| Author |
Message |

kook_car (kook_car)
Junior Member Username: kook_car
Post Number: 186 Registered: 11-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 13, 2006 - 3:08 pm: |
Spanielpups, Dont worry, its a passing phase. In fact you shld be jumping for joy!! Hitchick on his interest and read INDEPTH. Think abt it, he can learn ALOT of knowledge and extension knowledge. He is exploring the universe, what else is bigger than that? With an keen interest in this area, his mind must be really IMAGINATIVE and OPEN too... Perhaps he's be the 2nd Asian kid that has a star named after him. (QUIZ QN: who is the 1st Asian kids?) Explore further into spaceships, space stations, astronauts, gravity (antigravity), moon, mars, NASA. There is a HUGE science on it. www.spacekids.hq.nasa.gov/ www.kidsastronomy.com www.space.com |

kook_car (kook_car)
Post Number: 187 Registered: 11-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 13, 2006 - 3:09 pm: |
Mine worst ...he's into CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS ... |

spanielpups (spanielpups)
New member Username: spanielpups
Post Number: 43 Registered: 5-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 13, 2006 - 3:52 pm: |
Hi Kook_car Let's hope it is a passing phase, it's been a year already!! Anyway, thanks for website, will check it out with him tonight, bet he will be thrilled. I guess being the only child with no siblings and just adults around, he tends to be more mature. During the lantern festival, I asked him if he wanted a Disney Pixar Car, Lightning Mcqueen lantern and he said " mommy, I am 5 years old, I dun need a lantern"!! I went "oh! dumbstruck" I also asked him "Do you want to go to the zoo and he said "Mommy, what's there to see in the zoo, it's only animals" hmmm.... but he loves science centre though. |

kook_car (kook_car)
Post Number: 188 Registered: 11-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 13, 2006 - 8:18 pm: |
Hi spanielpups, Hey, you shld get him to make one of those turning lantern himself... that'll lead him into physics of heat and air circulation. Zoo trip ... yeah nowadays we go to zoo for purpose. I usually plan worksheet before going to zoo so that he knows what to lookout for. There is a Young Zoology Badge, which you can get from the Science Ctr store. Child has to do some projects according to the wksheet and earn badge. So he'll learn abt hoofed animal, flightless birds, difference between diff types of primates, etc etc. There is a badge for Space/Astrology as well. Cant remember the details but you can find out at the Science Ctr. They conduct star gazing nite outings sometimes too. |

KC (kckc)
Junior Member Username: kckc
Post Number: 375 Registered: 6-2004
| | Posted on Thursday, December 14, 2006 - 11:34 am: |
GL & Samval, YOu have PM from me! |

Post Number: 54 Registered: 5-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, December 14, 2006 - 11:53 am: |
Hi kook_car Sounds interesting, I mean the badge thingy. Will check it out at Science Centre. By the way, my son was very thrilled about the website you have recommended. He told me yest night that he wants to continue with it tonight. |

kook_car (kook_car)
Post Number: 198 Registered: 11-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, December 14, 2006 - 12:15 pm: |
Glad to hv arouse his interest... When he gets to P3, the science subject is so boring that their interest vy likely would be killed. So better to keep interest at younger age. |

Samval (samval)
Member Username: samval
Post Number: 772 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, December 17, 2006 - 4:03 pm: |
spanielpups, its good that your son has interest in books at his age. agree with kook_car that its just a passing phase. Some kids are not even interested in books or they go to library and just flip and look at pictures and worse still, tear the book! the fact that your boy is interested in the entire universe is really unique. :-) |

Post Number: 61 Registered: 5-2006
| | Posted on Monday, December 18, 2006 - 8:48 am: |
Hi Samval, yeah passing phase, I just went to the libary yesterday and borrowed another 8 books on space/universe!! He is so crazy about space that even the bedsheet set is about space. But guess you are right, I should be happy that at least he has an interest in something. Cheers. |

kook_car (kook_car)
Post Number: 229 Registered: 11-2006
| | Posted on Monday, December 18, 2006 - 12:53 pm: |
spanielpups When we name our 1st born, I wanted to name him "gallop in universe" but the strokes was wrong, so end up naming him "strolling in universe". I hope he'll take an interest in the universe, and go out to explore it. But, he's only only intersted in fairy tales and looking under the microscope.  |

