SingaporeMotherhood.com * Year 2005 Mums * Ascension or Newton Kindergarten < Previous Next >

workio (workio)
Username: workio

Post Number: 150
Posted on Tuesday, June 02, 2009 - 9:25 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi...

Any mummies with children currently in Ascension Kindergarten (Potong Pasir) OR Newton Kindergarten?

I will like to hear feedback relating to their teaching style (academic or montessori), teachers and if they have any affiliation to any primary schools?

Thank you very much.

workio (workio)

Post Number: 169
Posted on Sunday, June 21, 2009 - 12:27 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Anyone???

Tinkerbell Mum (tinkerbellmum)
Username: tinkerbellmum

Post Number: 8
Posted on Saturday, August 01, 2009 - 9:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

If you like chinese env , go for Newton.My kid was in ascension. Unless your pocket is limitless, Ascension may not be the ideal, everything is $$$. Some teachers are fantastic but it's at their personal sacrifices dun hope much from the kinder. If not for logistics problem my kid would have gone to Newton

Post Number: 9
Posted on Saturday, August 01, 2009 - 9:43 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

a lot of parents I know in Ascension who are just normal SAHM, dun have the tai-tai look, felt that they are marginalised. I am quite dissappointed to hear this from non-Chrisitian parents who sent their kids there, non vry good testimony on Christian hospitability. Can't stand especially the administrators in the office, just office girls mah but act like the authorities of the school, so one-kind behaviour but wat to do , some of them are non-Christian also

Post Number: 10
Posted on Saturday, August 01, 2009 - 9:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

So the parents have it that the school management is money-faced, everything money, go for school outing would make you poorer by at least $20 on the average. Especially the year-end school concerts, the tickets are charged exorbitantly if you are not so well off get the cheapest at $15 and can only see a speck of your kid from some corner of back seats near the AVA room . Then they dun allow you to take pictures or video, have to buy from their appointed/official video taker, buy lousy CD at $25 which goes jam-jam all the way and got to take the trouble to get it changed and before you know it it goes jam-jam again(so far I bought for 2 yrs concerts, same problem, think they can't find better quality vendor). Then don't allow u to take photos also during the concert, then have to buy those their appointed vendor took during earlier rehearsals at at least $2 per copy, if you lucky you get to see your kid in 1 or 2 good shots. Some teachers, were some mothers before but because kid grow up leow nothing to do so go there to teach lor, so no standard

Post Number: 11
Posted on Saturday, August 01, 2009 - 10:06 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Then the most painful thing which I experienced and heard from mother who sent their kids there more than a decade ago, you pay for the concert clothes and any attachments they add will be ripped off and dun allow the kids to take home. My poor kid cry ever year asking why she cannot have her complete concert attire, so heart wrenching. Then if bor-pian and you want to buy, one parent shared they were quoted at least $50 for some headgear, common we know how much it cost in the retail just cannot find the exact color mah, not exaggerating, it's a vry close friend of mine. A lot of parents in the past have this disgusted feeling and apparently nothing has changed much after a decade they

Post Number: 12
Posted on Saturday, August 01, 2009 - 10:09 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Then the most painful thing which I experienced and heard from mother who sent their kids there more than a decade ago, you pay for the concert clothes and any attachments they add will be ripped off and dun allow the kids to take home. My poor kid cry ever year asking why she cannot have her complete concert attire, so heart wrenching. Then if bor-pian and you want to buy, one parent shared they were quoted at least $50 for some headgear, common we know how much it cost in the retail just cannot find the exact color mah, not exaggerating, it's a vry close friend of mine. A lot of parents in the past have this disgusted feeling and apparently nothing has changed much after a decade they

Post Number: 13
Posted on Saturday, August 01, 2009 - 10:10 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Go for Newton if you have the logistic means, learn the CHINESE lah, every kid in S'pore suffering in CHINESE, English can learn anytime

Post Number: 14
Posted on Saturday, August 01, 2009 - 10:16 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I wonder why I even bother to share about it when everyone kept quiet and suffer in silence, buak tahan

workio (workio)

Post Number: 232
Posted on Wednesday, August 12, 2009 - 1:55 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Tinkerbell,

Thank you for your response.

Is your kid still with Ascension?

Newton is a little way out for me, unfortunately.

tulipliing (tulipliing)
Username: tulipliing

Post Number: 2
Posted on Friday, September 25, 2009 - 2:38 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi Workio

Do u hv any feedback on Ascension pls share as I'm thinking to enrol my gal there next year!

