| Author |
Message |

poppy pop (pooppy)
Member Username: pooppy
Post Number: 1132 Registered: 7-2006
| | Posted on Monday, September 10, 2007 - 3:36 pm: |
Hi Mummies I have a 3 year old who is suffering from cough very frequent - as if she has never recovered! Any advice on doc, what to eat to strengthen her immune system pls? Thanks!! |

caroline3sg (caroline3sg)
Junior Member Username: caroline3sg
Post Number: 296 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Monday, September 10, 2007 - 4:05 pm: |
Continuous coughing is no good, may lead to brochitis, asthma. My son used to go S'pore Baby & Child coz GP medicine can't cure. To strengthen immunity, you can boil cordyceps once a week. Or you can see Chinese physician Ma Kuang or Yu Ren Sheng. The former is cheaper. |

poppy pop (pooppy)
Post Number: 1133 Registered: 7-2006
| | Posted on Monday, September 10, 2007 - 7:44 pm: |
Hi Caroline3sg Thanks for your advice! sorry, another question. could my gal drink cordyceps even when coughing? Thanks! |

WahWah (wahwah)
Junior Member Username: wahwah
Post Number: 115 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Monday, September 10, 2007 - 10:55 pm: |
Hi poppy pop, Is her cough dry or chesty? My 6yr old son has been coughing for more than 2 months, his is dry cough. Brought him to Dr Ngiam recently and was told that it could be either mild asthma or just habit coughing. After 5 days of intensive treatment for asthma, he wasn't better, so Dr Ngiam sent him for x-ray and confirmed that he has habit coughing. No medicine needed for his case, just have to let him stop coughing on his own. It will be good to find out the reason behind your girl's frequent cough. |

Post Number: 298 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, September 11, 2007 - 11:16 am: |
Poppy Pop Cordyceps is not to cure coughing. It is to protect or strengthen the lungs. So give cordyceps after recover from coughing. |

Post Number: 299 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, September 11, 2007 - 11:25 am: |
Poppy Pop Cordyceps is not to cure coughing. It is to protect or strengthen the lungs. So give cordyceps after recover from coughing. |

nyssa won (nyssa_won)
Junior Member Username: nyssa_won
Post Number: 107 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, September 11, 2007 - 1:52 pm: |
hi, any idea where can we buy cordyceps? its call the dong chong chao? |

poppy pop (pooppy)
Post Number: 1134 Registered: 7-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, September 11, 2007 - 3:07 pm: |
hi kind mummies after a few mths of continous cough (always started with dry cough then flamy cough), yesterday brought my gal to c a doc in singapore baby & child clinic. it was diagnosed as early signs of asthma! d thing i was frightened of - came! was asthma contagious?? i'm so grieved! cos i can hear feedback that say "c! you claimed breastmilk was good for a baby, yet c - your child can still have asthma!" i feel its like a tight slap across my face ;-( i gave her EBM for about 7 months ...sob sob yes, nyssa won, its called dong chong chao. it can be bought from any medical shop. caroline3sg, looks like i wouldn't be able to give her cordceps yet ;-( |

JessChan (jesschan)
Junior Member Username: jesschan
Post Number: 159 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, September 13, 2007 - 8:28 am: |
Hi Poppy Pop My older boy used to cough a lot too when he was about 5 years old. As the GPs' medicine was not effective, we sent him to a PD and he was put on Zyrtec and nasal spray for about 9 months before he got well. Now, we watch his diet closely and avoid giving him chocolate which he is allergic to when taken too much. I quit to be a SAHM when he was 6 years old and we eat at home more frequently. He has also been taking swimming lessons since then and I believe that has helped somehow. Like caroline, we also gave him cordyceps occasionally. Now, he is 7 years old and has much more immunity against flu and cough. |

Jade (jadelight)
Junior Member Username: jadelight
Post Number: 331 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, September 13, 2007 - 9:31 am: |
Poppy Pop, My son is 3 yrs old, he has cough quite often since started pre-nursery. Within a short period of 2 mths, he has been ill for 4 times, and mainly cough and flu. I brought him to see Dr Keoy and Dr Ang (if Dr Keoy is not in the clinic) at Paediatric Centre. Usually my son is given antibiotic. The most recent visit, he is given Singular to strengthen the lungs. When he is hving phlegmy cough, he will be given Flumicil to clear the phlegm together with his cough\phlegm medicine. Btw, i think breast milk has no relation with their cough. Even though breastfed babies r supposed to hv a stronger immune system, i think once they started school, it is really unavoidable to fall sick. Esp the younger ones 2-4 yrs old, and if they r attending nursery or child care ctr, they hold each other's hands, they sneeze and cough without covering their mouth, they touched the same toys in sch etc so its really hard to avoid. |

poppy pop (pooppy)
Post Number: 1146 Registered: 7-2006
| | Posted on Saturday, September 15, 2007 - 9:51 pm: |
JessChan When did you start swimming lessons for your boy? was it when he recovers from cough? my gal never seems to stop coughing ;-( its always either more or less... so heartpain! Hi jade my gal has also been given singular this time round and she's still having it hahah i didn't even know is for strengthening the lungs. cos of her weak immune stystem, it seems that is not wise to put her in childcare. what do your think? any advice pls? thanks! |