Post Number: 62 Registered: 5-2006
| | Posted on Monday, December 18, 2006 - 1:56 pm: |
Hi Kook_Car If your son enjoys looking under the microscope, he could very well be our future potential scientist for all you know. By the way, is your kid afraid of dark. Mine still does. I only brought him to the cinema twice. The very first time, we went to watch Shrek, he was 3 then, when we are all seated, he suddenly burst into tears (that's when I realised he is afraid of dark). The second time we went to watch Cars, which he likes and insist to sit on my lap throughout the whole movie. Even when he is at home, he will not step into his bedroom when the lights are off. |

kook_car (kook_car)
Post Number: 231 Registered: 11-2006
| | Posted on Monday, December 18, 2006 - 2:12 pm: |
spanielpups, Our rooms are quite bright, so nvr hv this problem leh. Also, both of them hv a teddy since 2-3 yr olds. So good old teddy accompany them through thick & thin. 1st of all, dont discount his fear. Acknowledge to him that you think it is real. Then, start your education process ... read story books on them (tons of it abt the dark & fear), talk abt it with him, share some of your fears, then plan steps/ways of overcoming it together with him. One of my gf's 6 yr old has same problem. So they are now into the stage of Encouragement - if he goes into room ALL BY HIMSELF for 10 mins, they go in to give him BIG hug. |

baby2005 (baby2005)
Member Username: baby2005
Post Number: 508 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, December 27, 2006 - 1:42 pm: |
spanielpups, kook_car is right, you can go indept with him into it. My son used to lover reading alot but now, he is more interested in those power ranger or gransazer thing or keep playing chess everyday than getting a book to read. But when he feel like it, he'll still get his books and sit down and read on his own. And when we go to the bookstore, he'll just grab some books and sit down to read and we need to keep chasing him before he is will to leave the store. As for the dark thing, my son has outgrown it but he will still be scared when the movie get a bit scary or too loud (at home). Brought my boy to watch Happy Feet yesterday, he is ok but keep talking. |

kook_car (kook_car)
Post Number: 292 Registered: 11-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, December 28, 2006 - 4:12 pm: |
baby2005, when I brought my 5 yr old to watch Chicken LIttle (that was his 1st trip to movie theatre), he kept talking !! I had to keep shooing him to keep his voice down. So after that, we read a few books on how to behave when in theatre. After ALOT of rehearsed + reminder, we try Happy Feet recently. Phew!! All went well. Will be bringing them to Charlotte's web next ...maybe also Night @ the museum. Hey! I'm starting a "Movie Review" thread under Temporary Holding Place ... maybe we can advise each other if any particular show is suitable for our kids and what activities we can do before & after the show. |

baby2005 (baby2005)
Post Number: 513 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, December 28, 2006 - 5:03 pm: |
kook_car, my boy know that he cannot talk in the cinema but when he is excited, he'll still raised his voice... haiz... my boy 1st movie was Finding Nemo, he was 3 then but he managed to sit down for 1hr, I was quite amazed then. kook_car good thinking of you to create the Movie Review thread, I'll sure to go there to post and read. Thanks. |

Post Number: 78 Registered: 5-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, December 28, 2006 - 8:11 pm: |
Hi Kook_car & Baby2005, My son surprised me this morning that he wants to watch a movie today. We went to watch Charlotte's web today. Nice show, I like Charlotte best. Your kids would enjoy it too. Mine was very well behaved in the beginning (coz need time to adjust to the darkness in the cinema). Towards the middle of the show, he started asking tons of questions and by the end of the show, he was a little restless.... The only movie he can sit through was Disney Pixar Cars. Guess must pick the right movie to watch the next time. |

baby2005 (baby2005)
Post Number: 515 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, December 28, 2006 - 10:42 pm: |
spanielpups, haha... so cute. Ask my boy already but he don't want to watch Charlotte's Web. You are right about picking the right movie for them. So far I found that the best movies are Cars and Finding Nemo, which are more suitable for pre-schooler. |

kook_car (kook_car)
Post Number: 302 Registered: 11-2006
| | Posted on Friday, December 29, 2006 - 9:44 pm: |
Movie Review Thread http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353635/629275.html?1167324446 |

Samval (samval)
Post Number: 781 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 02, 2007 - 11:53 pm: |
can i check with the mommies here, any idea when does registration for P1 begin this year? is it somewhere in june/jul? and i think i fall under the phase 2B catergory and thinking of placing my gal in a convent sch. i read that the parent must be a member of the church or something like that? what do they mean by member of a church? regular church goers? or christians? a bit confused here. pls help! thank a lot  |

baby2005 (baby2005)
Post Number: 519 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Wednesday, January 03, 2007 - 2:05 pm: |
samval, think you can check it out at MOE website or call them. Actually i also don't know, cos' my boy also going P1 nxt year. As for convent sch, think u need to be either a catholic or christian to be qualified for 2B. Mayb u can check with your church or the school you are interested. |

jotterville (jotterville)
New member Username: jotterville
Post Number: 2 Registered: 1-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, January 16, 2007 - 12:14 pm: |
Hi samval, I think last year's registration for P1 starts in July. This year schedule is probably not out yet. For phase 2b eligibility, I think some Catholic schools require only one of the parent's baptism certificate. Other christians schools may require the church to endorse that you are baptised and that you are a member of the church. I think some churches will put up bulletin to notify parents to get the application form and fill it up. It's better you check out with the school you want to register. |

