small to fit the 1/2kg to 1kg cakes that I usually bake. Secondly, the heat is not evenly distributed so the cake is burnt on the top and uncooked on the inside. Thirdly, because the oven is so small, the baking times are all haywired cuz my recipes are meant for proper convention ovens and the baking times are somehow MUCH longer for those small ovens (so is the temperature even though they're supposed to be the same in terms of degress??). If u're into serious baking, you should get a proper oven. I bought my Ariston convention oven for only $599 and it has served me well. Can use it to bake 2 layers of cake, cookies, pizza, etc at a go cuz there's an internal fan to distribute the heat evenly. Can also use the oven to bake quiches, pies, french fries, chicken, roast chicken, beef, etc. In fact, I even find my oven insufficient for me and I yearn to have a even bigger oven but I don't have the space in my kitchen :-(

May Wong (maywong)
Username: maywong

Post Number: 4072
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 3:48 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

CL,
Aden is so cute. Jamie only knows RED CAR PLATE = Daddy's shopping car. White Van with hb's company logo = Daddy's working van.

Sunny,
I think give her some time bah. My gal can recognise colours quite well. But for shapes sometimes ok sometimes wrong.

Sigh.. the CL is booked at that period already. Furthermore she is charging $2500 leh. Any one got good CL to recommend, can PM me? I dun intend to breastfeed so hope the CL is not those die-die must ask u to bf one.

MamaChan (babe_agape)
Username: babe_agape

Post Number: 2414
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 3:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sunny, Mashy, CL
So far, my boy knows and differentiate all the colours of the rainbow and black and white. Partly because he likes to do colouring at home and he picked them up from playgroup (attended since January this year). He knows his shapes too, coz I'll sit down and play alongside with him the Tupperware Shape Sorter and he would repeat after me which shape is what. He knows his basic circle, oval, star, heart, square and rectangle.

sunny, like what Mashy says, your girl is toilet trained and can speak fluently wor =) My boy is still not yet toilet trained. Waiting for the day that he is ready to be a "big boy" without wanting diapers.

CL
Wow! Your Aden very sud sud!!! Can recognize car models!!!! Hahahahaha, very boy trait! Can imagine him being into cars when he is older!

sunny (nyny)
Username: nyny

Post Number: 4803
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 3:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy
wah, your boy so smart. can tell the shape.
i just worried that my gal is colour blind. haha.. 'cos her memory quite good, but, i just don't understand y the colours cannot register in her mind.
she's not fully toilet trained yet, night and nap time still need.

haha.. your boy so cute! i think he just wanna play safe, just in case he knocked against the pole.
what happen to your cornell?

CL
ya loh. kids are so funny. with them around, life is so much funner.
oh, so go for brand, i c i c... hmm... then, got to ask hb which one i should buy liao. 'cos the one on promo, i think same as your model is selling at promo px. yours is the 30L one?
and the microwave convection oven equally good for baking?

Chicken Little (little_pony)
Advanced Member
Username: little_pony

Post Number: 7232
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 4:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sunny
I think mine only 28L. I bougt a extra rack at $22 so can bake 2 layer oso but hor the second layer always have to send in for longer baking time once the upper deck is done.

And i usually have to up the temp as i feel it is not as hot.

sunny (nyny)

Post Number: 4804
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 4:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tracie
wah, megan's teacher is so onz. haha... you must be feeling stressed with this type of teacher around. :P

mamapanda
good idea! i use the beading games to teach her shapes and colours... but, she still cannot make it. haha...
the ariston oven is the build in type right? i always wanted to have a build in oven, but when we bought this flat, we didn't do any renovation, so, there goes my build in oven. hope i have save enough $ to get my kitchen renovated one day....

may
you mean the mkt rate is now $2,500?!!! that's a lot leh. when i did mine in Feb, the CL still charged me $1,800. she said after mine, she's charging $2k.
i will pm you my CL's contact. hopefully she is not booked for your confinement period yet.

mamachan
ya, my gal speaks quite fluently now but only in mandarin. everyday, we are figuring how to answer her 'why, why, why' and 'what, what, what'. she doesn't speak much english. and sometimes, she seems like doesn't understand english at all leh.
still not 100% off-diaper. wonder when i can save my $ and just to buy diaper for didi only. haha...

sunny (nyny)

Post Number: 4805
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 4:05 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

CL
haha.. you face the problem of oven not getting hot enough. my old one is always too hot. once i put the pan inside, i can see cracks in few minutes time....

Advanced Member

Post Number: 7233
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 4:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sunny
ha ha my son only for the first time yday told he pooed and request us to change. Ha ha if not he usually hide in one corner , finish his business and run around like normal.

When at home I bring him to toilet to try, he will try to force it out but then tell hop down and tell me " mei you" so i think he is just not ready

sunny (nyny)

Post Number: 4808
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 4:20 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

CL
i c i c.
my friend's gal very funny. she knows that every time she uses potty, she will be rewarded with biscuit. so, she does her pee session in few batches instead of at one go. so that she will be rewarded with few biscuits. haha... so funny.

Sept 03 Bride (sept03bride)
Username: sept03bride

Post Number: 1627
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 4:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tracie,
caleb's teachers also very KS. During teh last PTA session, they say Caleb cannot recognise letters and ask me to grill him during the holidays. IN my heart, i was also tinking, i send my son here to learn leh..if he know everyting, who i bother to send him here.
Heehee.. i jus bo chup.

