SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2006 Mums * (2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs * Archive * Archive through April 07, 2008 < Previous Next >

sunny (nyny)
Username: nyny

Post Number: 3918
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 6:21 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

long time didn't come to this thread. how's everyone?
me struggling with handling 2 kids. luckily, during daytime, my mil still helps me to take care of elder one, so that i have full time with the 2nd one.
dealing with 2nd one's sleeping habit is really challenging. sometimes, i just leave him there to cry till sleep. 'cos he just wants people to carry and i don't have that energy to do that all the time. sigh...
i wonder how my mil can cope after i go back to work.

jamom
wow.. you are really good. salute to you! how you manage 3 at the same time when 3 of the kids need you?

re: tang shi, san zhi jing
ya, we are teaching my gal about this few months ago. she can recite with guidance. for those chinese nursery rhymes, she can recite some by her own. very cute to see her reciting it though she still can't sing. haha...

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member
Username: sychua79

Post Number: 5674
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 8:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamachan
yes i received your PM already. was planning to do it on my wya home yesterday but din feel well. so will do it today. thanks!!

krissie (cleo)
Username: cleo

Post Number: 2652
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 9:03 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Just to share, I find them useful. :-)
http://parentcenter.babycenter.com/0_moving-beyond-threats_63931.pc?pe=d7xLzJ&scid=pcbulletin:20080331:0:0:0
http://parentcenter.babycenter.com/0_alternatives-to-threats-age-2_72255.pc

mashy brainz (mashybrainz)
Advanced Member
Username: mashybrainz

Post Number: 6590
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 9:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jamom

Wow, 3 kids! I don't even know whether i'll be able to handle 2. hahaha.

krissie (cleo)

Post Number: 2653
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 9:13 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sl
sorry, only just saw your message. I hv another lunch appt today. What abt Monday or Tuesday? I was also thinking of meeting near CL's office, then we can go buy books after that. haha.. maybe we can try eating the peranakan food which I like? It's near the fish head curry place.

krissie (cleo)

Post Number: 2654
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 9:15 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jamom
congrats! you're amazing..I'm already v busy with 2. and you can bake with 3 of them, and still recite poems.. make me so small in comparison to you. kudos...in fact, I'm so tired most days, I only read Gerald 1 book and he goes to bed.

Florence (flo)
Username: flo

Post Number: 1969
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 9:17 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamachan
Sorry haven't logon for a few days, are we suppose to pay for the duck tour now?

Re: RP Lunch
Shall we meet tomorrow at 1215 outside Mac at Bras Basah? Can decide what to eat then? Flo, CL, Krissie, let me know earlier if you are coming, then I can bring your ON stuff along too.
1) Aileen
2) SL
3) Flo

Chicken Little (little_pony)
Advanced Member
Username: little_pony

Post Number: 5595
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 9:36 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Re: RP Lunch
Shall we meet tomorrow at 1215 outside Mac at Bras Basah? Can decide what to eat then? Flo, CL, Krissie, let me know earlier if you are coming, then I can bring your ON stuff along too.
1) Aileen
2) SL
3) Flo

SL if you brought my stuff, I meet you all after I run my errand. Running down to Plaza sin to pick up something

May Wong (maywong)
Username: maywong

Post Number: 2170
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 9:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamachan,
I had done the transfer. Sorry for the delay.

To: Mamachan-sophia xxx-x1126-x
Amt: $71.30
Ref: 1646147705

Thanks for organising.

Aileen (celine77)
Username: celine77

Post Number: 2155
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 9:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

yuki,
ya agree that there are quite a couple of good schools in the west. but like most said, there's no perfect school. so i'm really in a dilemna now!

mamachan,
i haven't received ur pm. can you please pm me your account number? thanks!

queen (queen)
Username: queen

Post Number: 3249
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 10:38 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

RE. Tang Shi / San zi jing
I really admire the efforts some of you put in to teach tang shi and san zi jing.
I was quite a 'banana' when it comes to C lit. While I enjoyed the lessons on tang shi and song ci, I really didn't have interest in studying them. On the contrary, I was reading unabridged versions of english classics like Wuthering Heights, War and Peace, Gulliver's Travel etc during sec school for leisure. Higher Chinese was ok for me, I was at a B3 standard. C lit... sigh, I was lucky to escape with a C5 for 'O' levels.
Anyway, back to the subject, when you all teach your todds tang shi, do you show them the chinese characters, or was it just reciting verbally? I have no idea how to introduce Chinese to Isaac, and tang shi / san zi jing sounds more interesting than simply just teaching individual chinese characters.

jamom,
Congrats! wow, 3 kids! I really feel that I'm lagging behind liao. Hahah! Like Denmy, you are a super mom!

Yuki,
Is Megan a reader? There's a book by Dr. Seuss on ABC which is good and fun to read. The words rhymes and it's interesting. Isaac loves the book and he can associate objects to the ABCs. The website www.starfall.com is also good. These will help them learn the ABCs and keep them occupied when we dunno what to do with them other than the usual playing.

jamom (jamom)
Username: jamom

Post Number: 54
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 11:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

HI queen,

when i intro tang shi, I dun show the words. I just recite unless it is words tat i think she can read like papa, mama, da, xiao...then i will pointn ask her. Just intro two lines a day n u will b amazed they can recite back. One reason i like tang shi can show pictures relatin to the poem. Like min nong shi, it is abt hardwork of farmer put into growing rice...basically i tell her not to waste food. The ming nong shi will normally have a pic of a farmer with perspiration so it really helps in comprehension. But my frens from china all say they started recitig at young age without comprehnsion so no need to explain. I guess it all depends on what u aim to achieve. Hope my sharing helps. If u are worried abt pronunciation u can get those with cd n play it in the car. My "banana" hubby can recite a number of them veri well now.

Isaac likes Dr suess? My kids too. They like Hop on POP, Put me in the zoo and red fish, blue fish. My girl is also a starfall fan. I can leave her with the computer for at least 30mins with starfall. You can try DK starting to read software if Isaac likes computer based learning. For chinese, I rec A star intereactive.