Yuki (yukieng)
New member Username: yukieng
Post Number: 3 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, February 22, 2007 - 2:13 pm: |
Hi all, Just happen to see this thread.. hope that u guys dun mind me joining... I also have a boy born in the year of snake.. and a girl.. born in the year of rooster... |

marmin (marmin_marmin)
Junior Member Username: marmin_marmin
Post Number: 202 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, February 22, 2007 - 4:56 pm: |
Hi Yuki, welcome! My boy will be turning 6 this Jul and girl is 2 2mr |

baby2005 (baby2005)
Post Number: 610 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, February 22, 2007 - 5:07 pm: |
Hi yuki, Same here. My boy is born in the year of snake and my gal, in the year of the rooster hee... So which mth are your kids born in? |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 4 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Friday, February 23, 2007 - 8:50 am: |
Hi Baby2005 & Marmin, My boy will turn 6 in Oct and my girl will turn 2 this Aug... |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 5 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Friday, February 23, 2007 - 9:01 am: |
So everyone here should be quite concern abt Pri 1 Registration... |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 6 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Friday, February 23, 2007 - 9:20 am: |
Hi Samval, If I didn't remember wrongly, MOE will announce the dates of Registration for P1 somewhere in the last 2 weeks of June. Normally the first day of registration is on the 2nd Tuesday of July for Phase 1 ... |

baby2005 (baby2005)
Post Number: 611 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Friday, February 23, 2007 - 11:06 am: |
yuki, my boy will be 6 in Apr and my gal will be 2 in Nov. Yuki & Marmin, So, where do u plan to register your boy for P1? Where do u gals live in? |

marmin (marmin_marmin)
Post Number: 203 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Friday, February 23, 2007 - 1:44 pm: |
Hi, probably will try St Hilda's as I stay in Tampines...anyone have the same choice? Btw will like to check if any mummy put the younger one in Childcare? |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 7 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Friday, February 23, 2007 - 2:04 pm: |
Hi Marmin, I staying in Bedok Reservoir... so most likely will be trying Red Swastika... St Hilda's is a good school... heard its very difficult to get in...I also thot of trying for St Hilda's initially, but too bad, I'm out of 1km... Actually my younger one is already in the childcare for more than one year... both my children attended Infant care and now in childcare.. eldest one joined infant care when he was 10 months old and my girl .. since she was 3 months old. |

marmin (marmin_marmin)
Post Number: 204 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Friday, February 23, 2007 - 2:08 pm: |
HI Yuki, Red Swastika is a good school, one of my friends did 40 hrs of voluntary wk hoping to secure the place. They have before/after school care. Btw, anyone heard of YMCA childcare ctr, thot of putting my girl there next mth... |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 8 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Friday, February 23, 2007 - 2:25 pm: |
Yah.. red swastika is also a good school.. i just moved to bedok.. so not in time to do volunteer work.. so have to depend plainly on luck... for balloting... The before/after school care looks very small.. afraid that will be too enclosed for my boy.. so most likely he will go back to his current childcare for the before/after school care.. but further so must pay more for school bus... |

baby2005 (baby2005)
Post Number: 612 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Friday, February 23, 2007 - 3:06 pm: |
Hi yuki & marmin, I stayed in Serangoon. Will try my boy for Rosyth cos' it is nearer to my mum's place. Don't know can get in or not. |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 9 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Friday, February 23, 2007 - 3:17 pm: |
Rosyth .... very good school... must ballot also.. |

baby2005 (baby2005)
Post Number: 614 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Friday, February 23, 2007 - 3:34 pm: |
Yuki, *sigh* ya lor so stress, don't know can get in or not. If cannot then will try for Yangzheng. |

Samval (samval)
Post Number: 789 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, February 25, 2007 - 4:14 pm: |
Hi guys, been MIA for a long time. have not been in the forum lately as very busy with work. yeah guess everyone's very stressed abt primary 1 hor. I stay in sengkang so will place my gal at CHIJ. |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 11 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 27, 2007 - 8:54 am: |
yah... everyone should be getting the stress soon... esp for those who have their first kid in 2001..... |

greekcraze (greekcraze)
New member Username: greekcraze
Post Number: 1 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 27, 2007 - 11:00 am: |
Hi Hi, I am new here. Just joined today. I have 3 kids. DS#2 is borned in Dec 01. I had my stress when selecting schools for DS#1 2 years ago. Did my fair share of parent-volunteer work. Now, DS#2 and DD will just follow the "Gor Gor".... |

baby2005 (baby2005)
Post Number: 619 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 27, 2007 - 2:59 pm: |
yuki/greekcraze, Ya, usually the stress will be more on the first one when it come to Pri Sch registration. I'll be getting my stress soon haha... |