JessChan (jesschan)
Post Number: 160 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Monday, September 17, 2007 - 9:43 am: |
Poppy He started having lessons after his condition improved and was put on preventive medicine - Zyrtec and nasal spray. We try not to cancel his swimming lesson unless he has a fever/bad flu or there is heavy rain because else he would hardly have any lesson in a month. |

poppy pop (pooppy)
Post Number: 1149 Registered: 7-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, September 18, 2007 - 3:02 pm: |
Hi JessChan Your child takes Zyttec for a long period of time? meaning everyday also take? or only when coughing? cos you say preventive medicine. meaning to say to prevent coughing? sorry for being long winded ;-( thanks! |

elmobbger (elmobbger)
Advanced Member Username: elmobbger
Post Number: 5381 Registered: 12-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 19, 2007 - 9:52 am: |
hi poppy pop, chanced upon this thread.. my ger coming 3 years old soon.. also coughing as if never recovered.. a lot of flams and there was once a period that she will practically vomit after milk every morning due to her cough... been to docs many many times since july till now sept... brought her to kinderclinic also doesnt seem to improve.. singular also doesnt seems to help.. really at a loss too... |

Michelle (michelle_xinyi)
New member Username: michelle_xinyi
Post Number: 44 Registered: 7-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 19, 2007 - 10:57 am: |
Hi Poppy pop and elmobbger, My son who is turning 3 also cough very frequent a year ago. Until my mum heard my neighbour say to drink tiger milk will be good. So my mum went to buy and boil this tiger milk for my boy when he start to cough with phlegm. It seems to work. Go to those chinese medical hall and ask them for "Lao Hor Ne" (Tiger milk) then buy some lean meat and stew with it. Its like soup then let your child drink. I also let my boy drink flumicil which can be bought from pharmacy. Its in sachet and powdery, just mix with 20ml of water and drink twice a day. |

star (starstar328)
Junior Member Username: starstar328
Post Number: 110 Registered: 9-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 19, 2007 - 11:01 am: |
Hi Poppy Pop & Elmobbger my gal also like yr ger always cough in the morning and vomit after milk. I hv see few docs either give her cough/phlegm medicine or sometime with antibiotic if the phlegm turned green. Recovered few days and back again.So now i change it to see Chinese doc at "Eu Yan Sang". Now much better, you might want to give it a try. FYI, My gal is seeing Dr He at South Bridge Rd Branch. The medicine is in a packet of powder just add warm water and drink. Dr He told me not to give too much sweet to my gal due sweet may increase phlegm in their lungs. So whenever she want to buy sweet i always say no. |

Post Number: 45 Registered: 7-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 19, 2007 - 11:05 am: |
For children who always have phlegm and cough, try to avoid giving them orange,grape,sweets,chocolates. |

elmobbger (elmobbger)
Post Number: 5382 Registered: 12-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 19, 2007 - 3:01 pm: |
hi michelle, really ah?? so after drinking that, yr son getting better? hi star, yr girl vomit in the morning too? in fact middle of night my ger will wake up to cough and vomit and times too as for sweets, chocolates, titbits, ice-cream.. my ger is not keen in any of them at all.. so that's not an issue to me... hehehe.. she will want to buy all these and offer to all her friends and classmates.. keeping NONE for herself... phew!  |

Post Number: 48 Registered: 7-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, September 20, 2007 - 12:26 pm: |
elmobbger, the tiger milk helps my son and its not expensive like dong chong chow. Drink it when child is having cough. Think the medical hall people also know. I know mummy feel sad when see child cough and cough. So will try and ask around to see wat can help. Me too was very sad when my son cough and have running nose every month. Condition was bad and admitted 3times into hospital for bronchitis. Oh ya i receive an email about vicks, its says if child cough at night and cannot sleep well. Apply vicks on the foot and put on socks it will help..i try also and it seem to work. Also since child is always coughing, they are weak so put on socks for them when they sleep at night. My son is on socks everynight he sleeps i think his health is alot better liao. Don't get cough and running nose tat frequent probably few months once. But as he attend school so to fall sick is unavoidable. Hopefully all these can help your child. |

Post Number: 49 Registered: 7-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, September 20, 2007 - 12:30 pm: |
forgot to mention my son also like your girl cough in early morning and always vomit after milk. Cough in early morning its due cold, coz air in the early morning is cold. If you on the aircon try to off it about 5am and if its fan then don blow directly onto the child. |

elmobbger (elmobbger)
Post Number: 5412 Registered: 12-2005
| | Posted on Friday, September 21, 2007 - 1:05 pm: |
michelle, thanks! will let my ger try the tiger milk this month start we already sleep without aircon... only on fan.. bery hot.. wahaha.. but no choice... |

JessChan (jesschan)
Post Number: 167 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 26, 2007 - 8:34 am: |
Hi Poppy We gave him Zyrtec and the nasal spray once every night even when he had no cough for about 6 to 9 months. Zyrtec is for allergies and nasal spray is for postnasal drip. I think if your kid has phlemy cough, especially at night and sneezing when there is a change in temperature like coming out of aircon room, she might have allergic rhinitis. My kids' PD will usually prescribe oral ventolin to open up the airways but if the cough persists, she will give respiratory ventolin using the nebuliser. (Not sure if I have all the spelling right.) From what I understand, some kids will outgrow this condition when they are about 6 - 7 years old. |

Gisele (gisele)
Junior Member Username: gisele
Post Number: 333 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Saturday, October 20, 2007 - 9:03 am: |
Hi Jess I've a 4yo boy and recently he has been coughing non-stop esp when he wakes up from his sleep. He was given Zrytec and nasal spray and it does help. But when we stopped the medi, the cough comes back. Do you give him medi and nose spray even though he does not have cough? |

JessChan (jesschan)
Post Number: 173 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Monday, October 22, 2007 - 8:41 am: |
Hi Gisele Yes, we gave administer the medicine for about 6 to 9 months before we stopped. But whenever we see signs of the allergies, we put him back on medicine again. |