Post Number: 1628
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 4:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Speech,
caleb used to speak only chinese. But after he went to school,he could speak quite well in english to our surprise. Hence no worries abt developement, ultimately will catch up.

Just to share,
ytd my #2 was in her boucner and yelling to be carried. caleb went to her and say, cannot bao bao, kenisha cannot bao bao.Must tang tang okie.
Mah Mah cooking for mami to eat.

Geez.. hearing this, i know..My lil' boy has grown up :-)

sunny (nyny)

Post Number: 4809
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 4:53 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sept03bride
same here. whenever i am busy, i will ask my gal to jaga didi. when didi cries, she will go talk to him and ask 'you hungry already har? wait har....' then, she will come and tell me didi is hungry and wants milk. haha... so cute to see 2 kids in conversation.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 2415
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 4:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tracy/Sept03Bride
The playgroups nowadays really very very KS... or maybe coz they are facing a majority of parents being KS so they playing safe to be KS in case they get shot down why the child dunno this or that. During my PTA sessions with my boy's teachers, I made it clear to them that I rather he enjoy himself and in the process learn along the way. In factm if he knows and learnt anything so far, it's a bonus for us. I've heard that by pre-nursery/nursery, they should have the basics of counting, recognizing numbers and the alphabets and their phonetic sounds...I'm like, that sounds stressful!!!

I think our children are expected to know how to read in Primary 1!!! For moms with older kids, is that true? Chicken_Little, is that true that this is what the Primary Schools are expecting??

Post Number: 1629
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 4:55 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

so sweet right sunny.. when we see them 'talking' heehee

Post Number: 1630
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 4:57 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamachan,
the teachers told me that they will be required to do worksheets once they are in Nursery. I was like.. Huh???!!!
So kua zhang lor.
What is childhood for them man..

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 2416
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 5:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sept03Bride
Caleb is such a sweetheart!!! WOw! Really sound like a proud kor kor who will teng the meimei =)Really big boy le!

Kekeke, I asked my boy is he wanted a baby didi or meimei to play with, he said ,"Yes!" I think he only heard if he wanted someone to play with now...hahaha, then he asked me "Where is didi/meimei?" hehehehe, now my hb seems keen to hurry me to try for #2. Soon soon, after my Great Eastern run!!!!

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 4074
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 5:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

RE: Toilet Trained Kids
Can I check with those kids that had already toilet trained. Does ur kids pee/poo in potty or the children seat? Jamie nowadays refused to do it in potty. She wants it to be in the bathroom. After pee, she would ask for tissue paper to wipe dry. But I will do it again for her to make sure it is 100% dry. I dun let her use toilet paper cos I scared the paper will hurt her delicate skin. Should we continue potty or change to children seat now?

Post Number: 1631
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 5:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

may,
for poo poo, caleb is using the toilet bowl but need the children seat. we wash with water after he is done.
As for pee, he will use the potty.

Tracie (cml77)
Username: cml77

Post Number: 3578
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 5:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sept03, Sunny,
Just last evening i had to give Meg a good scolding cos she put a musical toy (loud techno music compliments of my dear parents) onto Duncan's ear to let him listen. I put it to my own ear and cannot even tahan the sound! He was lying in the rocker and she simply press it against his ear. After that can see she was sorry about it, cos she immediately handed me the toy to keep forever. Usually she refuses to give up her toy to me for confiscation. And my darling Duncan? He was laughing away...he really lurves to play with her.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 2417
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 5:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

May
Though my boy not fully toilet trained, he is using the children's seat on the main toilet bowl for his poo poo jobs in the morning. he doesn't use potty.

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member
Username: mashybrainz

Post Number: 8048
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 6:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sept03/ Sunny

Your #1 all so 'dong shi' already. Envy envy. My boy is still like a baby. Hopefully when we have #2, he'll grow up too.

Re: Nursery/Kindy
It's true that it's very tough nowadays. I heard from my bro that my niece who's in K2 is expected to solve maths probs. Not just simple 1+1= 2. But prob sums. And yes, they're expected to know their alphabets by Pri 1. My SIL who's a pri sch teacher said if the kids dunno by pri 1, they're kinda 'condemned' to EM3 (prevly). So we've to start now already.

Sunny
U need alot of repetitions. They won't remember after 1 or 2 sessions. For C, we've been at it since he's 6mths old when we gave him the shape sorter. He only started to say them at 2.5yrs old when he started to talk. By now your gal should be able to pick up pretty fast. My boy is kinda slow, so we've to start earlier or else he'll suffer later in Pri school.

Re: Potty training
My boy does it in the toilet bowl when we bring him there. No more potty. He still poos in his diaper though.

sunny (nyny)

Post Number: 4812
Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 10:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

re: potty training
my gal will pee in the potty, but for poo, she will insist to use the toilet bowl, not children seat anymore. 1 funny thing is if didi poos in her potty, she will refuse to use the potty to pee until we clean it. haha...

mamachan, sept03
if i am not wrong, at k2, the students will need to start writing composition. ya manz... like that how to enjoy childhood? so stress...

mashy
oh... then, i will play with her more beading games. haha... else, i just leave it to the playgroup teacher to teach her. :P

tracie
with #2 around, we really need to take extra care on what our #1 is playing. when didi is awake, i would not allow my gal to play beads threading game. 'cos the beads will be scattered all around, and didi will surely take and put into his mouth.
and, my gal now knows that only board books can be given to didi. 'cos didi already destroys some of her books. haha...