Hi mashy brainz n krissie,
I always tot i cannot manage but frens who many kids do tell me we will somehow manage. Just need to sacrifice some "me" time and rest time. I am just into my 3rd week, the tiring thing is breastfeeding. The two hour schedule is real tiring.But i tink once baby is older should be better.

krissie (cleo)

Post Number: 2655
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 11:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jamom
I already sacrifice my "me" time and rest. On a typical day, I wake at 6am to pump then go work and slp at almost 12am after my night pump. really no life and I'm v tired most of the time.

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5679
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 12:15 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jamom
yeah i also recite without the book that's why got to memorise...memory so limited....

u really managing well leh. pei fu. plus your maid so stone some more.....

Yuki (yuki)
Username: yuki

Post Number: 2426
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 12:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wow, you gals are unbelievable....... Realise Megan is so far behind! I have not attempted any chinese peoms or rymthes.......... I am just bad at languages...... Still atrying to teach her ABC, colours and shapes.......She is not interested in learning but more of playing around...... Like we tried to ask her to match cards, she is more interested to see our expression when she choose the wrong ones.

Hi jamom,

I really really peifu you! Can manage with 3, bake etc and even teach them so well! Like other mummies, i am usually very tired after work and just spend 0.5 hours coaching ashley and the rest of the night read stories or just play around with them. Come to think of it, i think i have neglected to 'nurture' megan..... keep thinking she's still young...........

On one hand i want to teach them, on the other hand, i don't want to be those mother who come back from work and nagged about homework only...........

Advanced Member

Post Number: 6591
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 1:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yuki

I also never attempted to teach my boy Tang Shi or San Zi Jing. He's already so far back in terms of talking, so not trying to hothouse him too much. So far, for ABC, I've been using Leapfrog's DVDs which are pretty good. My boy now knows most of his phonics and he'll read them from the newspapers, books or any signs that he comes across. So weird right? He can read the phonics but can't talk. sigh.

Guess all kids are different. My boy prefers to use his hands, so he's been signing to me more, playing jigsaw puzzles and fixing his train tracks. He's the type who needs to practise and practise before he gets it.

Can tell that Megan is very smart. With a little guidance, I'm sure she'll pick up very quickly.

Tracy (cml77)
Username: cml77

Post Number: 2690
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 6:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm blur by all this talk abt the San Zi Jing etc! Really peifu you mummies!

Just went for check-up, 34wks, 1cm dilated, baby is quite low, getting contractions everyday. So I'm on 1wk hospital leave. :S Gotta tahan this fella for another 2wks. But he's already 2.86kg, quite big. So hopefully he'll grow 'slower' so that chances of successful natural birth is beta!

sunny (nyny)
Username: nyny

Post Number: 3922
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 7:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

queen
we would recite tang shi or san zi jing to my gal. you can buy CD and play to isaac, else DVD/VCD for him to watch. :-)

tracy
wow, 34 wks liao. jia you!

MamaChan (babe_agape)
Username: babe_agape

Post Number: 1848
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 8:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

May
Noted your payment with thanks. You want me to help you hold on to your tickets till we meet on Sunday?

Aileen/Florence
You've got PM =)

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5691
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 9:27 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tracy
wow big bb! how big was megan when she was born?

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 1849
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 10:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tracy
Wow! Baby is heavy!! It is getting more exciting by the day yah? Jia You!

Yuki/Mashy
I've also not expose my boy much to San Zi Jing or Tang Shi. The only "language" I've tried to expose him to is Cantonese =P coz my hb and myself are cantonese but we hardly speak that at home. My hb like not making a conscious effort to converse with him in cantonese =( so knowing how "banana" her grandson is, my MIL will always try to talk to my boy in her broken English which is really bad... I rather he learns cantonese to commute with my MIL.

I asked my hb about San Zi Jing, he told me he's heard of Da Chang Jing with a wide grin *faintz* Then he starts to recite all the nonsense "san zi jing" version of his... jia lat, surely teach D all the wrong funny things.

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5694
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 10:11 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

guardian got milk powder sale. looks not bad. the mamil gold step 3 is 20 x 900g for $41

Wenyl (wenyl)
Username: wenyl

Post Number: 1649
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 10:49 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamachan,
I can fully understand cos I am facing the same problem with my mil. Got my hb to hint to her to speak mandarin or teochew to E but she refused. Saying E wun understand her and she rather speak her broken Engolish. Faintz!

SY,
U mean buy 2 tins at $41? Tat is a good deal from Guardian leh. It is abt the price I saw from Ang Mo supermarket. But theirs shld be from msia. Any idea when the promo ending? Cos I just bot 2 tins from West Plaza few days back.

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 2171
Posted on Thursday, April 03, 2008 - 11:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mamachan,
I am ok with u holding the tics..will collect from u on the actual day.

Tracy (cml77)
Username: cml77

Post Number: 2694
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 8:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sunny, mamachan,

SY,
Meg was 3.1kg at 4 days short of full-term. Gynae estimate if this #2 goes to full-term, he'll be about 3.5kg. So I'm hoping to tahan him till 36wks and deliver him before full-term. At 36wks he should be abt 3kg or 3.1kg. This boy is like a sponge! He absorbs my nutrients very well and I'm not gaining much weight myself. Even if I control my diet it will not help cos he'll absorb my weight while I'll lose weight.

my gynae commented that i 'produce very good size babies despite my petite size'...I was telling her it's not fair!

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5695
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 8:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

wenyl
the one from the medical hall at west plaza seems to be from malaysia also. i checked before and it is different from the official one that singapore imports. i din take note when the promo ends but prob end in a week? not too sure...

tracy
wow your bb are all so big....yah u so small size but all your bb so big. think mine all follow my size...

Yuki (yuki)

Post Number: 2427
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 8:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Mashy,

Thanks for your kind words. :-)

Still, i think i should spend more time with Megan teaching her something rather than play most of the time.

I think Megan is the street smart type rather than the studious type. haha.

Hi Mamachan

Haha, your hubby is so funny. :-) I think my hubby won;t fare any better! Both of us are pretty weak in languages.

Advanced Member

Post Number: 6592
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 9:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Wenyl

i find that telling them rather than hinting works better. Just let them know that you want your kids to learn mandarin/teochew which they can't learn from you. Make them feel important and they'll start to speak to them in mandarin/teochew lor.

My dad and stepmom also tried to speak to my boy in broken english. Told them directly that I would want them to help me teach him Mandarin and I will switch to Mandarin whenever I talk to my boy in front of them. So now they have been talking to him in mandarin and hokkien. hahaha.