Gisele (gisele)
Post Number: 336 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 24, 2007 - 3:32 am: |
Hi Jess Thanks for your reply. Did the PD suspected your kids having mild asthma? My kid's PD did and I find it hard to believe that a chronic cough with no other symptom is linked to asthma. Anyway we will give you Zytrec and nasal spray for a month then review his condition again. |

doremifa (doremifa)
New member Username: doremifa
Post Number: 12 Registered: 9-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 24, 2007 - 9:30 am: |
Hi Jess/Gisele, May i know what nasal spray your PD prescribed? My girl has similar problem, and PD prescribed the Steroid stuff to inhale. I'm not comfortable with it, but she has been coughing on and off for very long, sigh. |

JessChan (jesschan)
Post Number: 174 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 24, 2007 - 9:36 am: |
Hi Gisele Well, the PD said that if we allow the cough to persist, it might develop into asthma if left untreated. Previously, I also didn't believe that it is necessary to send my kids to the PD for cough. However, I realised that unless it is common cough, sending to the GP doesn't help and I also heard of many similar cases from other parents. I suppose our air quality has worsened and children are kept in indoor places too often. Maybe that's why children fall ill so easily.... |

Gisele (gisele)
Post Number: 337 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 24, 2007 - 11:08 am: |
Doremifa PD subscribe nasonex nasal spray, once a day. Jess You may be right. I'm staying at Jurong and the air quality here is really bad. |

poppy pop (pooppy)
Post Number: 1287 Registered: 7-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 24, 2007 - 12:08 pm: |
Gisele My gal's pd also said she has mild asthma! but a few visits to the chinese sinseh, her cough improved! miracle! hahah.. cos she's been on western medicine for a looooooong time and it hasn't really help ;-) |

poppy pop (pooppy)
Post Number: 1288 Registered: 7-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 24, 2007 - 12:17 pm: |
Gisele My gal's pd also said she has mild asthma! but a few visits to the chinese sinseh, her cough improved! miracle! hahah.. cos she's been on western medicine for a looooooong time and it hasn't really help ;-) |

Ann (young_mummy)
Member Username: young_mummy
Post Number: 675 Registered: 1-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 24, 2007 - 1:17 pm: |
Hi Mummies My girl for the past 2weeks have been having dry cough only in the morning and night. In the day no coughing. This is the 1st time she's like that after she recovered from flu. Give her Zyrtec every night as PD prescribed it. But not much help. |

Gisele (gisele)
Post Number: 338 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 24, 2007 - 4:43 pm: |
Poppy I brought him to EYS but he refused to take chinese medicine. Now we brought him to chinese 'tui na' every week, hopefully it will helps. Ann I gave my son Zyrtec twice a day. |

cowandchick (cowandchick)
Member Username: cowandchick
Post Number: 758 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 24, 2007 - 5:02 pm: |
Gisele and Ann Just to share, Zyrtec is medication for runny or blocked nose, not for cough. And it should be given only once a day, not twice! I give my boy (2 and half years) 5ml Procodin before he goes to sleep. Helps with cough. |

Ann (young_mummy)
Post Number: 676 Registered: 1-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 24, 2007 - 5:17 pm: |
Gisele, How many drops is your boy taking? my girl is taking 20drops. My mum just brought her to the PD again but PD prescribed almost the same medicine..Zyrtec,Coughing medicine,Singular..PD said is due to allergies. I've never try chinese medicine before for my girl. How does it taste like? Is chinese medicine and 'tui na' gd for the cough? |

Ann (young_mummy)
Post Number: 677 Registered: 1-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 24, 2007 - 5:21 pm: |
Cowandchick, yah i also thinks that the zyrtec is for running nose but donno why PD prescribed it. Procodin is cough syrup? Izzit the black type? |

Gisele (gisele)
Post Number: 339 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 24, 2007 - 5:34 pm: |
Cowandcick My boy was given Zyrtec 5ml twice a day. At nite before he sleeps, we gave him Bambec and it helps. He is now 4yo fyi. Ann The chinese medi is in a powdered form mixed with water. Looks like cray to me..abit yucky. So now he only go for 'Tui Na' near Changi. If you want, will give you the contacts tomorrow. |

JessChan (jesschan)
Post Number: 178 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, October 25, 2007 - 8:59 am: |
Doremifa The nasal spray is flixonase. I was also quite uncomfortable to give my son nasal spray initially so I consulted two other doctors and they said it is quite safe and the dosage is very low. I heard from a radio program that steriod nasal spray is the most common prescription for allergic rhinits. It is useful for postnasal drip which irritates the throat. I think Zyrtec is for allergies. PD only prescribed it once a day to be given at night before sleep. But giving Zyrtec alone is not effective if the kid is already coughing quite badly. Other cough and phlegm medicine are needed to stop the symptoms first. Probably ventolin to open up airways as well. I think Chinese medicine may be more helpful if given after the cough stops. It is probably more effective for strengthening the immunity system. The other concern is Chinese medicine are more difficult to administer for kids becos they look and taste horrible.... |

doremifa (doremifa)
New member Username: doremifa
Post Number: 14 Registered: 9-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, October 25, 2007 - 9:42 am: |
Gisele, Thanks for reply. JessChan, Thanks for sharing. PD prescribed the same thing for my girl, and told me 1 puff twice a day is only about 100mcg, which is very low and will not have any side effect. Same to you, I have seen a few PDs, but the cough/phlegm medicines just didn't work for my girl and she has been coughing from Dec last year for about half a year before i saw this PD, and the spray in fact stopped her cough after sometime. PD prescribed some allergy medicine(not Zyrtec) initially, but it didn't work after 2mths+, thus the nasal spray. My girl is on the spray for about 3mths, and i will bring her for a review soon, hopefully can stop the spray. But PD said once her cough is back, she needs to be on it again. I agree with you TMC is more for maintenance, can't really treat the cough. Do you mind to share where your PD from? I found it's more convincible if we see different PDs. Mine is from Kinder clinic @Mt. Alvernia. |