Florence (flo)
Username: flo

Post Number: 2036
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 12:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mashy
Re: Nursery/Kindy
Actually they are expected to know how to read by the time they are in P1, knowing alphabets alone is not enough. In fact, when my fren's fren register his son for P1 in Aug, he can't really read yet. The teacher asked her to enroll her son for enrichment class before sch starts in Jan so that he won't be behind his peers....so demanding!

Glance thru the posting...read that you appear in Women's Weekly? Itz some interview? Will try to grab a copy =)

Belinda (baby99lon)
Username: baby99lon

Post Number: 1972
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 8:25 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mashy/Flo,
I used to be very worried for my #1 since he is a Dec bb...as what Flo said knowing ABC is not enuf...
one of my sons' math question...

eg) There are 4 boys in the class. Each of them has 5 penciis. How many pencils do they have altogether?

if he can't read, how is he going to solve the question?

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 4082
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 8:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sunny,
I got ur PM on the CL. Can only access email at night. Can I ask a few qns?
1) Is she ok to do some simple household chores?
2) Will she wash hb and my gal's clothes as well? I am ok with machine wash for all clothing.
3) Is she local?

tabbiesus (tabbiesus)
Username: tabbiesus

Post Number: 1833
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 8:55 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

RE: nursery/ playgroup
last sat I went for the parents orientation for maris stella nursery.. they not very gan cheong lei.. they said they will be learning alphabets and phonics and numbers up to 5 only! Worksheets are mainly colouring. So not too bad right? Maris stella's emphasis is through learning through play so it seems quite nice and not very stressful. But its 2 teachers to 20 kids!

Advanced Member

Post Number: 7240
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 9:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tabbiesus
Ha ha Charmaine is in Maris Stella. Very relaxed one. Quite fun in the school. Now they are preparing for year end graduation concert.

But they will still teach you to read because she has got this readers and flash card that she will bring back after the school went through.

Their spelling ha ha 10 words only. This week it is nell, swell, fell, tell, well etc. aiyo just rememeber it is ell then listen to teacher sound the words can write the first alpha liao. So Charmaine can finish learning her Spelling in 5 mins. No challenge at all.

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8049
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 9:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tabbiesus

numbers up to 5 only? Hahah, my boy already recog numbers till 10 and can recite till 20 already. And he's a slow one here. Maybe they'll learn how to write it out too? My MIL said that now our kids are still double-counting. Still can't count properly as in 5 ducks they'll count 5 ducks. They can count the same duck twice or even 3 times. Maybe the numbers up to 5 is that they'll learn to count specifically?

But your gal going to US with u right? Then can catch up with the s'pore system when she returns?

sunny (nyny)

Post Number: 4815
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 9:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

may
1) ya, she will sweep the floor everyday, mop the floor abt 3 days once, i think.
2) i didn't ask her to wash hb and gal's clothes. my hb did the laundry. but she will iron and fold the clothes. you can check with her if she does wash.
3) she's indonesian chinese. no need to go back to chop passport.

better call her soon 'cos she's very popular one...

Rena chew (rena076)
Username: rena076

Post Number: 2273
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 9:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Flo,

it is quite scarly now coz elijah is now learing how to spell numbers.. i am quite bless that elijah can do alot before he goes to school.. just the toilet train is a headache to me... when E was 18 months we teach him shapes and colors only the basic ones now he is adding more to his knowledge... but chinese he is not too good..

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 4085
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 9:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sunny,
thanks. Will call her tonight.

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member
Username: sychua79

Post Number: 6842
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 9:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

re colors
JH can tell colors and i have been teaching him the mixture of colors like blue + yellow, red + blue, etc. so far he can tell the colors.

may
nowadays very hard to book cl one, esp in apr. need to call early. a lot of CL are booked very fast one. also 2K is the normal they charge.

re toliet training
jh poos / pees in the toilet bowl. he hasn't been on potty for the longest time. but he very weird. he refused to tell his teachers he wants to urine in sch. he is embarassed i think. but at home he will tell us when he wants to pee and he can actualy hold his urine during naps.

re sch
JH's sch also quite relaxed i feel. but he can count till like 50 or so already. in chinese he can also count 1-10 well already....they dun do worksheets etc.

ky (xjysg)
Username: xjysg

Post Number: 1603
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 10:12 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

for pri sch, the basis is still the same, adding, knowing number bonds, numbers from 1-20 ... but it's the decoding and problem solving skills that kids have to be equipped with. Kids should be able to read by then (esp if the parents are reading continuously to them). A lot of build-up happens at K2, I feel ... at N1, the kids are still learning their fine motor skills and actually getting the kids to hold a pencil n write is not a good move ... my opinion

.ky.

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8050
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 10:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ky

why holding a pencil n write is not good? My boy can hold it properly before school but unfortunately i think he learnt the wrong ways from his classmates. Now it's back to bb ways.

sunny (nyny)

Post Number: 4820
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 10:16 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ky
can explain y getting the kids to hold a pencil to write is not good move? you mean should let them explore how to hold pencil their own or?

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 4086
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 11:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ky,
ya.. not writing first. I training Jamie with gross motor skills with her hands. Then moved to fine motor skills like pasting and puzzle playing activities first.
I just bought thick giant crayon for her to train her scribbling skills. Bought thick triangle shaped pencil for her to learn to write with dots.
She can write 1 to 10 following the dots now. Not very neat but just want to let her learn the gribbing skills.