Samval (samval)
Post Number: 793 Registered: 7-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, February 27, 2007 - 9:14 pm: |
hi greekcraze, welcome!  |

greekcraze (greekcraze)
New member Username: greekcraze
Post Number: 3 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, March 01, 2007 - 9:51 am: |
baby2005, how u plan to get ur son into Rosyth ? parent volunteer ? or what ? when i was looking for a sch for DS#1, one of the famous school in Upper Bukit Timah "suggested" I do donation. I got disgusted and didn't go back anymore. |

baby2005 (baby2005)
Post Number: 623 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, March 01, 2007 - 1:26 pm: |
greekcraze, I hv no time to do volunteer, so, I'll just wait until Phase 2C (right??) and just go and register lor. If can get in, that's will be good otherwise, I may register him for Yangzheng Pri Sch. |

chenoa (chenoa)
Member Username: chenoa
Post Number: 1621 Registered: 8-2003
| | Posted on Thursday, March 01, 2007 - 8:24 pm: |
thesisen, Hello, you still reading this thread? I'll like to seek your review on your kid's kindergarten. Pls PM me (cos you don't receive PM) so I can consult u in private. thanks. |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 13 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Friday, March 02, 2007 - 8:30 am: |
Hi baby2005 & greekcraze, Me too... didn't do volunteer work.. so must really depends on luck.... |

baby2005 (baby2005)
Post Number: 625 Registered: 11-2005
| | Posted on Friday, March 02, 2007 - 3:31 pm: |
Hi yuki, so good luck to us, hope our kids could get in the choice of our choice. |

~~Pisces~~ (nglhoon)
Junior Member Username: nglhoon
Post Number: 193 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Monday, March 05, 2007 - 1:01 pm: |
yuki, marmin & baby2005, Hi, I'm new here too. Same as you guys. I have 2 boys, one born in snake and 2nd one born in rooster. Abt P1, hmm....i have joined the volunteer work at Woodgrove in Woodlands. Heard that it's quite a good school in Woodlands area. So no choice got to do lo. |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 14 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 06, 2007 - 8:37 am: |
Hi Pisces, I also thot of doing volunteer work, few yrs back.. but moving to Bedok is a last min decision... so when i shifted over, its already too late... Baby2005, YES! Must have GOOd LUCK for all of us.... |

~~Pisces~~ (nglhoon)
Post Number: 200 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, March 06, 2007 - 4:47 pm: |
yuki, This thursday me and my hb will be gg to do volunteer for abt 14 hrs which occupied the whole day. After this, we'll complete our volunteer work liao (40 hrs). Yeah! Next thing, I'm gg to look out for the Hanyu pinyin enrichment course for my son ard Woodlands area. Any recommendation? |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 15 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 07, 2007 - 8:58 am: |
Hi Pisces, Congrats!congrats! So your chance of getting into your preferred school will be doubled by this week.... I'm not sure whether Woondsland got Tien Xia Language School or not... my boy just finished his first term (K2 Chinese)... can see some improvements already.... |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 16 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, March 07, 2007 - 8:58 am: |
Hi Pisces, Congrats!Congrats! So your chance of getting into your preferred school will be doubled by this week.... I'm not sure whether Woodlands got Tien Xia Language School or not... my boy just finished his first term (K2 Chinese)... can see some improvements already.... |

hippo2002 (hippo2002)
Junior Member Username: hippo2002
Post Number: 430 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, April 05, 2007 - 10:57 pm: |
Hi Yuki saw your postings in another thread regarding Red Swastika. I live in Bedok too If I remember correctly, 70% chance if balloting within 1 km I called St Hildas before. Even if volunteer also need balloting Which kindergarten is your boy attending now? |

hippo2002 (hippo2002)
Post Number: 431 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, April 05, 2007 - 11:00 pm: |
Pisces the school allows you & hubby to share volunteer hours? I was told only 1 parent can clock the hour My girl used to attend Hanyu Pinyin at Admiralty Garden community centre (near Admiralty mrt). The teacher is from China. I see results, she can read Chinese books if there are accompanying hanyu pinyin |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 17 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Monday, April 09, 2007 - 2:46 pm: |
Hi Hippo2002, 70% chance... dunno whether i have that luck or not.. never been lucky in any lucky draw before... My boy & girl are both in Learning Vision.. the one at Arthur Road.. How abt yours?? |

hippo2002 (hippo2002)
Post Number: 453 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2007 - 1:43 pm: |
my girl is in PAP K1 this year. next year I am switching her to a church kindergarten for her K2 PAP a lot of homework leh. I told her not to do her homework if she's too tired but her teacher will still chase her to submit. hopefully church kindergarten will be more relaxed |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 20 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2007 - 2:09 pm: |
church kindergarden? The one Bethesda at Bedok?? I heard its good.... |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 21 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 10, 2007 - 2:13 pm: |
church kindergarden? The one Bethesda at Bedok?? I heard its good.... |

hippo2002 (hippo2002)
Post Number: 458 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 11, 2007 - 10:37 am: |
oh, is it? I didn't know leh I heard from a neighbour that there's not much homework, I like that :o) |