motheragain (motheragain)
Junior Member Username: motheragain
Post Number: 239 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, October 25, 2007 - 12:11 pm: |
Hi, My gal also suffers from cough recently that didn't seem to stop. To our surprise, it was due to the nose.. her nose is sensitive and the lining was already inflammed for a while. The secretions from the nose has caused her to cough when she swallows. She was put on zytec, ventolin (to allow opening of the airways when sleeping) and nasal spray. The spray was 2x day n night initially to curb the swelling in the nose for a week Then finally, reduced to once, to be contniued for a month. She recovered! No coughs! then last week, it was like that again. We were sure that she did not have cold drinks, sweets but the same kind of dry cough came back. I quickly put her on the same regime, the cough went away. For my case, think it was really a nose problem.... |

poppy pop (pooppy)
Post Number: 1551 Registered: 7-2006
| | Posted on Monday, December 10, 2007 - 4:13 pm: |
hi mummies i'm here to share the story again... after a long long time fighting with my gal's cough, sensitive nose/airways, running nose, we have recently brought her to see chinese physician. she is finally getting better!! and her appetite has also increased to much of our delight ;-) finally getting rid of the coughing sound from her. whew! it was getting on my nerves!! |

Gisele (gisele)
Post Number: 346 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Monday, December 10, 2007 - 10:28 pm: |
hi poppy Glad that your girl is recovery well. I've brought my son to chinese sinseh massage and he is also well now. He does not have mild asthma but allergy rhinitis instead. This is such a great christmas gift for us isnt it  |

poppy pop (pooppy)
Post Number: 1560 Registered: 7-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, December 11, 2007 - 11:04 am: |
hi gisele yes! fully agree ;-) its such a gift to see them healthy! you brought your child to the yuguo for massage? i'm thinking of trying that also (something for maintenance) but its too far for me in kembawang. if there's one good one in north area, i don't mind trying. |

Gisele (gisele)
Post Number: 347 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Tuesday, December 11, 2007 - 4:57 pm: |
hi poppy yes we brough him to yugyo for massage. we stayed in the west and travelled all the way to east. but we went twice only since he was well after 2 massages. |

poppy pop (pooppy)
Post Number: 1569 Registered: 7-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 12, 2007 - 10:28 am: |
wah gisele! only twice and he recovered?! he sound so good ;-) making me think twice now.. possible to pass me the contact? thinking of bringing my infant there hehe thanks! |

Gisele (gisele)
Post Number: 348 Registered: 2-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 12, 2007 - 3:32 pm: |
poppy, here's the contact. dont go on weekends otherwise you must be prepared to be there for 2-3 hours. the crowd is horrid! Yu Guo - tel: 6447 4761 8B Jalan Masjid #01-04 Kingston Place |

Tam (ram)
New member Username: ram
Post Number: 28 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 12, 2007 - 5:31 pm: |
hi gisele tks for sharing! i'm interested to bring my boy too cos he is down with cough for almost 2 weeks already.. western medicine doesn't work on him and now on chinese medicine. but like to try tui na on him too.. how much and how long per session? what's the operating hours? opening in the evening? sorry for so many questions cos tried the numbers above but no one pick up..thanks! |

Rozana Rashid (zestyzan)
New member Username: zestyzan
Post Number: 1 Registered: 2-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 12, 2008 - 3:27 pm: |
Hi Mothers, my boy (now 3 yo) used to have night coughs and it got bad in dec 2006 when he develops fever, recovered, and fever again...this followed by loss of apetite. That's when we actually brought him to KK A&E. He was diagnosed with pneumonia! I didn't realise that he came to such a stage from something very common...but as a pharmacist, I know what medicines can do, they only treat symptoms and my son's condition will never improve. He will still have coughs due to his allergies.So i told myself that I must look for alternative. and with God's grace my pharmacist friend introduce me to Cordymax..ITs cordyceps in a caps. I gave him half cap (that time)a day for about a month. Now, I'm really really grateful to God for introducing me to this. He can actually sleep thro the night . Now he is not taking any cordymax..I gave him fish oil and multivits for general well being.. after that episode, I really feel that nothing can beat health. I'm realy grateful. Now, I'm taking Cordymax for stamina ... . I know some have been boiling cordyceps but there's a simpler way to take and most importantly, its active ingredient is in the caps. Not sure if whatever we boil will means an effective dose. |

thots (starz17)
Member Username: starz17
Post Number: 510 Registered: 2-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, February 13, 2008 - 1:14 am: |
hi mummies, not sure if u all believe this or if its mere coincidence... dun give chicken, egg and fish when your little one is having cough. it seem to help speed up recovery process. my girl was down very badly once. the moment she coughed, she would vomit everything including medicine. i didn't give her any of the above and she fully recovered within a wk. i wasn't convinced then esp fish. but decided to give it a try since she was not any better after consulting 2 doc. perhaps mummies can share similar experience? |

poppy pop (pooppy)
Intermediate Member Username: pooppy
Post Number: 2103 Registered: 7-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 07, 2008 - 5:13 pm: |
hi thots ya, i agree.. no fish can speed up recovery mummies, my gal coughing again!! sign........... |

ish (ish)
Junior Member Username: ish
Post Number: 408 Registered: 4-2003
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 21, 2008 - 2:41 pm: |
Hi there, just like to check with mummies giving Zytec to your kids... do your kids sleep well in the night (i.e. when they are not coughing or phlegmy)? |