SSF (missy)
Username: missy

Post Number: 3044
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 12:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sunny - we recently asked C "what colour is the sky?" he replied "blue!" so i guess he knows how to differentiate? hee...cos we never really tested him. as for shapes, he knows square, circle, triangle, star. as for square and rectangle...he always get confused.

may - i gave like $20 too i think. its the thoughts that count. if you think she did a good job, you can give more.

re:potty train
C is still not trained on potty. to think i even bought a $50 bucks combi potty and its soooo new. not even a poo or pee is in it. sigh! C will say that he wants to pee and he will pee in the toilet but as for pee, he will insist to wear a diaper and poo while leaning against a table.

queen (queen)
Username: queen

Post Number: 3626
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 12:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mashy,
You and Caeden looked great in the mag! :-)

Mamachan,
I read that you used the 1-for-1 voucher in Chatterbox and that's what I'm going to do this weekend! Heheh...

Flo,
I don't think sl's Charmaine is in PT...

SSF,
Same here. Isaac is no where near being toilet trained. Sigh. He understands that pee and poo should be in the potty or toilet bowl, he just doesn't want to do it.

re. learning
Er... is there some guidelines on what our kids shouhld know by now? They are barely 3 years old! Should we be too concerned about what they know or do not know? I must admit that I'm quite a boh chap mummy... I'm not even sure whether Isaac is learning much in playgroup now and I don't even bother to test Isaac or ask the teachers cos I assume I'll find out during the PTA at the end of the year. I mean, Isaac knows his colours (even shades like grey, beige), shapes (like pentagon, trapezium), alphabets (big and small letters), numbers and counting etc. But I attribute all that to teaching him when I was SAHM before he turns 2. I'm not sure exactly what he is learning in school now. I guess he learns things like the weather, calendar, transportation etc. But then these are things which he also picks up in daily life or through the books which I read to him everyday. So what I'm trying to say is, should we teaching them more than all these basic things which they will pick up in our daily interaction with him and in school? I'm not enthusiastic about spending efforts to teach additions and subtractions, or spelling or writing or anything like that now.
But I think all kids learn at different pace and will pick up things faster in different things, so not to be unduly worried.

tabbiesus (tabbiesus)

Post Number: 1834
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 1:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy
I purposely rushed out to get the magazine.. you look really sweet with caeden.

queen (queen)
Username: queen

Post Number: 3627
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 1:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Re. milk feed
Isaac will take milk before bedtime and the next feed is usually 6 or 7+ am. But for the past few days, Isaac has been waking up at 4am asking for milk. It's like back to baby times! Any of your todds are like that?

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 4087
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 1:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Queen,
Me me me.. Jamie is also like that. She will wake up at abt 4am, keep tossing. Then in order to make her sleep, I make milk for her. Then she is back to her lala land. Not sure if it is bcos we are expecting No.2. Let's see if the rest of the mummies is experiencing this as well.

Tracie (cml77)

Post Number: 3582
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 1:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

queen,
same here, megan still wakes up for milk at times, irregular timing - sometimes 3am or 5am. Sometimes she takes 180ml at 10pm, then 1030pm ask for more and we give her 100ml. Still, at times will wake up for milk. We're kinda used to it liao. Maybe it's cos she eats very little for dinner. She eats alot more during lunch - can be a bowl of porridge, half a bowl of rice or half packet of noodles.

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8055
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 3:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hahaha, must get Women's weekly to pay me already. Got so many of u to buy their magazine.

Re: milk feed
U gals still feed quite a lot of milk to your kids. I give C bread/bun or cake for supper. He wakes up at night only becoz he was scared of being alone but never for food anymore. Maybe u should try something solid for supper? Just use milk as a drink & not as a staple meal? U know like milk and cookies that sort of thing.

rachel (moon77)
Username: moon77

Post Number: 2951
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 3:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

can i check what brand of storage milk bag is good and price reasonable? want to do some stock up before delivery. thanks =)

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 2418
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 3:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mashy
I think having milk at this age is still essential for their age though not to replace meals, but as a supplement to their diet bah. My boy only have milk 3 times a day: morning, after nap (or even before nap) and before he sleeps.LIke you said, it's their necessity drink (milk fix) but he's still having his usual 3 meals a day with some cereal snacks in between.

queen
We enjoyed the Chicken Rice at ChatterBox...you can just ask for 1 bowl of rice for Isaac (they dun charge for additional rice). In fact, 3 adults + 1 child can eat the 2 portions of chicken...can always order sides. =)

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8057
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 3:42 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamachan

yah agree that it's essential. Just not the only thing bah. Have to add on some solids and treat it as a drink and not a meal.

Belinda (baby99lon)

Post Number: 1973
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 3:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

do you think it is ok to give damien half boiled egg?
i let him tated it before and since then he love it very much.
keep asking for it whenever we are having breakfast in coffeeshop.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 2419
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 4:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

belinda
have not tried giving mine half-boiled egg...coz I personally didn't like it =P but for the one you give damien, got add alot of dark sauce? I know my MIL will always tell me last time when my hb was D's age, she would dip bread in the half-boiled egg and give him and he would love it... so as old folks say, You once ate it and still grow so big! hahaha.

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 2954
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 4:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

belinda
i guess as long as your boy's digestive system is strong enough, can take occanionally. dun wish to have any LS episode ya?

Tracie (cml77)

Post Number: 3583
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 4:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy,
Dunno why Meg is still a milk monster and burning a big hole in my pocket! And she doesn't want the free milk I produce..darn. Sometimes before dinner she insists on having alittle milk first then she can eat so we will let her have 60ml. Imagine, the 900g milk in my house which is used for night and morning and weekend feeds only, lasts us 2weeks nia.