Starling (starling)
Username: starling

Post Number: 123
Posted on Friday, October 02, 2009 - 12:41 am:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, does anyone had kids studying in Newton? How is their level of English especially for P1 preparation?

eliora (eliora)
Username: eliora

Post Number: 74
Posted on Tuesday, November 03, 2009 - 4:30 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi my daughter is now at Newton. What Tinkerbell Mom shared about Ascension sounds like my experience with Newton!! Except they let you take the whole costume home. A costume which reveals the belly and when we got our daughter to wear a singlet underneath, the teacher told her to take it off cos it was "ugly". We complained to the principal who sounded like she was surprised we complained. As christians, we don't think children should wear such things and then be told when they are teenagers that such attire is no longer allowed. We are suprised that a christian kindergarten will allow this. True, from where we were seating (so far from the stage), we couldn't see anyone's bellies, but what is the message of such costumes?

I heard from my neighbour whose children go to Ascension that the ratio for N2 classes is about 2 teachers to 16 students. At Newton, it's 2 teachers to 20 students! They say there is an assistant teacher but she is not always around (sometimes at other classes). A lot of parents complained to the principal who said the waiting list is very long so want to give everyone a chance. How come they didn't reduce the school fees when they increased the student intake?

All these schools are so money minded these days! They must be envying those childcare which charge $1000+ per month and feel that they are not earning enough.

English standard for Newton? Terrible. They gave us a letter explaining what was done at school for the past term and it was FULL of grammatical errors and typos. English workbooks also come with spelling and grammar mistakes.

You can go to the MOE website to check how many of the MOE registered English teachers at each kindergaten have at least B4 for O Level English or A Level GP. You will be shocked! Newton is bad but some "English" schools like Baker Road Methodist are worse!

No wonder more people are home-schooling their kids nowadays. If you read James Dobson, it's worse over in the US!

Juz Us (dimension)
Username: dimension

Post Number: 1446
Posted on Sunday, January 17, 2010 - 3:17 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Oh no, i need to register my kid for school soon.
was thinking of ascension; luckily come across this thread

anyone got good experiences with their kids' kindy?

Mother Of 1 (mother_of_1)
Username: mother_of_1

Post Number: 1
Posted on Friday, January 22, 2010 - 4:21 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

hmm.. but what i heard and encounter about ascension aint as what Tinkerbell had describe...

well, i guess ascension would also have some positive remarks, if not y would u, Tinkerbell have place your child there in the 1st place n not to PCF or other preschool nearby your place???

Bless (tan_zenn)
Username: tan_zenn

Post Number: 4368
Posted on Tuesday, December 14, 2010 - 3:39 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have voiced out about Ascension Kindergarten in this thread since Jan 2009:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353638/898691.html

I have withdrawed my girl from Ascension Kindergarten since end 2010.

There is nothing good I can share about this Ascension Kindergarten.

I am totally disgusted with the Principal, Vice Principal and teachers from Ascension Kindergarten.

It is a fake, useless and money-face school, from our experiences.

Bless (tan_zenn)
Username: tan_zenn

Post Number: 4369
Posted on Tuesday, December 14, 2010 - 3:41 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Some UNREAL and NOT true "positive" remarks make me enrolled my girl into Ascension Kindergarten.

It was my mistake to believe it at first.

Huang Fangfang (hfang)
Username: hfang

Post Number: 478
Posted on Thursday, April 14, 2011 - 6:54 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My children are in Newton Kindergarten and seems quite happy. When it comes to curriculum, I believe in enforcing it at home rather than leaving it to the teachers. However, my son is an advanced reader before he enters K2 in Newton. I feel that they encourage independence in children which I am very happy with. My girl in playgroup enjoy herself and successfully learn her alphabets (where I fail :-( )

keepmesane (parisgirl)
Username: parisgirl

Post Number: 1933
Posted on Thursday, April 28, 2011 - 1:08 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am giving up my son's slot in Ascension Kindergarten due to the distance.

any parents who wish to enrol their child in Ascension Kindergarten in 2011/Pre N/ 1145am session?

PM me

stjane (stjane)
Username: stjane

Post Number: 32
Posted on Monday, December 05, 2011 - 3:22 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post Print Post    Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

dear mummies, i'm a reporter from Straits Times. Did you have to pay to watch your child's kindergarten/childcare year-end concert? What about DVDs, photos, costumes etc? Looking for parents to interview for this week's feature. If you don't mind being interviewed, do email me at janeng@sph.com.sg with your contact, thanks!

Add Your Message Here
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last 3 Hours | Last 12 Hours | Last 24 Hours | Last 72 Hours | Search | Emoticons | Help | Credits Terms of Use