Fun (relaxfun)
Intermediate Member Username: relaxfun
Post Number: 4672 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Friday, May 30, 2008 - 9:48 am: |
Hi everyone, I am selling off my 5 boxes of singular, expiry is sept 09, $75 per box (28 packs in a box). these are in powder form. U may PM me if interested  |

Fun (relaxfun)
Post Number: 4675 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Friday, May 30, 2008 - 10:31 am: |
Rozana Rashid is this the cordymax u were talking abt?  |

flower-pot (flowerpot)
Junior Member Username: flowerpot
Post Number: 218 Registered: 7-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, June 04, 2008 - 12:20 am: |
Hi Rozana, Where can i buy the Cordymax for my child ? tks |

Vone (vone83)
Member Username: vone83
Post Number: 640 Registered: 10-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 01, 2008 - 1:47 am: |
Hi Mummies, i did a search and saw this regarding CordyMax: WARNINGS CordyMax has not been evaluated in children and should only be used by adults. Pregnant and breastfeeding mothers should consult a physician prior to use. Consult a physician prior to use if using anticoagulants, MAO inhibitors, or any other prescription medication. |

OK (okkan)
Junior Member Username: okkan
Post Number: 126 Registered: 8-2007
| | Posted on Sunday, July 13, 2008 - 9:04 pm: |
Hi Mommies My 3 yrs+ boy has sensitive nose too and get chronic cough and running nose quite badly once he is hit by cold/flu. On nights where his phlegm is especially non stop on his chest, I really feel so helpless to relief his sufferings. Could someone share what I can do to help him sleep /feel better? Besides putting vicks on foot with socks, is there other ways I can try? Many thanks |

Fun (relaxfun)
Post Number: 4689 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, July 14, 2008 - 9:10 am: |
Hi Mommies I am one of the hopeless mummies finding ways to heal my Child's cough too.. i recently send him for chinese tui na, which says can help to improve his body and cough, after visiting 3 times a week, his cough seems to be improving as in not so freq and if cough, wont take too long (usually 2 hrs) reduced to 1 hr + -. And the MOST bothering Night cough have stopped! onli light cough once awhile now..

OK (okkan)
Post Number: 128 Registered: 8-2007
| | Posted on Monday, July 14, 2008 - 9:53 am: |
Hi Fun Which Tui Na sin seh you go? Any contact no./address. How about their chargers |

Fun (relaxfun)
Post Number: 4690 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, July 14, 2008 - 10:14 am: |
The popular one is at Kembangan called YU GUO Tel: 64474761, Closed on Wed. the one my child went is Bo Kang Chinese Physican & Physiotherapy at Jalan Bukit Merah Central, Doc is Mdm Ho. Tel: 6271 9118, best to go on wkdays.. no ppl de.. Closed on Thursday. She advice 3 times a week for now.. if better can go 2 times a week. $18 per session. |

OK (okkan)
Post Number: 129 Registered: 8-2007
| | Posted on Monday, July 14, 2008 - 2:05 pm: |
Thank you, Fun. Son just started to have a cold today. Another episode of long battle... |

Lo3123 (lo3123)
New member Username: lo3123
Post Number: 1 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Monday, July 28, 2008 - 3:08 pm: |
hi mommies, my ger of 3yrs old oso cough very frequenty... think is bcos of her childcare and poor immune system...and i really reluctant to give her antibiotics...heard fm my fren that grind dong chong chao is gd...any recommendation to buy "genuine" ones...cos i heard of "fake" ones in e mkt..... |

Fun (relaxfun)
Post Number: 4691 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Tuesday, July 29, 2008 - 9:25 am: |
Lo3123 As far as i know from Chinese docs, kids shldnt get too boost on tonics.. not gd as well. Pls visit a chinese doc to chk on yr ger's condition before giving any tonics. Different ppl has diffenent body condition, tonics might not be workable for everyone.  |

Lo3123 (lo3123)
Post Number: 2 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, July 31, 2008 - 10:21 am: |
thks for you advise. i did ever thought of bringing her to see the chinese doc but just worry of the difficulty in feeding her wif medicine as they all looks so yucky... anyway my mil did suggest to feed her wif cod fish oil to build up her immunce system. Have bought it but have yet to let her try.... and my pediatric did tell me abt the lungs tonic that my ger can try...has anyone ever buy it before? |

Big_size (big_size)
New member Username: big_size
Post Number: 40 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, July 31, 2008 - 1:09 pm: |
Hi, I am new here and my son now 4 yrs old used to have a very bad cough! I treated him with Asian Pear (Brown Pear) double boil it for 3 hrs with 1 tsp Nan Xing & Bei Xing (Nan Xing & Bei Xing)! Add some Chuan Bei if your child has phelgm! Till now he is still drinking it if i hear any sound of cough... Meanwhile I have oso been constantly giving him the gummy bears wif echniacea (1 Tablet) daily! Lo3123: I think my son has tried using the lungs tonic which your pediatric recommend! It doesn't really works for my son, moreover I am not really keen as it is quite costly, inhaler form & dun wanna my son to be too dependent on it.. |

Lo3123 (lo3123)
Post Number: 3 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 06, 2008 - 9:51 am: |
hi big size, the gummy bears wif echniacea, is meant for building up their immunce system? or more for cough? where to buy and wat brand is that? |

SharonKoh (sharonkohsg)
Junior Member Username: sharonkohsg
Post Number: 309 Registered: 7-2004
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 06, 2008 - 1:31 pm: |
anybody noe how much does Yu Guo chrg per session & do they prescribe medicine? |