Rzz(mum23) (rzz)
Junior Member Username: rzz
Post Number: 422 Registered: 8-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 11, 2007 - 6:32 pm: |
hi, just happened to read this forum. My 2 daughters are in church kindergarten, highly recommended as the teachers are more kind and motivating. My daughters look forward to school everyday. |

Yuki (yukieng)
Post Number: 22 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, April 12, 2007 - 9:06 am: |
My colleague just sent her daughter there... recently started only, less than a mth ... she said teachers there quite good with good patience |

hippo2002 (hippo2002)
Post Number: 489 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, April 17, 2007 - 11:53 am: |
just to share with all mommies the link for P1 registration http://www.moe.gov.sg/esp/schadm/p1/phases.htm |

caroline3sg (caroline3sg)
Junior Member Username: caroline3sg
Post Number: 130 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, April 18, 2007 - 4:14 pm: |
Pisces & Yuki Chinese in Woodlands, you can find out from 1) Han Language 2) Hua Language 3) Crestar There is no TienHsia at Woodlands |

rjj (rjj)
New member Username: rjj
Post Number: 27 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, April 19, 2007 - 11:39 pm: |
Hi Caroline, I m new to this thread. Hv 2 boys, studying.... I stay in Woodlands, where are these Ctr? Which part of Woodlands? Good? |

caroline3sg (caroline3sg)
Junior Member Username: caroline3sg
Post Number: 135 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Friday, April 20, 2007 - 10:57 am: |
rjj Crestar & Han Language in Civic Centre. Hua Language at Causeway Point. I have not tried all 3 of them. |

rjj (rjj)
Post Number: 28 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Friday, April 20, 2007 - 3:46 pm: |
thanks, will find out more.... their chinese really horrible, speak like ang mo talk mandarin like tat |

sj ong (sj_ong)
New member Username: sj_ong
Post Number: 71 Registered: 1-2006
| | Posted on Friday, April 20, 2007 - 9:21 pm: |
Hi everyone Just found this thread.... Great to find this thread! I have a girl (2001) & a boy(2003) |

hippo2002 (hippo2002)
Member Username: hippo2002
Post Number: 518 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Saturday, April 21, 2007 - 12:09 pm: |
Yuki you are a Bedok mommy too join us here ? http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/766283.html |

hippo2002 (hippo2002)
Post Number: 519 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Saturday, April 21, 2007 - 12:13 pm: |
rjj how about letting them listen to chinese CDs? nursery rhymes or Tang peoms. available from popular bookshop my kids refused to speak Mandarin until recently. Once they start speaking, sounds ok, no ang mo accent, probably because they have been listening to proper pronunciation Chinese CDs all these while |

rjj (rjj)
Post Number: 31 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Saturday, April 21, 2007 - 2:18 pm: |
we hv cds at home.... but he oso sing like ang mo.... mayb he talk more in english la.... somemore spend more time wif maid.... but must say he is improving, now only worry next yr pr1, homework dunno how...... |

dorie (dorieme)
Junior Member Username: dorieme
Post Number: 102 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Friday, April 27, 2007 - 11:16 pm: |
hey all, new to this thread. I am a SAHM, to DS (2000), DD1(2001) and DD2(2004). As for chinese, my first two also very chiat lat. DS struggling with P1 chinese... but slowly slowly got improvement. I think my DD1 is a bit dyslexic... need too get help for her. So she's struggling with her reading and whatnot. DD2 is doing great because I have been speaking mandarin to her much more, and also teaching her to recognise chinese words (characters, no HYPY), so according to her laoshi, she can converse a little in chinese with her. DD2 turns 3yo in Nov this year... so not bad lah. So those with younger ones, can try this method. Just use simple plain cards or book, write the words and just show and say the words, the show picture for word... quite effective. Beginning pickup is slow, but once they catch, very fast they improve. Signing DD1 up for St. Margaret's... hopefully can get in. Actually I qualify for 2A2 for St. Hilda's Pri, but don't like. So going with St. Marg's even though it's much further. |

hippo2002 (hippo2002)
Post Number: 575 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Saturday, April 28, 2007 - 12:20 pm: |
dorie why you don't like St Hilda ? in tampines? very hard to get in leh, heard that parent volunteers also need to ballot |