Yuki
Actually they can also learn thru play. And it depends on what u intend to teach. Motor skills are also part of learning. Like if u let her play play-doh, jig saw puzzles, it's also a learning process for fine motor skills, creativity, thinking skills etc. It's not all about ABCs.

If you wanna introduce ABCs, then u can just start anytime too.

Nowadays, it's not just being studious that's important. High EQ is also important. Anyway, there's a research that said that the 1st born will have higher IQ but the younger ones will have higher EQ.

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5698
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 9:33 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy
u know the funny thing abt telling IL such things? when JH was young, they always complain that we dun speak mandarin to him and he can't understand mandarin. But actually i do speak to him in mandarin and he can understand mandarin. so they keep saying need to speak in mandarin to him. but now, they dun speak mandarin to him and keep speaking english to him (when they dunno how to speak english). i reminded them so many times that it is ok for them to speak chinese to him and they are the ones who scared he can't speak chinese but still...they talk to him in english 90% of the time.

yuki
yeah i agree with mashy that they can learn thru play. it is actually impt to let them have time to 'decide' what to play. u can always insert things like ABC, colors shapes etc thru play.

SSF (missy)
Username: missy

Post Number: 2878
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 9:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

flo - hi! hi! oh my... so sorry for my blunder yesterday. i didnt know you were coming to see my house. all our designer said was that he will be bringing a client to come over to see our deco. it didnt cross my mind its gonna be you. lucky i wasn;t in my sleeping attire. haha..you shld have called me...if you dun mentioned rena commenting on my kitchen..i will still be blur blur. haha...anyway it was a pleasant visit. i hope you will find mo good and reliable. let me know yoru comments ya after the reno.

sy - thks sharing on the sale for mamil...will check it out tonight.

tracy - wow..bb is of good wgt. hope you have a smooth delivery. must be feeling all excited now right?

Advanced Member

Post Number: 5606
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 9:52 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Flo you realli visited SSF's house ah. Ha ha yday Flo was still asking if it will be SSF house

Tracy
Nice weight leh. So lucky you dun have to worry about the weight gain. Me have to shed shed lots of fat

Rena chew (rena076)
Username: rena076

Post Number: 2124
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 10:09 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SFS,

hm.. i keep seeing my name appear... hm.. no wornder my ears are feeling itchy these days...hahhaa

Florence (flo)
Username: flo

Post Number: 1971
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 10:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF
Heehee thanks for the hospitality. Sorry for "intruding" and being so late, was stuck in horrific traffic jam yesterday. Actually wanted to sms you to ask if we are visiting your house but end up too busy in office and forgot about it. Your 2 boys are so guai :-) Quite happy with Mo and Patrick so far, keeping my fingers crossed.

Mamachan
Did you get my email?

MamaPanda (slinky)
Username: slinky

Post Number: 3378
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 10:43 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

spree updates

Amazon vitamin & calcium gummy bears
- ordered 3 April, pending shipping by Amazon

Nutrition Geeks Children's DHA 8oz
- ordered 3 April
- shipped 4 April
- expected to arrive CGW in 4 business days

Luckyvitamin #1
- ordered 4 April, pending shipping

Luckyvitamin #2
- cancelled

rachel (moon77)
Username: moon77

Post Number: 2253
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 10:45 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

GOOD Morning!!

super long did not post here! at least 1 month i think =S

Cookie
CoNGRATS! I gave a big WOW when I read about you having your #3 haha really happy for you and salute to your courage,although is your hb not careful =P heehee. my hb is extra too careful leh...

Tracy
at this moment you take plenty and plenty of rest. boy boy is of good weight and like what you said, should be gaining some more. dylan was 3.55kg at birth and i was like a big penguin back then. so i know you must be very xing ku with a big and low tummy now. Jia you!!

Tabbie/Sysac/Queen
when you girls plan to collect the party pack from our annual gathering?

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 3379
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 10:46 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Baby Spinach BP
Per portion: +-500gm
Collection date: beginning of April 08
Collection points:
a. Hitachi Towers
b. Marine Terrace

1. Denmy - 2 portions - Marine Terrace
2. Slinky - 2 portions - TBC
3. Rena - 1 portion - Hitachi Tower

Anymore takers for the spinach? I'll close it today cuz I need the spinach :-)

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 3380
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 10:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Payment Summary
Payment SummaryTotalpaidowe
11 $1,026.12 $884.65 $163.24
slinky $228.18 $228.18 $-
maywong $70.52 $70.52 $(0.00)
mavis $88.79 $88.79 $(0.00)
flo $73.54 $85.27 $(0.00)
wenyl $76.91 $75.56 $0.00
cookie $72.71 $72.71 $0.00
mamachan $86.11 $97.51 $0.00
denmy $163.29 $- $163.29
rena $76.96 $77.00 $(0.04)
sl $29.45 $29.45 $0.00
krissie $59.66 $59.66 $(0.00)

denmy,
We'll settle the payment when I collect the spinach. You can always pay me in cash.

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 2879
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 11:02 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rena - hahaa...really itch har? btw, i showed flo the curtain lobang you intro.

CL- my hb was like saying..how come ur frd u also dun know. haha..

flo - no not at all intruding...we are quite close to Pam so we are ok if she wants to bring ppl in to look see look see. patrick bro is into carpentary so its easier for patrick to work with him. i hope mo gave u a good discount as their service is not cheap ya. hee...btw, u been to their holland v office? very nice and unique ya?
my 2 sons guai? oh no...Caleb is like that when strangers come in. once he gets warmed up...you will see him running ard like monkey.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 1850
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 11:14 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Flo
Yes yes, just saw your PM. You can bring your mom along. Do let me know if she's 55 and above. Thanks!

jamom (jamom)

Post Number: 55
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 11:42 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi yuki,
I tink I missed your postings...too many to read. My girl was ok in school during day 1 and then she started protesting as she realize that school is not onli abt circle time. Apparently on day 2, she told teacher not to touch her and she just want to sit and wait for me. She sat there for almost 2 weeks and refuse to participate in anything. Principal told me tat it is her way ofhandling seperation anxiety and once she isbored with sitting she will join in the activity. And true enough after 2 weeks, she was ok. She is not doing quite alot of things in school now. You can ask the Principal abt her and she will tell you tat my girl was a tough nut to crack and she has to use reverse psychology to make her do work. Hansa is veri experience so I am sure megan will have no problem. The insect booklet tat my girl has is different from the older kids. I am not sure which level she is joining right now as she is the youngest in the school as all kids starts at 2.5yrs so I tink she is in the baby class but according to my boy she joins them for chinese.So I am not sure too. The insect booklet that she brought back is on colours and insect where she paste all the diff coloured paper on the insect.