Sophia Tan (trulylove)
Junior Member Username: trulylove
Post Number: 278 Registered: 1-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 27, 2008 - 11:17 am: |
per session for "tui-na" massage i think is $15, As for medicine,they prescribe according to yr child's needs and charges will depends on yr medicine. |

puppygal (puppygal)
Junior Member Username: puppygal
Post Number: 390 Registered: 12-2006
| | Posted on Friday, October 17, 2008 - 11:14 pm: |
i think tuina now is $20 my daughter also got a lot of problems and she is oni 13 mths. Since 6 mths she start have series of broncities every mth and last week she was hospitalised and doctor conclude is infantile asthma. anyone got any idea how to strengthen so young age...lost now |

Fun (relaxfun)
Post Number: 4748 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 8:59 am: |
For my son is mostly abt school virus and diet. We changed his milk form Gain IQ to Dumex, and we can see tat gain iq has lots of omega and usually the milk bottle is very oily. For Dumex, its less dense, not so heavy looking than Gain iq. den he kinda feels better after changing the formula. Recently i tried stopping his fish intake and OMG! He stopped coughing even when he is usually coughs before sleep! And we have stopping his fish intake since last mth. Doing very well now..but he still will cough slight if he plays too too hard. |

Fun (relaxfun)
Post Number: 4749 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 9:01 am: |
He has already stopped school since vesak, now its only the diet and taking chinese med and tui na once a week for building up his health slowly. |

Fun (relaxfun)
Post Number: 4750 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 9:20 am: |
puppygal do u believe in chinese medication? U might wana try My son started having broncitis during 17 mths, den recently before vesak say was the 2nd time.. KKH gave him very strong antiboctics frm usual 7 days dosage to 10 days dosage! This realli harmed his lungs, became too cooling for his body and he is heaty based.. so its a mixture of cooling and heatiness.. very ma fan to cure.. now so glad tat he is much better now but we still need to follow up with chinese medication and tui nan. For tui nan, we had him massaged 3 times a week.. now onli once a week it onli took abt 2-3 wks to see the results from tuinan, he sleeps better and coughing is not tat bad. |

EK (barney)
Junior Member Username: barney
Post Number: 340 Registered: 8-2005
| | Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 11:58 am: |
Hi Fun, Do you bring your son to Yu Guo for tuina also? |

Fun (relaxfun)
Post Number: 4751 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Monday, October 20, 2008 - 12:46 pm: |
Hi EK nope.. son goes to bao kang at jalan bukit merah central. |

Catherine Chionh (catherinechionh)
Member Username: catherinechionh
Post Number: 1027 Registered: 8-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 12:49 pm: |
Hi mummies if u are a fan of The Magic School Bus check out the following link: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1812740.html |

Tan Leng Leng (tanlengleng)
Senior Member Username: tanlengleng
Post Number: 13278 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, October 22, 2008 - 4:34 pm: |
Anyone tries giving supplements to boost immune system? Like Childlife Colostrum ? |

Matilda (matilda)
Junior Member Username: matilda
Post Number: 312 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 20, 2009 - 4:10 pm: |
Very often, my girl is contracted with cough and running nose, almost every 2-3 months. According, to my pedaetrician, it's because my girl is very sensitive to weather change. I bought this Korean Taekuk ginseng powder from Korea more than a year ago. According to them, it helps to build your immune system and it is suitable for young children. I dare not try on my girl until about 4 months when my friend told me that it works well for her 2 children. They have been taking that for more than half a year. As of now, my girl has not gone back to see the pedaetrician despite of the cold weather (touch wood!!!). I suppose the ginseng powder really works  |

mummyto2 (mummyto2)
Junior Member Username: mummyto2
Post Number: 110 Registered: 7-2008
| | Posted on Saturday, January 24, 2009 - 2:04 pm: |
I heard from my friend that taking Manuka Honey helps her gal. Anyone has good experience to share? |

Firefly (firefly)
Intermediate Member Username: firefly
Post Number: 2589 Registered: 7-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 31, 2009 - 9:11 am: |
Hi all, glad to dfind this thread, My gal has been coughing since CNY and we went to the PD twice and went Yu Guo for many times. Now the cough is still back. Sigh. The thing is we stopped her from sweets and codl drinks etc... aiyooo |

Nobel (nobel)
New member Username: nobel
Post Number: 2 Registered: 5-2009
| | Posted on Friday, May 08, 2009 - 3:55 pm: |
Hello mummies I'm a fresh member and am reading this thread with interest. My younger darling will be 6 this year and has been coughing on and off for months till we brought her to this Chinese sin seh at Upp Serangoon. Let me know if you wish to know more details. Cheers |

Rozana Rashid (zestyzan)
Post Number: 3 Registered: 2-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, June 25, 2009 - 2:24 pm: |
Hi Vone83, thanks for the info, I'm aware of it cos I'm a pharmacist. Many drugs have side effects as well. I made the choice to give cordymax because of the 6S quality process taken by the company pharmanex, go and look at the company's background, do your own research. When my boy was hospitalised, I made a decision to give him supplements as those medications can only relieve his symptoms not cure. I'm looking for a cure. ANyways, afteryou look up the relevent info ( for your own benefit)...you can try it. I've not seen any other supplemet company putting science into supplements, and safety is my #1 priority. he's my son. I've recommend to moms who have the same problem like me and they love it too! I take them as well for stamina. Happy researching...make an informed choice and not based on biaseness..I'm sincere in my sharing.  |

jing (jingjing2116)
New member Username: jingjing2116
Post Number: 7 Registered: 6-2010
| | Posted on Thursday, June 24, 2010 - 4:13 pm: |
When a player is flagged as being inactive through this feature, they will no longer [b][url=http://www.etruereligionjeans-sale.com/]buy cheap true religion jeans[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.etruereligionjeans-sale.com/]buy discount true religion jeans[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.panbeadssales.com/]pandora jewellery[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.panbeadssales.com/]pandora bracelets and charms[/url][/b] receive Honor Points or Marks of Honor for that match. In order for them to continue to gain the bonuses from the Battlegrounds, the inactive character will need to participate in PvP combat. |