Rachel,
I'm now using Lansinoh milkbag bought from overseas spree. Self-standing with zipper. Ok lah for the price I pay. Dunno wats the current price now due to the exchange rate. i store the milk lying flat so that easier to defrost. But cos I went to stack the milk on top of each other (pls ref to my blog for the pic), some of them cracked at the seams and broke when we defrost it so gotta throw away.

I've also tried this local supplier blueeggs milkbag http://www.freewebs.com/mybreastmilkstoragebags/

Although the bag states can store up to 250ml, i think the calibration is wrong cos I can only fill up to 180ml max. It's from Korea and the good thing is it is thick,the seams are thick too. It's good to use if you are storing in small amounts. Cheap too.

So now i using the above two brands. 200ml - use Lansinoh, 150ml and below - blue eggs. :-)

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 2956
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 4:24 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thanks Tracy,
I saw this spree also on Lansinoh milkbag. currently she has not start on a new spree, so i will wait.

will try blue egg too. thanks for your reviews =)

sunny (nyny)

Post Number: 4822
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 4:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy
solid food as supper? think not very healthy bah? milk should be enough to fill the stomach already, i think.
but my gal doesn't require milk feed before she sleeps since she's abt 1.5 mth old liao...

rachel
i use playtex milk storage bag. need to buy clip to clip it 'cos it's not zip lock kind. i bought from shopbug.com, an online shopping web in s'pore.

belinda
yx has been taking half boiled eggs after she turns 2 as breakfast, but not everyday lah. so far so good. heard from old generation that giving half boiled egg in the morning will boost kids' brain power. haha.. don't know how true it is.

Belinda (baby99lon)

Post Number: 1975
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 4:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sunny,rachel,

i am so scared that he got LS that i dun even dare to order it for my breakfast. coz each time if we order, he die die also want to eat the 2 eggs.

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8058
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 5:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sunny

why is solids as supper not healthy? Shouldn't that be the way to go? Until of course reach our kind of age then shouldn't be eating supper at all.

Tracie
Wow, she really drinks a lot! Is she still drinking from a milk bottle? If so, u might wanna switch to a cup instead. It'll cut down on the amt of milk she drinks and take in more solids. Anyway, I think it's high time the kids are weaned off milk bottles already. Bad for their teeth development. They're coming 3 already. Time really flies.

Wenyl (wenyl)
Username: wenyl

Post Number: 1782
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 10:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Cookie has given birth this afternoon! Both bb Kacia n mummy are doing fine. Let's wait for cookie to update us more details. :-)

Congrats cookie!

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 4092
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 10:18 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

CONGRATS COOKIES !!

SY,
Sorry missed ur post. I hope I can get one CL soon. Jamie's flu got worse today, very sticky to me. Will call tmr morning since I got sunny and rena's contact. My hb is still saying I very KS call CL so early to book.

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 6847
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 10:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wenyl
i was just thinking of cookie today and was thinking of asking whether she has given birth!!

may
not KS at all! my fren due in apr already asked a few and can't find one...

re writing with pencil
i think they are not of the age yet. JH's sch is quite strict abt some of the things they do with him. if not of age, no matter how he asked for it, they will not do with him cos they dun wan him to start wrongly and end up hard to correct.

re milkbags
i m thinking of storing some too. will check out the link tracy posted

tracy
lucky JH takes my ebm..haha...i mixed into his fm and he is ok with it. funny thing is last time i mixed jx's FM cos she couldn't finish and he disliked it. even half a scoop couldn't escape his taste buds. but he is ok with my bm..so good for me

Florence (flo)

Post Number: 2037
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 11:13 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Belinda
Yes cos apart from chinese all the other subjects are taught in English...so to know how to read is a must. In fact these days most of the math questions for lower primary are all problem sum.

Rena
E is such a clever boy =) My girl still refuse to toilet train as well....argh!

Queen
Heehee, I guess I'm using too many acronym. I meant to ask SL when did she switch to part-time =) Actually I don't really test what Mel learn in sch as well but she will on and off surprise us with new words. I think she learn more her numbers and colour from watching Mickey Mouse than from sch....haha

eg) There are 4 boys in the class. Each of them has 5 penciis. How many pencils do they have altogether?

if he can't read, how is he going to solve the question?

Florence (flo)

Post Number: 2038
Posted on Tuesday, October 21, 2008 - 11:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Congrats Cookie! Time really flies, didn't realise you are due.

sunny (nyny)

Post Number: 4823
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 7:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

congrats, cookie!!!

belinda
his digestive system not good? always has LS episode?if you don't feel comfortable, better don't try.

mashy
heee... i usually apply the 'no solid food as supper' concept to kids, like how it applies to adult loh. 'cos solid food usually not good for digestive system mah.

may
it's not ks to book CL early at all. i booked my CL when i was about 10 wk. my friend booked her when she's tested +ve. :D

tabbiesus (tabbiesus)

Post Number: 1835
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 7:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

COokie

Congrats! Rest well!

Rena chew (rena076)
Username: rena076

Post Number: 2274
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 8:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

COOKIE,

Congrats.. Rest well too...

Tab,

elijah's eyes got swollen for 2 day when he work up from nap and only the left only we supected it may be allergy but will it affect the eyesight in future?