Hi CL,
changing my maid soon as current one is not willing to look after children.

Hi Ky,
I undertsand wat you mean. On one hand we are worried abt academic but on the other hand worried tat kids dun enjoy school.

But why do you want to change his school?I know of a few frens who sends their kid to school house by the bay, pulled the kids out when they reach k1. all of them complain that it is too play based. Is that the reason why you want to withdraw him? I tink you post abt learn thru play on theother thread. Just my two cents worth. It is a veri attractive pedagogy but seriously tough to execute. Things like learning corner needs alot of preparation on the teacher's part and if it is not executed properly will not be effective. The onli school that I have seen that does it properly with the teacher engaging the children and preparing the "learning corners" is chiltern house. Of course, I am not saying that learning should be structured all the time but imagine we send the kids to school to have some structured education and as for free play can easily do that at home.
Seriously, kids are highly adaptable n they have to get used to making new frens sooner of later. Haha... I m a evil mother that always believe in developing the kid's Adversity quotient from young. But then again you know your child best n you will know whether is he ok wit handling these changes. He is inK1 oredi so wanna change better do it fast coz new school means new teaching pedagogy so he might need time to adjust.

Rena chew (rena076)

Post Number: 2125
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 12:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Bangkok next week end..

Any mummies interested?
i will be leaving 11 th april and back on 13th

Rena chew (rena076)

Post Number: 2126
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 12:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSf,

actually i forgot that i give you the curtain contact.. how's the curtains? i am thinking of making addtional set...

tabbiesus (tabbiesus)
Username: tabbiesus

Post Number: 1737
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 12:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

re eq n iq
Iup true, first kid higher iq and second eq. Tab is bright and impresses ppl but she can be quite anti social, didi is the charmer, everyone who sees him will say he's so cute and cheerful.

Wow hearing all the talk on chinese lit 4 kids i'm so impressed. I've stagnanted in teacching. I'm so impressed by u jamom. I'm so terribly tired i barely have time with the kids n this is After sacrificing me time. I dun even have time to enjoy a nice bath. I haven't done anything 4 myself in i long long while. Maybe i'm not very good at time management. Better get inspired by u!

Mamachan
I withdraw from the duck tours? I will go another time. Thanks though 4 arrangiing.

MamaPanda (slinky)

Post Number: 3381
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 1:01 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anybody interested in this? Price not inclusive of CGW shipping but is eligible for free US shipping if >$25USD

Lil'Critters Vitamin-C gummies (4-pack) @$18.04USD
http://www.amazon.com/Lil-Critters-Echinacea-Supplement-60-Count/dp/B000FKETA2/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&s=hpc&qid=1207282689&sr=8-3

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 2880
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 2:26 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rena - thks for the lobang. the curtains & blinds are nicely done.

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5704
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 2:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jamom
do u have frens whose kids cannot adjust to pri 1 if the envt is too play based for kindy?

Yuki (yuki)

Post Number: 2428
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 6:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Mashy brainz and SY,

The thing is i realise i have unconciously let megan play with the things that Ashley play. She has a leap frog pad like ashley but dun really know how to use it. Megan like to do things that Ashley do, be it writing and colouring. But she scribble most of the time.....Even watching VCDs......... she is exposed more to Dora and Island Princess than barney or the leapfrog Phonics.......

Maybe i should start buying specific toys, puzzles for her age..........

Yuki (yuki)

Post Number: 2429
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 6:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi jamon,

Glad that your girl has adapt to school. I truly believe Hansa will have a way to deal with children. :-) I think Megan should be ok with the teachers. Just worried she will bully the other kids. She would not hesitate to pinch or beat others if they were to fight with her over other things. That's what i notice in the church sunday school. haha. Am sure Ashley will 'report' to me if Megan misbehave. haha.

You know, i was initially worried that montessori will be those learn thru play type.... But after seeing ashley, i change my mind. So far i am quite satisfied with her progress given that i do not have much time to teach her etc.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 1851
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 7:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

This is from Rachel, helping her post on her behalf:

Am having an appointment to St Joseph coming Monday 10am. Any mummy want to join me (Rachel) for the visit? They are opening for registration for year 2009 on 8,9 & 11 April. Do PM me if you're keen! ~ Rachel

Advanced Member

Post Number: 6597
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 10:50 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

U must watch this! 5 yr old blind genius pianist! And to think her real parents abandoned her! It's so amazing and touching!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntReE2n15bo

tabbiesus (tabbiesus)

Post Number: 1738
Posted on Saturday, April 05, 2008 - 7:22 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Mashy
I watched the video, its been circulating on facebook.. i thot it was so amazing! haha after watching it my hb said its time for us to buy a piano for tabby... she's such a sweet little girl. You can even see those hip young korean guest judge tear!

REna
wow, enjoy your trip!!

Rachel
oops i forgot to collect from you! will you be home during the weekend?

Mommies
Gain 1.8kg on sale at carrefour i think...45, is that cheap?

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 2172
Posted on Saturday, April 05, 2008 - 8:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

RE: Wooden Puzzle
Mummies, I found a good bargain. Saw wooden puzzle selling at $6.95 per set at ViVo Toy'r'us.
Kiasu mummy,me, bought Cars (colour), Alphabets, Numbers and Shapes for Jamie. She can recognise and fix cars, numbers and shapes quite well but not alphabets.

Advanced Member

Post Number: 6598
Posted on Saturday, April 05, 2008 - 8:47 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Japanese Aquadoodle

Saw the Japanese Aquadoodle selling at Isetan for $24.95 and there's a discount on top of that. So those who have been eyeing an aquadoodle can go get it.

jamom (jamom)

Post Number: 56
Posted on Saturday, April 05, 2008 - 6:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Re: Renovation sale at Mothercare Parkway

20% on almost all stuff and 50% on selected clothing for kids. Quite a geniuine sale.

HI Sy,
Mothercare selling the Phil and ted stroller at 800 plus and free double kit. You can check any further discount if there is member card. Aiyo...I should have bought mine later...