jing (jingjing2116)
New member Username: jingjing2116
Post Number: 8 Registered: 6-2010
| | Posted on Thursday, June 24, 2010 - 4:14 pm: |
When my boy was hospitalised, I made a decision to give him supplements as those medications can only relieve his symptoms not cure. I'm looking for a cure. ANyways, afteryou look up the relevent info ( for your own benefit)...you can try it. I've not seen any other supplemet company putting science into supplements, and safety is my #1 priority. he's my son. I've recommend [b][url=http://www.thomassabosales.com/]thomas sabo charm[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.thomassabosales.com/]thomas sabo charms[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.panbeadssales.com/]pandora charm products[/url][/b] [b][url=http://www.panbeadssales.com/]buy discount pandora beads[/url][/b] to moms who have the same problem like me and they love it too! I take them as well for stamina. Happy researching...make an informed choice and not based on biaseness..I'm sincere in my sharing.?》? |

Zooey (zooeygal)
New member Username: zooeygal
Post Number: 3 Registered: 8-2010
| | Posted on Wednesday, August 18, 2010 - 11:03 pm: |
Hmm, my kid also face this problem... it is really no good for kids to have continuous cough.. and we have brought our kids to lots of places to treat the ongoing cough.. from western medicine to eastern.. Any suggestions to help? |

zestyzan (zestyzan)
Post Number: 80 Registered: 2-2008
| | Posted on Thursday, August 19, 2010 - 10:23 am: |
Hi Zooey, do you have a family history of asthma? you can look into supplementing your kid with the basic nutrition for general health. Then take additional supplements to boost the immunity, stengthen their lungs etc.This is what I adopt with my children after I take the time to find out more abt the importance of supplementation even at an early age. I'm happy with the results, now I give th basic supplements Jungamal and marine omega and occasionally add on cordymax, tegreen, colostrum, G3 etc when needed. They do get colds, cough occasionally but they recover fast, and I appreciate this a lot. I also appreciate the fact that I can take control of their health, and not rely solely on the family doctors or medicine which can only help with their symptoms. I dont know abt other mothers, I truly value health especially for my children and family. So, if you are keen, I can share more with you Zooey, the choice is still yours, I'm glad to share my knowledge to help more moms and children alike. Your kid is lucky to have a mum who wants to look for alternative help with their health, I've seen many who just refuse to change and its sad. |

jojo (bluemom)
Member Username: bluemom
Post Number: 1584 Registered: 10-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, September 28, 2010 - 11:27 pm: |
hi zestyzan, my boy has the same prob, always get cough n running nose. Am very sad to see him taking so many cough syrup n running nose med. can you give me the brand of the supplements that you give to ur kids. Greatly appreciated!!!Thanks |

zestyzan (zestyzan)
Post Number: 92 Registered: 2-2008
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 29, 2010 - 10:12 am: |
Hi jojo, I think I've shared above, they are frm Pharmanex. You can do your quick research on the brand, but believe me, nothing compared to the 6S quality process they employ for all their supplements something i've not seen in other brands, I can share more in person. Just call me at 98006632. Very happy to help. |

Lynda F (fuzzymin)
New member Username: fuzzymin
Post Number: 20 Registered: 10-2010
| | Posted on Monday, October 04, 2010 - 7:07 am: |
Hi..I am a single mum of 2 gals age 4 & 6. Residing in Tampines St 32. One is studying in Pri 1 @ Qiaonan Primary School while the other is in Cherie Hearts Nursery Level. I am working full time as a CSO & doing my own part time Home Massage for Ladies only. Do support me or call me at 83758056 for more queries on my massage. Thanks lovely ladies!!! |

Ivan (ivan1973)
New member Username: ivan1973
Post Number: 1 Registered: 1-2008
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 31, 2011 - 11:06 am: |
Hi A single dad here. my daughter has suffered from same symptom as mentioned. She was coughing as frequent as twice a month for a period of 2 weeks. She finished at least 6 to 7 bottle of syrups which i find very harmful to her. As a result, I resort to bringing her to a Chinese doctor instead. After reading her pulse the doctor immediately diagnose that phlegms are still remaining in her lungs which cause her cough to relapse. He also pointed out that western medication may not be helpful in this case. The Chinese medication provided was say to be able to purge the phlegms remain. On the third day, she totally recovered. Now I am monitoring her condition. |

hazehaya (hazehaya)
Junior Member Username: hazehaya
Post Number: 122 Registered: 6-2011
| | Posted on Thursday, July 28, 2011 - 5:00 pm: |
3 year-old children,anorexia and the partial eclipse,how to do |

Ashley Yong (yongashley75)
New member Username: yongashley75
Post Number: 1 Registered: 8-2011
| | Posted on Tuesday, August 23, 2011 - 4:36 pm: |
good info to prepare myself. |