dorie (dorieme)
Post Number: 111 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Sunday, April 29, 2007 - 9:33 pm: |
Eh, why ah? Got a few reasons lah. One is the P1s and 2s are in afternoon sessions. I like fully single session schools. I find afternoon sessions a big waste of time. Kids tend to wake up late, then whole day gone. Anyway, I used to work, last time kids wake up early with me, leave house by 6.30... so morning session no problem for them. Second is I like single sex schools. Hubby and I both from single sex schools from Pschol to Sec School... so personal preference. Thirdly, I used to teach. Let's just say that I get to see what the kids from SHPS are like up close, especially those who don't do so well. My PERSONAL feeling is that unless you are brilliant and can do very well, don't go there, because only the very good ones thrive there. They push the kids very hard... got good got bad. If your kid can take it and thrive, great. If your kid cannot take it, his confidence will be battered, and that makes life difficult for later years. But this is just my personal opinion... A lot of mummies tell me, no what, my so-and-so's daughter/son there, they say they enjoy themselves very much... well ok lor. But I think my kids are not the genius kind... may not do well in that kind of an environment. I'd rather they go to an OK school and excel then go to a top school and get pushed aside for not being brilliant... KWIM? So like that lor. *I emphasise that these are my opinions only. Please don't come and shoot me down for having these opinions. St. Hilda's Primary is a much sought after school and yes, they produce results. But it's just not suitable for me or my kids.* |

ZMM (zeemimi)
Junior Member Username: zeemimi
Post Number: 147 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Monday, April 30, 2007 - 11:13 pm: |
hi everyone can i join in this thread? I have a ds (2001). dd1(1997) dd2 (2005) Am FTW-SAHM. Work from home and take care of kids myself. today just got form to register DS for Pri1 next year. So for me, no need queue or do parent volunteer. 8-) DS also very poor in chinese. sigh. trying to speak to him in chinese but we are so comfortable wif english at home. sometimes just forget to speak chinese. |

batman ) (nglhoon)
Post Number: 283 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 02, 2007 - 3:59 pm: |
zmm, welcome to this thread. your ds and dd2's birth year is same as mine. Mine is ds1 2001 and ds2 2005. How do you manage with 3 kids? I'm thking of having #3 but I scare I can't cope with their school work in the future. |

ZMM (zeemimi)
Post Number: 156 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 02, 2007 - 11:02 pm: |
hi batman i'm struggling wif 3 kids. 8P Because of their age gap, they all have different needs. It is really tough trying to meet these needs. Have to let dd1 learn to be more independent, study on her own, less supervision of homework, etc. |

batman ) (nglhoon)
Post Number: 289 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 02, 2007 - 11:20 pm: |
do you have maid? I told my hb muz get a maid when we hv #3. |

ZMM (zeemimi)
Post Number: 160 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, May 03, 2007 - 12:00 am: |
aiyah. i am the maid lor.... we not comfortable having a stranger at home .... get the kids to help out here and there. |

batman ) (nglhoon)
Post Number: 291 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Thursday, May 03, 2007 - 10:09 am: |
wow, Hat off to you mannn...handling 2 kids is alrdy a very tedious job...esp coping one wif study another one calling for mummy at the same time.. |

ZMM (zeemimi)
Post Number: 162 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, May 03, 2007 - 2:12 pm: |
my house is always in a mess one, not visitor ready. Those times i clear the house, my kids will start asking izit someone coming to our house. So u can imagine the difference. Saw some posting about St Hilda Pri. They have a new principal this year. She was the former principal of my dd1's pri school. Nice lady. So maybe there are some changes to the school now. |

dorie (dorieme)
Post Number: 118 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Thursday, May 03, 2007 - 10:23 pm: |
ZMM - LOL, I know how you feel. Like you, I also don't have maid... difference is my youngest attend full day childcare still, because if she stay home with me, I won't have time to really stiumulate her during the day... better go and get some learning done at school. Yah, house also in a mess.. last time worse... now SAHM better already... also invested in organisational aids to clear the house better... now the children more used to keeping things properly because got proper place to keep. Now thinking of having #4, but dunno whether want to have maid or not... main problem is no place for her to sleep. Now that I stay home, not so scared she hanky panky... just drag her along with me... but she got no room leh. Cannot ask her sleep balcony, kitchen right? sigh. |

ZMM (zeemimi)
Post Number: 164 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Thursday, May 03, 2007 - 10:59 pm: |
dorie wow! #4! I put up white flag already. Anyway no more chance to have #4 for me. i also thot of sending #3 to playgroup next year cos i wanna spend more time coaching #2 in studies in P1 next year. But DH not keen leh. Say expose her to more virus no good. |

batman ) (nglhoon)
Post Number: 295 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Friday, May 04, 2007 - 3:01 pm: |
wow, if I have #3. I can imagine it will be very noisy. Don't dare to thk of #4. |