Yuki (yuki)
Username: yuki

Post Number: 2603
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 8:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Any one has recipe for cooking olive rice? Whereby the rice is tasty by itself?

On another note - has anyone heard of Gerson THerapy? Based on organic veg etc?

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8060
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 8:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Cookie
Congrats!!!!

sunny
is it? dunno leh, my PD told us to feed him solids. I feel our adults diet shouldn't be applied to them coz they need a lot of very freq meals unlike us. They have so many snacks in between meals unlike us.

Tracie (cml77)

Post Number: 3585
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 8:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

CONGRATZ COOKIE!

mashy,
she prob takes after me. I was a milk monster too and drinking loads of Klim even when I was 8YO. :P i've tot of weaning her from bottle but haven't seriously got down to it. She will take fresh milk from the cup. Thinking to intro the sippy cup to her first cos it looks more interesting then gradually to the normal cup.

Last night on the way back from MIL's, forgot to bring her water bottle and she kept saying very thirsty. So we stopped by petrol kiosk and she insisted she wanted milk. She got cough so i din dare give her the cold fresh milk and bot the UHT type instead. That one she also like, drank 1 packet and asked for another but i din give.

sunny (nyny)

Post Number: 4824
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 9:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy
heee... since it's PD's advice, then it's better to follow PD lah. :-)

Belinda (baby99lon)

Post Number: 1976
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 9:36 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tracie,

actually i dun mind if my children are milk monster...too bad they just simply not interested in milk.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 2422
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 10:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Congrats Cookie!!!!

Aileen (celine77)
Username: celine77

Post Number: 2451
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 10:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

congrats cookie!

re learning to read by P1:
yes it's so scary to know that. i think i will have a huge problem with ed next time, coz till know he still doesn't know his ABCs. He knows his colours and shapes and his vocabulary is quite good. like he can tell me Thunder rumbles. But he just can't figure out 123s and ABCs!

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2452
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 10:29 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wenyl,
u also preparing for ben's birthday party ya! can't imagine last year we just gave birth on the same day and now it's been 1 year already!

btw doesn't anyone know where i can get mickey mouse party decor other than the party shop in centre point? is the selection at concourse good? i haven't been there.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2453
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 10:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tracie, it's so good that your kids like milk. my boys are like belinda's. don't like milk. so sad considering i breastfeed them somemore.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 2423
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 10:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen
Actually for 123s, I feel that they need to get the concept of counting 1st rather than recognize the numbers. Coz for some children, they may recognize the numbers visually but it doesn't mean anything to them. Way before my boy went to playgroup, I always count the number of steps on the flight of stairs back to my place. I would keep on going 1 to 8 day in, day out. Until he started to count along with me. Then he went to playgroup and started recognizing the numbers which he learnt really fast. Now he's counting objects, i.e. how many blocks/beads when I ask him how many there is.

Same for ABC...he watched the Leapfrog Letter Factory sometime at 19 - 20 months. When he sees alphabets back then on advertisment at bus-stops, he would say the phonetic sound of the alphabets rather than just recognizing the letters itself. By the time he went to playgroup and the teachers were teaching the letterland way, he was enjoying himself alot and I was told he always responds to the teachers when been asked what's the letter, the sound it makes, etc etc. So now, he just goes A-B-C, etc etc.

It's just IMHO lah... if you have your own methods then it's great!! So long whatever ways our child is most happy learning, that's more impt.

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 6850
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 11:00 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

aileen
i agree with mamachan. it doesn't mean much to know 123 and ABC if u dun know the concepts. in fact Jh's sch told me not to emphasize on ABC but emphasize on the sounds instead.

i tot the shops at concourse moved? not very sure

yuki
if u get the recipe let me know. been cracking my head what to cook for JH.

now he cries every morn when he got to go to sch. how? he says he miss me and wants to stay with me. and though he's toilet trained, he refused to tell teachers he wants to pee so everyday pee in the pants in sch. he says he dun wan to wear underwear to sch cos he scared he pee in the pants. how to encourage him to tell his teachers?

god's child (cel_cel)
Username: cel_cel

Post Number: 1478
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 11:18 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Cookie - Wow, time flies... congrats on ur Princess!!! Kacia is a very sweet name! :-)

Re : milk
Cel used to hate milk but now she loves it and asks for more! When i tell helper to prep 180ml, she will shout 240! and at times when i feel she is too full to take so much and give her lesser, she will look at the bottle and go: eh!?!? i want so much! *faints* her main reason for liking milk again is cos she associates it with growing up.. she says she wana 'zhang da' and go work wf me hahahahha

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2454
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 11:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY, mamachan,
thanks for sharing. ya i don't stress him anymore coz when i try to teach him, he will cover his eyes and bury his head. like very stress like that. then tell me he cannot see. got me worried the first time he did that. i tot he's going blind! haha! i'm sure the time will come when he absorbs it. now he only knows letter "o" coz i told him it's like a circle! and i think e coz it's the first letter in his name and letter S coz it's like a snake.

SY,
think jh is just going thru a phase. ed also does that. but once i'm out of the house he's ok. just manja. doesn't the teachers bring them to the toilet at a specific timings? that's what ed's teacher does. so he doesn't even need to tell the teacher. maybe u can ask the teacher to bring him there every 30min or 1 hr instead, since he doesnt want to tell the teacher.