I dun mean students studdying in "learn thru play" environement cannot adapt to primary school. I mean I won't let my kids attend such sch coz many school dun execute it well. I tink many preschool adpot many big philosophy like Project-based learning, reggio emillio and learning corners. But I personally think that we have to be very careful about such terms and see whether are the curriculum well-p[lanned and whether the teachers are competent in conducting the lessons.I have seen schools with learning corners where they are used to just occupy the kids so that they can work with other group of kids. I just wonder other than social interaction, wat kind of learning is involved. This kind of environement is ok for nursery level but not for K1 and K2 level where i would expect more from the teacher.

Hi Tabbs,
Actually I dun do much of tang shi with the kids. Not veri consistent also. When I am free i will just recite two lines to them. Takes less than 1 min. Just need to make an effort to memorise the verse.
I should be the one who needs to be inspired by all the working moms here. FTWM really makes an effort to spend QUALITY time with the kids. Somtimes really makes me feel so bad coz I always try to get away from my kids (well....not that I can ever get a chance to) and I am really glad when my hubby takes them out so I can get a break! HaHA,.....kids overload!

Re Music class
Anyone keen on music lesson in pasir ris? FOund an ex-siempi teacher who has alot of experience teaching. She conducts lessons in her house at Pasir Ris. Fees is 210 per 3mths excluding material fees (alot cheaper than wat I am paying for Siempi music school now). I need to gather 3 more students to start the class. Lesson will be saturday 1.30pm. That is the only slot available. I can organise a trial if keen.

Advanced Member

Post Number: 5618
Posted on Saturday, April 05, 2008 - 7:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Jamon
You got lots of lobang leh. Ha ha any for west or not. I can open up my house woh.

Sysac (sysac)
Username: sysac

Post Number: 1385
Posted on Saturday, April 05, 2008 - 8:51 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Rachel - Will collect from you aft next week. Am currently on official cse. I leave home at 6am & only reach home at 9pm. Don't think can drop by until end of cse. Will sms you next week. Thanks for the reminder.

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 2254
Posted on Sunday, April 06, 2008 - 12:28 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

This is something to think about: 4 BOYFRIENDS

Once upon a time there was this girl who had four boyfriends.

She loved the 4th boyfriend the most and adored him with rich
robes and treated him to the finest of delicacies. She gave him
nothing but the best.

She also loved the 3rd boyfriend very much and was always
showing him off to neighboring kingdoms. However, she feared that one
day he would leave her for another.

She also loved her 2nd boyfriend. He was her confidant and was
always kind, considerate and patient with her. Whenever this girl
faced a problem, she could confide in him, and he would help her get
through the difficult times.

The girl s 1st boyfriend was a very loyal partner and had made
great contributions in maintaining her wealth and kingdom. However,
she did not love the first boyfriend. Although he loved her deeply,
she hardly took notice of him!

One day, the girl fell ill and she knew her time was short. She
thought of her luxurious life and wondered, I now have four
boyfriends with me, but when I die, I'll be all alone."

Thus, she asked the 4th boyfriend, "I loved you the most,
endowed you with the finest clothing and showered great care over you.
Now that I'm dying, will you follow me and keep me company?"

"No way!" replied the 4th boyfriend and he walked away without
another word.

His answer cut like a sharp knife right into her heart.

The sad girl then asked the 3rd boyfriend, "I loved you all my
life. Now that I'm dying, will you follow me and keep me company?"

"No!" replied the 3rd boyfriend. "Life is too good! When you
die, I'm going to marry someone else!"

Her heart sank and turned cold.

She then asked the 2nd boyfriend, "I have always turned to you
for help and you've always been there for me.

When I die, will you follow me and keep me company?"

"I'm sorry, I can't help you out this time!" replied the 2nd
boyfriend. "At the very most, I can only walk with you to your grave."

His answer struck her like a bolt of lightning, and the girl was
devastated.

Then a voice called out: "I'll go with you. I'll follow you no
matter where you go."

The girl looked up, and there was his first boyfriend. He was
very skinny as he suffered from malnutrition and neglect.

Greatly grieved, the girl said, "I should have taken much better
care of you when I had the chance!"

In truth, you have 4 boyfriends in your lives:

Your 4th boyfriend is your body. No matter how much time and
effort you lavish in making it look good, it will leave you when you
die.

Your 3rd boyfriend is your possessions, status and wealth. When
you die, it will all go to others.

Your 2nd boyfriend is your family and friends. No matter how
much they have been there for you, the furthest they can stay by you
is up to the grave.

And your 1st boyfriend is your Soul, often neglected in pursuit
of wealth, power and pleasures of the world.

However, your Soul is the only thing that will follow you where
ever you go. Cultivate, strengthen and cherish it now, for it is the
only part of you that will follow you to the throne of God and
continue with you throughout Eternity.

Thought for the day: Remember, when the world pushes you to your
knees, you're in the perfect position to pray.

NB! Being happy doesn't mean everything's perfect. It means
you've decided to see beyond the imperfections.

I hope this touched you!

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 2255
Posted on Sunday, April 06, 2008 - 12:30 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

tabbie/Sysac
you can contact me anytime to see whether i am home =)

Clare (clayre)
Username: clayre

Post Number: 1310
Posted on Sunday, April 06, 2008 - 9:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Rachel
Thanks for the really nice post. Esp the last part "When the world pushes you to your
knees, you're in the perfect position to pray."