Chicken Little (little_pony)
Intermediate Member Username: little_pony
Post Number: 2818 Registered: 4-2006
| | Posted on Saturday, May 05, 2007 - 7:31 pm: |
Hi Mummies I am from 2002 mummies thread and Jan 06 thread. Currently I have a native Chinese who comes to my place at CCK to conduct Chinese lesson. We need 6-7 students, currently we have 4. Please pm me if you are interested. Lesson is every Sat 1-2.30, $20 per lesson. |

dorie (dorieme)
Post Number: 124 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Monday, May 07, 2007 - 10:33 pm: |
ZMM - wah, thank God my DH not like that... he thinks of how to reduce inconvenience for me.. insist on putting DD1 on school bus next year (actually I wanted to send and fetch)... also no problems with children in childcare... yes, they fall sick... but also good as they build up immunity for later in life... then by the time get to K2, P1, don't fall sick so easily. batman - haha... I guess it depends on what kind of #3 you have lah. My #3 is very quiet... the kind that will sit down and fix jigsaw puzzle by herself, take out book and look at it by herself... sometimes she will quarrel with her siblings or disturb them, but on a whole, she's my easiest baby so far. So I'm hoping #4 will be like that too... but then again, I'm also hoping for a boy, so maybe that is not possible. haha. |

hippo2002 (hippo2002)
Post Number: 618 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 08, 2007 - 3:30 pm: |
ZMM kids will fall sick more frequently during the 1st 6 months in childcare accoridng to pediatric. the frequency will reduce once they build up their immune system I sent my elder girl to childcare 1 month before I delivered my younger girl and when I wanted to withdraw my elder girl from childcare (my younger girl was 21 months old then), my hubby was very doubtful I can cope, kept asking me to reconsider anyway I insisted lah. she's already so upset in childcare (quarrelled with her best friend), can't wait anymore Dorie, ZMM 'pei fu' you can manage 3 kids without maid. 2 kids I cannot cope liao |

dorie (dorieme)
Post Number: 127 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 08, 2007 - 10:21 pm: |
hippo... haha, not that bad lah. Plus, my #1 in school all morning, come home only at 2.30pm. #2 in school until 11.30am, she spends the most time with me. #3 sees us the least, because she is in full day childcare... So since my mornings quite child-free, I use that time to do housechores uninterrupted, cook, and so on. Fridays are my free days, since #1 comes home only at 4pm (school ends at 3pm for him on Fridays with lunch in school), and so I don't cook, and take #2 out for lunch and some fun time... window shopping or whatever. So got time to chill lah. Every evening I have to take at least one child out for lessons, so my mother comes over and helps me a lot... she babysits in the evening, 4 times a week, and gives them their dinner. So I have a lot of support lah. Even though no maid, mom helps a lot... she volunteer... I think she likes to spend time with the kids, so comes over often. Saturdays the kids are at her place too, so hubby and I have some paktor time in the afternoon, after the enrichment lessons for the boy are over. So all these arrangements help lor. |

ZMM (zeemimi)
Post Number: 186 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 08, 2007 - 10:57 pm: |
dorie, hippo2002 aiyah, not that my DH doesn't want to make things easy for me, but my kids are all asthmatic, u see. A slight little cold will trigger their asthma, developing into bronchitis, etc. When they fall sick, it is nightmare for the whole family and many trips to the doc. Very expensive medicine too. dorie, your kids schedule something like mine, except my #3 is wif me the whole day. So although she has siblings, she still gets to enjoy 1 to 1 time wif me in the mornings. Also mon, wed - fri have to bring kids to lessons. But most of the time is DH fetching unless he has to work. During such times will ask my mum/dad to help. But i try not to trouble them cos they have their own activities also. your #3 so good, so quiet. My #3 like a monkey and she is a GIRL. Everyday wants to monkey at the playground. Once she is out of the house, she will run around like a bird set free. At home will disturb her siblings. |

dorie (dorieme)
Post Number: 129 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 08, 2007 - 11:10 pm: |
ZMM - aiyoh, can understand about the asthma... wah, last time my #2 also nearly became asthmatic, good thing caught in time by a good pedi... so stabilised her allergic cells in time... long term treatment for about 2mths, then voila! now very seldom fall sick... thank God ah. Yah, I know the asthma thing is very terrible... but your hubby sounds quite ok what.. still help you to send and fetch all that... haha... I guess God knew that my #1 and #2 very active, need to have a quiet #3 otherwise i will go crazy... Each child is different lor... what to do. |

hippo2002 (hippo2002)
Post Number: 620 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 08, 2007 - 11:36 pm: |
now my younger girl is with me whole day while my elder girl goes PAP in morning next year I'm sending both to a church kindergarten but different sessions so that I can spend time with them individually hehe, I plan to place them in different sessions all the way. they won't be in the same session until P3 & P5. only 6 years later they will finally be in the same session by the way, when you all intend to return to work force? or never going to? just thinking when my kids are older, maybe can return to work or will I be even busier once they start primary school? ZMM P1 registration starts so early? which phrase is yours?