SSF (missy)
Username: missy

Post Number: 3045
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 11:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rachel - playtex is good. i only used that. never leak!

cookie - congratulations! do share with us some pics of your lovely Kacia. cannot imagine ya already on no 3. haha...to think our no 2 is on the same day. hee...oh and no i am not itchy. my J is keeping me busy already.

sy - oh has JH just started school? if not, maybe check if anyone is bullying him in school or is there a change in the teachers? now on the milk topic, are you still buying mamil gold from jin tai? i realised that the difference bet the milk tin there and supermarket is that they had minerals ingredients missing. i have stopped buying from Jin Tai although its a about 5-6 dollars savings per tin.

re: milk
C is still very much on milk although we still give him porridge, rice, noodles etc. i agree that milk is still good for the kids.

Wenyl (wenyl)
Username: wenyl

Post Number: 1783
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 11:36 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen,
Yup so fast hor...our babies no longer bbs. Sob! U try middle road ICB bldg. There are 3 shops there, previously from concourse. Or u wanna try this ebay, I find it cheaper n more variety. Just found it last night n ordered a barney banner. Now waiting for seller to contact me. Cldnt find it in centrepoint n middle rd.

Here is the link. They sell mickey mouse stuffs....http://search.ebay.com.sg/_W0QQfrtsZ50QQsassZourpartyshop

ky (xjysg)
Username: xjysg

Post Number: 1604
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 11:56 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

re : writing
i feel that we should focus on refining their pincer grip rather than pushing a pencil into their hands. scooping, pouring, using tweezer helps refining their fine motor and will make holding pencil easy. if u notice a kids's plam and action that he can do since birth, remember as baby, he can't even open the palm? slowly he learns how to grip things, control the fingers, n control movement of things put into his hands. hm, this is my own interpretation from Montessori method. but mine too likes to use a pencil and esp with an older brother ard, the urge is more. i do let him use the pencil but also encourage other activities like cutting, glueing, squashing.

re : knowing abc and 123
aileen, it's ok. my older one also does not know all these when he's this old too. he was doing letterland at this age n the teacher told me he knew them, but i was sure he didn't know. anyway, to keep the story short, the cc wanted to revamp the phonics prog that i feel was too aggressive for him. so, a school's way of teaching may not be suitable for your kid... but he did eventually learn his sounds when he's 4 and by us reading to him, he's slowing able to read himself. I feel knowing the sounds is impt as it's the building blocks that lead to able to read and understand what one reads (btw, he learns thru' jolly phonics n he was exposed to zoophonics before). but imagine that though he knows his 123, he has problem putting together 64 beads (eg) when i said show me how 64 looks like. each child is different in their learning n u have to try different method till u find the one that works with your kid. i'm still trying to understand how my older is learning as it's a different set of problems i have with him, and even after u think u understand the problem, new ones will come up. n esp u get new stress when u compare notes with other parents ...

.ky.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2455
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 11:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wenyl,
yaloh, like not baby anymore. thou somehow i still treat #2 very much like a baby. maybe cos he's extremely petite and afterall #2. hehe...

thanks for the link. much needed!! think i'll just order online then. too lazy to shop around! :P

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 2424
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 12:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ky
Wow, when I read that you mentioned cutting, I was glad that I got the plastic scissors for my boy to cut up my scraps of paper/recycled papers, unwanted magazines. Initially he can't do the open and close action well, now, he's more or less perfected it and got the concept of cutting the paper from length to length. Now letting him experiment with playing more with Playdough.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 2426
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 12:31 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen
Does Shicida teaches any of the 123s and ABCs thingy? Or it's just a methodology to enhance their learning? Perhaps Edgar is absorbing the 123s and ABCs but doesn't "show-off" yet? His language/verbal skills however seems very very good eh!! D doesn't talk as fluently as Edgar! haha

Catherine Chionh (catherinechionh)
Username: catherinechionh

Post Number: 1028
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 12:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

if u are a fan of The Magic School Bus
check out the following link:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1812740.html

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2456
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 1:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamachan,
err... i dont' remember shichida teaching 123s and ABCs. only a little here and there thru playing. but ed is so not interested in the class that's why i withdrew him already. ya he speaks like a little adult. when i want to drag him out of the shower, he can tell me "I'm not ready yet!" faintz! i kinda miss the babyish him... he seems to grow up too fast!!

sleepingdeer (sleepingdeer)
Username: sleepingdeer

Post Number: 1511
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 2:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Re: Development
I think all our kids will develop at their own time, so no worries now unless they are very behind. They will be strong in some areas and weak in others. Like s can recognise her ABCs and 123s, and colours and shapes pretty well, and in class they are alreaddy teaching phonics, so she knows B is for Bear, and E is for elephant, but when it comes to potty training she is still hopeless, so i guess its like that, strong in some areas and weak in others.

I do let her mess around with cutting whatever she likes, gluing, painting and she loves playdough... at least it will keep her enterain and I dun have to bother so much about her now! :-)

Aileen,
S is the same with E when it comes to bathing! She will tell me she doesnt want to bathe, and when she's in the shower with her dad, I'll check on her and tell her to come out, and she will say, 'Eh, I'm not done yet! Wait ok?' wah, sometimes so 'qi gek' with them!

BTW, I popped by to see Cookie today morning since I was there for my weekly checkup, Kacia is chubby cheeked and so cute! Get well soon, Cookie!