Lim Hwee Bee (kohkh)
New member Username: kohkh
Post Number: 3 Registered: 1-2012
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 11, 2012 - 9:10 am: |
The following works for my kids. 1. Cough Syrup must be given asap when the cough starts.It is useless when it is more than 10 coughs and beyond.You need to wake up even if its middle of night to help your kid. 2. This Chinese cough syrups works but prices can varies greatly from diff shops.African Sea Conconut. (red/yellow packaging) 3. Aircon and Fan should be switched off right away. (Fan worsen the cough as it blows cold air into thge lungs esp if direct) 4. If the flam has gone from throat to lungs, you can sometimes hear hissing when you place your ear against the chest. By this time, it is useless to apply anything, you can only wait for it to stop by itself. 5. If your kid has been coughing for long term, it takes longer time for full recovery since the lungs have been damaged and takes time to heal. 6. Feel the throat, if it is cold, encourage your kid to cover it with a cloth to warm it up. (Do not do this if your kid is too young) 7. Sitting upright helps somehow. 8. Vicks does not work for my kids, prefer not to apply. |

angicmon (angicmon)
Junior Member Username: angicmon
Post Number: 323 Registered: 10-2003
| | Posted on Sunday, March 11, 2012 - 2:17 pm: |
hi ivan can u pls recommend the chinese doc?tks, would appreciate it! btricegoh@gmail.com |

amayotaok (amayotaok)
New member Username: amayotaok
Post Number: 48 Registered: 3-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 20, 2012 - 7:13 pm: |
Personally i find taking manuka honey works for my kids. They respond better to Chinese Medicine as compared to Western medicine. They can take Western medicine for 2-3 weeks but can never heal completely but with TCM, within a week, everything (esp the stubborn phelgm) is gone. |

passila (assamjam)
Junior Member Username: assamjam
Post Number: 443 Registered: 3-2011
| | Posted on Thursday, March 29, 2012 - 5:02 pm: |
hi parents,may i ask if your kids stil hv cough phlegm vomit prob as mentioned above.have they outgrow n stronger immunity now?pls share with me how u overcome the stages,wat supplements u give,etc?i'm tired n fearful of feeding my 3yr old gal who falls sick every 2-3weeks with western medicine each time. |

amayotaok (amayotaok)
New member Username: amayotaok
Post Number: 70 Registered: 3-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, March 29, 2012 - 5:15 pm: |
Hi passila When my son was btw 2-3, used to cough alot and he wil cough til vomit esp when he is lying down/sleeping position. Lost count how many times we changed his bedsheet. He is 5 now, immunity is stronger. I gave Vit C (liquid form is better than gummies), Cod liver oil, manuka honey (occasionaly). I switched to TCM and realised that he responds v well to TCM and his phlegm clears off in few days after TCM medicine... unless western medicine, can take for 3 wks but still cant clear e phlegm. |

Fun (relaxfun)
Advanced Member Username: relaxfun
Post Number: 5300 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Friday, March 30, 2012 - 10:24 am: |
Try swimming! it works for my son! |

passila (assamjam)
Post Number: 444 Registered: 3-2011
| | Posted on Friday, March 30, 2012 - 12:59 pm: |
Hi amayotaok,my gal exact symptom as yours.does your son take tcm medicine during the attack or tcm med to be taken when there's no attack?can tcm med be taken together with western med during the attack?pls recommend me your tcm,how many times of visits required,cost per visit,is tcm medicine bitter to kids?wat was the diagnosis by tcm on kids who cough vomit n phlegm as for your kid?wat manuka umf should i feed my child? hi fun,can our kid go for swimming while on cold flu attack or should we sent them for swimming lesson while no attack? dunno how to plan for swimming lessons as we won't know when the next attack going to come.how did you start the planning then? |

passila (assamjam)
Post Number: 445 Registered: 3-2011
| | Posted on Friday, March 30, 2012 - 1:05 pm: |
Hi amayoataok,wil your son vomit while on the flu attack n be given tcm medicine during the attack? |

Fun (relaxfun)
Advanced Member Username: relaxfun
Post Number: 5301 Registered: 9-2003
| | Posted on Friday, March 30, 2012 - 2:45 pm: |
Passila Doc's advise is go for the swim no matter sick or not.  |

passila (assamjam)
Post Number: 448 Registered: 3-2011
| | Posted on Sunday, April 01, 2012 - 5:07 pm: |
Thanks,fun.i'l chk it out on swimming Hi amayotaok.i jus bot fm gnc yesterday on the childlife multivitamin mineral syrup.it seems to work;hopefully my gal wil take it daily.do we feed additional jus vit c on top of the multivitamin mineral syrup like what the sales staff says for very weak kids who need more vit c to boost immunity? exactly,how much ml of vit c a toddler can take in a day? |

Tan Leng Leng (tanlengleng)
Senior Member Username: tanlengleng
Post Number: 28135 Registered: 3-2006
| | Posted on Sunday, April 01, 2012 - 5:54 pm: |
passila (assamjam), it cost so much more locally, do try purchasing from here; http://www.iherb.com/Childlife-Multi-Vitamin-Mineral-Orange-Mango-Flavor-8-fl-oz-237-ml/6368 Effective today, use coupon code NEV454 to have the following value, based on the order amount: • $10.00 off for any order of $40.00 or more -- greater savings for them, better earnings for you! • $5.00 off for any order less than $40.00 -- no minimum! Offer will be ongoing until further notice. Please note: These coupon offers are exclusively for customers who have never ordered from iHerb. >>> Let me know if you need help with placing order.  |

Cheer (crab)
Junior Member Username: crab
Post Number: 395 Registered: 5-2004
| | Posted on Saturday, April 14, 2012 - 5:21 pm: |
Hi tamayotaok, Can you advise which TCM did you bring your child to? DS is having serious rhinitis. |

happymrskoh (happymrskoh)
Member Username: happymrskoh
Post Number: 698 Registered: 1-2009
| | Posted on Monday, August 06, 2012 - 11:15 am: |
My dd is having serious rhinitis too any recommended TCM clinics for children around Kovan/ Serangoon area? Wanted to try eys seng kang branch but not sure if it's good. Anyone had experiences to share? |

ken (sgparent)
New member Username: sgparent
Post Number: 1 Registered: 9-2012
| | Posted on Wednesday, September 19, 2012 - 7:33 am: |
i also face the same issue. It is on and off and very frequent. Almost every month |