Prayer Request for 2 year old Gillian
Mummies, really sad news... one of my church friend's 2yo daughter has been diagnosed with a 15cm (yes that huge!)cancerous tumour in her right kidney just last week. She was immediately put on 1 round of chemo but as the tumour is growing too fast, doc has decided today to remove the whole kidney. The 6 - 7 hours operation at NUH has been scheduled for tomorrow morning 7 April 8.30am. Please keep little Gillian as well as her family in your prayers. Thanks.

tabbiesus (tabbiesus)

Post Number: 1740
Posted on Sunday, April 06, 2008 - 11:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

clare

how sad, how did they come to diagnose it? I will pray for her...

krissie (cleo)

Post Number: 2656
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 7:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

clare
will pray for little gillian

re presch
I hv the same concerns as jamom. I feel tt it's more impt for K1/2. i'm in a dilemma now.. my initial plan was to transfer ger to cambridge for CC for N2 class, so tt he can progress to kindy from there. But, ger's V HAPPY in his current sch. So, I'm concerned tt he might hv problem adapting to a change in sch. But, I find tt the quality of teachers/teaching is not as good. It's not tt bad as what they teach seems qt complex too. But, like jamom, I feel tt we shld expose them so tt we can tap on their potential, thus, i wanted to send ger to CC. any views/suggestions??

krissie (cleo)

Post Number: 2657
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 7:09 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jamom
I'm keen to expose ger to music class. what instrument will they be teaching??

re presch
just to add, the sch fees for cambridge is qt a lot more than the current one (i think ard $300 diff). so, another way is to keep him in the curent sch, then use the diff to pay for his enrichment classes on weekends? maybe music / I can Read type?? Else, we will be qt tight to send both kids to Cambridge and still hv enrichment class.

Rena chew (rena076)

Post Number: 2127
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 9:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Krissie,

My thoughts was the same too.. coz E is now in Childcare and he loves his teacher and he is getting better each day. no more crying and fussing and he is even willing to change and take his own bag to school.

he is very famous in school now. even as his mummy i am getting pop too.. coz he is the earliest in school and each time the gate opens he will greet the children.. and teachers or aunties and when it is around 4.30 he will start his daily routine by seeing the kids to the door if he hears the gate open... acutally he wants to see if I am there.. hahah..

After he started school he really has become so vocal.. to noisy...hahah

Advanced Member

Post Number: 6600
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 9:06 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

clare

gosh, will keep her in prayers.

Also just found out yesterday that my friend's teenage son Shawn has a tumour in his knees. Going to the specialist to see what to do next. Pls also keep him in prayers that it's not cancerous.

Advanced Member

Post Number: 6601
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 9:08 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Re: Pre-School

I'm going to make arrangements later to visit Bethesda (AMK), AMK Methodist and Marymount (if they still have places for Nursery) on Wed morning. Anyone keen to join me let me know.

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5712
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 9:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

jamom
wow the offer for the stroller is good. but i need to see whether can fit in the car first or not..haha....

i dunno whether i shd change JH's sch. thinking if i really plan to stop work for a while, i may not be able to keep sending him to GB. so considering riverlife as the alternative. but so far i like it at GB leh.

clare
so poor thing. 15cm is really huge. can't imagine the pain she's going thru. hope she will get well soon.

mashy
hope that shawn's tumor is not cancerous. so scary that nowadays kids so young also get cancer

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 2881
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 9:25 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

clare - oh my...it's so sad. I hope her family will be strong for her. Will keep her in my prayers.

re: maid insurance
can i check if anyone of you bought insurance for your maid? how much per year and from which co? hb just called me saying in today's paper, there is a report on a maid who fell from the flat and the hospital bills is a whopping 70k. so scary mann!

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5715
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 9:34 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF
i thought we have to buy insurance from them from now on?

not sure how much it is but i think it is included in my latest agent fee....i got to check.

Advanced Member

Post Number: 6603
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 9:50 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY

yah, it's so scary. Cancer has become so prevalent nowadays. Wonder what went wrong.

re: Kindy
wah, many kindys already opened/closed registration. Gosh, gotta call now already for those intending to send their kids to school next yr.

babylon (baby99lon)
Username: baby99lon

Post Number: 1625
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 10:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am having sore throat since last monday and seen GP for 3 times..given lozenges and some medicine on inflammation. The pain was so bad that it hurt my ear everytime when i sallowed my saliva.
i never had such bad sore thraot so bad that it was nearly a week liao and never get better.

Advanced Member

Post Number: 6606
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 10:01 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY

Haha, so qiao to see u yesterday. We're always shopping at the same places. hahaha.

Advanced Member

Post Number: 6607
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 10:04 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

babylon

that's bad. hope you recover quickly. If still not well after this week, better go and see ENT. I understand from my ENT that time is that one possible reasons on how i lost my hearing could be due to a viral infection. As in when i got a flu, it spread to my ears coz the ears, nose and throat are all linked.

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5717
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 10:07 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy
yeah yeah. so qiao

hee, where u shopping next sun?? :-)

Advanced Member

Post Number: 6608
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 10:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SY

haha, haven't decided yet. next week busy. Will be at Ikea on Sat for lunch with my friends. :p

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5718
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 10:46 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mashy
ha, i haven decide also but may pop by JL again.

MamaChan (babe_agape)

Post Number: 1855
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 10:59 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SSF
The agency's fees should include the basic insurance coverage for the maid up to $10K. It's unfortunate if the amount is far higher than the insured amount. Unless you want to play safe and buy a separate life insurance for her. I guess we have to always emphasize safety is more important. Especially on a really windy day when the laundry is out, I told my maid that if she ever loses grip of the bamboo pole, don't try to hold on until she'll fall out. Just let go of the pole and retrieve back later. Clothes and bamboo pole can always retrieve and rewash...but human life cannot be retrieved back...

Clare
Oh dear...will keep Gillian in my prayers too. 15cm is really huge in their kidneys!!

babylon
oh dear. do take care and drink lots of water.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2158
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 11:31 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hi mamachan,rachel,
i will be registering Edgar into St. Joseph as well :-) but i just realise i gotta pay $1 ERP to get to the school!

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 2882
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 11:37 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mamachan - oh so its covered. coz i remembered i receive a letter last yr that its mandatory to buy for them insurance and its 120 bucks per yr. i need to retrieve that letter and see how to go about it. ya i also told my maid to let go the bamboo if she cannot take the weight. but also to pray that no one will be downstairs. hee..