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 4123
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 3:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen,
I think concourse party shop moved already. Actually CL had mentioned a shop at Raffles City 3rd/4th floor. I bought Jamie's Birthday Candles there. There are quite alot of Birthday party stuffs.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2459
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 4:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sleepingdeer,
haha S and E can hi5! ya agree it's very frustrating when they know how to bargain. never fails to get on my nerves! that's why i really peifu all the SAHMs like urself :-)

u will be popping quite soon too ya... :-)

btw when can i pass you the ergo? or if u happen to pass by my place you can just come and pick it up. i'll let my maids know.

may,
thanks for th info. i think wenyl mentioned they have moved to middle road. anyways, i just ordered online from the link wenyl gave.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2460
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 4:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

btw anyone knows where offer the service to inflat balloons using helium gas?

a sad news to share...
http://www.asiaone.com/Health/News/Story/A1Story20080325-56170.html

mashy (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 8063
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 5:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen

Yah, very sad. Thank God this happened in Mar else will be very worried abt going HK.

Sharon Sum (sum)
Username: sum

Post Number: 400
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 5:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Congrats cookie!

123 & ABC
I personally doesn't emphasize on the letters or numbers. Like Mamachan, I felt that the sounds were more impt too. At least that's what I was taught. If I am not wrong, Both Glen Doman and Shichida do not advocate teaaching the alphabets directly cos they felt the letters are too abstract for kids. My son surprised us now and then when he points to a letter and name it. So at this age, I prefer to let him explore his own learning styles and use daily experiences such as during shopping and marketing or even when I am doing my chores to help increase his vocabularly. Nowadays, he imitates whatever we say. Actually, my greatest problem is chinese...hee.... he only recognised some parts of the body in mandarin and can only say, "Bu yao" and his chinese name.

Aileen
The story is so sad.... the parents must be blaming themselves and feeling really upset. The little boy is so cute la!

sunny (nyny)

Post Number: 4825
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 5:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamachan
i find that leapfrog letter factory is very good. my gal learns the sound of the letters from the dvd. but hor, instead of telling me A is for apple, b for ball, she will say A is for AHHHHH, B is for Beh beh beh beh....

ky
thanks for explanation on y not letting kids at our age to hold pencil now. my gal is now into cutting and glueing. i just let her mess up at place where didi doesn't crawl to. haha...

aileen
that's soooo sad.... :-(
ya, my gal also talked like little adult. like our little housekeeper at home now.

esther lee (estherlee74)
Username: estherlee74

Post Number: 1447
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 9:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

cookie,

CONGRATS! time really does fly! it seems like just 2/3 mths ago that you announced your pregnancy :-)

do take care and hope to see kacia's picture soon

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 6852
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 10:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

aileen
today jh told the teacher he wants to pee! really quite happy abt that. been reminding him every morning and his teacher also asked him a few times each day. so today he finally deicded not to urine in his underwear anymore. now can save on diapers!!

SSF
jh has been attending sch since jan. think it's cos i m at home...hopefully he will be over this phase soon!!

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 2428
Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 10:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Sunny
Actually, that's a good way wor... A for AAhhhh, B for Bah bah bah , etc....coz that's the correct phonetic sounds and it helps them to read in future. So don't have to worry about it. In future you can play the spelling game with them, asking them to guess how to spell the word... I don't expect D to know now, but sometimes, I will purposely pronounce for example S-T-O-P with Sssss-Tttt-Oorrr-Ppp, and ask him to guess what makes up the letters in the word. Simple words, not too difficult words. It's good to build up their vocabulary now and that they pronounce words correctly.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2461
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 9:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ops sorry, i didn't realise the news i browsed thru was dated in mar! hehe... then again, it's a good reminder to ourselves not to be complacent when it comes to our child's health.

sy,
that's good news! sometimes our kids just go thru phrases... i have to keep reminding myself that it's the terrible 2's stage now... so i will be more forgiving and tolerant. else i will go mad! haha!

Tracie (cml77)

Post Number: 3591
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 9:46 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Had this conversation with meg last evening:

I was trying to get a sweet away from her cos it's too small and i was afraid she will choke. So I told her I'll hold it for her while she change into pyjamas. Of course I ate it up. and..

Meg: Mummy! Where's my sweet?
Me: Oops!! I forgot and ate it up! Sorry sorry sorry.
Meg: (Glaring at me) Say Sorry megan!
Me: Sorry megan.
Meg: (walking away mumbling) dun eat already then say sorry sorry sorry.
Me: !!!!!!!!!

Belinda (baby99lon)

Post Number: 1978
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 9:51 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

aileen,

the story was so scary...damien was infected with influenza when he was six month old...and i did not realized that it could also lead to death. lucky he recovered within a week..i think that was the worst moment when he was hospitalized.

Belinda (baby99lon)

Post Number: 1979
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 9:54 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tracie,

if i say sorry to damien for something..he will answered me "sorry also no use"...

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2462
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 10:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tracie,
wow meagan is some chilli padi! haha! i realise usually girls tend to be more petty in this sense right? whereas boys will just demand u give another one to him. women are just more petty! haha!

belinda,
damien must have picked up that line from someone at home right?? hehe... edgar will be very happy if i ever say sorry to him coz he will feel like he's done something right and i did something wrong. ego lah! again MEN! it's really in the genes back from stone age days! haha!

Belinda (baby99lon)

Post Number: 1980
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 10:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

aileen,

he learnt it from his brother. Damien is very strong headed, if he think he did not do anything wrong, he will not aplologies.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2463
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 10:56 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

edgar is even worst, sometimes when he's in the wrong, he also refuse to say. capricorns are known to be stubborn. edgar is an extremely stubborn one. since young he has been rather different from other children. weird one lah...

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use