ZMM (zeemimi)
Post Number: 188 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 09, 2007 - 12:42 am: |
hippo, my DD1 in Pri 4 already. So DS goes in at phase 1. |

hippo2002 (hippo2002)
Post Number: 628 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 09, 2007 - 2:22 pm: |
so lucky ! did you do volunteer work for your 1st child? |

ZMM (zeemimi)
Post Number: 189 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 09, 2007 - 11:24 pm: |
no volunteer. it is just a normal neighbourhood school. and i was outside 2km. |

dorie (dorieme)
Post Number: 143 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Monday, May 14, 2007 - 1:11 pm: |
hippo... next time when dd2 is due for registration, you also will be like zmm lor... haha. After DD1 get into her school, I no need to worry already... no matter how many more children I have! Haha. Have you all watched the show on cable tv channel 70? Wah, the couple got 16 children... tok kong ah!!! So organised, some more can homeschool all 16 and be completely debt free... amazing... I was so inspired... not to have 16 lah.. but to be more organised... Wah, she can manage 16, surely I can manage 4. But she herself said that life was most difficult when the first 5 were young, and there were only 5... because I think then she had 5 under 6 or something... one pair was twins. After that she delegated and got the older ones to buddy the younger ones and all have to help with housework... so much better lah. Talk about critical mass. Haha. |

ZMM (zeemimi)
Post Number: 205 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Monday, May 14, 2007 - 11:30 pm: |
i neber subscribe to SCV cos no time to watch tv oso. wah 16 kids! sometimes when our kids older already, we forget all the nightmare we had when they were babies. Then we see other people's babies so cute and also want to have another one. i know in spore got this couple have 5 kids and another one coming along. All homeschooled also. no maid. i take my hat off to them. but i was thinking, have so many kids in spore very difficult leh. can we just keep giving birth and then let the brood grow up with little attention? Or divided attention. me 3 kids got to send #1 for this thing, #2 for another thing until i find almost all my evenings not free. Now i thinking not to let my #3 join anything next time but liddat not fair to her leh. I'll be contented with 3 kids. 8) |

dorie (dorieme)
Post Number: 148 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 15, 2007 - 10:09 am: |
ZMM... yah, it's true, singapore we so kiasu, everything also go enrichment class. Wah, that mother with 16kids ah, tok kong ok? She teach them violin, piano, all the subjects under the sun, somemore ownself build their own house from scratch ah!!! Super right? No need to send enrichment class... she got her own enrichment centre right at home... some more bao ka liao one, everything also teach!!! Happening man... then the children all so kuai kuai one... amazing. |

Sprice (sprice)
New member Username: sprice
Post Number: 1 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 15, 2007 - 10:12 pm: |
Hiya, am new here to the forum. My older boy is also going P1 next yr and thot you'll all be interested to know. Received a memo fr his kindergarten today. The Straits Times will be producing a special supplement on "How to Choose a Primary School" on Monday, 21 May. The memo listed down some FAQs by parents on choosing a primary school. If any of you interested, I can try to type them in this thread. Otherwise, do go grab a copy of the papers on Monday.  |

ZMM (zeemimi)
Post Number: 212 Registered: 2-2007
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 15, 2007 - 10:28 pm: |
dorie this mum with 16 kids, is it fictitious ah? welcome Sprice! no need to type out the FAQ. The MOE will give all kindergartens some information leaflets soon on Pri 1 registration. |

dorie (dorieme)
Post Number: 151 Registered: 9-2005
| | Posted on Tuesday, May 15, 2007 - 11:12 pm: |
zmm - no, not bluff one... real one... you can check out their website to see them... they are called the Duggars... the guy is Jim Bob and the girl is Michelle... but their website just up I think, so not very much content... but they are real... if you google them, you will see. Hi sprice... thanks for that... it was advertised in the papers today too... I'm looking forward to that, even though I've already made up my mind. Heh. |

shmum (shmum)
New member Username: shmum
Post Number: 14 Registered: 4-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 16, 2007 - 12:28 pm: |
halo, Can I join in also? My DS1(2001) n DS2(2004). I'm staying in CCK, now having headache where to enrol my boy. Any idea how to calculate or get infor on which r the schools within 1Km n 3Km? |

hippo2002 (hippo2002)
Post Number: 686 Registered: 6-2006
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 16, 2007 - 2:28 pm: |
check street directory and call up the school to enquire |

Sprice (sprice)
New member Username: sprice
Post Number: 3 Registered: 5-2007
| | Posted on Wednesday, May 16, 2007 - 2:39 pm: |
Anyone know whether there are a lot of kids born in 2001? I've decided to enrol my boy in a neighbourhood school. But in the year for the Rabbit/Dragon kids to enrol, even that neighbourhood school also require balloting.  |