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 2883
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 11:48 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

oh just to share that i brought my maid for her english class yesterday. the place is in siglap, school of indonesian. they have getting to know one another time and sports from 9-11 and then classes from 11 onwards and then break for lunch. lunch is provided by them. classes wise, they can choose either religious study, english or mandarin.

my maid came back and told me that there were so many maids that are staying in the embassy as the employer mistreated them and some of them are still on court cases. so they took the bus from embassy to the school for learning. there was one case where the employer only gave 2 slices of bread at each mealtime so she ran away. then there was another with a panda eyes, beaten by the employer. she felt so sorry for them and at the same time was telling everyone how good i am. hahaa...she felt more appreciated and blessed now. anyway, she said she dun want to attend the morning session and ask to send only when the english class starts. so i told her...next time if u run away, i know where to hunt for you. ahaha..

sleepingdeer (sleepingdeer)
Username: sleepingdeer

Post Number: 1425
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 12:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Krissie, SY, janmom,
my concern for s is also the same, while she loves her CC now, I really dunno whether I should keep her there for N2, then transfer her to a school based kindergarten for K1 and K2, or transfer her immediately starting N2. My fear for letting her stay one more year in CC is that by K1, alot of slots in Kindi will be taken up by the kids already there in N2, so chances of trsnferring her is lesser. But then again, I feel that she is enjoying her time now at CC and the attention she gets from the teacher there is so much more then what a school based Kindergarten can give her. Imagine a teacher student ratio of 1:6 at CC versus a 1:10 at Kindi... so I am really torn now. Definitely putting her in a Kindi in N2 will let her adjust to the school based system easier and faster, but she will lose out in terms of attention... I also get to have more ME time when she is in CC then if she were to go Kindi :-)

Aileen,
I think the bukit timah ERP gantry is a idiot of a system, hah! TOday we left our house early just to beat the ERP and there is exactly no difference in the jam, still as bad! We dun have to cross it coz we live in Hillview and we are taking the alternative road as it is, but the no of cars coming to the alternative road in front of our house has doubled, so it is just pushing the problem elsewhere! If you take Hillview rather then Upper Bukit Timah, you can still bypass the ERP, but probably you will be caught in the jam as everybody else wants to miss it! :-)

Clare and Mashy,
will keep the kids in prayer, so young and have to go through all of this.... really count our blessings that our kids are healthy and happy.

ky (xjysg)
Username: xjysg

Post Number: 1414
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 12:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Aileen

Just curious, why are you choosing Arise over St Joseph? I've been reading various comments, positive and negative ones on the preschools that's around my area ... and these being the 2. But as jamom said, there's no perfect school, and in fact, a school that does not suit another parent/child might suit yours.

Just to share on my experience.... I've been reviewing schools for 1 month now, this round. For me, distance is key, and hence anything that's on schoolbus that's 45 min one-way is out. I'm currently looking at a school that will pickup my son 50 mins before school (they reach school 20 mins before school starts), but takes 20 mins to reach home. I've spotchecked on the bus and saw how good their service is. When I enquire at the school, it's the only one that can tell me exactly what time the bus will pickup and dropoff. Most school will just brush it off as an estimate or can't tell me anything. However, my neighbour sends a pair of brothers to St James and they are out on the schoolbus more than 1.5 hrs before school starts. So they are spending more time on the schoolbus than at school, but the mother's fine with that. But if you are able to fetch and pickup, then distance is definitely not a problem.

Jamom
It's so true that it's quite difficult to execute a play-based school and that's the reason why we chose that school. I'll rather do structured learning at home as that's easier to implement. In a play-based school, I find the kids are being developed to question and develop the love to learn. I'm not thinking of the change because it's play-based but numerous other reasons which is not convenient for me to say over the forum. Since I'm making a change, I'm considering making quite a drastic change as what I've deemed as important when I was choosing at 3 yr old and 5 yr old are different. This school was under my consideration then but the school-bus is a BIG bus. I would not have choosen it 2 yrs ago but a 5-yr old would be excited by it. Also, for K1/K2, the teachings are more aggressive and from my own observation, my son would enjoy as it'll be more challenging for him academically. btw, I changed school 2 yrs ago from 1 half-day cc to this current cc because they had a change in curriculum program, and I saw that they couldn't implement it successfully too.

You sound like another mother that I recently knew - she just simple make the change for her girl and just pushed her girl up the bus, and btw she does have a car but she choose to let her girl take the 45-min bus ... my son's ok to change and I've been sounding him out every night, but I'm thinking if he's changing for mummy's sake or bcos he would like to. It's from what he said that it seems like it's for me. btw, a mum withdrew her child from Chiltern House after 1 or 2 months to homeschool him (in this other thread), so it goes back to what I've said ... what works for one doesn't work for another.

.ky.

cookie (labby)
Username: labby

Post Number: 4282
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 12:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Clare
I'm so sad to read about Gillian, Will keep her in prayers. Hope she get well soon and her parents will be strong.

Jamom
I'm keen to expose Kae to Musical instrutment too. Would like to know what will be taught.

Just wondering... since we are from the same Estate, have you heard about Riverlife Kindy and Nursery? Do you have any insight on them ?

Re:Kindy talk
Wow mummy all these kindy talk make me nevous...

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 2173
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 12:47 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

RE: Maid
Mummies, I would like to know more about maid. Am thinking of getting one if I have #2. What is the breakdown of their Levy,Insurance, etc cost that I have to consider and pay? What's the difference between Myanmar and Indonesia maid?

I need someone that is able to at least understand simple english and if possible mandarin would be advantageous.

ky (xjysg)

Post Number: 1415
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 1:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi SSF, if this is your helper's first contract, then the maid agency would have done everything for you. They'll usually pass you a file and the insurance cert should be within. For renewal, many would choose to do it themself via NTUC income website, or you can ask agency to do for you at less than $100

.ky.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2159
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 1:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ky,
i did not choose Arise. I chose St. Joseph. Actually I also registered for BRMCK. But I'm abit concern about the distance and the fees are double that of St. Joseph. That's why I want to register for St. Joseph as well. I'll decide later this year where Edgar will go. Now I'm too confused and too busy to discuss with my hb. So just secure the place and discuss/decide later. hee...

Which school are you going to enrol your sons? Is K going to nursery too or just E for kindergarten?

SSF (missy)

Post Number: 2884
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 1:40 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ky - yes it my maid first time working here. i need to dig out that letter and if need be clarify with my agency. thks!

may - levy is $170 per mth. i am paying my indonesian maid $320 per mth with no time off. if you want someone who can understand basic english..its better to engage a filipino as my indo maid can barely speak a word of english although she passed the entry test. ya believe it or not..even i myself cannot believe it esp when her resume states fair english. to me its poor english. luckily my mum and myself can speak malay or else cham! now she and my mil is a chicken and duck as my mil can only speak mandarin. myanmmar maid english is not very good as compare to indonesian. but well, i guess it all depends on individual. good luck in ur maid hunt :-)

ky (xjysg)

Post Number: 1416
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 1:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Aileen, I thot when you register, that means you've to pay and they'll keep a place for you. So you just putting the name down and not pay yet? What's BRMCK - Bukit Panjang? U mean that's more ex than St Joseph? I thot St Joseph is more ex at $600, Arise is $630 and BPMC is $480. The one I'm looking at is CGM behind Palm Gardens in CCK; it's $500 with all material fees included. Looking only at K1 for Son#1. K will probably go when he's 4 yr old. BPMC has smaller class ratio it seems ... than St Joseph. btw, r u aware that for St Joseph, there's the kindy and the cc and one of the principal (think it's cc) has left n the one in kindy is double-hatting.

Hi May, I've got a Fil maid for 2 reasons - language and meal. I've been told that though on Indo maid resumes, they'll say they can speak english but they can't. And since I do not know malay, I can't take that risk. Also, we eat pork and I don't wish to have to do a special arrangement. btw, one good thing I do consider getting one who is willing to look after kid/having higher qualification, they are able to help teach your kids. For K, my helper has taught him things like colors, numbers, words, etc .... since I'm always busy with #1 in the afternoon, she'll "conduct lesson" with him while I'm with #1. So, guess I'm lucky in the sense that my helper is willing to take care of kids and teaching. Insurance + govt bond would be abt $100 plus... plus u will have to fork out the entire sum of a few months of the maid's pay, plus increase in utility bills and expenses.

.ky.

May Wong (maywong)

Post Number: 2174
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 2:00 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

RE: Maid
Thanks SSF and KY.
I have a contact of my cousin ex-maid who is an indonesian. She is able to speak simple english and mandarin and she understand hokkien. The reason for her to return is bcos her son missed her and she went back after her contract ends. Feel like contacting her to see if she is willing to come back to work for me instead as she is really very nice. Any ways that I can get her to work in Singapore without going thru agency?

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 2256
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 2:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I went and paid a visit to St Joseph this morning, overall am quite satisfy with what i saw expect for 2 areas, 1) the toilets (children's & adults') are not as clean as what i expect. 2) saw a teacher teaching the children attending N2 on food tasting, witnessed that the teacher simply use the one and only one spoon to feed all the children *gosh*

i find the environment good and plenty of space for the children to move around, indoor or outdoor. the classrooms being non-aircon are also a plus point for me. paid attention to the children's behaviour there and they all are happy and enjoying themselve very much. the principle knows most of the children by their names.

ky
we need to pay a $50 registration fee, only in Oct this year will there be a oreintation plus paying up full. CGM is the landed house with 2 units combine? often saw school bus going in and out of there. how you find CGM? i would like to pay a visit there.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2160
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 2:29 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ky,
i paid a reg fee of $50 at BRMCK (that's Barker Road Methodist Church Kindergarten) and a $400 deposit (refundable if I pull out 3mths before term starts). I'm not aware about the change of principal at st. joseph. i spoke to her and she seems to be very familiar with the curriculum and all. what's the full name of CGM?

rachel,
so did u sign up already?

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 2258
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 2:44 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen
not yet, i can only register on the coming friday 11 april, since am not eligible for phase I & II.
PhaseI: w slibings presently in Kindergarten, 8 April, 9am-12pm
PhaseII: catholics & slibings of former students, 9 April, 9am-12pm
PhaseIII: for public, not eligible for PhaseI & II, 11 April, 9am-12pm

when you be going down? Edgar going for 1st or 2nd session of Pre-N?

the distance of St Joseph from my home is good, even with public transport is only a 8mins ride. another thing is the class will be conducted in engish and mandarin since there will be 1 english and 1 chinese teacher and plus 1 assistance.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2161
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 2:52 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rachel,
oic. then I can also only go on 11th.
i am looking at 1st session. where do you stay? sounds really near. I'm also about 8-10mins away by car if the traffic is not too bad. i think most schools have 1 eng and 1 chi teacher?
i have seen their morning assembly. so cute to see all the kids together. and i like that N1 kids wear sports attire rather than the school uniform which I always feel it's so uncomfortable :P and it's purple in colour! one of my fav colours!! keke...

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 2259
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 2:56 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

babylon
you might want to go to another doctor for advise... since your ears are getting affected now. speedy recovery!

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 2260
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 3:07 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen
i live @ Bukit Panjang, Senja Rd. so it is a short bus ride distance and dylan enjoys bus rides haha. anyway the transportation can be arrange since it is more than half a year to go before start of school. =p am looking at the 1st session too. haha they do look cute in the sports attire.

rachel (moon77)

Post Number: 2261
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 4:03 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Aileen
this should be the CGM Ky talk about:
http://www.cgmchurch.org.sg/index.htm

located along CCK ave 1.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2162
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 4:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

rachel,
ic... i was thinking if i can go on the thurs coz i'll be on leave that day. I'm going to take a peep at edgar coz he's starting his CC tmr. keeping my fingers crossed that he will be alright!! :/

cgm looks so fun from the pics! fees are reasonable too. makes me wonder if it's worth paying more for BRMCK.

Aileen (celine77)

Post Number: 2163
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 4:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

sleepingdeer,
ya i totally agree its so silly to put the gantry there!! argh!! it just means i gotta pay $1 everyday if i send edgar to st. joseph! unless he's late for school! hee...

SY (sychua79)
Advanced Member

Post Number: 5721
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 4:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

so many postings to catch up!

re maids
my new maid will cost 350 with day off. she's indo. nowadays the maids are really quite ex. i called a few agents to check and if u wan experience ones it's really ex

may
u can bring in the maid yourself. u can get an agency to do the paperwork for u.

ky (xjysg)

Post Number: 1417
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 5:02 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Aileen

hm, don't be deceived by pictures ... I didn't even know the website till rachel post it. CGM in my frank opinion is a very simple school. It takes in children from 4-yr old onwards. There's little running space and it's totally different from St Joseph; but I've not visited that place so I probably can't make that comparison. I feel comfortable with it based on a 5-yr old viewpoint.

.ky.

ky (xjysg)

Post Number: 1418
Posted on Monday, April 07, 2008 - 5:04 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

May,

If you do it yourself, it might costs $800 (think it's a fil). hubby's boss did it themselves ... i knew they went thru' quite a bit of work just to do themselves. if u want, i can find out for u.

.ky.

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use